Skip to main content

Full text of "Colonial families of Philadelphia"

Cornell University 
Library 



The original of this book is in 
the Cornell University Library. 

There are no known copyright restrictions in 
the United States on the use of the text. 



http://www.archive.org/details/cu31924092544133 




3 1924 092 544JI33^ 



COLONIAL FAMILIES 



OF 



PHILADELPHIA 



EDITOR : 
JOHN W. JORDAN, LL. D. 



VOLUME II 



NEW YORK CHICAGO 

THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMPANY 

1911 



Copyright 191 i. 
The Lewis Publishing Company. 




(;'i)AT-of-ai;ms op john i^aruner. 



LARDNER FAMILY. 

The English family of Lardner, to which Lynford Lardner, Provincial Coun- 
cillor of Pennsylvania (1755-73) belonged, was one of the old famiHes of Nor- 
folk or Kent counties, and bore as its arms, "Gu. on a fesse between three boars' 
heads couped ar. a bar wavy sable." These arms were used as a seal by the Coun- 
cillor. His great-grandfather Lardner married a Miss Ferrars, and their son, 
Thomas Lardner, married and had issue: 

John Lardner, m. Miss Winstanley; of whom presently; 

James Lardner, distinguished clergyman ; 

Thomas Lardner ; 

Sarah Lardner, m. a Springett of Strumshaw, Norfolk. 

John Lardner, eldest son, father of Lynford Lardner, studied at Christ Col- 
lege, Cambridge, and received there the degree of Medical Doctor. He had a 
town house on Grace Church street, London, and a country house at Woodford, 
Epping Forest, county of Essex; had a good practice and reputation as a physi- 
cian, and was related to Most Rev. Dr. Thomas Herring, Lord Archbishop of 
Canterbury. 

John Lardner had issue: 

Francis Lardner, d. June 18, 1774; bur. St. Clement's, London; 
John Lardner, d. 1740-1 ; 

Hannah Lardner, m. Richard, son of William Penn, the Founder, and one oi the Pro- 
prietaries of Pa.; 
Thomas Lardner, citizen of London; 
Lynford Lardner, the Councillor; of whom presently; 
James Lardner, of Norwich, county Norfolk; 
Elizabeth Lardner, m. Wells, of county Norfolk. 

Lynford Lardner, born near London, England, July 18, 171 5, was named 
for a near relative and friend of the family, Rev. Thomas Lynford, S. T. D., 
Rector of St. Nicholas Aeon and Chaplain of King William and Queen Mary, 
and like his father was entered as a student at the Univerity of Cambridge, but 
later accepted a position in a counting-house in London. His family made an 
effort to secure him a government position in England, and failing, the influence 
of his brother-in-law, Richard Penn, secured him an opening in Pennsylvania, 
and he came to Philadelphia at the age of twenty-five years, sailing from Grave- 
send May 5, 1740, and arriving in Philadelphia in the beginning of September. 
He was at once employed in the land office, and assisted in the management of the 
wild and unsettled lands of the frontier then being rapidly opened up for settle- 
mnt under the purchase of 1736. August 8, 1741, he was appointed to succeed 
James Steel as Receiver-General of the Province, and had charge of the collec- 
tion of the Quit Rents and purchase money due the Proprietaries, as well as act- 
ing as their commercial agent, in which position he displayed excellent business 
ability. He was made Keeper of the Seal, December 12, 1746, and held that posi- 
tion and the office of Receiver-General until March 28, 1753, being succeeded in 



926 LARDNER 

both positions by Richard Hockley, a protege of John Penn, another of the Pro- 
prietaries. His association with the land ofifice gave him the opportunity to secure 
grants of valuable lands in his own right and he became a large landed proprietor. 
As early as 1746, he became the owner of Collady's Paper Mills, Springfield town- 
ship, Chester (now Delaware) county, and soon after that date he was largely 
interested in the manufacture of iron in Berks and Lancaster counties. He be- 
came a Justice of Lancaster County Courts October 16, 1752. His connection 
with the Penn family gave him a position in the social and business world of 
Philadelphia which his eminent ability easily qualified him to fill. He was named 
as one of the directors of the Library Company, of Philadelphia, 1746, and again 
1760, and was an original manager of the Dancing Assembly, instituted in the 
winter of 1748. He was called to the Provincial Council June 13, 1755, and con- 
tinued a member of that body until his death. The Assembly having made no 
provision for the raising of troops for the defense of the frontiers, the people of 
the various counties of the state raised volunteer companies called associators, 
and elected 'their officers. Lynford Lardner volunteered in the first company of 
the Philadelphia Associators, was elected First Lieutenant, and with the regi- 
mental officers of the Philadelphia Regiment, was commissioned by the Provincial 
Council January 28, 1747; again, March, 1756, he was commissioned Lieutenant of 
the Troop of Horse organized by the Council with two companies of foot and one 
of artillery, for the defense of the City of Philadelphia in the French and Indian 
War. He was also named as one of the commissioners to disburse the money 
appropriated by the Assembly "for the King's use." He was one of the trustees 
of the College of Philadelphia, parent of the University of Pennsylvania, and a 
member of the American Philosophical Society. October 27, 1749, he married 
Elizabeth, born in Philadelphia, 1732, daughter of William Branson, a wealthy 
merchant in Philadelphia, and sister to the wife of Richard Hockley, who succeed- 
ed him as Register-General and Keeper of the Seal. After his marriage he resid- 
ed on the west side of Second street, above Arch, and had his country seat, "Som- 
erset," on the Delaware, near Tacony, part of which has since been known as 
Lardner's Point. He owned a number of stores and houses in the vicinity of his 
residence and a large amount of real estate in the upper part of the city. Over 
2500 acres of land were surveyed to him in Bucks county, 1741-51, most of it 
lying in what became Northampton county, 1752. On a tract of several hundred 
acres in Whitehall township he erected a commodious building which he named 
"Grouse Hall," where he and a number of his Philadelphia friends were in the 
habit of sojourning to shoot grouse and other game abundant in that locality. The 
"Hall" being painted white, and known by travelers and inhabitants as "the 
White Hall," is said to have given the name to the township when organized in 
1753. Mr. Lardner secured warrants of survey for over 5000 acres of land in 
Northampton county after its organization. He was a keen sportsman, exceed- 
ingly fond of outdoor life, and doubtless spent much time in company with his 
friends upon his wild land in Northampton county, he was also a member of the 
Gloucester Fox Hunting Club. He died October 6, 1774, and was buried at Christ 
Church. His wife, Elizabeth Branson, died August 26, 1761, and he married 
(second) at Christ Church, May 29, 1766, Catharine Lawrence, who survived 
him. 



LARDNER 927 

Issue of Lynford and Elizabeth (Branson) Lardner: 

Elizabeth Lardner, b. 1750; d. young; 

John Lardner^ b. Sept. 6, 1752; m. Margaret Saltar; of whom presently; 

Frances Lardner, b. Nov. 8, 1754; d. unm. ; 

Hannah Lardner, b. Nov. 28, 1756; d. unm.; 

William Lardner, b. Dec. 8, 1758; m. (first) Anne Shepherd; (second) Susan Elliott; 

James Lardner, b. 1761; lost at sea, 1780. 

John Lardner, eldest son of the Councillor by his first marriage, born in Phila- 
delphia, September 6, 1752, was a member of the famous sporting club, known as 
the Gloucester Fox Hunting Club, in October, 1775, participated with them in the 
formation of the "First Troop, Philadelphia City Cavalry," and participated with 
it in the battles of Trenton, Princeton, Brandywine and Germantown, for which 
and other meritorious services the gallant troop received the thanks of Congress 
and the commendation of Gen. Washington. John Lardner was Cornet of the 
Troop 1779-83, and 1794-96, during the Whiskey Insurrection. He was elected 
to the Pennsylvania Assembly 1791, and was commissioned Captain of the Third 
Troop of Philadelphia Light Horse, 1798, when war with France was imminent. 
He died in Philadelphia, February 12, 1825, and was buried at Trinity Church, 
Oxford township, Philadelphia county. He married at "Magnolia Grove," the 
beautiful country seat of the Saltar family, December 24, 1789, Margaret, daugh- 
ter of John and Rachel (Reese) Saltar, born May 8, 1767, and died May 23, 1834. 
John Saltar was the son of Hon. Richard Saltar, member of Provincial Council 
and Justice of Supreme Court of New Jersey, and Hannah Lawrence. Capt. 
James Lawrence, U. S. N., who was killed in battle, was her great-nephew. Their 
home was on Walnut street, Philadelphia, and their summers were spent at 
"Somerset." 

Issue of John and Margaret (Saltar) Lardner: 

Elizabeth Lardner, b. Jan., 1791 ; d. unm.; 

Lynford Lardner, b. June 12, 1792, at "Somerset," d. June 23, 1834, graduated at Univ. 
of Pa., 181 1, received honorary degree of Master of Arts; entered the counting-house 
of Joseph Sims, 181 5, and was later a merchant; served as member of First City Troop 
during War of 1812, and was Captain of Troop, 1825-7; served two terms in Pa. 
Legislature, 1820-21 and 1833-4; married, May 20, 1823, Elizabeth Wilmer, and had 
issue, John Lardner, a Philadelphia merchant, d. s. p. ; 

Richard Penn Lardner, b. Nov. 8, 1795; d. May 19, 1882; graduated at University, 1813, 
degree of Master of Arts, 1817, resided at "Graydon," Montgomery county, and later 
in the city; Second Lieutenant of City Troop, 1826-7; Treasurer of Phila. and Reading 
Railroad Co.; m. (first), February 12, 1824, Anna Boswell, b. at Calcutta 1797, d. 
March 15, 1870, dau. of Capt. James Tennant of the Royal Navy; m. (second) Anna 
G'bbon, dau. of his first cousin Catharine Lardner, who had m. Dr. John Heyshem 
Gibbon; 

John Saltar Lardner, b. Dec, 1797; d. Oct., 1798; 

William Branson Lardner, b. March 6, 1799; d. s. p. Nov., 1821; member of American 
Philosophical Society; 

John Lardner, b. July, 1801 ; d. March 3, 1865: Second Lieutenant of First City Troop, 
1833-9; m. Mary Perot Downing. Issue: Charles, d. young; Perot, d. s. p.; 

Lawrence Lardner, b. Nov. 20, 1802, removed to Oconomowac, Wisconsin; d. there 
March, 1873; m. Mary, dau. of George Breck, of Phila. Issue: Hannah, d. s. p.; 
George; Catharine, unm.; Richard, and Alexander; 

James Lawrence Lardner, b. Nov. 20, 1802; Rear-Admiral U. S. N.; of whom pres- 
ently ; 

Henry Lardner, b. Feb., 1804, removed to Michigan; d. there 1852; m. Mary Keyes, and 
had issue: Henry, m. Lena, dau. of Rev. Phillips; 

Edward Lardner, b. Oct. 25, 1805; d. s. p. 1824; 



928 LARDNER 

Alexander Lardner, b. March 28, 1808; d. July 14, 1848; some time Cashier of U- S- 
Bank, Phila.; m. Esther Hoppin of Providence, R. I., and had issue: Mary, wife of 
Isaac Starr of Phila. ; Esther, d. s. p. 

James Lawrence Lardner, sixth son of John and Margaret (Saltar) Lardner, 
born in Philadelphia, November 20, 1802, entered U. S. N. as a midshipman, May 
10, 1820, was on the frigate Brandywine that took Marquis Lafayette back to 
France, 1825, after his visit to the United States. He was commissioned a Lieu- 
tenant May 17, 1828; was navigating officer of the "Vincennes" in her trip round 
the world, and served on the flagship of the Mediterranean, Brazil and Pacific 
Squadrons. In 1850 he sailed for the coast of Africa in the brig, "Porpoise," and 
being commissioned Commander, May 17, 1851, spent three years in a cruise as 
commander of that vessel and the sloop-of-war "Dale," returning to Boston, 
Massachusetts, 1853. He was promoted to the rank of Captain, May 19, 1861, 
and in September of that year took command of the steam frigate "Susquehanna," 
of the North Atlantic Blockading Squadron, blockading the forts of South Caro- 
lina and Georgia. He took part in the capture of Port Royal, under Rear-Admiral 
Dupont, and for gallant service in that behalf his name was sent to Congress by 
President Lincoln for a vote of thanks. After the battle Admiral Dupont wrote 
Capt. Lardner, "Your noble ship through the whole of the battle was precisely 
where I wanted her to be and doing precisely what I wanted her to do. Your 
close support was a very gallant thing." In May, 1862, he took command of the 
East Gulf Blockading Squadron with the flag of a Rear-Admiral, and, July 16, 
1862, was commissioned Commodore. In December, 1862, he returned to Phila- 
delphia broken in health from a severe attack of yellow fever, by which dread 
disease the ship had lost forty officers and men. In May, 1863, he took command 
of the West India Squadron with the rank of Rear-Admiral, and remained on 
duty until October, 1864. For the next five years he was on special duty as a 
member of the Courts Martial and Examining Board, and was commissioned a 
Rear-Admiral July 25, 1866. In 1869 he was appointed Governor of the U. S. N. 
Asylum at Philadelphia, now called Naval Home, where he remained until 1872, 
when he was placed permanently on the retired list. He died in Philadelphia 
April 12, 1881. His death was taken notice of by the Navy Department in the 
following order : 

GENERAL ORDER. 

NAVY DEPARTMENT, 

Washington, April 15, 1881. 

The Navy Department announces with regret, to the Navy and Marine Corps the death, 
at Philadelphia, on the 12th instant, of the Rear Admiral James L. Lardner, in the seventy- 
ninth year of his age. 

Rear Admiral Lardner was appointed a midshipman from the state of Pennsylvania May 
10, 1820, and his whole career in the service was marked by purity of character, intelligence 
and devotion to duty. He was commissioned a Captain May 19, 1861, and was conspicuous 
as a commanding officer of the Frigate "Susquehanna" in the battle of Port Royal — so much 
so as to call forth General Orders from the Commander-in-chief commending the valuable 
services of the ship and the gallantry of her captain, officers and crew. 

May 19, 1862, he was appointed to command the East Gulf Blockading Squadron which 
however, he had to relinquish in December of the same year on account of an attack of 
yellow fever. 

July 16, 1862, he was commissioned a Commodore and from June, 1864, to October 
1864, commanded the West India Squadron. November 20, 1864, in accordance with the 
provisions of general statutes, he was placed on the Retired List, and promoted to a Rear 
Admiral thereon July 25, 1866. 

Among the many prominent commands which he held was that of Governor of the 
Naval Asylum at Philadelphia, from June, 1869, to June, 1872, for which he was particularly 
fitted by his experience and sympathetic nature. 



LARDNER 929 

In respect to his memory it is hereby ordered that, on the day after the receipt hereof, 
the flags of the Navy Yards and Stations, and vessels in commission, be displayed at half 
mast, from sunrise to sunset, and thirteen minute guns be fired at noon from the Navy Yards 
and Stations, flag-ships and vessels acting singly. WILLIAM N. JEFFERS, 

Acting Secretary of the Navy. 

Admiral Lardner married (first), February 2, 1832, Margaret, daughter of 
James Wilmer, by his wife Ann Emerson and granddaughter of Solomon Wilmer, 
of Maryland, by his wife Anne Ringgold. Right Rev. Joseph Wilmer, Bishop of 
Louisiana, and Right Rev. Richard Hooker Wilmer, Bishop of Alabama, were 
nephews of James Wilmer, and Major Ringgold, U. S. .A., who was killed in 
battle, was a relative. Margaret (Wilmer) Lardner died April 25, 1846, and he 
married (second) her sister, Ellen Wilmer. 

Issue of Admiral James L. and Margaret (Wilmer) Lardner: 

James Lardner, d. young; 
Anne Lardner, d. young; 
Lynford Lardner, b. Aug. 23, 1839; m. Ella Sweitzer; issue: Margaret, m. Robert M. 

Bums; 
Margaret Lardner, b. Oct. I.s, 1841 ; m. Edwin Landis Reakirt. Issue: 
James Lardner, b. Nov. 8, 1876; d. April 17, 1904; 
Edvifin Holcomb, b. 1877; 

Mary Wilmer Lippincott, m. Robert Hartshorne Large; issue: 
Margaret Lardner: 
William Mifflin; 
Sarah Meade. 
Ellen Wilmer Lardner, d. young s. p. 

Issue of Rear-Admiral James L. and Ellen (Wilmer) Lardner: 

Ringgold Wilmer Lardner, b. Sept. 11, 1854; partner of Craig, Heberton & Co., stock- 
brokers; d. Nov. 19, 1884. He was a member of City Troop, and at the time of his 
death an officer of that organization; 

James Lawrence Lardner, lawyer, b. Nov. 26, 1856; he was associated with James W. 
Biddle in International Fishery Commission, under appointment by President Grover 
Cleveland. Also member of City Troop. 



FOULKE FAMILY. 

Edward Foulke, the ancestor of the Pennsylvania family of the name, came 
with his family from Merionethshire, Wales, in 1698, and took up seven hundred 
and twelve acres in Gwynedd township, then Philadelphia county, erecting his 
dwelling at the present site of Penll)^! station on the North Pennsylvania Rail- 
road; his son, Thomas, erecting on the same site in 1728, a house which constitutes 
part of the present structure in which several generations of the family resided. 

Edward Foulke and his family were part of a colony of Welsh who came over 
in the "Robert and Elizabeth," Ralph Williams, master, which sailed from Liver- 
pool, April 18, 1698, and arrived at Philadelphia eleven weeks later. The coming 
of these Welsh families to Pennsylvania was the result of the settlement of the 
earlier Welsh colony in the townships of Lower Merion, Haverford and Radnor, 
where the frugal and industrious Cymric settlers had prospered, and became 
useful and prominent in Penn's new colony. Their constant communication with 
friends and relatives in Wales influenced other of their countrymen to seek homes 
in that section, and Hugh Roberts, one of the settlers on that tract in 1683, 
making a visit to his native country in 1697, gathered together a large number of 
Welsh farmers who accompanied him on his return in the "Robert and Elizabeth." 
They were preceded by two of their number as trustees, William John and 
Thomas ap Evan, who purchased of Robert Turner seven thousand two hundred 
and fifty acres of the ten thousand acres purchased of Penn in 1681, and on this 
tract the remnant of the passengers on the "Robert and Elizabeth," who had sur- 
vived the "bloody flux" which had carried away forty-five of their number during 
the voyage, at once settled. 

Edward Foulke like many of the other Welsh settlers in Pennsylvania, was 
descended from early Welsh princes, and through them from the Kings of Eng- 
land. Through his great-great-grandmother, Mary, wife of Robert ap David 
Lloyd, he had a strain of Norman blood, she being a descendant of King John of 
England, through his his son, Henry H., and grandson, Edward L, who by his 
wife, Eleanor, of Castile, had a daughter, Eleanor, from whom descended Elea- 
nor de Montfort, wife of Llewllyn, the last crowned Prince of Wales, from whom 
descended Owen Glendower, last native Prince of Wales, who fought long 
and valiantly for the independence of Wales, but was finally slain by Lord Morti- 
mer. From his daughter, Lowry, Mary, wife of Robert Lloyd was descended. 

The ancestry of Edward Foulke and an account of his life in Wales and re- 
moval to Pennsylvania, are given in a writing by himself four years after his 
arrival in the Province, and translated into English by his grandson, Samuel 
Foulke, of Richland, many years a member of Provincial Assembly from Bucks 
county. Copies of this quaint instrument are in existence, the one in possession 
of William Parker Foulke is as follows: — 

"I, Edward Foulke, was the son of Foulke ap Thomas, ap Evan, ap Thomas ap 
Robert, ap David Lloyd, ap Evan Vaughan, ap Griffith, ap Madoc, ap Jerwerth, ap Madoij 
ap Ririd Flaidd, Lord of Penllyn, who dwelt at Rhiwaedog. '*' 

"My mother's name was Lowry, the daughter of Edward ap David, ap Ellis, ap Robert 
of the parish of Llavor in Merionethshire. 



FOULKE 931 

"I was born on the 13th of the Sth Month, 1651, and when arrived at mature age, mar- 
ried Eleanor, daughter of Hugh ap Cadwalader, ap Rhys, of the parish of Spytu, in Den- 
bighshire; her mother's name was Gwen, the daughter of Ellis ap William, ap Hugh, ap 
Thomas, ap David, ap Madoc, ap Evan, ap Cott, ap Evan, ap Griffith, ap Madoc, ap Einion, 
ap Merdith, of Cai-Fa-dcg; and was born in the same parish and shire with her husband. 

"I had, by my said wife, nine children, whose names are as follows : Thomas, Hugh, 
Cadwalader and Evan; Grace, Gwen, Jane, Catherine, and Margaret. We lived at a place 
called Coed-y-foel, a beautiful farm belonging to Roger Price, Esq., of Rhiwlas, Merioneth- 
shire, aforesaid. But in process of time I had an inclination to remove with my family to 
the Province of Pensilvania; and in order thereto, we set out on the 3d. Day of the 2d. 
Month, A. D. l6g8, and came in two days to Liverpool, where, with divers others who 
intended to go the voyage, we took shipping the 17th of the same month on board the 
Robert and Elizabeth, and the next day set sail for Ireland, where we arrived and staid until 
the first of the third month, May, and then sailed again for Pennsylvania, and were about 
eleven weeks at sea. And the sore distemper of the bloody flux broke out in the vessel, of 
which died in our passage, five and forty persons. The distemper was so mortal that two 
or three corpses were cast overboard every day while it lasted. 

"But through the favor and mercy of Divine Providence, I with my wife and nine 
children escaped that sore mortality, and arrived safe in Philadelphia, the 17th of the Sth 
Month, July, where we were kindly received and hospitably entertained by our friends and 
old acquaintance. 

"1 soon purchased a fine tract of land of about seven hundred acres, sixteen miles from 
Philadelphia, on a part of which I settled, and divers others of our company who came 
over the sea with us, settled near me at the same time. This was the beginning of Novem- 
ber, i6g8, aforesaid, and the township was called Gwynedd, or North Wales. This account 
was written the 14th. of the nth. Month, January, A. D. 1702, by Edward Foulke." 

"Translated from British into English by Samuel Foulke." 
Edward Foulke was a plain Welsh farmer, possessed of an education superior 
to most of those of hi,i time. He and his family were not members of the Society 
cf Friends at the time of their immigration, though largely in sympathy with 
their views as to simplicity and plainness in the mode of life, and eventually 
joined the Society, of which his descendants were and many still are prominent 
and consistent members. He died on his plantation at Penllyn in 1741, and his 
wife, Eleanor, in March 1733-4. 

Issue of Edward and Eleanor (Cadwalader) Foulke: — 

Thomas, b. 1683, d. 1762; m. Gwen Evans, of whom presently; 

Hugh, b. 1685, d. 1760; m. 1713, Ann, dau. of John Williams of Montgomery, and 
about 1720, located in Great Swamp, Richland township, Bucks Co., where they 
reared family of eleven children, ten of whom married and reared families, and 
at death of Ann, the mother in 1773, their posterity numbered three hundred and 
forty-three. Edward was esteemed minister of Society of Friends for over thirty 
years. Samuel, eldest son was member of Colonial Assembly, 1761-8, and was 
succeeded by brother John, who served until Revolution. All four of sons, of 
Hugh and Ann Foulke, were disowned from Richland Meeting for taking oath 
of Allegiance to colonies, but the action of meeting therein was overruled by 
Yearly Meeting and they retamed membership. Many of their descendants have 
been prominent in affairs of their native county, and several later found homes in 
Phila. and elsewhere, and enjoyed a like prominence. Job Roberts Foulke, for 
many years Trust Officer of Provident Life and Trust Company of Phila. was 
descendant of Hugh and Ann (Williams) Foulke, through son Thomas; 

Cadwalader, b. i6gi, d. 1743; m. Mary Evans, and lived in Gwynedd until 1731, 
when he removed to Phila., and engaged in mercantile business, living on north 
side of High (now Market) St., near Court House. He was appointed justice of 
Phila. county Nov. 22, 1738, and did large amount of official business. His wife 
Mary, was dau. of Robert Evans, one of four sons of Evan ap Evan, who emi- 
grated from Wales with Edward Foulke in 1698, and settled in Gwynedd, and 
who traced ancestry through long line of Welsh princes to Tyndaethwy, King 
of Wales, d. 818, or 820. 

Mary (Evans) Foulke was prominent minister among Friends and travelled exten- 
sively in that service. She m. (second) in 1744, Thomas Marriott, of Bristol, 
Bucks Co., and d. 1747. 

Judah Foulke, only child of Cadwalader and Mary, b. 1722, became prominent citi- 
zen of Phila. and man of literary taste and fine classical attainments. Was Col- 



932 FOULKE 

lector of Excise, at Phila., 1745-50; sheriff of Phila. Co. 1770-72, and on Dec. 9. 
1773. was appointed by Gov. John Penn, "with the advice of Council" Keeper 
of Standards of Brass for Weights and Measures, for Co. of Phila. He d. at 
his residence, 34 North Front Street, 1776. He m. Feb. 16, 1743, Mary Bring- 
hurst, who survived him, dying Jan. 22, 1798, aged nearly 77 years; of their four 
children, John, Elizabeth, Mary and Deborah, the two eldest daughters d. unm. 
and Deborah, though twice m. left no surviving issue; 
Dr. John Foulke, only son of Judah and Mary (Bringhurst) Foulke, b. Phila. 1757. 
d. 1796, was physician of learning and high repute in his profession; was student 
at Col. of Phila., and presented himself for graduation in 1779, but vvas pre- 
vented from receiving his diploma by abrogation of charter, but received his 
degree of M. D. 1780. On May 4, 1780, he sailed for Europe, to perfect himself 
for practice of his profession, bearing letters to Benjamin Franklin, then Ameri- 
can Minister to France, from Joseph Wharton and Thomas Bond. Mr. Whar- 
ton's letter is as follows : 

Philadelphia, April 27, 1780. 
"The bearer, my friend Dr. John Foulke, is a Whig in his principles, has sub- 
scribed the Test to this State and though from the singularity of the tenets of the 
Quakers, he has not been active in the field, yet in the line of his physical profes- 
sion, has been useful in the hospitals. His intention in visiting France is to improve 
himself in Surgery and Physic; but being a perfect stranger in Paris, will stand in 
need of recommendation to the most eminent in the Medical branches, as well as 
for favorable introductions into the hospitals. Will you therefore, my good sir, as 
my friends is of unimpeached morals, and his relatives long known for good citi- 
zens, take him by the hand and recommend him to those gentlemen who can be 
most useful to him? I know you will, and in this happy thought 
I subscribe myself, Respectfully, etc., 

Joseph Wharton." 
To his Excellency, DR. FRANKLIN." 

While abroad. Dr. Foulke visited also, Germany and Holland, and gathered 
much useful knowledge, professional and otherwise. He was elected member of 
American Philosophical Society, in 1784, and was one of its secretaries in 1786, when 
Franklin was president. 

Dr. Foulke m. May 8, 1788, Eleanor, dau. of Richard and Lydia Parker, who 
survived him sixty-four years dying in the summer of i860. Of their three chil- 
dren only eldest Richard Parker Foulke, left issue, among whom was William 
Parker Foulke, the eminent philanthropist, and scientist, b. May 31, 1816, d. June 
18, 1865. 
Evan Foulke, fourth son of Edward and Eleanor, b. in Wales, received from his 

father, a farm of 250 acres in Gwynedd, and lived thereon to his death, 1745. 

He m. (first) 1725, Ellen Roberts dau. of Edward of Gwynedd, and had one dau. 

Margaret, who m. John Evans of Gwynedd. Evan m. (second) Anne Coulston 

and left surviving him one daughter Esther, who m. (first) a Yaxley, and 

(second) a Johnson. 
Gwen Foulke, b. in Wales, m. Dec. 6, 1703, Alexander Edwards, Jr., son of Alex- 
ander Edwards of Montgomery township, and had children Edward, Alexander, 

Thomas, Joseph, and Jane; 
Grace Foulke, b. in Wales, m. May 6, 1707, John GrifSth, eldest son of Griffith John, 

of Merion and had children, Griffith, John, Evan and Susannah Griffith; 
Jane Foulke, b. in Wales, Jan. 10, 1683-4, ni. June 5, 1713, Ellis son of John Hugh 

of Gwynedd, and they settled in Oley township, Berks Co., Pa.; she d. Aug. 7, 

1766, and her husband Jan. 11, 1764. They had issue, John, William, Rowland, 

Samuel, Edward and Margaret; 
Catharine Foulke, b. in Wales, m. June 5, 1713, Theophilus Williams, son of John 

of Montgomery, and had issue, John, Benjamin, Mary and Eleanor; 
Margaret, b. in Wales, m. May 23, 1717, Nicholas Roberts, son of Robert Cadwala- 

der, of Gwynedd, and had issue, Jane, Eleanor and Elizabeth. 

Thomas Foulke, eldest son of Edward and Eleanor (Cadwalader) Foulke, 
torn in Merionethshire, Wales, August 7, 1685, married at Gwynedd Meeting 
House, June 27, 1706, Gwen, eldest daughter of David Evans, of Radnor, and set- 
tled on a part of his father's lands at Penllyn, erecting the house so long occupied 
"by his great-grandson, William Foulke, and during the Revolution occupied by the 
■widow and unmarried children of his son, William Foulke, and the family of 



FOULKE 933 

Daniel and Lowry (Jones) Wister, including Sally Wister, whose delightful 
"Journal" was written there. 

Here Thomas and Gwen Foulke lived their quiet and uneventful life, she 
dying in 1760, and he in 1762. His sister, Gwen Edwards, was evidently living 
in a house on the same premises, as Thomas Foulke's will devises her "the use of 
the house she now lives in." His second son, William, is devised the home 
plantation of two hundred and thirteen acres, unless his eldest son chooses to 
accept twenty-five acres in lieu of a legacy of one hundred pounds. 

Issue of Thomas and Gwen (Evans) Foulke:—- 

Edward, b. 1707, d. 1770; m. (first) Gainor Roberts, dau. of Edward of Gwynedd, 
who d. Sept. 14, 1741; and (second) on Oct. 25, 1750, Margaret Griffith, daughter 
of Hugh of Gwynedd, who survived him. Edward Foulke was man of ability 
and prominence and served for some years as clerk of Board of Trustees of the 
Pa. Loan Office, of which board his brother-in-law, Rowland Evans, was one of 
members. 

Edward and Gainor (Roberts) Foulke, had issue: 

Joshua, b. 1731, m. (first) Catharine, dau. of John and Eleanor (Ellis) 
Evans, of Gwynedd; and (second) Hannah Jones, daughter of John of 
Gwynedd. His descendants are widely scattered through the west and 
south. 

Ann, b. Aug. 22, 1732, m. John Ambler, and had issue : 
Joseph Ambler, m. Elizabeth Forman; no issue. 
Edward Ambler, m. Ann Mather, and had issue. 
John Ambler, Jr. m. (first) Priscilla Naylor; (second) Mary Thomas. 

Issue by first marriage : 
Jesse Ambler, m. Ruth Roberts; no issue. 

Gainor Ambler, m. Isaac Jones, of Montgomery township, where he d. 1840, 
aged 93 years, and Gainor on June 20, 1847, in 92d year; Isaac Jones was 
son of Isaac Jones, who came to Montgomery, when a young man, from 
Merion, being son of David and Katharine Jones, who came from Wales 
in i6g8, and settled in Merion. Isaac was b. Sept. 5, 1708, and m. 1728, 
Elizabeth, dau. of George Lewis, then eighteen years of age, with whom he 
lived for seventy years, both dying in Montgomery he in 1798, and she in 
1800, both 90 years of age. 
Tacy, dau. of Isaac and Gainor (Ambler) Jones, m. Dec. 11, 1810, Edward, 

son of Amos and Hannah (Jones) Foulke, of whom later; 
Tacy Ambler, m. Joseph Shoemaker, and had issue six children; 
Susanna Ambler, m. Jesse Lukens of Towamencin, and had issue, nine 
children; 

Eleanor, b. Sept. 15, 1735, m. May 14, 1767, Edward Ambler, son of Joseph 
Ambler of Montgomery. 

Issue of Edward and Margaret (Griffith) Foulke (2d wife) : — 

Hugh, b. Feb. 21, 1752, d. Feb. 23, 1831; lived all his life at Gwynedd, and 

was earnest and consistent member of Gywnedd Meeting; m. Ann Roberts, 

and had issue: 

Cadwalader, of White Marsh, m. Ann Shoemaker; 

Hannah, for many years teacher at Westtown School; 

Sarah, m. Alexander Forman, Jr., of Montgomery; 

Joseph, of Gwynedd, minister of Society of Friends, for many years con- 
ducted private school for boys at Gwynedd; 

Hugh, of Gwynedd, (1788-1864) m. Martha Shoemaker, and was father of 
Thomas Foulke (1829-84), for fourteen years Supt. of Swarthmore Col- 
lege, m. Phebe Shoemaker; and of Hugh Foulke, prominent educator, 
first at Gwynedd, later in N. Y. 
Alice, b. July 15, 1754, d. inf.; 



934 FOULKE 

Hannah, b. Sept. 20, 1755, d. June 24, 1781; m. Edward Stroud and had 

issue, Edward, Margaret and Tacy. 
Cadwalader, b. 1758, d. Feb. 27, 1808; m. (first) Phoebe Ellis, and lived in 
Phila. until death of his wife of yellow fever in 1802; went to Wheeling, 
West Va. in 1806, where he m. (second) Ann Chirington; later went on 
trading voyage down Ohio river, and is supposed to have been robbed 
and murdered by river pirates; 

His only dau. by first wife, Sarah Fouike, went west with her father and 
m. there Dec, 1809, William Farquhar, d. Nov. 8, 1810, and she returned to 
Pa. and was teacher at Westtown Boarding School, 1811-16; m. (second) 
Jan. II, 1816, James Emlem of Phila., and had by him seven children; 
William FoulkEj b. 1708, d. 177S, m. Hannah Jones, of whom presently; 
Ellen, b. Aug. 18, 1710, m. William Williams, and had eight children; 
Evan, b. Aug. 27, 1712, d. Feb. II, 1748-9; 
Margaret, b. May 22, 1715, d. Nov. 23, 1734, unm.; 

Susanna, b. March 17, 1720-1, d. Phila., March i, 1787; m. at Gwynedd Meeting 
House, Nov. 15, 1748, Rowland Evans, born 1718, died August 8, 1789; son of 
John Evans of Gwynedd, b. in Denbighshire, Wales, 1689, by his wife, Eleanor 
Ellis, b. near Dolgelly, Merionethshire, Wales, dau. of Rowland Ellis, distin- 
guished Welsh preacher among Friends, who is referred to elsewhere in these 
volumes. John Evans was son of Cadwalader Evans, b. 1664, d. at Gwynedd, 
i745i youngest of four sons of Evan ap Evan, who came to Pa., i6g8, with 
Edward Fouike, by his wife Ellen, dau. of John Morris, of Bryn Gwyn, Den- 
bighshire, Wales, whom he m. in Wales. Cadwalader was eminent preacher 
among Friends, at Gwynedd. 

Rowland Evans, b. at Gwynedd and resided there, on father's lands, until 1766, 
when he removed to Providence township, and in June, 1784, in to Phila, that 
he has "lately removed from his former residence in Providence township, 
Phila. Co., and is prepared to draw Deeds, Mortgages, Articles of Agreement, 
and other Instruments of Writing at his house on the East side of Fourth St., 
a few doors above Race Street." He was appointed justice of peace of Phila. 
Co., 1749, 52, 57, 61, and was member of Provincial Assembly, 1761-71. On 
Sept. 14, 1785, appointed one of Commissioners of General Loan Office of Pa., 
and held that position to his death, Aug. 8, 1789. He was elected member of 
American Society for Promotion of Useful Knowledge, prior to its coalition 
with American Philosophical Society in 1769, and took deep interest in scien- 
tific research. An obituary notice of him in Gazette at time of his death, says 
among other things, "previous to the Revolution he was for many years a 
member of the Legislature and a Justice of the Peace, both of which he filled 
with great ability, dignity, and applause." All of his six children died without 
issue. 
Sarah, b. March 17, 1720, (twin to Susanna), m. William Jones, and left issue, a 

dau. Sarah, who m. David Green. 
Caleb, b. Aug. 13, 1722, d. July 7, 1736. 

William Foulke, second son of Thomas and Gwen (Evans) Fouike, born at 
the old homestead at Penllyn, Philadelphia, now Montgomery county, in 1708, 
and spent his whole life there, having inherited from his father nearly two hun- 
dred acres of the land taken up by his grandfather, Edward Fouike, in 1698. 
He was for many years an Elder and Overseer of Gwynedd Meeting, and a 
memorial of him was adopted by the Monthly Meeting at his death in 1775. By 
his will probated November 6, 1775, the home plantation was devised to his son, 
Jesse, and to his son, Levi, "the plantation where he dwells," while his sons, 
Caleb and Amos, and his three daughters receive bequests in money. 

William Fouike married at Gwynedd Meeting House, October 15, 1734, Han- 
nah, daughter of John Jones, "Carpenter." son of Rees John William, and Han- 
nah Price, some account of whom and their emigration from Wales, is given in 
our sketch of Robert Lloyd, who married his daughter Lowry. 

John Jones, "Carpenter," as he was known, to distinguish him from others 
of the name, came to Gwynedd township from Merion, about 17 10, and became 
a large land owner there and was a prominent, active and valuable citizen. 



FOULKE 935 

He was born in Merion, June 6, 1688, and was married at Gwynedd Meeting 
House, June 9, 1713, to Jane Edwards, daughter of Edward Griffith. She died 
May 14, 1757. John Jones died December 30, 1774; Gwynedd Monthly Meeting 
adopted memorials of both him and his wife. They were parents of ten children 
of whom but four married and left issue, viz: Hannah, above mentioned, who 
married William Foulke; Priscilla, who married Evan Jones, of Merion; Evan 
and Jesse, the latter settling in Bucks county. 

Issue of William and Hannah (Jones) Foulke: — 

Jane, b. Aug. 22, 1735, m. 1757, George Maris of Gwynedd, son of George Maris of 
Springfield, Chester Co., and had issue ten children of whom five d. unm. ; 

Caleb, b. Feb. S, 1736, d. in Phila., Jan. 25, 181 1; went to Phila. in early life and 
became prominent merchant there, first with his younger brother, Amos, and 
later with his son Owen, under the firm name Caleb and Owen Foulke; doing a 
large business in foreign trade; he was signer of Non-importation Agreement 
Oct., 1765. He purchased farm on Swedes Ford road in Montgomery Co., 1776, 
and made his home there during the British occupation of Phila. He m. in Phila., 
Jan. 21, 1762, Jane, eldest daughter of Owen Jones, Provincial Treas., by his wife 
Susanna Evans; Jane d. in Germantown, 1815. 

Caleb and Jane (Jones) Foulke had issue: — 

Owen, b. Phila. June 27, 1763, bur. at Gwynedd, Aug. 30, 1808; for time 
partner with his father in Phila., later practicing attorney-at-law, at Sun- 
bury, Pa. He was member of First City Troop, Phila., 1798. 
Caleb, Jr., b. Phila. Aug. 8, 1770, d. Oct. 15, 1823; merchant; m. (first) Nov. 
26, 179s, Margaret Cullen, and (second), 1814, Sarah Hodgkiss, widow, of 
Germantown; five children of first marriage survived infancy; 
Charles, m. Eliza Lowery, but left no issue; 
Jane, d. unm.; 
Hannah, d. unm.; 

Lowry, m. (first) Samuel Miles and (second) her cousin Evan Jones of 
Gwynedd, son of Evan and Hannah. 
Levi, b. May' 20, 1739, d. June 27, 1815; lived and d. on part of old Foulke home- 
stead; m. Ann, dau. of Thomas Evans, of Gwynedd, by his second wife, Hannah 
Morris. They had issue, one son, William, b. 1767, d. 1833, m- Margaret 
Mcllvaine, and had issue. 
Amos, b. Jan. 5, 1740-1, m. Hannah Jones, of whom presently; 
Jesse, b. Jan. 9, 1742-3, d. unm. March 16, 1821; lived with his unm. sister, Priscilla, 

in old house at Penllyn; 
Priscilla, b. Dec. 3, 1744, d. Jan. 25, 1821, unm.; 
Margaret, Sarah and Judah, all d. inf. 

Lydia, b. Apr. 9, 1756, m. John, (1756-99) son of Jacob and Hannah (Jarrett) 
Spencer, of Moreland; grandson of Samuel and Mary (Dawes) Spencer; and 
great-grandson of Samuel Spencer, who came from Barbadoes and was merchant 
in Phila., at his death in Dec, 1705, by his wife, a dau. of Robert Whitton. John 
and Lydia (Foulke) Spencer had nine children. 

Amos Foulke, third son of William and Hannah (Jones) Foulke, born at 
the old homestead at Penllyn, Philadelphia, now Montgomery county, January 5, 
1740-1, came to Philadelphia when a young man and engaged in the mercantile 
business with his elder brother Caleb, under the firm name of Caleb and Amos 
Foulke. He died in Philadelphia, and was buried as shown by Jacob Hiltz- 
heimer's diary, August 7, 1791. He married, May 20, 1779, Hannah, daughter 
of Owen Jones, Provincial Treasurer, by his wife, Susanna Evans. Hannah 
(Jones) Foulke was born in Philadelphia, December 28, 1749, and is said to have 
died of the yellow fever in Philadelphia in 1793. 

18 



936 FOULKE 

Issue of Amos and Hannah (Jones) Foulke: — 

Susan, b. Oct. ii, 1781, d. Feb. I, 1842, unm.; 

Edward, b. Nov. 17, 1784, d. July 17, 1851; m. Tacy Jones, of whom presently; 

George, July 23, 1786, July, 1848, unm. 

Edward Foulke, eldest son of Amos and Hannah (Jones) Foulke, born in 
Philadelphia, November 17, 1784, was reared from childhood by his uncle and 
aunt, Jesse and Priscilla Foulke, at the old family homestead at Penllyn, where 
his great-great-grandfather, Edward Foulke, had settled in 1699. The house 
in which his childhood was spent being the scene of "Sally Wister's Journal," in 
which the home life of Jesse Foulke and his unmarried sister, Priscilla, in the old 
family mansion, is beautifully portrayed. 

Edward Foulke succeeded to the old homestead and spent the remainder of 
his life there, dying July 17, 1851. He married, December 11, 1810, Tacy, daugh- 
ter of Isaac and Gainor (Ambler) Jones, of Gwynedd, Montgomery county, 
grandson of Isaac Jones, born in Merion, Philadelphia county, in 1708, who re- 
moved to Gwynedd when a young man, by his wife, Elizabeth, daughter of George 
Lewis, a native of Wales. Isaac Jones Sr. was a son of David and Katharine 
Jones, who came from Wales in 1699, and settled in Merion. Gainor Ambler, 
the wife of Isaac Jones Jr., and mother of Tacy (Jones) Foulke, was daughter 
of John Ambler by his wife, Ann, daughter of Edward and Gainor (Roberts) 
Foulke, of Gwynedd, and great-granddaughter of Edward Foulke, the founder 
of the family in America. 

Issue of Edward and Tacy (Jones) Foulke: — 

Ann Jones Foulke, b. Sept. 15, 1811, d. June 25, 1883; m. Dr. Hiram Corson; of 

whom presently; 
Jesse Foulke, b. June 23, 1813, d. Feb. 15, 1892, unm.; 

Charles Foulke, b. Dec. 14, 1815; studied medicine, and on graduation located at 
Gwynedd, removing to New Hope, Bucks Co., 1842, where he succeeded to prac- 
tice of Dr. Richard Corson, whose daughter, Harriet Mathews, he had married; 
a sketch of Dr. Corson and his ancestry follows; Dr. Charles and Harriet M. 
(Corson) Foulke had issue: 

Dr. Richard Corson Foulke of New Hope; m. Louisa Vansant; 
Edward Foulke of Washington, D. C, m. Eliza Van Horn; 
Thomas Foulke; 
Susan Foulke, b. July 18, 1818, d. Nov. 2, 1886, unm.; 
Owen Foulke, b. 1820, d. inf.; 

Priscilla Foulke, b. Oct. 10, 1821, d. Dec. 28, 1882; m. Thomas Wistar, son of 
Thomas, and had issue: 
Susan Foulke Wistar; 
Edward Foulke Wistar; 
Elizabeth Wistar; 
Anne Wistar; 
Jonathan Foulke, b. 1825, d. inf.; 

Lydia S. Foulke, b. Feb. 18, 1827, d. Aug. 27, 1861 ; m. Charles Bacon, son of John, 
and had issue : 

Anna Bacon, m. Robert NeflF, Jr. 

Rebecca Jones Foulke, b. May 18, 1829; m. 1857, Col. Robert Rodgers, son of Dr 

Richard Corson, of New Hope; of whom presently; 
Hannah Jones Foulke, b. Sept. 18, 1831 ; m. May 20, 1862, Francis, brother of 
Charles W. Bacon, who m. her sister Lydia; they had issue: 

Lydia Foulke Bacon, b. Dec. 27, 1863; m. Apr. 1890, Thomas H. Miles who 
d. Nov. 18, 1893; 



FOULKE 937 

Francis Llewwllyn Bacon, b. March i6, 1868; 

Albert Edward Bacon, b. Sept. 27, 1869; m. Oct. 15, 1902, Ella G. Kitchin, and 
had issue : 

Margaret Webb Bacon, b. Apr. 29, 1904; 
Francis Bacon, Jr., b. Jan. 20, 1907; 
Emily Foulke, b. Dec. 2, 1834; d. Aug. 23, 1892; m. Charles Lawton Bacon, son of 

Charles W. Bacon; he d. in 1862; 
Owen Foulke, b. 1838, d. inf. 

Ann Jones 1'oulke, eldest daughter of Edward and Tacy (Jones) Foulke, 
born September 15, 181 1, married, December 26, 1833, Dr. Hiram Corson, of 
Maple Hill, Plymouth township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, one of the 
most prominent physicians of his time. He was born at Hickorytown, Plymouth 
township, Montgomery county, October 8, 1804, and was seventh child and fifth 
son of Joseph and Hannah (Dickinson) Corson, and of prominent and influential 
family, early settled in Bucks county. 

Benjamin Corson, came to Bucks county from Staten Island in 1726, and 
purchased a farm in Northampton township, where he died in 1741, survived by 
his wife, Eleanor, and two sons, Cornelius and Benjamin. 

Benjamin Corson, second son of Benjamin and Eleanor, was born on Staten 
Island in 1718, and came with his parents to Bucks county at the age of eight 
years. He married, January 2, 1741-2, Maria Suydam, of a prominent Holland 
family, long settled on Long Island, from whence several representatives had mi- 
grated to Bucks county prior to the arrival of the Corson family in that county. 
In the same year as his marriage, Benjamin Corson, second, purchased a farm in 
Northampton township, on which he lived until his death on March 19, 1774. 
His widow survived him and died February 15, 1792, aged seventy-one years, 
three weeks, and four days. They were the parents of eight children, six sons 
and two daughters ; the second son, Richard Corson, being the father of Dr. 
Richard D. Corson, of New Hope, before referred to. 

Benjamin Corson, third, eldest son of Benjamin and Maria (Suydam) Corson, 
was born in Northampton township, Bucks county, March 6, 1743, and married 
there, in 1761, Sarah, daughter of Joseph and Mary (Ohl) Dungan, a descendant 
of the Rev. Thomas Dungan, the founder of the first Baptist church in Pennsyl- 
vania, coming from New York to Bucks county in 1684. Benjamin and Sarah 
(Dimgan) Corson lived for a time in Lov/er Dublin township, Philadelphia 
county, where most of their children were born, later residing in Makefield town- 
ship, and finally in Wrightstown township, Bucks county, where they both died 
in 181 1, he on October 2, and she on July 2. They had eleven children, six sons 
and five daughters, all of whom lived to mature age and married. 

Joseph Corson, the father of Dr. Hiram Corson, was second son of Benjamin 
Corson, third, by his wife, Sarah Dungan, and was born in Dublin township, 
Philadelphia county, March 15, 1764. He was reared on a farm and received a 
common school education. In 1785 he removed with his friend Samuel Maulsby 
(son of Hannah Maulsby, who became the second wife of Richard Corson, uncle 
to Joseph, of whom hereafter) to Plymouth village, Montgomery county, and in 
the following year married Hannah, daughter of Joseph Dickinson, of White 
Marsh township, Montgomery covnty, and great-granddaughter of William Dick- 
inson, of Maryland, who had come to White Marsh from Maryland about a cen- 
tury earlier. They followed farming in Plymouth township, locating at Hickory- 



938 FOULKE 

town in 1800, where Joseph Corson engaged in store-keeping in connection with 
the conduct of his farm until his death, April 4, 1834. His wife died December 
17, 1810, and he married (second), m 1812, Eleanor Coulston, niece and name- 
sake of the second wife of David Rittenhouse, the astronomer. She survived her 
husband and died in Norristown, November 21, 1846. 

Joseph and Hannah (Dickinson) Corson were the parents of eleven children 
of whom Dr. Hiram Corson was the ninth; Hiram Corson, LL. D., the distin- 
guished scholar and author, was his nephew. 

Dr. Hiram Corson received his early education in the Friends' School at 
Plymouth Meeting, under Joseph Foulke, and later under his eldest brother Alan 
W. Corson, an eminent scholar and mathematician. He later attended the 
Friends' Select School in Philadelphia. After leaving school he assisted his 
father in the store at Hickorytown until May 9, 1826, when he began the study 
of medicine in the office of his cousin, Richard Davis Corson, in New Hope, 
Bucks county, and the following year attended lectures in the Medical Depart- 
ment of the University of Pennsylvania, from which he received his medical 
degree in the Spring of 1828. He at once began to practice in his native neighbor- 
hood, and soon built up a large practice, becoming one of the best known physi- 
cians of eastern Pennsylvania. He founded the Montgomery County Medical 
Society in 1847, and was its president in 1849, and during his whole life one of 
its most active and prominent members. He became a member of the Medical 
Society of Pennsylvania in 1848, and was elected its president in 1853 ; became a 
member of the American Medical Association in 1862 ; became a member of the 
Philadelphia Obstetrical Society in 1874; elected Associate Fellow of the College 
of Physicians of Philadelphia in 1876, an honor conferred upon but very few phy- 
sicians outside of the city ; life member of Alumni Association of University of 
Pennsylvania, 1879, vice-president, 1849; elected honorary member of Harris- 
burg Pathological Society, 1881 ; and of the National Association of Obstetricians 
and Gynecologists in 1894. He was one of the trustees of the Hospital for Insane 
at Harrisburg, 1877-82. He became a member of the Historical Society of Penn- 
sylvania in 1884, and contributed a number of papers to its archives. He con- 
tributed a large number of papers to the "Transactions of the Pennsylvania 
Medical Society" and the "Transactions of the Ninth International Medical Con- 
gress." The great work, however, to which he devoted years of effort, was the 
recognition of the Women's College and its graduates by the medical fraternity 
and its associations, and securing the passage of laws to have only women physi- 
cians to have medical care of the insane of their own sex in the State Hospitals. 
When in 1858 the Board of Censors of the Philadelphia County Medical Society 
reported their disapproval of any member of the Society holding professional 
intercourse with the professors or alumni of the Women's Medical College, Dr. 
Corson took the question before the Medical Society of Montgomery county and, 
securing the adoption of strong resolutions against the action of the Philadel- 
phia Society, carried them as delegate to the State Medical Society in i860, where 
it met with violent opposition. The breaking out of the Civil War, distracted the 
attention of the medical fraternity, and the matter remained in abeyance until the 
meeting of the State Society at Wilkes-Barre in 1866, when Dr. Corson renewed 
his efforts to secure for the Woman's College the proper recognition of the pro- 
fession, and continued to agitate the matter until 1871, when the obnoxious reso- 



FOULKE 939 

lution of the Philadelphia Society was rescinded, and in 1877 he began the fight 
for women physicians in Insane Hospitals and secured the enactment of a law to 
that effect in 1879. For over half a century Dr. Corson was the recognized 
leader of thought in the community in which he lived and "an exemplar of the 
highest type." He was from his youth an earnest and active opponent of human 
slavery and his house was one of the prominent stations on the Underground 
Railroad. He retired from active practice in 1888, and died at Maple Hill, his 
residence during nearly the whole of his adult life, on March 4, 1894, in his 
ninety-second year. Leading newspapers of Philadelphia and adjoining counties 
pubHshed extended notices of his death and sketches of his life and work, and 
many of them had beautiful editorial comments on his life and character. The 
Montgomery County Medical Society held a special meeting, at which resolutions 
were adopted, and eulogistic addresses delivered, and a Memorial Meeting was 
held in the Court House at Norristown, May 22, 1896, where addresses were 
delivered by many prominent men on the life and character of Dr. Corson. From 
one of these we quote the following extracts. "Dr. Corson may not have been a 
great man in the sense of a world-wide reputation, yet he towered above his 
fellows in many points. He was as true as steel to his convictions and maintained 
them in the face of almost overwhelming opposition. * * * He was original 
in his methods in dealing with either questions of reform or the treatment of 
disease." He was one of the first to practice and advocate the use of cooling 
drinks and the application of ice in the treatment of fevers, and active in the 
crusade against the use of hot liquids that had largely prevailed in the earlier 
years of his practice. 

Issue of Dr. Hiram and Ann Jones (Foulke) Corson: — 

Dr. Edward Foulke Corson, b. Oct. 14, 1834, d. June 22, 1864; grad. from Med. 
Dept. of Univ. of Pa., 1855; practiced for short time with his father and at Con- 
shohocken; was appointed Assistant Surgeon of U. S. Navy and spent three 
years on board the flagship "Hartford" in the far east, returning in 1861; was 
made Surgeon of Naval Hospital at Phila., but seeking active duty, was assigned 
to the "Mohican," on which he served in that vessel's chase after Confederate 
ship "Alabama" for eighteen months. He d. a few weeks after his rettirn home 
of typhoid fever. 

Dr. Joseph K. Corson, b. Nov. 2, 1836; entered drug-store of William and John 
Savery, Phila., at close of school days and grad. in pharmacy at age of 22; volun- 
teered in Fourth Pa. Regiment, Apr. 20, 1861, as Corporal, honorably discharged 
as Sergeant, at expiration of his three months' service, July 26, 1861 ; became 
Medical Cadet on duty in Army Hospital, Broad and Cherry Sts., Phila., June, 
1861, and served to March, 1863, when he graduated from Med. Dept. of Univ. of 
Pa., and was made Assistant Surgeon of 6th Regiment Penna. Reserve Corps; 
received brevet as Maj. for faithful and meritorious service during the Wilder- 
ness campaign in Va., March 13, 1865; returned home at close of war and prac- 
ticed medicine with father until Nov., 1867, when he entered the U. S. Army as 
Assistant Surgeon with rank of First Lieut., rose to rank of Maj., and served in 
various parts of the Union, until his retirement after over thirty years of service, 
Nov. 30, 1897; m. Nov. 2, 1874, Mary Ada, dau. of Judge William Alexander 
Carter of Fort Bridger, Wy. ; 

Caroline Corson, b. Apr. 2, 1839, d. July 25, 1865; 

Tacy Foulke Corson, b. Jan. 26, 1841 ; m. William L. Cresson, son of James and 
Mary L. Cresson, and had issue: 

Charles Follen Corson, b. Nov. 22, 1842, grad. at Univ. of Pa., Coll. Dept.; studied 
law in office of William Henry Rawle, Esq., Phila., was admitted to Phila. Bar, 
and practiced his profession until death. May 30, 1889; served in Emergency Regi- 
ment 1862-3; tn. (iirst) Mary, dau. of Lewis A. Lukens, who d. Dec. 14, 1876; m. 
(second) 1889, Margaret Slemmer, of Norristown, who survived him; 

Susan Foulke Corson, b. Aug. 9, 1845, m. Nov. 26, 1868, Jawood Lukens, prominent 



940 FOULKE 

iron manufacturer, youngest son of Leis A. Lukens, original partner in Alan 
Wood Iron & Steel Co. Jawood Lukens, named for his maternal grandfather 
J. A. Wood, the earliest iron manufacturer in the Schuylkill Valley, was b. in 
1843, grad. at Polytechnic college of Phila. in 1865 as Civil Engineer, took interest 
in firm of Alan Wood Co. in 1873, but withdrew in 1881, and started the Long- 
mead Iron Co., with which later was incorporated Conshohocken Tube Works of 
which he was founder. He was Pres. of Longmead Iron Co. at his death, March 
10, igo8. He served in Town Council of Conshohocken; was long director of 
First National Bank and Tradesman's Bank of Conshohocken, and Quaker City 
National Bank of Phila.; many years Treas. and manager of Conshohocken Water 
Works, and filled many other positions of trust and honor; was member of 
American Institute of Mining Engineers; Engineer's Club, of Phila.; Franklin 
Institute; Union League, Art Club, and Manufacturers' Club. He had no chil- 
dren. 

Bertha Corson, b. Dec. 17, 1847; m. June 17, 1868, James, son of James Yocum, of 
Phila., where they still reside; they had seven children; 

Frances Stockton Corson, b. Oct. 25, 1849, m. Nov. 12, 1874, Richard Hopper, son 
of Charles and Anna (Miles) Day, of Phila.; they live in Gerraantown, and have 
three children; 

Mary Corson, b. Nov. 26, 1852, d. unm. 

Rebecca Jones Foulke, born at Penllyn, May 18, 1829, married, in 1857, 
Robert Rodgers Corson, then a business man of Philadelphia. He was born in 
New Hope, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, May 3, 183 1, and was a son of Dr. Rich- 
ard D. Corson, by his wife, Helen Stockton, daughter of Thomas Potts Johnson, 
one of the most eminent lawyers of New Jersey; and granddaughter of William 
Johnson, a native of Ireland, who came to America about 1750, and married some 
years later, Ruth Potts, of the distinguished family of that name at Trenton, New 
Jersey. He was a man of high scholastic attainments, and a great student of 
scientific subjects. After residing some years in Philadelphia, he removed to 
Charleston, South Carolina, where he died in 1767. Another son, Samuel John- 
son, born in Philadelphia in 1765, resided many years in Buckingham, Bucks 
county, and was the grandfather of the late Hon. Edward M. Paxson, Chief 
Justice of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania. 

Richard Corson, second son of Benjamin (second) and Maria (Suydam) 
Corson, was baptized at Southampton Church, as "Ryck," the Dutch form of the 
name Richard, on April 2, 1745. He was probably three times married, as the 
record in a Bible in possession of his descendants names Hannah (Davis) Mauls- 
by, the mother of his children, as his "second wife," and gives the date of her 
birth as January i, 1743, and that of her death as June 4, 1807; whereas at the 
death of Richard in 1812, his widow "Johannah Courson" renounced letters of 
administration on his estate. Hannah Maulsby, maiden name Davis, was a widow 
with one son, Samuel Maulsby, on her marriage to Richard Corson. They lived 
for some years on the York road at Bridge Valley, Warwick township, Bucks 
county, where he was proprietor of a hotel, and in 1787, removed to Solebury 
township, near New Hope, where he purchased in that year a large tract of land. 
Richard Corson died in Solebury, November 14, 1812, and was buried at North- 
ampton. He left two children, Richard Davis Corson, of whom presently, and 
Hannah, who married John Bye, of Buckingham. 

Richard Davis Corson, M. D., only son of Richard and Hannah, was born, 
probably in Warwick township, Bucks county, January i, 1785, and was reared 
in Solebury township, Bucks county. He studied medicine with Dr. John Wilson, 



FOULKE 941 

of Buckingham, but prior to settling down to the practice of his profession, took 
a trip to India, and practiced medicine and surgery for a year in Calcutta. He 
returned by way of Charleston, South CaroHna, and was taken sick there and 
kindly cared for by Dr. David Ramsey, the historian, thus forming an acquaint- 
ance and friendship which lasted through life. Dr. James Ramsay, son of the 
historian, was later a student under Dr. Corson at New Hope, and afterwards 
became Professor of Surgery in South Carolina Medical College. On his return 
to Solebury, Dr. Corson married, as above stated, Helen Stockton Johnson. He 
began the practice of his profession on his plantation near Aquetong, Solebury 
township, conveyed to him by his father in i8og, but about 1814, located in New 
Hope, where he was a very successful and popular physician, until his death in 
1842. Dr. Corson had as medical students many men who later became eminent 
in the profession, among them. Dr. James Ramsay, before referred to; Dr. 
Thomas Miner, of Wilkes-barre ; Dr. Theodore Dunn, of Rhode Island; Drs. 
James McNair, and William L. Van Horn, of Bucks county, the latter afterwards 
a surgeon in the United States Army ; Dr. Hiram Corson, the eminent physician 
of Plymouth, Montgomery county, before referred to; Dr. George Maulsby, of 
Plymouth Meeting, later Surgeon in the United States Navy, and a number of 
others. 

Issue of Dr. Richard Davis and Helen Stockton (Johnson) Corson: 

Caroline Corson, b. 1815, d. May 4, 1838, unm.; 

David Ramsay Corson, M. D., b. 1817, graduated in Medicine, but d. soon after, 
Jan. 29, 1841; 

Harriet Mathews Corson, m. Charles Foulke, M. D., in 1842, as previously nar- 
rated; 

Eliza Paxson Corson, unm., of Trenton, N. J.; 

Richard Corson, d. in his eighteenth year; 

Helen N. Corson, d. July 20, 1849, in her twenty-fourth year; 

Thomas Johnson Corson, M. D., b. 1828, studied medicine with his father, and 
grad. at the Med. Dept. of Univ. of Pa.; located first in Schuylkill Co., Pa., where 
he practiced two or three years; returned to Bucks Co., finally locating in Tren- 
ton, N. J., where he practiced until his death in 1879. He m. Mary K., dau. of 
Geo. Steever of Phila., and had four children, all of whom d. unm. 

Robert Rodgers Corson, born May 3, 1831 ; married Rebecca Jones Foulke. 

Robert R. Corson, at the age of sixteen, left New Hope, and went to 
live with his cousin, George Corson, at Plymouth Meeting, Montgomery 
county, and entered Tremont Seminary, conducted by the eminent edu- 
cator. Rev. Samuel Aaron, A. M. George Corson was an active and earnest 
abolitionist and during the time Robert R. Corson lived with him, his house was a 
prominent station on the "Underground Railroad," through which many fugitive 
slaves found their way to freedom, and it was here that the ardent sympathies of 
the young man were enlisted in behalf of the suffering slaves, as well as in behalf 
of suffering humanity in general, and the habit formed of ever striving to uplift 
and improve the condition of his fellow man, that indelibly marked the whole life 
of the great humanitarian. The poor hunted fugitives would arrive late at night, 
often in charge of friends from a station nearer the border line of the slave states, 
and after receiving food and shelter, sometimes for a week or more, were con- 
veyed in the night to a Friend's house in Upper Bucks county, a distance of about 
twenty miles, where they would be cared for in a like manner, and then trans- 
ferred to another station, until they finally reached Canada and freedom. 



942 FOULKE 

On the conclusion of his term at the Treemont Seminary, his health being deli- 
cate, he went to live with his brother Dr. Thomas Johnson Corson, near Potts- 
ville, in Schuylkill county, and remained there until 1856, when he removed to 
Philadelphia and engaged in shipping coal to the eastern markets, in which busi- 
ness he continued until the breaking out of the War of the Rebellion, at one time 
occupying three wharves on the Schuylkill, where he received the shipments of 
coal from a mine leased at Pottsville. Soon after locating in Philadelphia (in 
1857) he married Rebecca Jones Foulke, in whom he found a fitting helpmeet, in 
sympathy with his large hearted schemes for the amelioration of suffering 
humanity. 

Mr. Corson took an active interest in the political campaign of i860, that 
resulted in the election of Lincoln to the presidency, being one of the active mem- 
bers of the Union League ; later he devoted much time to active political work in 
support of the party of freedom. 

When Philadelphia became congested with the hordes of soldiers pouring in 
to be drilled and equipped for the defense of the national government, and trans- 
portation and supplies were inadequate for the demand, and soldiers could be seen 
loitering on the streets without proper food or clothing, Mr. Corson, was promi- 
nent among those who began feeding them on the streets and sidewalks. 

He assisted in opening the old boathouse at the foot of Washington Avenue, 
on May 27, 1861, as "The Union Volunteer Refreshment Saloon," and a few days 
later, in the cooper shop of William M. Cooper, of the "Cooper Shop Refresh- 
ment Saloon," and was soon elected secretary of the Union Volunteer Relief 
Committee, of which Arad Barrows was chairman. This committee not only 
cared for and fed free of charge soldiers going to the front, but later cared for the 
sick and wounded returning to their homes from the scenes of carnage at the 
south, and during the war disbursed approximately six hundred thousand dollars 
in this commendable work of feeding the hungry and caring for the sick. 

Bestowing much of his time, both night and day, to the details of this work, 
Mr. Corson soon learned that there were hundreds of soldiers, worn out by travel 
and sickness who were unable to reach the hospitals, or reaching them were unable 
to communicate with their friends and families. He at once set about the work 
of securing lists of stranded soldiers, which he would send to the governor of the 
state from which they came, who published them in the newspapers, so that their 
friends and relatives were enabled to communicate with them. This was the 
initiative to the organized work in behalf of the soldiers of the war, in which Mr. 
Corson was so long and meritoriously engaged. 

In a letter to him from Governor Buckingham, of Connecticut, dated June 5, 
1862, the governor says, "May I ask it as a favor that you will act as Military 
Agent of Connecticut for the care of her sick and wounded. * * * "pjjg 
service would be highly valued by our citizens, and greatly aid and cheer the men." 
This was followed on June 28, 1862, by a like appointment from Governor Mor- 
ton, of Indiana; on July 7, from Governor Andrew, of Massachusetts; July 8. 
from Governor Washburne, of Maine, renewed by Governor Corry, February 
26, 1864; on July 16, 1862, by Governor Solomon, of Wisconsin; July 22, 1862, 
by Governor Holbrook, of Vermont; on July 31, by Governor Olden, of New 
Jersey; on October i, by Governor Berry, of New Hampshire, renewed on No- 
vember 22, 1864, by Governor Gilmore, accompanied by a commission with rank 



FOULKE 943 

of Colonel; in November 5, 1862, by Governor Sprague, of Rhode Island, re- 
newed, with rank of Lieutenant Colonel, by Governor Smith, November i, 1864; 
on December 23, 1863, by Governor Cannon, of Delaware; on July 10, 1864, by 
Governor Bradford, of Maryland, and also from the Governor of Michigan. 
Thus Mr. Corson found himself officially employed to look after soldiers by ap- 
pointment and authority of thirteen states, and it became an important and 
laborious work, requiring his whole time and the help of four or five assistants, 
who daily visited hospitals, conferred with the men, looked after their arrearages 
in pay, and placed them in communication with their friends and the authorities 
of their own states. He also visited the battle fields of Virginia, immediately 
after engagements, frequently accompanied by his wife. On hearing of an en- 
gagement they would hurry to the field with supplies, establishing themselves in 
a convenient house, secure an ambulance and begin their noble work of caring for 
the fallen. To cheer and comfort these poor fellows, or take down in writing the 
last messages of the dying to their loved ones at home were the daily an hourly 
duties of Mr. Corson, his estimable wiie and their able assistants. Again when, 
late in the struggle, the poor starved and emaciated soldiers from the prison dens, 
at Belle Isle, Andersonville and Richmond, arrived at Annapolis, many of them in 
the last agonies of death, hundreds dying while being transported, it was his pain- 
ful duty to take down a record of these martyrs to liberty and union, to be for- 
warded to the states from whence they came. 

During these trying times, Mr. Corson was in constant communication with 
and enjoyed the confidence of the authorities of the different states which he 
represented, as well as with the various military departments of the government, 
and was thus enabled to be of the utmost assistance to the unfortunate victims 
of the war. That his noble work in behalf of humanity was to some extent ap- 
preciated will be shown by the many letters and resolutions transmitted to him 
from the different state authorities. On February 17, 1863, he received through 
Governor Sprague the thanks of the state, "for courtesy and kindness to our 
Rhode Island troops." And on May 26, Governor Smith of the same state writes, 
"Such generous devotion as you have always shown our suffering soldiers merits 
both the thanks of our Country and our State." In January, 1866, the State 
Assembly of Rhode Island adopted resolutions thanking him "for his untiring 
energy and self sacrificing devotion to the interests of our soldier." On Decem- 
ber 9, 1865, he was appointed Assistant Quartermaster General of Massachusetts, 
with the rank of Lieutenant Colonel, "in recognition of the faithful, energetic and 
discreet services rendered the state." 

The above are but specimens of the letters of thanks and resolutions received 
from the authorities of the different states which he represented. New Hamp- 
shire, Maryland, Vermont, Indiana, and other states transmitting to him like 
testimonials of their appreciation of his noble work in behalf of their citizen 
soldiers. 

Col. Corson also acted for the diffrent states in raising and equipping colored 
regiments for the war, and was Secretary of the Pennsylvania Freedsman's 
Relief Association, which supported one hundred teachers in the South, from 
1866 to 1872, establishing schools in Virginia, Maryland, South Carolina, Ala- 
bama, Mississippi and Tennessee. He was also secretary of the committee which 
collected colored soldiers' and sailors' orphans throughout the states and raised 



944 FOULKE 

funds and purchased buildings for the estabUshment of Colored Soldiers' Orphan 
School, in Pennsylvania; the state making no provision for them as it did for 
the wliite orphans. 

On Mr. Corson's resignation, as the representative of the state of Pennsyl- 
vania, in relation to disabled soldiers, he received from Lieutenant Colonel John 
Campbell, Chief Surgeon, District of Pennsylvania, the following: 

"The agreeable relations, official and personal that have existed during your 
whole term of service, between yourself and the Medical Director's Office, made 
it a pleasure to act in concert with you in all efforts for the good of the soldier. 
* * * For your judicious co-operation with me on all occasions, I tender my 
sincere thanks. The soldiers of your own and other states in whose behalf you 
labored, cannot have other than the most grateful recollections of your services. 
My Dear Colonel." 

Surgeon Kenderdine, Medical Director, having charge of the sick and wound- 
ed arriving in the hospitals from the battle fields, on hearing of Col. Corson's 
resignation, on August 23, 1865, sent him a still stronger testimonial of his ap- 
preciation of the noble services rendered which concludes as follows: "Your 
disinterestedness in relieving suffering early won my regard, and every soldier I 
have sent you for special aid (and they have not been few) has returned con- 
vinced that all that was possible would be done for him. * * * With such 
a record you may be proud and safely retire to private life." 

Not less courageous in times of peace than in the time of war, when the citi- 
zens of Philadelphia decided to take action to correct political abuses existing in 
the state and city government, Col. Corson was one of the committee appointed 
at a meeting of citizens held at the Academy of Music, in June, 1871, to make 
independent nominations for municipal and legislative offices, and was one of 
the organizers of the Municipal Reform Association, of Philadelphia, October 
26, 1871. Again in 1880, he became a member of the Committee of One Hun- 
dred, and was one of its first secretaries, filhng that position from 1881 until the 
dissolution of the Committee in 1885. He was a member of the Board of Di- 
rectors of Pennsylvania Institution for the Deaf and Dumb, one of the incor- 
porators of the Women's Medical College of Pennsylvania ; member of the board 
of Inspectors of the Philadelphia County Prison; of the Board of Directors of 
Philadelphia Society for Organizing Charity; membjr of the Executive Com- 
mittee of the Philadelphia Fountain Society ; member of the Board of Directors 
and first treasurer of the Pennsylvania Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to 
Animals; member of the Board of Directors of Hay's Mechanics' Home, and 
identified with almost all the leading charitable enterprises of the city. He was 
also a member of the Board of Directors of the Art Club, member of its House 
Committee and Chairman of its Reception Committee; and a member of the 
executive committee of both the Municipal League and the Pennsylvania Civil 
Service Reform Association. 

Few citizens of Philadelphia or any other city have maintained so long and 
honorable a record in the cause of humanity, and the elevation of the human 
race; and in all his undertakings he has been ably seconded by his estimable wife, 
Rebecca (Foulke) Corson. They have no children, and Col. Corson was the last 
of the descendants of Dr. Richard Davis Corson to bear the name of Corson. 
Col. Corson died February 19, 1904. 



CRESSON FAMILY. 

Pierre Cresson, born about the year 1610, is believed to have been a native of 
Picardy. With others of the Reformed religion he took refuge in Holland, where 
at an early date he married, and lived at various times in Sluis, Ryswyck and 
Delft. In 1657, with his wife, Rachel Claes, or Cloos, and their children, he emi- 
grated to the settlement of New Amstel, on the Delaware river. 

While in Holland Pierre Cresson had held the position of gardener to the 
Prince of Orange. His reputation as a farmer of ability doubtless gained for him 
the notice of Governor Stuyvesant, who, being on a visit to New Amstel, engaged 
Cresson for service at his bowery, at New Amsterdam, on Manhattan Island, to 
which place he appears to have removed. It was probably shortly after his arrival 
at New Amsterdam that Pierre Cresson returned to Holland, leaving his family 
here. He was no doubt sent by Stuyvesant to procure a supply of competent 
farmers for the governor's lands, whom he brought back with him on the "Gilded 
Beaver," sailing from Amsterdam, on April 25, 1659. 

Pierre Cresson and his son, Jacques, were among the early settlers of 
Harlem, both of them taking up plots and becoming active in the affairs of the 
new town. When the Director General and Council issued a commission, on Au- 
gust 16, 1660, for the establishment of the first court of justice at Harlem, Pierre 
Cresson was one of the three Schepens or magistrates appointed. In June, 1663, 
at the time of an Indian alarm, military companies were formed for the protection 
of the settlement, with Pierre Cresson as chief in command, under the title of 
corporal. In 1680 he removed to Staten Island, where he probably died. Our 
last record of him is dated August 3, 1681. His widow was living on Staten 
Island in 1690, but appears to have died shortly after. We find it on record that 
in 1679 Pierre Cresson had a large family of children and grandchildren. The 
following list no doubt falls far short of the full number of his children. 

Children of Pierre Cresson and Rachel Claes: 

Susanna Cresson, b. Ryswyck; m. Nicholas Delaplaine; 

Jacques Cresson, d. Aug. i, 1684; m. Marie Reynard; 

Christina Cresson, b. Sluis; m. (i) Jean Letelier; (2) Jacob Gerretzs Haas; 

Rachel Cresson, b. Delft; m. (i) David Demarest, Jr.; (2) Jean Durie; (3) Roelof 

Vanderlinde; 
Joshua Cresson, bapt. June 8, 1658; 
Elias Cresson, bapt. Dec. 17, 1662. 

Jacques Cresson' (Pierre') was doubtless born in Holland, although no record 
of the date and place of his birth has been found. He must have been young at 
the time of his arrival in this country, and when the settlement of Harlem was 
made. He died in New York, August i, 1684. On September i, 1663, Jacques 
Cresson and Maria (or Marie) Reynard were married, as shown by the records 
of the Dutch Reformed Church of New York. 

In 1660 Jacques Cresson was made lancepesade (i. e. assistant corporal) of 
the first military company of Harlem. In 1663 he was a private in one of the 
companies under his father's command. In 1669 he was made constable of the 



946 CRESSON 

town, but shortly afterwards concluded to remove to New York. The Harlem 
property was disposed of and one on Broadway purchased, which was sold by 
his widow after his death. 

Maria Reynard, widow of Jacques Cresson, according to the church records, 
left New York for Curaqoa shortly after her husband's death. She next appears 
on November 3, 1696, as the purchaser of a house and land at the northeast 
corner of Fourth and Chestnut streets, Philadelphia. This measured seventy-four 
and a quarter feet on Chestnut street, and one hundred and seventy-eight feet on 
Fourth street. Her sons, James and Solomon, were in membership with Friends 
in Philadelphia, and her own death on 8mo. 10, 1710, is shown in the records of 
that Society. 

Children of Jacques and Marie (Reynard) Cresson: 



James (Jacobus) Cresson, bapt. Sept. 13, 1665; m. Mary ; 

Maria Cresson, bapt. Apr. 13, 1670; 

Susanna Cresson, bapt. Dec. 13, 1671; 

Solomon Cresson, bapt. June 30, 1674; d. 9, 10, 1746; m. Anna Watson; 

Abraham Cresson, bapt. May 31, 1676; 

Isaac Cresson, bapt. May 31, 1676; 

Sara Cresson, bapt. Dec. 18, 1678; 

Anna Cresson, bapt. Nov. i, 1679; 

Rachel Cresson, bapt. July 22, 1682; m. (1) Henry Sluyter; (2) Lawson. 

Solomon Cresson' (Jacques', Pierre'), baptized in the Dutch Reformed 
Church, New York City, on June 30, 1674; died in Philadelphia, gmo. 10, 1746; 
married in Philadelphia Friends' Meeting, iimo. 14, 1702, Anna Watson. 

Solomon Cresson probably removed with his mother and brother, James, to 
Curagoa in 1685. While in the West Indies he no doubt acquired that proficiency 
in the Spanish language which later proved of such benefit to himself and others. 
Whether he returned with the rest of the family when they settled in Philadel- 
phia we have no means of learning, but our next definite knowledge of him is at 
Port Royal, Jamaica, in 1696. According to family tradition he had been sent to 
the West Indies on business for his brother, James, which proving unsuccessful 
and his expenses having been considerable in his endeavor to recover a vessel 
seized by the admiralty, he was so reduced in means as to be compelled, as a 
sailor, to work his passage back. Of his shipwreck, subsequent viscissitudes and 
adventures, we are told in the journal written by Jonathan Dickinson, one of the 
shipwrecked passengers, and first printed in 1699. The barkentine "Reforma- 
tion" sailed from Port Royal on August 23, 1696, bound for Philadelphia. She 
had a stormy passage almost from the first, and on September 22d was wrecked 
oflf the coast of Florida. Both passengers and crew were saved, making a landing 
on a desolate coast. The castaways were soon discovered by Indians, and as it 
was known that the English were in great disfavor with the tribes inhabiting 
these parts, a suggestion was made that they should pass themselves off as Span- 
iards. This they were enabled to do through the ability of Solomon Cresson to 
converse in the Spanish tongue. The Indians from the first were somewhat 
suspicious, but under their escort the party finally reached St. Augustine, after 
much suffering and great hardships. Some little time was taken for rest and 
recuperation before the journey was continued to Charleston, where they took 
passage for Philadelphia. 



CRESSON 947 

Solomon Cresson shortly afterwards purchased a part of his mother's lot on 
Chestnut street, on which he built a carpenter shop and carried on his business 
of turner and chair-maker. She later sold to him the house and lot adjoining, 
on which was afterwards built another three-story brick house. He was made 
constable of the town, and Watson tells in his Annals of Philadelphia, that in the 
year 1708, while going his rounds one night, Cresson discovered a riotous party 
in a tavern and ordered them to disperse. It happened that one of the number 
was John Evans, Governor of the Province, who called the constable into the 
house, flogged him very severely and had him imprisoned for two days. Cresson 
was afterwards fully exonerated. 

Solomon Cresson prospered in business and acquired considerable property. 
Before his death he had conveyed to his son, James, a house and lot on the west 
side of Second street, below Market. In the rear of this property were two 
houses and lots on the east side of Strawberry Alley, which were given to his son, 
John. John Cresson was living in another house on the west side of Strawberry 
Alley at the time of his father's death, and it was in this house that Solomon 
Cresson died. Falling on the pavement of the Friends' Meeting House, in an 
attack of apoplexy, he was carried to his son John's house and there expired. 
This third house on Strawberry Alley the father devised by will to John, to 
whom came also the easternmost of the three lots on Chestnut street, containing 
a frame house and the shop. The latter property was sold in two portions, in 
1791-92, by Jeremiah, son of John Cresson, to William Prichett and John Scotte. 

Solomon Cresson's will left land in New Castle county, Delaware, to his sister 
Rachel Lawson's family, and considerable other real estate to be divided among 
his grandchildren. The three- story brick house, at the corner of Fourth and 
Chestnut streets, and that on the lot next east of it, came into the possession of 
Anna Lobdell and her family. 

Children of Solomon and Anna (Watson) Cresson: 

Mary Cresson, b. 9, 23, 1703; d. 7, i, 1720; 

Anna Cresson, b. 5, 20, 1705; d. i, 3, 1725; 

Rachel Cresson, b. 5, 17, 1707; d. before 3, 26, 1768; 

James Cresson, b. 8, 2, 1709; d. 3, s, 1746; m. Sarah Emlen; 

Solomon Cresson, b. 8, 4, 1711; d. i, 28, 1761; unm.; 

Rebecca Cresson, b. 6, 27, 1713; d. 4, 7, 1794; m. Isaac Lobdell; 

John Cresson, b. 6, 28, 1715; d. 8, 20, 1771; m. Rebecca Briant; 

Samuel Cresson, b. 7, 14, 1717; d. 9, 19, 1717; 

William Cresson, b. 6, 9, 1718; d. 6, 19, 1718. 

James Cresson' (Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), born 8mo. 2, 1709; died 3mo. 
5, 1746; married at Friends' Meeting, Philadelphia, 3mo. 25, 1738, Sarah Emlen, 
born imo. 19, 1709-10, died 8mo. 2, 1752, daughter of George and Hannah (Gar- 
rett) Emlen. James Cresson was connected with his father in business. His 
early death and that of his wife, a few years later, left their two sons to the care 
of their mother's sister, Mary, and her husband, John Armitt, who had no chil- 
dren of their own, and by whom they were brought up with loving care. 

Children of James and Sarah (Emlen) Cresson: 

George Cresson, b. 2, 15, 1739; d. 9, 27, 1740; 

Caleb Cresson, b. 8, 20, 1742; d. i, 21, 1816; m. (i), Sarah Hopkins; (2), Anna- 
bella Elliott; (3), Jane (Cox) Evans; 



948 CRESSON 

Joshua Cresson, b. 2, 30, 1744; d. 10, 21, 1793; m. Mary Hopkins; 
James Cresson, b. 6, 12, 1746; d. 10, 23, 1747. 

John Cresson* (Solomon", Jacques', Pierre'), born 6mo. 28, 171 5; died 8mo. 
20, 1771. The marriage license of John Cresson and Rebecca Briant, bearing 
date of August 7, 1736, is on record at Trenton, New Jersey. On 4mo. 24, I737> 
John and Rebecca Cresson, who were under dealings for their outgoing in mar- 
riage, presented their acknowledgement, which was accepted and ordered to be 
read at the close of the first meeting. 

John Cresson was a "whitesmith." He lived in a house on the west side of 
Strawberry Alley, which house and one on Lombard street he left by will to his 
.'-on, James. To Jeremiah were left the three houses on the east side of Strawberry 
Alley, and to be divided between the two sons were left three hundred acres of 
land in Cecil county, Maryland, and a pasture lot on Hudson's Alley. 

Children of John and Rebecca (Briant) Cresson: 

Jeremiah Cresson, b. 1738; d. 5, 4, 1800; m. (i), Hannah Crean; (2), Martha 

Rickey; 
Anna Cresson, d. 6, 17, 1739; 

James Cresson, b. 12, 30, 1740-1; d. 6, 21, 1799; m. Sarah Hooton; 
Rebecca Cresson, d. 8, 19, 1743; 
Hannah Cresson, d. 8, 16, 1745; 
John Cresson, d. 12, 11, 1745; 
John Cresson, d. 10, 21, 1756. 

Caleb Cresson° (James', Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), born 8mo. 29, 1742; 
died imo. 21, 1816; married (i) at Haddonfield Meeting, New Jersey, 5mo. i, 
1767, Sarah Hopkins, born i2mo. 4, 1748, died gmo. 11, 1769, daughter of Eben- 
ezer and Sarah (Lord) Hopkins; married (2) at Philadelphia Meeting, 4mo. 16, 
1772 Annabella Elliott, born 2mo. 15, 1749; died lomo. 12, 1793, daughter of 
John and Annabella (Bonnyman) Elliott, formerly of Bolton, Leicestershire, 
England. He married (3) at Middletown Meeting, Delaware county, 7mo. 2, 
1795, Jane, widow of Thomas Evans, and daughter of John and Mary Cox, of 
Edgmont. There were no children by the last marriage. 

Caleb Cresson, left an orphan at an early age, served an apprenticeship of six 
years and four months with Thomas Clifford, in Water street, between Market 
and Arch streets, but did not engage in mercantile pursuits on his own account. 
After his marriage he made Haddonfield his home, but returned to Philadelphia 
after the death of his first wife, living on Cherry street above Fifth, where he and 
his brother had a large inherited property. He took an active part in the affairs 
of the Society of Friends, had valuable and important trusts, and gave much time 
and care to Meeting business. For a number of years he kept the register of 
burials of the Philadelphia Monthly Meeting, and was notable for his beautiful 
handwriting. He left a diary for the years 1791 and 1792, which is a most valued 
family possession. In 1793, when Philadelphia was visited by the yellow fever, 
he and his son Caleb remained in the city. The latter was attacked by the epi- 
demic but recovered. His wife, Annabella, went to Radnor with her son, John 
and died there of the fever. 

Child of Caleb and Sarah (Hopkins) Cresson: 

Mary Cresson, b. 3, 7, 1768; d. i, 20, 1777. 



CRESSON 949 

Children of Caleb and Annabella (Elliott) Cresson: 

John Elliott Cresson, b. ii, ii, 1773; d. 8, 25, 1814; m. Mary Warder; 
Caleb Cresson, b. 5, 11, 1775; d. 11, 21, 1821; m. Sarah Emlen; 
Joshua Cresson, b. 1, 8, 1777; <!• 3. 24. 'i'777; 
Mary Armitt Cresson, b. I, 21, 1778; d. 1, 29, 1780; 
William Cresson, b. 1780; d. 3, 10, 1789. 

Joshua Cresson" (James*, Solomon", Jacques', Pierre'), born 2mo. 30, 1744; 
died lomo. 21, 1793; married at Haddonfield Meeting, 4mo. 26, 1770, Mary Hop- 
kins, died 2mo. 19, 1801, daughter of Ebenezer and Sarah (Lord) Hopkins, 
sister to his brother Caleb's wife. They were the granddaughters of John Had- 
don, nephew of Elizabeth Estaugh, whose romantic story is so beautifully told by 
the poet, Longfellow. 

Children of Joshua and Mary (Hopkins) Cresson: 

Sarah Cresson, b. i, 27, 1771; d. 9, 23, 1829; unm. ; 

James Cresson, b. 2, i, 1772; d. 12, 17, 1773; 

Ebenezer Cresson, b. 3, 3, 1774; d. 8, 11, 1800; unm.; 

Samuel Cresson, b. 9, i, 1775; d. i, 21, 1777; 

Joshua Cresson, b. 3, 24, 1782; d. s. p. 5, 8, 1841; m. Hannah Raper; 

John Armitt Cresson, b. 5, 18, 1784; d. 8, 18, 1814; unm.; 

George Cresson, b. 5, 17, 1787; d. 9, 21, 1798; 

Samuel Cresson, b. 3, s, 1791 ; d. 4, 15, 1831 ; m. Elizabeth M. Blackwood. 

Jeremiah Cresson', (John*, Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), born 1738; died 
5mo. 4, iSoo; married (i) Hannah Crean, born 1740, died 8mo. 24, 1790; mar- 
ried (2) Martha, daughter of Keirl and Sarah (Milner) Rickey, of Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, sister of the husband of his daughter, Mary. 

Jeremiah Cresson was a private in Capt. Tench Francis's Company, First 
Battalion, Philadelphia Militia, in August, 1781, in the War of the Revolution. 
He lived on Fourth street, between Market and Chestnut streets. 

Children of Jeremiah and Hannah (Crean) Cresson: 

Rebecca Cresson, b. 12, 12, 1760; d. 8, 19, 1761; 

John Cresson, b. 6, 28, 1762; d. 11, 8, 1764; 

Rebecca Cresson, b. 2, 10, 1764; m. William Prichett; 

Mary Cresson, b. 8, 4, 1766; d. 11, 23, 1846; m. Samuel Rickey; 

Hannah Cresson, b. 12, 30, 1769; d. 2, 19, 1794; m. Joseph Matlack; 

John Cresson, b. 5, 7, 1772; d. unm.; 

Eleanor Cresson, b. 5, 26, 1774; d. 10, 3, 1776; 

Richard Crean Cresson, b. i, 7, 1777; d. 7, 9, 1837; m. Elizabeth Stroud; 

Eleanor Cresson (2d), b. 11, 25, 1781; m. Richard Massey. 

James Cresson" (John*, Solomon", Jacques", Pierre'), born i2mo. 30, 1740-1 ; 
died 6mo. 21, 1799; married, 3mo. 12, 1772, at Philadelphia Meeting, Sarah 
Hooton, born i2mo. 18, 1747, died 3mo. 13, 1803, daughter of Benjamin and 
Hannah (Head) Hooton. 

James Cresson lived on Second street, above Market, in one of the two houses 
bequeathed to him by the will of his father-in-law, Benjamin Hooton. He was a 
lumber merchant, and was for eighteen years a minister among Friends. A por- 
tion of his journal, written while on a religious visit to Barbadoes, is still in 
existence. 



950 CRESSON 

Children of James and Sarah (Hooton) Cresson: 

Benjamin Cresson, b. i, 23, 1774; d. 8, 19, 1827; m. Deborah Phipps; 

Rebecca Cresson, b. 7, 30, 1775; d. 6, 4, 1837; m. Philip Garrett; 

James Cresson, b. 10, i, 1776; d. 6, 16, 1843; m- (0, Hannah Humphreys; (2), 

Sarah Parrish; 
John Head Cresson, b. 6, 28, 1779; d. i, 12, 1845; m. Rachel Walter; 
Joseph Cresson, b. 6, 22, 1781; d. 2, 11, 1861; m. Mercy Chapman; 
Hannah Head Cresson, b. 11, 25, 1782; d. 4, 20, 1784; 
Sarah Cresson, b. 11, 7, 1784; d. 8, 28, 1788; 

Elizabeth Cresson, b. 11, 18, 1786; d. s. p. 3, 14, 1854; m. Samuel Mason; 
Sarah Cresson (2d), b. 6, 9, 1789; d. 11, 16, 1851; unm. 

John Elliott Cresson' (Caleb", James*, Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), born 
iimo. II, 1773; died 8mo. 25, 1814, at number 74 High (or Market) street, 
Philadelphia; married, 4mo. 28, 1794, Mary Warder, died imo. 13, 1863, aged 
eighty-seven years, daughter of Jeremiah and Deborah (Roberts) Warder. John 
Elliott Cresson was a conveyancer. 

Children of John Elliott and Mary (Warder) Cresson: 

Elliott Cresson, b. 3, 2, 1796; d. 2, 20, 1854; unm. An eminent philanthropist; 

Warder Cresson, b. 7, 13, 1798; d. 11, 6, i860; m. Elizabeth Townsend; 

Annabella Cresson, b. 6, 22, 1800 ; 

Deborah Ann Cresson, b. 8, 4, 1802; d. 10, 25, 1823; 

Sarah Emlen Cresson, b. 7, i, 1806; d. 2, 3, 1878; m. John M. Dickey; 

Caleb Cresson, b. 2mo. 1808; d. 9, 30, 1809; 

Clement Cresson, b. 9, 2, 1810; d. s. p.; m. Margaretta Bonsall; 

John E. Cresson, b. 6mo. 1814; d. 5, 3, 1816. 

Caleb Cresson" (Caleb', James', Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), born 5mo. 11, 
1775 ; died iimo. 21, 1821 ; married, 6mo. 4, 1807, at Arch Street Meeting, Phila- 
delphia, Sarah Emlen, bom 6mo. 19, 1787, died 3mo. 28, 1870, daughter of Caleb 
and Mary (Warder) Emlen. The following sketch of Caleb Cresson, Jr., was 
written by his nephew, Elliott Cresson : 

Caleb Cresson was one of the most eminent and highly respectable merchants of Phila- 
delphia. Having amassed a large fortune * * * he retired from commercial pursuits; 
and possessing a strong philanthropic and enlightened mind, devoted his time to objects 
of public utility and benevolence. He was one of the original projectors and most liberal 
patrons of the "Asylum for Persons Deprived of their Reason," "The Pennsylvania Insti- 
tution of the Deaf and Dumb," and in early life was a most efficient member of our Free 
School Establishment and Prison Society, and of the latter was secretary at the time of 
his death. Of the Schuylkill Navigation Company he was a most indefatigable director, 
and when public confidence had at several different times flagged from the failure of 
similar schemes, his subscribing large sums added to the reliance placed on his excellent 
judgment, re-established the drooping concern. 

It was not only in public institutions that he shone thus conspicuously; his feeling 
heart sought out objects among the widowed, the fatherless and them who had no helper, 
and aided their necessities, as he supposed, unknown to the world. When thus in the 
meridian of his usefulness, and from the vigor of his excellent constitution his fellow citi- 
zens fondly hoped his days would be lengthened out to a good old age, it pleased Provi- 
dence to call him from his works to rewards; and although he made no high profession to 
men, his unblemished life, spotless integrity, and peaceful end furnish us wxih the consoling 
hope that he is in the fruition of that life which is the portion of the righteous * * * 

It was with this valued relative I served my apprenticeship. On my coming of age he 
declined business in my favor, and by aiding me with the loan of a large sum to conduct 
it prosperously, together with the paternal regard and advice he often extended to me in 
great measure supplied the loss I had sustained in the death of an affectionate father. ' 

Children of Caleb and S(frah (Emlen) Cresson: 

Mary Emlen Cresson, b. 12, 16, 1809; d. 12, 7, 1890; m. Joseph P. Smith; 
Emlen Cresson, b. 3, 12, 1811; d. 3, 2, 1889; m. Priscilla Prichett; 



CRESSON 951 

Caleb Cresson, b. 9, 22, 1812; d. 3, 14, 1858; m. Hannah M. L. Gordon; 
William Penn Cresson, b. 6, 13, 1814; d. 8, 7, 1892; m. Susan Vaux; 
Charles Caleb Cresson, b. 2, 27, 1816; d. i, 9, 1902; unm.; 
Annabella Elliott Cresson, b. 4, 8, 1818; d. 4, 4, 1869; m. B. Wyatt Wistar. 

Samuel Cresson' (Joshua", James*, Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), born 3mo. 
5, 1791; died 4mo. 15, 1831 ; married, lomo. 2, 1812, at Haddonfield Meeting, 
New Jersey, Elizabeth M. Blackwood, born 5mo. 31, 1792, died 7mo. 29, 1837, 
daughter of John and Ann (Mickle) Blackwood, of Gloucester county, New 
Jersey. 

Children of Samuel and Elizabeth M. (Blackwood) Cresson: 

Samuel Emlen Cresson, b. i, 25, 1814; d. 8, 19, 1819; 

John Blackwood Cresson, b. 9, 9, 1817; d. 10, 23, 1876; m. Amanda Webb; 

Mary Ann Cresson, b. 3, 17, 1819; d. 12, 28, 1821; 

Elizabeth Mickle Cresson b. 3, 5, 1824; d. 3, 6, 1824; 

Sarah Emlen Cresson, b. 3, 20, 1821; d. 4, 7, 1862; 

Joshua Cresson, b. 12, 19, 1825; d. 11, 11, 1885. 

Richard Crean Cresson', (Jeremiah', John*, Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), 
bom imo. 7, 1777; died 7mo. 9, 1B37; married, lomo. 9, 1800, in West Marl- 
borough, Chester county, Pennsylvania, Elizabeth, daughter of Isaac Stroud. 

Children of Richard C. and Elisabeth (Stroud) Cresson: 

Lydia Stroud Cresson, b. 8, 3, 1803; d. 3, 31, 1872; unm.; 

Jacob Keen Cresson, b. 8, 23, 1806; d. 7, 8, 1834; unm.; 

Eleanor Keen Cresson, b. 8, 8, 1809; d. 11, 8, i8go; m. James Stiles; 

Jeremiah Cresson, b. 8, 6, 1812; went West and was never heard from; 

Ann Baker Cresson, b. 10, 24, 1814; d. 2, 2, 1894; unm.; 

Thomas Stroud Cresson, b. 2, 14, 1816; d. 8, 24, 1825; 

Elizabeth Stroud Cresson, b. 11, 9, 1818; d. 9, 9, 1845. 

Benjamin Cresson' (James', John*, Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), born imo. 
23, 1774; died 8mo. 19, 1827; married, lomo. 22, 1795, Deborah Phipps, born 
3mo. 18, 1774, died 8mo. 9, 1857, daughter of Stephen and Deborah (Kite) 
Phipps, of Philadelphia. 

Benjamin Cresson began his business career as a hatter, succeeding his grand- 
father, Benjamin Hooton, at the old stand of the latter, number 14 North Second 
street. He eventually became connected with his brothers in the china business. 

Children of Benjamin and Deborah (Phipps) Cresson: 

Sarah H. Cresson, b. 9, 26, 1796; d. 7, 13, 1808; 

Deborah P. Cresson, b. 12, 9, 1797; d. 4, 6, 1848; m. Joseph Kite; 

Susannah Cresson b. 11, 28, 1799; d. 8, 14, 1808; 

Rebecca G. Cresson, b. 4, 9, 1802; d. 4, 30, 1858; unm.; 

James H. Cresson, b. 12, 26, 1803; d. 2, 3, 1880; unm.; 

Mary P. Cresson, b. 2, 27, 1806; d. 3, 17, 1876; m. Thomas Lloyd; 

Sarah Cresson, b. 7, 10, 1808; d. i, 28, 1810; 

Elizabeth P. Cresson, b. 8, 23, 1811; d. 7, 14, 1838; unm.; 

Anna Cresson, b. 12, 5, 1813; d. 8, 27, 1888; unm.: 

Sarah Ann Cresson, b. 12, 31, 1815; d. 2, 2, 1829; 

Stephen P. Cresson, b. 10, 25, 1818; d. 10, 25, 1818. 

James Cresson' (James", John*, Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), born lomo. i, 
1776; died 6mo. 16, 1843; married (i), smo. 8, 1800, Hannah Humphreys, bom 
19 



952 CRESSON 

gmo. 6, 1776, died 8mo. 8, 1812, daughter of Richard and Ann (Morris) Humph- 
reys; married (2), iimo. 14, 1816, Sarah Parrish, born 7mo. 2, 1771, died with- 
out issue, 4mo. 16, 1845, daughter of Isaac and Sarah Parrish. 

James Cresson and his brother, John H. Cresson, about the year 1800, en- 
gaged in the shipping business, which they relinquished in a few years for the 
importation and sale of china and queensware. In a short time their brother, 
Joseph, joined the firm, which continued in successful operation until 1830, at 
which time, having secured what they considered a competency, the brothers re- 
tired from business. Alter tnis James removed to Columbia, Lancaster county, 
where he made his home for the remainder of his life. He died while on a visit 
to Philadelphia. 

Children of James and Hannah (Humphreys) Cresson: 

Ann Humphreys Cresson, b. I, 21, 1801; d. 3, 11, 1831; m. Benjamin Valentine; 
Tacy Cresson, b. 11, 11, 1802; d. 5, i, 1841; m. Albert G. Bradford; 
Hannah Cresson, b. 10, 6, 1804; d. 4, 11, 1841; unm.; 
James Cresson, b. 10, 22, 1806; d. i, 30, 1872; m. Mary J. Leedom; 
Martha Warner Cresson, b. 12, 6, 1808; d. 9, 9, 1877; m. (i), Enoch P. Walker; 
m. (2) Charles W. Roberts. 

John Head Cresson' (James', John*, Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), born 6mo. 
28, 1779; died imo. 12, 1845; married, iimo. 4, 1801, at Arch Street Meeting, 
Philadelphia, Rachel Walter, born 4mo. i, 1779, died 3mo. 14, 1863, daughter of 
Thomas and Rebecca (Pennell) Walter. 

Children of John H. and Rachel (Walter) Cresson: 

James Cresson, b. 8, 4, 1802; d. 8, 17, 1802; 

Rebecca Walter Cresson, b. 9, 18, 1803; d. s. p. i, 4, 1825; m. Thomas Savery; 

Waiter Cresson, b. i, 7, 1805; d. 7, 10, 1805; 

Charles Cresson, b. 8, 5, 1806; d. 10, 21, 1807; 

Edmund Cresson, b. 10, 30, 1807; d. 2, 8, 1808; 

Elizabeth Hooton Cresson, b. 12, 15, 1808; d. 10, 21, 1851; m. William Savery; 

William Cresson, b. 11, 12, 1810; d. 2, 24, 1874; m. Ann R. Leedom; 

Thomas Cresson, b. 7, 13, 1812; d. 7, i, 1813; 

Benjamin Cresson, b. 11, 8, 1813; d. 4, 12, 1814; 

Walter Cresson, b. 3, 11, 1815; d. 3, 29, 1893; m. Alice Hannum; 

Mary Walter Cresson, b. 2, 26, 1817; d. i, 23, 1888; m. John W. Dixon; 

Sarah Hooton Cresson, b. 9, l, 1819; d. 2, 19, 1897; unm.; 

John Cresson, b. 4, 15, 1821; d. 6, 7, 1901; m. Alice J. Leedom. 

Joseph Cresson' (James', John*, Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), born 6mo. 22, 
1781 ; diea 2mo. 11, 1861 ; married, 6mo. 9, 1803, Mercy Chapman, born i2mo. 
25, 1782, died 4mo. 13, 1858, daughter of John and Mercy (Beaumont) Chapman, 
of Bucks county, Pennsylvania. 

Children of Joseph and Mercy (Chapman) Cresson: 

Sarah Cresson, b. 3, 14, 1804; d. s. p. 12, 27, 1830; m. Frederick Fraley; 

John Chapman Cresson, b. 3, 16, 1806; d. i, 27, 1876; m. Letitia L. Massey; 

Jane Chapman Cresson, b. 12, 28, 1810; d. 3, l, 1897; m. Frederick Fraley, his sec- 
ond wife. Mr. Fraley d. on Sept. 23, 1901, in his 98th year, after a busy, useful 
life, full of well earned honors; 

Joseph Cresson, b. 7, 21, 1813; d. 3, 12, 1884; unm.; 

Charles Cresson, b 7mo. 1817; d. 12, 6, 1817; 

Mercy Anna Cresson, b. 4, 19, 1819; d- 6, 18, 1886; unm.; 

Rebecca Garrett Cresson, b. 3. 10, 1823; d. 10, s, i860; unm. 



CRESSON 953 

Warder Ckesson', (John E.', Caleb", James', Solomon", Jacques^ Pierre"), born 
ymo. 13, 1798; died in Jerusalem, Palestine, iimo. 6, i860; married, i2mo. 12, 
1821, Elizabeth Townsend, born iimo. 29, 1799, died 8mo. 5, 1882, daughter of 
Ezra and Elizabeth (Paul) Townsend. 

Children of Warder and Elisabeth (Townsend) Cresson: 

Emma Cresson, b. 9, 30, 1822; d. 4, 13, 1891; m. Alexander F. Porter; 

John Eluott Cresson, b. 8, 6, 1824; d. 9, 26, 1903; m. Clementine Banes; 

Mary Cresson, b. 10, 4, 1826; d. i, 21, 1827; 

Jacob Cresson, b. 5, 27, 1828; d. 6, 18, 1865; m. (i), Mary A. Young; (2), Benja- 
line French; 

Eliza Cresson, b. i, 24, 1833; d. 5, 14, 1835; 

Clement Cresson, b. 9, 22, 1835: d. 4, 12, 1903; m. Laura J. Witzell; 

Ezra T. Cresson, b. 6, 18, 1838; m. Mary A. Ridings; 

Annabella Cresson, b. 10, 8, 1840; d. i, 28, 1889; m. James W. McAllister. 

Emlen Cresson' (Caleb°, Caleb', James', Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), born 
March 12, 181 1; died March 2, 1889; married Priscilla Prichett, died January 
12, 1902, daughter of William and Edith (Hatten) Prichett, and granddaughter 
of William and Rebecca (Cresson) Prichett. She died January 12, 1902. 

Emlen and Priscilla P. Cresson, by will, created a fund amounting to about 
sixteen thousand dollars annually, for travelling scholarships to be awarded by 
the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, as a memorial to their son, who had 
been a student in that institution. He was a young man of much talent as a 
painter, and his early death was much regretted by his many friends. 

Child of Emlen and Priscilla (Prichett) Cresson: 

William Emlen Cresson, b. March 15, 1843; d. Aug. 5, 1868. 

Caleb Cresson' (Caleb', Caleb", James', Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), born 
September 22, 1812; died March 14, 1858; married, November 22, 1848, Hannah 
M. L. Gordon, born February 29, 1823, died December 28, 1858, daughter of 
Mordecai Lewis and Hannah Marshall (Shoemaker) Gordon. 

Children of Caleb and Hannah M. L. (Gordon) Cresson: 

Caleb Cresson, d. young; 

Sarah Emlen Cresson, m., but with her children, again took the name of Cresson. 
Issue: 

Mary Cresson, m. Oct., 1897, Henry Lee; 

Sarah B. Cresson, m. June 15, 1898, Charles Norman Trump; 

Herman Cresson. 

William Penn Cresson' (Caleb', Caleb', James', Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), 
born June 13, 1814; died August 7, 1892; married, November 26, 1835, Susan 
Vaux, born January 6, 1813, died June 29, 1890, daughter of George and Eliza- 
beth H. (Sansom) Vaux. 

William P. Cresson retired from active business life in 1857. He was a man 
of wide benevolence ; was third president of the Howard Hospital at Broad and 
Catherine streets, which he was instrumental in founding ; was a charter member 
of Holy Trinity Protestant Episcopal Church, and for thirty years one of its 
vestrymen. He was a charter member of the Philadelphia Art Club; a member 
of the Union League, etc. 



954 CRESSON 

Children of William P. and Susan (Vaux) Cresson: 

George Vaux Cresson, born Sept. lo, 1836; died without issue, Jan. 18, 1908, at 
"Caversham;" m. Dec. 23, 1863, Mary Beavan, dau. of James W. and Emily 
(Stevenson) Cooke, who d. Oct. 3, 1907, at their home, "Caversham," in Ash- 
bourne, Montgomery Co., Pa. Mr. Cresson was Prest. of the George V. Cresson 
Co., at Eighteenth St. and Allegheny. Ave. This enterprise, which he inaugurated 
in 1859, has attained great proportions. He was for three years Pres. of the 
Manufacturers' Club; was member and officer of Franklin Institute; member of 
Engineers' Club, etc., and a vestryman of St. Paul's P. E. Church, Cheltenham; 

Caleb Cresson, b. Nov. 22, 1839; m. Isabella B. Gumbes; 

Mary Emlen Cresson, b. 2, 11, 1846; d. 2, 8, 1908; m. 11, 22, 1876, Caleb Cresson, 
son of B. Wyatt and Annabella E. (Cresson) Wistar; 

Elizabeth Vaux Cresson, b. 7, 27, 1850; d. 7, 17, 1899; m. Hillborn T. Jones, whose 
name was changed by law, to Cresson. Issue: 
William Penn Cresson; 
Emlen Vaux Cresson. 

Susan Vaux Cresson, b. 9, 13, 1852; d. young. 

John Blackwood Cresson' (Samuer, Joshua", James', Solomon', Jacques', 
Pierre"), born September 9, 1817; died October 23, 1876; married Amanda 
Webb, who died July 22, 1885, daughter of Samuel Webb. 

Children of John B. and Amanda (Webh) Cresson: 

Samuel Webb Cresson, b. 7, 28, 1840; d. 8, i, 1840; 

Samuel Emlen Cresson, b. i, 15, 1842; d. 5, 17, 1842; 

Charles Clement Cresson, b. i, 24, 1843; d. 3, 16, 1906; m. Adelia Van Derlip; 

Mary Cresson, b. 5, 5, 1845; d. 4, 20, 1850; 

Eliza Cresson, b. 5, 17, 1847; d. 4, 20, 1850; 

Anne Maria Cresson, b. 7, 25, 1850; d. 6, 21, 1895; unm.; 

Sarah Emlen Cresson, b. 8, i, 1856; d. 10, 31, 1857; 

Amanda Webb Cresson, b. 12, 4, 1857; m. 3mo. 1879, Joseph S. Kite; 

John B. Cresson, b. 10, 17, 1864; d. smo. 1889, at Galveston, Tex. 

James Cresson' (James', James', John', Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), born 
in Philadelphia, lOmo. 22, 1806; died in Norristown, Pennsylvania, imo. 30, 
1872; married, 5mo. 23, 1832, Mary Jones Leedom, born gmo. 4, 1805, died 6mo. 
26, 1891, daughter of Jonathan and Sarah (Jones) Leedom. 

James Cresson owned and operated for a number of years two iron ore fur- 
naces at Spring Mill, on the Schuylkill River. 

Children of James and Mary J. (Leedom) Cresson: 

Jonathan Leedom Cresson, b. 4, 3, 1833; d. 3, 12, 1846; 

James Clarence Cresson, b. 9, 19, 1835; d. 6, 6, 1881; m. Ella B. Drake; 

Richard H. Cresson, b. i. 18, 1838; d. 6, 11, 1839; 

William Leedom Cresson, b. 3, 13, 1840; m. Tacy Corson; 

Mary L. Cresson, b. 2, 25, 1841; d. 9. 5. 1844; 

Hannah H. Cresson, b. 2, 10, 1843; d. 8, 31, 1844; 

Frances Caroline Cresson, b. 11, 14, 1844; m. 12, 26, 1866, William Wright; 

Mary Hannah Cresson, b. i, 24, 1846. 

William Cresson' (John H.°, James', John', Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), 
born in Philadelphia, iimo. 12, i8io; died in Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, 2mo. 
24, 1874; married, smo. 11, 1853, Ann R. Leedom, born smo. 21, 1811, died i2mo. 
24, 1886, daughter of Jonathan and Sarah (Jones) Leedom. William Cresson 
became blind in early childhood as the result of an illness. In spite of this afflic- 
tion he was well informed on all subjects, and was gifted with a cheerful disposi- 
tion and good sound judgment. 



CRESSON 955 

Child of William and Ann R. (Leedom) Cresson: 
Lucy Cresson, b. 3, 30, 1854; d. 8, 4, 1854. 

Walter Cresson' (John H.', James', John', Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), 
bom in Philadelphia, 3mo. 11, 1815; died Germantown, Philadelphia, 3mo. 29, 
1893; married, 5mo. 29, 1844, at Concord, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, Alice 
Hannum, born 6mo. i, 1824, daughter of Joseph and Ann (Fairlamb) Hannum. 

Children of Walter and Alice (Hannum) Cresson: 

John Head Cresson, b. 3, 28, 1845; d. 8, 9, 1847; 

Anne Hannum Cresson, b. 4, I, 1847; 

Alice Hannum Cresson, b. 12, 24, 1848; m. Edward F. Pugh; 

Sarah Cresson, b. 6, 14, 1852; 

Walter Cresson, b. 9, 10, 1857; d. 12, 15, 1857. 

John Cresson' (John H.', James', John', Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), bom 
Philadelphia, 4mo. 15, 1821 ; died 6mo. 7, 1901 ; married, 6mo. 7, 1843, Alice 
Jones Leedom, born 6mo. 21, 1820, died gmo. 17, 1902, daughter of Jonathan and 
Sarah (Jones) Leedom, of Philadelphia. 

John Cresson was for many years manager of the city gas works at Ninth and 
Diamond streets. 

Children of John and Alice J . (Leedom) Cresson: 

Jonathan L. Cresson, b. 3, 23, 1844; 

William H. Cresson, b. 7, 25, 1846; m. Elizabeth W. Wood; 

B. Franklin Cresson, b. i, 18, 1848; m. Martha Chambers; 

Charles E. Cresson, b. 11, 23, 1849; d. g, 23, 1867; 

John H. Cresson, b. 7, 19, 1852; d. 7, i, 1856; 

Edith Cresson, d. inf. 

Lydia L. Cresson, b. S, 28, 1854; m. Francis Herbert Janvier; 

James Cresson, b. 6, 14, 1861; ra. Ellen Louisa G. Fair. 

John Chapman Cresson' (Joseph', James', John*, Solomon', Jacques', 
Pierre"), born 3mo. 16, 1806, in Philadelphia; died there, imo. 27, 1876; married. 
May 8, 1827, Letitia L. Massey, bom December i, 1804, died November 17, 1888, 
daughter of Charles Massey. 

John C. Cresson was a man of marked ability and early took high rank among 
the scientists of the day. In 1837 he became Professor of Mechanics and Natural 
Philosophy at the Franklin Institute. Within a few years of this time the honor- 
ary degree of A. M. was conferred upon him by the University of Pennsylvania, 
and shortly after the University of Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, made him Ph. D. 
In 1839 he was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society, became 
one of its vice-presidents in 1857, and was senior vice-president for a number of 
years before his death. In 1855 Dr. Cresson was unanimously chosen president 
of the Franklin Institute. In 1852 he became one of the trustees of the Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania. 

When the City Gas Works was first put into operation in 1836, he was made 
its superintendent and almost directly after, its engineer, which position he held 
for twenty-eight years. He was one of the original commissioners of Fairmount 
Park and was appointed chief engineer, resigning in 1875 on account of ill health. 
He was elected president of the Mine Hill and Schuylkill Haven Railroad Com- 
pany in 1847, and held the position until his death. 



956 CRESSON 

Children of John C. and Letitia L. (Massey) Cresson: 

Charles Massey Cresson, b. 2, 3, 1828; d 12, 27, 1893; m. (i), Caroline Gay; (2), 

Sarah Loder (Vinton) ; 
Mercy Anna Cresson, d. y.; 
Sarah Cresson, d. y. 

John Elloitt Cresson" (Warder', John E.', Caleb', James*, Solomon', Jac- 
ques", Pierre'), born 8mo. 6, 1824; died gmo. 26, 1903; married Clementine, 
daughter of Evan Banes. 

Children of John Elliott and Clementine (Banes) Cresson: 

Benjaline French Cresson, b. 2, 12, 1848; d. 12, 26, 1851; 

Charles King Cresson, b. 11, 15, 1849; d. 3, 22, 1868; 

Mary Warder Cresson, b. 10, 24, 1851; m. (i), Isaac R. Cassell; (2), John Warden, 

Sr.; 
Francis Clement Cresson, b. 9, 9, 1853; m. Annie M. Craven. Have issue; 
Annabella Cresson, b. 4, 14, 1857; m. Harry B. Sloman; 
John Feaster Cresson, b. 3, 6, 1859; m. Emma L. WooUey. Have issue; 
Elizabeth Townsend Cresson, b. 2, 27, 1861 ; d. 6, 24, 1871 ; 
Martha Virginia Cresson, b. 12, 9, 1863; m. Charles E. Aaron; 
William Whildey Cresson, b. 4, 27, 1866; d. 4, 13, 1899; m. Mary P. Lardner. Have 

issue. 

Jacob Cresson' (Warder', John E.', Caleb', James*, Solomon', Jacques', 
Pierre'), born 5mo. 27, 1828; died 6mo. 18, 1865; married (i) Mary A. Young; 
(2) Benjaline French, died 6mo. 30, 1892. 

Children of Jacob and Mary A. (Young) Cresson: 

Marie Virginia Cresson, b. 11, 25, 1851; m. 5, 3, 1885; George M. D. Bellows; 

Elliott Cresson, b. 3, 31, 1854; m. Mary Ann Clark. Have issue; 

Edith Frances Cresson, b. 9, 7, 1855; d. s. p. 9, 16, 1888; m. Benjamin W. Hartley. 

Child of Jacob and Benjaline (French) Cresson: 

Susanna E. Cresson. 

Clement Cresson' (Warder', John E.', Caleb', James', Solornon', Jacques', 
Pierre'), born gmo. 22, 1835; died 4mo. 12, 1903; married Laura J. Witzell. 
Children of Clement and Laura J. (Witzell) Cresson: 

Clara Virginia Cresson, b. 7, 14, i860; m. Charles P. Watson; 

Ella Florence Cresson, b. 3, 17, 1862; m. (1), Clarence M. Busch; (2), Derwent 

DeForest; 
Laura May Cresson, b. 10, 18, 1868; m. Greene Kendrick. 

Ezra Townsend Cresson', (Warder', John E.', Caleb', James*, Solomon', 
Jacques", Pierre'), born 6mo. 18, 1838; married Mary Ann, daughter of James 
and Diana Ridings. 

Children of Ezra T. and Mary A. (Ridings) Cresson: 

George Bringhurst Cresson, b. 11, 15, 1859; m. Mary E. Isaac. Have issue; 

Emma Cresson, b. 7, 31, 1862; m. Richard Ogden; 

Warder Cresson, b. 10, 7, 1867; entered the Univ. of Pa. 1883, and left at the close 

of the Freshman year. Grad. at Lehigh Univ. in 1890 ; m. Florence Brobat; 
Ezra Townsend Cresson, b. 12, 18, 1876; 
William James Cresson, b. 2, 22, 1879. 



CRESSON 957 

Caleb Ceesson' (William P.', Caleb', Caleb', James', Solomon', Jacques', 
Pierre'), born November 22, 1839; married, December 6, 1866, Isabella, daughter 
of Samuel and Frances (Wetherill) Gumbes. Caleb Cresson entered the Sopho- 
more class of the University of Pennsylvania in 1857, and graduated in i860. 
Resides in Philadelphia, and at Oaks, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. 

Children of Caleb and Isabella (Gumbes) Cresson: 

Francis Macomb Cresson, b. Nov. 18, 1867; m. Nov. 28, i8gg, Eleanor Percy 
Coates. Have issue; 

Isabella Cresson, b. Oct. 7, 1870; 

Susan Vaux Cresson, b. Apr. 16, 1873; m. June 21, 1899, Charles Wetherill Gumbes, 
Jr.; 

Caleb Cresson, b. Jan. 9, 1867; 

Georgena Vaux Cresson, b. Aug. 23, 1882; m. June i, 1904, Webster King Weth- 
erill. 

Charles Clement Cresson' (John B.', Samuel', Joshua', James*, Solomon', 
Jacques'', Pierre'), born January 24, 1843; died at San Antonio, Texas, March 
16, 1906; married, March 2, 1870, Adelia, daughter of Judge Van Derhp, of Texas. 

Charles Clement Cresson enlisted as a Second Lieutenant in the Sixty-sixth 
Pennsylvania Infantry, Augfust 3, 1861, and rose to the rank of Lieutenant Colo- 
nel in 1864. In 1866 he was honorably discharged, but was commissioned on May 
II, 1866, in the Seventeenth U. S. Infantry, as Second Lieutenant. He was trans- 
ferred to the Thirty-fifth Regiment, September, 1866, and in 1870 was assigned 
to the Seventh Cavalry Regiment ; was transferred on December 23, 1870, to the 
First Cavalry, and retired April 4, 1879. He was brevetted for gallant service, 
First Lieutenant, Captain and Major, in 1867, and Lieutenant Colonel in 1870. 

Children of Charles C. and Adelia (Van Derlip) Cresson: 

Charles Clement Cresson, b. 3, 23, 1873; 
Mary Chabot Cresson, b. 3, 22, 1876. 

James Clarence Cresson' (James', James', James', John', Solomon', Jacques', 
Pierre'), born September 19, 1835; died June 6, 1881 ; married, February i, 1865, 
Ella Blow Drake, died June 15, 1883, daughter of Chief Justice C. D. Drake, of 
St. Louis, Missouri. Resided in West Philadelphia. 

Children of J. Clarence and Ella B. (Drake) Cresson: 

Charlotte Cresson, b. 2, 13, 1866; 

J. Clarence Cresson, b. 11, 20, 1871; d. 2, 13, igo6. 

William Leedom Cresson' (James', James", James', John', Solomon', Jac- 
ques^ Pierre'), born March 13, 1840; married, February 8, 1865, Tacy, daughter 
of Dr. Hiram and Ann (Foulke) Corson, of Plymouth, Montgomery county, 
Pennsylvania. Resides in Norristown, Pennsylvania. 

Children of William L. and Tacy (Corson) Cresson: 

Caroline Corson Cresson, b. 2, 7, 1866; 
James Cresson, b. 5, 12, 1869; 
Nancy Corson Cresson, b. 9, 12, 1872; 
Mary Leedom Cresson, b. 12, 30, 1873. 

William Henry Cresson' (John', John H.', James', John*, Solomon', Jac- 
ques", Pierre'), born July 25, 1846; married, April 30, 1878, Elizabeth Wells 



958 CRESSON 

Wood, daughter of Hon. John and EHzabeth (Wells) Wood, of Conshohocken, 
Pennsylvania. 

Children of William H. and Elizabeth IV. (Wood) Cresson: 

Emily Cresson, b. 2, 6, i88o; m. John Lowe Newbold; 
Henry Barker Cresson, b. s, 30, 1881. 

Benjamin Franklin Cresson' (John', John H.', James*, John*, Solomon', 
Jacques', Pierre'), born January 18, 1848; married, September 12, 1871, Martha 
A., daughter of Harmon Augustus and Susan Eliza (Beebe) Chambers. 

Children of B. Franklin and Martha A. (Chambers) Cresson: 

John Cresson, b. 8, 18, 1872; d. 9, S, 1872; 

B. Franklin Cresson, b. 10, 23, 1873; 

Joseph Lea Cresson, b. II, 9, 1875; d. I, 9, 1876; 

Edward Cresson, b. 8, 23, 1879; d. 7, 12, 1883; 

Ahce Cresson, b. 12, 16, 1881; 

Susan Cresson, b. 7, 18, 1883; d. 3, 30, 1884; 

Edith Cresson, b. 7, 18, 1883; 

Clara Cresson, b. 10, 15, 1887. 

James Cresson' (John, John H.', James', John', Solomon', Jacques', Pierre'), 
born June 14, 1861 ; married, January 27, 1881, Ella Louisa Griffith Fair. 
Children of James and Ella L. G. (Fair) Cresson: 

John Howard Cresson, b. 12, 6, 1881; 
Eloise Cresson, b. 7, 27, 1884; 
Dorothy Cresson, b. 10, 16, 1887; 
Nellie Cresson, b. 10, 21, 1891. 

Charles Massey Cresson' (John C, Joseph', James', John', Solomon', 
Jacques', Pierre'), born February 3, 1828; died December 27, 1893; married (i), 
about October, 1847, Caroline, daughter of Edward F. Gay; (2) Sarah Loder 
(Vinton). 

Charles M. Cresson, M. D., entered the Sophomore class in 1844 and was 
a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania in 1847. He took his degree of 
M. D. from Jefferson College in 1849. Having early made a special study of 
chemistry, he was manager and chemist of the Philadelphia Gas Works from 
1849 until 1864. For fifteen years he was chemist of the Philadelphia Board of 
Health, and also of the Fairmount Park Commission. He was an active and 
prominent member of the Franklin Institute from 1849, «md of the American 
Philosophical Society from 1857. 

Dr. Cresson opened the scientific department of the Pennsylvania Railroad 
Company in 1868; of the Reading Railroad Company in 1869, and that of the 
Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Company in 1883. 

Much of his early life was devoted to mechanical and architectural drawing 
for the Philadelphia Gas Works, and he spent considerable time in its chemical 
laboratory. He was later elected First Assistant Engineer of the Gas Works. In 
185s the whole of the management of the mechanical department and the manu- 
facturing devolved upon him. At the time of his death Dr. Cresson was the old- 
est gas engineer, educated for the business, in this country. 

He devoted much time to the study and examination of waters, chemically 
and microscopically; and the successful determinations of causes of disease 



CRESSON 959 

carried by the water supply of cities and towns actively engaged his attention. 
He published from time to time a number of pamphlets: "The Manufacture of 
Gas," "Explosion of Steam Boilers," "The Effects of Electricity upon the Tensile 
Strength of Iron," "Wood Preservation," "Paper Manufacture," "Water Sup- 
plies of Cities," &c. He was connected with many Masonic Orders. 

Dr. Cresson was a skilful musician, giving his services for many years as 
organist to the Church of the Atonement. As an amateur he took an active inter- 
est in photography, which he practiced, and maintained a familiarity with the 
current improvements in the art. 

Children of Charles M. and Caroline (Gay) Cresson: 

John Edward Cresson, d. inf.; 
Clara Cresson, m. Alfred Crossman ; 
George Gay Cresson, b. 1855. 



MARIS FAMILY. 

Tradition relates that the Maris family, founded in Pennsylvania by George 
Maris, of Grafton Hyford, parish of Inkborough, county of Worcester, England, 
in 1683, was of French Huguenot origin, a representative of the French family 
seeking refuge in England from religious persecution, prior to the promulgation 
of the Edict of Nantes in 1598. Of the direct antecedents of George Maris, little 
or nothing is known. 

From Besse's Sufferings of the People called Quakers, we learn that George 
Maris was fined twenty pounds for having a meeting at his house, and that he 
was afterwards taken by an assize process and "sent to Prison on the 23d of the 
month called July, 1670, and continued there above 8 months, but never knew 
for what cause he was so long imprisoned." 

On the Sixth of 3d month (May), 1683, George Maris and Alice, his wife, 
received a certificate from a Meeting of Friends "att Hattswell, In ye P'sh of 
Inkborough, and County of Worcester" directed to "Friends in Pensilvania" 
which says of him that "His Life and conversation hath adorned the Gospel of 
Christ and hath bene A Good Exampel I his place. And a man, ye bent of whose 
heart hath been to serve ye Lord, And all People in his Love: and hath not 
spared to spend and to be spent for ye service of Truth. And Wee can say wee 
do not know of any person either fifriend or others that hath aught against him, 
his wife or children, upon any just account whatever." Eight days later than the 
date of this certificate, or on May 14, 1683, he received from Robert Toomer, of 
the city of Worcester, a deed for i,ocx) acres of land to be laid out in Pennsyl- 
vania, and soon after embarked with his family for Pennsylvania, to take up his 
land and found a home in Penn's colony. He and his family, on their arrival, 
appear to have remained for a time in the neighborhood of Darby, at which meet- 
ing the quaint certificate above quoted was deposited. On October 16, 1683, four 
hundred acres of land were surveyed to him in Springfield township, Chester 
(now Delaware) county, on which he erected a habitation, on the site of "Home 
House," erected there by his son in 1722, and which continued to be the home of 
his descendants for many generations. 

George Maris was a man of ability and standing, and at once was called upon 
to take a prominent part in public affairs. He was commissioned a justice of 
Chester county courts, July i, 1684, and is said to have attended every session 
of the Court until and including the year 1690. He seems to have been out of 
commission for the year 1691, and was then again commissioned and served to 
the close of 1693. He was elected to the Colonial Assembly as a representative 
of Chester county, in 1684, and regularly re-elected thereafter until 1695, when 
he was called to the Provincial Council, of which he remained a member until his 
death on January 15, 1705-6, at the age of seventy-three years. His wife, Alice, 
had died March 11, 1699. George Maris was an acknowledged and esteemed 
minister of the Society of Friends, both in England and in America. 

Issue of George and Alice Maris: — 

Alice, b. in Worcestershire, Eng., Oct. 17, 1669, d. Dec. 10, 1726; m. Jan. 15, 1684-s 
Jacob Simcock, also born in Eng., son of John Simcock, of Ridley, Chester Co 



MARIS 961 

who came from Cheshire, Eng., and was member of Provincial Council almost 
continuously 1683-1700; Speaker of Assembly 1696; Chief Justice, of Province of 
Pa., 1690-93, and "one of the chief men of the Province." Jacob Simcock was 
coroner of Chester Co., from 1691 for several years; 
George, b. in Worcestershire, Dec. 2, 1662, d. at "Home House" Chester Co., Pa.,; 
having purchased portion of homestead of his father Apr. 18, 1693; m., 1690, 
Jane Maddock, by whom he had four children. She d. Aug. 28, 1705, and he m. 
(second), 1718, Jane Hayes, widow, of Haverford. He was member of Colonial 
Assembly, 1717; 

Elizabeth, b. Apr. 3, 1665, m. 1685, John Mendenhall, who had come from Wilt- 
shire, and settled in Concord. He gave land on which Concord Meeting House 
was built, 1697; 

Ann, b. Aug. 18, 1667, d. — -; m. Oct. 14, l6go, John Worrilow, of prominent 
Chester Co. family; 

John, b. May 21, 1669, d. Maich 8, 1747, m. Susannah Lewis; of them presently; 

Richard, b. Nov. 20, 1672, d. 1745; was a member of Colonial Assembly 1714; m. in 
1698, Elizabeth, dau. of Jonathan Hayes, of Marple township, Chester Co. She d. 
Oct. 9, 1720. Their eldest daughter Mary, became wife of John Bartram, eminent 
botanist, who established "Bartram's Garden," still an object of interest to Phila- 
delphians; and Elizabeth, second daughter, m. James Bartram, brother of botanist; 
Jonathan, eldest son, was minister among Friends, and m. Ann Wain, dau. of 
Richard of Gwynedd. Joseph, another son, m. Ann, dau. of William 
Shipley of Wilmington; and William, son of Jonathan, m. Jane Beaumont, of 
Bucks Co. and was virtual founder of village of New Hope, Bucks Co., and 
established a bank and number of industrial establishments there. 

John Maris, second son and fifth child of George and Alice Maris, born 
in Worcestershire, England, May 21, 1669, was fourteen years of age when he 
accompanied his parents to Pennsylvania. He succeeded to "Home House" at 
the death of his father in 1705, and erected the present dwelling there in 1722. He 
was returned as a member of Colonial Assembly in the years 1709- 12- 16- 19-20. 
He was appointed an Elder of the Society of Friends in 1718, and was a prominent 
member of the Society and community. He died at "Home House," March 8, 
1747. He married, November 21, 1693, Susannah Lewis, of Haverford township, 
born in Glamorganshire, Wales, in 1673, died 1755. 

Issue of John and Susannah (Lewis) Maris: — 

George, b. Aug. 31, 1694, d- Nov. 30, 1760; m. Sarah Levis, of them presently; 

Sarah, b. March 31, 1697-8, m. 1789, John Bennett; 

Alice, b. March 11, 1699-1700, m. Aug. 10, 1721, Jacob Bourne; 

Mary, b. March 9, 1700-1, m. Nov. 29, 1722, Joseph Taylor; 

Hannah, b. Oct. 8, 1702, m. in. 1719, John Owen and m. 1725, Michael Harlan. Her 

dau. Rebecca Owen became the first wife of Jesse Maris, son of George and 

Sarah (Levis) Maris, hereafter mentioned; 
Susanna, b. July 6, 1704, m. (first) Daniel Jones and (second) on Oct. 30, 1740, 

John IJavis; 
Jane, b. Aug. 9, 1705, d. Oct. 21, 1720; 

Katharine, b. July 8, 1707, m. (first) Willis; (second) John Pusey; 

John, b. Jan. 15, 1709-10, d. March 19, 1792; m. Katharine Bound Hayden; 
James, b. Apr. 28, 1711, d. Oct. 15, 1820; 
Elizabeth, b. Feb. I2, 1713, d. Oct. 9, 1720. 

George Maris, eldest son of John and Susanna (Lewis) Maris, bom at 
"Home House," August 31, 1694; married Sarah Levis, daughter of Samuel 
Levis, of Willistown, Chester county, Pennsylvania. Samuel Levis was a son of 
Christopher and Mary Levis, of Harby, Leichestershire, where Samuel was born 
September 30, 1649, ^"d married, May 4, 1680, Elizabeth Clator, of Nottingham, 
England, and having, in conjunction with William Garrett, purchased 1,000 acres 
of land to be laid out in Pennsylvania, came to that Province in 1684, and located. 



962 MARIS 

first at Darby, and later in Willistown township, Chester county. He was a 
member of Provincial Assembly, 1689-94, and again in 1698-1706-07-08; was a 
justice of Chester county, 1686-9, and a member of Provincial Council in 1692. 
He died in 1734, leaving five children, two sons, Samuel Jr. and William, and 
daughters, Mary, wife of Joseph Pennock; Sarah, wife of George Maris, and 
Elizabeth, second wife of William Shipley, the virtual founder of Wilmington, 
Delaware. Sarah was born in 1694, and died December 26, 1723. 

George Maris inherited "Home House," the ancestral home of the family, 
and died there, November 30, 1760. 

Issue of George and Sarah (Levis) Maris: — 

James, b. Dec. 17, 1720; m. Rachel Evans, at Gloria Dei, (Old Swedes) Church, 
Phila., June 11, 1752; 

George Maris married (second) October, 1725, Hannah Massey, daughter of 
Thomas Massey. 

Issue of George and Hannah (Massey) Maris: — 

Jesse, b. Dec. 10, 1727, d. Nov. 20, 1811, was High Sheriff of Chester Co., Oct., 1769, 
to Oct., 1771; m. Aug. 22, 1754, Rebecca Owen, his cousin, dau. John and Hannah 
(Maris) Owen; and (second) on Sept. 4, 1771, Jane Ashbridge; 

Alice, b. 1729, m. 1749, John, son of Evan Lewis, of East Cain, Chester Co. On 
March 26, 1762, she received certificate for herself and her three children, Joel, 
Hannah and Evan, to Meeting of Friends, at Fairfax, Va. 

George Maris married (third) Mary, widow of Joseph Busby, of Goshen, in 
July 1730. She died without issue, and he married (fourth), September 14, 1732, 
Ann Lownes, born October i, 1707, died December 19, 1780, daughter of George 
and Mary (Bowers) Lownes, of Springfield, Chester county, and granddaughter 
of Hugh Lownes, of Gawsworth, Cheshire, England, who married, December 2, 
1658, Jane Stretch, of Roade, Cheshire, at the house of William Davenport, in 
Leeke parish, Cheshire. Hugh Lownes died in Cheshire, leaving to survive him 
his widow Jane, and four children. They were members of the Society of Friends 
and Jane Lownes suffered persecution for her religious belief in 1678. She was 
an original purchaser of one hundred and fifty acres of land of William Penn, 
and with her children came to Pennsylvania to settle thereon, but died in a few 
years after her arrival. The land was laid out in Springfield township, Chester 
county, November 10, 1682, and it is said that the family resided thereon in a cave 
for some time after their arrival. The site of this cave was marked by a stone 
planted by her descendants in 1799, which bears the date of the patent for her 
land, April 10, 1685. The children of Hugh and Jane (Stretch) Lownes were: 
James, who married, in 1692, Susanna Richards, and removed to Philadelphia in 
1711; George, the father of Mrs. Ann Maris; Joseph, who was constable of 
Springfield township, 1687-8, but later removed to Bucks county, where he has 
descendants; and Hannah, who married at Darby Meeting, in 1689, Thomas 
Collier. 

George Lownes, second son of Hugh and Jane (Stretch) Lownes, was bom in 
the county of Chester, England, and came to Chester county, Pennsylvania, with 
his widowed mother, brothers and sister in 1682. On July 28, 1701, he declared 
intentions of marriage with Mary Bowers, at Chester Monthly Meeting, and Au- 
gust 25, 1701, that meeting gave them permission to marry. He purchased the 



MARIS 963 

homestead taken up by his mother, November 18, 1715, and died there in 1740, 
his will being dated August 8, and proven December 5, of that year. His vifife, 
Mary Bowers, born May 20, 1679, was a daughter of Benanuel Bowers, of 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, and granddaughter of George and Barbara Bowers, 
who were residents of Scituate, Massachusetts, in 1637; of Plymouth in 1639, 
and soon after of Cambridge, where George died in 1656. Benanuel Bowers 
married, December 9, 1653, Elizabeth Dunster, a niece of Henry Dunster, the 
first president of Harvard College, and the youngest of their nine children was 
Mary Bowers, who married George Lownes in 1701. 
Issue of George and Mary (Bowers) Lownes: — 

Jane, b. March 10, 1702-3, m. at Springfield Meeting, June 4, 1726, Jonathan Maris, 

son of Richard, of Springfield; 
Esther, b. Sept. 2, 1703, m. May 26, 1720, Samuel Ogden, son of David; 
Ann, b. Oct. i, 1707, d. Dec. 19, 1780; m. Sept. 14, 1732, George Maris. 
George, b. Apr. 28, 1709, m. at Christ Church, Phila., May 21, 1734, Elizabeth, dau. 

of Mordecai Maddock, of Springfield; 

Benanuel, b. , ra. Alice Williamson in 1744, and inherited homestead. 

Mary, who m. Nov. 22, 1744, Isaac Hibberd. 

Issue of George and Ann (Loivnes) Maris: — 

George, b. June 24, 1733, d. young; 

Susannah, b. Sept. 2, 1734, m. Nov. 4, 1756, John Hall; 

Jehu, b. Apr. 15, 1736, m. in 1779, Jane Humphrey; 

George, b. Jan. 20, 1737, d. Aug. 20, 1803; m. Jane Foulke. Of them presently. 

Isaac, b. Apr. i, 1740, m. Elizabeth Howell; 

Elizabeth, (Betty) b. Apr. 2, 1742; 

Caleb, b. Aug. 25, 1744, d. Oct. 26, 1839; 

Ann, b. Apr. 30, 1751, d. , m. Hatton. 

George Maris, son of George Maris, by his fourth wife, Ann Lownes, born at 
"Home House," January 20, 1737, married at Gwynedd Meeting, December 6, 
1757, Jane Foulke, born August 22, 173S, died January i, 1807, daughter of 
William and Hannah (Jones) Foulke, of Gwynedd. An account of her ancestry 
is given in these volumes under the title of "The Foulke Family." 

George Maris, was a considerable landowner in Montgomery and Chester 
counties. 

Issue of George and Jane (Foulke) Maris: — 

William, b. May 4, 1759, d. unm. Nov. 19, 1801; 

Amos, b. 1761, d. inf.; 

Jesse, b. Sept. 9, 1763, d. unm., June 25, 1792; 

Jonathan, b. Dec. 31, 1765, d. Feb. 28, 1797; m. Judith Mcllvaine; of them 

presently; 
Ann, b. Dec. 12, 1767; 

Hannah, b. Jan. 31, 1770, m. March 8, 1796, John Wilson; 
Susanna, b. Dec. i, 1771, m. Apr. 21, 1795, Lewis Heston; 
Rebecca, b. Aug. 13, 1773, d. Apr., 1807; m. May 17, 1796, Jarret Heston; 
Jane, b. Sept. 28, 1775, d. unm. Nov. 13, 1806; 
George, b. Sept. 28, 1775, d. unm. June 13, 1805. 

Jonathan Maris, born December 31, 1765, was only son of George and Jane 
(Foulke) Maris. He married, in 1791, Judith, daughter of John and Lydia Mc- 
Ilvain, of Ridley, Chester county, and died six years later, leaving an only child : 



964 AL-IRIS 

Jesse J. Maris, born in North Wales, Montgomery Co., June 18, 1793. He 
married, October 4, 1815, Mary West, born July 11, 1795, daughter of Samuel and 
Mary (Pusey) West, and niece of Benjamin West, the famous painter. 

Some account of the earlier generations of the West family is given in these 
volumes under the title of the Gilpin Family, Thomas West, of Long Crandon, 
county of Bucks, England, the great-great-grandfather of Mary (West) Maris, 
having married Ann Gilpin, in England, and two of their sons later emigrated 
to Pennsylvania, and settled in Chester county. 

John West, son of Thomas and Ann (Gilpin) West, came to Pennsylvania, 
1715, a widower, and married there, 1720, Sarah, daughter of Thomas and Mar- 
gery Pearson, who came to Pennsylvania in the "Welcome" with William Penn, 
in 1682. John West returned to England in 1765, and died in Marlborough, 
Oxfordshire, in 1776. His children by Sarah Pearson were, William, Samuel, 
Mary and Benjamin, the latter being the distinguished artist, born in Chester 
county in 1738. 

William West, eldest son of John and Sarah (Pearson) West, born in Chester 
county, Pennsylvania, in 1724, was grandfather of Mary (West) Maris. He 
learned the trade of cooper in Philadelphia and followed that vocation until 1765 
and then purchased a farm in Upper Darby (now Delaware) county, and became 
a successful and eminent agriculturist; was elected to honorary membership in 
the Board of Agriculture, of England. He married in 1767, Hannah, daughter of 
John and Hannah (Passmore) Shaw, the former of whom died on his way from 
England to found a home in Pennsylvania. William and Hannah (Shaw) West 
were the parents of four children, Passmore, Samuel, Hannah and Sarah. 

Samuel West, second son of William and Hannah, was born in Upper Darby, 
February 13, 1771, and died February 13, 1853. His father purchased for him a 
farm of three hundred acres in Chester county, which he called "Shepherd's 
Plain," where he resided from a few years after his marriage until his death. 
He married at London Grove Meeting, May 20, 1796, Mary, daughter of Joshua 
and Mary (Miller) Pusey, and of a family that has been prominent in the affairs 
of Chester county from the time of Penn to the present time. She died November 
6, 1832. 

Samuel and Mary Pusey West were the parents of four children, Mary, the 
wife of Jesse J. Maris ; Hannah, who married, October 6, 1819, Dr. Robert 
Mendenhall Huston, a native of Abingdon, Virginia, but reared from the age 
of ten years in Chester county, and for many years a very prominent physician 
of Philadelphia, died there, August 3, 1864, and his widow, on November 18, 
1893, at the age of ninety-seven years ; William and Sarah Ann West. 

Jesse J. Maris was but four years of age at the death of his father. Dr. Jona- 
than Maris, and he went to live with his maternal grandmother, Lydia Mcllvain, 
in Ridley township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, where his early life was 
spent and his early education acquired in the old stone schoolhouse, still standing. 
He finished his education at the New Garden Boarding School, Chester county, 
under the celebrated mathematician, Enoch Lewis. At the close of school days 
he entered the counting house of his uncles, the firm of R. & H. Mcllvaine lumber 
merchants of West Philadelphia, and remained with them several years, receiving 
a thorough commercial training. About the year 1814, he went with his friend. 



MARIS 965 

Pennock Passmore, on a journey over the Alleghany mountains, and as far west 
as Cincinnati, Ohio, then but a straggling village, and returned by way of Buffalo, 
New York, then recently burned by the Indians, leaving but a few houses stand- 
ing. The trip was made on horseback, much of it through an almost pathless 
wilderness, crossed only by narrow and obscure bridle paths. He next settled on 
a farm in Montgomery county, devised him by his uncle, William Maris, but a 
year later returned to Ridley, Delaware county, and set himself up in the lumber 
business there. On October 15, 1815, he married Mary West, as before stated, 
and went to live at Gwynedd on a farm left him by one of his Foulke ancestors. 
In 1820, they settled on a farm in Chester county, given to Mrs. Maris by her 
father, and there they passed the remainder of their lives. A man of untiring 
energy, broad and philanthropic views, generous and conciliatory in his inter- 
course with his fellow men, he exerted a wide influence for good in the com- 
munity in which he lived. His house was ever open to friends, acquaintances and 
travelling strangers, who shared the simple and unostentatious welcome of a 
model rural home. He was often called upon to act as peacemaker in local dis- 
putes, and frequently filled the position of executor, guardian, trustee, etc., in 
the settlement of estates and the transaction of business in his locality. He was 
a life-long member of the Society of Friends, and love to God and man were the 
ruling motives of his life. In 1841 he was elected President of the Bank of Dela- 
ware county, and was annually re-elected to that position until his death, Decem- 
ber 15, i860. His kind courteous manner and conscientious care in the trans- 
action of the business of the bank, and intercourse with its patrons, contributed 
largely to the prosperity of the bank, and confided in and trusted by all who knew 
him, his death was regretted by none more sincerely than by those who knew him 
as President of the Bank of Delaware county with which he was so long con- 
nected. He was active in the anti-slavery movement, and especially prominent in 
the effort to prevent the kidnapping and carrying away into slavery of free 
negroes ; with two other members of the Society of Friends he attended several 
sessions of the Legislature and labored for the passage of a law to effectually pre- 
vent this evil, an effort in which they were finally successful. His widow, Mary 
(West) Maris, died October 9, 1878. 

Issue of Jesse J. and Mary (West) Maris: — 

Hannah Maris, b. Sept. 18, 1816, d. Apr, 6, 1887; became second wife of John 

Stokes, June 3, 1884; 
John McIlvaine Maris, b. Sept. 20, 1818, d. Apr. 23, 1892; m. S. Louisa Wain- 

wright, of whom presently; 
Samuel West Maris, b. July 17, 1821, who m. Oct. 8, 184S, Sarah, dau. of Richard 

Wetherell; 
William Maris, b. Nov. II, 1823, m. Dec. 26, 1883, Lillian Hart, of Chester; 
Jesse Emlen Maris, b. Nov. 6, 1825, m. Apr. 6, 1856, Mary C. Gaskill; 
Sarah Ann Maris, b. Apr. 15, 1828, d. Apr. 21, 1871, unm.; 
Dr. Edward Maris, b. March 15, 1832, d. June 13, 1900; was eminent physician; m. 

(first) Oct. 14, 1857, Eleanor K., dau. of Dr. Stephen and Catharine (Murray) 

Wood, of N. Y. ; she d. Apr. 14, 1871, and he m. (second) June 5, 1873, Rachel, 

dau. of Joseph and Mary (McCollum) Scattergood; she d. Jan, 5, 1903; had issue 

by first wife, four children; 
Mary West Maris, b. Sept. I, 1835, m. Oct. 3, 1855, George Sellers Garrett, of 

Landsdowne; 

John McIlvain Maris, second child and eldest son of Jesse J. and Mary 



966 MARIS 

(West) Maris, born in Ridley township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, Septem- 
ber 20, 1818, received the major part of his education at Westtown Boarding 
School, an educational institution under the care of Philadelphia Yearly Meeting 
of Friends in Chester county. He taught the first public school in the district 
in which his father lived, and in 1836 became an assistant teacher in the school of 
the late John Bullock, at Wilmington, Delaware. Later in the same year he re- 
moved to Philadelphia, and began his mercantile career. He soon after engaged 
in the wholesale drug business, at 711 Market Street, where his son, Henry J., 
still conducts the business under the old firm name of John M. Maris & Company, 
his father continuing actively associated with the business until about five years 
before his death. He was one of the organizers of the Drug Exchange, and its first 
president In 1859 he was appointed one of the Guardians of the Poor, and in 
i860 became president of the board, and during his administration many reforms 
were instituted in the care and maintenance of the poor at the almshouse, and in 
the medical service at the hospital connected therewith; a staff of physicians 
being organized, and a number of the leading physicians of the city became asso- 
ciated with the medical service at the hospital. Mr. Maris was appointed inspector 
of the Eastern Penitentiary in 1871, and continued to fill that position until his 
resignation twenty years later ; during a portion of which period he was treasurer 
of the Board of Inspectors. Mr. Maris became a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, and took an active interest in church work, contributing liberally 
to charity and mission work. He was actively associated in the organization and 
building of the Methodist Church, at Broad and Arch streets of which he was a 
trustee from its organization to the day of his death. He died in Philadelphia, 
April 23, 1892. 

John M. Maris married, October 14, 1846, S. Louisa, eldest child of William 
Wainwright, for many years one of the prominent business men of Philadelphia, 
serving for a number of years as President of the Commercial National Bank 
of Philadelphia, by his wife, Mary Wood Reeves, of Woodbury, New Jersey, 
and of a family long prominent in the affairs of New Jersey. She survived him 
almost eighteen years, dying April 15, 1910. 

Issue of John M. and Louisa (Wainwright) Maris: — 

William Wainwright Maris, b. Sept. 20, 1848; m. Oct. 12, 1876, Anne, dau. of Dr. 
William and Anne Gerhard, and they have issue : 
Anne Gerhard Maris, b. July 6, 1878; 
John Mcllvain Maris, 3d, b. Aug. 31, 1879; 
Henry Jesse Maris, b. June 18, 1850; member of firm of John M. Maris & Co.; 
m. Apr. 14, 1880, Susan, dau. of Robert and Susan D. Bryson, Harrisburg, Pa! 
They had issue: 

Dorothy Wainwright Maris, b. Apr. 30, 1883; m. June 19, 1905, Alexander 
Payson Knapp, of Baltimore, Md.; they have issue Alexander Maris 
Knapp, b. April 25, 1907. 
Henry Mcllvain Maris, b. Jan. 13, 1889; 
Louis Bryson Maris, b. March II, 1894, d. May 21, 1900. 
John Mcllvain Maris, Jr., b. Jan. 6, 1854; m. (first) June 17, 1880, Eleanor Bowman, 
dau. of Col. John B., and Eleanor (Bowman) Musser; (second) Adelaide Lama- 
reaux, of N. Y.; had issue, by first wife, four children, three of whom survive- 
Louisa Wainwright Maris, b. May 5, 1881, m. Jan. 12, 1904, Parke Ross' of 
Chicago, 111., and they have issue : ' 

Louisa Maris Ross, b. Nov. i, 1905; 
James Bowman Maris, b. Jan. 10, 1885; m. Dec. 29, 1906, Edna Carpenter 



MARIS 967 

Saybold, of Cincinnati, O.; 
Arthur Mcllvain Maris, b. Nov. 9, 1886; 
George Maris, b. Nov. 7, 1855, d. Jan. 11, 1890, unm.; 
Theodore Maris, b. Sept! 6, 1864, unm.; 

Mary Louisa Maris, b. Apr. 11, 1866; member of Colonial Dames of America; m. 
Dec. 12, 1899, Isaac Roberts, son of Dr. Nathaniel R. Newkirk and his wife 
Martha Reeve, dau. of John and Anna (Hall) Bacon, of N. J., and descendant of 
Samuel Bacon of Barnstable, Mass., 1653, who was prominent in Colonial aiifairs 
in both East and West Jersey: 

Isaac R. and Mary Louisa (Maris) Newkirk, have issue: — 

Louisa Maris Newkirk, b. Jan. 23, 1901 ; 
Martha Bacon Newkirk, b. Jan. 23, 1904. 



HARE FAMILY. 

The Hare family is of French-Xorman origin, being descended from Jervis, 
Earl of Harcourt, in France, who came into England with William the Conqueror 
io56, from whom descend the Hares of Stow Bardolph, of which the American 
family is an offshoot. The branch of the family, descendants of Jervis, from 
which descended the Harcourts, formerly Barons of Wingham, and the Viscount 
Harcourt, of Stanton Harcourt, bore the arms formerly borne by Jervis, Earl of 
Harcourt, while the Hares of Stow Bardolph descended from Sir John Hare, 
Knight, son of Jervis, bore the same arms, with the augmentation of a chief 
indented or, granted to Sir John. 

The lineage of the family of Hare "claimed to be a scion of the house of Hare- 
court, or Harcourt, in Lorraine, who were Counts of Normandy," is given in 
Burk's "Extinct and Dormant Baronetcies" as follows : 

Sir John Hare, Knight, of Homerfield, Suffolk, married Elizabeth, daughter 
of Sir John de Ashton, and left a son and heir, 

^^'ILLIA^I Hare, Esq., who married Anne, daughter of Sir Thomas Mydleton, 
Knight, of Mydleton Hall, in Lancashire, and was succeeded by his son, 

John Hare, Esq., who married Agnes, daughter of Sir John Shirley, Knight, 
of Whiston, in Sussex, and died leaving a son and heir, 

Sir Thomas Hare, Knight, who married Julia Hussey, of Lincolnshire, and 
was succeeded by his son, 

Nicholas Hare, EIsq., who married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Thomas de 
Wallingham, Knight, and succeeded to the hereditary estate of Wakeless Manor, 
hundred of Wangford, Suffolk, which extended into Homerfield, and was the 
father of 

Richard Hare, Esq., who married Elizabeth, daughter of John Seckford, Esq., 
of Suffolk, and was succeeded by his son and heir, 

John Hare, Esq., who married Jane Melville, and was succeeded by his son, 

Thomas Hare, Esq., who married Joyce, daughter of John Hyde, Esq., of 
Norbury. and was father of 

John Hare, Esq., who married Catharine, daughter of Richard de Aunderson, 
and was succeeded by his son, 

Nicholas Hare, Esq., who was father of 

John Hare, Esq., who married Elizabeth, daughter of Fortesque, Esq., 

and had two sons, the elder of whom. Sir Nicholas Hare, of Brusyard, Suffolk, 
purchased, 1553, the liberty of the hundred of Clockhouse, which included Stow 
Bardolph, and thirty-one towns adjoining. This ancient franchise was granted by 
King Edgar to the Abbey of Ramsey, to which it belonged until Henry Y\U., at 
the dissolution of the monasteries, granted it to Lord North, who sold it to Sir 
Nicholas Hare. 

Sir Nicholas Hare, was twice chosen Speaker of House of Commons, reign of 
Henry VHL, was ^Master of Requests, and Chief Justice of Chester. He was 
sworn in as ]Master of Rolls by the Pri\Tf Council, and was later Lord Keeper of 
the Great Seal. He married Catharine, daughter and co-heiress of Sir John Ba^s- 



HARE 969 

inghourn, Knight, of Woodhall, in Hertsfordshire, and had issue, three sons and 
three daughters. The sons — Michael, WiUiam, and Robert — leaving no issue, his 
estates descended to 

John Hare, Esq., second son of John Hare, of Homerfield and Brusyard, Suf- 
folk, who on failure of male issue of his elder brother. Sir Nicholas Hare, suc- 
ceeded not only to the hereditary estates but to Stow Bardolph, purchased by Nich- 
olas 1553. The name of the wife of this John Hare has not been ascertained, but 
he had ten children, namely: 

Nicholas Hare, a bencher of the Inner Temple, who rebuilt the mansion house 
at Stow Bardolph, at an outlay of £40,000, and also erected a spacious dormitory 
adjoining the chapel there, for the reception of his remains and those of his fam- 
ily. He died 1591, leaving his estate to his next brother, Ralph Hare, who died 
without issue 1601, leaving it to the next brother, Richard Hare, Esq., known 
thereafter as "of Stow Bardolph," in whose line it descended for many generations. 
Roland and Edmond, the two next sons, died without issue. Hugh Hare, sixth 
son, also a bencher of the Inner Temple, and Master of the Court of Wards, also 
died without issue, and by will, dated December 25, 1619, devised an estate ex- 
ceeding £99,400 equally to his two nephews, John Hare, grandson of his brother 
Richard, and Hugh Hare, son of his younger brother, John. 

Thomas Hare^ seventh son, of Leigh, in Essex, was the ancestor of the Hare 
family of Philadelphia ; of him presently. 

John Hare, eighth son, married (first) Lucia, daughter of Barlow, Esq., 

by whom he had no issue; (second) Margaret, daughter of John Crouch, Esq., of 
Combury, Hertfordshire, who after his death became third countess of Henry, 
first Earl of Manchester. By her he had two sons — Nicholas, who died without 
issue, and Hugh Hare, who was created Lord Coleraine August 3, 1625, and mar- 
ried Lucia, daughter of Henry, first Earl of Manchester, by a former marriage, 
the Earl's third wife being Hugh's mother. 

Two daughters — Margaret and Elizabeth — complete the list of the ten children 
of John Hare, of Brusyard, Suffolk, and Stow Bardolph. 

Thomas Hare, Esq., "of Leigh County Essex," seventh son of John Hare, of 
Stow Bardolph, was buried at Saint Bartholomew-by-fhe-Exchange, London, 
May 24, 1572, as "Captain Hare." By his wife, Catharine, who was living May 
6, 1572, he had five sons and three daughters. 

Samuel Hare, eldest son of Capt. Thomas Hare, baptized 1548, died December 
25, 1619. He married Melcah, daughter of James Colemore, merchant of Lon- 
don, and had among others 

John Hare, Esq., of Leigh, county Essex, eldest son, bom 1592, who married 
and had issue: 

Richard Hare, Esq., eldest son, of whom presently; 

Samuel Hare, m. Elizabeth, dau. of Richard Edwards, Esq., of Arsley, county Bedford; 

had two daughters — Mary, who m. John Battersby, Vicar of Kirby, county Essex; and 

Jane. 

Richard Hare, eldest son of John Hare, of Leigh, county Essex, born 1636; 
married (first), 1663, Katharine, daughter of Richard Edwards, Esq., of Arsley, 
county Bedford; (second), 1669, Sarah, daughter of Thomas Naylor, Esq., and a 
aunt of George Naylor, of Hurstmonceaux, whose sister his son. Bishop Hare, 
later married. 



970 HARE 

FiLvxcis Hake, D. D., Bishop of Chichester, only son of Richard Hare, Esq., 
born November i, 1671 ; married (first), 1709, Bethia, only daughter of Francis 
Xaylor, Esq., of Hurstmonceaux Castle, county Sussex; (second), 1728, Mar- 
garet, daughter and co-heiress of Joseph Alston, Esq., of New House, county 
Suffolk, and of Easthampton, county Berks. 

While the several biographers of Bishop Hare give the date of his birth as No- 
vember I, 1671, the records of St. Paul's parish, Covent Garden, show the baptism 
of '"Francis, son of Mr. Richard Hare, by Sarah his wife," as occurring Novem- 
ber 15, 1670. From the same parish register we learn that "Bethia, ye wife of 
Dr. Hare, Dean of Worcester," was buried at St. James, Clerkenwell, London, 
January 18, 1725. 

The record of the marriage of Francis Hare, Bishop of St. Asaph, widower, 
and ]\Iargaret Alston, of Edwardston, county of Suffolk, spinster, on April 23, 
1728, at St. Paul's Cathedral, London, also appears on the St. Paul's records. 

Bishop Hare was educated at Eton, and admitted to King's College, Cambridge, 
1688, graduating with degree of B. A. 1692, and receiving degree of M. A. 1696, 
and D. D. 1708. While at Cambridge he was tutor of Sir Robert Walpole, and 
also of John, son of the distinguished Earl of Marlborough, the ]\Iarquis of Blan- 
ford, who died at college, February 20, 1702-3. 

In 1704 Dr. Hare was appointed Chaplain General to the Army in Flanders, 
and he described the campaign there, in a series of letters to his cousin, George 
Naylor, of Hurstmonceaux Castle, which have been preserved, and in a journal 
preserved among Archdeacon Cox's papers in the British Aluseum. 

In the autumn of 1709 he married his first cousin, Bethia Naylor, who became 
the heiress of Hurstmonceaux, upon the death of Grace Naylor, only daughter of 
her brother, George Naylor. The Hares took up their residence at Hurstmon- 
ceaux on their marriage, but Dr. Hare was obliged to join the camp near Douay 
the following April, and he left his wife at Hurstmonceaux with her family, 
which ever afterwards continued to be her home, little Grace, the heiress, being 
left to her guardianship. Bethia (Naylor) Hare died 1725, and her niece, Grace 
Naylor, dying 1727, Hurstmonceaux descended to Francis Hare, son of the Bishop 
and Bethia, born ^May 14, 171 3, who eventually changed his name to Francis Hare 
Naylor, and, after his father's death married a sister to his step-mother, Charlotte 
Alston. 

Hurstmonceaux Castle, the home of Bishop Hare during the minority of his 
son, Francis, is located less than four miles from the Sussex coast, at a point 
where the huge remains of the Roman Andreda break the otherwise monotonous 
sea-line, but divided from the sea by the flat marsh and meadow lands, known as 
Pe^ensey Level, the sea itself having once rolled almost to the ancient manor 
house of Monceaux, which preceded the castle on the same site. The latter is 
now in rums, but still most grand and stately in its premature decay. It was built 
in the reign of Henry \T., and is said to have been the earliest large brick build- 
ing in England after the time of Richard II., and is considered a most valuable 
specimen of the transition of domestic building from a fortress to a manor house. 
Bishop Littleton writing of it in 1757, states that in his opinion it was at that time 
the largest inhabited house in England belonging to a subject. Its name is derived 
from the Saxon word Hurst, meaning a wood, and the name of the ancient holders 



HARE 971 

Henry II. visited and slept in the old manor house, and one of his nobles, Roger 
de Tourney, was accidentally killed by an arrow while hunting in the park. In 
the reign of Edward II., Maud de Monceaux married Sir John Fiennes, Lord of 
Dacre, and brought the castle into that family, who held it until 1708, when 
Thomas Lod Dacre sold it to George Naylor. 

Dr. Hare, in addition to the office of Chaplain General to the Royal forces, held 
the chaplaincy to the Duke of Marlborough, and in 1710 was made Royal Chap- 
lian by Queen Anne. He was elected a fellow of Eton 1712, became rector of 
Barnes, in Surrey, 1713, and held a prebend in St. Paul's from 1707 until his 
death, resigning the rectorship of Barnes 1723. In 1715 he was appointed Dean 
of Worcester, and 1722 was made usher of the Exchequer by Henry Pelham, 
brother of his sister-in-law, Lady Grace Naylor, wife of George. In 1726 he 
exchanged Worcester for the richer Deanery of St. Paul's, which he held until his 
death, and December 19, 1727, was consecrated Bishop of St. Asaph, from which 
he was transferred to the See of Chichester 1731. He had lost his Royal-Chap- 
laincy about 1718, in consequence of his share in the Bangorian controversy, but 
on the accession of George II. he was in favor with Queen Catharine, who pur- 
posed making him Bishop of Bath and Wells, but the ministry remonstrated 
against giving these best preferments to the newly consecrated bishop. His fame 
as a preacher had, however, by this time become widespread. In 1736 his old 
pupil and fast friend and associate in letters. Sir Robert Walpole, proposed him 
as successor to Archbishop Wake, then rapidly failing, but Bishop Hare had 
recently opposed the government in some measures for the relief of dissenters, 
and Lord Herney, who had encountered him in that controversy, successfully re- 
monstrated against the appointment, saying that the bishop was "haughty, hot- 
headed, injudicious and unpopular." This seems to have been in some measure 
true, as Cole sums up his character as follows : "The Bishop was of a sharp and 
piercing wit, of great judgment and understanding in worldly affairs, and of no 
less sagacity and penetration in matters of learning, and especially of criticism, is 
sufficiently clear from the works he left behind him; but that he was of a sour 
crabbed disposition is equally manifest." The few influential friends he retained 
in his later years were the Pelhams, Walpoles, and other friends of the old Naylor 
connection. 

Bishop Hare was a prolific writer, principally on religious and ecclesiastic sub- 
jects, and of a controversial nature. His second marriage, April, 1728, to Mary 
Margaret Alston, brought him a large fortune in the estates of "New House," in 
Suffolk, the ancient manor of Hos-tendis, Norfolk, and the Vatche, near Chalfont 
St. Giles, in Buckinghamshire. They resided at the latter place during his later 
years, and there the seven children of his second marriage were born. Here he 
devoted his leisure to literary pursuits. His publication, 1724, of a new quarto 
edition of Terrance, with notes, founded partly on communication from Bentley, 
which led to a controversy between him and Dr. Bentley, theretofore his intimate 
friend, who had intended to publish them, himself, which lasted many years. Dr. 
Farr says of the bishop that "he proved himself quite a match for his antagonist, 
in his knowledge of the genius and spirit of the language." Bishop Warburton 
classes them together, "Good sense," he says, "is the foundation of criticism : that 
it is which made Dr. Bently and Dr. Hare the two greatest critics that were ever 
in the world." Bishop Hare was a fine Hebrew scholar, and published an edition 



972 HARE 

of the manor named Monceaux. In the time of Walerau de Monceau, 1264, 
of the Psabns, 1736, in that language. 

Bishop Hare died at the Vatche, September 26, 1740, and was buried in a 
mauseleum that he had built for his family adjoining the church of Chalfont St. 
Giles. "Great was the lamentation for him both in public and private," Bishop 
Warburton wrote, "in the death of Dr. Francis Hare, the world has lost one of its. 
best patrons and supporters of letters and religion," and many others have award- 
ed a favorable verdict to Bishop Hare as a writer. jMary Margaret (Alston) 
Hare, widow of the bishop, died 1784. 

Francis Hare Xaylor, son of the bishop, by Bethia Naylor, having died without 
issue 1775, and Hurstmonceaux devolved upon his half-brother, Robert Hare, the 
eldest of the children of the bishop, by Mary Margaret Alston, who was named 
for his father's friend and relative, Sir Robert W'alpole. This Robert Hare mar- 
ried (first), 1752, Sarah Selman, who died 1763, leaving a son, Robert Hare, who 
became Canon of W inchester. The latter had a son, Francis, who like his half- 
uncle, changed his name to Francis Hare Xaylor. Robert Hare, son of the bishop, 
married (second) Henrietta Henckell, and resided at Hurstmonceaux. They dis- 
mantled the castle, erected a new mansion, and lived in such extravagance that 
they wasted and alienated the greater part of the fine estate. The history of this 
branch of the family in detail is continued in Augustus John Cuthbert Hare's 
"Memorials of a Quiet Life." 

Richard Hare, Esq., of Limehouse, London, and of Woohvich, county Kent, 
and father of Robert Hare, who came to Philadelphia 1773, was born 1700. He 
is mentioned in various records and at different periods, as an "Esquire," a Justice 
of the Peace for Middlesex, as a Gentleman Commoner, and as a "Brewer of 
Porter." He is believed to have been of the family of Hare of Stow Bardolph, 
county of Norfolk, but he lived a quiet and busy life at Limehouse, where he was 
head of one of the largest establishments for brewing porter in England in his 
day. He is known to have been twice married, but little record has been found 
of his first wife. He had been a widower for some years when he married at 
Bath Abbey, 1745, ^lartha, daughter of Henry Harford, Esq., of Bath, county 
Somerset, a nonjuring Episcopal clergyman, and of the Harfords of Blaize Castle, 
county Carnarvon, \A"ales. She was baptized at Bath Abbey, November 13, 1717. 

Richard Hare died July i, 1776, leaving a will by which he devised a large 
estate to his five sons and three daughters, who survived him ; his third son being 
Robert Hare, the founder of the family in America. 
Issue of Richard and Martha (Harford) Hare: 

Richard Hare, Esq., bap. at Bath Abbey, county Somerset, April 25. 1747: d. in the same 
kcality as his birth, Xov. 22, 1825. On his tomb in the churchyard of the parish 
church at Weston, a suburb of Bath, county Somerset, is the following inscription: 

"Richard Hare, Esq., F. L. S. (Fellow of the Linnaen Society) of the family of 
Hare of Stow Bardolph, in the County of Norfolk, who died Xoveraber 22nd, 1825, 
aged 78 yeares." 

He m.. May 14, 1778, .-Vnne Hornby, of Gaestang, Lancashire, and had issue, four 
sons and four daughters, of whom but two, a son and daughter, lived to maturity. 

The dau., Anne Eliza Susan Hare, b. June 7, 1788, m., iScfe, at Bombay, Andrew 
Mocre Dawe. a paymaster of 2nd Battalion of His Ma.iest}-'s 56th Regiment, and 

eldest son of Hill Dawe, Esq., of Ditcheat Manor House. They had issue, two sons 

Henrj- .Andrew Dawe, b. June 9, 1809, at Bombay, d. s. p. in Van Diemen's Land, had 
m. Jane Murray, dau. of a Scotch clergyman; the other son. Hill Richard Dawe b 
July. 1810, d. s. p. at Ditcheat Manor, 1857. ' 

Richard Hare, 3d, son of Richard and Anne (Hornby) Hare, b. Nov. 20, 1793 m 



HARE ^J7h 

June i8, 183s, Mary Comb, b. at Little Grimsby, Lincolnshire, May I, 1810, dau. of 
John Maddison, later of 19 Green Park, Bath; they had issue: 
Mary Hornby Hare, b. Aug. 11, 1840, d. unm., Dec. 14, 1878; 

Lieut.-Col. Richard Thomas Hare, now on retired list of Indian army, served 

with Bengal Artillery throughout suppression of Indian Mutiny, siege of Delhi, 

etc. ; was mentioned honorably for zeal and coolness in situations of danger, 

and recommended for Victoria Cross. He afterwards assisted in Relief of 

Lucknow, and took part in battle of Cawnpore. Since his retirement he has 

lived at Bath. He m. Gertrude Adelone Spear, and has two daughters, viz. : 

Ethel Gertrude Hare, Mabel Maddison Hare; 

Robert Powel Hare, the other son, b. July 22, 1842, is also Lieutenant- Colonel in 

Royal Artillery, and now on retired list. He m. Christian S., youngest dau. of 

late Donald MacLaine, of Lochbuy, Argyleshire, and had issue — Richard Hare, 

Gwendoline Hare, Mabel Hare, Mary Hare, Stuart Hare. 

Rev. James Hare, second son of Richard Hare, of Limehouse, and Martha Harford, b. 

1748; graduated at Baliol College, Oxford, and became Vicar of St. Margaret's, county 

Wilts, Diocese of Salisbury, and Chaplain to the Marquis of Buckingham, and the 

Countess Dowager Bathurst. He was inducted unto the Rectory of Colu, St. Denys' 

Gloucestershire, Feb. 19, 1797. Buried in the churchyard there, his tomb bearing the 

following inscription : 

"Rev. James Hare, A. M. 

Late Rector of this Parish. 

Died October 23d, 1808, 

Aged 60 years." 

He m. Mary Goddard, and had three sons, the youngest, of whom 
Richard Goddard Hare, b. 1778, became Lieut.-Gen. Hare Clarges, succeeding to 
estates of Sir Thomas Clarges; m., about 1847, Anna Lethbridge; d. s. p., 1859. 
Robert Hare, third son of Richard Hare, of Limehouse, of whom presently; 
John Hare, fourth son, was a barrister of Inner Temple, and was killed by Arabs, near 
Hasha, in desert of Arabia, while on a mission to India. A print of his coat-of-arms, 
with martlet in chief, indicative of his cadency in and descent through the family of 
Hare of Stow Bardolph, with motto "Stet pro Actione voluntas," is in the possession 
of Mrs. Harriet Hare McClellan, of 11 16 Spruce street, Phila., a descendant of his 
brother, Robert Hare; d. unm., April 15, 1784; 
Charles Hare, fifth son, b. 1756, d. 1801, was Captain in Royal Navy, and served under 
Lord Hood in evacuation of Toulon, having command of fireship, "Vulcan," in de- 
struction of French fleet. He afterwards served with distinction under Admiral Sir 
William Sidney Smith, when he repulsed Napoleon at Acre. His wife's name is un- 
known. He had one son : 

Charles Hare, b. 1788, d. 1859, became Lieutenant in Royal Navy; m. and had 
several children. His eldest son was drowned in the Birkenhead ; a son, George 
Hare, also of Royal Navy, d. in Athens; other descendants are said to be living 
in Canada; 
Charlotte Hare, a dau. of Capt. Charles Hare, b. 1791, m. Admiral John Alex- 
ander, of Royal Navy, and had a son — John Alexander, m. Lady Bruce, and 
had issue: Mary Hare Alexander, afterwards Madam Villani, of Brussells, 
Belgium. 
Martha Hare, sixth child and eldest daughter of Richard Hare, of Limehouse, b. 1758, 
d. 1840, No. 6 Somerset place, Bath, unm. She was a woman of rare intelligence and 
warm feeling, who was fond of reading and always well informed as to history and 
her own times; a woman, in fact, possessing, to a rare degree for that period, the 
courage of her convictions; 
Charlotte Hare, seventh child of Richard of Limehouse, was devotedly attached to her 
elder sister, Martha, with whom she lived until her own marriage late in life, to Rev. 
Mr. Essen; d. about 1803, soon after marriage; no children; 
Mary Hare, eighth child, was living at the death of her father, 1776; soon after d. unm. 

Robert Hare, third son of Richard Hare, of Limehouse, county Middlesex, by 
his wife Martha Harford, was born at Woolwich, county Kent, England, Janu- 
ary 28, 1752. He received a fine classical education in his native country, and, 
1773, came to Pennsylvania and located in Philadelphia, where he eventually be- 
came a prominent business man. He was a great reader and very fond of nature, 
and a refined and polished gentleman. In the spring of 1774 he became interest- 
ed in some colonization schemes of William Allen, who owned vast tracts of land 



974 HARE 

in Pennsylvania and New York, and in company with that gentleman made a trip 
to Niagara and Canada, returning by way of Boston. During this journey, to 
what was then the frontiers of civilization in America, he kept a journal begin- 
ning with the start from Philadelphia, May 3, 1774, and ending with his arrival 
at Boston, July 22, of same j-ear. This journal, since published in pamphlet form 
and in the "Collections of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania," is a delightful 
narrative of the daily occurrences of a memorable trip through a primitive coun- 
tr\-, embellished with glowing descriptions of the country passed through and a 
clear, concise and intelligent record of his impressions of the people he met on the 
joume}-. The outward trip was made by way of New York City, from whence 
they sailed up the Hudson in a sloop to Albany, and after a brief halt there, were 
the guests of Sir W'ilham Johnson, the great Indian agent of the northern district, 
and of his son, Sir John Johnson, the American royalist during the Revolution, 
as well as of Col. Claus, son-in-law of Sir William. After a visit to Niagara and 
other points on the great lakes, of which the journal gives a vivid description, the 
journey extended to ^Montreal and other points in Canada, thence back to Albany, 
and from there to Boston. During the latter part of the trip the journalist refers 
to the opinion expressed by the people he met of the unwise and uncalled for out- 
rage inflicted on the people by the British Parliament in the passage of the Boston 
Port Bill, in a manner which indicates that he shared their indignation and resent- 
ment, but since the journal was intended for the perusal of his parents in England 
it is guarded in its expressions on political subjects. Certain it is, however, that, 
though during the trip he was thrown in close contact with a number of people 
who were afterwards prominent royalists, the writer developed a strong sym- 
pathy with the patriot cause, notwithstanding his recent arrival in .America. 

Returning to Philadelphia, he engaged successfully in business there, and, No- 
vember 16, 1775, was married to Margaret, youngest daughter of Charles Willing, 
one of the most prominent merchants of Philadelphia, in the days of that city's 
commercial supremacy, just prior to the Revolutionary War. He was bom in 
Bristol, England, May 10, 1710, and came to Philadelphia at the age of eighteen 
years, to take charge of a mercantile business established there by his family. He 
was a Captain in the Provincial forces 1747; a Justice of the City Courts many 
years; twice Mayor of the city; one of the founders and first trustees of the 
College and Academy of Philadelphia, progenitor of the University of Pennsyl- 
vania; and filled innumerable positions of trust. His wife was Anne, daughter 
of Joseph and Abigail (Grosse) Shippen, and Margaret was the youngest of their 
eleven children. 

Robert Hare's connection by marriage with these prominent famalies increased 
his standing as a merchant and business man, and probably helped to develop his 
sympathy with and interest in the patriot cause. This interest, however, was not 
sufficient to induce him to take up arms against his native country-, and during the 
British occupancy of Philadelphia he removed to Virginia and made his residence 
with Col. \Mlliam Byrd, of ^^'estover, who had married Mary W'ilUng, a sister to 
Mrs. Hare. On the evacuation of Philadelphia by the British, 1778, Mr. Hare 
returned to that cit>' and resumed his business there. He became indentified with 
the various institutions of his adopted city and state, and filled many honorable 
positions at different periods. He was elected to General Assembly of Pennsyl- 
vania 1 791, and subsequently to the State Senate, of which body he was Speaker 



HARE 975 

and ex-officio Lieutenant Governor of the state 1796. He was an original organ- 
izer of the Plrst Troop, Philadelphia City Cavalry, and a trustee of University of 
Pennsylvania 1789-1805. He died in Germantown, March 8, 181 1. His widow 
Margaret (Willing) Hare died September 21, 1816. 
Issue of Robert and Margaret (Willing) Hare: 

Richard Hare, b. Sept. 22, 1776, d. July 9, 1778; 

Charles Willing Hare, b., Westover, Va., April 23, 1778; m., Aug. 30, 1801, Anne, dau. 
of George Emlen, of Phila., and among their surviving children were George Emlen 
Hare, D. D., LL. D., S. T. D., and Margaretta Hare, who m. Israel Pemberton Hutch- 
inson. 

George Emlen Hare, D. D., LL. D., m. Elizabeth Catharine Hobart, and was 
father of Right Rev. William Hobart Hare, Protestant Episcopal Bishop of 
Nebraska and Dakota, b. at Princeton, N. J., May 17, 1838, educated at Episcopal 
Academy of Phila., and Univ. of Pa., received degree of S. T. D. from Columbia 
College, and that of D. D. from Trinity, Hartford, and Kenyon College, O. 
He was ordained deacon, 1859; priest, 1862, and was assistant rector of St. 
Paul's Church, Chestnut Hill, later rector there and of other Phila. churches; 
was consecrated Bishop of Nebraska, 1873, diocese enlarged to include South 
Dakota, 1883. 

Bishop Hare m., 1861, Mary Amory, dau of Bishop Howe. A son, Hobart 
Amory Hare, M. E).,.b. Sept. 20, 1862, is a prominent physician of Phila.; Pro- 
fessor of Children's Diseases at Univ. of Pa., 1880; since then Professor of 
Therapeutics at Jefferson Medical College; Editor of Unh'ersity Medical Maga- 
zine, i888-g; of Medical News, 1890-1 ; since then of Therapeutic Gazette; mem- 
ber of various medical associations, and author of a great number of medical 
works. He m., May 8, 1S84, Rebecca Clifford Pemberton. 
Martha Hare, b., Phila., Aug. 17, 1779, was named for her aunt, Martha Hare, in Eng- 
land — in distinction from whom she was called in the family "Aunt Patty;" she was a 
woman of great intelligence, a leader in society in her day, and at her house all the 
younger members of the family delighted to assemble; her Sunday morning breakfasts, 
at which they all gathered, being very famous, and her tea table renowned for the 
racy bits of gossip that were brought there by her numerous fashionable guests; d. 
unm., Feb. 4, 1852; 

Robert Hare, M. D., b. Jan. 17, 1781, d. May 15, 1858; of whom presently; 
Richard Hare, b., Phila., Sept. 24, 1782, d. Jan. 9, 1796; 

John Powel Hare, b., Phila., April 22, 1786, d., Newport, R. I., June 14. 1856; was adopted 
by a maternal aunt and changed his name to John Hare Powel; was Colonel in War 
of 1812-14, and later Secretary of Legation, at the Court of St. James; m., Oct. 20, 
1817, Julia (1798-1845), dau. of Col. Andrew de Veaux (1758-1812), of Beaufort, S. C, 
and his wife, Anna Maria, of N. Y. (1773-1816), dau. of Philip Verplanck (1736-77) 
and Aefje Beekman (1736-7-75), both bur. at Fishkill, N. Y., and granddaughter of 
Philip Verplanck (1695-1771), of Manor of Cortlandt, by his wife, Gertrude Van 
Cortlandt (1697-1766); Col. Andrew de Veaux was son of Andrew de Veaux, Jr. 
(1757-1815), by his wife, Catharine Barnwell, b. 1740, dau. of John Barnwell, b. 1711 
and his wife, Martha Chapin; John Barnwell being the seventh child of Col. John 
Barnwell, who came to South CaroHna from DubUn, Ireland, 1701, and m. Anne 
Berners. 

Much has been written about Col. Andrew de Veaux, father of Julia (de Veaux) 
Hare-Powel, but his most brilliant exploit was the capture of the Island of New 
Providence (Nassau) from the Spanish, 1783, for which the English ParHament com- 
missioned him a Colonel; he afterwards lived with his wife at "de Veaux Park," at 
Red Hook-on-the-Hudson, where his entertainments and fine equipages were the talk 
of the day. His daughter, Julia, is mentioned as "the most beautiful woman in New 
York City," a reputation which followed her to "Powelton," her husband's residence 
in Phila. 

Andre de Veaux, grandfather of Col. Andrew, was a Huguenot settler on the Hud- 
son, where he d. 1754. His son, Andrew de Veaux (1715-70), m. Hannah, dau. of 
Col. John Palmer, and his wife, Elizabeth, dau. of Capt. Sir Edmund Bellinger, of 
Royal Navy, who m. in England, about 1680, Sarah Cartwright. 
Col. John Hare Powel and Julia de Veaux had issue: 

Samuel Powel, of Powelton, Phila., and Newport, R. I. (1818-1885), m. Mary 

Johnston, and had six children, several of whom reside in Newport, R. I.; 
De Veaux Powel (1821-48), m. Elizabeth Cooke, and had one dau. — Elizabeth, 

whose children are the Liirmans of Catonsville, Md. ; 
Henry Baring Powel (1823-52), m. Caroline Bayard, and had one dau. — Mary, 
whose children are the Hodges of Phila.; 



976 HARE 

Robert Hare Powel (1825-83), m. Amy S. Bradley, and had six children— several 
of whom reside in Phila.; 

Elizabeth Powel (1827-35) '< 

Harford Powel (1831-5); 

Julia Powel (1833-84), m. William Parker Foulke, of Phila., and had seven chil- 
dren, several of whom reside in Phila.; 

John Hare Powel (1837- 1908), m. Annie Emlen Hutchinson, of Phila., and had 
two sons, one surviving resides in Newport, R. I.; 

Ida Powel (1840-1908), married (first) Edward Morrell, and had three children 
residing in Phila; (second) John G. Johnson, the well-known eminent lawyer 
of Phila. Bar. 

Dr. Robert Hare, of Philadelphia, second surviving son of Robert and Mar- 
garet (\\ illing) Hare, was born in Philadelphia, January 17, 1781, the day of the 
battle of Cowpens. He received a fair academic education, and early in life had 
the management of the extensive business established by his father, but soon 
abandoned it for the study of science; attending lectures in his native city, and 
uniting himself with the Chemical Society of Philadelphia. In 1801 he invented 
the compound, or oxy-hydogen blow-pipe, which he described in a memoir to the 
(Chemical Society, which was republished in Tulloch's Philosophical Magazine, 
London, 1802, and also in Annals de Chine, \o\. XL\". This apparatus was the 
earliest and perhaps the most remarkable of his many original contributions to 
science, and gave evidence of a highly philosophic mind. He experimented with 
it with Prof. Silliman, and, 1803, constructed for Yale College the first pneumatic 
trough in which his invention was incorporated, and received from the .\merican 
Academy of -A.rts and Sciences the Rumford !Medal. He later perfected the voltaic 
batter)-, by introducing his deflagrator. He was called to the chair of chemistry at 
University of Pennsylvania 1818, and continued to fill that position until his resig- 
nation, 1847. when he was made Emeritus Professor. 

Dr. Hare \'ias fond of graphic illustrations, they abound in his memoirs, and in 
his compendium and other works. He published a number of papers, pamphlets, 
etc., on scientific subjects, since much quoted and considered valuable contributions 
to chemical science. He was an ardent patriot of the school of W^ashington, a 
Federalist, while that party had a name, later a Whig, a man of unbending recti- 
tude, and his writings on political and financial questions were marked by vigorous 
thought and large views. 

He was a life member of the Smithsonian Institution, to which he gave all his 
chemical and physical apparatus. He died in Philadelphia, May 15, 1858. ^lany 
tributes to his worth in the realms of science and literature were published in the 
newspapers and other periodicals of the day, and an excellent account of his scien- 
tific attainments of some length appeared in the Journal of Science for July, 1858, 
which opens by referring to him as one "whose name for half a century was 
familiar to men of science as a chemical philosopher, and to the cultivators of the 
useful arts throughout the civilized world." 

Dr. Robert Hare married, September, 181 1, Harriet, daughter of John Innes 
Clark, of Providence, Rhode Island, by his wife, Lydia Bowen. She was bom 
1782, and died IMarch 19, 1869. 

Issue of Dr. Robert and Harriet (Clark) Hare: 

John Innes Clark Hare, b. Aug., 1812, d. inf.; 

Hon. John Innes Clark Hare, b.. Phila., Oct. 17, 1817, d. there, Jan. 2, 1907; graduated 
at Univ. of Pa., 1834; studied law and was admitted to Phila. Bar, 1841, and practiced 



HARE 977 

in that city until 1851, when he became Associate Justice of District Court of Phila., 
of which he became President Judge, 1867, and filled that position until the District 
Court was abolished by the new Constitution, 1874, and he was made President Judge 
of Court of Common Pleas thereunder, and filled that position until 1895 ; received 
honorary degree of LL. D. from his alma mater, 1868; was Emeritus Professor of 
Institutes of Law at Univ. of Pa., at his death having been made Professor of that 
department, 1868; became member of American Philosophic Society, 1842; was trustee 
of the University, 1858-68; was author of American Constitutional Law;, Chancery 
Reports (II. vols), and (with Horace B. Wallace) of American Leading Cases m., 
November 16, 1842, Esther C, dau. of Horace Binney, Esq., by his wife Elizabeth 
Coxe; 

Theodore Dehon Hare, d. young, 1825. 

Robert Harford Hare, b. Sept. 19, 1820, of whom presently; 

Lydia Hare, m. at Providence, R. I., Aug. 15, 1828, Frederick Prime, Esq., of New York; 

George Harrison Hare, of U. S. N., m. Elizabeth Binney, dau. of Hon. John Cadwalader,. 
by his wife, Mary Binney; d. s. p., July 22, 1857; 

Robert Harford Hare, fourth child of Robert and Harriet (Qark) Hare, born 
in Philadelphia, September 19, 1820, died May 3, 1887. He resided at 2031 De- 
lancy place, in that city, and at EUicott city, Maryland. He married, August 28, 
1845, Caroline, born December 22, 1825, died January 3, 1893, daughter of John 
William Charles Fleeming, Esq., of New Bedford, Massachusetts, by his wife, 
Mary Rotch, born November 18, 1793, died August 13, 1878. 
Issue of Robert Harford and Caroline (Fleeming) Hare: 

Mary Fleeming Hare, b. June 17, 1846, of whom presently; 

Harriet Hare, b. July 23, 1847, m., June 25, 1873, George McClellan, M. D., of Phila.;. 
of whom later. 

Mary Fleeming Hare, daughter of Robert Harford Hare, by his wife, Caro- 
line Fleeming, born June 17, 1846, died at her residence, 1812 South Rittenhouse 
square, Philadelphia, March 20, 1885. She married, February 12, 1874, Sussex 
Delaware Davis, Esq., of Philadelphia Bar, who was born near Lewes, Sussex 
county. Delaware, December 30, 1838. He graduated at Princeton University, 
with degree of A. M., and was admitted to Philadelphia Bar January 11, 1862, and 
has since practiced his profession in that city. He is a son of Gen. Samuel Boyer 
Davis, a distinguished officer of U. S. A. during the second war with Great Britain. 
Gen. Davis was born at Lewes, Delaware, December 25, 1765, and during his youth 
was a midshipman in the French Navy, was with the French fleet when it was de- 
feated by the English naval force, June i, 1794. During his absence abroad he 
married a French lady, and returning to America resided for a time in New Or- 
leans. Removing later to Delaware, he was at the outbreak of hostilities with the 
mother country, 1812, at Pilot Town, the site of the old Colonial fort, near Lewes, 
Delaware. He offered his services to the United States at the outbreak of the war, 
and served with distinction to its close.' He was commissioned Lieutenant Colonel 
of the Thirty-second United States Infantry, raised in Pennsylvania and Delaware, 
May 6, 1813. He was subsequently transferred to the command Forty-fourth 
Regiment, as Colonel, but resigned his commission and took up his residence in 
Wilmington, Delaware, from whence he removed to Philadelphia, where he resided 
a number of years, during a portion of which time he represented the city in Gen- 
eral Assembly of Pennsylvania. He again removed to Wilmington, Delaware, late 
in life, and his closing years were spent in that city, where he died September 6,. 
1874. 



978 HARE 

At the time of the bombardment of Lewes, Delaware, by the British fleet, under 
Commodore Beresford, Col. Samuel Boyer Davis was in command of the forces 
marshalled for the defence of the town and coast, and successfully repelled the 
attack. He is described as a man of imposing stature, six feet in height, of decid- 
edly fine appearance, courageous, and possessing qualities of discipline and intellect 
for the management of men. He was always fond of Lewes^ and after his retire- 
ment from public affairs, used often to make extended visits to the old town, 
occupying rooms in the hotel near the site of the old Colonial battery. Gen. Davis 
was always welcomed on his arrival there by a military salute fired by a company 
having headquarters at the old battery, and after he had grown feeble with age an 
iron rod was erected up the side of the stairway to his room on the second floor of 
the hotel to assist him in ascending, which still remains in its original position. 
His attachment to the section where most of his life was spent, and where his 
ancestors had resided for several generations, led to the peculiar name he gave his 
second son, Sussex Delaware Davis. 

The American progenitor of the family was Rev. Samuel Davis, a Presbyterian 
minister, who came from county Armagh, Ireland, and was called to the pastorate 
of the first Presbyterian Church built in Sussex county, at Lewes, about 1692. 

Col. Samuel Boyer Davis married Sally Jones, of a family that had originally 
settled in North Carolina, but located at Wilmington, Delaware, about 1750. 

Sussex Delaware Davis, was the second son of Col. Samuel B. and Sally 
(Jones) Davis, and was born at "Delamore Place,'' near Wilmington, Delaware, 
December 30, 1838. He first attended school at the academy of Rev. Samuel Gay- 
ley, near Wilmington; was later a pupil at St. Mary's College, a Roman CathoHc 
institution under the charge of Rev. Patrick Reilly, in Wilmington, and prepared 
for college under the tuition of \\"illiam R. McAdam, a well-known instructor of 
youth in Philadelphia. He entered the sophomore class of Princeton College, and 
graduated with honors, class of 1859. He studied law in the office of Hon. George 
W. Wharton, in Philadelphia, and was admitted to Philadelphia Bar, 1862. He 
was appointed by Hon. Salmon P. Chase, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of 
the United States, as register in bankruptcy for Philadelphia, and filled that posi- 
tion until the repeal of the bankruptcy. He was counsel for the Union Pacific 
Railroad Company at one time and has served as counsel in many important cor- 
poration cases involving large interests. He served a number of years as a school 
director from the Eighth \Ndx6. of Philadelphia, and has filled a number of other 
honorable positions. 

Mr. Davis is a member, and has been for a number of years, one of the gov- 
ernors of the Rittenhouse Club, and was, in 1871, a founder of the Junior Legal 
Club, now known as the Legal Club, of which he has been a number of years a 
member of the executive committee. He is a member of the vestry of St. Luke's 
Protestant Episcopal Church of Philadelphia, and a regular attendant. 
Issue of Sussex Delaware and Mary Fleeming (Hare) Davis: 

Samuel Boyer Davis, b. March 9, 1875; 
Caroline Hare Davis, of whom presently; 
Robert Hare Davis, b. Aug. 16, 1877, unm. (1907); 
Sussex Delaware Davis, Jr., d. inf. 

Caroline Hare Davis, second child of Sussex Delaware Davis, Esq., and his 



HARE 979 

wife Mary Fleeming Hare, was born in Philadelphia, July 20, 1876. She mar- 
ried, October 8, 1904, William Penn-Gaskell Hall, descendant of the Halls of 
Leventhorpe Hall, county York, England, seventh in descent from William Penn, 
founder of Pennsylvania, and fourth in descent from Peter Gaskell, of Innersly 
Hall, county Chester, England. 

Mr. and Mrs. William Penn-Gaskell Hall resided at 11 18 Spruce street, Phila- 
delphia. They have issue: 

Mary Fleeming Hare Hall, b. Dec. 30, 1905; 
William Penn-Gaskell Hall, Jr., b. Sept. 8, 1908. 

Harriet Hare, second daughter of Robert Harford Hare, by his wife, Caroline 
Fleeming, born in Newport, Rhode Island, July 23, 1847, married, June 25, 1873, 
George McClellan, M. D., of Philadelphia, where they reside. Mrs. McClellan is 
president of Chapter 2 of Colonial Dames of America; vice-president of Morris 
Refuge Association; founder of Francisvale Home for Dogs; life member of 
Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Children; member of City Park Association 
and of the Pennsylvania Forestry Association. She is a woman of fine literary 
taste, and author of three novels, "Cupid and the Sphinx," "A Carpet Knight" and 
"Broken Chords." 

Dr. George McClellan is a direct descendant of Gov. Bradford, of Plymouth 
Colony, and of Gen. Samuel McClellan, of Woodstock, Connecticut, a distinguish- 
ed soldier of the Revolutionary War. 

Dr. George McClellan, grandfather of the present Dr. McClellan, born at Wood- 
stock, Connecticut, December 22, 1796, received an academic education in his 
native town and entered Yale College, sophomore class, at the age of sixteen years. 
On his graduation he studied medicine, and in 1817 was a student under Dr. Dor- 
sey in Philadelphia. He received his medical degree in 1819, and began the prac- 
tice of his profession in Philadelphia, which continued for a period of thirty years. 
He was founder of Jefferson Medical College, 1825, and filled its chair of surgery 
until 1838. In 1839 he began a course of lectures in Philadelphia, and founded 
another Medical School, chartered as "The Medical Department of Pennsylvania 
College at Gettysburg" in which he was an instructor until its close 1843. Dr. 
McClellan died in Philadelphia May 8, 1847; he held high rank as a surgeon and 
physician, and was author of "Principles of Surgery," edited by his son. Dr. John 
Hill Brinton McClellan, after his decease. He married, September 14, 1820, EHz- 
abeth Brinton, by whom he had five children. Elizabeth Brinton was the daughter 
of John Hill Brinton, Esq., of Philadelphia Bar, by his wife, Sarah Steinmetz, and 
a descendant of William Brinton, of Nether Gournal, parish of Sedgeley, county 
Stafford, England, who came to Pennsylvania 1684, and settled Birmingham town- 
ship, Chester, now Delaware county. His second son was Major General George 
Brinton McClellan, of the U. S. A. 

Dr. John Hill Brinton McClellan, eldest son of Dr. George and Elizabeth 
(Brinton) McClellan, born in Philadelphia, August 13, 1823, entered University 
of Pennsylvania 1837, and graduated with degree of A. B., later receiving degree- 
of Master of Arts. He entered the Medical Department of the University and 
received degree of Doctor of Medicine there 1844. He was surgeon to St. Joseph's- 
Hospital 1850-62 ; filled the same position at Wills Eye Hospital ; was made Pro- 



98o HARE 

fessor of Surgery at the Pennsylvania College 1855; became Fellow of College. of 
Physicians, Philadelphia, 1849; was a member of Academy of Natural Sciences 
1847-74; member of Philadelphia County ^Medical Society and American ^Medical 
Association from 1849. He was acting assistant surgeon of the United States 
Army 1861-5, stationed at the Militarj' Hospitals on South street, Philadelphia, at 
Mowers, \'irginia, and at Chestnut Hill. 

He edited "Principles and Practice of Surgery," written by his father, Dr. John 
Hill Brinton McClellan, died at Edinburg, Scotland, July 20, 1874. He married 
Maria, daughter of Oliver Eldridge, of Boston, Massachusetts. 

Dr. George McClellan, first above mentioned, born in Philadelphia, October 
29, 1849, was a son of Dr. John Hill and Maria (Eldridge) McClellan. He enter- 
ed University of Pennsylvania 1865, and left at close of his junior year. He grad- 
uated at Jefferson Medical College in 1870, and has since practiced his profession 
in that city. He was surgeon to Philadelphia and Howard Hospitals ; Lecturer on 
Anatomy and Surgery at the Pennsylvania School of Anatomy for twelve years; 
Lecturer on Anatomy at Academy of Fine Arts, Philadelphia, 1890 to date; Fel- 
low of College of Physicians since 1873; member of Philadelphia County, Penn- 
sylvania State, and National Medical Associations, and author of "Regional Anat- 
omy in its Relation to Medicine and Surgery,'" "Anatomy in its Relation to Art," 
and numerous essays on medical subjects. He is Professor of Applied Anatomy 
at Jefferson Medical College, and is president of the Medical Qub, and of the 
Contemporary Club ; vice-president of the Philobiblion Club, and member of the 
University Club. He married, as before stated, 1873, Harriet Hare. 



VAN RENSSELAER FAMILY. 

The Van Rensselaer family, representatives of which have in later years become 
residents of and indentified with the social and business life of Philadelphia, was 
the first of the early Dutch Colonial families to acquire a great landed estate in 
America under the "Patroon" system, and among the first, after the conquest of 
the Dutch by the English, to have their possessions erected into a "Manor," and 
was a family of much antiquity in Holland. The family, which is traced four gen- 
erations back of Kiliaen Van Rennsselaer, the first Dutch Patroon in America, 
were early seized of, and derived their family name from Rensselaer Manor, three 
miles southeast of Nykerk, in Guelderland, originally a Reddergoed, a possession 
carrying with it a title to nobility. Here the family became quite numerous ; there 
is scarcely a church in Guelderland that does not have tombstones or memorials to 
dead and gone Van Rensselaers, many of them inscribed with the arms of the 
family. In the Orphan Asylum at Nykerk, established in 1638, is still preserved a 
picture representing the founders and first regents of the institution among whom 
was Jonkheer Jan Van Rensselaer, attired in the dress of the Dutch nobility of that 
day, and above his head is engraved the family arms. Gules, a cross moline argent ; 
with crest, an iron basket out of which issue flames or, above a closed knight's hel- 
met. 

The ancestral line of the American family so far as traced is as follows : 

Hendrick Woltees Van Rensselaer, married Sivone Van Indyck, of Hemeg- 
seet, and had two sons, Johannes Hendrick and Wolter Hendrick ; and three 
daughters, Guertruv, married the Advocate Swaaskn ; Anna, married By- 
gimp ; and Betye, married Nogger. 

Johannes Hendrick Van Rensselaer, eldest son, married Derykebia Van 
Luxoel, and had two sons, Kiliaen and Wolter Jans. 

Kiliaen Van Rensselaer, married Nelltje Van Vrenoken, and had three sons, 
Hendrick, Claes, Johannes, and one daughter, Engeltje, married Gerris William 
Patten. 

Hendrick Kiliaen Van Rensselaer, was a Captain in the Dutch army and was 
killed at the siege of Ostend, June 9, 1602 ; his brother, Johannes, who held the 
same rank, was killed February 7, 1601, and a monument to their memory is erect- 
ed in the Protestant Church at Nykerk. The family was long prominent in the 
civil aiifairs of Holland, many of the name serving as burgomasters, treasurers, etc., 
in different towns in Guelderland. 

Kiliaen Van Rensselaer, first American Patroon, was the only son of Capt. 
Hendrick Van Rensselaer, who married Maria Paraat, and had beside Kiliaen, a 
•daughter, Maria, who married Rykert Van Twiller. Kiliaen Van Rensselaer was 
born in Guelderland, Holland, near Nykerk, about 1595, and was therefore but 
seven years of age at the death of his father. He was carefully educated, and suc- 
ceeding to the titles and estates of the family took a position of great influence in 
the councils of his native country, arriving at his majority at the most critical 
period in the history of the United Provinces, when the truce with Spain was just 
•drawing to a close, and the question of vital importance, whether the war for 



982 VAN RENSSELAER 

absolute independence should be resumed, must be determined. He engaged in the 
pearl and diamond trade in Amsterdam, and became one of the wealthiest citizens 
of that city, "at a time when the merchants of Holland like those of Italy had be- 
come the princes of the land." 

Kiliaen Van Rensselaer was one of the organizers of the Dutch West India 
Company, chartered in July, 1621, with a capital of seven million florins, that 
famous and powerful auxiliary of the government of the Netherlands in the gigan- 
tic contest against Spain and for national supremacy. The object, as stated in the 
grant, was, "to establish an efficient and aggressive Atlantic maritime power in 
the struggle with Spain" and to colonize, develop and rule the Dutch American de- 
pendencies, of which the country discovered by Capt. Henry Hudson, 1609, known 
as "New Netherlands" and comprising the present states of New York and New 
Jersey, was among the most important. It was granted exclusive authority and 
trade privileges in the Dutch possessions of North and South America, as also on 
the coast of Africa from the Tropic of Cancer to Cape of Good Hope. The 
affairs of the company were administered by a directorate known as the "Assem- 
bly of the XIX," from the membership of which an Executive Board was selected 
to arrange and transact the concerns of New Netherlands, and Kiliaen Van Rens- 
selaer was a member of both these controlling bodies. He was from its organiza- 
tion one of its mainstays and his name is conspicuously identified with all its meas- 
ures and policies, especially the original settlement of Manhattan Island in 1623. 
He placed at the disposal of the company several of his vessels and twice advanced 
large sums of money to save its credit. He had a principal part in the adoption, 
1629, of the plan of "Freedom and Exemptions," devised to encourage emigration 
to the New Netherlands. It gave to each member of the company the right to 
select lands in the province and erect them into a Patroonship, under his own ex- 
clusive personal proprietorship and govermental authority, with the right to for- 
ever possess and enjoy all the lands lying within the limits specified, "together with 
the fruits, rights, minerals, rivers and fountains thereof, fishing, fowling and 
grinding, to the exclusion of all others, as also chief command of and lower juris- 
diction thereover, to be holden from the Company as a perpetual inheritance;" 
provided that he satisfy the natives for the land taken, and transport thereto fifty 
souls and upwards of fifteen years of age and upwards, before the expiration of 
the fourth year after the grant ; one-fourth at least to be transported during the 
first year. 

Kiliaen Van Rensselaer, as the active promotor of the scheme of "Freedom and 
Exemptions," took prompt action to avail himself personally of its privileges. He 
employed Sebatiaen Jansen Cool, an officer of the Dutch West India Company in 
command of Fort Orange, now Albany, New York, to purchase lands of the 
Indians, and in 1630 he secured all the land on the west side of the Hudson from 
twelve miles south of Albany to the mouth of the ^lohawk river and stretching 
back "two days' Journey into the interior ;" which was erected into the patroon- 
ship of "Rensselaerwyck," confirmed to Van Rensselaer, January 8, 1631, by the 
"Assembly of XIX." Later purchases included a tract of about the same dimen- 
sions on the east side of the Hudson, south of Albany and "far into the wilder- 
ness," the two purchases embracing practically all of the counties of Albany and 
Rensselaer, and extending far into the present limits of Massachusetts. Subse- 
quent purchases included Schenectady, Columbia and part of Greene counties The 



VAN RENSSELAER 983 

total, exceeding 700,000 acres, was erected into three patroonships, Rensselaer- 
wyck, Pavonia, and Swaanendael, the last two eventually reverting to the West 
Inaia Company. 

Rensselaerwyck, the greater part of which remained in the exclusive owner- 
ship and possession of the Van Rensselaer family for over two centuries, was at 
once placed by its proprietor, Kiliaen Van Rensselaer, on the basis of a fully ac- 
quired estate, and he took active measures for its development, settlement and 
improvement. Comfortable houses and ample barns were erected for his tenants, 
near Fort Orange; agricultural implements were provided; saw and grain mills 
erected and his stores supplied with goods suitable to meet the wants of the colon- 
ists. He manned the post with his own soldiers, and his own flag flew from its 
staff. The colonists took the oath of allegiance to him, and justice was administer- 
ed in his own name. 

It is not known that Kiliaen Van Rensselaer ever visited Rensselaerwyck, al- 
though tradition says that he paid it a brief visit in 1637. The affairs of the 
colony were managed by capable men as vice-directors, the first of whom was 

Arendt Van Corlaer, a capable and accomplished man, and the last, Schlich- 

tenhorst, whose daughter, Margaretta, became the wife of Philip Peters Schuyler. 
Other vice-directors were Dr. Adriaen Van der Donck, the first lawyer in New 
Netherlands, subsequently patroon of "Colon Donck," later Phillpse Manor; and 
Dominie Megapolensis, the most accomplished of the early Dutch divines. Kiliaen 
Van Rensselaer died in Holland in 1646. He married (first) Hillegonda Van 
Bylaer, and (second) Anna, daughter of Johannes Van Wely, and his wife, 
Leentje Hackens. 

All his sons except Johannes, the eldest, were by the second wife. He had, how- 
ever, in all eleven children; three daughters by the first wife died without issue; 
Susanna, another daughter, married Jan de la Court and died in Holland; Jean 
Baptiste and Jeremias, the two eldest sons of the second marriage, were succes- 
sively patroons of Rensselaerwyck, the latter being the first of the family to settle 
permanently in America, coming over in 1658 to succeed his brother, Jean Baptiste, 
who had returned to Holland and become a leading merchant in Amsterdam. Rev. 
Nicholas Van Rensselaer, fourth son, born in Holland, 1638, was liberally educated 
and after taking his degree in theology went to England as chaplain to the Dutch 
embassy there. He came to America in 1674, with letters from the Duke of York, 
and succeeded his brother Jeremias, who had died at Rensselaerwyck, October 12, 
1674, as head of the family at the Manor. He died at Albany, in November, 1678. 
He married, February 10, 1675, Alyda, daughter of Philip Peters Schuyler, by his 
wife, Margaretta Van Schlichtenhorst, but left no issue. She married (second) 
Robert Livingston, grantee of Livingston Manor. Rycker, fifth son, came over 
with his brother, Jean Baptiste, 1651, a mere child, and was many years a magis- 
trate at Albany, later returned to Holland and died there in 1695. The other chil- 
dren were Wolters, who remained in Holland, and Elizabeth, married Jan Van 
Rensselaer, of the Holland branch of the family. 

Johannes Van Rensselaer, eldest son of the first patroon, under the laws of 
Holland was recognized as the head of the family, but the estate descended to all 
the children jointly. He did not come to America; the management of Rensselaer- 
wyck continuing under the vice-directorship of Van Corlaer and Van Schichten- 



984 VAN RENSSELAER 

horst, until the latter was succeeded by Jean Baptist Van Rensselaer, May 8, 1652, 
the latter being the first of the family to assume the directorship, coming over for 
that purpose in 1651, and bringing with him his brother, Rycker, a mere child. 
Johannes Van Rensselaer died in Holland in early manhood. He married Eliza- 
beth Van Twiller and had two children, Kiliaen, the first Lord of the Manor of 
Rensselaer wyck, and Nella, married Johan de Swardt. 

Under Dutch rule the colony was a distinct one, not in any manner subject to 
the political control or jurisdiction of the general administration of New Nether- 
lands. When converted into an English Colony, in 1664, it was erected into a 
Manor with no material abridgement of its rights and privileges; the manor or 
lordship being set aside as a separate political entity' with powers and privileges of 
police power, appointment of necessary officials, and the control and the adminis- 
tration of justice, and right of sending a special deputy to the General Assembly 
of the Province. The latter position was invariably filled by the head of the fam- 
ily, the first being Jeremias Van Rensselaer, the third patroon, who represented the 
family and colony in the Assembly from 1664 to his death in 1674. It was this 
Jeremias who was the ancestor of the later line of the Lords of the ]\Ianor of 
Rensselaerwyck and of the American family of the name. He was born in Hol- 
land, 1632, and received a liberal education. He came to America to assume the 
directorship of Rensselaerwyck, filling that position, and that of the nominal head 
of the family in America for sixteen years. The Colony had greatly improved and 
flourished under the wise directorship of Van Corlaer and Van Schlichtenhorst, 
and nowise suffered under the able administration of the first resident director of 
the family. He was a man of probity and ability and was devoted to the best inter- 
ests of the colony. He left a numerous correspondence under the title of "New 
Netherland Mercury," that constitutes a valuable contribution to the history of the 
province. He married, July 12, 1662, Maria, sister to Stephanus Van Cortlandt, 
the founder of Cortlandt ]\Ianor. She was born in 1645, died January 29, 1689. 

Jeremias was succeeded by his nephew, Kiliaen Van Rensselaer, only son of 
Johannes, by Elizabeth Van Twiller. He died at Watervliet, New York, 1687. 
He married his cousin, Anna Van Rensselaer, daughter of his uncle and prede- 
cessor, Jeremias, but had no issue. 

Kiliaen V.\n Rensselaer, second Lord of the Manor, eldest son of Jeremias 
and Maria (Van Cortlandt) Van Rensselaer, born at Rensselaerwyck, August 24, 
1663, became the head of the family on the death of his cousin and brother-in-law 
of the same name in 1687. He received a new patent for the Manor, in his own 
name, May 20, 1704, from Queen Anne, but released to his brother Hendrick, 
Claverack ]\Ianor, 60,000 acres in Columbia county, which with other lands then 
vested in the younger branch of the family, descendants of Hendrick. He also 
settled large tracts of land on his sister, wife of Peter Schuyler. 

Kilaen Van Rensselaer was constantly in public life from 1691 to 1719, serving 
as a member of the General Assembly from 1691 to 1703, when he was elevated to 
the Governor's Council of which he was a member until his death in 1719. He 
was also for many years Commissioner of Indian Affairs. In this connection it 
might be remarked that the attitude of the Van Rensselaer family towards the 
Aborigines was always a conciliatory, friendly and just one, and, while other 
colonies and settlements suffered depredations from hostile savages, Rensselaer- 
wyck was always free from their ravages. Kiliaen Van Rensellaer married, Octo- 



VAN RENSSELAER 985 

ber 15, 1701, Maria, his cousin, daughter of Stephanus and Gertrude (Schuyler) 
Van Cortlandt, of Van Contlandt Manor, by whom he had four sons and four 
daughters. The eldest son, Jeremias, succeeded him as the head of the family, 
but died unmarried in 1745, and was succeeded by the second son, 

Stephen Van Rensselaer^ fourth Lord of the Manor of Rensselaerwyck, was 
born March 23, 1707. He was delicate and took little or no part in pubhc affairs, 
but held the family position of Provincial Commissioner of Indian Affairs until 
his death in June, 1747. He married, July 5, 1729, Elizabeth Groesbeck, who died 
December 31, 1756. They had seven children, several of whom died in infancy. 
He was succeeded by 

Stephen Van Rensselaer, II., sixth child, fifth Lord of the Manor, bom 
June 2, 1742. His father died when he was five years of age, and the affairs of 
the Manor and estate were administered by his brother-in-law, Abraham Ten 
Broeck, who had married his elder sister, Elizabeth, and was for several years the 
family representative in the General Assembly. 

Stephen II., built the manor house in 1765. He died in 1769, at the early age of 
thirty-seven years. He married, January, 1764, Catharine, daughter of Philip 
Livingston, signer of the Declaration of Independence, by his wife, Christina Ten 
Broeck. She married (second) Elisrdus Westerlo. Stephen II., had three chil- 
dren — Stephen III., Philip Schuyler Van Rensselaer and Elizabeth, married John 
Bradstreet Schuyler, son of Gen. Philip Schuyler. 

Stephen Van Rensselaer, III., sixth and last Lord of the Manor of Rensse- 
laerwyck, was born in the city of New York, November i, 1764. He graduated 
at Harvard, 1782, and assumed the direction of the great estate, adopting a policy 
of energetic improvement of the vast landed estate of the family of which he was 
the eldest male representative, and though the law of primogenture had been 
abrogated a half century before his birth, was the real head of the family and the 
holder of its lands and wealth. He greatly reduced the rents of the lands and en- 
couraged the material development of the landed estate. He entered political life 
in 1789 as a member of Assembly, and served in that body until 1791, when he was 
elected to the State Senate, in which he served until 1796; was elected Lieutenant 
Governor in 1795, and filled that position until 1798, and was a candidate for Gov- 
ernor in 1801, and again a member of Assembly 1808-19. He was one of the first 
advocates of the erection of the Erie canal, from the Hudson river to the Great 
lakes, and in 1810 was appointed commissioner to view the route, and made a 
tour of inspection, the result of which he submitted in 181 1. The second war with 
Great Britain delayed further action, and he entered the military service. He had 
been commissioned Major of Infantry in the New York Militia in 1786; became 
Colonel in 1788 and Major General in 1801. At the outbreak of hostilities in 1812, 
he was appointed to the command of the United States forces in New York with 
the rank of Major-General and fought the battle of Queenstown Heights, October 
13, 1812. He soon after resigned the command and took no further part in the war. 
On the return of peace he resumed the agitation in favor of the Erie canal, and the 
first ground was broken for its construction on the nation's birthday, 1817. Stephen 
Van Rensselaer was again elected to the Assembly in 1818; was a member of the 
Constitutional Convention of 1821 ; was a member of the national House of Repre- 
sentatives 1823-29; and filled various other positions of honor and dignity. He 
was regent and chancellor of New York State University; president of the State 



986 VAN RENSSELAER 

Agriculture Society ; first president of Albany Savings Bank, incorporated in 1820, 
the second oldest institution of its kind in the country. 

Stephen Van Rensselaer received the degree of LL. D. from Yale University 
in 1825. In 1824 he founded the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute at Troy, New 
York, the first of its character in the United States, liberally endowing it, and sus- 
taining it at his own expense for fourteen years. He was the last of the family to 
retain Rensselaerwyck in its entirety. He was a liberal proprietor and persistently 
refused to sell the lands, devising the major portion of them to his two eldest sons, 
Stephen IV., and WilHam P. He was known as the "Old Patroon," while his 
eldest son and principal successor was known as the "Young Patroon." He died 
at the Manor House, January 26, 1839, in his seventy-fifth year. He married, 
1783, Marguerite, daughter of Gen. Philip Schuyler, by his wife, Catharine Van 
Rensselaer, born 1758, died 1801. He married (second) May 17, 1802, Corneha, 
daughter of Hon. William Patterson, Justice of the United States Supreme Court, 
by his wife, Corneha Bell; she was born in 1780, and died in 1844. By his first 
wife he had three children, the two eldest of whom died in infancy; the third was 
Stephen Van Rensselaer IV., his father's principal successor at Rensselaerwyck. 
By the second marriage he had eight children, the seventh of whom was 

Rev. Cortlandt Van Rensselaer, D. D., born at the Manor House, May 26, 
1808. He graduated at Yale in 1827 ; studied law and was admitted to the New 
York Bar, 1830. Concluding to engage in the gospel ministry he entered Union 
Theological Seminary, and in 1837 became pastor of the Presbyterian Church at 
Burlington, New Jersey. He resigned this charge three years later, and for the 
next two or three years resided in Washington, D. C, having pastoral charge of 
two Presbyterian churches. In 1843 he accepted the invitation of the Board of 
Directors of Princeton Theological Seminary to undertake the task of securing an 
endowment fund for the seminary ; starting the subscription by a personal contri- 
bution of $2,000, he secured the desired sum of $100,000. 

From 1847 to his death at Burlington, New Jersey, July 25, i860, he was corre- 
sponding secretary and principal executive officer of the Presbyterian Board of 
Education. He introduced new methods of administration, and extended the 
scope of educational work of the church ; founded and edited The Presbyterian 
Magazine and The Home, the School and Church. He received the degree of 
Doctor of Divinity from the University of New York in 1845. He was one of the 
most conspicuous men in the Presbyterian church, and his life was distinguished 
by ceaseless energy, zeal, sincere piety, and great practical usefulness. Selections 
from his writings were published in 1861, under the title of "Sermons and Ad- 
dresses," including an address delivered by him at the centennial celebration of 
the battle of Lake George. He delivered many funeral and memorial orations 
and wrote much on the question of education. He married, September 13, 1836, 
Catharine Ledyard, daughter of Dr. Mason Fitch and Mary Austin (Ledyard) 
Cogswell, of Hartford, Connecticut, where she was born September 22, 181 1. Her 
father was descended from the Cogswell family which came to New England from 
county Wilts, England, and his mother, Alice Fitch, belonged to the famous Fitch 
family of Connecticut. Mrs. Van Rensselaer's mother, Mary Austin Ledyard was 
a granddaughter of John Ledyard, who came from England in 1700. 




C in/M.a^ dJ- icu^ ^eAAJftctaa^ 




e. 



'^/>i'ia'e- 



cz>^^.^e-^::i^-t^^-t2^-e^ (V-tJ-^ ti'&tf'^^^^^ 



VAN RENSSELAER 9«7 

Issue of Rev. Cortlandt and Catharine Ledyard (Cogswell) Van Rensselaer: 

Capt. Cortlandt Van Rensselaer, b. Jan. s, 1838; Capt. 13th Inf., U. S. A., and served 
with distinction during the Civil War; d. at Nashville, Tenn., Oct. 7, 1864, from effect 
of wounds received in the battle of Missionary Ridge; 

Philip Livingston Van Rensselaer, b. Nov. 24, 1839; was Major of 2nd New Jersey 
Cavalry during the Civil War; d. at Vevey, Switzerland, March 10, 1873; m. Anne 
Whitmore, of Boston; no issue; 

Charles Chauncey Van Rensselaer, b. Jan., 1842, d. 1843; 

Ledyard Van Rensselaer, b. Nov. 20, 1843; physician at BurHngton, N. J.; d. March 
26, 1893; 

Alice Cogswell Van Rensselaer, b. March 19, 1846, d. April 18, 1878; m., May 7, 1868, 
Rev. Edward B. Hodge, of Phila., where they resided, son of Hugh Hodge, M. D., 
LL. D.; 

Elizabeth Van Rensselaer, b. Feb. 22, 1848, d. April 17, 1886; m., Oct. 6, 1868, Gen. Ed- 
ward Burd Grubb, of Edgewater Park, N. J.; 

Alexander Van Rensselaer, b. Oct. i, 1850; graduated at Princeton University, class 
of 1871 ; is a well-known citizen of Phila.; m., Jan. 27, 1898, Mrs. Sarah (Drexel) Fell, 
daughter of Anthony Joseph Drexel, of the well-known financial house of Drexel & 
Companv. by his wife, Ellen Rozet, and widow of John Ruckman Fell, of Phila. and 
Camp Hill, Pa. 



WETHERILL FAMILY. 

The Wetherill family, long identified with the business and social life of Phila- 
delphia, was founded in America by Christopher Wetherill, of Sherbourne, county 
York, England, who came to New Jersey in 1683 and settled at Burlington, was 
one of the Proprietors of West Jersey, Sheriff of Burlington county, etc. 

The Wetherill family is an ancient one in the north of England, the name being 
variously spelled Weatherill, Weatheral, Wedderelt, Wethereld, and originally 
doubtless Witherhold. A John Witherhold was bailiff of Newcastle-on-Tyne, 
A. D., 1259. The family derived its name from the place where we first find it 
settled, "Wetherhold," later Wetherall, near Carlisle, in county of Cumberland, 
near the Scotch border. The name originating from a "hold" or keep to which 
cattle and sheep were driven for safety during the times of border raids and 
Scotch invasion. 

Gyles Weatherill, "of Stockton-upon-Tease," county Durham, whose will 
dated July 12, 1604, is entered on the Durham Registry, was the great-grandfather 
of Christopher Wetherill, New Jersey emigrant of 1683, and the earliest lineal 
ancestor of the Philadelphia family of whom we have any definite record. Gyles 
Weatherill devises to his son, Rowland Weatherill, "the land that I bought in 
Newbye in the Countye of Yorke," and "all the house or Burgage wherein I 
dwell ;" to "my sonn Christopher Weatherill All that my Burgage wherein my sonn 
Rowland dwelleth to hold unto the said Cristofer & to his heirs, for evr," and also 
a leasehold after the death of the testator's wife. The remainder of his estate is 
given to his wife, sons-in-law, Anthony Fleetham and George Burdon, and sons 
Christofer, Bryan and Gyles. 

A grandson, Gyles Wetherell, son of Rowland, was Mayor of Stockton, 1619-20,. 
and married Anne, daughter of Henry Marwood, Esq., and sister to Sir George 
Marwood, Baronet, of Little Bushby, county York, of an old family among the 
landowners in Yorkshire, descended from the Mallorys of Studely in that county, 
from the Scropes, and through the Baron Fitz-Hugh and Lord Willoughby 
d'Eresby from the Hollands, Earls of Kent, the founder of which family. Sir 
Thomas Holland, married Joan Plantagenet, "The Fair Maid of Kent," grand- 
daughter of Edward I., who after the Earl's death married her cousin, Edward, 
the "Black Prince." 

Burke's "History of the Landed Gentry" refers to this family of Wetherell as 
long settled in the county of Durham and the North Riding of Yorkshire, and de- 
scribes the arms born by the family as "Argent, two lions passant, guardant, sable, 
on a chief indented of the last, three covered cups, or." This same coat-of-arms 
was brought to America by Christopher Wetherill and has been used by his de- 
scendants in America ever since his emigration. They are almost exactly similar 
to the arms registered for Sir James Wetherall, of Kelfield, in county of York, in' 
Herald's Visitation to the County of York, A. D., 1584; as also to those returned 
to the Herald by Richard Wetherall, of city of Lincoln, Alderman, Justice, etc., in 
the Herald's Visitation to Lincolnshire, A. D., 1666, Richard being then sixty-four 
years of age, a son of Richard and grandson of John Wetherall, of Ascrigge in 
Wainesdale, county York. 



WETHERILL 989 

Christopher Weatherell, of Stockton-on-Tees, county Durham, son of Gyles 
above mentioned, who died in 1604, married Mary, daughter of John Watson, of 
Newcastle-on-Tyne, merchant, who in 1587 purchased an estate at Little Kepyer, 
near Crawcroke, county Durham, and died there in 1612, by his wife, Barbara De 
la Val, of the family of Seaton de la Val, one of the oldest families of Norman 
descent in Northumberland, bearing arms, "Ermine two bars Vert" with many 
quarterings. John Watson, Sr., grandfather of Mary (Watson) Wetherell, was 
Sheriff of Newcastle-on-Tyne, 1657; and Mayor of that town, 1574-5; and her 
brother, Thomas Watson, was Mayor of Stockton-on-Tees, 1623, and six other 
years, the last A. D., 1656. The arms of the Watson family were, "Argent, on a 
chevron engrailed, Azure, between three martlets. Sable ; as many crescents Or." 

Christopher Weatherell was buried in the Parish Church, of Stockton, May 25, 
1622. His will dated May 24, 1622, devises "unto Thomas Watherell eldest sonne 
& to his heires my burgage on the east syde of the Boroughe of Stockton, with th 
appurtinances" and a leasehold ; to his second son, Bryan Wetherall, a burgage 
&c., on the West side of of the "Boroughe of Stockton," and unto his son, Robert 
Wetherall, his interest in a "Tenement farme & tithe of corne wch I hold at Whorl- 
ton in the County of York." Gives legacies to his wife Mary; his daughter, EHza- 
beth Wetherall ; to Gyles Wetherell, son of his brother Rowland ; Margaret, daugh- 
ter of Rowland; Rowland and Alice, son and daughter of his brother-in-law, 
Henry Burdon ; and Anthony and Margaret Fleetham, children of his sister Mar- 
garet. 

Thomas Wetherell, of the town and county of Newcastle-on-Tyne, eldest son 
of Christopher and Mary (Watson) Weatherell, was a minor in 1624, and was 
buried December 28, 1672. He was twice married, the name of his first wife and 
the mother of his children is unknown to his descendants in America. He mar- 
ried (second) September 12, 1658, Jane Heighington, of All Saints Parish, New- 
castle, widow, who survived him and was buried October i, 1677. 

The will of "Thomas Wetherell of the towne and Countie of Newcastle upon 
Tyne, Merchant," is dated December 23, 1672, and was probated January, 1672-3. 
It devises a messuage, burgage or tenement and three shops in the town of New- 
castle, "in a streate or place called Alhallows Banck" and two shops "upon the 
Tine bridge neare unto the Irongate upon the said Bridge unto my sonn Christo- 
pher Wetherell and the heires of his bodie," and in default of issue to his 
daughters, Mary and Margery Wetherell, to whom he devises other real estate, 
and names his wife Jane and daughter Margery as executrixes. The will of his 
widow, Jane Wetherell, dated October 11, 1676, and probated in 1678, gives 
legacies to her daughters: Jane, wife of Thomas Aubone, mariner, and Margary 
Wetherell; daughter-in-law (step-daughter), Mary Cowle; son-in-law (step-son), 
Christopher Wetherell, and his son Thomas; cousin, Thomas Watson, son of a 
cousin, Thomas Watson, deceased, and grandchildren, William and Elizabeth Au- 
bone. A codicil dated September 20, 1677, mentions granddaughters, Martha and 
Mary Aubone. 

Christopher Wetherell, the legatee mentioned in the above will, was the 
New Jersey immigrant of 1683. He married, February 7, 1672, Mary Hornby, of 
York, but from Hull, who died in 1680. He was living at the time of his marriage 
at Sherburne, county of York, and continued to reside there until his emigration 
to New Jersey, 1683, then producing a certificate at the Friends' Meeting at Bur- 



990 WETHERILL 

lington, from the Monthly Meeting at York, dated 6mo. (August) 2, 1683, as 
"Christopher Wetherell, late of Sherburne, County of Yorke, Widower." This 
certificate included his children, Thomas, Phebe and John. The Parish records of 
Stockton show the baptism of Robert, son of Thomas Wetherell, October 18, 
1640; while those of All Saints, Newcastle, show the baptism of Mary, November 
14, 1641; Thomas, September 17, 1643; Grace, February 11, 1647; and Marjorie, 
July 7, 1659; as well as the burial of Grace, July 29, 1649; the sons, Robert and 
Thomas, probably also died in infancy as neither are mentioned in the wills of 
their father or step-mother. Christopher Wetherell, emigrant, is thought to have 
been the youngest of the children of the first marriage. At what date Christopher 
Wetherill became a member of the Society of Friends does not appear, but it was 
prior to 1661, in which year his name appears among a list of Friends in Yorkshire 
who were committed to Beverly Gaol for attending religious meetings at the house 
of Thomas Hutchinson, "and because they would not promise to refrain from so 
meeting in the future." 

Christopher Wetherill purchased after his removal to the Providence of New 
Jersey, at different periods, three one-thirty-seconds of a share and one one-twelfth 
of a share of the lands of West Jersey, besides several separate tracts in Burling- 
ton county and numerous lots in the town of Burlington. He was one of the mem- 
bers of the Proprietary Council of the Province 1706-7, also filling the office of 
Sheriff of Burlington county, 1700, and probably held other official positions. 

On i2mo. (February) 9, 1686-7, Christopher Wetherill appeared before Bur- 
lington Monthly Meeting of Friends, and proposed his intentions of marriage 
with Mary Fothergill, and they were married on 2mo. (April) 8, 1687, at the house 
of William Hayhurst, Neshaminy, Bucks county, Pennsylvania; the residence of 
Mary Fothergill, being given as "Neshaminy," the original name of Middletown 
Meeting. 

On 9mo. (November) 10, 1690, Christopher Wetherill and Elizabeth Pope de- 
clared their intentions of marriage before Burlington Monthly Meeting, the second 
time, and were granted permission to proceed with their marriage. He married 
a fourth time, 1705, Mary Whitton, their intentions being declared the second 
time, 8mo. (October) i, 1705. He also survived her. 

Christopher Wetherill resided for a number of years in the town of Burlington, 
where he owned a great number of town lots ; in addition to such as were laid out 
to him in right of the different surveys of land elsewhere, he had purchased the 
lots appertaining to surveys to other persons. He later removed to his plantation 
in Mansfield township, Burlington county, where he died March 25, 171 1. His 
unsigned will was proved April 6, 171 1, upon the testimony of Isaac De Cow, that 
it "Wass Taken in Wrighting from the tstator's mouth March ye 28th, last, ye very 
Substance of all Devise Butt Nott in forme." It devises to his son, John Wetherill, 
the money paid to redeem land for him on Tanner's Run in the town bounds of 
Burlington and a further monetary legacy, conditioned that he release to his 
brother, Thomas Wetherill, all claim, &c., to the lands ; to Thomas and Phebe 
Scattergood, and their sons, Samuel and Christopher, and daughter Elizabeth are 
devised certain lands and other estate, and unto his son, Thomas Wetherill, 
"Whome I likewise Constitute make and ordaine my onely and sole executor all the 
Remainder of my Estate both Reall and personall be what it will or where it will, to. 
him his heires and assigns for ever." 



WETHERILL 991 

The only children of Christopher Wetherill were by his first wife, Mary Hornby, 
who died in England, 1680, there being no issue by the three American wives. 
Issue of Christopher and Mary (Hornby) Wetherill: 

Phebe Wetherill, b., Sherburne, county York, England, Nov. 27, 1672, d. in N. J., March 
19, 1744-5; ™-> Dec. 17, 1694, Thomas Scattergood, and had issue; 

Thomas Wetherili,, b., Sherburne, Nov. 3, 1674, d. 1758; of whom presently; 

John Wetherill, b., Sherburne, county York, England, 1677, d., Mannington township, 
Salem county, N. J., 1728; m. (first), June 3, 1700, Sarah Borradail, (second) Anne 
, who survived him; 

Samuel Wetherill, b., Sherburne, 1680, d. inf. 

Thomas Wetherill, eldest son of Christopher and Mary (Hornby) Wetherill, 
born at Sherburne, county York, England, November 3, 1674, accompanied his 
father to "New Jersey in 1683, and inheriting the greater part of his father's lands 
there was a large landholder and prominent citizen of Burlington county. He 
married, 4mo. (June) 22, 1703, Anne Fearon, "late of England, but now of Bur- 
lington County," Province of New Jersey ; the ceremony taking place at the Meet- 
ing House at Chesterfield. She was a da,ughter of John Fearon, and Elizabeth, his 
wife, of Great Broughton, county Cumberland, England. Peter Fearon, brother 
-of Anne, produced a certificate at Burlington Meeting, March 21, 1703, from the 
Monthly Meeting at Pardsey Cragg, Cumberland. 

The will of Thomas Wetherill, of city of Burlington, Province of New Jersey, 
Yeoman, dated September 7, 1748, and a codicil dated October i, 1758, was pro- 
bated September 16, 1759. It devises to each of his sons, Christopher, Thomas 
•and Samuel, and his daughters, Mary Crispin, Elizabeth Johnson, and Ann Moore, 
and his wife Anne, lots in Burlington, and to the sons large tracts of land in the 
■Great Swamp, Amwell township, Hunterdon county, and other parts of New Jer- 
sey, and gives legacies to his grandchildren, Thomas and Abigail Bishop, children 
of his daughter Ann, by her former husband, Peter Bishop. 
Issue of Thomas and Anne (Fearon) Wetherill: 

Mary Wetherill, b. Oct. 22, 1704; d. 1790; m., 1724, Silas Crispin, son of Silas Crispin, by 
his second wife, Mary (Stockton) Shinn, and an account of her descendants is given 
in our account of the Crispin Family; 
Elizabeth Wetherill, b. Oct. 11, 1705; m. (first) Thomas Earl, (second) Joseph Johnson, 

but left no issue; 
Ann Wetherill, b. Aug. 29, 1707; m. (first), Nov. 15, 1731, Peter Bishop, (second) James 

Moore ; 
Christopher Wetherill^ b. Feb. 26, 1710-11, d. 1786; m. Mary Stockton; of whom 

presently; 
Thomas Wetherill, b. May 16, 1712; m., May 16, 1744, Katharine Sykes, but left no issue; 
Joseph Wetherill, b. March 31, 1715, d. in childhood, or at least before his father; unm. 

and without issue; 
Samuel Wetherill, b. Aug. 8, 1718, d. Oct. 30, 1789; m.. May 19, 1743, Mary Noble, who 
d. Sept. 21, 1779; they had six children, two of whom — Mary and Joseph — married and 
left issue : 

Mary Wetherill b. May 17, 1745, d. at the residence of her son-in-law, Ebenezer 
Eevick, in Phila., Dec. 11, 1829; she married at Burlington Meeting, Nov. 26, 
1778, Isaac Jones, of Phila., "house carpenter," son of James and Hannah 
(Hayes) Jones, of Blockley, and they had issue: Samuel Wetherill Jones, 
Mary Noble Jones, m. Stephen W. Smith, and Elizabeth Wetherill Jones, m. 
Ebenezer Levick, of Phila. ; the descendants of the latter are given in our account 
of the Levick Family; 

Joseph Wetherill, m. Mercy Ridgway, dau. of Job, and left Samuel R. Wetherill. 
who m. and left issue. 



992 WETHERILL 

Christopher Wetherill, eldest son of Thomas and Anne (Fearon) Wetherill, 
born at Burlington, New Jersey, February 26, 1710-11, died in city of Burlington, 
April, 1786. He inherited a large part of the lands descending from his father 
and grandfather in Burlington, and in the counties of Hunterdon, Morris, Essex, 
and elsewhere in New Jersey, and at his death devised them to his children, most 
of whom had, however, previously removed to Philadelphia. His will dated 
March 27, 1786, was proven April 17, 1786, and appointed his wife Mary and his 
sons, Samuel, Joseph and Isaac, executors. 

Christopher Wetherill married, 1735, Mary, fifth child of John Stockton, Judge 
of Common Pleas Court of Somerset county, New Jersey, 1749, to his death in 
1758, Trustee of College of New Jersey, etc., by his wife, Anna, and a sister to 
Richard Stockton, Signer of the Declaration of Independence, and one of the most 
prominent men of New Jersey. John Stockton was a son of Richard. Stockton, 
from Cheshire, England, one of the first settlers of Princeton, who was son of 
Richard Stockton, of Malpas, Cheshire, baptized June 12, 1606, and a grandson of 
Owen Stockton, of Stockton and Kiddington, Cheshire, who died in 1610. 
Issue of Christopher and Mary (Stockton) Wetherill: 

Samuel Wetherill, b. June 12, 1736, d., Phila., Sept. 24, 1816; m. Sarah Yarnall; of 
whom presently ; 

Joseph Wetherill, b. Sept. 10, 1740, d. Jan. 20, 1820; was a carpenter in Phila. on his 
marriage at Friends' Meeting there. May 10, 1764, to Anna, dau. of Benjamin Canby, 
of Solebury township, Bucks county, Pa., proprietor of one of the earliest iron forges 
in Pa. and another in New Jersey, by his second wife, Sarah Yardley. Joseph 
Wetherill was a member of the Committee of Observation for Phila., 1774; a delegate 
to Provincial Convention of Jan. 23, 1775 ; a corporate member of the Carpenter's 
Company, 1792, its treasurer, etc. His wife, Anna (Canby) Wetherill, d. Sept. 20, 
1820; they had issue: 

Thomas Wetherill, b. March 17, 1765, d. May i, 1824; m., July 26, 1792, Elizabeth 
Hunt, and left issue; 

Benjamin Wetherill, b. Sept. 8, 1766, d. July 19, 1808; m. Anne Blakiston; left no 

issue; 
Mary Wetherill, b. 1768, d. 1846, unm.; 
Sarah Wetherill, b. Nov. 4, 1770, d. April 14, 1838; m., June 2, 1803, William 

Powell, of Phila., and an account of her descendants is given elsewhere in this 

volume; 

Anna Wetherill, b. 1773, d. unm., 1849; 
Christopher Wetherill, b. 1779, d. unm., 1856; 
Horatio G. and Anne, d. inf. 
Mary Anna Wetherill, b. Sept. 8, 1742, d. Aug. 8, 1744; 
John Wetherill, b. July 15, 1746, d. July 30, 1768, unm.; 
Anna Wetherill, b. May 18, 1750, survived her father, but d. unm.; 

Isaac Wetherill, b. Feb. i, 1753, d. Aug. 18, 1821; m., May 16, 1776, Rebecca Deacon, and 
had issue, seven children, six of whom, viz. : 
Joseph, m. Rebecca Aronson ; 
Anna, m. Samuel W. Earl; 
Thomas, m. Rebecca Lippincott; 
Mary, m. Thomas P. Earl; 
Sarah, m. William N. Earl; 

George Deacon, b. Phila., July, 1794, d. April 18, 1875, was a prominent and suc- 
cessful business man, leaving descendants in Phila. and elsewhere. He mar- 
ried Catharine Copeland, who died April 16, 1875. Their eldest dau., Anna, 
m. her cousin, Christopher Wetherill, son of 'Thomas and Rebecca (Lippincott) 
Wetherill, and their third child, Sarah Wetherill, m. George Northrop, Esq., a 
prominent member of the Phila. Bar, and their dau., Christine Northrop, m. 
Samuel Price Wetherill, of Phila., of whom hereafter; 
Sarah Wetherill, b. Jan. 19, 1755, d. Jan. 12, 1820. 



WETHERILL 993 

Samuel Wetherill, eldest son of Christopher Wetherill, of Burlington, New 
Jersey, by his wife, Mary Stockton, was born at Burlington, April 12, 1736. 
(There is some doubt about the correctness of the dates of birth of the children of 
Christopher Wetherill, who were born before the adoption of the Gregorian Calen- 
dar in 1752. The dates herein given are from the family record, but since the 
genealogical charts prepared by the family, have given the Pagan names to months, 
given in the early records by numerals, thereby giving incorrect dates in all cases 
prior to 1752, it is probable that these dates are also incorrect. Where it was 
possible to correct these dates by reference to Meeting records, etc., it has been 
done). Samuel Wetherill learned the trade of a carpenter, and coming to Phila- 
delphia followed that vocation there for some years. He was a man of great public 
spirit and took a lively interest in affairs of his adopted city, as well as of the country 
at large. The imposition of the Stamp Act and the consequent revolt of the Colon- 
ists gave an impetus to the laudable effort of Americans to manufacture such 
articles for which they had been used to depend upon the industries of the old 
world. Samuel Wetherill was one of the promoters and managers of the "United 
Company of Philadelphia for the Establishment of American Industries," and he 
carried the principles of that organization into practical application by establishing, 
in 1775, at his dwelling-house on South alley, between Fifth and Sixth streets, on 
a lot extending from Market to Arch streets, an establishment for the weaving, 
fulling and dyeing of domestic fabrics, which according to his quaint business card 
embellished with a cut representing a Quaker lady sitting by her spinning wheel, 
were "suitable for every season of the year, viz. — Jeans, Fustians, Everlastings, 
Coatings, &c." Finding it necessary to establish a plant for dyeing his goods, 
there being no such establishment in Philadelphia, he found the scarcity of proper 
ingredients for his dye-stuffs a serious impediment to the success of his under- 
taking, and therefore also established a chemical laboratory for their manufacture. 
The latter enterprise was the foundation of the immense industry in the manufac- 
ture of drugs and chemicals, carried on by the Wetherill family down to the pres- 
ent time. 

During the Revolutionary war Samuel Wetherill supplied, by contract with the 
Continental Congress, cloth for the manufacture of uniforms for the patriot sol- 
diers, and was active in the support of the patriot cause. His activity in these 
matters was deemed by the Philadelphia Monthly Meeting of Friends as a devia- 
tion from their "Ancient Testimony and Peacable principles," and he was dis- 
owned by them in August, 1779. 

About 1785 Samuel Wetherill took his eldest son, of the same name, into part- 
nership, and engaged in the drug business under the firm name of Wetherill & 
Son, on Front street, above Arch, where "Wetherill's Drug Store" was long an 
ancient landmark, and the place where his sons and grandsons were brought up in 
the business of manufacturing chemists. 

The Wetherill firm was the pioneer in the manufacture of white lead in America 
in 1790. At about this date they erected a large establishment for its manufacture 
near Twelfth and Cherry streets, which was burned down in 1813, as it is believed 
by emissaries of English manufacturers, whose trade the Philadelphia factory had 
destroyed. The factory was, however, soon rebuilt and the business continued. 

With or soon after the establishment of the drug business on Front street the 



994 WETHERILL 

Wetherills abandoned the textile manufacturing and turned their attention exclu- 
sively to the manufacture and sale of drugs, chemicals and paints. 

Soon after his disownment from the Society of Friends, Samuel Wetherill with 
a number of other prominent men of Philadelphia, who had also been disowned for 
participation in the struggle for Independence, among whom were Col. Timothy 
Matlack, his brother. White Matlack, Col. Clement Biddle and his brother, Owen 
Biddle (a no less ardent patriot), Benjamin Say, Christopher Marshall, Joseph 
Warner, Moses Bartram, organized "The Religious Society of Friends, by some 
Styled the Free Quakers." Samuel Wetherill was the prime mover in this move- 
ment and the meetings of the society were held for a time at his house and that of 
Col. Matlack, as early as 1780. The minutes of the Society of Free Quakers open 
with the meeting held February 20, 1781, and April 24, 1781, they issued an ad- 
dress to the Society of Friends, pubhshed in the form of a "broadside," claiming 
a division or share in the property of the Society ; later appealing to the Legisla- 
ture on the same subject. A subscription was started for the erection of a meeting- 
house which was contributed to by Washington, Franklin and a nurnber of others 
beside the members, and sufficient funds being raised, a Meeting House, still stand- 
ing, was erected at the southwest corner of Fifth and Arch streets, and later a lot 
was granted them by the State for a burial ground, on the east side of Fifth street, 
below Pine. 

To the Wetherill family the Society owed largely, not only its inception, but its 
perpetuation and usefulness, four generations of the family having served as its 
clerk. Samuel Wetherill, Sr., was its first clerk and preacher, in the latter capacity 
attracting considerable attention by his able, logical and eloquent discourses, so 
much so that the meetings were often visited by numbers of prominent people 
when it was known that he was expected to preach. Samuel Wetherill continued 
to preach after he became so feeble that he was carried from his carriage to the 
"gallery" in a chair. He was a member of Common Council of city of Philadel- 
phia, chairman of Yellow Fever Committee of that body in 1793, as well as one 
of the most active of the water committee. He died September 24, 1816. 

Samuel Wetherill married, April 5, 1762, at Philadelphia Monthly Meeting, 
Sarah, born August 27, 1734, died July 27, 1816, daughter of Mordecai Yamall, a 
valued minister of the Society of Friends, by his first wife, Catharine Meredith. 
Francis Yamall, father of Mordecai, with his brother Philip, emigrated from 
Cloynes, county Worcester, England, and settled in Springfield township, now Del- 
aware county, where 100 acres of land were surveyed to Francis Yarnall, October 
17, 1683. He married, in 1686, Hannah Baker, of the Baker family of Edgmont, 
and later took up 510 acres of land in Willistown township, where he died in 1721. 
He was a member of Colonial -Assembly in 171 1, and a prominent member of the 
Society of Friends. Mordecai Yarnall, youngest of nine children of Francis and 
Hannah (Baker) Yamall, born in Willistown township, now Delaware county, 
September 11, 1705, died in Springfield township, about the commencement of the 
Revolutionary War. He married (first) Catharine Meredith; (second) Mary 
Roberts; (third), in 1768, Ann, widow of Joseph Maris. 

About 1750 he removed from Willistown to Philadelphia, and resided there until 
his third marriage, when he removed to Springfield. 



WETHERILL 995 

Issue of Samuel and Sarah (Yarnall) Wetherill: 

Mary Wetherill, b. Jan. 28, 1763, d. inf.; 

Samuel Wetherill, Jr., b. April 27, 1764, d. Feb. 22, 1829; m. Rachel Price; of whom 
presently; 

Mordecai Wetherill, b. Dec. 8, 1766, d. March 24, 1826; m. Martha (1782-1830), dau of 
Edward and Sarah (Stille) Yorke, of Phila., and granddaughter of Thomas and Mar- 
tha (Potts) Yorke, an account of whom and some of their descendants is given in 
these volumes; Mordecai and Martha (Yorke) Wetherill had one son, 

Samuel Welherill, b. 1801, d. 1843; m. his cousin, Jane Loveridge, dau. of his 
mother's brother, Peter Yorke, by his wife, Mary fiaines. 
Anna Wetherill, b. Aug., 1769, d. inf.; 

John Wetherill, b. Feb. 5, 1772, d. March 24, 1851; m. Susan, dau. of Reuben and Sarah 
Garrison, and had issue: 

Sarah Wetherill, m., 1823, Frederick MontmoUin, and had issue; 

Harriet Wetherill, m., 1825, David Kyle, and (second) Hugh M. Ward, and had 

issue by both; 
Martha Bryan Wetherill, d. unm,, March 8, 1871 ; 
Susan Wetherill, m., 1849, Paul Hewitt Cushman, and had issue; 
Rebecca Wetherill, d. unm., at her residence at the southeast corner of Broad and 

Walnut slreets, Phila., Feb., 1908; 
Edward Wetherill, Esq., of Phila., m. June 4, 1863, Anna, dau. of Amos and 
Mary (Newbold) Thorpe, and had issue: 

Edith Wetherill, b. April 16, 1869; m., Nov. 15, 1900, Frederick Mervin Ives, 

M. D., of N. Y.; 
Marian Wetherill, b. Dec. 6, 1870; 
Blanche Wetherill, b. Nov. 16, 1871, was a student at the Univ. of Pa., 

1890-1; 
Irma Wetherill, b. Sept. 5, 1872; 
Cora Wetherill, b. Dec. 4, 1876. 
Sarah Wetherill, b. Sept. 7, 1776, d. Feb. 16, 1840; m., Jan. 3, 1799, Joshua Lippincott, of 
Phila., b. Aug. i, 1772, d. Aug. 11, 1836; they had issue: 

Sarah Ann Lippincott, b. 1800, d. 1862; m., Jan. 10, 1821, Benjamin W. Richards; 
Mary Lippincott, d. unm.; 

Silina Lippincott, b. Oct. 16, 1S03, d. unm., July 11, 1871; 
Samuel W. Lippincott, b. March 15, 1806, d. July 20, 1859, unm.; 
William Lippincott, m. Mary Wilson; no issue; 

Joshua Lippincott, b. Nov. 21, 1814, d. Oct. 23, 1880; m.. May 21, 1839, Agnea 
Keene, and had issue : 

James Dundas Lippincott, b. June 6, 1840, d. 1905; m. (first), April 2, 1867, 

Alice Potter, (second) ; no issue; 

Anna Maria Dundas I<ippincott, m., June 9, Ib68, William Wilberforce 
Wurts, now Dundas. 

Samuel Wetherill, Jr., eldest son of Samuel and Sarah (Yarnall) Wetherill, 
born in Philadelphia, April 27, 1764, became interested in the manufacturing 
establishments of his father at an early age, and on arriving at his majority, 1785, 
became a partner with him in the drug and chemical business on Front street, and 
later in the Twelfth street estabhshment, under the firm name of Samuel Wetherill 
& Son, in which his own sons later became partners. He was a member of Com- 
mon Council of Philadelphia, and like his father, and later his son, chairman of 
the water committee of that body. 

He succeeded his father as clerk of the Society of Free Quakers and served until 
his death, September 29, 1829. He married, April 24, 1788, Rachel, born January 
28, 1766, died February 9, 1844, daughter of John Price, of Reading, Pennsyl- 
vania, by his wife, Rebecca, daughter of Gen. Jacob Morgan, of Morgantown, 
Pennsylvania. 



9y6 WETHERILL 

Issue of Samuel and Rachel (Price) Wetherill: 

Rebecca Price Wetherill, b. May 19, 1789, d. Dec. 2, 1869; m., June 17, 1809, William 
■Henry Gumbes, b. at St. Martin's, West Indies, Aug. 18, 1784, d. Dec. 17, 1814; had 
one son— Samuel Wetherill Gumbes, of Phila., b. April 30, 1813, d. May 16, 1865; m., 
April 30, 1838, Frances Sarah D., dau. of John William and Isabel (Ramsey) Macomb, 
wiiO was b. Sept. 16, 1816, d., Montgomery cc. Pa., April 18, 1896; they had issue: 
William Henry Gumbes, b. March 19, 1839, d. Oct., 1879; m., Dec. 30, 1862, EUza- 
beth Hi.deburn, and had three sons, and two daughters; the youngest of the 
latter, Frances Sarah Dring Gumbes, b. June i, 1877, m., Nov. 23, 1898, at Christ 
Church Chapel, Phila., Christian Irwin Boye Smith; 
Charles Wetherill Gumbes, b. Nov. 2, 1841; m., Jan. 8, 1873, Mary Louise Cush- 
raan, and had issue: 

Rea Wetherill Gumbes, m., Feb. 9, 1899, Justin R. Sypher, of Phila.; 
Charles Wetherill Gumbes, Jr., b. Feb. 13, 187S; 

Francis Macomb Gumbes, b. Aug. 18, 1876; m. at Race Street Meetinghouse, 
Phila., June 6, 1900, Rebecca Palmer, of Phila.; 
Isabella Bloomfield Gumbes, b. July 7, 1844; m., Dec. 6, 1866, Caleb Cresson. 
Samuel Price Wetherill, b. June 26, 1790, d. Feb. 22, 1839; m., June 16, 1812, Martha 
Wyckoff, b. March 18, 1793, d. March 8, 1840, and had ten children, seven of whom 
d. unm. ; 
John Price Wetherill, b. Oct. 17, 1794, d. July 23, 1853; m., Aug. 14, 1817, Maria Kane 

Lawrence, b. 1797, d. Aug. 30, 1877; of whom presently; 
Charles Wetherill, b. Dec. 17, 1798, d. Nov. 2, 1838; m., May i, 1822, Margaretta S. 
Mayer, b. Aug. 31, 1804, d. Jan. 16, 1882, and had issue: 

Charles M. Wetherill, m., Aug. 12, 1856, Mary C. Benbridge; 

Margaretta Sybilla Wetherill, d. young; 

Henry M. Wetherill, b. May 18, 1828; m., Nov. 7, 1847, his cousin, Rebecca Price, 

dau. of John P. Wetherill, and had issue; 
Thomas M. Wetherill, m., 1851, Sarah Smith, and had issue; 
Margaretta Mayer Wetherill, b. Jan. 17, 1833; m. Thomas J. Diehl, of Phila., and 

had issue; 
Mayer Wetherill, b. 1836; m. Mary Ekeightly, of Phila.; living in Syracuse, N. Y. 
William Wetherill, M. D., b, Jan. 21, 1804, d. April 28, 1872; m. Isabella Macomb; of 

whom later; 
Thomas B. Wetherill, b. 1806, d. 1814. 

John Price Wetherill, son of Samuel Wetherill, Jr., by his wife, Rachel 
Price, born in Philadelphia, October 17, 1794, became identified with the drug, 
chemical and paint manufacturing establishment by his father and grandfather, at 
an early age, and was the representative of that important industry for many years. 
He was an enthusiastic student in his youth, becoming a member of the Academy 
of Natural Science of Philadelphia, 1817, and was its Vice-President for many 
years. He became a member of the American Philosophical Society, 1827, and of 
the Franklin Institute soon after its founding. He was elected a member of the 
Geographical Society, in 1832 ; was honorary member of the Boston Society of 
Natural History, 1837; a member of the Mineralogical Society of St. Petersburg, 
1844; of the American Society for the Advancement of Science, 1848, and in 1851 
became a member of the New Jersey Society of Natural History. He became a 
member of the Second Troop, Philadelphia City Cavalry, and was its Captain for 
several years. 

John Price Wetherill gave intelligent and active attention to the chemical busi- 
ness, maintaining fully the supremacy of the family in the drug business. It was 
as a public man, however, that he was best known to his fellow citizens. He was 
elected to Common Council of city of Philadelphia, October 13, 1829, being the 
third generation of the family to serve in that capacity. After three years service 
was advanced to the Select Council, in which he served until his death, a period of 




( '/ 



Wf^/^A-i/ ' 



-■t-AOi?:^ 



-/^i« 









WETHERILL 997 

nearly twenty-four years, taking a leading part in local legislation. Like his father 
he was chairman of the Water Committee of Councils, and dictated the policy of 
that department of local utility. He succeeded his father as clerk of the Society 
of Free Quakers, by this time greatly reduced in membership by the death of most 
of its original members and the return of others to the home fold in the Society of 
Friends, and he was for a time, prior to the abandonment of regular meetings for 
worship, almost the only regular attendant. Seeing the futility of the effort to 
maintain it as an ordinary meeting for religious worship, and desiring to perpetuate 
the organization in a manner that would place its property and revenues at the 
service of the poor and suffering, he organized a charitable society to whom the 
control of the property was transferred. 

In 1841 the recently organized Apprentices' Library was induced to become a 
tenant of the building at a nominal rental, all of which was to be used in the pur- 
chase of books suitable for the readers it was designed to reach. 

John Price Wetherill was succeeded as clerk, at his death in 1853, by his son of 
the same name, who with other members of the family held the Society together, 
and in 1882 they resolved to hold meetings on the first Wednesday of November 
of each year, a rule which has been since followed with much success, William H. 
Wetherill being the present clerk, representing the fifth of the family to serve in 
that capacity. 

John Price Wetherill died July 23, 1853, after a short illness contracted while 
serving as a member of the committee appointed by Select Council to receive Presi- 
dent Franklin Pierce on his visit to Philadelphia. He was President of the Schuyl- 
kill Bank from 1846 to his death, and identified with a number of other institutions 
of his native city, and senior member of the family drug firm, then known as 
Wetherill & Brother. 

John Price Wetherill married, August 14, 1817, Maria Kane, born May 24, 1797, 
died August 30, 1877, daughter of John Prescott Lawrence, M. D., of Fort Ed- 
ward, New York, by his wife, Abigail Kane, and a descendant through twenty- two 
generations from Sir Robert Lawrence, of Ashton Hall, Lancaster county, Eng- 
land, a Crusader, knighted by Richard Coeur de Lion at the siege of Acre, A. D., 
1 191, born 1 150, died 1208. He was of the same lineage as George Washington, 
he being also a descendant of Sir Robert Lawrence. Mrs. Wetherill's first Amer- 
ican ancestor, Henry Lawrence, of Wisset, county Suffolk, settled in Charlestown, 
Massachusetts, 1635, His great-grandson, Col. William Lawrence, of Goshen, 
Massachusetts, born May 11, 1697, died May 19, 1764, married, 1722, Susanna, 
granddaughter of John Prescott, of the Prescotts of Standish, Lancashire, who emi- 
grated to Massachusetts in 1640. Rev. William Lawrence, of Lynn, Massachu- 
setts, son of Col. William and Susanna (Prescott) Lawrence, born May 7, 1723, 
married, 1751, Love, daughter of John Adams by his wife, Love Minot, and was a 
second cousin of Samuel Adams, the Signer of the Declaration of Independence. 
John Prescott Lawrence, M. D., father of Mrs. Wetherill, was a son of Rev. Will- 
iam and Love (Adams) Lawrence. Abigail Kane was a daughter of John Kane 
by his wife Sybil (m. 1756), daughter of Elisha Kent, and was a first cousin to 
Elisha Kent Kane, the Arctic explorer. 

Issue of John Price and Maria Kane (Lawrence) Wetherill: 

Rachel Wetherill, b. Sept. 17, 1818, d. unm. ; 
Elizabeth K. Wetherill, b. March i, 1820, d. unm.; 



998 IV ET HE RILL 

Samuel Wetherili,, b. May 27, 1821, d. June 24, 1890; m. Sarah Maria Chattin, (sec- 
ond J Thyrza A. James; of whom presently; 
Maria Lawrence Wetherill, b. April 19, 1823; m., Jan. 11, 1843. John L. Janeway, and 

had seven children; 
John Price Wetherill, 2d, b., Phila., Aug. 4, 1824, d., Germantown, Sept. 17, 1888; gradu- 
ated at Univ of Pa., 1843, engaged in manufacturmg chemicals, etc., m Phila.; was a 
member of Select Council; one of the Guardians of the Poor; member of the Board 
of Education; Inspector of Moyamemsing Prison; member of the Constitutional Con- 
vention 1873; member of Board of Finance of the Centennial Exposition, 1876; presi- 
dent of Board of Trade of Phila.; director of Penna. R. R. Co., 1874-88; president of 
American Steamship Co. and of Western Savings Fund Society of Phila. ; member of 
American Philosophical Society from 1878 to his death; m., Nov. 9, 1847, Caroline, 
dau. of Thomas Brinton Jacobs, by his wife, Jane Bowen, and they had issue, beside 
four children who die.d in infancy, two children, viz.: 

Caroline Jacobs Wetherill, b. April 14, 1850; m., Oct. 20, 1870, Francis Dring 
Wetherill, son of Dr. WiUiam and Isabel (Macomb) Wetherill; of whom later; 
Albert Lawrence Wetherill, b. Feb. 15, 1852; m., Feb. 24, 1892, Frances Pearsall, 
dau. of A. E. Lahens, of New York City. 
Ehsha Kane Wetherill, b. May 2, 1828, d. June 23, 1836; 

Rebecca Price Wetherill, b. Jan. 17, 1830; m., Nov. 17, 1847, Henry Mayer Wetherill, 
son of Charles and Margaretta (Mayer) Wetherill; graduate of Univ. of Pa., class of 
1844; b., Phi.a., May 18, 1828, d., Germantown, Sept. 6, 1896; they had issue: 
Margaretta, d. inf.; 

Charles Wetherill, b. July 31, 1850; a member of the Phila. Bar; 
Henry M. Wetherill, Jr., M. D., b. Dec. 14, 1851 ; m., Jan. 5, 1882, Florence Sirecker; 

d. July 24, 1904; 
Rebecca Price Wetherill, b. June 29, 1854; m-, Dec. 30, 1879, Paul L. Tiers; 
Mary Lawrence Wetherill, b. Aug. 18, 1864; m. Christopher Wetherill, Jr., son of 
Christopher and Anna Wetherill. 

Col. Samuel Wetherill^ eldest son of John Price Wetherill by his wife, Maria 
K. Lawrence, born in Philadelphia, May 27, 1821, was educated in that city. At 
an early age he entered the White Lead and Chemical Works of Wetherill & 
Brother, the firm being composed of his father and uncle, and became thoroughly 
familiar with both branches of the business. 

In 1850 he entered the employ of the New Jersey Zinc Company at Newark, 
New Jersey, as chemist, and became deeply interested in the manufacture of zinc. 
In 1852, after many carefully conducted experiments, he evolved a process for the 
manufacture of white oxide of zinc direct from the ore, and in 1853 organized 
the Lehigh Zinc Company and erected the Lehigh Zinc Works, at what is now 
South Bethlehem, known thereafter for many years as Wetherill, in honor of its 
pioneer manufacturer. He here introduced his newly patented process known as 
the Wetherill Furnace for the manufacture of zinc, being the first to produce 
metallic zinc, commercially, in America, and in 1857 produced the ingot from which 
was rolled the first sheet of metallic zinc in the United States. 

Soon after the breaking out of the Civil War, Samuel Wetherill recruited at 
Bethlehem two companies of Cavalry, and was commissioned Captain, August 19, 
1861, and assigned to Harlan's Light Cavalry, afterwards the Eleventh Pennsyl- 
vania Cavalry, with which he saw hard service with the Army of the Potomac, and 
later with the Army of the James. He was promoted to Major, October i, 1861, 
and at different periods had command of the regiment, and often was detailed on 
detached duty with his battalion. His last military service was as chief of staff to 
Gen. Kautz, commanding the cavalry of the Army of the James. He was beloved 
by his officers and men, having not only the respect and confidence of his subordi- 
nate and superior officers as a soldier and an officer, but secured their regard and 




Z.emi mstiii'iccd^'bhstiin^ Co. 



Z'ny' hj'Z^ 5tryc'H'i:Crra--j^'.2f.^A 



J-^1^^/^/2^^ Z^^^^Zv^ 



WET.HERILL 999 

esteem as a gentleman. He was brevetted Lieutenant Colonel, United States Vol- 
unteers, March 13, 1865, "for gallant and meritorious services throughout the cam- 
paign of 1864, against Richmond, Virginia." He was honorably mustered out 
September 30, 1864, and returned to the manufacturing business, from which he 
retired in later life. He died at- Oxford, Talbot county, Maryland, June 24, 1890. 
Samuel Wetherill married (first) January i, 1844, Sarah Maria, born July 3, 
1821, died July 3, 1869, daughter of and Hannah (Lane) Chattin ; (sec- 
ond), October 14, 1870, Thyrza A., daughter of John and Martha T. (Wilson) 
James. 

Issue of Col. Samuel and Sarah Maria (Chattin) Wetherill: 

John Price Wetherill, 3d, b. Nov. 13, 1844, d. Nov. 3, 1903; m. Alice D. Cortright; of 

whom presently; 
Samuel Price Wetherill, b. May 17, 1846; m. Christine Northrop; of whom presently; 
Sarah Maria Wetherill, b. Aug. 24, 1849, d. Aug., 1850; 

Georgianna Wetherill, b. Nov. 12, 1847; m., Nov. 24, 1869, Walter E. Cox, and had issue: 
Walter Wetherill Cox, b. Feb. 22, 1874; ra., Aug. 8, 1900, Olivia Knight, and had 

issue: Edwin Knight, Virginia Knight; 
Robert Sayers Cox, b. Aug. 22, 187s, d. inf. ; 
William John Cox, b. March 7, 1878; 
Sarah Maria Cox, b. Dec. 20, 1880; m., June i, 1901, Edmund Trowbridge Satchel, 

and had issue: Georgiana Wetherill Satchel, b. April 21, 1904; 
Eugenia Madeline Cox, b. March 27, 1882; m., March, 1900, Henry A. Fibro, and 
had issue : 

Henry Fibro, b. Dec. 22, 1902; 
Walter Wetherill Fibro, b. Oct., 1905; 
Louis Nelthorp Fibro, b. Oct. 27, 1906. 
Mary Edith Cox, b. March 12, 1886; ra., May 17, 190.S, Charles Everitt Buffington. 
William C. Wetherill, b. Nov. 22, 1851 ; m., Jan. 22, 1880, Sarah A. Campbell, and had 
issue : 

Elizabeth G. Wetherill, b. Nov. 20, 1881; 
Gertrude Wetherill. 
Maria Kane Lawrence Wetherill, b. July 27, 1858, d. Jan. 2, i860; 
Rachel Elizabeth Wetheriil, b. Dec. 30, i860, d. June 2, 1863. 

Issue of Col. Samuel and Thyrza A. (J antes) Wetherill: 

Elisha Kent Kane Wetherill, b. Sept. i, 1874; 
Thyrza James Wetherill, d. inf.; 
Maria Kane Wetherill, b.-Sept. 24, 1877. 

John Price Wetherill, 3d., eldest son of Col. Samuel Wetherill, by his first 
wife, Sarah Maria Chattin, was born in Belleville, New York, November 13, 1844. 
He prepared for college at private schools and graduated from the Polytechnic 
College of Philadelphia as a Civil and Mining Engineer. He was connected with 
the mining and engineering department of the Philadelphia & Reading Railroad 
Company and the Philadelphia & Reading Iron & Coal Company until 1881, being 
located at PottSville, Pennsylvania. In i88r he became associated. with his younger 
brother, Samuel Price Wetherill, and Richard and August Heckscher, in the pur- 
chase of- the Lehigh Zinc Works at South Bethlehem, founded by his' father, arid 
became manager of the works. He retained this position until the consolidation 
of the company with the New Jersey Zinc Company, of which latter company he 
was a director and consuhing engineer until his retirement in 1905. 

In 1895 John Price Wetherill invented and patented and put into operation at the 



looo WETHERILL 

Lehigh Zinc Works, the Wetherill Magnetic Concentrating Process for treating 
refractory ores. This important invention, which gave Mr. Wetherill a high place 
in metallurgical science, is described in detail in a paper presented at the Pittsburg 
meeting of the American Institute of Mining Engineers, February, 1896, by Prof. 
H. B. C. Nitze, and published in the transactions of- the Society, and was also pub- 
lished in the Journal of the Franklin Institute for April, 1897. 

John Price Wetherill was one of the most popular members of the Philadelphia 
Art Club, and possessed considerable artistic talent, painting a number of excellent 
water-colors of rural scenes and landscapes. He was a member of the Union 
League, Rittenhouse, Philadelphia Country, Merion Cricket, Radnor Hunt, Cor- 
inthian Yacht, New York Yacht, Bicayne Bay Yacht, and Manufacturers clubs; a 
member of the Society of the Cincinnati ; of the Pennsylvania Society Sons of the 
Revolution, and was the organizer of the Pohoqualine Fishing Association, of 
Monroe county, Pennsylvania, of which he was president for ten years. He died 
at his residence, 2014 Walnut street, Philadelphia, November 9, 1906, after a year's 
illness. 

John Price Wetherill married, January 20, 1869, Alice D., born at Mauch Chunk, 
Pennsylvania, January i, 1847, daughter of Ira Cortright, a prominent coal oper- 
ator of that section, by his wife, Margaret Sherry, and a descendant of Sebastian 
Van Kortright, of an ancient family of Flanders, who came to New Amsterdam, 
now New York, in the ship, "Brindle Cow," April 16, 1665, with his two sons, 
Michael and Jan, and settled at Harlem, from whence some of his descendants mi- 
grated to the Wyoming Valley, prior to the Revolution. 
Issue of John Price and Alice D. (Cortright) Wetherill: 

Margaret Wetherill, b. Feb. 8, 1870, d. Oct. 21, 1870; 

Samuel Wetherill, b. May 10, 1871, d. April 24, 1872; 

Ira Cortright Wetherill, b. Oct. 17, 1873; member of Rittenhouse, Country, Corinthian 
Yacht, and other clubs of Phila.; m. at Canon City, Cal., May 22, 1901, Elizabeth 
Josephine, only dau. of WilHam P. Campbell, of Omaha, Neb., formerly of Baltimore, 
Md. ; they had issue: 

John Price Wetherill, sth, b. March 13, 1902; 

George Goddard Con vers Wetherill, b. Nov. 24, 1905. 
Anna Wetherill, b. Feb. 13, 1876; m. (first), Dec. 15, 1897, at St. Mark's Church, Phila., 
William H. Addicks, Esq., an eminent corporation lawyer of Phila., son of John E. 
and Barbara (O'Sullivan) Addicks, b. in Phila., March 4, 1854, d. there, Feb. 24, igoo; 
counsel for and member of the board of directors of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad 
Co., and of the Schuylkill and East Side Railroad Co.; contributor to the Lavir Depart- 
ment of Univ. of Pa., etc.; (second), April 7, 1904, George C. Stout, M. D.; by her 
second husband she had issue: 

Mary Stout, b. Feb. 14, 1905; 

Rebecca Wetherill Stout, b. Nov. 11, 1906; 

Margaret Stout, b. Dec. 28, 1907. 
Alice Wetherill, b. March 20, 1878, d. Aug. 20, 1878; 

Florence Wetherill, b. Aug. n, 1881 ; m., Jan. 3, 1906, Graham Wood, son of George and 
Mary S. (Hunn) Wood, of Phila.; had issue: 

Sibyl Kent Wood, b. Nov. 13, 1907, d. inf.; 

Mary Hunn Wood, b. Nov. 13, 1907, d. inf. 

John Price Wetherill, 4th, b. April 18, 1883; president of the Wetherill Pneumatic Cast- 
ing Co., etc.; m. Catharine Hall; 

William Chattin Wetherill, b. Aug. 16, 1886; a student in the Scientific Department of 

Univ. of Pa., 1908; 
Carl Augustus Heckscher Wetherill, b. Oct. is, 1889; student at the DeLancv School 

Phila,, 1908. 



WETHERILL looi 

Samuel Price Wetherill, second son of Samuel and Sarah Maria (Chattin) 
Wetherill, was born at Saugerties, New York, May 17, 1846. He was educated at 
Nazareth Hall Military Academy, Pennsylvania, and the Model School, Trenton, 
New Jersey, and commenced his business career in the employ of Wetherill & 
Brother, white lead manufacturers and wholesale druggists, in Philadelphia. 

In 1868 he left the old family firm and started into business for himself as a 
commission merchant in paints and drugs. Shortly after this venture he organized 
the S. P. Wetherill Company, for the manufacture of paints, at Twenty-second 
street and Allegheny avenue, Philadelphia, and has served as president of the com- 
pany from its organization to the present time. 

Samuel Price Wetherill was associated with his brother, John Price Wetherill, 
and the Heckscher Brothers in the purchase of the Lehigh Zinc Company, at 
South Bethlehem, 1880, and on its absorption by the New Jersey Zinc Company, 
became a director of that company and still fills that position. He is a member of 
the Union League, Rittenhouse, Philadelphia, Racquet, and Philadelphia Gun clubs 
of Philadelphia. 

Samuel Price Wetherill married, February 6, 1872, Christine, born February 21, 
1852, daughter of George Northrop, Esq., of Philadelphia, by his wife, Sarah, 
daughter of George Deacon Wetherill, of Philadelphia, before mentioned. George 
Northrop was born in Philadelphia, March 27, 1822, died there May 30, 1896. He 
graduated at Yale and studied law with Hon. George M. Dallas, in Philadelphia, 
and was admitted to the Philadelphia bar, September 13, 1845. He practiced his 
profession in that city for a half century and acquired a high position in the legal 
fraternity, establishing a wide reputation for clear and vigorous argument as an 
advocate, and a careful and conscientious counselor. 

Early in life George Northrop became identified with the Democratic party and 
took an active part in its councils and contests. He took a prominent part in the 
movement that led to the consolidation of the city in 1854, and was chairman of 
the Press Committee in the preparation for the grand ball given in honor of the 
Consolidation on its consummation. He was elected to the Common Council from 
the Twenty-first Ward, i860, and served for several years. In 1864 he was Dem- 
ocratic candidate for Congress in Fourth District of Philadelphia county against 
Hon. William D. Kelley, and displayed brilliant oratorical powers in a joint debate 
with the "father of protection," but was defeated at the polls. Mr. Northrop con- 
tinued his activity in public affairs, and in 1887 was a candidate for City Solicitor 
against Charles F. Warwick, later Mayor of the city, and was again defeated. Mr. 
Northrop was a member of the Rittenhouse Club, and the Philadelphia Gun Club. 
His wife, Sarah Wetherill Northrop, survived him. Beside Mrs. Christine (North- 
rop) Wetherill, he had two other children, Isabella, wife of James O. McHenry, 
of Edgewater Park, New Jersey, and Dr. Katharine Northrop, who died at Read- 
ing, Pennsylvania, July 15, 1899. The latter was graduated from the Woman's 
Medical College of Philadelphia, and practiced in Philadelphia for several years. 
She later accepted the position of Chief Resident Physician of the Women's De- 
partment of the Warren Hospital. In 1896 she was made Chief of the Women's 
Department of the State Asylum for the Insane at Wernersville, Pennsylvania, and 
was acting in that capacity at the time of her decease. 

The Northrop family, founded in Pennsylvania by George Northrop about 1681, 
is of English origin, though tradition relates that three representatives of the fam- 



1002 IVETHERILL 

ily found a temporary home in Holland prior to their emigration to America, John 
to New England, Samuel to the Carolinas and George to Pennsylvania. It is 
thought that they came from Norfolk county, England, where a parish still bears 
their name. It has also been suggested that the name was originally Northope, as 
there is an old seat in Flintshire, Wales, known as Northope Hall. 

George Northrop, great-great-great-grandfather of George Northrop, Esq., 
first above mentioned, settled in Lower Dublin township, Philadelphia, now Mont- 
gomery county, about 1682, on a plantation of 100 acres. He died there in 1707, 
and his wife Susanna, November 12, 1748, and they are buried at Pennypack Bap- 
tist Churchyard. His will was probated at Philadelphia, May 26, 1707. John and 
Susanna Northrop had children, George, Susanna, Alice, EHzabeth and Mary. 

George Northrop, Jr., son of George and Susanna, also resided in Lower Dublin 
township. He united with Pennypack Baptist Church by baptism, March 31, 1739, 
died in December, 1780. He married Elinor (Nice, Neus, Newes), daughter of Hans 
de Nyce, a JMennonite preacher of Germantown, founder of Nicetown, in what 
was then known as the Northern Liberties of Philadelphia, where he afterwards 
resided. He was a native of Crefeld, on the Rhine, and one of the pioneer (Hol- 
land) settlers in Pennsylvania. He died May 23, 1708, and his wife Jean or Janne- 
ken died September, 1742. 

The children of George and Elinor (Nyce) Northrop were: Jeremiah, of 
whom presently, Jane de Nyce Northrop, Enoch and Mary. 

Jeremiah Northrop, son of George Northrop, Jr., and his wife, Elinor de Nyce, 
resided in Lower Dublin township, owning land there as well as 230 acres in More- 
land township. He died in Lower Dublin township, his will being probated Janu- 
ary 24, 1785. He married, at Pennypack Baptist Church, May 31, 1753, Mary, 
daughter of John Foster, who died in 1769, and Jane, his wife; granddaughter of 
Thomas Foster, and Mary, his wife, of Lower Dublin township, and great-grand- 
daughter of Allen Foster, one of the early settlers of that township, who died in. 
1725. The children of Jeremiah and Mary (Foster) Northrop were: Elinor 
Wright, John, Rachel Duffield, Sarah Elizabeth and Phcebe Northrop. 

John Northrop, only son of Jeremiah and Mary (Foster) Northrop, was born in 
Lower Dublin township, March 8, 1767, died there November 20, 1841. He is 
buried in Pennypack Churchyard. He married (first) Mary Davis, and had chil- 
dren: John, Jr., of whom presently; Jeremiah; Hester, married William 
Rupert; George; Elizabeth, married William Castor. John Northrop married 
(second) Mary Neissender, born 1780, died July 21, 1866, and had issue, Harriet, 
married James Poole, and Samuel. 

John Northrop, Jr., eldest son of John Northrop, by his first wife, Mary Davis, 
was born in Lower Dublin township, 1796. On his father's second marriage, about 
1808, he left home and became an apprentice to the carpenter trade in Philadelphia, 
and on arriving at manhood became a successful and prosperous carpenter and 
builder in that city. He built a number of houses on Walnut street, below Seven- 
teenth, and in other parts of the city. He died in Philadelphia, October 27, 1863, 
and was buried at South Laurel Hill Cemetery, in which he was one of the first lot 
holders in 1838. He married, about 1818, Christiana, born 1792, died November 
9, 1873, daughter of Joseph Johnson, by his wife, Martha, daughter of Capt. Ben- 
jamin Brown, a sea captain, and Mary, his wife; granddaughter of Benjamin 
Johnson, born September 9, 1725, died September 20, 1797, by his wife, Christiana 



WETHERILL 1003 

Rambo, born February 3, 1729, died November 9, 1805; and great-granddaughter 
of Jacob and Charity Johnson. 

Peter Gunnarson Rambo, great-grandfather of Christiana (Rambo) Johnson 
(the latter being the great-great-grandmother of Christine (Northrop) Wetherill), 
was the ancestor of the prominent Rambo family of Philadelphia. Pie was a native 
of Guttenburg, Sweden, and came to Philadelphia with the first Pennsylvania 
Colony of Swedes in the two vessels "Key of Calmer" and "Bird Grip," in the fall 
of 1637. These Colonists purchased of the Indians land on west side of Delaware 
River and Bay, from Cape Henlopen to "Santhion," their name for the Falls of 
the Delaware, Bucks county, and called their new territory New Sweden. Peter 
Rambo owned 650 acres on west side of the Delaware and large tracts in what be- 
came Gloucester county. New Jersey, and was one of the most prominent men in 
the Swedish Colony. He was Commissioner to the Indians and Interpreter under 
the Swedes ; a Magistrate under Dutch Government, 1657, after their conquest of 
the Swedes, and a Councillor, under Gov. Robert Carr, first English governor on 
the Delaware in 1667; and a Justice of the Peace, both under the Dutch and Eng- 
lish jurisdiction, being commissioned under the latter, November, 1674, for Up- 
land and its dependencies, and recommissioned October 3, 1676. He died in 
Philadelphia, November, 1698. 

Peter Rambo, Jr., son of the above, born June 17, 1653, was present at the land- 
ing of William Penn at Upland in 1682. He was a member of Pennsylvania As- 
sembly, 1709, from Philadelphia county. He died December 12, 1729, and was 
buried at Gloria Dei Church, of which his father had been one of the founders and 
first vestrymen. His brother, Gunnar Rambo, was a member of Pennsylvania 
Assembly, 1685. Peter Rambo, Jr., married Magdalen, daughter of Swan Scuter. 
She was born March 25, 1660. They had children : Swen, Brigetta, Peter Rambo, 
3d., Andrew, Elias, John and Jacob. 

Peter Rambo, 3d., father of Christine (Rambo) Johnson, was born December 
20, 1682, died in Lower Dublin township, Philadelphia county, March 8, 1739. 
He married, November 11, 1709, Margaret Jonason, who died September 13, 1747. 
The old Rambo and Johnson Bible, published in Sweden in 1703 and containing 
the record of the family, was bequeathed by the will of Margaret, widow of Peter 
Rambo, 3d., to her youngest daughter Christine, wife of Benjamin Johnson, before 
mentioned, and is now in the possession of Mrs. Charles Johnson, of Holmesburg. 

Christine Rambo, youngest of the eight children of Peter and Margaret (John- 
son) Rambo, married, 1748, Benjamin Johnson, and the fourth of their eight chil- 
dren, Joseph Johnson, born February 8, 1763, married Martha, daughter of Capt. 
Benjamin Brown, and they had children : Elias, married Melissa Smith ; Joseph, 
married Hannah Letteloeff ; Elizabeth, married a Poultney ; Christiana, married 
John Northrop, Jr. 

John Northrop, Jr., and Christiana Johnson had issue: Benjamin Theodore, 
born 1821, died 1867; George Northrop, Esq., father of Christine (Northrop) 
Wetherill ; Fanny, married Charles Elmes, and others who died young. 
Issue of Samuel Price and Christine (Northrop) Wetherill: 

Georgine Northrop Wetherill, b. March 4, 1873 ; m., April 18, 1893, Charles Shillard 

Smith, being his second wife; they reside at Bala, Pa.; 
Sarah Wetherill, b. Oct. 11, 1874; m., June 6, 1898, at First Unitarian Church, Phila., 

Robert R. Logan, and had issue: 



I004 



WETHERILL 



Deborah Logan, b. Feb. l6, igoo. 
Northrop Wetherill, b. May 3, 1876, d. Aug. 18, 1876; 
Christine Wetherill, b. April 10, 1878; m., June 9, 1908, William Gordon Stevenson, of 

Phila.; 
Samuel Price Wetherill, Jr., b. May 12, 1880; m., June 7, 1902, Edith Bucknell, and had 
issue : 

Gyles Price Wetherill, b. March 14, 1904- 
Isabella Wetherill, b. Dec. 6, 1881. 

William Wetherill, M. D., son of Samuel Wetherill, 2d., and his wife, Rachel 
Price, was born in Philadelphia, January 21, 1804. He practiced medicine in Phil- 
adelphia for a number of years, and was a partner with his brother, John Price 
Wetherill, in the Wetherill White Lead Works. He later took up his residence 
at the old family residence of "Fatland," part of a large tract of land purchased 
by his father, near the junction of Perkiomen creek with Schuylkill river, origin- 
ally containing 1400 acres, and known as "Hill Grove on the Perkiomen." It had 
been sold out of the family and was the home of John James Audubon, the famous 
ornithologist for many years. It was later purchased by William H. Wetherill, 
son of Dr. William, and was the summer home of the family. Dr. William 
Wetherill died there April 28, 1872. 

Dr. William Wetherill married, July 6, 1825, Isabella, born February 22, 1807, 
died December 25, 1871, daughter of John William and Isabella (Ramsey) Ma- 
comb, and granddaughter of William Macomb, of New York, by his wife, Sarah 
Jane Dring. She was a cousin of Brig. Gen. Alexander Macomb, the hero of 
Plattsburg in 1814, and Commander-in-Chief of the United States Army, at his 
death in 1841. 

Issue of Dr. William and Isabella (Macomb) Wetherill: 

Samuel Wetherill, b. Phila., April 8, 1826, d. there, Jan. 22, 1902; graduated at Univ. of 
Pa., 184s; studied law and was admitted to the Phila. Bar; practiced his profession in 
that city for half a century; edited "Williams on Personal Property," and was the 
author of other legal text books; Director of Public Schools in the Seventh Ward for 
several years; member of the Pennsylvania Society, Sons of the Revolution, etc; m., 
Dec. 20, i860, Martha Anna, dau. of William Parker Bowen, of Savannah, Ga. ; no 
issue; 

Col. John Macomb Wetherill, b., Phila., Feb. 11, 1828; educated at private schools and 
Univ. of Pa., and at age of eighteen years went to Pottsville, Pa., to look after manage- 
ment and development of coal lands and mines in Schuylkill co., belonging to the 
family. Upon the outbreak of Civil War, he enlisted at first call for troops and, April 
19, 1861, was mustered into the service as Aide-de-camp and Acting Assistant Adjutant- 
General, in Keim's division of Gen. Robert Patterson's command, and served three 
months in the Shenandoah campaign. At the expiration of his term of service he re- 
enlisted for the war in 82nd Regiment, Pennsylvania Infantry, and was commissioned 
Major. He served with this regiment three years and one month, participating in the 
battles of Yorktown, Williamsburg, Fair Oaks, the Seven Day Fight before Richmond, 
Malvr-rn, Chancellorsville, Antietam, Williamsport, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg, Rap- 
pahar ick, Mine Run, Cold Harbor, Petersburg, and in the Shenandoah Valley with 
Sheri. an, rising to the rank of Colonel, and was honorably mustered out Sej)t. 16, 
1864. He was a candidate on the Democratic ticket for State Senator for his district 
in 1867, but was defeated at the polls. He was a delegate to the Constitutional Con- 
vention of 1873-4. 

Col. Wetherill was president of the Regimental Association of the Eighty-second 
Regiment at the time of his death, which occurred at Pottsville, May 16, 1895, after an 
illness of only ten days. He was unm. He was bur. in the Free Quaker and Bake- 
well burying lot at Fatlands; 

Isabella Bloomfield Wetherill, b. Feb. 14, 1830, d. May 5, 1830; 

Rachel Wetherill, b. May 18, 1831, d. at her residence, 1434 Spruce street, Phila., Nov. 
IQ. igoi ; m. Dr. Addinell Hewson, a distinguished physician of Phila., Surgeon at the 
Wills Eye Hospital, etc., and the fifth of his family as an instructor in anatomy, sur- 
gery and medicine, being a son of Dr. Thomas Hewson, of Phila., and a descendant 



WETHERILL 1005 

of Sir Thomas Hewson, of London, one of the discoverers of the lymphatic system. 
Dr. Addinell Newson d., Phila., 1889, and his wife, Rachel Wetherill, had issue: 
Dr. Addinell Hewson, Jr., of Phila.; 
Thomas Hewson, d. young; 
William Hewson, d. young; 

Isabel Bloomfield Hewson, m., Nov. 3, 1897, William Thurston Manning, of Balti- 
more, an official of the B. & O. R. R. Co.; 
Mary Coxe Hewson, m. April 19, 1893, Rudolph Moorel Booraem, of Phila., for- 
merly of N. Y.; 

Emily Hewson, m., June 10, 1895, Thomas Johnston Miche, Esq., of Baltimore 
Bar. 
William Wetherill, b. Oct. 7, 1833, d. July 16, 1834; 

Joseph Bloomfield Wetherill, b. June 17, 1835, d. 1887 ; m., Jan. 2, 1879, Kate Annette, 
dau. of J. Lawrence Smith, and had issue : 
Cornelia Stewart Wetherill, d. young; 
Isabella Macomb Wetherill. 
Sarah Jane Wetherill, b. Oct. 12, 1836, d. Jan. 10, 1875; m., Jan. 29, 1874, John Stockton 
Hough, M. D., of Phila., and Millbank, N. J., a distinguished physician of Phila., 1869- 
74; lecturer on physiology, Wagner Institute;^ physician at Pennsylvania Hospital, and 
a number of other Philadelphia medical institutions, and the author of a number of 
medical works of international reputation; eldest male representative of Richard 
Hough, Provincial Councillor, 1692-1700; he d., Millbank, May 6, 1900; 
William Henry Wetherill, b. Jan. 20, 1838; m. Elizabeth Putnam Proctor; of whom 

presently ; 
Francis Dring Wetherill, b. June 10, 1839; served during the Civil War as Captain in 
3rd Pennsylvania Cavalry; was taken prisoner, Feb. 25, 1863, confined for three months 
in Libby Prison; was for several years member of firm of Wetherill Brothers, paint 
manufacturers, but retired from business in middle life; ra., Oct. 20, 1870, Caroline 
Jacobs, dau. of John Price Wetherill (2d), by his wife, Caroline Jacobs, and had issue: 
Brinton Wetherill, b. Aug. 12, 1871 ; 

Isabel Macomb Wetherill, b. Dec. 16, 1873 ; ni., Jan. l6, 1899, William Weaver 
Lukens, of Conshohocken, and had issue : 
Francis W. Lukens; 
Charles W. Lukens; 
Alexander M. Lukens; 
William Lukens. 
John Lawrence Wetherill, b. July 10, 1874; read law in office of William Brooke 
Rawle, admitted to Phila. Bar, 1896; served in Spanish-American War as volun- 
teer in First City Troop; 
Caroline Bowen Wetherill, b. July 12, 1876; m. at Christ Church, London, Eng- 
land, June 10, 1907, Josiah Collins, of Seattle, Wash., and had issue : 
Josiah Collins, Jr., b.. March, 1908. 
Charles Wetherill, b. July 20, 1840, d. Sept. 16, 1859; 
Isabella Macomb Wetherill, b. Aug. 21, 1841, d. May 4, 1848; 

Elizabeth Ramsey Wetherill, b. Feb. 14, 1843, d. Feb. 21, 1882; m., 1864, George Inman 
Riche, of Phila., and had issue : 
George Inman Riche, d. inf.; 
Charles Swift Riche, Esq., of Phila. 
Rebecca Gumbes Wetherill, b. 1844; m., 1876, George Tupman; no issue; 
Capt. Alexander Macomb Wetherill, b. May 23, 1845 J enlisted as private in Capt. Landis' 
Independent Company, Penna. Vols., 1862; was appointed an Aide in U. S. Coast 
Survey, and served with both North and South Atlantic Blockading Squadrons during 
Civil War; was appointed Second Lieut, in Sixth Regiment, U. S. Inf., 1867; promoted 
First Lieut., 1875, and Captain, 1890; also served as Regimental Quartermaster from 
1887 to 1890; was killed while leading his command up the heights of San Juan, Cuba, 
July I, 1898, exhorting his men, as he fell, to push on and capture the entrenchments; 
m., 1873, May Hubbard, and had issue: 

Mav Hubbard Wetherill, b. Jan. 12, 1875; m., Sept. 29, 1900, Dr. Benjamin F. Van 
Meter, of Richmond, Va., Surgeon, U. S. A., who served in Capt. Wetherill's 
regiment at Santiago de Cuba; they had two daughters; 
Lieut. Alexander Macomb Wetherill, b. 1877; commissioned Second Lieut. Sixth 
U. S. Inf., Sept. 6, 1898; now Captain in 23rd Regiment, serving in the Philli- 
pines; 
Samuel Wetherill, b. Feb. 22, 1885. 
Isabella Wetherill, b. March 7, 1847, d. April 2, 1869. 



ioo6 WETHERILL 

William H. Wetherill, son of Dr. William and Isabella (Macomb) Wetherill, 
born January 20, 1838, was educated in Philadelphia. When a young man he enter- 
ed the employ of the well-known firm of Samuel & William Welsh, merchants and 
importers, and remained with them for some years. He then engaged in business 
for himself at Boston, Massachusetts, and remained there until the death of his 
father in 1872, when he returned to Philadelphia, to take charge of his father's 
interest in the White Lead Works, established by his grandfather and great-grand- 
father, with which he has since been connected as the ofificial head of the firm, 
known since 1829 as Wetherill & Brother. 

During the Civil War, William H. Wetherill was a resident of Philadelphia, and 
he trained and drilled with the Philadelphia Home Guards, went to the front with 
an "Emergency" Regiment, and was at the battle of Antietam, as sergeant of the 
company commanded by Capt. Charles S. Smith. 

Among the property owned by Samuel Wetherill, Jr., grandfather of William 
H. Wetherill, was "Mill Grove Farm," before mentioned, on the banks of the 
Perkiomen, purchased in 1813, with the view of utilizing the lead deposits thereon, 
and from it a large amount of the lead used in the white lead works was mined for 
some years, the firm later finding it more profitable to bring their material from 
the richer lead deposits in Missouri. A portion of this tract, the old Audubon 
homestead, descended to Dr. William Wetherill, and was his home at his death, 
and from him came to Wilham H. Wetherill, whose country home it still is, and 
has been greatly improved and beautified by him. 

Another family property of the Wetherill family, owned by Mr. Edward Weth- 
erill, is "Chalkley Hall," in Frankford, loaned during the summer months of 1907 
to the College Settlement, as a Country Club, for the crowded inhabitants of the 
Jewish quarter, "Little Italy," and other poor districts of Philadelphia. Under 
the management of Miss Anna Dawes, head worker of the Settlement, the old 
Wetherill Mansion, set back a mile or more from the road and surrounded by 
sturdy chestnuts and maples, has been turned into a club house for the poor labor- 
ers of all nationalties who are permitted to spend two or three weeks at a time in 
this rural retreat; sometimes as many as fifty families occupying it at one time, 
Russians, Poles, Italians and Germans, the college women acting as hostesses, 
initiating this foreign element in our population into ways of decent self respect- 
ing manner of living. 

William H. Wetherill is a member of the Protestant Episcopal Church, and in 
1907 had erected on St. Mary's Church, Locust street, above Thirty-ninth street, 
a beautiful stone tower, eighteen feet square and rising to the height of one hun- 
dred and ten feet. On a tablet in the room below the tower is this inscription : 

"To the glory of God, in loving memory of Harry Flickwir West, who died January 3, 
1906, this spire is erected by his life-long friend, William H. Wetherill." 

The tower was dedicated with impressive ceremonies, October 20, 1907, Mr. 
Wetherill intended also to install a set of chimes in the tower, but the vestry of the 
church opposed it for the reason that they were attached to the original bell, which 
had been cast by J. Wiltbank in 1838, the sound of which is so familiar to the resi- 
dents of the locality. Mr. Wetherill has also placed in the church tower memorial 
windows to the sisters of Mr. West. 

William H. Wetherill has been clerk of the Society of Free Quakers for the last 



WETHERILL 1007 

thirty-five years, succeeding his cousin, John Price Wetherill, and being of the 
fifth generation of the family to serve in that capacity. He is a member of George 
G. Meade Post, No. i. Grand Army of the RepubHc; Union League; Pilgrim's 
Society of Massachusetts; Historical Society of Pennsylvania; Historical Society 
of Montgomery County ; Philadelphia Pink Club ; Apprentices' Library Associa- 
tion ; Pennsylvania Forestry Association ; Philadelphia Audubon Society, and other 
local associations. He is also a member of the Board of Trade of Philadelphia; 
a life member of the House of Refuge, and of the Zoological Gardens Association. 
He is a member of Jordan Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and Washington 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, both of Salem, Massachusetts. 

William H. Wetherill married, October 4, 1863, Elizabeth Putnam, born May 27, 
1842, daughter of Abel and Lydia (Emerson) Proctor, of Massachusetts. 
Issue of William H. and Elizabeth P. (Proctor) Wetherill: 

Alice Putnam Wetherill, b. Aug. 13, 1867, d. Aug. 17, 1868; 

Edgar Macomb Wetherill, b. April 11, i86g, d. 1887; 

Henry Emerson Wetherill, M. D., b. May 19, 1871 ; graduate of Univ. of Pa., and prac- 
ticing physician of Phila. ; 

Herbert Johnson Wetherill, b. May 19, 1873; ru-> Oct. 7, 1903, Mary Rowe Dunn; resides 
in Phila.; they had issue: Anna Wetherill, b. Sept. 21, 1905; 

Abel Proctor Wetherill, b. July 24, 1876; now associated with his father and younger 
brother, Webster King Wetherill, in the manufacture of white lead in Phila. ; m., 1905, 
Sarah Reeve Mullen ; 

Webster King Wetherill, b. Oct. 19, 1878; member of the family firm in the manufacture 
of white lead, with his father and elder brother, Abel Proctor Wetherill; m., June I, 
1904, Georgine Vaux Cresson; 

Francis Macomb Wetherill, b. January 27, 1882; student at General Theological Semi- 
nary, New York City. 



LIPPINCOTT FAMILY. 

The family of Lippincott was an ancient one in Devonshire, whence Richard 
Lippincott came to New England prior to 1640. The name is possibly a corrup- 
tion of Lovecote, mentioned in Domesday Book, compiled in 1080, and the estate, 
still bearing the ancient name, is located in Highampton, about thirty miles south- 
west of Webworthy, the seat of the Lippincott family for three hundred and fifty 
years. Luffincott, another corruption of the ancient name, being a parish, some 
twenty miles west of Lovecote on the western border of Devon. The last of the 
Webworthy family was Henry Luppincott, who died in Barcelona, Spain, in 1779. 
A branch of this family removed to Sedbury, East Devon, in the middle of the 
sixteenth century from which descended Henry Lippincott, a distinguished mer- 
chant of Bristol, England, who was made a baronet in 1778 by George HL Numer- 
ous Coats-of-Arms have been granted the family at different periods. 

Richard Lippincott, the ancestor of the family in New Jersey and Pennsyl- 
vania, was an early Puritan settler in New England. On April i, 1640 he was 
chosen as a town officer of Dorchester, Massachusetts, and he was admitted a free- 
man of that town May 13, 1640. He removed a few years later to Boston, where 
his son John Lippincott was born November 6, 1644, and baptized four days later, 
as shown by the records of the First Church of Boston. The baptismal record 
shows that the father was "a member of the Church att Dorchester." He does not 
seem to have been entirely in accord with the rigid creed of the Puritan church, 
and had a difference with his church through which he was excluded from com- 
munion on July 6, 1651. Soon after this date he returned with his family to Eng- 
land, and became allied with the Society of Friends. With others of that sect he 
suffered persecution for his religious faith. On February, 1655, he was arrested 



Papers in the possession of the family of the late J. Dundas Lippincott, of Philadelphia,, 
show the descent of Richard Lippincott, of Devonshire, who came to Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts, prior to 1640, to have been as follows : 

Robert de Lughertcot, held the manor of Luffencot, county Devon, from 27, of Henry 
III., and granted the same to his younger son; 

Jordan de Lughencot, who held same from 24, of Edward L; 

Thomas de Lughencot, held same from 19, of Edward IIL; 

John de Lughencott, held same in time of Edward IIL; 

Nicholas de Luffincott, held same in time of Henry IV., and in second year of Henry 
V. granted it to his son; 

John de Luffiincott, who married in 1413, A. D., Jane Wibbery, of Wyberry, county 
Devrn, daughter and heiress of John Wibbery, whose son, 

John Lippincott, of Wibbery, bore the Arms of the Lughencott family quartered with 
those of Wibbery; m. Jane de Laploads, of Sydbury, county Devon, whose son, 

Philip Lippincott, of Wibbery, m. Alice, dau. and co-heiress of Richard Gough, of Kil- 
ham, CO. Cornwall. M. (second) Jane Larder, of Upton Pym, county Devon; (third) 
Alice Dyrrant, of Escomb. By Alice Gough. had issue : 

John Lippincott, eldest son, whose issue became extinct with Henry Lippincott, of Barce- 
lona, in 1779; 

Daughters, Margaret, Frances and Mary, and a second son; 

Anthony Lippencott, m. and had issue; 

Bartholomew Lippincott, had issue; 

Anthony Lippincott, b. 1593, father of Richard Lippincott, who came to Mass. and, 

Thomas, b. 1598; 

Dorothy, b. 1599; 

Jane, 

Mary, b. 1604; 

Bartholomew, b. 1607. 



LIPPINCOTT 1009 

at Plymouth, Devonshire, by the Mayor of Plymouth, and confined in or near the 
Castle of Exeter, and again arrested by order of the mayor in 1660, being later 
released at the solicitation of Margaret Fell, who became the wife of George Fox 
in 1669. 

In 1661 or 1662, Richard Lippincott again sailed for America, and located in 
Rhode Island, then the asylum of several religious sects driven out of the Massa- 
chusetts Colony by the intolerant Puritans. He joined in the formation of an 
Association at Newport, Rhode Island in 1664, for the purpose of securing title 
from the Indians to a large tract of land in New Jersey, and was the largest con- 
tributor to the fund raised for that purpose. The purchase was effected from the 
Indian Sachem, Popomma, on April 8, 1665, and the land was confirmed to the 
Rhode Island company on the following day by Patent from Governor NichoUs. 
By the terms of the grant all who settled within its limits were to have "free liberty 
of Conscience, without any molestation or Disturbance whatsoever in their way of 
Worship," and it was stipulated that at least one hundred families should settle 
thereon within the space of three years. Richard Lippincott settled at Shrews- 
bury, Monmouth county, and was one of the founders of Shrewsbury Friends' 
Meeting of which he was one of the most prominent and active members through- 
out the remainder of his life. He also took a prominent part in Provincial affairs. 
The first Provincial Assembly was organized in the Province in 1667, and he be- 
came a representative therein in 1668 from Shrewsbury. In 1670 he was made one 
of the "Associates of the Patentees," the first local court of judicature. He was 
again elected to the Assembly in 1677, and was Coroner of Monmouth county in 
1682-3. On August 9, 1676, he obtained a patent for 1000 acres of John Fenwick 
to be surveyed and laid out in his Colony, and it was surveyed to him on "Cohan- 
zick River and Wee-hatt-quack Creek." On May 20 and 21, 1679, he conveyed 
this tract in equal portions of 200 acres each to his five sons. None of them how- 
ever settled thereon, all disposing of it prior to 1700. Richard Lippincott died at 
Shrewsbury, November 26, 1683, leaving a will dated November 23, 1683. His 
wife, Abigail, whom he had married at Roxbury, Massachusetts, survived him 
fourteen years, and died 6rao. 2, 1.697- Her will, bearing date June 28, 1697, was 
proven August 24, 1697, and mentions her grandson, John, son of son John, widow 
and children of son Freedom ; grandchildren, Abigail, Sybiah and Rachel, daugh- 
ters of daughter Increase, wife of Samuel Dennis; sons. Restore and Remem- 
brance, and the Friends' Meeting at Shrewsbury. 
Issue of Richard and Abigail Lippincott: 

Remembrance, bap. at Dorchester, Mass., Sept. 19, 1641, d. at Shrewsbury, N. J., ApriJ 
II, 1723; a large landholder there; m. Margaret Barber; had three sons and five daugh- 
ters; 

John, b., Boston, Oct. 7, 1644, d. at Shrewsbury, April 16, 1720; m. (first) Sarah Hewett, 
(second) Jeanette Austin or Aston; sons — Preserve, John and Robert; daughters — 
Mary, Anne and Margaret; 

Abigail, b., Boston, Mass., Jan. 17, 1646-7, d. March 9, 1646-7; 

Restore, b., Plymouth, England, July 3, 1652, d., Burlington co., N. J., July 1741 ; of 
whom presently; 

Freedom, b., Plymouth, England, Sept. I, 1655, d. at Wellenborough, Burlington co.^ 
N. J.; "Tanner" letters of Admrn. to his brother. Restore, June 15, 1697; m- Mary 
Curtis; had son, Samuel, and other children; 

Increase, b., Plymouth, England, Dec. 5, 1657, d., Shrewsbury, N. J., Nov. 29, 169S; m. 
Samuel Dennis; 



loio LIPPINCOTT 

Jacob, b. May ii, 1660, d., Shrewsbury, N. J., Feb. 6, 1689; m. Ruth Wooley, and had 

issue — Jacob and Ruth; 
Preserve, b., R. I., Feb. 25, 1663, d., Shrewsbury, N. J., March, 1666. 

Restore Lippincott, third son of Richard and Abigail, born at Plymouth, 
Devonshire, England, July 3, 1653, came to Shrewsbury, Monmouth county, New 
Jersey, with his parents, when a lad of a dozen years, and lived there until about 
1692, though he had purchased land in Northampton township, Burlington county, 
near Mt. Holly, as early as 1688, and was living on the 570 acres purchased in that 
year of Thomas Olive, when it was conveyed to him September 21, 1692. On 
January 10, 1699-1700 he conveyed 309 acres of the 570 acre tract to his son Sam- 
uel, and continued to reside on the balance of the tract until his death July 20, 
1 741. He was a member of the West Jersey Assembly from Burlington county 
in 1701 and, with other members of the Assembly and Provincial Council, petition- 
ed King William to confirm Andrew Hamilton as Governor of the Colony. The 
following year the Proprietors of East and West Jersey surrendered their govern- 
mental rights to the Crown and Queen Anne united them into one Colony and ap- 
pointed Lord Cornbury Governor. The first Assembly of the united Province met 
at Perth Amboy in 1703, and Restore Lippincott was one of the representatives 
of Burlington county in that Assembly ; was re-elected in 1704 and continued to 
serve until the Assembly was dissolved in 1706. He was an active and esteemed 
member of Mt. Holly Friends Meeting and the. Meeting was held at his house prior 
to the erection of the Meeting House in 1716. He married at Shrewsbury, Novem- 
ber 6, 1674, Hannah Shattuck, daughter of William Shattuck, born at Boston, July 
8, 1654, died prior to 1729, in which year he married (second) Martha, widow of 
Joshua Owen, of Springfield, and daughter of John Shinn, of Springfield, Bur- 
lington county. 

Issue of Restore and Haiwiah (Shattuck) Lippincott: 

Samuel b., Shrewsbury, Sept. 12, 1675, d. in Northampton township, BurHngton cc, N. J., 

1721; m., July 3, 1700, Ann Hulett; 
Abigail, b. Feb. 16, 1677; m., May 3, 1697, James Shinn; 
Hannah, b. Nov. 15, 1679; 

Hope, b. Oct., 1681 ; m., April 15, 1701, William Gladding; 
Rebecca, b. Nov. 24, 1684; m., June S, 1704, Josiah Gaskill; 
James, b. June 11, 1687, d. 1760; m., Nov. 10, 1709, Anna Eves, of Evesham, Burlington 

CO.; of whom presently; 
Elizabeth, b. March 15, 1690; m., June, 1712, George Shinn; 
Jacob, b. Aug.,_ 1692; m. July i, 1716, Mary, dau. of Henry and Elizabeth (Hudson) Burr, 

and settled in Salem co. ; was ancestor of Joshua Lippincott, Phila., director of the 

Bank of the United States, president of the Lehigh Navigation Co., etc. ; of whom 

later; 

Rachel, b. Jan. 8, 1695; m. (first), March 11, 1713, Zachariah Jess; and (second), Nov. 
19, 1729, Francis Dawson. 

James Lippincott, second son of Restore and Hannah (Shattuck) Lippincott, 
born at Shrewsbury, Monmouth county. New Jersey, June 11, 1687, removed with 
his parents to Northampton township, Burlington county, when a child. He mar- 
ried November 10, 1709, Anna, daughter of Thomas Eves, one of the Proprietors 
of West Jersey, who came from London, England, purchasing one-thirty-second 
share of the West Jersey lands of Thomas Olive, February 26, 1676-7. He settled 
on Mill Creek in Burlington county, in what became Evesham township, named for 
him, where he died in February, 1728-9. His wife was Mary Roberts, whom he 



LIPPINCOTT loii 

survived. James and Anna (Eves) Lippincott resided in Northampton township,, 
and were members of Evesham Friends' Meeting. 
Issue of James and Anna (Eves) Lippincott: 

John, m., April, 1740, Elizabeth Elkington; settled in Evesham township; 

James, d. 1782; m. (first), Nov., 1748, Meribah Rockhill, and (second), in 1751, Elizabeth 

Lippincott, a widow; 
Daniel, d. 1776; m. Elizabeth Pim; 

Jonathan, m., March 13, 1746, his first cousin, Anna Eves; of whom presently; 
Moses, d. 1752; m., July, 1750, Meribah Mullen, who m. (second), in 1753, Daniel Wills; 
Aaron, d. in Evesham, 1810; m., 1753, Elizabeth , dau. of Ephraim and Sarah Tomlinson; 
Increase, m., gmo. 24, 1737, Joshua Humphreys; 
Anna, m. Thomas Taylor; 
Jerusha, m., April 16, 1751, Amos Rockhill, of Mansfield. 

Jonathan Lippincott, son of James and Anna (Eves) Lippincott, resided first 
in Evesham and later in Northampton township, Burlington county. New Jersey. 
He died in 1759. He married, March 13, 1746-7, his cousin Anna, daughter of 
Samuel and Mary Eves, of Evesham, the former being a brother of his mother 
Anna Eves. They were disowned by the Friends for their marriage, the marriage 
of first cousins being contrary to "the good order maintained among Friends." 
Issue of Jonathan and Anna (Eves) Lippincott: 

James, m., Jan. 28, 1771, Susannah Evans; 

Levi Lippincott, b. about 1749, d. 1818; m. Lettice Wills; of whom presently; 

William, m., Aug. 9, 1779, Rhoda Leishman; 

Samuel, of whom we have no record. 

Levi Lippincott, second son of Jonathan and Anna (Eves) Lippincott, born 
in Evesham township, Burlington county. New Jersey, about 1749, spent his whole 
life as a farmer in that township, dying there in 1818. He married, April 12, 1773,, 
Lettice, born September 5, 1754, died October, 1841, daughter of Micajah and Re- 
becca Wills, and of a family long prominent in Burlington county. 
Issue of Levi and Lettice (Wills) Lippincott: 

A child, b. in 1774, d. inf.; 

Reuben, b. Sept. 23, 1775, d. young and unm.; 

Joab, b. Oct. 2, 1777, d. young and unm.; 

Beulah, b. Oct. 20, 1779, d. unm.; 

Ann, b. Oct. 30, 1781 ; m. William Kaighn; 

Jacob Wills Lippincott, b. Sept. 10, 1783, d. about 1834; m. Sarah Ballinger; of whom 

presently; 
Amy, b. Aug. 29, 1785, d. young and unm.; 
William, b. 1788, d. young and unm.; 
James Wills, b. 1790, d. Nov. 11, 1819, unm.; 
Elizabeth, b. 1792, d. about 1827; m. Jacob Hollingshead. 

Jacob Wills Lippincott, born in Evesham township, Burlington county. New 
Jersey, September 10, 1783, resided in that township and Springfield township in 
the same county. He died about 1834. He married, February 6, 1812, Sarah, 
born near Medford, New Jersey, June 25, 1789, died September 25, 1873, daugh- 
ter of Joshua Ballinger, of Burlington county. New Jersey, by his wife Rebecca 
Moore, whom he married at Burlington, November 17, 1783, and a lineal descend- 



IOI2 LIPPINCOTT 

ant of Henry Ballinger, one of the Proprietors of West Jersey in 1684, and Mary, 
his wife, a daughter of Thomas Harding, another of the Proprietors of West 
Jersey. 

Joshua Ballinger Lippincott, only child of Jacob Wills and Sarah (Ball- 
inger) Lippincott, was born at Juhustown, Burlington county, New Jersey, March 
18, 1813. He received his early education in the schools of that town, and at the 
age of sixteen years came to Philadelphia, and was employed in a book store at 
Fourth and Race streets for two years. His employer having failed in business at 
the end of that period, the creditors placed the affairs of the store in the hands of 
Mr. Lippincott. 

He had full charge of the establishment, and conducted it for five years. In 1836 
he borrowed $2,000 of his mother, the only pecuniary assistance he ever received, 
and launched out into business for himself in the publishing and sale of books, 
under the firm name of J. B. Lippincott & Company, a firm that in the next twenty- 
five years became one of the principal publishing houses in the United States. The 
first fourteen years were devoted principally to the publication of Bibles, prayer- 
books, and various religious publications. Among the latter were a Commentary 
on the Bible in six volumes, and "The Comprehensive Encyclopaedia of Religious 
Knowledge," which met with a large sale. The business under his energetic and 
capable management was very successful and, in 1849, h^ purchased the entire 
stock of the extensive book jobbing and stationary establishment of Grigg, Elliott 
& Co., then the largest establishment of its kind in Philadelphia. Establishing a 
thoroughly equipped jobbing department, he reorganized the business in 1850 
under the firm name of Lippincott, Grambo & Company, and subsequently located 
his principal establishment in a six-story building at Fourth and Commerce streets, 
owned by him, with a manufacturing establishment in a five-story building at Fifth 
and Cresson streets. In 1851 he made a business trip to Europe and secured the 
American agency for the English firm of Robert & William Chambers, and placed 
his mammoth establishment in the fore front of the book trade in America. Mr. 
■Grambo retired in 1855, and the old firm name of J. B. Lippincott & Company was 
resumed and under it the house maintained its supremacy in that line of trade for 
almost a half century. In 1868 he issued the first edition of Lippincott's Magazine, 
to this day one of the leading literary monthlies. In 1857 he estabHshed the 
Medico-Chirurgical Review and continued it until 1861, when it was succeeded by 
the Medical Times. The publication of the standard and current books of litera- 
ture and science brought its founder and head in contact with the leading thinkers 
and writers of his time, while the acknowledged merit of the text books, encyclo- 
paedias and other works that were distinctively the creation of the firm, illustrate 
his tireless energy and business capacity for all the details of his business. He 
ranked for many years as one of the leading business men of Philadelphia and held 
a large interest in many great enterprises. In 1854 he became a director of the 
Farmers and Mechanics National Bank; in 1861 one of the managers of the Phila- 
delphia Saving Fund Society; in 1862 a manager of the Pennsylvania Company 
for Insurance on Lives and Granting Annuities, and was for twenty years one of 
the active managers of the Philadelphia and Reading Railway Company. In 1874 
he became a member of the Board of Trustees of Jefferson Medical College, and 
in 1876, of that of the University of Pennsylvania, and gave active and liberal sup- 
port to both of these institutions; was conspicuously active in the founding and 



LIPPINCOTT 1013 

support of the School of Veterinary Medicine of the University. He was also for 
several years president of the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. 
At his death on January 5, 1886, all these boards with which he had been so active- 
ly associated passed resolutions, testifying their appreciation of his worth and serv- 
ices and their loss in his death. Resolutions were also adopted by representatives 
of the book trade in Philadelphia, offered by Henry T. Coates, from which we 
■quote the following: "In the death of Joshua B. Lippincott, Philadelphia mourns 
the loss of one of her best known and most active citizens, and the book trade its 
foremost and ablest member, one to whose energy, decision of character and fore- 
sight is due the building up of the great house which has aided in making Philadel- 
phia known and respected not only in this country but also over the whole civilized 
world. 

"As a business man he laid the foundations of the house which bears his name, 
upon the broad principles of commercial honor and personal integrity, and did 
much to make the name of a Philadelphia merchant respected and trusted. As a 
citizen he was enterprising and public-spirited, and as a wise and safe counsellor 
did much to promote many of the great enterprises in which our city is so deeply 
interested. Straightforward in all his dealings, and courteous in his manner to all, 
he ever held to the high principle that a merchant's word should be as good as his 
bond. His name will be one of the memories of the book trade of Philadelphia, 
and the great house which he founded and which bears his name." 

He was one of the founders of the Union Club, which became later the Union 
League, the Social Art Club, and a number of other societies. He married, Octo- 
ber 16, 1845, Josephine, the accomplished daughter of Seth Craige, one of Phila- 
delphia's leading manufacturers, by his wife Angelina Shaw, and a descendant of 
,a family long prominent in the business and social affairs of Philadelphia. She 
was born November 19, 1823. 

Issue of Joshua B. and Josephine (Craige) Lippincott: 

Craige Lippincott, b., Phila., Nov. 4, 1846; m. Sallie E. Bucknell; of whom presently; 
Walter Lippincott, b., Phila., March 21, 1849; entered Univ. of Pa., 1862; entered firm 
of J. B. Lippincott, publishers, on leaving school and retained interest therein after his 
father's death; m., Oct. 21, 1879, Elizabeth Trotter, dau. of Sigismund Hoeckley 
Horstmann, of Phila., and they have issue : 
Bertha Horstmann Lippincott; 
Josephine Sarah Lippincott, b., Phila., Dec. 31, 1850; m., June ig, 1873, at Phila., James J. 

Goodwin, and had issue — three sons; 
Joshua Bertram Lippincott, b. at Melmar, his father's country seat, near Huntingdon 
Valley. Montgomery Co., Pa., Aug. 24, 1857; entered Univ. of Pa., 1874; became mem- 
ber of J. B. Lippincott & Co., publishing house, and has. been vice-president of the 
company since Feb., 1886; is trustee of Univ. of Pa.; manager of Veterinary Hospital; 
member of Historical Society of Pennsylvania; and of a number of clubs and other 
social organizations; ra., April 21, 1885, Joanna, b. Dec. 16, 1858, dau. of Joseph and 
Anna (Levering) ^A^harton, of Phila. They have issue: 
Joseph Wharton Lippincott, b. Feb. 28, 1887; 
Marianna Lippincott, b. Sept. 9, i8go; 
Sarah Lippincott, b. July 14, 1894; 
Bertram Lippincott, b. Nov. 15, 1897. 

Craige Lippincott, eldest son of Joshua B. and Josephine (Craige) Lippin- 
cott, born in Philadelphia, November 4, 1846, was educated at the University of 
Pennsylvania, entering that institution in 1862, and finishing his education in 
Europe. He entered the publishing house of J. B. Lippincott & Co. in 1866, and 



IOI4 LIPPINCOTT 

has since been prominently identified with that company, succeeding his father as. 
President of the J. B. Lippincott Co. in 1886, the latter having been President of 
the company from its incorporation a year prior to his death. He is a member 
of the Mayflower Descendants ; of the Pennsylvania Society Sons of the Revolu- 
tion, and of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania; and of the Union League, Art 
and Rittenhouse clubs. He married, April 13, 1871, Sallie E., born in Philadelphia, 
June 4, 1848, daughter of William and Harriet M. (Ashton) Bucknell, of Phila- 
delphia, and they reside on West Rittenhouse Square. 
Issue of Craige and Sallie E. (Bucknell) Lippincott: 

Jay Bucknell Lippincott, b., Phila., Feb. i, 1872; m., Jan. 20, 1897, Camilla Elizabeth, b., 
St. Paul, Minn., Sept. I, 1879, dau. of Luther R. and Virginia (Hancock) Hare; they 
have issue : 

Cammilla Hare Lippincott, b. Oct. i, 1897; 
Priscilla Lippincott. 
Josephine Lippincott, b., Phila., Nov. 4, 1874; m. Maurice J. K., son of Paul S. Reeves, 

and have issue; 
Constance Lippincott, b., Phila., Sept. 17, 1883. 

Jacob Lippincott, youngest son of Restore and Hannah (Shattuck) Lippincott, 
born in Northampton township, Burlington county, New Jersey, about the middle 
of August, 1692, married, July i, 1716, Mary, daughter of Henry and EHzabeth 
(Hudson) Burr, born near Mt. Holly, Burlington county, New Jersey, in 1698. 
Her father, Henry Burr, having emigrated from London, England, about 1682, 
and located in that vicinity, became a large landowner. Her mother, Elizabeth 
Hudson, was a daughter of Robert and Mary Hudson, early settlers in Burlington 
county. Her eldest brother, John Burr, married as second wife, Susanna (Hud- 
son), widow of Robert Owen, of Philadelphia, and daughter of William Hudson, 
one of the early Mayors of Philadelphia, some account of whom is given in this 
work. 

Jacob and Mary (Burr) Lippincott spent the first twenty-five years of their mar- 
ried life in Burlington county, and in 1741, removed to Greenwich, Gloucester 
county, near Swedesboro and the line of Salem county. New Jersey, about three 
miles from MulHca Hill. Jacob Lippincott died prior to 1754. 
Issue of Jacob and Mary (Burr) Lippincott: 

Joseph, b. 1718, d. 1773; m., April 3, 1752, Rebecca Coates; 
Benjamin, m. Hope Wills, Jan. 9, 1741; 

Restore, m., in 1752, Ann Lord, and (second) Deborah Cooper; 
Caleb, m. Hannah, dau. of Daniel and Elizabeth (Woolston) Wills; 
Jacob, settled in Bucks Co., Pa.; 

Joshua, of Salem, m., 1767, Rebecca Wood, widow of James; 
Samuel, m., Jan. 7, 1758, EHzabeth Applyn; 
Caleb, m. Hannah Will; 

William, removed to Phila.; m. Sarah Bispham; of whom presently; 
Hannah, m., July 4, 1748, Joshua Lord, of Woodbury; 

Mary, m., 1746, Jacob, son of Thomas and Abigail Spicer, of Gloucester Co.; 
Sarah, m. (first) William Haines, and (second), Feb. 13, 1760, Azariah Shinn, of Glou- 
cester Co. 

William Lippincott, youngest son of Jacob and Mary (Burr) Lippincott, of 
Greenwich, New Jersey, removed to Philadelphia when a young man, and became 
identified with many of the institutions of the city. He was one of the earliest 




/^ l4>i^i^^^ ct2^^^5#^c*^^ 



77v. /,.^iJ/i'j J'uiikir-^ini; 



LIPPINCOTT lois 

members of the Pennsylvania Society for the AboHtion of Slavery, being elected 
a member May 29, 1775. He married Sarah Bispham. 
Issue of William and Sarah (Bispham) Lippincott: 

JosHUAj m. Sarah Ann Wetherill; of whom presently; 
William, m. Christiana Barnes; 
Mary, m. Samuel Yorke. 

Issue of Joshua and Sarah Ann (Wetherill) Lippincott: 

Sarah Ann, m., in 1821, Benjamin W. Richards, Mayor of Phila., 1832; 

Mary ; 

Selena, d. unm. ; 

Samuel, d. unm. ; 

William, m. Mary Wilmer; 

Joshua, m. Agnes Keene, grandniece of James Dundas, Lord Dunira. 

Issue of Joshua and Agnes (Keene) Lippincott: 

James Dundas, b. 1839; of whom later; 
Anna Maria, m. Maj. William. Wurts t)undas. 

James Dundas Lippincott, son of Joshua and Agnes (Keene) Lippincott, was 
born in 1839, in Philadelphia and died jyiarch 6, 1905, of pneumonia. His life was 
spent largely in his native city. He graduated froni Princeton University with the 
class of 1861. He was twice married— first to. Alice, daughter of Thomas Potter, 
of Princeton, New Jersey. November 21, 1903, he married Isabelle, daughter of 
Gen. and Mrs. Francis Arrnstrong, formerly of Missouri, but at thfe commence- 
ment of President Cleveland's second adrninistration the family removed tg Wash- 
ington, D. C, Gen. Arnistrong having been appointed Coipmissioner of Indian 
Affairs. 
23 



NEWBOLD FAMILY. 

The Newbold family of Philadelphia was founded in America by Michael New- 
bold, of Sheffield Park, county York, England, who came to Burlington county, 
New Jersey, 1680, having purchased of George Hutchinson, of Sheffield, by deed 
of lease and release dated January 28 and 29, 1677-8, one-eighth of three-nine- 
tieths of the Province of West Jersey, which Hutchinson had purchased of 
Edward Byllinge, March i, 1676-7. Michael Newbold was born in 1623, and was 
a son of Thomas Newbold, of Parish of Handsworth, Yorkshire, who was a 
younger son of John Newbold, of Hackenthorpe, county Derby. 

Michael Newbold was born in the parish of Handsworth, but in 1664 removed 
to Sheffield Park, same county, where he held lands as tenant-in-fee of the Earl 
of Shaftesbury, until his emigration to New Jersey. "Godfrey Newbould, of 
Handsworth Woodhouse, Parish of Handsworth County of Yorke, Gentleman," 
was also a proprietary of West Jersey. On September 3, 1681, Thomas Revel, 
Surveyor General for the Proprietors of West Jersey, surveyed to Michael New- 
bold, 400 acres on the south side of Assinnicunk or Birch creek, near the present 
site of Bordentown, and many other tracts were later surveyed to him in right of 
his purchase before mentioned. He brought with him from England nine of his 
eleven children and wife Anne, and settled in Burlington county, where he died in 
February, 1692-3. He was one of the first magistrates of Burlington county and 
prominent in public affairs. His will dated May 19, 1690, proved February 25, 
1692-3, a codicil having been added November 19, 1692, mentions his wife Anne; 
son Samuel, and daughter Anne, wife of James Nutt, in England ; and his other 
children, Joshua, (who died in Chesterfield, in 1709) John, (who seems to have 
returned to England,) is given a legacy "if he returns to West Jersey;" Michael, 
of whom presently) ; Lettice, and her six children; James, (who died in Mans- 
field in 1697 without male issue) ; Thomas, (who died in Mansfield in 1696, un- 
married) ; Mary, and her four children ; Margaret, and her four children ; grand- 
son Gershom, son of daughter Alice. He was possessed of a large personal estate, 
a goodly part of which was in England ; several plantations and 600 acres of land 
not yet taken up, besides several lots in Burlington. 

Of the daughters of Michael and Anne Newbold, mentioned in the above quoted 
will of their father, Lettice married, December 6, 1683, John Woolston Jr., of 
Burlington, of a family later prominent on the west side of the Delaware ; Mary, 
married by license dated May 12, 1684, Dededia Higgins, of Burlington, later of 
Somerset county. New Jersey ; Margaret, married by license dated December 30, 
1686, Daniel Wills Jr., of Burlington, son of Daniel Wills, "Practitioner in 
Physick, of the Towne of Northampton," England, who became one of the Pro- 
prietaries of West Jersey and a prominent official; and James, a son, married 
by license dated January 16, 1695, Elizabeth Powell, who married (second) by 
license dated December 21, 1699, Jacob Decow. 

Michael Newbold Jr., son of Michael and Anne Newbold, born in England, 
succeeded to a large part of his father's lands and estate in Burlington county, 
and purchased other lands there, owning at the time of his death, 1721, a farm of 



NEWBOLD 1017 

300 acres in Springfield township, upon which he resided ; 500 acres in the upper 
part of Springfield, and 400 acres in Hunterdon county. His personal estate 
amounted to nearly £700, including two negro slaves. He like his father was a 
Justice of Burlington county, and he also served as an officer under Col. Daniel 
Cox. His will dated November 29, 1721, mentions children: Thomas, Michael, 
Ann Beetle, Sarah, Barzilla and Margaret. 

Michael Newbold Jr. married Sarah, daughter of John Qeayton, one of the 
earliest settlers of Shrewsbury river, Monmouth county. East Jersey, where he 
resided until about 1699, when he removed to Chesterfield township, Burlington 
county, where he died in May, 1704. He was a planter and possessed of a large 
landed and personal estate in New Jersey, both in Monmouth and Burlington 
counties. 

Issue of Michael and Sarah (Cleayton) Newbold: 

Sarah Newbold, b. Nov. 29, 1700; m. Thomas Boude, of Phila. and West Jersey; 
Thomas Newbold, b. 1702, of whom presently; 

Michael Newbold, m. April 15, 1730, Susannah Schooley, and had several children, 
among them : 

Anna Newbold, m. Anthony Taylor, of Brookdale Farm, Burlington Co., and 
was the mother of Anthony Taylor, Jr., of the Phila. firm of Taylor & New- 
bold, and of Mary and Anna Taylor, successively the wives of Thomas New- 
bold, the other member of the firm of Taylor & Newbold. Mary, wife of the 
senior member, being dau. of Caleb Newbold, of Springfield twp., Burlington 
CO., N. J.; 
John Newbold, m. Mary Cole, and was the father of Rachel Newbold, who m. 
her cousin, Daniel Newbold, Judge of Common Pleas, Court of Burlington 
CO., 1797; 
Rebecca Newbold, b. Aug. 13, 1739, d. Nov. 16, 1774; m. Dec. 20, 1764, Thomas 

Earl, of Springfield, Burlington Co.; 
Cleayton Newbold, m. Mary Foster; 
Joseph Newbold ; 
Mary Newbold, m. Robert Emley; 
Susan Newbold, m. Samuel Hough. 
Barzilla Newbold; 
Ann Newbold; 
Margaret Newbold. 

Thomas Newbold, son of Michael and Sarah (Qeayton) Newbold, born in 
Mansfield township, Burlington county, 1702, died in that county in 1741. Like 
his father and grandfather, he took a prominent part in public affairs during the 
brief term of his mature years. He was a Justice of Burlington County Courts, 
1739, and until his death, and was frequently called upon to act as an executor, 
administrator, trustee, etc., in the settlement of estates, though practically a young 
man at his death. He married at BurHngton Friends Meeting, Edith, daughter of 
Marmaduke Coate by his wife, Anne, daughter of Edward Pole, of Somersetshire, 
England, who had brought a certificate to Burlington Meeting from a Monthly 
Meeting held at Sutton, for the Southern Division of the County of Somerset, 
England, dated 3mo. (May) 25, 1715. Edith (Coate) Newbold married (second) 
Daniel Doughty, and survived her first husband many years. 
Issue of Thomas and Edith (Coate) Newbold: 

Michael, b. April 6, 1726, d. y.; 

Mary, b. Feb. II, 1728; 

Caleb, b. Feb. 16, 1731 (from whom descend the Newbolds of New York): 

Hannah, b. May 27, 1734; 

William, b. Sept. 10, 1736. 



ioi8 NEWBOLD 

William Newbold, son of Thomas and Edith (Coate) Newbold, born 9, 10, 
1736, died in Mansfield township, BurHngton county, 1794. He married, under 
the auspices of Chesterfield Monthly Meeting, (intentions declared 4mo. (April) 
7, 1757), Susannah, born 1736, daughter of John Stevenson, by his second wife, 
Margaret Wood, and granddaughter of Thomas Stevenson, (1648-1734) by his 
wife, Elizabeth, only daughter of Capt. William Lawrence, of Long Island. 
Thomas Stevenson was one of the prominent men of the English Colony on Long 
Island, holding in succession the offices of Overseer (1676), Constable (1678), 
Commissioner (1684), and Justice, (commissioned October 20, 1685). He pur- 
chased land in West Jersey in 1699, which descended to his son John above named.' 
The latter was born at Newtown, Long Island, about 1678, and moved to his 
father's land on Doctor's creek, Nottingham township, Burlington county, New 
Jersey, about 1700. On March 7, 1705-6, he requested a certificate from Chester- 
field Meeting to Burlington Meeting, to marry Mercy Jennings, and in 1712 his 
father conveyed to him the 1000 acres on Doctor's creek, upon which he resided 
until 1727, when he purchased 200 acres in Hunterdon county, two miles south of 
Quakertown, where he resided until his death in 1744, being one of the organizers 
and a trustee of Quakertown Friends Meeting, then known as Kingwood Meet- 
ing. His first wife, Mercy, daughter of Governor Samuel Jennings, died prior to 
1724, in which year John Stevenson married (second) Margaret, daughter of 
John and Susannah Wood, of Chesterfield township, Burlington county. Susan- 
nah (Stevenson) Newbold was second child of this second marriage. Her uncle, 
Thomas Stevenson Jr. (1674-1719), was a large landowner in Bucks and Phila- 
delphia counties, Pennsylvania, and a member of Pennsylvania Assembly, 1710-19. 
Issue of William and Susannah (Stevenson) Newbold: 

Barzilla Newbold, b. 1759, d. Feb., 181S; m. 1788, Euphemia Reading, b. 1761, d. 1837; 

Thomas Newbold, b. Aug. 2, 1760, d. Dec. 18, 1823; m. (first) at Chesterfield Meeting, 
Feb. 19, 1789, Mary, dau. of Anthony and Anna (Newbold) Taylor, before referred 
to; (second) her sister, Ann Taylor. He was many years a merchant in Phila., in 
partnership with his brother-in-law and cousin, Anthony Taylor, Jr., under the firm 
name of Taylor & Newbold; 

Charles Newbold, b. May 26, 1764, d. Jan. 24, 18 — ; m. Hope Sands; 

Edith Newbold, b. June 30, 1766, d. April 16, 1842; m. Oct. 28, 1789, Joseph E. Laurie; 

WiLLTAM Newbold, b. April 6, 1770, d. Aug. 11, 1841; m. Mary Smith; of whom pres- 
ently; 

John Newbold, b. March 17, 1772, d. June 6, 1841; m. Nov. 12, 1795, Elizabeth Lawrie, 
b. Jan. 2, 1775, d. March 9. 1843; 

Susan Newbold, b. 1774, d. 1829; m. 1794, Thomas Clayton. 

William Newbold, fourth son of William and Susannah (Stevenson) New- 
bold, born in Mansfield township, Burlington county. New Jersey, April 6, 1770, 
removed to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and was engaged in business there until 
his death, August 11, 1841. He married at Christ Church, Philadelphia, Novem- 
ber 15, 1794, Mary, daughter of John Smith, of Philadelphia. She died April 9, 
1816. 

Issue of William and Mary (Smith) Neivbold: 

John Smith Newbold, b. 1795, d. 1815; 

Sarah Newbold, b. 1797, d. 1816; 

Susan Newbold, b. 1799, d. 1859; 

Abigail Ann Newbold, b. 1801; m. 1825, Abraham E. Coxe; 

Mary B. Newbold, b. 1804; m. 1825, John Singer; 



NEWBOLD 1019 

William Henry Newbold, b. 1807, d. March, 1862; m. Calebina Emlen; of whom pres- 
ently; 

Richard Smith Newbold, b. 1808, d. 1883; m. 1839, Ellen DaCosta; 

Emma Newbold, b. i8u; m, 1840, Francis Dehaas Janvier. 

William Henry Newbold, son of William and Mary (Smith) Newbold, born 
in 1807, was a prominent banker and stock-broker of Philadelphia, and in 1844 
founded the firm of William H. Newbold & Company, later William H. Newbold, 
Son, & Aertsen, now the well-known brokerage firm of William H. Newbold's 
Sons Company, organized after the death of the senior member of the firm, which 
occurred in March, 1862. WilHam H. Newbold married, 1830, Calebina, daughter 
of Caleb Emlen, and of the prominent Philadelphia family of that name, an 
account of which appears elsewhere in these volumes. Their city residence was 
on Spruce street above Broad, and their country residence "Newbold Vernon" at 
Abington, Montgomery county, on the Old York road, now occupied by their 
daughter-in-law, Mrs. John Smith Newbold. Calebina (Emlen) Newbold died 
August, 1872. 

Issue of William Henry and Calebina (Emlen) Newbold: 

John Smith Newbold, b. Feb. 20, 1831, d. June 2, 1887; ra. Anna Penrose Buckley; of 
whom presently; 

Maria Emlen Newbold, d. unm. 1905; 

Emma Newbold, m. Richard S. Brock; 

Katharine Newbold, m. Alfred Pancoast Boiler, b. Phila., Feb. 23, 1840; graduated at 
Univ. of Pa., College Department, 1858; received degree of Civil Engineer from 
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute 1861; Asst. Eng. Lehigh Coal & Navigation Co. 
1862; do, of Phila. & Erie R. R. 1864; of Atlantic & Great Western R. R. 1866; Chief 
Eng. Hudson River R. R. 1866; of West Side & Yonkers R. R. 1880; of Yonkers 
Rapid Tran.sit Co. 1881 ; of Manhattan Electric Railway 1882; of Albany & Green- 
bush Bridge Co. 1882; of Staten Island Rapid Transit Co. 1885; built double track 
bridge over Hudson river at Albany, Croton Lake bridge, railroad bridge over 
Thames river at New London, Conn., and many other prominent structures; mem- 
ber of American Philosophical Society, American Society of Civil Engineers, Amer- 
ican Society of Mining Engineers, and is author of a number of publications on 
highways and bridges; 

William Henry Newbold, Jr., b. Dec. 31, 1849, senior partner of firm of William H. 
Newbold's Sons Company; m. 1873, Roberta Gray, and had issue: 
Katharine Newbold, wife of Robert Kennedy Wurts; 
Ethel Newbold, wife of E. G. McCullough; 
Tenchard Emlen Newbold. 

John Smith Newbold, eldest son of William Henry and Calebina (Emlen) 
Newbold, born in Philadelphia, February 20, 183 1, entered his father's banking 
and brokerage establishment at an early age and became senior member of the 
firm at his father's death in 1862. He was a director of the Philadelphia & Read- 
ing Railroad Company, and of the Insurance Company of North America, and 
many years one of the managers of Philadelphia Library Company. He was a 
vestryman of Christ Church, and of St. Mark's Episcopal Church, at the time of 
his death. Warden of the Church of Our Saviour, at Jenkintown, and interested 
in a large number of charitable and philanthropic enterprises and institutions. He 
died in Philadelphia, June 2, 1887. 

John Smith Newbold married, April 10, 1856, Anna Penrose, daughter of 
Qement Adam Buckley and his wife, Sarah Penrose, and granddaughter of 
Daniel Buckley, the prominent ironmaster of Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, 
heretofore referred to in these volumes. Her mother, Sarah (Penrose) Buckley, 



I020 NEWBOLD 

born in Philadelphia, July 28, 181 1, died there, January 21, 1891, was a daughter 
of Charles Penrose, by his wife, Ann, daughter of Dr. John Rowan, of Salem, 
New Jersey, and his wife, Sarah, a great-granddaughter of William Hall, who 
came to New Jersey in 1677, and was a Justice of the Common Pleas Court of 
Salem County, and a member of the Governor's Council, and who married Sarah 
Plumstead. 

Charles Penrose was born in Philadelphia, September 14, 1776, died there June 
24, 1849. He was early instructed in the art of ship building, in which his 
ancestors had been actively engaged for several generations, but abandoned the 
business in middle Hfe and for many years was actively interested in public 
affairs. He was made superintendent of the United States Navy Yard at Phil- 
adelphia in 1812-14; was for many years a director of the Bank of Pennsylvania. 
Possessed of ample means he was a liberal contributor to charitable and benev- 
olent enterprises ; was for thirty-one years president of the Southern Dispensary 
and many years a manager of the Humane Society. 

Thomas Penrose, father of Charles Penrose, was a ship-builder and merchant 
in Philadelphia, where he was bom January 22, 1733-4, died November 28, 1815. 
He was a member of the Committee of Observation in 1775, and was a contributor 
to the Pennsylvania Hospital in 1761, and one of its board of managers, 1786-98. 
He was the originator of the public soup houses in Philadelphia, and contributed 
liberally to other charitable enterprises. He married Ann, daughter of Joseph 
Dowding, a prominent lawyer of Dover, Delaware, by his wife Ann, daughter of 
Judge Richard Richardson. 

Thomas Penrose Sr., father of the above named Thomas, was born in Phila- 
delphia, January, 1709-10, died there November 17, 1757. He was a son of Capt. 
Bartholomew Penrose, the first ship builder of Philadelphia, by his wife, Esther 
Leech. Thomas Penrose married, October 21, 1731, Sarah, daughter of John 
Coats, of Philadelphia, brick manufacturer, by his wife Mary, daughter of War- 
wick and Dorothy Hale. Sarah (Coats) Penrose married (second) Capt. Lester 
Franklin, of the English Army, and (third) Rev. Anthony Duche. 
Issue of John S. and Anna P. (Buckley) Newhold: 

Clement Buckley Newbold, b. July 25, 1857; m. Mary Dickinson Scott; of whom 
presently ; 

Arthur Emlen Newbold, b. Aug. 5, 1859; m. Harriet Dixon; of whom presently; 
Ellen Grubb Emlen Newbold, b. Dec. 9, i860, d. March, 1864; 

Emily Buckley Newbold, b. April 13, 1865; m. April 29, 1891, Dr. William Johnson 
Taylor, b. Oct. 13, 1861, son of Major William Johnson Taylor, Sr., by his wife, 
Mary Eliza Bearden; they had issue: 

Phoebe Emlen Taylor, d. March 19, 1894; 
Clement Newbold Taylor, b. March 3, 1892; 
Marion Taylor, b. March 9, 1895; 
William Johnson Taylor, b. July 3, 1896; 
Frances Purnell Taylor, b. April 23, 1903; 
Penrose Buckley Newbold, b. Nov. i, 1868, d. March i, 1870; 

Anna Buckley Newbold, b. Jan. 3, 1871 ; m. April 29, i8g6, Beauveau Borie, Jr., b. Sept. 
25, 1874, son of Beauveau and Patty (Neil) Borie; they had issue — Patty Borie, b. 
January i, i8g8; 

John Sergeant Newbold, b. Oct. 3, 1874; m. Jan. 5, 1902, Virginia Mason, dau. of Mason 
Campbell, by his wife, Eulalie Keating; issue : 
Virginia Newbold, b. Sept. 4, 1907. 



NEWBOLD I02I 

Clement Buckley Newbold, eldest son of John Smith Newbold, by his wife, 
Anna Penrose Buckley, born in Philadelphia, July 25, 1857, entered the Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania, Department of Arts, 1873, class of 1877, and later received 
the degree of Bachelor of Arts from the same institution. On leaving college he 
became identified with the firm of William H. Newbold's Sons Company, bank- 
ers and brokers, and continued a member of that firm until 1904, when he retired 
from active business. He is a trustee of the Penn Mutual Life Insurance Com- 
pany, of Philadelphia; manager of the Western Saving Fund Society; trustee of 
Christ Church Hospital; director of the Farmers' & Mechanics' National Bank, 
Jenkintown National Bank, Trust Company of North America, Jefiferson Fire 
Insurance Company, Library Company of Philadelphia, and of the Academy of 
Fine Arts, of Philadelphia. He is a vestryman of Christ Church, and St. James 
the Less, of Philadelphia, and of the Church of Our Saviour, of Jenkintown, 
Pennsylvania. He is a member of the University, Union League, Philadelphia 
and Rittenhouse clubs. His home is Crosswicks House, Abingdon, Pennsylvania. 

Clement Buckley Newbold married, February 20, 1897, Mary Dickinson, born 
January 21, 1876, daughter of the late Col. Thomas A. Scott and his wife, Anna 
Dike, daughter of Robert M. Riddle, Mayor of Pittsburg; (1824-81) president of 
the Pennsylvania Railroad Company, 1874-80, having served the same company in 
the position of vice-president for fourteen years previous to his elevation to the 
position of its chief executive, and during that part of this period covered by the 
Civil War, had charge, under appointment of Gov. Curtin, of the transportation of 
soldiers and supplies to the front. When the bridges on the Northern Central 
Railroad at Baltimore were burned. Secretary of War Stanton telegraphed to 
Col. Scott to take charge of that road, and he was appointed May 3, 1861, Colonel 
of Volunteers, and on August i, following, Assistant Secretary of War. By 
building promptly a branch railroad connecting the Philadelphia, Wilmington & 
Baltimore Railroad with Annapolis, he opened a route to Washington, avoiding 
the disaffected district about Baltimore, and thus assured the safe and expeditious 
transfer of troops and supplies to the national capital. Mrs. Mary Dickinson 
(Scott) Newbold died May 2, 1905. 

Issue of Clement Buckley and Mary D. (Scott) Newbold: 

Mary Dickinson Newbold, b. Nov. 12, 1898; 
Anna Scott Newbold, b. March 19, ig03; 
Clement Buckley Newbold, Jr., b. Jan. 17, 1905. 

Arthur Emlen Newbold, second son of John Smith Newbold by his wife, 
Anna Penrose Buckley, was born in Abington township, Montgomery county, 
Pennsylvania, August 5, 1859. He entered the University of Pennsylvania, 
College Department, 1875, class of 1879, but left during his sophomore year. 
He was a member of the Philomathean Society, and the Zeta Psi fraternity there. 
He is a banker and was for a number of years a member of the firm of William H. 
Newbold's Sons Company, and now a partner of T. P. Morgan & Company and 
Drexel & Company; he is also a director in a number of business and financial 
institutions, and a member of several social organizations. 

He married, February 25, 1886, Harriet, born February 3, 1866, daughter of 
Fitz Eugene Dixon, of Philadelphia, by his wife Catharine Chew Dallas, and they 
reside at Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia. 



I022 NEWBOLD 

Issue of Arthur Emlen and Harriet (Dixon) Newbold: 

Anna Buckley Newbold, b. Nov. 20, 1886; m. April 29, 1907, Charles H. Krumbhar, Jr.. 

of Phila.; 
Arthur Emlen Newbold, Jr., b. July 31, 1888; 
Fitz-Eugene Dixon Newbold, b. Feb. 20, 189s; 
Dorothy Emlen Newbold, b. March 8, 1899. 



MARSHALL FAMILY. 

Christopher Marshall, a pioneer druggist and manufacturer of chemicals in 
Philadelphia, and a prominent philanthropist and Patriot, was born in Mary 
street, Dublin, Ireland, November 6, 1709, and came of a family closely allied with 
the nobility of Great Britain, connected with the prominent families of DeLacey, 
Cussack, Grenville, Cowley and others. His brother, Charles Marshall, was an 
officer in the British Navy, and his sister, Isabella Marshall, married into the well- 
known county family of Cowley. 

The father of Christopher Marshall died when he was very young, and his 
mother marrying a second time, his home life does not seem to have been alto- 
gether pleasant and congenial. At suitable age he was sent to a college in 
England, and received an excellent classical and scientific education. At the age 
of twenty years he besought the consent of his mother to his removal to America, 
and on her refusal to consent to his removal to a "country populated by savages," 
he joined a party of fellow students and came to Philadelphia in 1729. For his 
disobedience he was disowned by his family, and from that time declined to hold 
further intercourse with his relatives in Great Britain. 

Soon after his arrival in Pennsylvania, he seems to have located in or near the 
village of Four Lanes End, now Langhorne borough, Bucks county, and became a 
member of Middletown Friends Meeting, and is mentioned upon their records as 
an "apprentice." Some time prior to his marriage, 1736, he engaged in the manu- 
facture of chemicals at Front and Chestnut streets, Philadelphia, the first estab- 
lishment of the kind in Philadelphia. In 1735 he purchased a property on Chest- 
nut street, later known as No. 56, opposite Strawberry alley, the present number 
being 214. He was married at Philadelphia Friends Meeting, First Month, 
(March) 4, 1735-6, to Sarah, daughter of Robert Thomson, a Philadelphia ship- 
ping merchant, and his wife, Sarah Hearne, and on 4mo. (June) 3, 1736, was 
granted a certificate by the Middletown meeting "To ye Monthly Meeting of ye 
City of Philadelphia," which is as follows : 

"Dear Friends, these with the salutation of Brotherly Love comes to acquaint 
you that our present writing is on behalf of our friend Christopher Marshall, who 
hath signified it his intention of continuing or settling himself amongst you 
requesting our certificate on that occasion in compliance with which we hereby 
certifie you coverneing him that after he had honestly served his time with a 
Friend of our Meeting, he we believe in sincerity, orderly joyned himself with us, 
since which he hath been careful in attending Meeting, and by inquiry made hath 
behaved himself in a good degree agreeable to our Holy profession and in what 
small concerns he had in the world, he hath settled to our satisfaction. We there- 
fore recommend him to your Christian Care and notice as one in Amity with us 
sincerely desiring his growth and perseverence in the precious truth, Measurably 
in which we conclude and subscribe your friends & brethren, Syned in and on 
behalfe of our Meeting." 

The above certificate shows that Christopher Marshall previously to his joining 
the Meeting at Middletown, had served an apprenticeship, "with a Friend of our 



I024 MARSHALL 

Meeting," and also shows that he was already established in business in Philadel- 
phia, by the use of the word "continuing" in the first part of the certificate. 

He therefore took up his residence at No. 56 Chestnut street, and had estab- 
lished his chemical laboratory in the rear of the same lot, on what is now Carter's 
alley. The business was successful and as his sons came df age they were admit- 
ted to partnership with him. 

Sarah Marshall, wife and mother, died and was buried at the Friends burying 
ground, August 4, 1771. Having acquired a comfortable estate,, Christopher 
Marshall, December i, 1772, retired from the firm of Christopher & Charles Mar- 
shall, manufacturers of drugs and paints, composed of himself, and his sons, 
Christopher Jr. and Charles, and by indenture of November 30, 1772, conveyed 
to them each one-half "share and share alike, all his right, title claim, demand to 
his third of stock of goods on hand and debts due to said copartnership" (formed 
March 11, 1765) "subject to the payment of one hundred pounds per annum to 
him during his natural life" and six months after his decease to pay to their 
brother, Benjamin Marshall, iiooo. He had previously, by deeds dated Novem- 
ber 12, 1772, conveyed to his son Charles, twelve separate tracts of real estate in 
Philadelphia, on nine of which improvements had been erected, and three ground 
rents, on valuable city property; also a plantation near Mt. Holly, New Jersey, 
and a tract of land in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania. He also conveyed to his 
other sons valuable real estate in the city and elsewhere. 

At the date of the dissolving of the partnership of the firm of Christopher & 
Charles Marshall, by the retirement of Christopher Marshall Sr., the three sons, 
Benjamin, Christopher Jr. and Charles Marshall, were also engaged in the ship- 
ping business, and in connection with one Wilkenson Simmons each owned one- 
fourth interest in the brig, "Burke," plying between Philadelphia and Surinam, 
since July 31, 1770, and her cargoes. The drug business at the old stand was 
continued by Christopher Marshall Jr. and his brother Charles until 1804, when it 
passed to the management of Elizabeth Marshall, daughter of Charles, who con- 
ducted it until 1825, when it was turned over to her two apprentices, Charles Ellis 
and Isaac Paschall Morris, an account of whose association is mentioned in our 
account of the Morris family. In addition to the estate above enumerated which 
Christopher Marshall turned over to his sons in 1772, he owned an interest in iron 
forges and furnaces in Maryland. 

Christopher Marshall married (second) Abigail (Fisher) Cooper, a widow, 
fifty-two years of age, and moved to a property belonging to her at the corner of 
Front and Race streets, where he resided until before the occupation of the city by 
Lord Howe and the British troops, when with other members of the Supreme 
Executive Council and Committee of Safety he removed with his wife to Lan- 
caster, where he purchased a house on Orange street, with a large botanical 
garden attached, in Lancaster, and resided therein for some time. Mrs. Marshall 
died there September 28, 1782, and he returned to Philadelphia and resided for a 
time with his son Christopher, on Strawberry alley. He then went to house- 
keeping in one of his houses on Carter's alley, on the rear of the old homestead. 
Chestnut street, then occupied by his son Charles. In the cellar of this house 
there was a spring of salt water so strong that it could be used for pickling 
meats. Christopher Marshall also had a home just out of the then city limits, 
in Moyamensing, between Broad street and "Irish Tract Lane," which he called 



MARSHALL 1025 

"The Place," frequently referred to in his diary. This property was given by him 
to his eldest son, Benjamin Marshall. 

During the yellow fever epidemic Christopher Marshall spent most of his time 
at the residence of his granddaughter, Nancy Marshall Bush, in Germantown, and 
when it subsided he returned to the city, but permanently abandoned housekeep- 
ing, and thereafter resided with his son, Charles Marshall, at 56 Chestnut street, 
and there died May 4, 1797. 

Christopher Marshall Sr. became identified with a number of the prominent 
institutions of Philadelphia, notably those of a charitable and philanthropic char- 
acter. He was treasurer of Board of Overseers of the Poor, 1758 ; was a member 
of the Humane Society, 1780; was one of the organizers of the Society for the 
Alleviation of the Miseries of the Public Prisons, 1787, and participated in the 
organization of the first Sunday schools in Pennsylvania, 1791, and was treasurer 
of the organization then effected. 

He was one of the original signers of the Non-importation Resolutions adopted 
at a meeting of the Merchants and Traders of Philadelphia, held November 7, 
1765. From the very inception of the Revolutionary struggle he was one of the 
most ardent of the Patriots in formulating measures to resist the oppression of 
Great Britain. He was a member of General Assembly, 1774, returned July 15; 
was later a member of the Committee of Safety ; was a Deputy to the Provincial 
Conference at Carpenter's Hall, June 28, 1776, and was named as one of the com- 
mittee to escort John Nixon to the State House yard to read the Declaration of 
Independence. He was toast-master at ihe first celebration of the signing of the 
Declaration at Lancaster, July 4, 1777. For his activity in warlike measures he was 
disowned from the Society of Friends, and in 1780 was one of the organizers and 
treasurer of the Society of Free Quakers, composed principally of members of 
the Society of Friends, whose loyalty to their country led them to violate the 
extreme peace principles of the Society. 

Christopher Marshall was not, however, a seeker after public position, on the 
contrary on his retirement from business in 1772, and until his death, he sought to 
live in retirement and take no part in public affairs. In a letter to his friend. Rev. 
George Stonehouse, Rector of Grey Friars', Bristol, England, dated May 9, 1774, 
after his second marriage, he says, "I am a private man, in no office, either in 
Church, Meeting, or of the State, and stand unconnected with any Society or 
religious party, living upon my private income." He, however, entertained 
largely, both at Philadelphia and Lancaster, and his house was open at all times 
for the accommodation of his many friends and relatives. Members of Conti- 
nental Congress were regular visitors as will be seen by his "Remembrances," as 
well as officers of the Continental Army. His town house was occupied by several 
of Lord Howe's officers, during the British occupation, and many fine pieces of 
furniture were carried away by them to the barracks, but were returned by the 
order of Lord Hov/e, when requested by Patience Marshall, wife of his son, 
Charles. 

Issue of Christopher and Sarah (Thomson) Marshall: 

Benjamin Marshall, b. Oct. 4, 1737, d. Jan. 29, 1778; was engaged in the shipping busi- 
ness with his brothers, Christopher, Jr., and Charles Marshall; was a man of promi- 
nence in the city; was a TDeputy to the Provincial Conference, held in Phila. July 15, 
1774, &c.; m. Oct. 12, 1761, Sarah Lynn, b. Oct. 8, 1739, d. May 7, 1797; they had 
issue : 



1026 MARSHALL 

Ann Marshall, b. Aug. lo, 1762, d. s. p.; 

Sarah Marshall, b. Dec. 10, 1763, d. inf.; 

Hannah Marshall, b. Dec. 5, 1765; m. 1785, Caspar Wistar Haines, b. 1762, d. 
1801, son of Reuben Haines, of Germantown, by his wife, Margaret, dau. of 
Caspar and Katharine (Johnson) Wistar. The homestead of the Haines fam- 
ily in Germantown, still occupied by Jane R. Haines, a descendant of Hannah 
Marshall, is the famous "Wyck" house, one of the ancient historical land- 
marks of Germantown. It was here that Reuben Haines, son of Caspar and 
Hannah (Marshall) Haines, entertained Lafayette in 1824; 

Mary Marshall, b. July 22, 1769, d. s. p.; 

Susannah Marshall, b. July 12, 1771, d. s. p.; 

Christopher Marshall, b. May 10, 1773; m. (first) Mary Dorsey, by whom he 
had no issue; (second) Phoebe Shotwell, by whom he had eight children, all of 
whom d. unm., except Sarah, who m. John Livezey; 

Esther Marshall, b. Nov. 22, 1774; m. 1795, Abraham Garrigues, and had eight 
children, three of whom, Caspar, William A. and Marshall, married and left 
issue; 

Mary Marshall, b. July 17, 1776, d. unm.; 

Benjamin Marshall, b. Sept. 29, 1777; m. Mary Cruikshank, and had nine chil- 
dren, only two of whom married, Benjamin m. Harriet White, and Mary m. 
Israel H. Johnson. 
Christopher Marshall, Jr., b. March 4, 1740, d. Nov. 29, 1806; of whom presently; 
Isabella Marshall, b. Jan. 28, 1741, d. inf.; 

Charles Marshall, b. April 27, 1744, d. Aug. 27, 1825; m. Patience Parrish; of whom 
later. 

Christopher Marshall, second son of Christopher and Sarah (Thomson) 
Marshall, born in Philadelphia, March 4, 1740, while he became nominally a part- 
ner in the drug business with his father and younger brother Charles, 1765, and 
continued a member of the succeeding firm of Christopher Jr. and Charles Mar- 
shall for some years, was probably more actively associated with his elder 
brother Benjamin in the shipping and commission business, especially until after 
the death of Benjamin in 1778. His brother, Charles, while associated with both 
firms, seems to have been the chief apothecary of the firm, and had charge of that 
branch of the family business. Christopher Marshall Jr. married (first) at 
Friends Meeting, Philadelphia, October 9, 1760, Ann, daughter of James and 
Mary Eddy, by whom he had seven children, three of whom survived childhood. 
Ann (Eddy) Marshall died December 15, 1775; married (second) October 17, 
1777, Elizabeth, born in Philadelphia, June 4, 1742, died November 3, 17 — , 
daughter of Enoch and Ann Flower, of Philadelphia. The marriage took place 
as shown by the record in the family Bible of Christopher Marshall, "at Friends 
Meeting in Providence township, Philadelphia (now Montgomery) County, we 
having passed the Monthly Meeting at Gwynedd, the reason being married there 
was occassioned by the commotion of the times which obliged us with many more 
to move out into the country, the British Army being at the time of our marriage 
in possession of the City." Two children were born to them, one of whom sur- 
vived; married (third) at Friends Meeting, Market street, Philadelphia, July 30, 
1783, Margaret, born April 22, 1747, daughter of Isaac and Hannah Roberts, by 
whom he had two children. 

Issue of Christopher Jr. and Ann (Eddy) Marshall: 

James Eddy Marshall, b. Oct. 4, 1761, d. y.; 

Isabella Marshall, b. March 7, 1763; m. May 15, 1788, Dr. Caspar Wistar, celebrated 

physician, organizer of "Wistar Parties;" 
Christopher Marshall, b. March 10, 1765, d. inf.; 
Christopher Marshall, b. Jan. 28, 1767, d. May 10, 1769; 



MARSHALL 



1027 



Ann Marshall ( Nancy"), b. Nov. 12, 1769; m. (first) at Chew House, Germantown, 
then the country seat of Blair McClenachan, April 2, 1791, Dr. Solomon Bush; it 
was at the residence of this couple that Chri.Uopher Marshall, Sr., made his home 
during the yellow fever epidemic of 1793; Dr. Bush d. "at his farm near German- 
town June 9, 1795, and was bur. the next day at Friends' Grounds in Germantown. 
Aged 41 yr. 7m. 26 days," says the record in Christopher Marshall, Jr.'s, Bible. Ann 
m. (second) Dec. i, 1796, Dr. William Currie, ceremony being performed by Bishop 
White at_ her dwelling. She had one son, Matthew M. Bush, and five children by 
Dr. Currie, viz. : 

Cornelia Currie, b. Dec. 3, 1797; 

William M. Currie; 

Isabella Currie; 

Ann Currie; 

Margaret Currie. 

Sarah Ann Marshall, b. Aug. 29, 1771; m. Jan. 30, 1794, Zaccheus Collins, at Friends' 
Meeting, Phila.; they had issue: 

Stephen Collins, b. Oct. 3, 1794, d. inf.; 

Ann Collins, b. Oct. 6, 1795. 

Christopher Marshall (third of the name), b. May 3, 1773, d. June 30, 1773. 

Issue of Christopher and Elizabeth (Flower) Marshall: 

Enoch Flower Marshall, b. Jan. 26, 1780, d. Oct. 26, 1781; 

Elizabeth Flower Marshall, b. Nov. 26, 1781; m. June 19, 1806, Charles Marshall Slocum, 
and had eight children. 

Issue of Christopher and Margaret (Roberts) Marshall: 

Charles Roberts Marshall, b. Sept. 15, 1787, d. July 7, 1788; 

Isaac Roberts Marshall, b. July 29, 1789; m. Sarah Hutchin, and had issue — Isaac R. 
Marshall, Jr. 

Charles Marshall^ youngest son of Christopher and Sarah (Thomson) Mar- 
shall, born in Philadelphia, April 27, 1744, became a member of the firm of Chris- 
topher & Charles Marshall, manufacturers of drugs, chemicals and paints, March 
II, 1765, a month before he attained his majority. The firm consisted of his 
father, Christopher Marshall Sr., who had established the business, his elder 
brother, Christopher Marshall Jr., and himself. As before stated, his father 
retired from the firm November 30, 1772, and assigned his one-third interest 
therein to Christopher Jr. and Charles, who at once formed a new firm under the 
name of Christopher Jr. & Charles Marshall, and continued the business on Car- 
ter's alley, in rear of house No. 56 Chestnut street, where Charles Marshall was 
born, and where he always lived, except during the brief period of the British 
occupation of the city. The firm had also a building known as the Manufacturing 
Laboratory, near the stone bridge over the Cohocksink creek on north Third 
street, built by Christopher Marshall Sr., "thus far out of town, to save the deli- 
cate sensations of the citizens, by the considerate owner Christopher Marshall" 
says Watson, in his "Annals of Philadelphia." It was used as a place for boiling 
oil and making hartshorn, and therefore "filled the atmosphere all the country 
round with a most noisome odor." Later it was used by Dr. William Shippen Sr. 
for a lecture and dissecting room. 

In addition to having principal charge of the important and successful drug and 
color business, Charles Marshall, from July 31, 1770, held a one-third interest in 
the shipping and commission business with his two elder brothers, Benjamin and 
Christopher Jr., and with them and Wilkinson Timmons owned the brig "Burke," 



I028 MARSHALL 

"and cargoes yt hav? been shipped to Surinam in her" from that date ; he was 
principal business man of the several firms, receipts appearing on the books show- 
ing his payment to his partners of their share of the cargoes, profits, etc., and also 
a general statement of the condition of the several affairs of the three firms at the 
time the business was turned over to his sons by Christopher Marshall Sr., 1772. 
From his statement we learn that Christopher Marshall Sr., by deeds dated 
November 12, 1772, conveyed to Charles Marshall the homestead No. 56 Chestnut 
street, where Charles was then residing; fifteen feet eleven and a half inches front 
on Chestnut and extending back fifty-one feet, and two adjoining lots thirty-five 
feet front, with a garden in the rear, a separate lot;.a brick house and brick store 
on Vidett's alley; the properties on Carter's alley; three houses on Fifth street 
between Race and Vine; a house on Fourth street between Walnut and Spruce; 
two lots on Fifth street; a pasture lot on the west side of Shippen's lane, five 
acres and 144 perches, to be divided between him and his brother Benjamin; three 
valuable ground rents; and to him and Benjamin jointly several lots of land in 
Amwell township, Hunterdon county. New Jersey; a plantation in Cumberland 
county, and another near Mt. Holly, New Jersey, "at the bridge over Ancocus." 

Charles Marshall retired from active business in 1801 with an ample fortune 
and was succeeded by his son Charles. A few years after his retirement, the 
firm loaned its endorsement to a large amount, without the knowledge of the silent 
partner, and all connected with it were forced into bankruptcy, including Charles 
Marshall Sr., who was still a member of the firm. The business was taken charge 
of by his daughter Elizabeth and eventually extricated from its difficulties. 
Charles Marshall laid his unfortunate financial affairs before the Monthly Meet- 
ing of Friends of Philadelphia, by a communication dated 5mo. 30, 1805, and 
turned over to them his entire estate in trust for the payment of the claims on the 
notes his firm had endorsed. The letter announcing his misfortune to the Meeting 
is so characteristic of the man that it is here given in full. 

"To Jhe Monthly Meeting of Friends in Philadelphia: 

"Dear Friends: — To be in unity with the Body of religious Society it is a reasonable 
Condition that the Members should walk orderly. To be found so doing hath, I humbly 
trust, been measurably my study from my Youth up. By the mismanagement of a Concern 
(in which I was a Partner), I have been reduced from the Enjoyment of a comfortable 
competence to an Inability to pay the Demands made upon me. Yet in the midst of my 
own and my dear family's Distress I have some Consolation in being able to reflect that I 
have not intentionally been the cause of my Introduction to my present unhappy situation; 
for altho I was improperly hurried into a measure which I generally disapprove, of giving 
a partial security to two of the Creditors, in part of their Demands, one of whom especially 
was peculiarly & critically circumstanced, it was done under an Impression, at the time, 
that the debts for which I had been made liable were greatly short of what they were 
afterwards discovered to be. 

"It would be a very great alleviation of my present distress to look forward with hope 
and confidence, being unable to satisfy all the remaining claims of my just creditors, but 
my advanced age, bodily Infirmities & present circumstances forbid the expectation. Altho 
my prospects be thus gloomy with respect to outward things, yet I am at times favored 
with a sustaining hope that He whose Mercies are over all His works will not be altogether 
unmindful of Your afflicted Friend, 

"Philad'a. sMo. 30th. 1805." "CHARLES MARSHALL." 

Charles Marshall, in addition to his superior knowledge as an apothecary, was 
possessed of a fine classical education, having been well educated in the branches 
then taught, including Latin and Greek, before entering on his apprenticeship in 
his father's chemical laboratory, and was possessed of a fine literary taste. He 
was a man of fine appearance and manners ; was six feet tall, slender and graceful. 



MARSHALL 1029 

light complexion and blue eyes, and his prominent features were distinguished for 
their bland expression — the index of the conscientious integrity of his life. His 
exceeding love of neatness and cleanliness grew almost to excess during his later 
years. He lived his whole life in the house in which he was born, except for the 
brief period of the British occupation of the city, when he removed with his 
family to a country place in Plymouth township, Philadelphia, now Montgomery 
county, where his daughter Sarah, afterwards wife of Thomas Morris, was born. 

Charles Marshall, though naturally of a somewhat delicate constitution, retained 
all his faculties, and enjoyed reasonably good health to the end of his days. On 
August 1 8, 1823, being then in his eighty-second year, he walked into the room in 
which he was born and laid down upon the bed, and though he had no known 
ailment, he was sometime afterwards found there dead. 

Charles Marshall's fame as an apothecary and pharmacist was such that when 
the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy was established in 1821, though he was far 
advanced in life and unable to take any active part in its work, he was made its 
first president, and during the remaining years of his life he gave it his sympathy, 
support and advice. 

Charles Marshall married at Friends Meeting House, Second and Market 
streets, Philadelphia, August 15, 1765, Patience, born in Baltimore, Maryland, 
November 10, 1745, daughter of John and Elizabeth Parrish, and a descendant of 
Capt. Edward Parrish, who came to America in 1640, and settled in Maryland. 
From the Diary of Christopher Marshall, we extract the following account of the 
marriage of Charles and Patience Marshall: 

"Charles Marshall & Patience Parrish were married at Friends Meeting House 
2d & Market. A Wedding dinner of some pomp was given at the home of her 
sister Mrs. Collins, 54 High St." From later entries in the diary, we learn that 
the following persons were recipients of Mrs. Patience Marshall's hospitality, 
"Chas. Thompson, Jno. Jay & Lady, Jno. Hancock & Lady, George Washington 
& Lady, Jno. and Saml. Adams, Peyton Randolph, Alexander Hamilton, Marquis 
de Lafayette, Benjamin Franklin, Anthony Knew, and others." Charles Thomson 
was at the time Secretary of Continental Congress and Peyton Randolph was its 
president. 

Patience Parrish, wife of Charles Marshall, had been originally named Ann 
Parrish, after an aunt, Ann Helms, but coming to Philadelphia, at an early age to 
visit another aunt, Patience Howell, she took a fancy to the name of Patience, and 
after a deal of trouble had her name changed to Patience. Before the calamity 
which swept away her husband's fortune, their hospitable home was the scene of 
frequent fashionable gatherings ; among their guests and friends, Washington, 
Adams, Randolph, Hamilton, Sullivan, Baron deKalb, Benjamin Franklin, and the 
Abbe Corea. During their temporary residence in Providence township, they 
were not far from the camp of Washington's army at Valley Forge, and during 
the spring of 1778 sent presents of early vegetables to Washington, receiving from 
him a note of thanks that is still in the possession of the family. Patience (Par- 
rish) Marshall survived her husband, and after his death resided on the south 
side of Arch street below Sixth, where she died February 5, 1834. 
Issue of Charles and Patience (Parrish) Marshall: 

William Marshall, b. May 31, 1766, d. June 13, 1769; 

Elizabeth Marshall, b. Jan. 28, 1768, d. July 26, 1836; was the proprietress of the drug 



I030 



MARSHALL 



manufacturing business, established by her grandfather, from the failure of her 
father in 1805, until 1825; she was a woman of decided character, good business 
ability, affable, courteous, and well calculated to command respect; 

Mary Marshall, b. June S, 1770, d. Nov. 20, 1772; 

Patience Marshall', b. Sept. 21, 1771, d. at Baltimore, Md., Dec. 15, 1834; m. June 8, 
1814, Isaac Tyson, of Baltimore; 

Abigail Marshall, b. March 8, 1773, d. July 16, 1848; m. June 18, 1795, Joseph S. Morris, 
b. Sept. 15, 1772, d. Feb. 16, 1817, son of Thomas and Mary (Saunders) Morris, of 
Phila., grandson of Anthony and Sarah (Powell) Morris, great-grandson of Anthony 
and Phoebe (Guest) Morris, great-great-grandson of Anthony and Mary (Jones) 
Morris, founders of prominent Phila. family of the name, and great-great-great- 
great-grandson of Anthony and Elizabeth (Senior) Morris, of London, England. 
The record of the wedding day of his granddaughter, June 18, 1795, in Christopher 
Marshall's diary is as follows : "1795, June 18, Near 10 O'clock Joseph Morris and 
Abigail went in Zaccheus Collins' carriage, rest of the relatives here walked, to 
Market St Meeting, where Samuel Emlen spoke, William Savery then preached & 
prayed. The young couple then performed their part, — Cole read the Certificate, 
and we returned much as we went — daughter Sarah (widow of his son Benjamin) 
walked with me — large concourse of spectators. We returned with a good many 
relations to Charles's, spent the time in sociability till we sat down to dinner, say 70 
odd persons at two tables — prepared in Ch's large Store-room, well stocked with 
every necessity suitable, convenient — luxurious, they partook of with great satisfac- 
tion ; they then devoted themselves as most suitable and agreeable, near 8 o'clock 
drank tea, coffee, eat cake & fruit &c. I went to my chamber near 10 o'clock, all 
seemed pleased and delighted." "June 19th. — Sunshiny pleasant Morning. I break- 
fasted alone, in my Chamber. John Peter's stage with 4 horses came, in which set 
off at 10 o'clock for Bethlehem, the Bride, & Bridegroom & his & her brother, 
Thomas Morris & Charles Marshall Junr., Hannah and Rachel Lewis." Joseph S. 
and Abigail (Marshall) Morris were the parents of eleven children; some of their 
grandchildren are now residents of Louisville, Ky. Thomas Morris, one of the wed- 
ding party to Bethlehem, a brother of the groom, two years later married Sarah Mar- 
shall, sister of the bride. Elizabeth Marshall Morris, dau. of Thomas and Sarah 
(Marshall) Morris, b. Feb. 2, 1802, m. June 17, 1823, Francis Perot, son of Elliston 
and Sarah (Hanson) Perot, b. in Phila., Aug. 23, 1796, d. there March 24, 1885; had 
issue : 

Elliston Perot, b. Aug. 24, 1824, d. Feb. 25, 1865; m. Caroline R. Corbit; 

Thomas Morris Perot, b. May 8, 1828; m. Rebecca C. Siter; 

Sarah Morris Perot, b. Nov. 6, 1831 ; m. Dec. i, 1853, Edward H. Ogden. 

Charles Marshall, Jr., b. June 2, 1774, d. Sept. 27, 1837; ra. Mary Wallace; of whom 
presently; 

Sarah Marshall, b. in Providence twp., now Montgomery co.. May 7, 1777, d. in Balti- 
more, Md., April 2, 1824; m. June 8, 1797, Thomas Morris, brother to Joseph S. 
Morris, who had married her sister, Abigail; he was b. July 13, 1774, d. April 14, 
1841; they resided at the old Morris mansion on Arch street, and their country resi- 
dence, "Swarthmore," on the York road ; he was prominent in business and social 
circles, was fourth Governor of the Society of the State in Schuylkill; member of 
Common Council; manager of Pennsylvania Hospital; treasurer of Philadelphia 
Library, etc.; one of their daughters m. (first) Elisha Tyson, (second) Clement 
Biddle; and another ra. Francis Perot, of the prominent Philadelphia family; 

Margaret Marshall, b. Feb. 6, 1780, d. July 15, 1780; 

Ann Parrish Marshall, b. July 2, 1782; 

Mary Ann Marshall, b. July 4, T7S9, d. Sept. 21, 1881, at Masonville, N. J., and was bur. 
from her city residence, 1305 Arch street, Phila., being the last survivor of the family. 

Charles Marshall Jr., only son of Charles and Patience (Parrish) Marshall 
to live to mature years, was born at the old Chestnut street home, June 2, 1774, 
died Philadelphia, September 27, 1837. He entered the drug establishment at an 
early age, and was senior member of the firm in 1805, when it failed. He married, 
April 26, 1798, Mary Wallace, the ceremony being performed at Christ Church 
by Rev. Robert Blackwell. 

Issue of Charles and Mary (Wallace) Marshall: 

Sarah Marshall, b. 1801 ; m. Col. Robert F. Preston, of Va., d. Dec. 5, 1S27, leaving 
two children; 

Charles Marshall, d. inf.; 



MARSHALL 1031 

Mary Marshall, d. inf. ; 

John Marshall, b. 1803, d. unm,, April 14, 1848; 

Elizabeth Marshall, b. 1809, d. July 19, 1820; m. Capt. Timothy Rodgers, and had one 

son, Charles M. Rodgers, who left issue; 
Wallace Marshall, b. Sept. 16, 1814, of whom presently. 

Wallace Marshall, youngest child of Charles and Mary (Wallace) Marshall, 
was born in Philadelphia, September 16, 1814, and followed the family business 
of a druggist in that city. He died May 6, 1866. He married, June 29, 1842, 
Rebecca, daughter of Joseph and Esther (Coates) Ridgway, granddaughter of 
Henry and Hannah (Burr) Ridgway; great-granddaughter of Joseph and Hannah 
(Allen) Ridgway; and great-great-granddaughter of Richard Ridgway, who 
came to Pennsylvania in the ship, "Jacob and Mary," of London, arriving in the 
river Delaware, September, 1679, from Welford, county Bucks, England, by his 
second wife, Abigail Stockton, of the New Jersey family of the name. 
Issue of Wallace and Rebecca (Ridgway) Marshall: 

Charles Marshall, b. May 31, 1843, now residing in Germantown; member of Colonial 
Society of Pennsylvania; one of the founders of the Pennsylvania Society Sons of 
the Revolution; member of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania; the Gene- 
alogical Society of Pennsylvania, and a member of the Union League of Phila.; m. 
Nov. 24, 1870, JuHa A. Herring, of Baltimore, Md., and had issue: 

Charles Marshall, b. Dec. 30, 1873; m. June 4, 1906, Katharine M. Repplier, b. 
Aug. 17, 1882, and has issue : 

Helen Repplier Marshall, b. at Germantown, March s, 1907. 
Francis Ridgway Marshall, b. Dec. 12, 1845, d. May 14, 1898; m. Jan. 24, 1871, Mary J. 

Chadwick, but left no issue; 
Mary Ann Marshall, of Phila., unm. 



MONTGOMERY FAMILY. 

While there are a number of American families which take a pardonable pride 
in an ancestry that traces back through Colonial times by an unbroken line, marked 
by the honorable achievement of its representatives in the different epochs of our 
history, to a like honorable record of their forbears in the country from which 
their pioneer ancestor came to American shores, few indeed can trace their ances- 
tral line, with any degree of accuracy, through as many generations of high and 
honorable distinction as the Montgomery family. Through the efforts of the 
late Thomas Harrison Montgomery, of Philadelphia, whose own achievements and 
life record, as well as those of his immediate ancestors, are a source of pride to 
the city of their adoption, the family history has been traced in an unbroken line 
of over thirty generations, covering a period of over ten centuries, representing 
some of the best blood of France, England, Scotland, and Ireland. 

The earliest records of the family of Montgomery place its origin in the north- 
ern part of France in the ninth century, and the name, it is suggested, probably 
had its origin, or is a corruption of Mons Gomeris, "Comer's Mount," the ancient 
Cauls (i. e. the Cymni) claiming descent from Comer, son of Japhet, the family 
taking their name from the locality or territory over which they ruled as feudal 
lords. The first known to bear the name, according to William, sumamed Cal- 
culus, the monk of Jumiges, the earliest historian of Normandy, who died 1099, and 
whose work remains to this day an authority on the events of his time, was Roger 
de Montgomerie, who was Count of Montgomerie before the conquest of Nor- 
mandy by the Northmen under Duke Rollo, A. D. 912. A native of Neustria, his 
ancestors were doubtless, for many generations back, natives of that province, 
which, when conquered by Rollo, became known as Normandy, and he probably 
belonged to that numerous class of natives of noble lineage who welcomed Rollo 
as a relief from the internecine struggles with which France was rent by the ambi- 
tious designs of the descendants of Charlemagne, to secure, each for themselves, 
some part of the great empire their illustrious ancestor had left to them. Like 
many others of the native lords he was not displaced by Rollo, and the elder male 
line of his descendants continued to rule over the county of Montgomery in Pays 
d'Auge, consisting of several baronies, until the death of William, Count of Pon- 
thieu and Montgomery, about 1221, from which date until the close of the 
fifteenth century it was held by the descendants of his daughter, and was later 
purchased by James Montgomerie, Seigneur de Lorges, a lineal descendant of the 
first count, whose father belonged to the junior branch of the Scotland family of 
Montgomerie; and was held by his descendants for two centuries, the last count 
of that line dying 1725. From this first Count of Montgomerie down to Roger de 
Montgomerie, who accompanied Duke William of Normandy to England, the line 
of descent is as follows : 

Roger de Montgomerie, Count of Montgomerie, who succeeded his father. 

Roger de Montgomerie, son of the above, who was the father of William, the 
next Count of Montgomerie, and Hugh de Montgomerie. 

William de Montgomerie^ who succeeded his father as Count, and being 



MONTGOMERY 1033 

accused of the murder of Osberne d'Cretan, High Steward of Normandy, and 
guardian of the infant Duke William, was besieged and killed in his castle by 
Baron de Glos, Osberne's successor as steward. 

Hugh de MontgomeriEj Count of Montgomerie, who succeeded his father, the 
above-named William, and married Count Osberne's cousin Josseline, daughter of 
Tourode, Sire de Pont Audemer, whose wife was Weva Deceline de Crepon, sister 
to Duchess Gonnor, wife of Richard sans Peur, and great-grandmother of Will- 
iam the Conqueror. From this connection probably comes the foundation for the 
assertion of Count Roger de Montgomerie, grandson of Hugh and Josseline, in the 
act founding the Abbey of Troard, that father was a "Norman of the Normans," 
— Ego Rogerus ex N ormannis N ormannus Magni autem Rogerii filius, (Frazer's 
Memorials, vol. i, p. i) ; as the house of Pont Audemer had a distinguished Norse 
ancestry, Turode, Sire de Pont Audemer, was a son of Torf, Seigneur de Traille, 
surnamed Le Riche, who was a son of Bernard, the Dane, Prince in Denmark, and 
Governor and Regent in Normandy, who received baptism with Duke Rollo. Jos- 
seline's eldest brother Count Pont Audemer, was father of Roger de Beaumont, 
whose sons were Robert Earl of Leicester and Henry Earl of Warwick. 

Roger de Montgomerie, eldest son of Count Hugh and Josseline, Count of 
Montgomerie and Viscount of Exmes in Normandy, and subsequently Earl of 
Shrewsbury, Arundel, and Chichester, in England, was one of the most powerful 
and influential nobles of Duke William of Normandy's court. He commanded 
the advance division of William's army at the battle of Hastings, October 14, 1066, 
when King Harold was overwhelmed and killed, a battle that changed the whole 
destiny of England. His relationship to William, and his valiant services under 
the Conqueror's banner, both in Normandy and in England, gave him a wide 
influence, so that after the conquest, he was given first the Earldom of Chichester 
and Arundel, and soon after became Earl of Shrewsbury, with residence at Rye 
in Sussex. He captured the old Saxon fortress on the borders of Shropshire, 
1067, and built Montgomery Castle and the fortified town of Montgomery, to 
protect Shrewsbury from the Welsh, and from them the county of Montgomery, 
Wales, covering their site, was named. He also founded, 1083, the Abbey of St. 
Peter and St. Paul. He had married, 1045, Mabel, daughter of and heiress of, 
William of Talvas, Count of Belesme and Alengon, to whose large estates he suc- 
ceeded, 1070. He built the castle at Shrewsbury, 1085, and also the castle of 
Bridgenorth, and Ludlow Castle, and repaired and enlarged the castle of Arundel. 
Besides his large landed possessions in Normandy, he held three lordships in Wilt- 
shire, four in Surrey, nine in Hampshire, eight in Middlesex, eleven in Cam- 
bridge, one in Hertford, one in Gloucester, one in Worcester, one in Warwick, 
thirty in Staffordshire, and twenty-seven in Sussex, besides the city of Chichester, 
the castle of Arundel and the county and town of Shrewsbury. By his first wife, 
Mabel, Roger de Montgomerie had nine children : 

Robert de Belesme, second Earl of Shrewsbury, an ardent supporter of Duke Robert's 

claim to the English crown; 
Hugh, Earl of Arundel; 

Roger, Ear] of Lancaster, and Count of Marche; 
Philip, who went to the Holy Land with Duke Robert, of Normandy, and was killed at 

Antioch, 1098; 
Arnulph, Earl of Pembroke, of whom presently; 
Emma, Abbes of Almeneches, d. March 14, 11 13; 



I034 



MONTGOMERY 



Mathilde, or Maud, m. Robert, Earl of Moreton, in Normandy, and Earl of Cornwall, 

in England, half-brother to William I.; 
Mabel, m. Hugh de Chateaureuf; 
Sybille, m. Robert Fitz Hamon, descendant of second son of Duke Rollo. 

Count Roger de Montgomerie married (second) Adelaide, daughter of Everard, 
Seigneur of Puiset, son of Hugh, Lord of Puiset, and had one son, Everard, who 
became chaplain to Henry I. 

Arnulph, or Arnaud, de Montgomerie, fifth son of Roger and Mabel, was 
known as, and exercised the power of, Earl of Pembroke, though the title was 
never conferred upon him. After his father's death and the accession of Henry 
I. to the throne of England as the successor of William Rufus, in violation of 
the compact of the latter with his brother Duke Robert of Normandy, Arnulph, 
along with his brothers, Robert, Earl of Shrewsbury, and Roger, Earl of Lan- 
caster, becoming a loyal supporter of the claims of Robert, was banished from 
the kingdom, and the lands and titles inherited from his father forfeited. In iioo 
Arnulph, then at Pembroke, crossed over to Ireland and aided Muircertach, King 
of Munster, to repel the Manx and Swedish invaders of his domain, and to estab- 
lish himself on his throne ; and entering into an alliance with him, married his 
daughter Lafracorth, but when Arnulph sought refuge at the court of Muircer- 
tach, when outlawed by Henry I., the Irish monarch treacherously sought peace 
with Henry, and securing possession of his daughter, turned against his Norman 
allies. Arnulph found refuge in Normandy; in 1119 returned to Ireland and 
became reconciled with his wife, but died the day after the reconciliation. 

Philip de Montgomerie, son of Arnulph and Lafracorth, born at Pembroke 
iioi, was but an infant when his father was banished from England. He later 
went to Scotland with the Earl of Huntingdon, later David I. of Scotland, and 
about 1 120, married Lady Margaret Dunbar, daughter of the Earl of Dunbar and 
Marche, receiving the manor and castle of Thornton, in Renfrewshire, as her 
dower. The first Earl of Dunbar, grandfather of Margaret, was a native English 
lord who, becoming reconciled to William the Conqueror, was made Earl of 
Northumberland, but becoming disgusted with the Norman rule, retired to Scot- 
land, where Malcolm, who married his niece, bestowed upon him the Earldom of 
Dunbar, which descended to his son the father of Margaret, who married Philip 
de Montgomerie. 

Robert de Montgomerie, of Thornton and Eaglesham, son of Philip and 
Margaret, succeeded his father as Laird of Thornton and Innerswich, and was 
granted by Walter, High Steward of Scotland, the estate of Eaglesham, forming 
a parish of that name in Renfrewshire. He died about 1180, and was succeeded 
by his son. 

Sir John de Montgomerie, of Eaglesham, who married Helen, daughter and 
co-heiress of Robert of Kent and Innerswich, thus securing extensive lands and 
titles. He left issue: Alan, who succeeded him; Robert, living 1200-1230; and 
William, living 11 99. 

Sir Alan Montgomerie, of Eaglesham, designated as "Miles" in chartulary 
of Kelso, obtained title to lands at Innerswich in East Lothian, and in Lanark- 
shire in the lifetime of his father. He was a witness to the charters granted by 
Alan Stewart, son of the founder, 1166 and 1214, and to one granted by Walter, 
the grandson, founder of the Abbey and Monastery of Paisley, 1214-31. He died 



MONTGOMERY 1035 

before 1234, and was succeeded by his son Robert, who, dying without issue, was 
succeeded by his younger brother, 

Sir John de Montgomerie, of Eaglesham, who was witness to donations by 
Walter, High Steward, 1240-50. He died about 1285, leaving issue: 

Sir John, who succeeded him, of whom presently; 
Murthau, of county of Ayr; 
Alan, of Stairr and Cassilis; 

Thomas, "del Conte de Air," swore allegiance to Edward I., 1296; 

A daughter, m. Archilbald Muir, of Rowallan, slain at Berwick, when Baliol was routed, 
1298. 

Sir John de Montgomerie, of Eaglesham and Eastwood, designated as "del 
Conte de Lanark" in Prynne's Collections, was one of the great Barons of Scot- 
land, summoned to appear at Berwick in 1291, and later compelled to swear fealty 
to Edward I., as it is said, though his name does not appear on Ragmans' Roll, as 
do those of his brothers. He held the lordships of Eaglesham and Eastwood, 
which then, as well as all of Renfrewshire, were included in Lanarkshire, hence 
the title, "del Conte de Lanark." As soon as Bruce assembled his clan he joined 
his standard, and remained his staunch supporter until Scottish independence was 
achieved. He married Janet, daughter of John Erskine of Erskine, one of the 
Barons who swore fealty to Edward in 1296, and had two sons and a daughter. 

Alexander de Montgomerie succeeded his father, and was designated on 
charter of David H. in 1357, as "Alexander de Montgomerie, de Eglisham, filius 
Johannes de Montgomerie." In 1358 he was one of the barons despatched to 
England to treat for the release of their captive sovereign who had been taken 
prisoner at the battle of Durham eleven years before. He was a man of ability 
and trust and was frequently employed on diplomatic missions. He was known 
as Lord Montgomerie, by which title his descendants continued to be called before 
a peerage was granted them. October 24, 1358, he had letters to pass through 
England on his way abroad with a retinue of sixty, horse and foot. He married 
a daughter of WilHam, first Earl of Douglas, by his second wife, Margaret, daugh- 
ter of the Earl of Dunbar and Marche. Was succeeded by his son John, 1388. 

Sir John de Montgomerie, of Eaglesham and Eastwood, afterwards of Eglin- 
ton, son of Sir Alexander, married, 1361 Elizabeth, daughter and heiress of Sir 
Hugh Eglinton of Eglinton, and at the death of the latter, 1374, obtained pos- 
session through his wife of the large possessions of that family, including 
Ardrossan, which had come to Sir Hugh Eglinton through his marriage with its 
heiress, probably daughter of Sir Fergus Ardrossan, one of the Scottish nobles 
who accompanied Edward Bruce to Ireland in 131 5. The family of Eglinton was 
one of much antiquity in Scotland. From the History of Ayr, and Burke's Peer- 
ages, we learn that Eglin, Lord of Eglinton, during the reign of Malcolm III., 
1057-93, assumed the name of the lordship and castle of which he was the then 
possessor, and that from him the title and lands descended through his son Bryce 
de Eglinton, his son Hugh de Eglinton, his son Randulphus de Eglinton, and the 
latter's grandson, of the same name, whose name appears on the roll of the 
"Magnates Scotiae" who submitted to Edward I. in 1296, to Sir Hugh de Eglinton, 
first above mentioned, who married (first) the heiress of Ardrossan, (second) 
Egidia, daughter of Walter, High Steward, and half sister to Robert II., then 



1036 MONTGOMERY 

widow of Sir James Lindsay, of Crauford, his only child being Elizabeth, who 
married Sir John de Montgomerie. Sir Hugh was a Justice of Lothian, 1361, and 
died about 1374, when his large estates passed to the house of Montgomerie of 
Eaglesham, who made Eglinton their chief residence thereafter. Sir John de 
Montgomerie quartered his arms with those of the house of Eglinton, viz: — 
"Gules, three rings, or gemmed azure." He greatly distinguished himself at the 
battle of Otterburne, where his uncle, James, Earl of Douglas, and his son, Hugh 
de Montgomerie, were slain in battle, after performing prodigies of valor. Hot- 
spur was taken prisoner by Sir John, who with his ransom built the castle of Pun- 
noon, long in the possession of the family. The spear and pennon of the noble 
Percy were carried with the dead body of Hugh, to Edinburgh, and still remain a 
trophy of the house of Eglinton. Sir John de Montgomerie, who died about 1398, 
had, by his wife Elizabeth of Eglinton, four sons : Sir Hugh, the eldest, killed at 
Otterburne, August, 1388; Sir John, who succeeded him, of whom presently; 
Alexander, to whom his mother gave a charter of the lands of Bonnington, Barony 
of Ratho, Edinburgshire ; and Hugh, who lived to an advanced age. 

Sir John de Montgomerie, who succeeded to the lands and titles of his father, 
1398, is referred to as chief of the house of Montgomerie. He was one of the 
chiefs of the Scottish army which invaded England, 1402, and was taken prisoner 
at the battle of Halidon Hill, but five years later was in Scotland and introduced 
the reputed Richard H. of England, to Robert H. of Scotland. On the accession 
of James L, after his long imprisonment in England, at a Parliament held at 
Perth, March 12, 1425, Sir John de Montgomerie was among the nobles of highest 
rank, arrested on suspicion of having profited by their sovereign's imprisonment, 
but he was immediately released and restored to high favor. He was on the jury 
to try the Duke of Albany, and was commissioned to reduce the fortress of Loch 
Lomond, held by the Duke's youngest son, James Stewart. He married Margaret, 
daughter of Sir Robert Maxwell, of Caerlaverock, ancestor of the Earls of Niths- 
dale, and died prior to November, 1429, leaving three sons and four daughters : — 

Alexander, who succeeded his father, of whom presently; 

Sir Robert de Montgomerie, Knight of Giffen, a barony given by Robert II. to Sir 
Hugh Eglinton, and brought into the Montgomerie family by his (Robert's) grand- 
mother; 

Hugh, mentioned in the charter to his brother. Lord Montgomerie, 1452; 

Anne, m. June 16, 1425, Sir Robert Cuninghame, father of Earl of Glencairn; 

Janet, second wife of Sir Thomas Boyd, of Kilmarnock, whose dau., Margaret, by a 

former marriage became L,ady Montgomerie; 
Isabel, m. Archibald Muir, of Rowallan. 

Alexander de Montgomerie, first Lord Montgomerie, though his ancestors 
had been designated by that title for several generations, succeeded his father 
prior to November 22, 1429, as on that date he is referred to as "Lord of that 
Ilk," as one of the assize in an action between Renfrew and Dumbarton. He had 
a commission with his brother-in-law Sir Robert Cuninghame, August 10, 1430, 
for the government of Kintyre, K*napsale, et al., and also had charters under the 
Great Seal of a large number of baronies, with the lands appurtenant, between 
1430 and 1450. He was distinguished for his loyalty to James I. and his suc- 
cessor, was a member of Privy Council under both, and also was employed on 
various negotiations and diplomatic missions with England. The date given by 



MONTGOMERY 



1037 



Burke of his elevation to the peerage is January 31, 1448-9, but as he is referred to 
in the charter erecting the Lordship of Hamilton, July 3, 1445, in connection with 
others then elevated to the peerage, it is thought that he was elevated at that 
earlier date. He married Margaret, daughter of Thomas Boyd of Kilmarnock, 
and died October 14, 1465, leaving four sons and four daughters, viz : — 

Alexander, Master of Montgomerie, of whom presently; 

George de Montgomerie, of Skelmorlie Castle, now a seat of Earls of Eglinton and 
Winton; 

John de Montgomerie, of Giffen, whose son, Robert, went to Prance and founded second 

branch of Counts of Montgomerie; 
Thomas de Montgomerie, Parson of Eaglesham, Rector of Univ. of Glasgow, 1476-1510, 

unm. ; 
Margaret, m. John, Earl of Lennox, Lord Darnley, from whom descended James VL; 
Elizabeth, m. John, second Lord Kennedy; 

Janet, m. Cuninghame, of Kilmaurs; 

Agnes, m. William Cuninghame, of Glengarnock. 

Alexander de Montgomerie, Master of Montgomerie, eldest son of Lord 
Alexander, died 1452, before his father. On January 31, 1448-9, by grant from 
James IL "To Alexander de Montgomerie, eldest son of our deare cousin, Alex- 
ander de Montgomerie," the heritable Bailliary of Cuninghame, was conferred 
upon him. This was the origin of the feud between the houses of Cuninghame 
and Montgomerie, which continued for a century and was bloody in its conse- 
quences. The Earl of Glencairn, cousin to Alexander as well as his brother-in- 
law, they having married sisters, was deeply aggrieved by the grant to the Mont- 
gomeries, claiming that it belonged rightfully to the male branch of the Cuning- 
hame family, and the bloody feud between their respective descendants began. 
Alexander married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Adam Hepburn of Hailes (from 
whom descended James, Earl of Bothwell), and by her had three sons, viz. : — 

Alexander, second Lord Montgomerie, of whom presently; 

Robert de Montgomerie, of Braidstone, got a charter of lands of Braidstone, barony of 
Giffen, from his grandfather, 1452, and was ancestor of Sir Hugh Montgomery, who, 
1622, was created Viscount Montgomerie of Great Ardes, county Down, and whose 
grandson became Earl of Mount Alexander, 1661 ; 

Hugh Montgomerie, of Hesselhead (Hazlehead), or Bargraw, had a charter under the 
Great Seal of the Lands of Freeland, in Lanarkshire, in the isth century. His great- 
grandson, the Scottish poet, Alexander Montgomery, was born in Hazlehead castle. 

Alexander, second Lord Montgomerie, succeeded his grandfather in his titles 
and honors. He married Catharine, daughter of Gilbert, first Lord Kennedy, and 
died prior to 1484, leaving three sons and a daughter : — 

Hugh, later Earl of Eglinton, of whom presently; 

James, of Smithston, near Kilwinning; 

John, of Bowhouse, m. dau. of Ramsay, of Montforde; no issue; 

Helen, m. Sir James Bruce, of Airth. 

Hugh, third Lord Montgomerie, and first Earl of Eglinton, to which latter 
title he was elevated, 1508, by James IV., was concerned in the revolt of the barons 
against James HL in 1487, which resulted in that king's death as he fled from the 
battle field of Sauchie, and the accession of his son James IV., June 11, 1488, with 
whom Lord Hugh was in high favor and was created Earl of Eglinton, and 



1038 MONTGOMERY 

granted the constabulary of Rothesby. He was one of the lords entrusted by the 
Duke of Albany with the tuition of James V. during his minority, and was 
appointed, 1536, joint Governor of Scotland, along with the Earl of Huntley, 
while James went to France for his bride, Princess Magdalene. Eglinton Castle 
was burned, 1526, by the Cuninghames, as a result of the family feud before 
referred to. Earl Eglinton married Lady Helen, daughter of Colin, first Earl of 
Argyle, and had six sons and eight daughters. He died November, 1545, at an 
advanced age, and was succeeded by his grandson, his two elder sons having pre- 
deceased him. His children were : — 

Alexander, Master of ]Montgomerie, d. s. p. 1498-9; 

John, Lord Montgomerie, m. Elizabeth, of Edmonstoun, and was father of second Earl 

of Eglinton; 
Sir Neil Montgomerie^ of Lainshaw, of whom presently; 
William, of Greenfield, ancestor of Montgomeries of Stane, Brownland and Bonyglen, 

Barons of "The Hall;" 
Hugh, killed at battle of Pinkie, 1547; 
Robert, Bishop of Argyle, d. 1537; 
Margaret, m. William, second Lord Semple; 
Maud, m. Colin Campbell, of Arkinglass; 
Marjorie, m. William, second Lord Somerville; 
Isabel, m. John Muir, of Caldwell; 
Elizabeth, m. John Blair, "of that Ilk;" 
Agnes, m. John Kerr, of Kersland; 
Janet, m. George Campbell, Laird of Cessnock; 
Catharine, m. George Montgomerie, of Skelmorlie Castle. 

Sir Neil Mon'tgomerie, of Lainshaw, third son of the first Earl of Eglinton, 
married Margaret, daughter and heiress of Quintin Muir or Mure, Laird of Skel- 
don, through whom he obtained the lands of Skeldon, Hodow Chapel, Laganfie, 
Charleswrack and others. He also received by charter from Queen Mary, the 
lands of Averton and Irvine, barony of Torbolton. October 4, 1545, he received 
the procuratory in Parliament for his nephew second Earl of Eglinton. His 
castle and estate of Lainshaw were in the parish of Stewarton, county Ayr. He 
was killed in the streets of Irvine, as a result of the Cuninghame feud, June, 1547. 
Left two sons and three daughters, viz : — 

John, eldest son, m. dau. of Lord Boyd, d. s. p. ; 
Sir Neil Montgomerie^ of whom presently; 
Christian, m. Lady Luss; 
Elizabeth, ra. Hume, of Fastcastle; 
Helen, m. a Maxwell, of Newark. 

Sir Neil Montgomerie succeeded to the titles and lands of his father, and 
married Jean, daughter and heiress of John, fourth Lord Lyle, by which the estate 
of that ancient and noble family of Scotland was brought into the Montgomerie 
family, and the Lyle and Marr arms were added to his own. He left three sons 
and several daughters. His two younger sons went to Ireland, where one, a major 
in the army of James, was killed at the battle of Boyne, 1690. 

Sir Neil Montgomerie, of Lainshaw, eldest son of the last named Sir Neil 
and Lady Jean Lyle, became, 1613, on the death of his cousin, fourth Earl of 
Eglinton, without male issue, heir male to the title and honors of the fifth Earl of 
Eglinton, but they with the estates appertaining thereto, were granted to a cousin. 



MONTGOMERY 1039 

Alexander Seton, 161 1, and he was, though tardily, recognized as the head of the 
house of Eglinton. Sir Neil was, however, the lineal male representative and 
chief of the Montgomery family, and the eldest male representative of his 
descendants are to this day entitled to that honor, a recent representative of that 
honor having been John T. Montgomery, Esq., of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Sir 
Neil was served as heir to his mother. Lady Jean Lyle, December 20, 1575, as Sir 
Neil Montgomery of Gallowsberry. He never assumed the title of Lord Lyle, 
having sold his claim to the estate 1559, but retained the honor and arms of Lyle 
as heir of a line of that noble family. He married Elizabeth, daughter of John 
Cuninghame, of Aiket, whose great-grandfather was of the Glencairn family, with 
whom the feud existed, and her brothers Alexander and William, if not herself, 
were concerned in the murder of Hugh Montgomerie, third Earl of Eglinton, 
1586, while on a visit to Sir Neil, and to this suspicion of her connection with the 
tragic result of the feud between her family and that of her husband, is ascribed 
the alienation of the title and honors from her children by the fourth earl. Sir 
Neil died prior to 161 3, leaving four sons: — 

Sir Neil, succeeded his father and m. dau. of Lockhardt, Laird of Barr. This line 

failed in third generation; 
WnLiAM MoNTGOMERiEj of Brigend, of whom presently; 
James Montgomerie, Minister of Dunlop Church; 
John Montgomerie, of Cockilbie, m. Jean, dau. of Capt. Daniel Forrester. Was envoy 

of James VI. to Spain, d. 1683; 
A daughter, m. Graham, of Gruegar; 
Mariot, m. Robert Johnston, Feb. 20, 1606. 

William Montgomerie, of Brigend, second son of the last Sir Neil Mont- 
gomerie, married Jean Montgomerie, heiress of Brigend, in the parish of Maybole, 
Earldom of Carrick, county Ayr, and received the grant of Brigend, September 17, 
1602. The precept for the grant states that she was daughter of John Mont- 
gomerie, son and heir of James Montgomerie, of Brigend, but it has not been 
determined to what branch of the family he belonged. James Montgomerie is 
mentioned as of Brigend, October 19, 1546, and he married Marjorie Muir. 
Brigend is situated on the banks of Doon, at the Bridge of Doon, from which it 
derives its name "Brig -end," nearly opposite Alloway Kirkyard, the scene of 
"Tarn o'Shanter's Ride." William died between 1652 and 1658. 

John Montgomerie, eldest son of William of Brigend, died before his father 
and prior to 1647. He married, 1621, Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Baxter, of 
Shrinston. Their marriage settlement, still partly legible, was brought to America 
by his grandson William Montgomerie, 1701, and is still in possession of his de- 
scendants. 

Hugh Montgomerie, of Brigend, son of John, succeeded his grandfather prior 
to 1658, and at the death of his uncle, John Montgomerie, of Lainshaw, became 
eldest heir male and chief of the ancient house of Montgomery. He was seized 
of numerous lands, mills and other possessions on the "Water of Done," lying 
within the Earldom of Carrick and Shriefdom of Ayr, but all his worldly goods 
and lands became dissipated by a series of misfortunes, chief of which it is said 
was the loaning and pledging of large sums of money to his kinsman the Earl of 
Loudon, which were never repaid, and for twelve years prior to his death. May 6, 
1710, he lived with and at the expense of his second son, James Montgomerie, a 



I040 MONTGOMERY 

merchant of Glasgow. In 1692, he, with his eldest son and heir, WilUam Mont- 
gomerie, of Brigend, conveyed all the estate of Brigend, including the lands of 
Potterstoun, Markland, Yeomanstoun, Barnstoun and Constable, together with a 
tenement in the town of Ayr, called "The Skinner's Yeard," and even their seats 
in the kirk, to their cousin, John Montgomerie, of Booch. Hugh Montgomerie 
had married, 1653, Katharine, second daughter of Sir William Scott, of Clerkin- 
ton, eldest son of Laurence Scott of the Buccleuch family, clerk of Privy Council 
in the time of Charles I. Sir William was knighted by Charles I., 1641 ; was suc- 
cessively Clerk of Sessions and of Privy Council ; member of Parliament for Had- 
dington, 1645 ; Ordinary Lord, June 8, 1649 ; one of the Commissioners of county 
of Edinburgh, 1650; Committee of Estates at Perth, 1651 ; died December 23, 
1656. His first wife, mother of Airs. Hugh Alontgomerie, was Katharine, daugh- 
ter of Alexander Morrison, of Preston-Grange, whose mother was a daughter of 
Sir John Preston. His second wife was Barbara, daughter of Sir John Dalma- 
Hoy. Hugh Montgomerie, of Brigend, and Katharine Scott, had two sons and 
several daughters. He died, as before stated, in Glasgow, May 6, 1710, aged 
eighty years. He was a strong Non-conformist in religion, a fact that may have 
contributed to his financial ruin. 

William Montgomerie, of Brigend, later of Eglinton, near Allentown, Mon- 
mouth county. New Jersey, eldest son of Hugh Montgomerie and Katharine 
Scott, was involved, as his father's eldest son and heir, in the financial ruin that 
overtook his improvident father, and it is stated in letters received by his family 
after their removal to America, from Robert Alaxwell, a son-in-law, that his uncle, 
James Alontgomerie, of Glasgow, was "squeezed" and defrauded of a large por- 
tion of his share in the estate of Brigend by "a rapacious lawyer Sir David Cun- 
ningham," and that "a part of the estate is to be recovered for the claiming." 

W^illiam Montgomerie married, January 8, 1684, Isabel, daughter of Robert 
Burnett, of Leithintie, Aberdeenshire, of the family of Leys Burnett, of which 
was Gilbert Burnett, Bishop of Salisbury. Robert Burnett was a member of the 
Society of Friends and in 1682 and 1683 respectively, purchased two 1/24 shares 
in the Province of East New Jersey, part of which he sold to other Scotchmen, 
prior to his removal to New Jersey, 1700, although he still retained several thous- 
and acres, surveyed and unsurveyed. He was therefore a Proprietor of East 
Jersey until his death, 1714. His will, dated November 24, 1712, and proven 
November 16, 1714, mentions children: John, Robert, Patrick, Meadie Allen, and 
Isabel Alontgomerie, the latter with son, Patrick, being named as executors. The 
date of his arrival in New Jersey is somewhat problematical, but it is clear that he 
did not arrive until after 1691, as deeds made by him up to that date give his resi- 
dence as Leithentie, Scotland, while those beginning with September 4, 1700, men- 
tion him as "late of Leithentie" and that of October 7, 1700, gives his residence as 
Amboy. Robert Burnett married a sister of Alexander Forbes, of Ballogee. As a 
member of the Society of Friends he suffered persecutions for his religious con- 
victions. He, among other Friends, was arrested March 12, 1676, at a conventicle 
in Aberdeen, and confined in Aberdeen Tolbooth ; a letter written by him while 
there confined is in possession of his descendants. He was intimately associated 
with Robert Barclay, of Ury, Scotland, the author of Barclay's "Apology," who 
was also a Proprietor of East New Jersey. 

From an affidavit made by one of the younger sons of William and Isabel (Bur- 



MONTGOMERY 1041 

nett) Montgomerie, made after the death of Robert, eldest son, it would appear 
that they resided in the town of Ayr, after the sale of the Brigend estate, 1692, 
and came to New Jersey with their children "about 1701-2," the probabilities are, 
however, since he was unable to fix a definite date, that they accompanied Robert 
Burnett in 1700. On their arrival they took up their residence on a tract of 500 
acres surveyed to Robert Burnett, on Doctor's Creek, about two miles from Allen- 
town, Monmouth county. New Jersey, for which a deed dated March 20, 1706 was 
executed by "Robert Burnet, of Freehold, in the county of Monmouth, within the 
Eastern division of Nova Caesaria, one of the principal Proprietors of the Eastern 
Division aforesaid, in America, Gentleman," to "William Montgomery, his son-in- 
law, of the same town, county and division, Yeoman," for 500 acres of land, 
"whereon ye said William Montgomerie now dwelleth." They named the tract 
Eglinton, after the paternal estate in Scotland, and it was much added to by suc- 
ceeding generations of the family, who continued to occupy it for more than a 
century, the last of the name being Robert Montgomery, died 1828, when it was 
divided among his daughters. William Montgomerie died at Eglinton, his New 
Jersey plantation, about 1721. He jmd his wife were members of the Society of 
Friends when they came to this country, and their children were reared in that 
faith. 

Issue of William and Isabel (Burnett) Montgomerie: 

Robert, b. Brigend, Ayrshire, 1687, d. at "Eglinton," Monmouth county, N. J., 1766; of 

whom presently; 
Anna, b. Brigend, Feb. i, 1689-90; 
Elizabeth, b. Brigend, July 12, i6gi; 

William, b. town of Ayr, Ayrshire, Feb. 7, 1693, d. Upper Freehold, Monmouth county, 
N. J., 1771; removed to Phila. early in life, was a merchant there until 1758, and then 
returned to Monmouth coimty, N. J.; m. (first) Susanna, widow of John Wood, of 
Burlington county, N. J. (whose dau., Esther, m. his nephew, James Montgomery, 
son of his elder brother, Robert), and had one dau., Isabel, who m. (first) John Read- 
ing, Jr., son of Gov. John Reading, of N. J.; (second) Henry Bailey. He m. (sec- 
ond) Margaret (Price), widow of Benjamin Paschall, of Phila., and dau. of Reese 
and Sarah (Meredith) Price, of Chester county. Pa.; (third) Mary Ellis, of N. J. 
His son, by second marriage. Major William Montgomery, b. Phila. 1751, reared in 
Monmouth county, N. J., joined the army at the outbreak of the Revolution and be- 
came a Major in the N. J. line, d. in Monmouth, 1815; m. Mary, niece of Gen. Robert 
Rhea, and had four sons and four daughters. Of the sons, William, Robert Rhea and 
Jonathan, went to New Orleans, and David to Kentucky, whence most of his descend- 
ants migrated later to Louisiana. Several grandsons of these four brothers were 
officers in Confederate army during Civil War; 
James, b. Ayrshire, Scotland, d. Upper Freehold, Monmouth county, N. J., about 1756; 
wife Mary; had sons: 

Robert, m. June 14, 1757, Elizabeth Vance; 

Alexander, m. Nov. 23, 1761, Eunice West, and was father of Thomas W. Mont- 
gomery, M. D., a distinguished physician, m. Mary Berrien, and their son was 
Commodore John Berrien Montgomery, of U. S. N.; 
James; 
William. 
Alexander, youngest son of William and Isabel, is thought to have d. unm.; 
Jane, m. a Montgomery of Irish branch of family, and removed to Va. 

Robert Montgomerie, of "Eglinton," Monmouth county, New Jersey, eldest 
son of William Montgomerie, of Brigend, and Isabel Burnett, born at Brigend, 
Ayrshire, Scotland, 1687, came to New Jersey with his parents and grandparents 
in his fourteenth year. On February 8, 1709-10, he married, at Burlington, New 
Jersey, Sarah, a daughter of Henry Stacy, of Burlington county, and in the divi- 



I042 MONTGOMERY 

sion of the lands taken up by Stacy, among his children, a tract of 490 acres in 
Newton township, Gloucester county, was set apart to Sarah Montgomerie, 171 1, 
and a few years later, Robert and Sarah Montgomerie removed thither from Mon- 
mouth county, and erected a house thereon in which they resided until 1721. 
April I, 171 5, they conveyed, or leased for ninety-nine years, forty acres of this 
land to Jonathan Bolton and Hannah, his wife, the consideration therefor being 
that the said Hannah Bolton was to teach or instruct or cause to be taught and in- 
structed to read English, to do seamstry work or any other art or parts of arts 
that she, the said Hannah is capable to perform, inform or direct, to all the chil- 
dren of the said Robert Montgomerie and Sarah, his wife, or either of them. At 
the death of his father, about 1721, Robert Montgomerie returned to Monmouth, 
took up his residence at "Eglinton," and resided there until his death, 1766. Other 
than filling the office of local magistrate or Justice of the Peace he seems to have 
taken little or no part in official or Provincial affairs. 

It was during his incumbency of "Eglinton," and after the death of his father, 
that Robert jMaxwell, son-in-law of James Montgomerie, of Glasgow, brother of 
William, of Brigend, wrote to John Carlyle, of Alexandria, Virginia, for informa- 
tion in reference to William Montgomerie and his children, stating that "my wife 
and I, and his other friend in Scotland, are very desirous to know what may have 
become of him and his children, and the rather, because we have reason to be 
fully persuaded that he or his eldest son, has an unquestionable right to the title 
and honors of Lord Lyle, in Scotland, and also to a part of the estate of Brigend, 
which was not sold but was squeezed out of his hands by a rapacious lawyer. Sir 
David Cunningham. * * * in the trials that have been with Sir David's suc- 
cessors, it hath been cast up to the lawyers that Mr. Montgomerie, of Brigend, 
was wronged, and that a part of the estate is to be recovered almost for the claim- 
ing." This information coming to the family at "Eglinton," and a correspondence 
ensuing with their relatives in Scotland, Robert determined to make a trip to 
Scotland to claim his inheritance as eldest son, but later abandoned this intention, 
and no claim was ever made by him or his descendants, to the title and honors 
that had descended to him from the noble house of Lyle, or as the heir-male and 
chief of the ancient house of Montgomerie. He was the last of the family to 
spell the name in its ancient form, his sons all adopting the ending "ry" as the 
name has since been spelled. His father-in-law, Henry Stacy, came to New Jersey 
about 1682, built a house and wharf at Burlington, and died there 1684. He was 
from the "Hamlet of Spitellfields, Parish of Stepney, Middlesex, factor." His 
wife, Mary, did not accompany him to New Jersey, but died, soon after him, at 
Waltham Holy Cross, Essex county, England; her brother, James Nevell, as her 
attorney and executor, conveying the New Jersey lands. Henry and Mary 
(Nevell) Stacy had children: Samuel, Mary, Elizabeth, and Sarah, all under 
age at his death, though Samuel, then in New Jersey, went to England to act as 
joint executor with Nevell, of his mother's will, 1689. Sarah (Stacy) Mont- 
gomerie died March 9, 1743-4, and Robert, 1766, his will being dated August 28, 
1762, and proved October i, 1766. 

Issue of Robert and Sarah (Stacy) Montgomerie: 

Mary, b. Feb. 14, 1710-11, m. James Debow. Her grandson, John Debow, b. Aug. 26, 
1772, son of Capt. James and Priscilla (Smith) Debow, m. Sarah, dau. of Robert 
Montgomery, last of the name to occupy Eglinton; and Robert Debow, another son 



MONTGOMERY 



1043 



of the Captain, m. Lucy Quay, dau. of Samuel Quay, by wife, Lucy, dau. of Alexander 

Montgomery, son of James; 
Elizabeth, b. March 28, 1712; m. Jan. 26, 1738, James Hepburn; had seven children; 
William, b. July i, 1714, d. inf.; 
Sarah, b. Oct. 8, 1715, d. April 29, 1753; 
WiUiam, b. June 24, 1717, d. young; 
Anna, b. Dec. 5, 1719, d. inf.; 

JameSj b. Feb. 26, 1720; m. Esther Wood; of whom presently; 
Anna, b. April 8, 1722; m. March 18, 1754, Stephen Pangboum; 
Jean, b. March 16, 1723; m. (first) Aug. 5, 1761, Robert English, (second) Dec. 17, 

1772, Emer Jackson; 
John, b. June 20, 1726. 

James Montgomery, born at Eglinton, New Jersey, February 26, 1720, is 
spoken of in the records as "eldest son and heir of Robert Montgomerie/' and is 
said to have been only son of Robert and Sarah, who married and left issue. He 
married, May 15, 1746, Esther, daughter of John Wood, of Chesterfield, Burling- 
ton county, who died 1730, by his wife, Susanna, who had married (second) Will- 
iam Montgomerie, uncle of James ; and granddaughter of William Wood, native 
of Leicestershire, England, who came to New Jersey in the fly-boat "Martha," 
autumn of 1677, and soon after married Mary Parnell, a fellow passenger on the 
"Martha." James Montgomery died 1769 or 1770. 
Issue of James and Esther (Wood) Montgomery: 

Rebecca, b. June 28, 1747; m. Joseph Taylor; 

Robert, b. Oct. 22, 1748, d. July 25, 1828, lived all his life at Eglinton; m. (first) Nov. 
14, 1661, Margaret Leonard, (second) June 22, 1788, Elizabeth Newell; had seven 
children, five by first and two by second wife, several of whom, including the two 
sons, d. in comparative youth s. p.; 
John, b. July 7, 1750, removed to Phila. ; of whom presently; 

William, b. Jan. 20, 1752, also removed to Phila., engaged in the mercantile business with 
his brother, John, and continued it after death of latter, until his death, March 4, 
1831 ; m. Oct. 25, 1781, Rachel, dau. of Samuel Harvey, a Phila. merchant. Their 
children who lived to maturity were : 

Esther, b. July 17, 1785, d. Romney, Indiana, Nov. 22, 1853; m. Feb. 6, 1806, Alex- 
ander William Walker; 
Joseph, b. July 31, 1788, d. Feb. s, 1859; well-known merchant of Phila.; m. May 

28, 181 1, Harriet, dau. of Major Reading Howell; 
Harvey, b. Oct. 8, 1789, removed to Rochester, N. Y. ; m. Eleanor, dau. of Col. 

Nathaniel Rochester, founder of the town, and engaged in business there; 
Mary, b. Dec. 14, 1794; m. March 15, 1815, Prof. Charles D. Meigs, M. D., of 
Phila., and had issue: 

Brig. Gen. Montgomery Cunningham Meigs, quartermaster General of U. S., 

b. May 3, 1816, d. Jan. 2, 1892; 
Charles D. Meigs, Jr., b. July 22, 1817; 
John Forsythe Meigs, M. D., b. Oct. 3, 1818; 
William Montgomery Meigs, b. i8ig, d. 1824; 
Harry Vincent Meigs, b. July 19, 1821; 

Emily Skinner Meigs, b. Sept. 28, 1824, d. Nov. 22, 1905; m. Jonathan Will- 
iams Biddle; 
William Montgomery Meigs, b. April 15, 1826; 
Samuel Emlen Meigs, b. July 15, 1828; 
Franklin Bache Meigs, b. Nov. 10, 1829; 
Mary Crathorne Meigs, b. Aug. 9, 1838. 
Emily, b. May 8, 1797, d. Aug. 6, 1824; m. May 24, 1814, Thomas H. Skinner, D. D. 
Sarah, b. Feb. 15, 1754; m. April 2, 1772, Capt. Joseph Reynolds; had thirteen children; 
James, b. Nov. 22, 1755; educated for the law, but at breaking out of Revolutionary- 
War, became Lieutenant in N. J. regiment and served under Gen. Richard Mont- 



1044 MONTGOMERY 

gomery in the expedition against Quebec, Dec, 1775; was also at Brandy wine, Ger- 
mantown and Monmouth; after the war followed the sea for some years, later a 
merchant; d. Eglinton, June, 1832; m. Ellen, dau. of Daniel Reading, and granddaugh- 
ter of Gov. John Reading. His son, Brig. Gen. William Readmg Montgomery, b. July 
10, 1801, entered West Point, 1821 ; was Captain in 8th Infantry durmg Mexican VVar, 
and was brevetted Major, Lieutenant Colonel and Colonel, for gallant and meritorious 
services. Commanded First N. J. Vols, at Bull Run July 21 and Aug. 17, 1861, and 
was afterwards military Governor of Alexandria; m. Hannah Bullock Wood; d. May 
31, 1871; 
Joseph, b. Aug. 30, 1758, d. 1776, from disease contracted in military service in early days 
of Revolutionary War. 

John Montgomery, second son of James and Esther (Wood) Montgomery, 
born on the old family estate of Eglinton, Monmouth county, New Jersey, July 7, 
1750, prior to arriving of age, sold out his interest in the estate of his grandfather, 
Robert Montgomery, at Eglinton, with his younger brother, William, came to 
Philadelphia, and engaged in mercantile pursuits, eventually entering into partner- 
ship with his brother, carried on a successful business until his death, March 16, 
1794. He was elected a member of the First City Troop of Horse, March, 1777, 
served with it in the New Jersey campaign of that year, and shared the trials and 
triumphs of that gallant company during the subsequent campaigns of the Revolu- 
tion. The hardships endured in this service laid the foundation of the disease 
which eventually brought him to his grave at the early age of forty-four years. 
He and his brother, William, established a reputation and credit as merchants of 
the strictest integrity; as an evidence of the esteem in which he was held by his 
associates we quote the following obituary notice from the American Daily Adver- 
tiser, said to have been contributed by his friend and physician. Dr. Benjamin 
Rush: "On Monday afternoon were interred at Christ Churchyard, the remains 
of John Montgomery, merchant, of this city. The numerous and respectable body 
of citizens who attended his plain and republican funeral, evinced the high ideas 
entertained of the public and private merits of this excellent citizen. As a mer- 
chant he exhibited for twenty years, uniform industry, integrity and punctuality ; 
his word was a bond to all who transacted business with him. His virtues as a 
citizen commanded esteem and respect wherever they were known. The weakness 
of his constitution, which laid the foundation of the disorder which carried him 
to his grave, was thought to have been induced by the toils and dangers to which 
he exposed himself as a member of the Philadelphia Troop of Horse during the 
late war. He loved order as well as liberty and was no less attached to the present 
wise and equal government of his country than he was to its independence. As a 
son, a brother, a husband, a father, and a friend, he will never cease to live in the 
bosoms of those to whom he sustained these tender relations." He became an 
honorary member of the City Troop May 16, 1792, and was a member of Common 
Council of Philadelphia at the time of his death, many years prior to which he 
had resided at No. 7 Mulberry street. 

John Montgomery married, November 3, 1785, Mary, daughter of Jonathan 
and Mary (Keen) Crathome, who survived him over a half a century, dying 
October 15, 1848, and is interred by his side at Christ Church. 

Jonathan Crathorne, father of Mrs. Montgomery, was supposed to be a native 
of England. He was for at least ten years, 1749- 1759, captain of different trading 
vessels plying between Philadelphia and other Colonial ports, and Spain, England, 
and the East and West Indies. In 1759 he engaged in business in Philadelphia and 



MONTGOMERY 1045 

died here 1767. He married at Christ Church, August 16, 1760, Mary Keen, of 
Swedish descent, born at Piles Grove, Salem county. New Jersey, September 29, 
1728, daughter of Jonas and Sarah (Dalbo) Keen, granddaughter of Matthias 
and Hendricka (Claessen) Keen, and great-granddaughter of Joran Keen, or 
Kyn, born in Sweden 1620, who came to Upland (now Chester) with Gov. Printz, 
1642; and also great-granddaughter of Jan Claessen, par Cooper, an early Swedish 
settler on the Neshaminy in lower Bucks county, Pennsylvania. 
Issue of John and Mary (Crathorne) Montgomery: 

Austin, b. Phila., Sept. 16, 1786, lived there all his life, dying Nov. 5, 1855; succeeded his 
uncle, Robert Montgomerie, of Eglinton, as eldest male representative of ancient fam- 
ily of Montgomerie; m. Sept. 5, 1809, Isabel Bowen, dau. of John Bowen, and grand- 
daughter of William Francis Bowen, both of "Bowen Hall," Island of Jamaica; no 
issue; 

James Montgomery, D. D., b. Nov. 25, 1787; of whom presently; 

John Crathorne, b. Nov. 7, 1792, d. N. Y. City, Aug. s, 1867; of whom later. 

James Montgomery, D. D., second son of John and Mary (Crathorne) Mont- 
gomery, born in Philadelphia, November 25, 1787, graduated at College of New 
Jersey, now Princeton University, class of 1805. He subsequently read law in the 
office of Judge Joseph Hopkinson in Philadelphia, was admitted to Philadelphia 
Bar June 3, 181 1, and practiced his profession there nearly seven years. He pre- 
pared himself for the ministry of the Protestant Episcopal Church and was or- 
dained deacon in Christ Church by Bishop White, August 25, 1816, and priest by 
Bishop Croes, in St. Michael's Church, Trenton, New Jersey, October 7, 1817, and 
on the following day was installed as rector of St. Michael's parish. In April, 
1818, he became rector of Grace Church, New York City, and remained there 
two years. Returning to Philadelphia, he became rector of St. Mark's, Mantua, 
a West Philadelphia suburb. He became very popular as a preacher and was 
much in demand for special ministerial work. He was elected rector of St. 
Stephen's Church February 27, 1822, though the corner stone of the church edifice 
was not laid until May 20, 1822, and filled that charge until his death, March 17, 
1834. He married, June, 1816, Eliza Dennis Teackle, of Accomac, Virginia, by 
whom he had issue : 

John Teackle, b. April 3, 1817, d. Feb. 20, 1895; member of Phila. Bar; m. June 25, 1856, 
Alida Gouverneur, dau. of Francis Rawle and Juliana M. (Gouverneur) Wharton, 
and granddaughter of Isaac and Margaret (Rawle) Wharton; no issue; 

James Henry, b. Feb. 27, 1819, d. Dec. 22, 1858, merchant of Phila.; 

Mary, b. Dec. I, 1822, d. July 6, 1824. 

Dr. Montgomery married (second). May 30, 1827, Mary Harrison White, born 
at the house of her grandfather. Bishop William White, 309 Walnut street, Phila- 
delphia, November 9, 1805, died August 2, 1875, daughter of Thomas Harrison 
and Mary Key (Heath) White, and had issue: 

Rev. William White, b. May 21, 1828, ordained minister of P. E. Church Sept., 1852; 
rector of church in Northumberland co., Pa.; Warsaw, N. Y.; Buffalo, N. Y. ; Lyons, 
N. Y., and other points in N. Y. State; m. April 15, 1857, Gaynor Smith, dau. of 
Peter and Gaynor (Wallis) Lazarus, of Sunbury, Northumberland county. Pa., and 
has one surviving son : 

James Henry Montgomery, b. Feb. 24, 1859, now an eminent surgeon in Erie, Pa., 
and head of family of Montgomery, in whose possession are the family papers ; 
he married, 1886, Caroline, dau. of Isaac Skiles, of Uniontown, Pa., and had 
issue : 



1046 MONTGOMERY 

James Henry Montgomery; 

Catharine Eglinton Montgomery; 

John Montgomery; 

John Hugh ^Montgomery, d. young. 
Thomas Harrison, b. Feb. 27, 1830, d. April 4, 1905; of whom presently; 
John Henry Hobart, b. Aug. 26, 1831, d. Oct. 16, 1831; 
Austin, b. Jan. i, 1833, d. April 13, 1834- 

Thomas White, father of Bishop William White, was born in London, 1704, 
and came of an ancient English family of noble lineage, a younger son of William 
White, of London, by his wife, Elizabeth Leigh, portraits of both of whom by Sir 
George Kneller being in the possession of William White, Esq., of Philadelphia. 
At the age of sixteen years, Thomas White was indentured to William Stokes, 
then going out in the retinue of Charles Calvert, brother of Lord Baltimore, to be 
clerk of Baltimore county, in Lord Baltimore's Province of Maryland; his father 
paying one hundred guineas to Stokes, to teach and train his son for the practice 
of law. Arriving in Baltimore, he became a deputy to Mr. Stokes as clerk of 
Baltimore county, then including also the present Harford county, and later suc- 
ceeded him as clerk and also filled the position of Deputy Surveyor of the county. 
He became a successful practitioner of law, laid up considerable money, and 
acquired land in Baltimore and Harford counties. About 1730, he married 
Sophia, daughter of John Hall, of Cranberry Hall, Baltimore county, large landed 
proprietor, who had died prior to his daughter's marriage, devising her a tract of 
land on Bush River which he named "Sophia's Dairy," where they took up their 
residence. Thomas White was an intimate friend of Samuel Ogle, Deputy Gov- 
ernor of j\Iaryland, and through his influence filled many lucrative and honorable 
positions in the government. He was successively Major and Colonel of the mili- 
tary establishment of the county of Baltimore, as well as County Clerk and Deputy 
Surveyor. He was qualified as vestryman of the parish of Spesutiae, May 29, 
1731, and was successively re-elected until his removal from Maryland to Phila- 
delphia 1745. His wife, Sophia, died June, 1742, and. May 7, 1745, he married 
(second), at Christ Church, Philadelphia, Esther, widow of John Newman, and 
daughter of Abraham Hewlings, of Burhngton county. New Jersey, and took up his 
residence in Philadelphia, still retaining his landed property and interests in Mary- 
land and making periodical visits there to look after its maintenance and develop- 
ment; he died there on one of these business trips, September 29, 1779. Col. White 
at once assumed a prominent position in Philadelphia. He became one of the 
trustees of the College of Philadelphia, filled that position until his death, and was 
commissioned Justice of the Peace, May 25, 1752. By his first wife, Sophia Hall, 
he had three daughters, viz : 

Sophia, b. May 8, 1731; m. Feb. 14, 1750, Aquila Hall; 

Elizabeth, b. Jan. 28, 1733, d. unm.; 

Sarah Charlotte, b. Oct. 25, 1736, d. Nov. 19, 1776, unm. 

By the second marriage, with Esther (Hewlings) Newman, he had two children : 

William, the Bishop, b. March 24, 1747-8; of whom presently; 

Mary, who became wife of Robert Morris, financier of the Revolution, an account of 
whom and their descendants is given elsewhere in this work. 



MONTGOMERY 1047 

William White, D. D., Bishop of the Diocese of Pennsylvania, first Bishop 
of English consecration in America, was born in Philadelphia, March 24, 1747-8 
(O. S.j, or April 3, 1748 (N. S.)- He was educated at the College of Philadel- 
phia, now the University of Pennsylvania, graduating from that institution, aged 
seventeen years, class of 1765. He began the preparation for the ministry of the 
Protestant Episcopal Church, under the guidance and council of Rev. Jacob 
Duche and Rev. Richard Peters, of Christ Church and St. Peter's. One of the 
incidents of his student life in Philadelphia was his assistance of his friend and 
associate, Benjamin West, to elope with Betsey Shewell, 1766. On October 15, 
1770, he sailed for England, and was ordained deacon, December 23, following, at 
the Royal Chapel, London, by Bishop Young, of Norwich. Being too young to 
receive ordination as a priest, he remained in England one and a half years, living 
with his father's sisters, Mrs. Weeks and Miss White, at Twickenham. June, 
1772, he was ordained as a priest of the Church of England, by Dr. Terrick, 
Bishop of London, and the same month sailed for home, arriving in Philadelphia, 
September 13, 1772. He was soon after elected assistant rector of Christ Church 
and St. Peter's, and became rector of both churches April, 1779. From the be- 
ginning of the struggle for independence, he took decided ground in favor of the 
Colonies, and as soon as the Declaration of Independence was announced, dropped 
from the form of prayer the petition for the King, and took the oath of allegiance to 
the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. When cautioned of his danger as a minister 
of the Church of England, he responded, "I know my danger, * * * but I trust 
in Providence: the cause is a just one and I am persuaded will be protected." 
September, 1777, on the defection of Rev. Jacob Duche, he was appointed Chap- 
lain to the Continental Congress, and continued as such and of the United States 
Congress, until the removal of the latter to New York, and on its return to Phila- 
delphia was again and successively re-elected to that position until the removal to 
the District of Columbia, 1801. 

In 1782, reaHzing that the Episcopal Church could not survive without organiza- 
tion, he issued a pamphlet urging its establishment, apart from English jurisdic- 
tion, but peace, soon declared between the two countries, made this unnecessary. 
September 14, 1786, he was unanimously elected Bishop of Pennsylvania, and 
sailing for England, was consecrated there, February 4, 1787, in Lambeth Chapel, 
by the Archbishop of Canterbury, and two other others. SaiUng again for home, he 
arrived in Philadelphia, April 7, 1787, earnestly took up the work of organizing 
the church in Pennsylvania and elsewhere, and during his long life ever took an 
active and decided interest in the moral, spiritual and intellectual development of 
the city of his birth. At the age of twenty-six years he was elected a trustee of 
the College of Philadelphia, and filled that position in it and its successor, the 
University of Pennsylvania, until his death, 1836, a period of sixty-two years. 
He was a founder of the Episcopal Academy, and gave his active and vigorous 
support to all that pertained to the best interests of the city, consistent with his 
office as the titular head of his church. He opposed the acceptance by the city of 
the devise of Stephen Girard, for the founding of Girard College, on the ground 
that the exclusion of religious training would work incalculable harm to the 
students there instructed. He was simple, unaffected, earnest, fond of society and its 
innocent diversions, and despised bigotry and affectation. 



I048 MONTGOMERY 

Bishop White married, February ii, 1773, Mary, daughter of Capt. Henry 
Harrison, who had come to Philadelphia from Lancashire, England, member of 
Common Council, 1757; Alderman, 1761, and Mayor, 1762, by his wife, Mary, 
daughter of Mathew Aspden. She died December 13, 1797, and he, July 17, 1836, 
aged eighty-eight years. They were parents of eight children, of whom five, Ann, 
Henry Harrison, William, a second Henry Harrison and a daughter unnamed died 
in childhood ; the three who survived were : 

Elizabeth, b. 1776, m. Gen. William MacPherson, who had been Adjutant of i6th Regi- 
ment in English army before the Revolution, and refusing to fight against his 
countrymen had resigned, and joined the American army; was commissioned Major; 
was later surveyor of Port of Phila., and Naval Officer and Brigadier General in the 
U. S. A.; 

Mary, m. Enos Bronson, of Conn., editor of United States Gazette, published in Phila. 
She d. 1826. 

Thomas Harrison White, only son of the Bishop, was born in Philadelphia, 
November 12, 1779, and followed the business of a wholesale wine merchant 
there some years. He married Mary Key, who died March 23, 1814, daughter of 
Daniel Charles and Mary (Key) Heath, of Baltimore. Thomas Harrison White 
died October 15, 1859. 

Issue of Thomas Harrison and Mary (Key) White: 

Mary Harrison White, b. Nov. 9, 1805, d. Aug. 2, 1875; m. James Montgomery, D. D.; 

Rebecca, d. unm. ; 

William, member of Phila. Bar, d. 1858; 

George Harrison, midshipman in U. S. N., resigned and engaged in dry-goods business 
in Phila.; later again entered navy as a purser, and followed the sea until his death, 
1868; m. Margaret Wharton, dau. of Jacob Smith, Esq., of Phila., and has a number 
of descendants living in Phila.; 

Richard Heath White, d. inf. 

The English ancestry of Col. Thomas White, of Maryland and Philadelphia, 
traced back many generations, by his great-great-grandson, Thomas Harrison 
Montgomery, was published 1877, in connection with an account of the reunion 
of the descendants held at "Sophia's Dairy," the old homestead on the Bush River, 
Maryland, June 7, 1877. 

Thomas Harrison Montgomery, second son of James Montgomery, D. D., 
by his second marriage with Mary Harrison White, was born at 987 Arch street, 
Philadelphia, February 27, 1830, and was baptized at St. Stephen's Qiurch, of 
which his father was then rector, April 7, 1830, by his great-grandfather, the ven- 
erable Bishop White. He was but a child of four years at the death of his father 
and was reared by his good mother, with whom he lived in the most pious and 
filial intimacy. In 1836 his mother, on the death of her grandfather, Bishop 
White, moved to 224 Walnut street, where she kept house for her father for two 
years, and then returned to the Spruce street house where her husband had died, 
and resided there with her little family until 1856, when she and her son, Thomas 
Harrison, removed to Germantown, residing together on Church Lane (Mill 
street) up to the time of his marriage. The companionship of his pious and gifted 
mother exerted the deepest influence on the whole life and character of her son. 

Mr. Montgomery's earliest education was acquired at Mr. Bonnar's private 
school, with a few terms at the grammar school under Dr. Crawford, in Fourth 



MONTGOMERY 1049 

street, birthplace of University of Pennsylvania, and later at Dr. Fairies' famous 
classical school. He was a frequent attendant at lectures at the Franklin Institute 
and the old college, but the greater and better part of his education he acquired 
from his mother, and through his own broad and assiduous reading; particularly 
on the lines of travel, geography and history. It was always a matter of regret to 
him that he could not take a college course as did his half-brothers, but the careful, 
self-reHant intellectual training he acquired under the guidance of his mother 
more than compensated for this loss. He early acquired the habit of expressing 
his thoughts on matters that came under his observation, by the writing of a 
journal which he began at the age of fifteen years. 

On March 23, 1847, he found his first remunerative employment in the large 
drug establishment of Charles Ellis & Company, at 56 Chestnut street, in connec- 
tion with which he took a course in the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy, 1848-9, 
and 1850-1, receiving his diploma from that institution April 4, 1851. In January, 
1852, in partnership with his friend, Samuel E. Shinn, under firm name of Mont- 
gomery & Shinn, he bought out the drug store at Broad and Spruce streets, but 
ill health compelled him to abandon the business two years later. On his removal 
to Germantown, 1856, he began his genealogical studies, which resulted in the 
publication of the "History and Pedigree of Montgomery," 1863. During this 
period he devoted much time to study and ecclesiastical and charitable work. He 
was rector's warden of the Church of Holy Cross, Germantown, 1856, and later 
member of the vestry of St. Luke's Church until his removal from Germantown. 
He also conducted for several years a Bible class for young men, which he had 
organized. 

During his residence in Germantown, Mr. Montgomery became intimately asso- 
ciated with the family of Dr. Samuel George Morton, the eminent physician, 
anthropologist and scientist, an account of whom and his family is given elsewhere 
in these volumes, and, i860, married his daughter, Anna Morton, and settled on 
Morton street, Germantown, later removing to Shoemaker Lane, Germantown. 
At the outbreak of the Civil War, though the state of his health would not permit 
him to go to the front, he drilled with the troops then being recruited. In 1863 
he was elected secretary of the Enterprise Insurance Company ; became its vice- 
president, 1864, and a director, 1866; thus becoming identified with the business 
wherein he achieved especial distinction by organizing and placing upon a safe 
financial basis the insurance institutions of Philadelphia and vicinity. 

In 1871, while convalescent from a severe attack of congestion of the lungs, he 
wrote the "Genealogy of General Richard Montgomery." Failing to regain his 
norpial health, on the advice of his physician, he decided to spend the winter at 
the south, and, October, 1871, sailed from New York for Frederickstadt, Island 
of St. Croix. A six months' sojourn there saved his life and made him physically 
stronger than he had ever been before. On October 31, 1871, the Enterprise In- 
surance Company failed, owing to heavy losses in the great Chicago fire, and on 
his return to Philadelphia, Mr. Montgomery was, in 1872, appointed general agent 
of the National Board of Underwriters, and the same year removed with his fam- 
ily to New York. This responsible position he filled six years, and on his retire- 
ment, 1878, was the subject of complimentary testimonials to his good work, in 
all the leading insurance journals, as well as of resolutions adopted by the National 
Board. In 1878 he accepted the position of manager of the department of per- 



I050 MONTGOMERY 

petual insurance, in the Insurance Company of North America, Philadelphia. In 
1880, he was elected vice-president of the American Fire Insurance Company, in 
the same city, and, 1882, became its president, which office he filled until his death. 

While residing in New York, Mr. Alontgomery was a trustee of the Church of 
Holy Communion, and was active in founding several charitable societies. On 
his return to Philadelphia, 1879, he became a member of his ancestral parish, 
Christ Church, acting for many years as accounting warden, and worshipping at 
Christ Church chapel. He continued his historical studies and writings, and was 
a frequent attendant at the Historical Society of Pennsylvania. In 1877 he pre- 
pared a monogram on the descendants of Thomas White, read at a reunion of the 
descendants held at "Sophia's Dairy," on the Bush River, Maryland, June 7, 1877. 
In 1882, he purchased a country place near West Chester, Chester county, Penn- 
sylvania, which he named Ardrossan, after one of the ]\lontgomery family castles 
in Ayrshire, Scotland, and this became his home for twenty-three years. 

Mr. Montgomery was elected to the vestry of the Church of Holy Trinity, West 
Chester, Pennsylvania, and filled the position of rector's warden there until his 
death. 

In 1885 he published a history of the Insurance Company of North America, the 
oldest insurance company in America. Among his other numerous publications 
of an historical nature, were the "Smith Family of New York," 1879; "Battle of 
Monmouth as described by Dr. James McHenry, Secretary to General Washing- 
ton," 1879; "AIss. Notes on the Church in America, by William White, 1747- 
1836," New York, 1877; "First Vestrymen of Christ Church," Pennsylvania 
Magazine of History and Biography, 1895 ; "Diary of Lieut. Francis Nicholls, of 
Col. William Thompson's Battery, of Pennsylvania Riflemen, January to Septem- 
ber, 1776," Ibid, vol. XX., 1896; "History of the University of Pennsylvania, from 
its Foundation to 1770, including Biographical Sketches of Trustees and Faculty;" 
besides which he completed, 1903, the manuscript history of the Dulany, Heath 
and Key families. He travelled very extensively in this country and Canada, and 
made three trips to Europe, 1887-89-91, each time visiting the ancient homes of 
his ancestors in Scotland. He spent the winters of 1903-4 and 1904-5 at his house, 
181 5 DeLancy Place, and died there April 4, 1905. He was buried beside his 
parents at the Church of St. James the Less, Falls of Schuylkill. His wife and 
all his children survive him. 

Mr. Montgomery held membership in the following organizations : The Prot- 
estant Episcopal Academy, of which he was for a time a trustee; the Historical 
Society of Pennsylvania, since 1866, of which he was a member of the publication 
committee from that date, and of its council since 1880; life member of the New 
York Historical Society; member of the New York Genealogical and Biographical 
Society; the Ethnological Society of New York; the Genealogical Society of 
Pennsylvania; one of the founders of the Society of Colonial Wars, and a mem- 
ber of its council since 1895; member of the Sons of the Revolution; of the 
Colonial Society of Pennsylvania; director of the Philadelphia Savings Fund 
Society. He was always active in charitable work, and was a man of deep relig- 
ious feeling and faith. He was throughout his whole life one of the most vigorous 
supporters and members of the Protestant Episcopal Church, and wherever he 



MONTGOMERY 105 1 

was located he was public spirited, giving freely of interest and means. In 1901 
he received from the University of Pennsylvania the honorary degree of Doctor 
of Letters. 

Issue of Thomas Harrison and Anna (Morton) Montgomery: 

Rebecca Morton Montgomery; 

Mary White Montgomery; 

James Alan Montgomery, b. Germantown, June 13, 1866; Professor in Phila. Divinity 
School; m. (first) Mary F., dau. of Rev. Frank Owen, M. A., British Chaplain at 
Berlin; d. s. p. He m. (second) Edith, dau. of Newcomb B. Thompson, Esq., by 
whom he had issue — ^James Alan Montgomery, Jr., Thomas Harrison Montgomery, 3d; 

Samuel George Morton Montgomery, b. Germantown, May 11, 1868; rector of the As- 
cension, Parkesburg, Pa.; 

Anna Morton Montgomery; 

Thomas Harrison Montgomery, b. N. Y. City, March 5, 1873; Professor in Univ. of 
Texas; m. Anna Prisciila, dau. of John Braislin, Esq., of Crosswicks, N. J.; issue: 
Thomas Roger Montgomery; 
Hugh Montgomery. 

William White Montgomery, b. N. Y. City, Oct. 28, 1874; 

Charles Mortimer Montgomery, M. D., b. N. Y. City, Oct. 23, 1876; 

Emily Hollingsworfh Montgomery. 

John Crathorne Montgomery, third son of John and Mary (Crathorne) 
Montgomery, of Philadelphia, was born in that city November 7, 1792, and re- 
sided there many years, subsequently residing on his estate called "Eglinton" on 
the Hudson, in New York, and, 1855, removed to New York City, where he died 
August 5, 1867. He married (first), November 25, 1817, Elizabeth Henrietta, 
born in Philadelphia, August 31, 1797, died July 11, 1850, daughter of Henry 
Phillips, who died in Philadelphia, February 11, 1800 (son of John and Sarah 
Phillips, of Bank Hall, county of Lancaster, England, and grandson of Nathaniel 
Phillips, of Heath House, county of Stafford), by his wife, Sophia, born Novem- 
ber 13, 1769, died September 3, 1841, daughter of Chief Justice Benjamin Chew. 

John Crathorne was prominent in the affairs of Philadelphia, and was at one 
time postmaster of the city. He married (second), November 27, 1855, Caroline, 
daughter of Jeremiah Rogers, of New York, and spent the remainder of his life in 
New York. 

Issue of John Crathorne and Elizabeth H. (Phillips) Montgomery: 

John Phillips, b. Sept. 28, 1818, d. Feb. 15, 1875; member of Phila. Bar; m. Nov. 13. 

1851, Anna Bowker Clayton, of Lynchburg, Va.; 
Rev. Henry EgHnton, b. Dec. 9, 1820, d. Oct. 15, 1874; ordained minister of P. E. 
Church June 28, 1846; rector of All Saints Church, Phila., until 1855, then removed 
to N. Y. City, and became rector of Church of the Incarnation; m. Sept. 10, 1846, 
Margaret Augusta, dau. of Judge James Lynch, of N. Y., by his wife, Jeanette Maria, 
dau. of Dr. Thomas Tillotson, a surgeon during the Revolution, and subsequently 
Secretary of State of New York, by his wife, Margaret, dau. of Chancellor Livings- 
ton. Dr. Montgomery graduated at Univ. of Pa., with degree of A. M., 1839, was 
attache of U. S. Legation, Denmark, 1841-2; received degree of Doctor of Divinity 
at the Univ. 1863; 
Oswald Crathorne, b. Phila., Aug. 24, 1822, d. Jan. 19, 1891; m. Oct. 3, 1849, Catharine 
Gertrude, dau. of George W. and Ann (Smith) Lynch, of N. Y., cousin of Judge 
Lynch, before mentioned; issue: 

Charles Howard, b. July 16, 1850; m. Fanny Hickman; issue: 
Mary Oswald; 
Charles Berwind. 
George, b. Oct. 28, 1851, d. Feb. 22, 1852; 
Henry Eglinton, b. Dec. 25, 1852, d. Feb. 10, 1877; 



I052 MONTGOMERY 

Thomas Lynch Montgomery, librarian Pa. State Library, b. March 4, 1862; m. 
1889, Brinca Georgianna, dau. of Richard A. Gilpin. 
Austin James, b. Oct. 27, 1824; m. Nov. 10, 1858, Cordelia Riche; 

Capt. James Eglinton Montgomery, b. Dutchess county, N. Y., Sept. 20, 1826; civil 
engineer; Captain and Assistant Adjutant General U. S. Volunteers Oct. 21, 1861, 
Major Aug. i, 1864, Aide-de-Campe on staffs of Generals Newton, Slocum, Canby, 
Martindale, Granger, Cadwalader and Hancock; mustered out July 10, 1866; private 
secretary to Admiral Farragut 1867-70, and with him visited every European country; 
m. (first) Nina, dau. of Jones Tilghman, of Talbot county, Md., by whom he had 
issue: 

Lloyd Phillips Montgomery; 
Elizabeth Phillips Montgomery; 
Ann Caroline Montgomery; 
Arthur Eglinton MSntgomery; 
Edward Lea Montgomery. 
He m. (second) Mary Seymour Walker, by whom he had issue ; 

Hugh Eglinton Montgomery, b. 1881. 
Major Montgomery held several American Consulships abroad, and is now residing 
at Pasadena, Cal.; 
Charles Howard Montgomery, b. Sept. 27, 1828, d. May 8, 1848; 
Sophia Henrietta Montgomery, b. Oct. 16, 1830, d. Dec. 22, 1836; 
Benjamin Chew Montgomery, b. Jan. i, 1833, d. July 15, 1856; 
Hartman Phillips Montgomery, b. Sept. 25, 1834; admitted to Phila. Bar July lo, 1850; 

d. Maysville, Cal., Jan. 22, 1870; 
Mary Crathorne Montgomery, b. Jan. 20, 1837; m. Sept. 26, 1859, Eugene Tillotson, son 
of Judge James Lynch, of N. Y. 



GILLINGHAM FAMILY. 

Yeamans Gillingham, the ancestor of the Philadelphia and Bucks county 
family of that name, came from one of the southern counties of England, probably 
either Kent or Dorset, to Pennsylvania, before 1690; the first record of his resi- 
dence in this province being the marriage register of Middletown Monthly Meet- 
ing, Bucks county, where he appears as a witness to the wedding of William 
Smith and Mary Croasdale, at the house of John Chapman, in Wrightstown town- 
ship, 9mo. 20, 1690. 

The following year he purchased one hundred acres of land in Oxford town- 
ship, Philadelphia county, "By the Mill Race and fronting Tacony Road and ye 
King's Road," the deed to him from Thomas Fairman (one of Penn's Commission- 
ers of Property), being dated August 31, 1691. This was in what is now the central 
part of Frankford, bounded by Frankford creek. Church street, and Frankford road 
to the Arsenal or River road on the east. On September 26, 1712, he purchased an- 
other lot of ground in the same locality from John Worrell, and appears to have been 
seized of other property there. He is mentioned on the tax list of Oxford township 
as having paid six shillings tax in 1693. He belonged to Abington Meeting of the 
Society of Friends (as did the other early Frankford Friends), and on 8mo. 31, 
1720, was chosen one of its overseers, Richard Worrell being the other. He died 
about June, 1722, and his will, dated May 9, 1722, was proved at Philadelphia 
July 21, of that year. By it he left all his estate, real and personal, to his wife, 
Mary, except fifty pounds each to his sons, James and John. 

Yeamans Gillingham married, presumably after his arrival in Philadelphia, 
Mary Taylor, who came from the same part of England about the same time he 
did. She died in November, 1727, and her will, dated October 20, was proved in 
Philadelphia, November 20, all in the same year. Of the landed estate left her by 
her husband she bequeathed only two lots of meadow land in Frankford, each of 
about two acres, to her daughters, Ann, Mary, Sarah, Elizabeth and Susannah, 
and two acres out of the large plantation "on the mill race and Tacony road" to 
her two sons, James and John. The main part of the land she did not dispose of 
by the will, and it was sold by the heirs at a later date. 
Issue of Yeamans and Mary (Taylor) Gillingham: 

Rebecca, m. (first) William Wright, of Dublin (Phila. Co); (second) Kirk; liv- 
ing i2mo. 6, 1766; 
Ann, b. smo. 8, 1694; m. Henry Paul, of Phila.; 

Mary, b. lomo. 21, 1698; m. James Willson, of the Northern Liberties, Phila.; 
Sarah, b. gmo. 27, i6gg, d. before Smo. 5, 1731 ; 

Ehzabeth, b. 2mo. 22, 1705-6; m. Samuel Eastburn, of Solebury township, Bucks co. ; 
James, b. Smo. 2, 1708, of whom presently; 

John, b. smo. 12, 1710; m. Smo. 21, 1735, Ann Jacob; lived in Phila.; 
Susannah, b. iimo. 29, 1712, d. before 8mo. 5, 1731. 

J.\MES Gillingham, born on the plantation on Tacony road, Oxford township, 
Philadelphia, Smo. 2, 1708, eldest son of Yeamans and Mary (Taylor) GiUingham, 
removed to Bucks county, receiving a certificate from Abington Friends Meeting, 



IOS4 GILLINGHAM 

4mo. 29, 1730, which he presented to Buckingham Monthly Meeting. He settled 
in Buckingham township, and on October 5, 1731, joined in a deed with the other 
heirs of Yeamans and Mary Gillingham, his father and mother, for the Frankford 
property. He died in Bucks county, November 4, 1745, and letters of adminis- 
tration were granted upon his estate in 1747. 

James Gillingham married, 3mo. 4, 1730, at Abington Meeting, Martha Canby 
(born March 9, 1705-6), daughter of Thomas and Sarah (Jarvis) Canby, who 
married (second) Joseph Duer, of Solebury. 

Thomas Canby was born in 1667, and was the son of Benjamin Canby, of 
Thorn, Yorkshire, England. He came to Pennsylvania with his mother's brother, 
Henry Baker, in the ship "Vine," of Liverpool, arriving in Philadelphia, Septem- 
ber 17, 1684. He lived for some years on the plantation of his uncle in Bucks 
county. The uncle, Henry Baker, was one of the leading men of the county, a 
member of Assembly and justice of the county courts. Thomas Canby married 
three times, (first), gmo. 2, 1693, to Sarah Jarvis, who was the mother of his 
daughter, Martha, who married James Gillingham; (second), 2mo. 4, 1709, to 
Mary, daughter of Evan and Jean Oliver; and (third), 8mo. 9, 1722, to James 
Preston, a widow. 

Thomas Canby was prominent in Bucks county, being appointed justice of the 
county courts, in 1719-22-25-26-27 and 38, and was a member of Provincial As- 
sembly, 1721-22-30-33 and 38. His son, Oliver, removed to New Castle county, 
now Delaware, and for many years owned and operated a mill on BrandyTvine 
creek, which is said to have been the first in operation on that stream. He was 
the ancestor of a branch of the family, which has long been one of the leading 
families in and about Wilmington, Delaware, one with which a number of the 
prominent families of Philadelphia have intermarried at different periods. 
Issue of James and Martha (Canby) Gillingham: 

John, b. imo. 19, 1731; m. (first) lomo. 17, 1754, Sarah, dau. of Benjamin and Hannah 
(Towne) Taylor, of Newtown twp., Bucks co.; and (second) lOmo. 21, 1761, Sarah 
White, dau. of Joseph and Martha (Taylor) White, of Falls twp., Bucks co., and 
cousin to his first wife. They were the great-grandparents of J. Gillingham Fell, late 
of Phila. John Gillingham lived and d. in Buckingham, Bucks co.; 

Yeamans, b. 8mo. 15, 1734; of whom presently; 

James, b. 6mo. 30, 1736, d. 2mo. 1, 1781 ; m. 2mo. 15, 1763, Phebe, dau. of John and Han- 
nah (Lewis) Hallowell, of Phila.; 

Martha, b. 8mo. 9, 1738; m. 6mo. 9, 1763, Jonathan Kinsey, of Buckingham, Bucks co., 

son of Samuel and Elizabeth Kinsey; 
Thomas, b. imo. 16, 1740, lived in Phila.; 
Joseph, b. 5mo. 14, 1743, d. smo. 17, 1794; m. 5mo. 25, 1768, Elizabeth, dau. of Thomas 

Harvey, of Falls, Bucks co.; 
Mary, b. smo. 26, 1746, d. imo. 21, 1746-7; 
Lavinia, d. prior to 1757; 
Benjamin, d. prior to 1757. 

Yeamans Gillingham, second son of James and Martha (Canby) Gillingham, 
born in Bucks county, Smo. 15, 1734, after his marriage lived for a time in Sole- 
bury township, Bucks county, and about 1792, moved to Oxford township, Phila- 
delphia county, where he resided on the greater part of the original plantation of 
his grandfather, which he had purchased after it had been out of the family many 
years. The Friends' Meeting House, on Unity street, Frankford, was built on 
land given for that purpose by Yeamans Gillingham. He divided his land, during 



GILLINGHAM 1055 

his lifetime, amongst liis eight surviving sons ; the deed to his son, Yeamans Gill- 
ingham, Jr., from "Yeamans Gillingham, of Frankford, in the county of Philadel- 
phia, Gentleman, and Bridget his wife," was dated 4mo. i, 1807. He died at 
Frankford, 2mo. 26, 1825. He married (first), i2mo. 21, 1763, at Buckingham 
Meeting, in Bucks county, Ruth Preston, born gmo. 15, 1742, died 3mo. 25, 1765, 
daughter of William and Deborah (Cheeseman) Preston, of Bucks county, and 
had issue — William, born 3mo. 12, 1765, died 4mo. 18, 1765. 

He married (second), imo. 13, 1768, at Falls Meeting, Bucks county, Bridget, 
b. lomo. 21, 1743, died 4mo. 9, 1825, daughter of James and Elizabeth (Lucas) 
Moon, and great-granddaughter of James Moon, and Robert Lucas, who were 
among the founders of Bucks county. 

Robert Lucas, of Beverall, Longbridge, in the county of Wilts, England, arrived 
in the Delaware river, 4mo. 4, 1679, in the ship "Elizabeth and Sarah," of Wey- 
mouth, and Elizabeth, his wife, arrived in the ship "Content," of London, in 7mo., 
1680, with her eight children, John, Giles, Edward, Robert, Elizabeth, Rebecca, 
Mary and Sarah. Robert Lucas received a grant of 177 acres of land, below the 
Fails, on the west side of the Delaware, from Edmond Andross, Governor General 
under the Duke of York, and it was confirmed by patent from William Penn, 5mo. 
3[, 1684. This land he devised to his son, Edward. Robert Lucas was a Justice 
of Upland Court, 1681, member of Provincial Assembly, 1683, 1687 and 1688, and 
was a member of the first grand jury in Pennsylvania, summoned 3mo. 2, 1683. 
His will was signed lomo. 6, 1687, and he died in Bucks county in 1688. His will 
mentions his wife, Elizabeth, and sons, Edward, Robert, Giles and John, and 
provides for his younger children who are not mentioned by name. 

Edward Lucas, son of Robert and Elizabeth, was Supervisor of Highways for 
Falls township in 1730. He married, 7mo. 3, 1700, Bridget Scott, at the house of 
Thomas Lambert, in New Jersey, under the care of Chesterfield Friends' Meeting. 
'I heir daughter, Elizabeth Lucas, married James Moon, and was the mother of 
Bridget (Moon) GilHngham. 

James Moon and Joan, his wife, came from Gloucestershire, England, and set- 
tled in Falls township, near Morrisville, in 1688. Their son, Roger Moon, married 
Ann Nutt, 8mo. 23, 1708, and their eldest son, James Moon, born imo., 1713, died 
5mo. 9, 1796, married (second) 3mo. 18, 1742, Elizabeth Lucas, before mentioned, 
and the only surviving child of this marriage was Bridget, who became the wife of 
Yeamans Gillingham. 

The will of Yeamans Gillingham was signed, 8mo. 4, 1824, and proven, 5mo. 9, 
1825. He and his wife, Bridget, are buried side by side in the graveyard of 
Frankford Meeting. 

Issue of Yeamans and Bridget (Moon) Gillingham: 

James, b. i2mo. 27, 1768, d. 6mo. 5, 1865; m. lomo. 3, 1792, Sarah, dau. of James and 

Mary (Smith) Wood, of Chester co.; 
Thomas, b. lomo. 15, 1770, d. April I, i860; m. (first) 1791, Mary Heywood; (second) 

1799, Gulielma Spicer, a second cousin; 
Moses, b. 9mo. 4, 1772, d. lomo. 12, 1829; m. gmo. 2, 1794, Martha Kirkner; 
John, b. gmo. 30, 1774, d. at Frankfort, unm.; 
Matthias, b. 2mo. 25, 1776, d. 1797, at Franford, unm.; 

Yeamans, b. 3mo. 9, 1778, d. 6mo. 3, 1827; m. 4mo. 23, 1803, Sarah Lewis, of Chester 
CO.; 

Joseph, b. Smo. ,3, 1780, d. 5mo. 3, 1867; of whom presently; 



I056 GILLINGHAM 

Mahlon, b. 7mo. 27, 1782, d. i2mo. 8, 1873; m. lomo. 6, 1808, Susan Clarke, of Prince- 
ton, N. J.; 

Stacy, b. iimo. 16, 1784, d. lomo. 12, 1839; at New Orleans, La.; m. i2mo. 4, 1804, Grace 
Harper, of Frankford, Phila. 

Joseph Gillixgham, the seventh son of Yeamans and Bridget (Moon) Gilling- 
ham, born on his father's farm near Carversville, in Solebury township, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, August 3, 1780, became an eminent merchant in Philadel- 
phia, living at 66 ^Market street (now No. 223 and occupied by the National State 
Bank of Camden). He afterwards purchased a country place near Holmesburg, 
called "'Bellevue," and lived there until 1839, when he removed to a house on the 
original purchase of his great-grandfather, Yeamans GiUingham, at Frankford, 
now No. 4419 Frankford avenue, opposite the Philadelphia and Reading Railway 
Station. In January, 1844, he moved to a house on Twelfth street, Philadelphia, 
and latei to 1235 Spring Garden street, where he died May 3, 1867. This house is 
still occupied by some of his children. 

Joseph Gillingham was one of the pioneers in the introduction of anthracite 
coal into commerce, and with Joseph White, sold to the city of Philadelphia the 
water-power of the Schuylkill river for the use of the Fairmount Water Works in 
1819. He married, 4mo. 14, 1802, in Buckingham Friends' IMeeting House, Re- 
becca, daughter of Samuel Harrold, of Bucks county, by his wife, Rachel (Smith) 
Carver. She was bom in Buckingham township Bucks county, 3mo. 19, 1783, and 
died in Philadelphia, 3mo. 10, 1871. 

Samuel Harrold, great-grandfather of Rebecca (Harrold) Gillingham, was 
born in Normandy, France. He went to Holland and received a lieutenant's com- 
mission under William, Prince of Orange, afterwards William HI., of England, 
and accompanied William to England. He was one of those besieged in London- 
derry, Ireland, and frequently related to his grandson, Samuel Harrold, the suffer- 
ings endured during that siege. At tlie battle of the Boyne, fought July, 1690, he 
was severely wounded, and being relieved from active service settled in Ireland, 
and established there factories for the manufacture of linen. 

William Harrold, son of Samuel, married Isabella Elliot, also said to have been 
of Norman descent. 

Samuel Harrold, son of William and Isabella (Elliot) Harrold, was born in 
county Cavan, province of Ulster, Ireland, in 1728, and came to America in 1745- 
He married (first) Elizabeth Russel, and had several children ; she died 5mo. 15, 
1777, and he married (second) iimo. 10, 1779, at Buckingham Meeting, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, Rachel (Smith), widow of Henry Carver, of Buckingham, 
and daughter of William and Rebecca (Wilson) Smith; their children were David, 
born i2mo. 7, 1780; Rebecca, married Joseph Gillingham; Samuel, died lomo. 29, 
1803; and Rachel, died 5mo. 18, 1824. Samuel Harrold was an extensive land- 
holder and prominent man in Buckingham. William Smith, the grandfather of 
the second wife of Samuel Harrold, was a native of Yorkshire, England, and 
arrived in the Delaware river in the ship, "Friends Adventure," 7mo. 28, 1684. 
He purchased land in Wrightstown township, Bucks county, of John Chapman, 
and afterwards received patents for several hundred acres adjoining, extending 
to Newtown towTiship, and Neshaminy creek. He married, 9mo. 20, 1690, at the 
house of John Chapman, Mary, daughter of Thomas and Agnes Croasdale. It 



GILLINGHAM 1057 

was as a witness to this marriage that the name of Yeamans GilHngham first ap- 
pears in Pennsylvania. 

Thomas Croasdale, of New Hoy, Yorkshire, England, by deeds of lease and 
release from William Penn, dated April 21 and 22, 1682, purchased 1000 acres of 
land to be laid out in Pennsylvania, and came to Pennsylvania in the "Welcome" 
with William Penn in the same year, accompanied by his wife, Agnes Hathorn- 
waite, whom he had married at Wyerside, Yorkshire, 3mo. i, 1664, and their 
children among whom was the above-named Mary, who married William Smith. 
She was born in Yorkshire, 8mo. 31, 1669. The Croasdales settled in Bucks 
county, where 500 acres of their land had been laid out, and the family has always 
been one of the highest standing in that county. William Smith's wife, Mary 
Croasdale, died in 1716, leaving eight children, and he married a second time and 
had seven other children. He died in 1743. 

William Smith, Jr., son of William and Mary (Croasdale) Smith, born iimo. 
2, 1697, married at Middletown Meeting, 2mo. 8, 1722-3, Rebecca, daughter of 
Stephen and Sarah (Baker) Wilson, and after his father's death purchased of 
his brothers nearly all the landed estate possessed by his father, and later an 
additional tract in Upper Makefield township. He was Coroner of Bucks county, 
1749-51 ; and a member of Provincial Assembly 1753-65, continuously, thirteen 
terms. His daughter, Rachel, born 5mo. 3, 1737, married (first) in 1755, Henry 
Carver, and (second) Samuel Harrold, before mentioned. 

Henry Baker, grandfather of Rebecca (Wilson) Smith, was of New Town, 
Lancashire, England, Smo. 6, 1667, when he married, under the auspices of Hard- 
shaw West Monthly Meeting, Margaret Hardman, of Aspull, Lancashire, and 
settled in West Darby, Lancashire. On 3mo. 27, 1684, they received from Hard- 
shaw Meeting a certificate to remove themselves and their family "into the Prov- 
ince of Pensilvania in America," which certificate gives them a very high recom- 
mendation as to honesty and sobriety. They sailed from Dolyseme, Merioneth- 
shire, Wales, in the ship "Vine," of Liverpool, and arrived at Philadelphia, 7mo. 
17, 1684, accompanied by their five daughters and two sons, "Thomas Canby, his 
sister's son," and several servants. They settled in Bucks county, where he took 
up several large tracts of land, and where he became one of the most prominent 
mentmenof hisday. He was foremanof the first grand jury of the county; overseer 
of highways ; Justice of the county courts, and a member of Provincial Assembly, 
1685-87-88-90 and 98. He married (second) at his own house, under the care of 
Middletown Meeting, 8mo. 13, 1692, Mary, widow of James Radcliffe, a native 
of Lancashire, and an eminent minister among Friends. His daughter, Sarah 
Baker, born at West Darby, Lancashire, Smo. 16, 1672, married at the same time 
and place, Stephen Wilson, of West Jersey, carpenter, who died 8mo. 29, 1707, 
and she married (second), in 1709, Isaac Milnor, and died 2mo. 29, 1715. Her 
first husband and the father of Rebecca Wilson, born 6mo. 29, 1701, who married 
William Smith, was one of the most active of the members of Falls Monthly 
Meeting in Bucks county, though residing across the river in New Jersey, near 
the Falls. During the winter months a Meeting was held at his house. He had 
charge of the erection of the first Friends' Meeting House in Buckingham at the 
time of his decease. 



ios8 GILLINGHAM 

Issue of Joseph and Rebecca (Harrold) Gillinghani : 

Rachel Harrold, b. 4mo. 8, 1803, d. 6mo. 24, 1803; 

Samuel Harrold, b. 7mo. 31, 1804, d. 2mo. 10, 1854; of whom presently; 

Mary Ann, b. 7mo. 30, 1806, d. 8mo. 3, 1807; 

Anna, b. i2mo. 5, 1807, d. 7mo. 21, 1869; m. June 12, 1833, at "Bellevue," near Holmes- 
burg, John Ferris, son of Edward and Lydia (Grubb) Gilpin, being his second wife. 
They had two children, Rebecca Harrold, m. Fairman Rogers, and George, b. Phila., 
Dec. 21, 1830, m. Sarah C. Winston; 

EmmeHne, b. Iimo. 11, 1809, d. imo. 23, 1877; m. lomo. 13, 1842, Dilworth Buckman; 
lived at Fox Chase, Phila. CO., until March 9, 1852, when they removed to Accotink, 
Va., where she d. ; 

Elizabeth, b. l2rao. 20, 181 1, d. lomo. 12, 1879, unm.; 

Rebecca Harrold, b. ilmo. 12, 1813, d. 6mo. IS, 1888, unm.; 

Josephine, b. 3mo. 3, 1816, d. 4mo. 12, 1817; 

Joseph Harrold, b. 8mo. 18, 1818, d. 3mo. 7, 1900, in Phila., bur. at Laurel Hill Cemetery; 

Catharine, b. 11 mo. 20, 1820, unm.; 

Frances, b. 7mo. 2, 1823, d. 2mo. 22, 1894, bur. at Laurel Hill; 

Caroline, b. gmo. 17, 1825, unm. 

Samuel Harrold Gillixgham, eldest son of Joseph and Rebecca (Harrold) 
Gillingham, born July 31, 1804, died in Philadelphia, February 10, 1854. He 
married (first), December 12, 1823, at Frankford Meeting, Lucy Lewis Eddy, 
born May 10, 1803, died September i, 1836, ninth child of George Eddy, of 
Philadelphia, by his wife Hester, daughter of Ellis Lewis, of Philadelphia, by his 
second wife, Mary Deshler. Ellis Lewis, was a descendant of the Lords of Nan- 
nan, Merionethshire, Wales; and Lucy Lewis Eddy also descended from Nathan- 
iel Newlin, of Chester county, member of Assembly, and from Nicholas Newlin, 
Provincial Councillor of Pennsylvania, in 1685. An account of her ancestry fol- 
lows this sketch. Samuel Harrold Gillingham married (second), in Philadelphia, 
June 30, 1839, Louisa M. (Stitcher) Hubbs, a widow, daughter of John and Sarah 
(Clemens) Stitcher. 

Issue of Samuel H. and Lucy Lewis (Eddy) Gillingham: 

Frances Eddy, b. Oct. 4, 1827, d. May 11, 1896; m. March 23, 1852, Dr. Jared Kibbee, of 
Port Huron, Mich., of which city he was Mayor in 1866. They had issue: 

Ada Follonsbee Kibbee, m. Theodore R. Wright; 

Lucy Eddy Kibbee; 

Harrold Gillingham Kibbee; 

Henry Clinton Kibbee, m. Louise Halbig; 

Eleanor P. Kibbee; 

Frances Lewis Kibbee, m. Cyrus Alvin Hovey. 
Harrold, b. Sept. 15, 1828, d. Sept. 4, 1829; 
Rebecca Harrold, b. Sept., 1829, d. inf.; 

Joseph Eddy, b. July 6, 1830, d. Nov. 7, 1905; of whom presently; 
Lucy Eddy, b. Sept. 8, 1831, d. Nov. 9, 1832; 
Lewis Eddy, b. May 17, 1833, d. inf.; 
George Eddy, b. April, 1835, d. inf.; 

Louis Harrold, b. July 3, 1836, d. Dec. 14, 1899, in Phila.; m. June 12, 1859, Louise M. 
Bartle, and had issue : 

William B. Gillingham; 

Hattie W. Gillingham. 

Issue of Samuel H. and Louisa M. (Hubbs) Gillingham: 
Frank Clemens Gillingham, b. April 14 1840; of whom later. 



GILLINGHAM 1059 

Joseph Eddy Gillingham, eldest son of Samuel Harrold and Lucy Lewis 
(Eddy) Gillingham, born in Philadelphia, July 6, 1830, was a birthright member 
in the Society of Friends, and was educated at the Friends' Central School, Phila- 
delphia. In 1854 he engaged in the lumber business, later organizing the firm of 
Gillingham & Garrison, afterwards incorporated under the title of Gillingham, 
Garrison & Company, Ltd., the largest dealers in lumber in the city of Philadel- 
phia. He built and was president of the Seventeenth and Nineteenth Street Rail- 
way until it was absorbed by the Union Traction Company. He was the first 
president of, and up to the time of his death a director of, the Mortgage Trust 
Company of Pennsylvania; a director of The Investment Company of Philadel- 
phia; of the American Fire Insurance Company of Philadelphia; of the Lancaster 
Avenue Improvement Company; and of the Bell Telephone Company. He was 
also president of the Chesapeake & Delaware Canal Company, whose Board of 
Directors, on November 14, 1905, adopted resolutions on his death in part as fol- 
lows : "Resolved, That we have received, with deep regret and sorrow, the in- 
telligence of the death of our late colleague, Joseph E. Gillingham, who for 
over twenty-five years has been actively associated with us in the management 
of the affairs of this Company, and during twenty of those years has presided at 
our meetings with unfailing and impartial courtesy. We desire to place on record 
our high appreciation of his able and faithful service as Director, and President, 
and of the uniform cordial kindness that has endeared him to us as a friend, and 
of the exceptional services rendered by him in the early period of his presidency, 
during a very trying time in the Company's history, which were of inestimable 
value." 

Mr. Gillingham was for a number of years, and until his death, one of the 
managers of the Pennsylvania Hospital, in which he took a special interest and 
pride, and to which he was a large benefactor during his life and to which also he 
left a generous bequest. In 1902 he caused to be erected and presented to the 
Hospital, a building on the grounds of the Women's Department of the Hospital 
for the Insane, in West Philadelphia, known as the "GiUingham Memorial Build- 
ing." On one of two tablets in the vestibule is the following inscription : 

ERECTED ANNO DOMINI 

1902 

BY 

JOSEPH E. GILLINGHAM 

IN MEMORY OF HIS WIFE 

CLARA DONALDSON GILLINGHAM 

Mr. Gillingham was one of the founders and a frequent contributor to the 
Veterinary Department of the University of Pennsylvania, and was one of the 
managers from its inception to the time of his death. In this connection it is of 
interest to note that the investigations conducted in 1892, by Dr. Leonard Pear- 
don, a professor in this department, at Mr. Gillingham's request, on the condition 
of the latter's valuable herd of cattle at his country place, "Clairemont," near 
Villanova Station of the Pennsylvania Railroad, in Lower Merion, Montgomery 
county, gave a great impetus to the scientific study and treatment of tuberculosis 
in cattle, and was the first instance of such an investigation on a large scale in 
this country. The Medical News in publishing an account of it, in the issue of 
March 26, 1892, makes this comment: "Mr. Gillingham's action is an example of 



io6o GILLINGHAM 

public spiritedness that has seldom been equalled, and the public would profit, 
immeasurably if others would follow a similar course." In addition to his active 
efforts and donations in behalf of the Veterinary Department, during his lifetime, 
he left it a substantial bequest, as he likewise did Haverford College, Swarthmore 
College, Bryn Mawr College, and the Women's Medical College of Philadelphia. 
He was also connected with a number of charitable organizations of the city and 
vicinity. Those mentioned in his will, with most of which he had an official con- 
nection, were: Bryn Mawr Hospital, Norristown Charity Hospital, Hospital of 
the Church of the Good Shepherd, near Rosemont, Maternity Hospital, Phila- 
delphia, Merchants' Fund of Philadelphia, Kensington Soup Society,- Penn Asylum 
for Indigent ^Vidows and Single Women, Union Benevolent Association of Phila- 
delphia, Old Men's Home, Home for Incurables, and the Central Branch Young 
Men's Christian Association; to the latter of which at Fifteenth and Chestnut 
streets, Philadelphia, besides a direct legacy, he left the annual income of a fund 
to be known as "The Joseph E. Gillingham Fund." Mr. Gillingham was a mem- 
ber of the Union League Art Club, Merion Cricket Club, Radnor Hunt, Colonial 
Society of Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, and the Genealogical 
Society of Pennsylvania. To the Historical Society he had made various gifts; 
his last being by his will, by which he bequeathed them, besides a sum of money, 
an original Orderly Book, used by the American Army at Valley Forge. He took 
great interest in the work of the Genealogical Society, of which he became a mem- 
ber on April ii, 1892, within two months of its founding, and became a life mem- 
ber. May 7, 1894, and was one of its directors from March 7, 1898, until his death. 
He procured for the Society copies of the birth, death and marriage registers and 
of the minutes of Abington Friends Meeting, to which some of his ancestors had 
belonged, and was also its liberal benefactor on other lines, besides leaving it a 
substantial bequest. 

About 1876, Mr. Gillingham purchased a tract of land in Lower Merion town- 
ship, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, which either originally or by subsequent 
purchases amounted to about four hundred acres of land. Here he erected an ele- 
gant dwelling, on the highest portion of the tract, commanding a fine view of the 
country for many miles, which he named "Clairemont," in honor of his wife, 
Clara. He lived here the greater part of the time thereafter, .and died there on 
November 7, 1905. As he left no direct descendant, he ordered this property to 
be held for fifteen years after his death, and then sold. During the latter part of 
his life he also maintained a city residence at 1421 Walnut street, but after his 
wife's decease, he sold this and made "Clairemont" his permanent home, living 
there the life of a gentleman farmer, and though he had a manager and assistants, 
the farm and dairy were under his constant personal supervision. Everything 
there was run under the most improved methods of modern scientific farming; 
the stables, cattle sheds, and dairy, were kept according to the most approved sani- 
tary principles. Some account of the "Clairemont" herd of cattle, and the judg- 
ment exercised in its selection, breeding, and management, is given in the article in 
The Medical News, before referred to. The post-office and railroad station for 
"Clairemont," was Villanova, on the Pennsylvania Railroad, and Mr. Gillingham 
was mentioned in the obituary notices in the newspapers at the time of his death 
as "one of the best known residents on the Main Line." Funeral services were 
held at the Church of the Redeemer, Bryn Mawr, November 8, 1895, by the rector, 



GILLINGHAM 1061 

Rev. James Haughton, assisted by the Rev. J. Houston Eccleston, of Baltimore, 
the latter a lifelong friend of Mr. Gillingham. The managers of the Pennsylvania 
Hospital acted as pall-bearers, and he was buried in the family plot at South 
Laurel Hill Cemetery, Philadelphia, where he directed that a gravestone exactly 
similar to that of his wife, beside whom he was buried, should be erected over 
his grave. He also left a fund for the care of the family lots, including those of 
his father, grandfather and aunts, in the same enclosure as his own. 

Joseph E. Gillingham married, August 23, 1864, Clara, daughter of Jacob and 
Maria (Conner) Donaldson, of Philadelphia. She died March 21, 1900. After 
her death, having no children of his own, Mr. Gillingham adopted, as his daugh- 
ter, Mrs. Anna H. (Wright) Gillingham, the wife of a third cousin, who lived 
with him thereafter at "Clairemont," and continued to reside there for some time 
after his death, removing about March, 1906, to Germantown. 

Frank Clemens Gillingham, only son of Samuel Harrold Gillingham, by his 
second marriage with Louise Maria Hubbs, and a half-brother to Joseph E. Gill- 
ingham, was born in Philadelphia, April 14, 1840. He entered the lumber business 
in 1859, and in 1868, formed a partnership with Rudolph J. Watson, under the 
firm name of Watson & Gillingham. Mr. Watson dying in 1889, Mr. Gillingham 
in 1898, took his eldest son as a partner under the name of Frank C. Gillingham 
& Son. During the Civil War, Frank C. Gillingham enlisted in the One Hundred 
and Nineteenth Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, was mustered in as Second 
Lieutenant of Company K, on August 7, 1862, promoted to First Lieutenant Sep- 
tember 30, 1862, and honorably discharged on a Surgeon's certiiicate, June 4, 
1863. He was a member of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion, the Veteran 
Corps, Union League, and the Historical Society of Pennsylvania. He was a 
director of the Consolidation National Bank of Philadelphia, and was interested 
in a number of charitable institutions of the city. 

He married, September 3, 1862, at her father's residence, in Hainesport, New 
Jersey, Tacy Shoemaker, daughter of Thomas Edgar and Elizabeth (Shoemaker) 
Morris. Tacy Shoemaker Morris was eighth in descent from Tobias Leech, mem- 
ber of Assembly, 1713-1714; seventh from Robert Heaton, member of Assembly 
1700; sixth from George Shoemaker, in Pennsylvania 1686; seventh from Henry 
Comly, 1683-4; seventh from Peter Elliott, 1686; eighth from Richard Wall, 1683; 
sixth from John Kirk, 1686; sixth from Rynier Tyson, 1683; and sixth from Will- 
iam Levering, 1685. Frank Clemens Shoemaker's descent from a like ancient and 
worthy ancestry is given in the preceding pages. 

Issue of Frank Clemens and Tacy Shoemaker (Morris) Gillingham: 

Frank Morris, b. 6mo. 13, 1863; m. Oct. 24, 1888, Ida Keen, and has issue — Frank Keen 
Gillingham, Thomas Morris Gillingham; 

Harrold Edgar, b. 8mo. 25, 1864; of whom presently; 

Elizabeth Morris, b. 5mo. 28, 1871; m. Nov. 8, 1900, Charles Schroeder Rich, of Balti- 
more, Md. ; 

Catharine, b. smo. 5, 1887, d. Smo. 5, 1887. 

Harrold Edgar Gillingham, son of Frank Clemens and Tacy S. (Morris) 
Gillingham, born at Hainesport, New Jersey, August 25, 1864, is a member of the 
Historical Society of Pennsylvania, the Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania, 
and the Colonial Society of Pennsylvania. In the latter society he holds the office 



io62 GILLINGHAM 

of treasurer. His ancestors through whom he holds membership in the Colonial 
Society, besides those just given as his mother's ancestors, were, Yeamans Gilling- 
ham, Bridget Scott, Sarah Jarvis, Thomas Canby, William Smith, Stephen Wil- 
son, Henry Baker, Thomas Croasdale, and Robert Lucas, of all of whom some 
account has been given in these pages. In 1901 Mr. Gillingham published an out- 
line genealogy of the descendants of Yeamans Gillingham, under the title of 
"Gillingham Family." He married, February 9, 1891, at St. Peter's Protestant 
Episcopal Church, Philadelphia, Louise Hance, daughter of John Hendeson and 
CaroHne Hearn (Hance) Long, of Philadelphia. In 1901 they lived at 410 West 
Price street, Germantown, and had one child: 

Edith Harrold Gillingham, b. 4mo. 14, 1896. 

Ellis Lewis, the maternal ancestor of Lucy Lewis (Eddy) Gillingham, was 
one of the early settlers in the Welsh tract, Chester county, Pennsylvania, born in 
Wales, about 1680, like most of the other early Welsh immigrants to Pennsyl- 
vania, was a descendant of ancient Welsh princes, and through them to the Kings 
of ancient Britain. Recent researches show that he was of the same line of de- 
scent as Rowland Ellis, the eminent Welsh minister of the Society of Friends, who 
though concerned in the first purchase of lands in Pennsylvania for the settlement 
of a Welsh colony, did not remove permanently to this Province until 1697. The 
common ancestry of Rowland Ellis and ElHs Lewis, for fifteen generations, is as 
follows : 

(I) Bleddyn, son of Cynfyn, Prince of Powys, married Isabel, daughter of 
Picot de Say, a Norman knight, and was murdered in 1072. He had by her, 

(II) Cadwgan ap Bleddyn, Lord of Ystratywy, Cardigan and Nannau, in 
Merionethshire, who was also assassinated in 1109. He married Gwenllian, daugh- 
ter of Gruffydd ap Cynan, Prince of Gwynedd, who subsequently married Gruf- 
fydd. Prince of South Wales. By her Cadwgan had a son, 

(III) Madoc, ap Cadwgan, who succeeded his father as Lord of Nannau. He 
married Eva, daughter and heiress of Philip ap Uchtryd, ap Edwin, Lord of 
Tegeingle, ap Gronwy, ap Einion, ap Owen, ap Howell Dda, King of all Wales, 
and had issue, 

(IV) Meuric, ap Madoc, Lord of Nannau, who married GwenUian, daughter 
and heiress of lerwith, ap Predyr, ap Gronwy, ap Adda, ap David Goch, from 
Ednowain, ap Bradwyn, Head of the Fifteenth Noble Tribe of Wales, and lineal 
descendant of the Kings of Britain, and had issue : 

(V) Ynr, ap Meuric, Lord of Nannau, who married Gwyrvyl, daughter and 
heiress of Madog ap Llowarch, Vychan, ap Llowarch Goch, ap Llowarch Hol- 
bwrch, Treasurer of Grufifydd, Prince of Wales, and had issue : 

Einion ap Ynr, consecrated Bishop of St. Andre's, October 21, 1268, and 

(VI) Ynr, ap Ynr, generally known as Ynr Vychan, Lord of Nannau, who 
married Gwenhwyvar, daughter of Grufifydd, ap Gwynn, ap Gronwy, ap Einion, at 
Seissyllt, Lord of Mathafon. Ynr Vychan presented a petition to Edward, Prince 
of Wales, at Kensington, in 1304-5, for the office of Raglor of the Comot of 
Talybon, stating that the King had given it to him for capturing Madoc ap 
Llewllyn, when the last war had made himself Prince of Wales. His petition, 
however, was rejected. Ynr ap Ynr was charged with others in the Parliament 



GILLINGHAM 1063 

of 1322-3 with attacking the castle of John Grey, of Ruthen, and setting fire to the 
town, on the next Wednesday after the feast of St. Gregory, in the fifteenth year 
of Edward II., 1322. He had by Gwenhwyvar: 

(VII) Meuric ap Ynr Vychan, Lord of Nannau, living in 1347-8, upon whose 
tomb in Dolgelly Church, Merionethshire, is his effigy in mail and plate armor, 
with a shield on his breast, on which is carved a lion, and bears the inscription, 
"Hie Jacet Meuric Filius Ynyr Vachan." He married Angharad, daughter of 
Gruflydd, ap Owen, ap Bleddyn, ap Owen Brogyntyn, Lord of Dinmael, and 
Ediernion, ap Madog, ap Meredyth, ap Bleddyn, Prince of Powys, and was suc- 
ceeded by his son, 

(VIII) Meuric Lloyd, ap Meuric, Lord of Nannau, who died before 1400 
A. D. He married Mallt, daughter of Howell Pickhill, ap David, ap Gronwy, ap 
lerwith, ap Howell, ap Meredyth, ap Sandde Hardde, Lord of Morton, in Den- 
bighshire, and had issue : 

Gruffydd Derwas, living in 1416, Esquire of the Body of Henry VL, with 
whose descendants those of his brother later intermarried, and, 

(IX) Howell Sele, of Nannau, who was killed by his cousin, Owen Glen- 
dower, because he refused to join him in Rebellion, and his body secreted in a 
hollow oak, where it remained until the secret crime was revealed by Glendower on 
his death bed. Howell Sele married Mali, daughter of Einion, ap Griffith, of 
Cors-y-Gedol, and had a son, 

(X) Meuric Vychan, of Nannau, who with his uncle, Griffith Derwas, was 
named among the heirs of a "Wele" of free land in the township of Nannau, in 
the seventh year of Henry V., 1419-20. Meuric was on a grand jury, at Caer- 
narvon, in 1444, and was buried in second year of Henry VII., i486, a very aged 
man. He married Angharad, daughter of David ap Cadwgan, ap Philip Dorddu, 
ap Howell, ap Madoc, ap Howell, ap Griffith, ap Gronwy, ap Gwrgenen, ap Hold- 
lien Goch, ap Cadwgan, ap Elystan Glodrydd, Prince of Fferlys, and had a son, 

(XI) David ap Meuric Vychan, of Nannau, who married Ellen, daughter of 
Howell ap Rhys, ap David, ap Howell, ap Griffith, ap Owen, ap Bleddyn, Lord of 
Dinmael, ap Owen Brogyntyn, grandson of Bleddyn, Prince of Powys, whose son, 

(XII) Howell ap David, of Nannau, is named on the rolls of the county of 
Merioneth in 15 10. He married Ellen, daughter of Robert Salisbury, of Llanwrst, 
son of Thomas Salisbury, living in 1451, son of Sir Henry Salisbury, a Knight of 
the Holy Sepulchre, who was a son of Rawlings Salisbury, and grandson of Will- 
iam Salisbury, member of Parliament in 1322. Howell ap David and Ellen Salis- 
bury, had issue, Griffith ap Howell, Lord of Nannau, and two daughters, Elizabeth 
and Margaret, who married William ap Tudor, ap Griffith, ap Edyrfedof Egryn 
Abbey. 

(XIII) Griffith ap Howell, lord of Nannau, living in 1541-2, married Jane, 
daughter of Humphrey ap Howell, ap levan, of Yns-y-Maen-Gwynn, a lineal de- 
scendant of Henry IV., of England ; her mother being Anne, daughter of Sir 
Richard Herbert, Knight of Colebrooke. Griffith and Jane had two sons, Hugh 
Griffith, who signed the pedigree as head of the family, July 24, 1588, and, 

(XIV) John ap Griffith, who married Elizabeth, daughter of David Lloyd, of 
Trawsfynedd. He held lands in the township of Dyffrydan, in Dolgelly parish, 
and elsewhere. He had issue three children, Ellen and Jane, and, 

26 



io64 GILLINGHAM 

(XV) Lewis ap John, of Dyffrydan, who was living August 28, 1654, then 
holding lands in Dyffrydan. He married Ellen, daughter of Howell ap Griffith, 
and had two sons, Rees Lewis, of Dyffryn, grandfather of Rowland Elhs, who 
later came to Bryn Mawr, Chester county, Pennsylvania, which was named for 
the seat of the family less than a mile from the market town of Dolgelly in 
Merionethshire, built by Rees Lewis in 161 7, and where he was living in 1649; and 
another son, 

(XVI) Owen ap Lewis, who married Mary, daughter of Tudor Vaughan, of 
Caer-y-Nwen, in ]\Ierionethshire, a lineal descendant of Griffith Derwas, before 
mentioned, and had issue : 

(XVH) Robert ap Owen, who married Margaret, daughter of John ap Lewis, 
and had issue, among others, Margaret, who became the second wife of Rowland 
Ellis, of Pennsylvania, and at least one son, 

(XVni) Lewis ap Robert, who married Mary (who married (second) 

Owen Roberts), and had by her one son, 

Ellis Lewis, the emigrant to Pennsylvania, mentioned at the beginning of this 
narrative. 

Ellis Lewis, son of Lewis ap Robert, by his wife, Mary, was born near Dol- 
gelly, Merionethshire, Wales, in the year 1680. His father died when he was 
quite young and his mother married Owen Roberts, as shown in the preceding 
pedigree. About 1698 Owen Roberts and his family, including his stepson, Ellis 
Lewis, concluded preparations to embark for Pennsylvania, and their goods were 
already on board the ship that was to carry them to Penn's colony in America, 
where a number of their kindred had previously found homes, when sickness in 
the family prevented them from sailing and their goods crossed the sea without 
them. 

Sometime after arriving at mature age Ellis Lewis removed to Ireland, and 
from there embarked for Pennsylvania, bringing a certificate from a Friends 
Meeting at Mount Mellich, Ireland, dated 5mo. 13, 1708. On arriving in Penn- 
sylvania, he made his home for a time with his cousins, the family of Rowland 
Ellis, who had not yet removed from Haverford. He later took up his residence 
in Kennett, Chester county, and was for many years an esteemed Elder of Kennett 
Meeting, removing later to Wilmington, Delaware, where he died 6mo. 31, 1750. 

Ellis Lewis was twice married, (first) at Concord Meeting, Chester county in 
1713, to Elizabeth, born imo. 3, 1687-8, daughter of Nathaniel Newlin, who owned 
large tracts of land, and settled in what was named Newlin township, Chester 
county. He was a member of Colonial Assembly from Chester county, 1698- 
1722; justice of the county courts from September 25, 1703, until his death in 
1729; and was one of the Proprietaries Commissioners of Property for some time 
prior to his death (1722-29), as well as a trustee of the General Loan Office of 
the Province. He was married (first) April 17, 1683, to Mary Mendenhall, of 
the county of Wilts, England; and (second) to Mary Fincher, 2mo. 17, 1729, who 
survived him but left no issue. She was daughter of John and Martha (Taylor) 
Fincher, of London Grove, Chester county. 

Nicholas Newlin, father of Nathaniel, an Englishman by birth, emigrated to 
Pennsylvania, with his grown up family in 1683, bringing a certificate from Mount 
Mellich, Queen's county, Ireland, in 1683, and settled in Concord township. He 



GILLINGHAM 1065 

was justice of the Chester county courts from 1684, until his death in 1699, and 
a member of Provincial Council, 1685-7. 

Ellis Lewis married (second) at Falls Monthly Meeting in Bucks county, imo. 
ti, 1723, Mary Balwin, a widow, who survived him, but had no children by him. 
Issue of Ellis and Elisabeth (Newlin) Lewis: 

RoBERTj b. imo. 21, 1714; of whom presently; 

Nathaniel, b. lomo. 11, 1717, d. s. p., imo. 7, 1757; 

EUis, b. 3mo. 22, 1719, grandfather of Ellis Lewis, Chief Justice of Supreme Court of 

Penna. 1854-57; 
Mary, b. imo. 6, 1716, d. 8mo. 22, 1760; m. at Kennett Meeting, 8mo. 29, 1734, Joshua 

Pusey. 

Robert Lewis, eldest son of Ellis and Elizabeth (Newlin) Lewis, born imo. 
21, 1714, was a member of Colonial Assembly from Chester county, 1745-46, but 
soon after that date removed to Philadelphia and engaged in mercantile pursuits 
for the remaining years of his life. He was buried at Philadelphia Friends' bury- 
ing-ground, 4mo. 13, 1790. 

He married at Concord Meeting, Chester county, 3mo. 23, 1733, Mary Pyle, 
born 1714, died 6mo. 26, 1782. She was a daughter of William Pyle, of Thorn- 
bury, Chester county, who was a member of Colonial Assembly, 1721-3, and a 
Justice of the Chester County Courts, 1724-8. He was a son of Robert Pyle, of 
Horton, parish of Bishop Cummings, in the county of Wilts, and Ann, of Hilper- 
ton, daughter of William Stovey, an eminent and early Friend of Wilts, who 
suffered much persecution for preaching the doctrine of Friends. Robert Pyle 
and Ann Stovey were married at a Meeting of Friends in Wiltshire, 9mo. 16, 
1681, and soon after with Nicholas Pyle, a brother of Robert, emigrated to Penn- 
sylvania, and settled in Bethel township, Chester county. Robert was a member 
of Colonial Assembly, 1688-1705, and a Justice 1684-5. His brother, Nicholas, 
was also a justice and assemblyman for many years. William Pyle, third child of 
Robert and Ann (Stovey) Pyle, was born in Chester county, iimo. 26, 1685, and 
died in 1734. He married, in 1707, Olive Bennett. 
Issue of Robert and Mary (Pyle) Lewis: 

Ellis, b. July 15, 1734, d. in Phila., 7mo. 24, 1776; of whom presently; 

NathanieLj ra. Lucy Lawrence; of them later; 

Robert, m. Frances Smith; 

William, m. Rachel Wharton; 

Phoebe, m. (first) Samuel Morton, and (second) James Pemberton; 

Eli, b. Aug. 3, 1735; 

Elizabeth, b. Dec. 17, 1736; 

Mary, b. July 24, 1739, d. March 4, 1794; 

Lydia, b. Feb. 5, 1745-6; 

Joshua, b. Dec. 29, 1749; 

Anne, b. Dec. 26, 1753. 

Ellis Lewis, eldest son of Robert and Mary (Pyle) Lewis, born in Chester 
county, Pennsylvania, July 15, 1734, grew to manhood in Philadelphia, and be- 
came one of the eminent and successful business men of that city. He lived for a 
number of years in the old "Governor's House," built by Mayor Shippen in 1693, 
that had been the residence of several colonial Governors of Pennsylvania, includ- 



io66 GILLINGHAM 

ing Penn, himself. He also maintained a country place, where he and his family- 
spent the summer months. He died in Philadelphia, July 24, 1776. 

EUis Lewis married (first) Hannah Miller, and had by her one daughter, Mary 
Lewis, who married William Green. He married (second), June 16, 1763, Mary, 
daughter of David Deshler, son of Captain David, and Marie (Wister) Deshler, 
who accompanied his uncle, John Wister, to Philadelphia, in 1727, and was asso- 
ciated with him in the mercantile business. 
Issue of Ellis and Mary (Deshler) Lewis: 

David, m. May 22, 1794, Mary, dau. of Col. Thomas Darch, of Pine Hill, near Sunbury, 
Pa., who had emigrated from Netherclay House, Co. Somerset, Eng. David Lewis, 
an active and successful business man, was member of firm of Wharton & Lewis; 
was president of Phoenix Insurance Co.; Lieutenant of militia during the Whiskey 
Insurrection, and when war with France was threatened; 
Robert, m. Sarah Fish; 

Phoebe, m. Hon. Robert Wain, member of Congress from Phila. 1798; 
Hester, b. 1770, m. George Eddy, about 1791, and had issue : 
George Eddy; 
Charles Eddy; 
James Eddy; 
Lewis Eddy; 

Mary Ann Eddy, m. Dr. Pickering; 
Hester, m. Nathaniel Lewis; 
Phoebe Wain Eddy, b. 1798, d. May 31, 1833; 
Catharine Eddy, m. Samuel L. Chapman; 

Lucy Lewis Eddy, b. May 10, 1803, d. Sept. I, 1836; m. at Frankford (Phila.) 
Meeting, December 12, 1823, Samuel Harrold Gillingham. 

Nathaniel Lewis, second son of Robert and Mary (Pyle) Lewis, born in 
Chester county, came with his parents to Philadelphia in 1749. He officiated as 
one of the executors of his father's will in 1790, and of that of his brother, Robert 
in 1795. He married Lucy Lawrence, and had, among other children, Lawrence 
Lewis, who married Anna Maria Stocker, and their son, Robert Morton Lewis, 
born in Philadelphia, November 7, 1828, graduated from University of Pennsyl- 
vania in 1846, married Anna Elizabeth, daughter of Richard and Anna Elizabeth 
(Farmer) Shippen. 



GRISCOM FAMILY. 

Andrew Griscom came from England in 1680. He purchased a large tract of 
land, on which that part of the city of Camden, known as South Camden, now 
stands, and settled thereon. He married Sarah Dole, probably of the same fam- 
ily as Joseph Dole who came to New Jersey, from Newbury, Essex county, Massa- 
chusetts. They had issue, Tobias and Sarah Griscom. 

Tobias, son of Andrew and Sarah (Dole) Griscom, settled on lands inherited 
from his father at "Newton," Gloucester county, New Jersey, now in the limits of 
the city of Camden, where he died in the winter of 1719-20, his will, dated Decem- 
ber 30, 1719, being proven three weeks later, January 21, 1719-20. He married 
Deborah Gabitas, who survived him, and died prior to 1736. 
Tobias and Deborah (Gabitas) Griscom had issue: 

Tobias Griscom; 

Andrew Griscom, of whom presently; 

Mary Griscom, m. Tobias Holloway; 

William Griscom ; 

Samuel Griscom, settled in Phila. and became shipbuilder, a prominent industry in that 
city during colonial days; became possessed of a large landed estate in Phila.; assisted 
in erection of Independence Hall and was man of prominence, and lived on Arch 
street between Third and Fourth streets; m. Rebecca James, of Phila., Feb. 6, 1741; 
had several children, one of them, dau. Sarah, ra. William Donaldson, at Christ 
Church, Dec. 31, 1770. 

Andrew Griscom, son of Tobias and Deborah (Gabitas) Griscom, settled near 
Tuckahoe, on lands that his grandfather had purchased many years previously. 
He married Susanna, daughter of John and Mary (Chambless) Hancock, of Allo- 
way's Creek, Salem county, later known as Hancock's Bridge, from a bridge 
erected by John Hancock over Alloway's Creek in 1708. This John Hancock was 
a native of London, and came to New Jersey in 1679. He was the founder of a 
family long prominent in the affairs of New Jersey. The. old family mansion at 
Hancock's Bridge, erected in 1734, was the scene of the massacre of defenceless 
non-combatants by the British soldiers under Col. Mawhood in 1778. Andrew 
Griscom married (second) Mary . 

William Griscom, son of Andrew and Susanna (Hancock) Griscom, born in 
Salem county. New Jersey, married there in 1773, Rachel, daughter of John and 
Elizabeth (Bacon) Denn, of Cohansey Creek, Salem county. New Jersey; grand- 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (Oakford) Denn, and great-granddaughter of 
James and Elizabeth (Maddox) Denn. 

James Denn (son of John Denn, one of the first settlers on Alloway's Creek, 
Salem county. New Jersey, who died there June 24, 1685, leaving a widow, Mar- 
garet and several children), married, in 1688, Elizabeth Maddox, who was born 
in London, England, in 1671. Her father, John Maddox, son of Ralph Maddox, 
was born in 1638. He located in London in 1668, and in 1669, when he married 
Elizabeth, widow of Joseph Durham, was residing in the parish of St. Sepulchre, 
where his daughter, Elizabeth, was born in 167 1. 

In 1678 John Maddox, his wife, daughter, Elizabeth, stepson, Richard Durham, 



io68 GRISCOM 

and three servants, sailed from London in the ship "Surrey" and arrived at Salem, 
New Jersey, in November, of the same year. In 1682 John Maddox purchased 
of Isabella Hancock, widow of William Hancock, who had died 1679, one-half of 
the latter's allotment of 1000 acres on Alloway's Creek, and settled thereon. He 
died December, 1693, leaving a daughter, Margaret, born June 29, 1689, and a son, 
John. 

John Denn, only son of James and Elizabeth (Maddox) Denn, born at Allo- 
way's Creek, Salem county. New Jersey, August 11, 1693, married, March i, 1717, 
Elizabeth Oakford, born on Alloway's Creek, May 17, 1698, daughter of Charles 
and Mary Oakford, and settled on his father's plantation, on which he erected, in 
or about the year 1725, a stone house on the banks of the creek, which is still 
standing and owned by his descendants. Elizabeth (Oakford) Denn died in 1727, 
and John Denn married (second), in 1728, Leah Paul. He died in 1733. By his 
first wife he had issue, Naomi, born 1718, and John Denn, Jr., born September 
28, 1727, and by his second wife, son Paul Denn, born October 18, 1731. 

John Denn, Jr., son of John and EHzabeth (Oakford) Denn, born September 
28, 1727, married Elizabeth Bacon, of Cohansey, Salem county, a daughter of 
John Bacon, of the celebrated Bacon family of Bacon's Neck, by his wife, Eliza- 
beth Smith, and had issue, Rachel Denn, who married William Griscom, above 
mentioned; James Denn, born January 19, 1746-7; John Denn, born 1751 ; David 
Denn, born 1756; and Martha Denn, born 1758. 

William Griscom and his wife, Rachel Denn, lived for a few years in the village 
of Hancock's Bridge, and then he purchased a plantation in the township of Man- 
nington, Salem county, near Guineatown, where they resided the remainder of 
their lives. 

Issue of William and Rachel (Denn) Griscom: 

John Griscom, removed to N. Y., where he was considered an eminent scholar and was 
elected Prof, of Chemistry; when past middle life went to Europe, whence his fame 
as scholar had preceded him, and on his arrival was at once introduced among emi- 
nent literary people. On return to America, after extensive tour, he published an 
account of travels under title of "Tour of Europe," which was much read and greatly 
admired at time for its easy and beautiful language, and has preserved his name as 
scholar. Soon after his return from Europe, Prof. Griscom travelled through Eastern 
and Middle States, lecturing on Joseph Lancaster's system of education in Common 
Schools, which was generally adopted, and he may be considered father of that 
system in this country; m. (first) Miss Hatch, and (second) cousin, Rachel, daugh- 
ter of John and Phcebe Denn, of Salem, N. J.; 

William Griscom, of whom presently; 

Everett Griscom, drowned at age of sixteen, while bathing. Like all rest of Griscom 
family, was remarkable for scholarship, being far advanced in studies at his prema- 
ture death ; he even excelled brother, John, the eminent scholar, above mentioned, and 
acquired knowledge with greatest facility; 

Samuel Griscom, lived in Phila., where he was Supt. of Schuylkill Navigation Co. ; m. 
Ann, dau. of Jeremiah Powell, of Alloway's Creek, Salem co., N. J.; 

Rachel Griscom; 

David Griscom, was also above average man in mental abilities, and a noted educator, 
having select school near Frankford, Phila. After death of his first wife he moved to 
N. Y., and associated with Joseph Walker, an English Friend there, as tutor of his 
children. During this time, they all made an extensive tour in Europe, i. e., Joseph 
Walker, his two sons and David Griscom. After return to America and second mar- 
riage, Mr. Griscom purchased land near Woodbury, N. J., and started nursery. His 
physical health was never very good; m. (first) Anne Whitlock, and (second) her 
sister, Jane Whitlock. 

William Griscom, second son of William and Rachel (Denn) Griscom, mar- 
ried Ann, daughter of Samuel and Sarah Stewart, of Salem, New Jersey, and 





^l/]G€r?fiy 



GRISCOM 1069 

resided in the early part of their married Hfe in that county, but in later life with 
their sons, Samuel and William, near Frankford, Philadelphia. 
Issue of William and Ann (Stezvart) Griscom: 

Samuel Griscom, who when quite young opened boarding school at Clermont, near 
Frankford, at same place where his uncle, David, had conducted school several years 
previously. These Griscom schools (or more properly, this Griscom school, as Samuel 
probably succeeded his uncle directly) were patronized by best people in that day, and 
are probably still remembered by some of older residents of the city, who were students 
there. Samuel Griscom's parents resided with him at Clermont until his marriage with 
Sidney, dau. of Yeamans Gillingham, soon after which they resided with son, William, 
as above stated. Samuel Griscom and family moved to Petersburg, Va., when be be- 
came engineer of that city. 

William Griscom, m. (first) Mary, a cousin, dau. of James and Anne Stewart, of Cum- 
berland CO., N. J.; (second) Sarah Whitlock, of Frankford, Phila. co., Pa., dau. of 
Isaac Whitlock; 

George Griscom, member of Phila. Bar, m. Mercy Brown; 

John Denn Griscom, b. in Salem, N. J., March 25, 1809, d. July 23, i8go; of -whom 
presently ; 

Mary Griscom, m. Samuel Stewart, of Ind., son of James Stewart, of AUoway's Creek, 
Salem Co., N. J. They had no children; in 1876 her husband having died, Mary re- 
turned to N. J. and was hving at Woodbury; 

Charles Griscom, m. Elizabeth, widow of Joseph Powell, and dau. of William Denn, a 
cousin in some degree. He d. prior to 1876, leaving widow and six children. 

John Denn Griscom, M. D., son of William and Anne (Stewart) Griscom, 
studied medicine, graduated from the University of Pennsylvania in 1838, and 
became one of the prominent members of the medical profession in Philadelphia. 
In later life he spent much time in Europe for the benefit of his health. He mar- 
ried, November 6, 1839, Margaret W. Acton, born in Salem, New Jersey, Novem- 
ber 23, 1819, died December 5, 1896, daughter of Clement Acton, of Salem, New 
Jersey, by his second wife, Hannah, born 1780, daughter of James Mason Wood- 
nutt, by his wife, Margaret, daughter of Preston and Hannah (Smith) Carpenter, 
of Carpenter's Landing, New Jersey, and a descendant of Governor Thomas 
Lloyd, and of Samuel Carpenter and Samuel Preston, Provincial Councillors of 
Pennsylvania. 

Benjamin Acton, the first American ancestor of Margaret W. (Acton) Gris- 
com, is first mentioned in the records of Salem county. New Jersey, in or about 
the year 1677 ; therefore, though there is no exact record of the time of his arrival, 
he probably came with Christopher White, William Hancock, et al, in the "Kent," 
which landed at New Salem, August 23, 1677. He purchased of John Fenwick a 
lot of sixteen acres on Fenwick street, now called East Broadway, on which he 
built his house. He was also the proprietor of a tannery, an industry engaged in 
largely by the upper class of the early colonists. He was a worthy and able mem- 
ber of the Society of Friends, and in 1682, he and another were appointed to re- 
pair and build an addition to the meetinghouse. When the town of New Salem 
was incorporated in 1695, Benjamin Acton was chosen Recorder. He was also 
one of the official surveyors, and took part in laying out the county lands and high- 
ways. In 1727 he built a brick house on his Fenwick street lot, which is still stand- 
ing; it was hip-roofed and is now one of the ancient landmarks of the city of 
Salem. Benjamin Acton married, about 1689, Christiana , and had issue: 

Elizabeth Acton, b. at Salem, Feb. 26, 1690-1; m. Dec, 1712, Francis Reynolds; 
Mary Acton, b. Dec. 17, 1692; m. 1715, William Willis; 



I070 GRISCOM 

Benjamin Acton, Jr., b. Oct. 19, 1695; of whom presently; 
Lydia Acton, b. Jan. 24, 1697-8; 
Joshua Acton, b. Sept. 9, 1700. 

Benjamin Acton, Jr., born October 19, 1695, inherited his father's lot on Fen- 
wick street, and in 1729 erected on another part of it a much larger brick dwell- 
ing, of which, though partly remodelled, the original walls still remain. He also 
inherited the tannery which he conducted. He married, in 1727, Elizabeth, widow 
of Thomas Hill, and they had issue, five children, viz. : 

John Acton, b. Oct. 31, 1728, of whom presently; 
Joseph Acton, b. Nov. 30, 1730; 
Benjamin Acton, b. Nov. 15, 1733, d. inf.; 
Benjamin Acton, b. Feb. 28, 1735-6; 
Samuel Acton, b. Aug. 31, 1738. 

John Acton, eldest son of Benjamin and EHzabeth, born October 31, 1728, 
inherited the family tannery from his father and continued the business. He mar- 
ried, about 1753, but the name of this first wife is unknown. They had one child: 

Ci,Emi;nt Acton, of whom presently. 

John Acton married (second) Mary Oakford, of Alloway's Creek, and had 
issue : 

Samuel Acton; 

John Acton, a sea capt., d. unm.; 

Elizabeth Acton, m. John Hancock, of Hancock's Bridge; 

Barbara Acton, m. Samuel Hall, of Delaware family of that name, mentioned hereafter; 

Joseph Acton. 

Clement Acton, son of John Acton, by his first wife, married (first) Hannah, 
daughter of William Hall, an extensive landowner near St. George's Creek, New 
Castle county, now Delaware; and had by her two children, Benjamin and Han- 
nah. He married (second), in 1776, Hannah, daughter of James Mason Wood- 
nutt, by his wife, Margaret Carpenter, as previously stated, and they had issue: 

Clement J. Acton, removed to Cincinnati, C, and engaged in mercantile business, in 
connection with cousins, William and Thomas Woodnutt. He m. Mary, dau. of Col. 
John Noble, of Columbus, O.; 

Margaret Woodnutt Acton, m. Dr. John Denn Griscom, before mentioned; 

Issue of Dr. John Denn and Margaret W. (Acton) Griscom, of Philadelphia: 

Clement Acton Griscom, of whom presently; 

Hannah Woodnutt Acton, m. Frank Lesley Neall, of Phila., who succeeded his brother- 
in-law, Clement A. Griscom, as head of great mercantile house of Peter Wright & 
Sons. Member of Historical and Genealogical Societies of Pa. ; of the Union League, 
etc., and director of Maritime Exchange of Phila.; 

William Woodnutt Griscom, b. in Phila., July 6, 1851; entered Haverford Coll. 1866, and 
left at end of Junior year and entered Coll. Dept. of Univ. of Pa., the Senior Class, 
in fall of 1869; was member of Philomaethean Society; received degree A. B. in 1870, 
and A. M. in 1873; president of the Electro-Dynamic Company, of Phila.; member of 
American Philosophical Association for the Advancement of Science; American Insti- 
tute of Electrical Engineers; of Franklin Institute of State of Pa., in Phila., and 
author of "Some Storage Battery Phenomena." He m. 1877, Dora Ingham, dau. of 
Rev. George Hale, D. D. They resided at Haverford, Pa., on the line of the Penna. 
R. R. Died Sept. 24, 1897. Mrs. Griscom is member of Penna. Society Colonial 
Dames of America. 



GRISCOM 



1071 



Clement Acton Griscom, eldest son of Dr. John Denn Griscom, by his wife, 
Margaret Woodnutt Acton, born in Philadelphia, March 15, 1841, received his 
rudimentary education in the pubHc schools of his native city, and after two years 
in the Central High School, completed his studies in the Friends' Academy. 

A descendant of a family which had been identified with the history of Phila- 
delphia since the seventeenth century, he inherited traits of character which en- 
abled him to take rank among the prominent men of the city. Upon leaving 
school, at the age of sixteen years, he entered the old established shipping house 
of Peter Wright & Sons, as a clerk. Taking from the first an active interest in 
the business of this important firm, his occupation proved congenial and deter- 
mined his future career; giving evidence of strong and progressive business 
traits, he gained at the early age of twenty-two, a partnership in the business. 
Under his directing influence the firm began to purchase sailing vessels for their 
trade and the profits increased immediately and largely. More vessels were pur- 
chased, the business grew to larger dimensions, and eventually Peter Wright & 
Sons became the agents of the old American Line, one of the prominent Steam- 
ship Lines of that period. Following this came the formation of the International 
Navigation Company (whose line of steamships was known as the Red Star 
Line), accomplished through Mr. Griscom's negotiations, directly, with King 
Leopold of Belgium, and which company later absorbed the old American Line. 

Mr. Griscom was elected Vice-president of the International Navigation Com- 
pany, May 13, 1871, and President, January 4, 1888; his company controlling 
and operating twenty-six ocean steamships, one of the largest fleets in the trade. 
The old Inman Line was purchased by the Company in 1886, and subsequently 
it contracted for the steamships, "New York" and "Paris," in which steamers 
Mr. Griscom was the first to introduce twin screws for passenger traffic in the 
North Atlantic trade, and which were so subdivided and constructed as to be 
absolutely unsinkable. Through Mr. Griscom's energy congressional legislation 
was secured which permitted these ships to sail under American registry. 

In line with the patriotic sentiment which prompted this effort was the award- 
ing of the contract for the ocean liners, "St. Louis" and "St. Paul," to William 
Cramp & Sons Ship & Engine Building Company, and the result proved that his 
confidence in the ability of American shipbuilders to build the ships needed for 
American trade, was not misplaced. In the Spanish-American War the United 
States Government secured the use of several of the ships of the International 
Navigation Company, including the "St. Louis," the "St. Paul," the "New York," 
which was temporarily known as the "Harvard," and the "Philadelphia," which 
during her term of government service was known as the "Yale." These vessels 
played an important part in the naval engagements of the war, thus attaching to 
them a historic interest. 

In 1902 the name of the International Navigation Company was changed to 
International Mercantile Marine Company, and its capital increased to acquire 
the fleets and business of the White Star Line, Atlantic Transport Line, Leyland 
Line, and Dominion Line. Mr. Griscom was elected president of the new com- 
pany, October i, 1902, but resigned in February, 1904, to accept the position of 
Chairman of the Board of Directors. 

In 1889 Mr. Griscom was a delegate to the International Maritime Conference 



I072 GRISCOM 

for revising the "Rules of the Road at Sea," at which the representatives of 
twenty-eight nations were present. 

The Queen of Holland conferred upon Mr. Griscom the Decoration of "Knight 
of the Order of Orange-Nassau" in recognition of the perfect discipline establish- 
ed upon the steamships of the International Navigation Company; the particular 
occasion which prompted Her Majesty to confer the decoration being the rescue 
by the crew of the American Line steamship "St. Louis" of the passengers and 
crew, consisting of 212 men, women and children, from a disabled Dutch Trans- 
atlantic steamship, which sank shortly after the last boat-load had left the wreck. 
Mr. Griscom has also received the Decoration of the Legion of Honor from the 
French government. 

Mr. Griscom was president of the Society of Naval Architects and Marine 
Engineers from 1893 until 1903, when he resigned and was made an Honorary 
Associate Member of the Society. He is also an honorary member of the British 
Institute of Naval Architects, an honor conferred upon but three others at that 
time, the Grand Duke Constantine of Russia, Lord Kelvin of England, and De 
Lome of France. The responsible position which Mr. Griscom fills in the Steam- 
ship Company, with the intercontinental traffic, does not, however, occupy all of 
his time and attention, and he is actively interested in railroad and banking inter- 
ests. He was elected a director of the Pennsylvania Railroad Company, Septem- 
ber 24, 1884, and appointed a member of the Road Committee, October 8, 1884. 

Clement A. Griscom is a member of the Society of Colonial Wars of the Com- 
monwealth of Pennsylvania. He married, June 18, 1862, Frances Canby Biddle, 
born August 11, 1840, eldest daughter of William Canby Biddle, by his wife, 
Rachel Miller. See Biddle Family. They resided for some years in the city of 
Philadelphia, then for a short time at Riverton, New Jersey. Later he acquired a 
fine estate on the Main Line of the Pennsylvania Railroad, which he named 
"Dolobran," after the family home of his ancestor, Governor Thomas Lloyd. 
Here Mr. and Mrs. Griscom have entertained many distinguished visitors to 
Philadelphia. Mrs. Frances Canby (Biddle) Griscom is a member of the Society 
of Colonial Dames of America. 

Issue of Clement Acton and Frances Canby (Biddle) Griscom: 

John Acton Griscom, b. March 31, 1863, d. in 1865; 

Helen Biddle Griscom, b. Oct. 9, 1866; m. June 20, 1889, Samuel Bettle, of a well-known 
Phila. family; she is member of Penna. Society Colonial Dames of America; they 
have issue — Griscom Bettle, b. Feb. 19, 1890; 

Clement Acton Griscom, Jr., b. Phila., June 20, 1868; entered Towne Scientific School of 
the Univ. of Pa. (Coll. Dept.) 1884, in Sophomore class, and transferred to Wharton 
School of Finance and Economy, in same Univ., at close of Sophomore year; was 
member of Delta Psi fraternity; won number of prizes in college athletics; received 
the degree of Ph. B. 1887; appointed supervisor International Navigation Co. in 1892, 
and manager of same company in 1894; was Gen. Man. of International Mercantile 
Marine Co. from organization in 1902, to April, 1904, when he resigned; is president 
and director of The James Reilly Repair & Supply Co.; president and director of Bell 
Pure Air and Cooling Co. ; vice-president and director of the Guanajuato Reduction 
& Mines Co.; director of The American Finance & Securities Co., and of The Devel- 
opment Co. of America, and of Empire Trust Co. of N. Y.; member of Chamber of 
Commerce, N. Y. ; N. Y. Produce Exchange; Maritime Exchange, N. Y.; American 
Academy of Political and Social Science, Phila.; American Museum of Natural His- 
tory, N. Y. ; Metropolitan Museum of Art, N. Y. ; Society of Naval Architects and 
Marine Engineers; Penna. Society, Sons of the Revolution; Penna. Society of N. Y.; 
Society of Colonial Wars; N. Y. Zoological Society; Permanent International Associa- 
tion of Navigation Congresses; N. Y. Botanical Garden; American Society for Pre- 
vention of Cruelty to Animals ; American National Red Cross Society ; and American 



GRISCOM 1073 

Forestry Association. Married Sept. 18, 1889, Genevieve Sprigg, dau. of Gen. Will- 
iam Ludlow, U. S. A., who is member of Penna. Society Colonial Dames of America; 
they reside at 21 Washington Square, N. Y.; they had issue: 

Ludlow Griscom, b. June 17, i8go; 

Acton Griscom, b. Aug. 3, 1891; 

Joyce Olive Griscom, b. Feb. 27, 1893, d. Dec. 3, 1897. 
Rodman Ellison Griscom, b. in Phila., Oct. 21, 1870; entered Haverford Coll., Pa., 1885, 
and left at close of Sophomore year, afterwards entering Junior Class, Coll Dept., of 
Univ. of Pa., 1887; member of Delta Psi fraternity; received degree Ph. B. 1889; was 
concerned in father's great commercial steamship enterprises, being manager of the 
International Navigation Co. for some time; for past four years has been member of 
Banking House of Bartram, Storrs & Griscom; is member of Society of Colonial 
Wars in Commonwealth of Penna.; of Penna. Society of Sons of the Revolution; 
and of Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers; m. Feb. 17, 1897, Anna 
Starr, who is a member of the Penna. Society of Colonial Dames of America; they 
reside at Haverford, Pa.; they have issue: 

Clement Acton Griscom, 3d,, b. March 13, 1899; 

Mary Starr Griscom, b. June 26, 1901 ; 

Rodman Ellison Griscom, Jr., b. Dec. 17, 1904. 
Lloyd Carpenter Griscom, U. S. Ambassador to Italy, b. at Riverton, N. J., Nov. 4, 1872; 
entered Coll. Dept. of Univ. of Pa. 1887, member of Delta Psi fraternity, won several 
prizes in college sports ; received degree Ph. B. 1891, and took two years course in 
Law Dept. of Univ.; was secretary to Hon. Thomas F. Bayard, U. S. Ambassador to 
Court of St. James 1893-4; admitted to N. Y. Bar 1896; Deputy District Attorney, 
N. Y., 1897; volunteer in Spanish-American War, commissioned Capt. and Quarter- 
master, served four months in Cuba as Aide-de-Camp to Maj. Gen. James F. Wade, 
recommended for promotion, but resigned to re-enter diplomacy. Appointed secretary 
Legation, Turkey, July, 1899; Charge d'Affaires, Turkey, 1899-1901 ; Envoy Extra- 
ordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary to Persia 1901-02; Envoy Extraordinary and 
Minister Plenipotentiary to Japan 1902-06; U. S. Ambassador to Brazil 1906-07; U. S. 
Ambassador to Italy 1907; member of Society of Colonial Wars in Commonwealth 
of Penna.; m. Nov. 2, 1901, at St. Margaret's Church, London, Eng., to Elizabeth 
Duer Bronson, of N. Y.; issue^Bronson Winthrop Griscom, b. Rome, Italy, June 2, 
1907; 
Francis Canby Griscom, Jr., b, April 19, 1879; well-known member of Merion Cricket 
Club, etc., devotes much time to athletics, and holds number of golf championships. 



CAN BY FAMILY. 

Thomas Canby, one of the prominent men of Bucks county, Pennsylvania in 
early colonial days, was born at Thome, Yorkshire, England, in 1667, and was 
son of Benjamin Canby, by his wife, a sister of Henry Baker, of Lancashire, with 
whom Thomas Canby came to Pennsylvania in the "Vine," of Liverpool, which 
arrived at Philadelphia, September 17, 1684. His father, Benjamin Canby, ap- 
pears to have resided later at Liverpool, as Henry Baker, in his request to Falls 
Monthly Meeting, 5mo. i, 1685, that the Meeting fix the time that his nephew, 
Thomas Canby, should serve him in payment for the expenses of his passage to 
America, and for six months during which "he rested with him at his charge," 
states that he was a "son of Benjamin Canby, late of Liverpoole." The meeting 
fixed his term of service at five years. After the expiration of service to his 
maternal uncle in Bucks county, he located near Abington, Philadelphia county, 
and on October 27, 1693, married, under the auspices of Philadelphia Monthly 
Meeting, Sarah Jarvis, and after residing for a few years near Robert Fletcher, in 
Abington township, removed to Solebury township, Bucks county, where he pur- 
chased an interest in the Mills near New Hope, and in 1717 purchased 444 acres 
of land lying along the Buckingham line, where he resided until 1729, when he 
purchased 200 acres at the intersection of the Old York road, with the Durham 
road at the present village of Buckingham, where he resided until about 1740, and 
then returned to his Solebury farm. He was clerk of Buckingham Meeting, at its 
organization into a Monthly Meeting in 1720, and served for a number of years 
as clerk and overseer, and also "had a gift in the Ministry." On 5mo. 6, 1741, 
he took a certificate from Buckingham Meeting for himself and family to "New 
Work Monthly Meeting in New Castle county," and located at Wilmington, but 
remained less than a year, returning to his Solebury farm where he died Novem- 
ber 20, 1742. He was commissioned a Justice of the Peace of Bucks county, and 
Justice of the several courts thereof, December 2, 1719, and regularly recommis- 
sioned until February 23, 1723, from which date to May 12, 1725, he was out of 
commission, but after the latter date was regularly recommissioned until near 
the time of his decease, the last commission of which we have record being No- 
vember 22, 1738. Serving in the Provincial Assembly from Bucks county, in 
1 72 1 and 1722, he was again elected in 1730, 33 and 38; and was succeeded in 
1739 by his son, Thomas Canby, Jr. 

Thomas Canby was a man of sterling integrity of character and enjoyed the 
confidence and esteem of all with whom he came in contact, while his many acts 
of charity and Christian kindness endeared him to the community in which he 
lived. 

Sarah Jarvis, first wife of Thomas Canby, died at Abington, April 8, 1708, and 
he married, June 2, 1709, Mary Oliver, born in Radnorshire, Wales, December 9, 
1677, fifth child of Evan and Jean Lloyd Oliver, who left Radnorshire, "about ye 
beginning of ye 6 month 1682," and arrived at Upland (now Chester), Pennsyl- 
vania, "ye 28th of ye 8th Month, 1682," according to a record in their own family 
Bible. Mary (Oliver) Canby died in Solebury, Bucks county, March 26, 1720-1, 
and on October 9, 1722, he married at Middletown, Jane Preston, a widow, who 
survived him. 



CANBY 



Issue of Thomas and Sarah (Jarvis) Canby: 



I07S 



Benjamin, b. at Abington, Sept. 24, 1694, d. inf.; 

Sarah, b. at Abington, Oct. 23, 1695; m. Sept. 20, 1719, John Hill, of Buckingham; 

Elizabeth, b. Dec. 24, 1696; m. 1724, Thomas Lacey, of Buckingham; 

Mary, b. Dec. 14, 1697; m. 1722, Joseph Hampton, of Solebury; 

Phebe, b. Sept. 19, 1699; ra. (first) Sept. 30, 1719, Robert Smith, of Buckingham; (sec- 
ond) May 16, I7S3, Hugh Ely, of Buckingham; 

Esther, b. Feb. 16, 1701 ; ra. (first) John Stapler; (second) John White; 

Thomas, Jr., b. Oct. 12, 1702; m. Sarah Preston; was member of Colonial Assembly 
1739-41; 

Benjamin, b. Sept. 18, 1704, d. Dec. 17, 1748, in Solebury township; was proprietor of 
the mills and a forge at New Hope, and of ferry there, known later as Coryell's ferry, 
and interested in iron works in N. J.; m. (first) May 26, 1724, Martha Preston, and 
(second) Sarah (Fletcher) Yardley; 

Martha, b. May 9, 1705; m. (first) James Gillinghara, of Buckingham, and (second) in 
1748, Joseph Duer, of Solebury. 

Issue of Thomas and Mary (Oliver) Canby: 

Jane, b. June 12, 1710; m. May, 1732, Thomas Paxson, of Solebury, and was great-grand- 
mother of late Chief Justice Edward M. Paxson, of Phila.; 

Rebecca, b. Feb. 16, 1711-12; m. May 27, 1730, Samuel Wilson, of Buckingham; 

Hannah, b. Jan. 3, 1712-13, d. Oct. 25, 1722; 

Joseph, b. March i, 1714-15, d. Sept. 4, 1718; 

Rachel, b. Sept. 8, 171 5, d. unm.; 

Oliver, b. Jan. 24, 1716-17, d. at Wilmington, Del., Nov. 30, 1754; m. Elizabeth Shipley;, 
of whom presently; 

Ann, b. July 26, 1718, d. unm.; 

Lydia, b. Dec. 25, 1720; m. May 27, 1749, John Johnson. 

Thomas Canby had no issue by his third wife, Jane Preston. 

Oliver Canby, youngest son of Thomas Canby, of Bucks county, by his second 
wife, Mary Oliver, born January 24, 1716 (O. S. ; N. S. February 3, 1717), was 
reared in Bucks county, and removed with his father and step-mother to Wilming- 
ton, Delaware, in 1741, and engaged in the milling business, owning and operating 
\the first mill built within the corporate limits of the present city, located on the 
Rrandywine, about two hundred yards above the present bridge over that stream. 
He was an active and successful business man, but died in the prime of his life 
and usefulness, after a sudden and severe illness, November 30, 1754, in his 
thirty-eighth year. He married at Wilmington, April 22, 1744, Elizabeth Shipley, 
born in Leicestershire, England, in 1722, daughter of William Shipley, born in 
Leicestershire, 1693, by his wife, Mary Ann, daughter of Robert and Ann Tat- 
nall. Robert Tatnall died in Leicestershire, England in the year 1715, leaving a 
widow, Ann, and seven children, five of whom accompanied their mother to Penn- 
sylvania in 1725, and settled at Darby, Pennsylvania. William Shipley had mar- 
ried Mary Tatnall in England, and accompanied the family to Pennsylvania in 
1725, and soon after settled at Ridley, Chester county, but removed to Wilming- 
ton in 1735, and was the virtual founder of that town. His wife, Mary (Tatnall) 
Shipley, died in 1727, and he married (second) Elizabeth Levis. He died at 
Wilmington in 1768. 

Elizabeth (Shipley) Canby married (second), December 3, 1761, William 
Poole, of Wilmington, and an account of their descendants is given elsewhere in 
this volume. 



1076 CAN BY 

Issue of Oliver and Elisabeth (Shipley) Canby: 

Hannah, b. Jan. 2, 1746, d. June 4, 1748; 

William, b. June 6, 1748, d. April 3, 1830; m. Martha Marriott; of whom presently; 

Samuel, b. Aug. 6, 1751, d. March 8, 1832; m. Frances Lea; of whom .presently; 

Mary, b. Oct. 10, 1754, d. March 23, 1797; on May 27, 1790, became second wife of Abra- 
ham Gibbons, of Thornbury township, Chester co.. Pa., later of Lancaster co., in 
same state, who was son of Joseph and Hannah (Marshall) Gibbons, of Thornbury, 
and grandson of James and Ann ( Peirce) Gibbons, great-grandson of John and Mar- 
gery Gibbons, who came from Warminster, Wiltshire, Eng., and settled in Chester 
CO. in 1681, founding one of most prominent and distinguished families of that county; 
the father, grandfather and great-grandfather of Abraham Gibbons, all having repre- 
sented their county in Colonial Assembly, as well as filling other positions of trust and 
honor under the Colonial Government and in local affairs of their county and town- 
ship. His maternal great-grandfather, George Peirce, and his Marshall ancestors en- 
joying like distinction. Abraham Gibbons, b. in Thornbury, Chester co., Sept. 15, 1741, 
m. (first) April 13, 1763, Lydia, dau. of WiUiam and Lydia Garrett, of WiUistown, 
and settled on a portion of a one-thousand-acre tract of land owned by his father, in 
Lampeter township, Lancaster co. His first wife having deceased, he married Mary 
Canby, as above stated, in 1790, and they were parents of two daughters, Hannah and 
Mary, b. 1793 and 1794, respectively. He died of yellow fever, while attending Yearly 
Meeting at Philadelphia in 1798, his wife, Mary Canby, having died a year previously. 
On death of their mother, Hannah and Mary Gibbons were adopted into family of 
uncle, William Canby, of Wilmington, and continued to reside at the old Canby home- 
stead, until marriage of Hannah, Oct. 15, 1835, to Benjamin Ferris, of Wilmington, 
whose first wife was Fanny Canby, dau. of William (uncle and foster-father of his 
second wife), by his wife, Martha Marriott. 

William Canby, eldest son of Oliver and Elizabeth (Shipley) Canby, born at 
Wilmington in 1748, on his marriage in 1774, located at Sixteenth and King 
streets, Wilmington, where he resided until his death in 1830, engaging in the 
milling business with brother, Samuel. He married, May 5, 1774, Martha Mar- 
riott, born at Trenton, New Jersey, September 25, 1747, daughter of Thomas 
Marriott, born at Bristol, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, February 21, 1717-18, by 
his wife, Sarah Smith, born November 2, 1720, daughter of Shobal and Prudence 
Smith, of New Jersey. Isaac Marriott, the grandfather of the above named 
Thomas was a son of Richard Marriott, of Wappingham, Northamptonshire, and 
came from Holborn, London, in 1680. He was one of the Proprietors of West 
Jersey, and in later years a merchant at Burlington, New Jersey. He married, 
September 7, 1681, Joyce Olive, and had sons, Isaac, Samuel and Thomas. He 
took up land in 1681, at the mouth of Rancocus creek, and died in Burlington, 
1712. His wife, Joyce, died September 18, 1695, and he married (second) Sus- 
anna Field, by whom he had sons, Joseph and Benjamin. His son, Thomas, 
grandfather of Martha (Marriott) Canby, born September 21, 1691, married 
Martha, daughter of Joseph Kirkbride, of Bucks county, by his first wife, Phebe, 
daughter of Randolph Blackshaw, and Alice, his wife, who came from Hollingee, 
Cheshire, in 1682, and settled in Bucks county. 

Joseph Kirkbride was a son of Mahlon and Magdalen Kirkbride, of Kirkbride, 
Cumberland, England, and of an ancient family of that name, descended from 
Richard Kirkbride, who married Euphemia, daughter and heiress of Adam de 
Levington, Baron of Levington, who died 121 1. 

Joseph Kirkbride, born in Cumberland in 1662, came to Pennsylvania with 
Penn in the "Welcome" in 1682, and settled in Bucks county, where he became 
one of the largest landowners in the county and one of its most prominent men; 
was Justice of the Courts, 1708-22, and a member of Provincial Assembly five 
terms, between 1698 and 1716, and regularly thereafter until 1721, when he was 



CAN BY 1077 

succeeded by his son, Joseph Kirkbride, Jr. He married (second) in 1703, Sarah, 
daughter of Mahlon and Rebecca (Ely) Stacy, the first settlers on the site of 
Trenton, and his son, Mahlon, by this marriage was also for a long time a mem- 
ber of Colonial Assembly, and prominent in the affairs of his county and province 
as were others of the family. 

Thomas and Martha (Kirkbride) Marriott, settled at Bristol, Bucks county, 
and he was a member of Colonial Assembly from Bucks in 1734 and 1738. Mary, 
daughter of Thomas and Martha (Kirkbride) Marriott, became the wife of 
Thomas Shipley, son of William and Mary Ann (Tatnall) Shipley, and eldest 
brother of Elizabeth Shipley, wife of Oliver Canby. 

Martha (Marriott) Canby died August 18, 1826, at the age of seventy-seven 
years. She was possessed of a mind of more than ordinary vigor, and was uni- 
versally venerated and loved for the purity and excellence of her character, and 
her practical Christian charity. 

Issue of William and Martha (Marriott) Canby: 

Oliver, b. March 15, 1775, d. April i, 1858; 

Sarah, b. Nov. I, 1776, d. inf.; 

Fanny, b. June 11, 1778, d. Aug. 3, 1833; m. May 17, 1804, Benjamin Ferris, of Wilming- 
ton, b. Aug. 7, 1780, d. Nov. 9, 1867; 

Mary, b. Feb. 11, 1780, d. in Phila., April 12, 1840; m. Nov. 2, 1810, Clement Biddle, b. 
Aug. 10, 1778, d. Feb. 10, 1856, son of Owen and Sarah (Parke) Biddle, of Phila.: 

Sarah, b. July 12, 1782, d. March 25, 1783; 

Anna, b. Dec. 29, 1784, d. Dec. 12, 1867; m. Oct. 12, 1815, David Smyth, b. Jan. 20, 1783, 
d. Feb. 5, 1866; 

Marriott, b. Oct. 9, 1787, d. Dec. 10, 1866; m. Eliza Tatnall Sipple; of whom presently. 

Marriott Canby, youngest son of William and Martha (Marriott) Canby, of 
Wilmington, or as he came to be known, "Merritt" Canby, came to Philadelphia 
when a youth to obtain a mercantile education, and became a prominent business 
man of that city. About 1830, in partnership with Joseph Lovering, he engaged 
in the business of sugar refining ; their firm being the first to introduce, in Amer- 
ica, the process of boiling sugar by steam in vacuum. He was successful in his 
business operations, and in 1835 retired from business and returned to Wilming- 
ton, where he became prominently connected with a number of important cor- 
porate institutions, until his death, December 10, 1866. 

Marriott or Merritt Canby married. May 20, 1830, Eliza Tatnall, a daughter of 
Hon. Thomas Sipple, of Kent county, Delaware, born 1765, died 1798, Treasurer 
of State of Delaware, 1787-98, by his wife Ann, daughter of Joseph and EHza- 
beth (Lea) Tatnall; granddaughter of Garrett Sipple, of Kent county, by his 
wife, EHzabeth Berry, a descendant of Richard Preston, of "Preston on Patuxet," 
Maryland, and a cousin of Samuel Preston, Provincial Councillor of Pennsyl- 
vania; her grandfather, William Berry, being many years a member of Assembly 
of the "Three Lower Counties." Waitman Sipple, the great-grandfather of Eliza 
Tatnall Sipple, is said to have come from Virginia to Kent county, where he pur- 
chased land in 1729, and died in 1762. He married at Duck Creek Meeting of 
Friends in 1724, Mary, daughter of Nathaniel and Elinor Hunn, born October 
16, 1706, died 1774. Eliza Tatnall Sipple, in a memorandum still in possession 
of her descendants, say of her father's family: "All I can learn of my father's 
family is that in the early settlement of Virginia, an ancestor by name of Jared 



1078 CAN BY 

Sipple took up lands there. Either he or his sons or grandsons becoming dissatis- 
fied, removed to Maryland, then to Murderkill Hundred, Kent county, Delaware. 
Two brothers, Waitman and Jared or Garrett, settled near each other. Waitman 
Sippie was the father of Garret Sipple who was my grandfather. Garret Sipple 
married Elizabeth Berry of a well known and highly respected family of Kent 
county, and had three children, Elizabeth, Lydia and Thomas Sipple, my father. 
There appears to have been much landed property in the family, grazing and 
grain farms, &c., besides much cattle and servants. The lands of my grandfather 
joined the lands of the Dickinson family, — John Dickinson, at one time Governor 
of the State. I have endeavored to discover what could be attributed to my 
father's family either good or evil. I cannot learn anything to their discredit but 
much of virtue, truth and manliness. My maternal ancestors were the Tatnall 
and Lea family. My father dying when I was two and a half years of age, my 
mother, Ann Tatnall, returned to the home of her father, Joseph Tatnall, in Wil- 
mington, and I lost sight of my father's family." Her mother married (second) 
John Bellach. 

Jonathan Sipple of this family was coroner of Kent county from 1769 to the 
organization of the "Three Lower Counties" into the State of Delaware, in 1776. 

A newspaper notice of the death of Hon. Thomas Sipple, is as follows : 

"Wilmington, Dec. 8th. 1798. 
"Died. On the 4th inst. at his seat near Dover, Thomas Sipple Esq., Treasurer of the 
State. The premature death of this excellent man has deprived this community of a most 
valuable citizen. His attention to the duties of his office; his punctuality in discharging the 
pubic engagements; his civility and compliance to those with whom his official station con- 
nected him; and his attachment to the constitution of his country united all men, and all 
parties in the Legislature, annually in appointing him to a station which he filled with so 
much applause. In his private life he was not less amiable and useful. The Poor and the 
distressed always found in him a bountiful and generous assistance; and the humanity of 
his heart encircled every child of misfortune. In his still more intimate and dearer con- 
nection, the sincerest love of his relatives and the warmest attachment of his numerous 
friends gave the most unquestionable proof of the tenderness and benevolence of a Christian 
gentleman." 

Issue of Marriott or Merritt and Eliza T. (Sipple) Canby: 

William Marriott Canby, b. March 17, 1831; m. June 15, 1870, Edith Dillon Mathews, 
and had issue: 

Marriott Canby, b. April 11, 1871 ; 
Henry Mathews Canby, b. June 17, 1874; 
William Shipley Canby, b. Dec. 24, 1875. 
Anna Tatnall Canby, b. June 29, 1833, unm., residing at Wilmington ; 
Martha Canby, b. May 12, 1836; m. March 21, 1861, Elliston Perot Morris, of Phila., b. 
there May 22, 1831, son of Samuel B. and Hannah (Perot) Morris. 

Samuel Canby, second son of Oliver and EHzabeth (Shipley) Canby, born in 
Wilmington, August 6, 1751, learned the trade of a carpenter and cabinet maker 
with Ziba Ferris, but on arriving at his majority, engaged in the milling business 
at the mill formerly operated by his father, living in the house formerly occupied 
by his parents until 1791, when he erected a large mansion at Fourteenth and 
Market streets, later occupied by his son, James, where he resided until his death 
on March 8, 1832, at the age of eighty-one years. He married in 1775, Frances, 
daughter of James and Margaret Lea, of Wilmington, and of the family so long 
identified with the milling business on the Brandywine. 



CAN BY 1079 

James Canby, son of Samuel and Frances (Lea) Canby, born January 30, 
1781, inherited the mills and business of his father at Wilmington, which he con- 
tinued to conduct successfully during his life. He was a man of substance and 
prominence in the city and community, and took a lively interest in local institu- 
tions. He was one of the projectors of the Philadelphia, Wilmington and Balti- 
more Railroad, and was the first president of the company. He invested largely 
in real estate in Baltimore and also in western lands and was one of the prominent 
business men of his day. He died at the old homestead in Wilmington, May 24, 
1852. He married EHzabeth Roberts, of Germantown, Philadelphia, and had 
among other children, two sons, James Canby, Jr., and Samuel Canby. 

James Canby Jr., engaged in the milling business with his father and con- 
tinued it after the latter's death, largely increasing the capacity of the mills as 
well as the quality of the product. He married S. Matilda Price, and had three 
daughters, the eldest of whom, Catharine R., became the wife of Rev. Edward 
Hale, of Philadelphia, and a son, James Benjamin Canby, born in 1848, who in 
his younger days was associated with the firm of James E. Price & Company, 
proprietors of the Brandywine Mills, but in 1873 came to Philadelphia and took 
a position in the counting house of Alexander G. Cattell & Company, and in 1877 
succeeded to the business of the firm. He was a member of the Trades League, 
the Grocers' and Importers' League, the Union League of Philadelphia, the His- 
torical Society of Pennsylvania, the Sons of Delaware, and was twice elected 
president of the Commercial Exchange of Philadelphia. 

Samuel Canby, son of James and Elizabeth (Roberts) Canby, was born in 
Wilmington, Delaware, July 10, 181 1, and died June 20, 1875. He married, June 
25, 1832, at Philadelphia, Elizabeth Clifford Morris, born August 19, 1813, died 
March 10, 1892, daughter of Caspar Wistar Morris, of Philadelphia, born Sep- 
tember 12, 1764, died February 27, 1828, by his wife, Elizabeth Giles ; and grand- 
daughter of Captain Samuel Morris, commander of the First City Troop during 
the Revolution, by his wife, Rebecca Wistar. 

Caspar Wistar Morris, the father of Elizabeth Clifford (Morris) Canby, like 
his ancestors for many generations was prominently identified with the affairs of 
Philadelphia. He was reared in the faith of the Society of Friends in which he 
retained his membership, though his distinguished father, Captain Morris, had 
been disowned for taking part in military affairs. He was, however, disowned 
for joining the Troop, and taking part with it in the quelling of the Whiskey 
Insurrection in Western Pennsylvania in 1794. He inherited a competence but 
lost the greater part of his fortune through endorsements for a friend, but by 
diligent application to business and rigid economy was able to pay the large sums 
for which he was pledged and again acquired a competence. For several years 
lie was a partner in the Brewery at 145 Market street, conducted under the firm 
name of Twells, Morris & Co. In 1813 he was elected a member of the State in 
Schuylkill, of which his father was for many years Governor, but resigned in 
1816. He was one of the first in Philadelphia to burn coal for heating purposes. 
Caspar Wistar Morris married, November 24, 1795, Elizabeth Giles, born Sep- 
tember 25, 1774, died March, 1832, daughter of Jacob Giles, of Philadelphia, by 
his wife, Anna, daughter of Thomas and Anna Clifford. She was a member of 
the Society of Friends, but was disowned for marrying him. Both Caspar W. 
Morris and his wife were remarkably handsome in personal appearance, being 



io8o CAN BY 

accounted one of the handsomest couples in Philadelphia at the time of their mar- 
riage. They both belonged to that exclusive set of old aristocratic Quaker fam- 
ilies that constituted the best society of the city during Colonial days. 

Samuel and Elizabeth C. (Morris) Canby resided for a number of years near 
Wilmington, and after the death of his father, James Canby, removed to the old 
home of his grandfather at Fourteenth and Market streets, Wilmington, vi^here 
he spent the remainder of his days and where his daughter, Mrs. Charles G. 
Rumford still resides. 

Issue of Samuel and Elizabeth Clifford (Morris) Canby: 

Casper Morris Canby, b. March 25, 1833, d. March 6, 1836; 

Elizabeth Morris Canby, b. at Wilmington, Oct. 31, 1848; m. Charles Grubb Rumford; 
of whom presently. 

Elizabeth Morris Canby, only surviving child of Samuel and EHzabeth C. 
(Morris) Canby, born October 31, 1848, was married at Wilmington, October 7, 
1875, by the Right Reverend Alfred Lee, D. D., LL. D., Bishop of Delaware, to 
Charles Grubb Rumford, Esq., of the Wilmington Bar, born in Byberry township, 
Philadelphia county, Pennsylvania, son of Lewis Rumford, by his second wife, 
Mary Caldwell Gilpin, and a great-great-grandson of John Rumford, who came 
from England in 1698. 

On the minutes of the Monthly Meeting of Friends, held at Middletown, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, the 4th of the 6th month (August) 1698, it is recorded that 
"John Rumford lately come from Old England, produced a certificate of his good 
life and conversation, which was read and accepted." On September 27, 1699, 
he was married at the same Meeting to Mary Scaife, born in Cheshire, England, 
August 10, 1678, daughter of Jonathan and Mary Scaife, of Middletown, who 
had located in Middletown some years previously. In the same year Jonathan 
Scaife conveyed to his son-in-law, John Rumford, a farm in Middletown on Core 
creek, where they resided until 1712, when they took a certificate to Philadelphia 
Monthly Meeting and located in Philadelphia county, and later became members 
of Haverford Monthly Meeting. In 1721 John Rumford removed with his family 
to Plymouth township, Philadelphia county (now Montgomery county), and took 
his certificate to Gwynedd Monthly Meeting, bearing date July 26, 1721. He 
became an active and prominent member of this meeting and was named, April 
3, 1723, as one of the Friends to visit families at Oley (now Berks) county. He 
was named as an overseer of Plymouth Meeting by Gwynedd Meeting, and served 
until July 28, 1724, when he requested to be relieved. He died in Plymouth town- 
ship, his will bearing date December 26, 1738, being proved February 3, 1738-9. 
His wife, Mary Scaife, evidently died before this date as she is not mentioned in 
the will. They were the parents of ten children, seven daughters and three sons, 
seven of whom and a child of a third were mentioned in the will of the father. 
The sons were John, Jonathan and Thomas; the latter, the youngest of the family, 
born October 22, 1719, took a certificate to Newark Monthly Meeting, New 
Castle county. May 29, 1739. 

Jonathan Rumford, the second son, born in Middletown, Bucks county, Janu- 
ary II, 1705-6, took a certificate from Gwynedd Meeting to Concord Meeting in 
1738, and married there June 8, 1738, Susanna, daughter of William Nooks, of 
Birmingham, Chester (now Delaware) county, and two months later took a 



CAN BY 1081 

certificate to Philadelphia Meeting. They later settled in or near New Castle 
county, and were associated with Wilmington Meeting. Their eldest daughter, 
Sarah Rumford, married there December 27, 1753, William Shipley, Jr., son of 
William Shipley, the founder of Wilmington, by his wife, Mary Tatnall. 

Lewis, son of John and Priscilla (Jerries) Rumford, of Wilmington, was born 
in Wilmington, October 20, 1796, and married there in 1822, Henrietta M. Grubb, 
born at Grubb's Corner, New Castle county, Delaware, August 25, 1800, eldest 
daughter of William Ford Grubb, by his wife, Lydia Williamson. She died at 
Wilmington, August 6, 1826. 

After the death of his wife, Lewis Rumford removed to Philadelphia and was 
engaged in business there for some years. In March 1841 he purchased a farm 
in Byberry township, Philadelphia county, on which he resided until the autumn 
of 1853, when he returned to Wilmington, and resided there until his death, Feb- 
ruary 15, i860. He married (second) February 22, 1838, Mary Caldwell Gilpin, 
born September 5, 1798, died at Wilmington, Delaware, November 13, 1884. She 
was a daughter of William Gilpin, born at Wilmington, Delaware, August 18, 
1775, died in Byberry township, Philadelphia county, December 2, 1843, by his 
wife, Ann Dunwoody, and granddaughter of Vincent Gilpin, for many years the 
proprietor of the large flour mills on the Brandywine, above Wilmington, and a 
large shipper of flour and other products to the West Indies, and importer of 
goods from those points, prior to the Revolution, and for some years after. He 
died, August 5, 1819, in Wilmington. Mary C. (Gilpin) Rumford was a sister 
to Hon. Edward W. Gilpin, Chief Justice of Delaware. 
Issue of Lewis and Henrietta M. (Grubb) Rumford: 

Emily Grubb Rumford, b. Sept. i, 1823, d. Aug. 17, 1886; m. Joshua H. Wollaston, d. s. p. 

July 21, 1849; 
Henrietta Grubb Rumford, b. Nov. 19, 1825, d. Aug. 3, 1826. 

Issue of Lewis and Mary C. (Gilpin) Rumford: 

Elizabeth Gilpin Rumford, b. in Phila., June 18, 1839; 
Charles Grubb Rumford, b. Aug. 17, 1841, of whom presently. 

Charles Grubb Rumford, born in Byberry township, Philadelphia county, 
August 17, 1 841, received his primary education at the Byberry Friends' School, 
but his parents removing to Wilmington, Delaware, when he was twelve years 
of age, he continued his studies there until 1857, when he entered the Commercial 
and Classical School at Lawrenceville, New Jersey, to prepare for college, and 
later entered the University of Pennsylvania. Owing to the sudden death of his 
father, however, he was not able to complete his college course, and returning to 
Wilmington, he began in 1861 the study of law in the office of his uncle Chief 
Justice Edward W. Gilpin. Early in the year 1862 he began recruiting a company 
of Artillery for service in the Civil War, and on August 15, 1862, had secured a 
sufficient quota of men, and it was mustered into the service of the United States 
as the First Battery, Delaware Light Artillery, and he was commissioned Second 
Lieutenant. The battery was first equipped as a four-gun battery, and went into 
camp at Camp Bradford, Brandywine Hundred, New Castle county, for drill and 
instruction. It was later increased to a six-gvm battery, and on September 6, 1862, 
Second Lieutenant Rumford was commissioned Junior First Lieutenant. The bat- 



io82 CAN BY 

tery remained at Camp Bradford until early in 1863, when it was ordered to Ports- 
mouth, Virginia. 

In August, 1863, it was ordered to New York City, to assist in quelling the 
"draft riots" in that city, and after order was restored was ordered to Camp 
Marshall, District of Columbia. In January, 1864, the Battery was ordered to 
New Orleans, Louisiana, and was incorporated into the Department of the Gulf, 
and after being equipped with horses, started, March 2, 1864, on the Red River 
Campaign, as part of the Nineteenth Army Corps, under the command of Gen. 
N. P. Banks. 

This campaign was a very arduous one of forced marches and considerable 
fighting. The advance up the Red River for the capture of Shreveport ended 
with the disastrous battle of Mansfield, when the Thirteenth Army Corps was 
virtually wiped out of existence, and the whole force fell back to Pleasant Hill, 
where another battle was fought with better success, but the retreat continued to 
Alexandria, and the expedition was abandoned. 

The Delaware Battery was engaged at the battle of Cane River Crossing, April 
13, 1864; at Marksville, May 16; at Yellow Bayou, May 18 and 20, and partici- 
pated in many other engagements. 

On May 22, the army arrived at Morganzie Bend on the Mississippi River and 
soon thereafter erected a fort there. During the occupancy of this point, Lieu- 
tenant Rumford had command of the Delaware Battery for several months and 
led it in October in a reconnoissance to Atchofelaya river to disperse a force of 
Confederate troops located there. 

The Battery remained at Morganzie Bend until December 11, 1864, when it 
was ordered to DeVall's Bluff, Arkansas, and Lieutenant Rumford remained on 
duty with it until January 17, 1865, when, owing to severe illness superinduced 
by climatic influences and the hardships of the campaign, he resigned his com- 
mission, and was honorably discharged by special order of the War Department. 

Lieutenant Rumford returned to Wilmington, and on regaining his health re- 
sumed the study of law and was admitted to the New Castle county bar in 1866. 
He was Deputy Attorney General of Delaware, 1867-69; Clerk of the United 
States Circuit and District Courts, for the district of Delaware, 1869-73; was 
elected city solicitor of Wilmington, July 6, 1875, but declined to accept the posi- 
tion; was United States Commissioner of Delaware, 1869-75. He was elected a 
director of the Union National Bank of Wilmington, January 11, 1888, and held 
that position until his resignation by reason of ill health, January 30, 1901. He 
was elected a manager of and Vice-President of the Farmers' Mutual Fire Insur- 
ance Company of Wilmington, January 9, 1893, and held that office until his 
death on November 24, 1901. He was one of the original stockholders of and 
originators of the Equitable Guarantee & Trust Company, and was elected a di- 
rector at its institution and held that position until his death. 

Mr. Rumford became a member of the MiHtary Order of the Loyal Legion, 
Philadelphia Commandery, February 5, 1890. 

Issue of Charles Grubb and Elisabeth M. (Canby) Rumford: 

Samuel Canby Rumford, b. July 23, 1876; m. Dec. 15, 1903, Mary Beatrix Tyson, and 
they have issue : 

Lewis Rumford, 3d., b. Jan. i, 1905; 

Ellicott Tyson Rumford, b. Dec. 10, 1905. 
Lewis Rumford, Jr., b. Sept. 3, 1877. 



YARNALL FAMILY. 

The ancestors of the Yarnall family of Philadelphia and Chester county were 
Francis Yarnall and his brother, Philip, who came from Claines or Cloynes, a 
small village in Worcestershire, England, near the city of Worcester, and settled 
in Chester county, Pennsylvania, in 1683. Both were unmarried on their arrival 
in Pennsylvania. They settled first in Springfield township, on one hundred 
acres of land about one mile from Springfield Meeting House, surveyed to 
Francis on October 17, 1683, and both were members of Darby Friends' Meeting. 
Francis married Hannah Baker in 1686, and settled in Willistown township, 
where he became a prominent man, a provincial magistrate and a member of 
Assembly in 171 1. He died in 1721. 

Philip Yarnall, younger of the brothers and ancestor of Ellis Yarnall, who 
!hree-quarters of a century later became a prominent merchant in Philadelphia, 
evidently made his home with his brother, Francis, until his marriage in 1694. 
He purchased 480 acres in Edgmont township, Chester county, in 1687, of George 
Maris, on which he took up his residence in 1694. In 1713 he purchased 240 acres 
in the same township, which he soon after conveyed to his son Philip, and later 
250 acres in Ridley township, which on his death was devised to his son. Job. 
He was a prominent and active member of Friends' Meeting and filled the posi- 
tion of elder. His will, dated August 16, 1733, was proven May 20, 1734. He 
married, April, 1694, Dorothy, daughter of John Baker, who with his brother, 
Joseph, and sisters, Mary, who became the wife of William Coburn in 1686, 
Hannah, who married Francis Yarnall, and Sarah, who married Charles Whit- 
taker, came from Edgmont, Shropshire, England, and died in Philadelphia, leav- 
ing a will dated March 12, 1680-1, proved August 31, 1683. The Baker family 
were the first settlers in Edgmont township, which was named for their old home 
in Shropshire. John and Joseph and their three sisters, above named, were 
children of John Baker, of Edgmont, Shropshire, a prominent member of the 
Society of Friends, on whose records the date of his death is given as 2mo. 
('April) 25, 1672. He was born in 1598, and is said to have been a son of Sir 
Richard Baker, born 1568, died February 18, 1645-6. 

Dorothy (Baker) Yarnall, was a minister among Friends, and a woman of 
much intelligence and great sweetness of character. She survived her husband, 
and died in Edgmont in 1743. 

Issue of Philip and Dorothy (Baker) Yarnall: 

John, b. March S, 1695, d. Sept. 5, 1749, at Wilmington, Del.; m. Abigail, dau. of Daniel 
Williamson, of Newtown, Chester co., and had six children. His eldes.t, Mary, b. 
1722, m. (first) Thomas Pennell, (second) John Lea, (third) Jonas Preston, and was 
mother of Dr. Jonas Preston, of Phila., founder of "Preston's Retreat." Ann, second 
dau., b. 1729, d. 1797; m. John Thompson, and was grandmother of J. Edgar Thompson, 
the prominent civil engineer of Phila., and later president of Penna. R. R. Co. The two 
other daughters, Abigail and Hannah, m., respectively, Jesse and Thomas Garrett. 
The sons, Thomas and Isaac, were prominent residents of Chester, later Del. co. 
Reuben Yarnall, grandson of Isaac, was many years resident of Phila.; 

Philip, b. Nov. 29, 1696, d. Nov., 1758; m. Mary, dau. of Daniel and Jane (Worrilow) 
Hoopes, granddaughter of Joshua and Eleanor Hoopes, who were among the earliest 
settlers on the Del., in Bucks co. Philip and Mary Yarnall had nine children : Grace, 



io84 YARNALL 

Philip, David, Abraham, Jane, Elizabeth, Esther, Dorothy (m. her cousin, Ephraim 
Yarnall) and Mary. They intermarried with prominent families of Chester and Del. 
counties and left numerous descendants; 

Job, b. March 28, 1698, was an eminent minister among Friends, and d. in Ridley, Ches- 
ter CO., in 1740; 

Sarah, b. Oct. 25, 1700; m. April 25, 1726, Evan Ellis, many years member Provincial 
Assembly from Chester co.; 

Benjamin, b. Oct. 20, 1702, d. young and unm. ; 

Thomas, b. Aug. 10, 1705, d. June 13, 1764; m. Nov. 21, 1734, Martha Hammans, and left 
issue: Margaret, William (ancestor of Thomas Yarnall, the eminent minister), Job, 
Caleb, Joseph, Hannah and Sarah; 

Nathan, b. Feb. 27, 1707, d. Jan. 10, 1780; of whom presently; 

Samuel, b. April 12, 1710; m. Nov. 13, 1740, Sarah Vernon; 

Rebecca, b. Aug. 6, 1712; m. March 20, 1739-40, William Jones, of Plymouth, now Mont- 
gomery CO. ; 

Mary, b. Oct. 23, 1718; m. March 26, 1740-1, Samuel Milnor, of Gwynedd township. 

Nathan Yarnall^ seventh child of Philip and Dorothy (Baker) Yarnall, born 
in Edgmont township, Chester county, February 27, 1707, was a prominent and 
active member of Middletown Meeting, Chester county, and was one of the com- 
mittee appointed to rebuild the meetinghouse in 1751, and his name frequently 
appears on the minutes of that meeting as a member of important committees. 
He was one of the earliest advocates of the manumission of slaves, among the 
members of the Society of Friends. 

He married (first) October 13, 1731, at Middletown Meeting, Rachel, born 
July 10, 1710, ninth of the ten children of Ephraim Jackson, of Edgmont, by his 
wife, Rachel Newlin, daughter of Nicholas Newlin, of Concord, Chester county; 
member of Provincial Council, 1685-99, and a Justice of Chester County Courts 
from 1683, by his wife, Elizabeth, with whom he had emigrated from Mt. Melick, 
county Tyrone, Ireland, in 1683. 

Ephraim Jackson came to Pennsylvania from Cheshire, England, as a servant 
of Jacob Hall, in the ship, "Friendship," of Liverpool, which arrived in Mary- 
land, January 3, 1684. He married Rachel Newlin in 1695, and the same year 
purchased land of Philip Yarnall, in Edgmont, and lived there until his death, 
March 11, 1732-3. He was a member of Provincial Assembly in 1710. Rachel 
(Jackson) Yarnall died April 11, 1749, and Nathan married (second), May 10, 
1750, Hannah Mendenhall, born January 19, 1719-20, daughter of Benjamin and 
Lydia (Roberts) Mendenhall, granddaughter of Benjamin Mendenhall, who 
with his brothers, John and Moses, and a sister, Mary, who became the wife of 
Nathaniel Newlin, son of Nicholas, above mentioned, came from Wiltshire, about 
1683, and settled in Concord, Chester county. The name Mendenhall, originally 
Mildenhall, is derived from the ancient manor of Milden-Hall, in Wiltshire. John 
Mendenhall came to Chester county as early as 1683 and became a prominent man 
there; was Coroner of the county 1726-28. Plis brother, Benjamin, is said to 
have accompanied him; another brother, Moses, and a sister, Maria, wife of 
Thomas Martin, came from Great Bedwin, Wilts, arriving December 16, 1685, 
but Moses later returned to England. 

Benjamin Mendenhall settled in Concord and was an Elder of Concord Meet- 
ing at his death in April, 1740, and is styled in some of the records as a wheel- 
wright. He married, April 17, 1689, Ann, eldest daughter of Robert Pennell, 
who with Hannah, his wife, came from Boulderton, Nottinghamshire, Engfand, 
bringing a certificate from "Friends at Fulbeck," July 3, 1684, which included 



YARNALL 1085 

Thorn? s Garrett, Hugh Rodnell, and Richard Parker, and their respective wives 
and children. Robert Pennell settled first in Middletown, and was constable of 
that township in 1687. He purchased, in 1691, 250 acres of land in Edgmont and 
added 264 more acres in 1705, adjoining Philip Yarnall. He died there in 1728, 
and his wife in 171 1, at the age of seventy-one years, leaving seven children. 

Benjamin Mendenhall, eldest son of Benjamin and Ann (Pennell) Mendenhall, 
born May 5, 1691, was recommended as a minister of the Society of Friends by 
Concord Meeting, August 2, 1725, and March 7, 1742-3, received a certificate to 
pay a religious visit to Friends in Virginia and North Carolina in company with 
Samuel Hopwood, a minister from England. When about to return to his home 
he was taken sick, and died at the house of Zachariah Nixon, in Parquimans 
county. North Carolina. He married, at Gwynedd Meeting, May 9, 1717, Lydia 
Roberts, born in Wales, in 1694, daughter of Owen and Mary Roberts, who 
had come from Wales with the Welsh colony of 1697, and settled at Gwynedd. 
Lydia (Roberts) Mendenhall married (second) William Hammans, and died 
July 4, 1752. Hannah (Mendenhall) Yarnall, second wife of Nathan Yarnall, 
was second of the six children of Benjamin and Lydia (Roberts) Mendenhall. 
She was born January 19, 1719-20, and died August 19, 1760, leaving four chil- 
dren, of whom Ellis Yarnall, of Philadelphia, was third. Nathan Yarnall married 
(third) January 5, 1769, at Chester Meeting, Jane, widow of John Bezer. She 
died May 25, 1775, and he January 10, 1780. 

Issue of Nathan and Rachel (Jackson) Yarnall: 

Ephraim, b. July 6, 1733; m. Dorothy, dau. of his uncle Philip Yarnall; (second) Sarah 

Helton; 
Nathan, b. June 2, 1736, d. Jan. 10, 1779; m. Phebe Schofield; 
Benjamin, b. June 5, 1738; ni. April 30, 1761, Elizabeth Folwell; 
John, b. Feb. 8, 1739-40; m. Feb. 3, 1774, Elizabeth Newli.i; 
Edith, b. May 13, 1743, d. Jan. 18, 1787: "A Minister distinguishly gifted, and beloved 

as far as she was known;" m. Dec. 15, 1768, Joshua Sharpless; 
Joel, b. Aug. IS, i74S, d. May 20, 1768; 
Samuel, b. May 29, 1748; m. (first) Hannah Hatton; (second) Mary Harrison. 

Issue of Nathan and Hannah (Mendenhall) Yarnall: 

Eli, "The Seer," being gifted with an extraordinary faculty of fore-telling events and 
being conscious of events that were transpiring far beyond his ken; b. March 29, 1753, 
d. Aug. 25, 1812; m. Priscilla Walker; 

Joshua, b. Jan. 16, 1755, bur. Oct. 9, 1790; unm.; 

Ellis, b. Jan. 31, 1757, d. in Phila., Dec. 7, 1847; m. (first) Rachel and (second) 

Mary Hornor; 

Robert, d. young. 

Ellis Yarnall, youngest surviving son of Nathan Yarnall, by his second 
wife, Hannah Mendenhall, born in Concord township, Chester county, Pennsyl- 
vania, January 31, 1757, came to Philadelphia when a young man and became a 
prominent merchant there. He was a member of the Society of Friends and 
during his long life was ever interested in the amelioration of the condition of the 
downtrodden and oppressed of the human race. He was an Elder of the Twelfth 
Street Meeting, and loyally served on a number of philanthropic committees of 
the meeting, and was deeply interested in the Anti-Slavery movement, the civiliza- 
tion and Christianization of the Indian, and various charitable and benevolent 



io86 YARNALL 

enterprises, giving liberally of his means for the benefit of the poor and afflicted. 
He died December 7, 1847, i" his ninety-first year, having "lived a life of meek 
devotion to the service of his Maker." 

He married Mary Hornor, daughter of Benjamin Hornor, a prominent mer- 
chant of Philadelphia, a native of Burlington county, New Jersey, who had come 
to Philadelphia when a boy, and spent the remainder of his life there, first as a 
hatter and later as a hardware merchant. He was many years one of the man- 
agers of the Pennsylvania Society for the Abolition of Slavery, the Relief of 
Free Negroes unlawfully held in bondage, and for the Improvement of the con- 
dition of the African Race. He was a man of deep religious convictions, and a 
teacher in the first Sabbath schools established in Pennsylvania in 1793. His 
wife was Sarah, daughter of Thomas and Sarah (Beakes) Potts, of the promi- 
nent New Jersey family of the name, and a great-granddaughter of Mahlon 
Stacy, founder of Trenton. She died in 1795, aged fifty-five years, and he in 
1810; his later years being spent with the Coates family, into which two of his 
daughters married. Mary (Hornor) Yarnall died February 27, 1836, aged seven- 
ty-four years. 

Issue of Ellis and Mary (Hornor) Yarnall: 

Benjamin Hornor Yarnall, of Phila., m. Eliza Coffin, of Nantucket, sister to Lucretia 
Mott, the eminent preacher, and Anti-Slavery advocate of the Society of Friends; 
had six children: Thomas C, Ellis, Mary, Sarah, William and Rebecca; 

Sarah Yarnall, b. 1792, d. 1829, unm. ; 

Ellis H. Yarnall, b. 1794, d. unm. in 1829; 

Amy Yarnall, an Elder of Society of Friends; m. (first) Dr. Benjamin Ellis, of Phila.; 
(second) John Tatum, of Wilmington, Del., a much esteemed minister of Society of 
Friends; 

Edward Yarnall, m. Caroline, dau. of Thomas P. Cope, who in 1821 established the first 
regular line of packet ships between Phila. and Liverpool, a business continued and 
augmented by his sons and grandsons, under title of Cope Bros.; 

Charles Yarnall, prominent merchant of Phila.; m. Emma Cope; of whom presently. 

Charles Yarnall, youngest son of EUis and Mary (Hornor) Yarnall, was 
born in the city of Philadelphia, November 22, 1800. He received a good classical 
and general business education, and continuing scholarly pursuits all his life, be- 
came a fine classical scholar. He was a very public spirited citizen and a man 
of rare gifts as a scholar and business man. He was one of the founders of 
Haverford College, and largely instrumental in the remodelHng and reorganiza- 
tion of the William Penn Charter School of Philadelphia, and says Thomas 
Chase, president of Haverford College, in a memorial of Charles Yarnall, pub- 
lished in the North American and United States Gazette, October 24, 1877, "of 
both these institutions he may be called the father and much of what is best in 
their organization and methods can be traced to his suggestion." He was a prom- 
inent and successful merchant and took a lively interest in all that pertained to 
the best interests of his native city. He died September 28, 1877. He married 
Emma, daughter of Jasper Cope, of the prominent dry-goods firm of Israel and 
Jasper Cope, Market street, above Fourth. 

Issue of Charles and Emma (Cope) Yarnall: 

Ems Hornor, b. Dec. 23, 1839, Phila.; of whom presently; 
Anna, b. March 5, 1844, unm. ; residing in Phila. 



YARNALL 1087 

Ellis Hornor Yarnall, son of Charles and Emma (Cope) Yarnall, born 
December 23, 1839, was prepared for college at Gregory's Classical Academy, 
and entering Haverford College was graduated with the degree of A. B. in 1858. 
Several succeeding years he spent in mercantile pursuits, being with Whitall, 
Tatum & Company, manufacturers and merchants of Philadelphia, but gave up a 
business career to pursue the study of law. He took a course in the Law Depart- 
ment of the University of Pennsylvania, receiving the degree of LL. B. in 1866. 
He was admitted to the Philadelphia Bar the same year, and at once engaged in 
the practice of the law in the courts of Philadelphia. For some time he was editor 
of the geographical department of the American Naturalist. He spent several 
years in travel in European countries returning to his native city in 1894, since 
which time he was actively engaged in the practice of his profession until his 
death, which occurred December 18, 1907. An obituary notice in St. Clement's 
Magazine says of him : "On December 18, ElHs Hornor Yarnall entered into 
rest. He had been for many years connected with St. Clement's, and was for 
some time a member of the vestry. Uncompromising in his churchmanship, Mr. 
Yarnall was a staunch Cathohc, and was a true defender of the Faith in the early 
history of the parish. Devout in his Christian life, and sincere and straightfor- 
ward in his dealings with others, he was respected by all who knew him. His 
illness was of brief duration, aud his death came as a surprise to many. May he 
rest in peace." He was a member of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, of 
the Philadelphia Geographical Society and of other organizations. Mr. Yarnall 
was married (first) in 1880, to Caroline Ridgeway Rowland, (second) in 1897, 
to his cousin, Emily Yarnall, who survives him. 



PEPPER FAMILY. 

The Pepper family, destined to play an important part in the business and pro- 
fessional life of Philadelphia, was founded in American by Johan Heinrich 
Pfeffer, born near Strasburg, Germany, January 5, 1739, who embarked from 
Rotterdam in the ship "Minerva," Capt. Thomas Arnott, with ninety-one other 
Germans and Palatines, for Philadelphia, and was qualified as a subject of the 
English crown at that city on October 13, 1769. Soon after his arrival he located 
at Schaffertown, Lebanon county, Pennsylvania, but in 1774 returned to Phila- 
delphia, and thereafter made his home in that city, where he acquired much 
valuable real estate and became one of the prominent business men of the city. 
The German name of Pfeffer became Anglicized into Pepper and he was known 
in Philadelphia as Henry Pepper. He died in that city, March 11, 1808. His 
will, dated December 17, 1807, and proven May 18, 1808, devised to his children 
and grandchildren houses and lots in different parts of the city, a brewery in 
Lyecoming county, and valuable real estate elsewhere. His wife Catharine sur- 
vived him and was devised the house where he dwelt. The children of Henry 
and Catharine Pepper, as named in his will, were as follows : 

Catharine Pepper, named in her father's will as "eldest daughter" and "wife of Jona- 
than Miller;" 

Philip Pepper, deceased at date of his father's will, leaving son Philip H. Pepper, who 
d. unm.; 

Elizabeth Pepper, named in father's will as his second daughter and wife of George 

Thomson; 
Sarah Pepper, named in father's will as deceased wife of "late Adam Seybert;" 
George Pepper, b. March 15, 1779, d. Jan. 6, 1846; m. Mary Catharine Seckel; of whom 

presently ; 
Margaret Pepper, named in father's will as his youngest daughter. 

George Pepper, second son of Henry and Catharine Pepper, born in the city 
of Philadelphia, March 15, 1779, was placed by his father as an apprentice in the 
counting house of the prominent firm of Willing & Francis, when a youth, to 
learn the mercantile business. He developed into a man of almost unequalled 
business capacity and, engaging in the mercantile business on his own account, 
became, before reaching middle life, one of the wealthiest men of the city. 

George Pepper was for many years interested in the brewing business, and 
resided during the later years of his life at 225 Chestnut street, having a summer 
residence on an ample estate which he called "Fairy Hill," a part of which is now 
Laurel Hill Cemetery. He owned at the time of his death a vast amount of real 
estate in the city, breweries on Cherry and Minor streets, and a large number of 
houses on Eighth and Market streets, and in other parts of the city. By his will, 
dated January 5, 1846, and proven January 12 of the same month, the greater 
part of his real estate holdings were to be held in trust by his executors, who were 
his wife, Mary, sons, George S. and William Pepper, his son-in-law, Isaac Norris, 
and Michael Baker, for the benefit of his children and grandchildren, ample pro- 
vision being made for their improvement. The rapid growth of the city in the 
years succeeding his death greatly enhanced their value. No estate, with the 



PEPPER 1089 

possible exception of that of Stephen Girard, has contributed so largely to the 
development of the material wealth of the city of Philadelphia. The accumulated 
millions derived from it have since largely been devoted to the public use in the 
establishment of hospitals, free public libraries, etc., and to the general advance- 
ment of public utilities and benefactions. 

George Pepper died at his residence, 225 Chestnut street, January 6, 1846. He 
married. May 13, 1802, Mary Catharine, born in Philadelphia, June 7, 1780, 
daughter of John David Seckel, and granddaughter of George David Seckel, a 
prominent and wealthy citizen of Philadelphia, who died in 1797, by his wife, 
Mary Catharine. Mrs. Pepper survived her husband fifteen years, and died June 
21, 1861. 

Issue of George and Mary Catharine (Seckel) Pepper: 

Henry Pepper, b. April 1803; many years prominent business man of Phila.; m. Feb. 11, 
1841, Sallie Norris, b. Jan. 16, 1814, d. May 19, 1899, dau. of Joseph Parker and Eliza- 
beth Hill (Fox) Norris; they had issue: 

Elizabeth Norris Pepper, b. Dec. 19, 1841; m. Feb. 7, 1872, Col. William Brooke 
Rawle; 

Henry Pepper, b. Aug. 8, 1843, d. Feb. 28, 1844; 

Mary Pepper, b. Jan. 11, 1845, d. Jan. 12, 1845; 

Henry Pepper, b. Nov. 4, 1846, d. March 3, 1880; m. Jan. 16, 1873, Agnes Camp- 
bell Norris; 

Mary Pepper, b. Nov. 18, 1848; m. June 21, 1880, John Gwynn; 

Catharine Pepper, b. May i, 1851, d. May 2, 1851; 

George Norris Pepper, b. Oct. 18, 1852; 

Emily Norris Pepper, b. June 28, 1855; m. Feb. i, 1877, J. Wain Vaux, and had 
issue : 

Richard Vaux, b. Dec. 13, 1877; 
Henry Vaux, b. June 12, 1879, banker of Phila.; 
Norris Wister Vaux, b. Sept. 1, 1881, M. D. Univ. of Pa.; 
Emily Norris Vaux, b. June i, 1885; m. April 17, 1907, Edward Ingersoll; 
David Pepper, b. Aug. 6, 1805, d. 1840; m. Emily Piatt, and had issue: 

William Platt Pepper, b. Sept. 20, 1837, d. April 27, 1907; m. Alice Lyman; of 

vfhom presently; 
David Pepper, b. Aug. 21, 1840, d. Oct. 12, 1906; grad. Univ. of Pa., i860; m. Jan. 
9, 1864, Sallie Taylor Newbold, and had issue : 

David Pepper, b. Sept. 4, 1867; m. Nov. 28, 1894, Celeste Page Bowie; 
Mary Pepper, b. Dec. 3, 1806, m. May 18, 1830, Isaac Norris, Esq., of "Hawthorne," son 

of Joseph Parker and Elizabeth Hill (Fox) Norris, and had issue; 
George Seckel Pepper, b. June 11, 1808, d. May 2, 1890; was interested in many philan- 
thropic enterprises; trustee with nephew. Dr. William Pepper, and William Platt 
Pepper, of Henry Seybert Fund for care of indigent children ; left large estate, greater 
part of which was dedicated to public benefactions, principal one being establishment 
of Free Public Library of Phila.; 
William PeppEE, M. D., b. Jan. 21, 1810, d. Oct. 15, 1864; m. Sarah Platt; of whom pres- 
ently; 
Charles Pepper, b. Jan. 29, 1812, d. Feb. 22, 1812; 

Catharine Pepper, b. Feb. 20, 1813, d. April 5, 1883; m. (first) Charles Rockland Thomp- 
son; (second) E. B. Gardette; 
Frederick Seckel Pepper, b. Dec. 20, 1814, d. Jan. 14, 1891 ; m. Adeline Worrell ; of 

whom later; 
Charles Pepper, b. March 11, 1817, d. May 3, 1887; m. Margaret Lamb; 
Edward Pepper, b. March 11, 1817, d. March i, 1892; m. Sarah H. Cave; 
Lawrence Seckel Pepper, b. Phila., Oct. 28, 1819, d. there Sept. 10, 1886; entered Univ. 
of Pa. 1834 (class of 1838), grad. from Medical Department of same institution, class 
of 1843, degree of M. D. 

William Platt Pepper, eldest son of David and Emily (Platt) Pepper, and 
grandson of George and Mary (Seckel) Pepper, born in Philadelphia, September 



logo 



PEPPER 



20, 1837, entered the University of Pennsylvania, class of 1857, in 1854, was a 
member of the Philomathean Society and the Zeta Psi fraternity there; he re- 
ceived his degree of A. B. in 1857, and that of A. M. in i860. He then studied 
law under the eminent lawyer, Peter McCall, was admitted to the Philadelphia 
Bar and entered upon active practice of his profession in that city. During the 
next few years after his admission to the bar, however, he spent some time in 
foreign travel, giving much attention to the study of art in which he was deeply 
interested. In 1871 he joined in the formation of the Social Art Club, which 
resulted a few years later in the formation of the Pennsylvania Museum and 
School of Industrial Art, of which he was through life one of the leading bene- 
factors, serving for sixteen years as its president. He ever held firmly to the 
view that the educational features of the work should be maintained and devel- 
oped, while taking the keenest interest in the museum. He continued to serve as 
a director of this institution to the close of his Hfe. 

Another public work in which William Piatt Pepper bore an important part 
was the establishment and management of the Free Library of Philadelphia. He 
was a corporate member of the body organized to administer the fund bequeathed 
by his uncle, George S. Pepper, for the formation of the Library, and on the 
formation of the present corporation of the Free Library of Philadelphia as a 
result of that bequest, he became an active member of its Board of Managers and 
continued to fill that position until his death. 

In 1870 he assisted in the organization of the St. Mark's Workingmen's Club 
and Institute for the improvement of the condition of the working men by pro- 
viding them means for instruction and recreation, the pioneer undertaking of this 
kind, since followed by a number of others of like purpose throughout the coun- 
try. The work originated in a night school in which Mr. Pepper was teacher. 
He was for thirty years an active manager of the Episcopal Hospital, resigning 
shortly before his death, when failing health prevented him from giving it the 
attention he believed due to the position. He was one of the founders and from 
the beginning one of the Board of Managers of the Free Church Association, 
whose object was to abolish the practice of renting and selling seats in churches, 
and was for many years a member of the Vestry of the Church of the Ascension. 

He was a founder of the Church Qub and took an active part in its work ; and 
was for some years a member of the Board of Council of St. Barnabas Mission. 
He was widely known for his earnest work and benefactions in behalf of philan- 
thropy and charity. 

Mr. Pepper died on the morning of April 27, 1907, at his residence, 1730 Chest- 
nut street, after a long illness. He married Alice Lyman, daughter of George 
Theodore Lyman, of Boston, Massachusetts, who with one son, William Piatt 
Pepper, Jr., of Philadelphia, and three daughters, Mrs. Arthur H. Hacker, of 
Staten Island ; Mrs. Robert C. Watson, Jr., of New York, and Miss Martha Otis 
Pepper, of Philadelphia, survive him. 

William Pepper, M. D., son of George and Mary (Seckel) Pepper, generally 
known or designated as Dr. William Pepper, the elder, was born in Philadelphia, 
January 21, 1810. He graduated at the College of New Jersey, now Princeton 
University, with first honors in 1829, and studied medicine under Thomas T. 
Hewson, M. D., and at the Medical Department of the University of Pennsyl- 
vania, receiving his degree at the latter institution in 1832. 



PEPPER 1091 

Immediately following his graduation in medicine he prepared to start for 
Paris, where he spent two years in perfecting himself for the practice of his 
profession, but an epidemic of cholera breaking out in his native city, he delayed 
his departure to share in the medical care of the patients in the pest hospital until 
the plague was entirely stamped out. 

Returning to Philadelphia near the close of the year 1834 he took up the prac- 
tice of medicine there and rose rapidly in reputation, and was for many years 
recognized as the leading consultant in the community in cases of a serious nature. 
He was for twenty-six years a physician to the Pennsylvania Hospital ; was phy- 
sician to the Will's Eye Hospital ; and, in i860, was elected Professor of the 
Theory and Practice of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, and served 
until 1864, when his failing health compelled him to resign. He was a member 
of the College of Physicians of Philadelphia, of the various Medical organizations, 
and of the American Philosophical Society. He died, October 15, 1864, in the 
prime of his brilliant career. A contemporary has written of him as follows : 

"At the early age of fifty-five years, he died, just in the maturity of his mental 
ability, and of his capacity for usefulness ; at the period when the arduous labors 
of a lifetime would have shown their best results; when the richest fruits of large 
study and ripe experience were about to be gathered, giving still higher honor to 
him and greater benefits to the community." 

Dr. William Pepper married, June 9, 1840, Sarah Piatt, and two of their sons, 
achieved high distinction as physicians. 

Issue of Dr. William and Sarah Piatt Pepper: 

George Pepper, M. D., of whom presently; 
WiLWAM Pepper, LL. D., of whom later. 

George Pepper, M. D., the eldest son, born April i, 1841, graduated at the 
University of Pennsylvania, College Department in 1862, and Medical Depart- 
ment in 1865. On September 15, 1862, he enlisted as a private in the Sixth Regi- 
ment Pennsylvania Cavalry; was promoted to Lieutenant, but was disabled May 
22, 1863, and honorably discharged. Taking up the study of medicine under his 
distinguished father, he achieved considerable distinction prior to his early death, 
on September 14, 1872. He was chiefly instrumental in founding the Philadel- 
phia Obstetrical Society, and was its secretary until his fatal illness prevented his 
attendance. Pie was a member of many medical and learned associations and 
societies, and shortly before his death was elected accoucheur to the Philadelphia 
Hospital. He died September 14, 1872. 

Dr. George Pepper married Hitty Markoe Wharton, daughter of Hon. George 
Mifflin Wharton, by his wife, Emily Markoe. She married (second) Ernest 
Zantzinger. 

Issue of Dr. George and Hitty M. (Wharton) Pepper: 

George Wharton Pepper, A. M., hh. B., LL. D., b. Phila., March 16, 1867; entered 
Univ. of Pa. 1883; received degree A. B. 1887; entered Law Department of same 
Univ., and, receiving degree of LL. B. in 1889, was admitted to the Phila. Bar; has 
achieved distinction as lawyer, being universally considered leader of the junior bar; 
has been Algernon Sydney Biddle Prof, of Law at Univ. of Pa. since 1893; was 
awarded degree LL. D. by that Univ. Tune 18, 1907; member of American Philo- 
sophical Society; author of "The Borderland of Federal and State Decisions" (1889); 
"Pleading at Common Law and Under the Codes," 1891 ; "Digest of the Laws of 
Pennsylvania," 1700-1901, and "Digest of Decisions and Encylopsdia of Pennsylvania 



1092 PEPPER 

Law," 1754-1898 (with William Draper Lewis) ; receiver of Bay State Gas Co.; mem- 
ber of Board of Missions of Prot. Epis. Church and Deputy to its General Conven- 
tion; m. Nov. 25, 1890, Charlotte R., daiL of Prof. George P. Fisher, of Yale Univ.; 
they have issue: 

Adeline Louise Forbes Pepper, b. March 11, 1892; 

George Wharton Pepper, Jr., b. Jan. 14, 1895; 

Charlotte Eleanor Pepper, b. May 30, 1897. 
Frances Pepper, b. Nov. 19, 1869; m. Nov. 4, 1896, J. Alison Scott, and had issue: 

Frances Wharton Scott, b. Sept. 3, 1897; 

Joseph Alison Scott, b. Jan. 21, 1900; 

Ernest N. Scott, b. Dec. 25, 1903. 

To Dr. William Pepper, the second son of Dr. William and Sarah (Piatt) 
Pepper, the distinguished physician, scientist and scholar, for twenty years pro- 
vost of the University of Pennsylvania, it is impossible to do justice in the Hmits 
of this brief family sketch. A history of his Hfe and distinguished services, by 
Francis Newton Thorpe, has been recently published, to which we would refer 
our readers. He was born in Philadelphia, August 21, 1843, and entered the 
University of Pennsylvania in 1858; was Valedictorian of his class in 1862, and 
entering the Medical Department of the University, received his degree of Doctor 
of Medicine in 1864; Lafayette College conferred upon him the degree of LL. D. 
in 1881, Princeton in 1888. He was an extensive contributor to the medical 
literature of his day. He died July 28, 1898. 

Dr. William Pepper married, June 25, 1873, Frances Sargeant, daughter of 
Christopher Grant and Frances (Sargeant) Perry, the former a son of Commo- 
dore Oliver Hazard Perry, by his wife, Elizabeth Champlin Mason, and the latter 
of Hon. Thomas Sergeant of Philadelphia, by his wife, Sarah Bache, a grand- 
daughter of Dr. Benjamin Franklin. 

Issue of Dr. William and Frances Sargeant (Perry) Pepper: 

Dr. William Pepper, b. May 14, 1874; grad. of Univ. of Pa., class of 1894, with degree 
A. B., and from the Med. Dept. of same institution, with degree M. D. 1897; Fellow 
of College of Physicians, Phila.; Instructor in Medicine at Univ. of Pa.; assistant 
physician to Phila. and Univ. Hospitals; member of various medical societies and 
associations; m. Dec. 31, 1904, Mary, dau. of Lincoln and Mary (Simpson) Godfrey, 
and had issue : 

William Pepper, b. Nov. 16, 1905; 

Dickinson Sargeant Pepper, b. March 12, 1907; 

Thomas Sargeant Pepper, b. April 14, 1876, d. July 22, 1882; 

Benjamin Franklin Pepper, b. Jan. 21, 1879; grad. St. Mark's School, Southboro, Mass., 
1897; entered Coll. Dept., Univ. of Pa., class of 1901; grad. from Law Dept. 1903, 
and was admitted to Phila. Bar; was private in Battery A, Penna. Volunteer Artillery, 
in Spanish-American War, April 27 to Aug. 2, 1898; m. June 2, 1902, Rebecca Thomp- 
son, dau. of George and Anna (Shippen) Willing; had issue: 
Benjamin Franklin Pepper, Jr., b. June 10, 1905. 

Oliver Hazard Perry Pepper, b. April 28, 1884; grad. St. Martin's School, Southboro, 
Mass., 1901; grad. Univ. of Pa., with degree of B. S., and from Med. Dept. of Univ. 
in 1908. 

Frederick Seckel Pepper, son of George and Mary (Seckel) Pepper, was 
born in Philadelphia, December 20, 1814, and died in that city, January 14, 1891. 
He entered the University of Pennsylvania in 1831, class of 1835, and was a 
member of the Philomathean Society there. He married, March 20, 1851, 
Adeline, daughter of John R. and Rebecca (Glenn) Worrell, of Philadelphia, of 
ancient English lineage. 



PEPPER 1093 

Richard Worrell, the pioneer ancestor of Adeline (Worrell) Pepper, emi- 
grated to Pennsylvania from Oare in the Hundred of Fair-cross, Berkshire (fifty- 
four miles from London) in 1682, bringing a certificate to the Monthly Meeting of 
the Society of Friends at Philadelphia from "Ye Monthly Meeting, at Oare, in 
Barkshire," dated "ye 17th of ye ffirst Month, 1682." He died in Philadelphia, 5mo. 
(July) 10, 1688, and his widow, Sarah Worrell, died twelve days later. They were 
probably accompanied to Pennsylvania by their sons, John and Richard Worrell, 
both of whom produced certificates from the same meeting at Oare, dated 5mo. 
(July) 21, 1682. Richard Worrell, Sr., had been an early convert to the principles 
and faith of the Society of Friends and was persecuted for his religious convictions 
as early as 1670. He was an original purchaser of land in the Province of Penn- 
sylvania of William Penn in 1681, and it was laid out to him, as shown by 
Holme's map, on Dublin creek, in what became Lower Dublin township, Phila- 
delphia county. The early Friends Meetings of that section were held at his 
house. 

John Worrell, son of Richard and Sarah, whose certificate from Friends at 
Oare is above recited, was a prominent member of the Society, and a trustee of 
the property belonging to Dublin Meeting in 1688. He married at Oxford Meet- 
ing House, June 4, 1689, Judith Dungworth, and his brother, Richard Worrell, 
Jr., married Rachel May, August 11, 1685. Both have left numerous descendants. 
John resided at the time of his death in Oxford township, Philadelphia county. 
His will dated August 17, and proved September 12, 1743, styles him as of "Ox- 
ford Township, County of Philadelphia, and Province of Philadelphia Malster," 
and states that he is "very aged." It devises to the children of his son, Isaac, 
land on the west side of the King's Road, near Frankford, part of a tract he had 
purchased of Robert Addams, June 7, 1698, "next to son Isaac's land." To his 
son, Jacob, he devised the balance of the same tract; he mentions his eldest son, 
John; son, Isaiah; daughters, Hannah, wife of Daniel Bristol; Rebecca, wife of 
a Samuel Finney, and granddaughter, Elizabeth Bigley. 
Issue of John and Judith (Dungworth) Worrell: 

John Worrell, b. April 12, 1690; 

Elizabefh Worrell, b. July 11, 1691; 

Isaac Worrell, b. Aug. 21, 169.S, d. 1739; of whom presently; 

Sarah Worrell, b. Oct. 9, 1695 ; 

Hezekiah Worrell, b. Nov. 27, 1697; 

Isaiah Worrell, b. Dec. 29, 1699; 

Abraham Worrell, b. April 12, 1699; 

Rebecca Worrell, b. , m. Samuel Finney; 

Hannah Worrell, m. Daniel Bristol; 

Jacob Worrell, the devisee of the land near Frankford. 

John Worrell, like most of the other members of Oxford Friends' Meeting, was 
an adherent of George Keith in his schism of 1702, and lost his membership in 
the Society of Friends, and the record of his children born after that date does 
not appear on the Friends' records. 

Isaac Worrell, second son of John and Judith (Dungworth) Worrell, pur- 
chased land near his father and died there in 1739, before his father. As shown 
by the will of John, above quoted, the children of Isaac were devised a portion 
of the old homestead, adjoining their father's land. On the land thus devised a 



1094 



PEPPER 



house was erected in 1700, which was the home of the descendants of Isaac for 
nearly two centuries. The land passed to Isaiah, son of Isaac, and from his estate 
to his son, Robert, who devised it to his daughter, Martha, whose granddaughter, 
Martha, still owned and occupied the old house in 1892. The will of Isaac Wor- 
rell was dated January 5, and probated January 26, 1739-40. In it he is named as 
a "millwright." It devises his farm to his wife, Rebecca, after whose death it 
passed to his son, Isaiah, as before stated. Isaac retained his membership in the 
Society of Friends and was a minister of local note. He married Rebecca Haw- 
ley, who survived him. He left three sons: 

Isaac Worrell; 

Isaiah Worrell, d. Aug. 26, 1818; m. Elizabeth Harper; of whom presently; 

Richard Worrell, d. in early manhood, his widow becoming wife of Mcveagh. 

Isaiah Worrell, son of Isaac and Rebecca (Hawley) Worrell, of Oxford 
township, Philadelphia county, inherited the homestead near Frankford, but later 
became a merchant in Frankford, residing in a house at the corner of Main street 
and Bristol Road, which he devised to his son, Isaac. He died there August 26, 
1818, and was buried in the Friends' burying-ground at Unity and Wain streets, 
Frankford. His son, Isaac Worrell, was a Captain of the Associated Company 
of Oxford township, 1776, and was later Captain of the Fourth Company, Second 
Battalion, Philadelphia County Militia, Col. Benjamin MacVeagh. His brothers, 
Robert, Isaiah, Joseph and William, all who were old enough, also rendered serv- 
ice during the Revolution. Isaiah, the father, is also said to have rendered service. 
Isaiah Worrell married, 1752, Elizabeth Harper, born 1733, died April 25, 1809. 
Issue of Isaiah and Elizabeth (Harper) Worrell: 

Isaac Worrell, b. Aug. 16, 1753, d. April 25, 1826; Capt. of Militia during Revolution; 

m. March 30, 1775, Elizabeth, dau. of Peter Rambo; 
Robert Worrell, b. Aug. 22, 1754, d. 1841; inherited homestead in Oxford township; was 

trustee of Presbyterian Church at Frankford; m. Catharine Keiter; 
Isaiah Worrell, b. Sept. 28, 1755; m. Sarah Coates; 
Joseph Worrell, b. Sept. 2, 1757, d. June i, 1841 ; 
Elizabeth Worrell, b. Dec. 21, 1759; 

William Worrell, b. Oct. 18, 1760; d. in New Orleans, La.; 

John Hawley Worrell, b. Aug. 12, 1762, d. 1835; m- Mary Nefl; of whom presently; 
Samuel Worrell, b. Jan. 27, 1764; d. s. p. July 25, 1829; 
Rebecca Worrell, b. June 6, 1765; 

Sarah Worrell, b. Jan. 5, 1767; m. Oct. 5, 1794, William Coates; 
Jacob Worrell, b. Aug. 13, 1768, m. Hetty Rook; 

Thomas Worrell, b. Aug. 29, 1771, d. Feb. 3, 1837, in Cecil co., Md. ; 
Mary Worrell, b. March 3, 1773; m. Thomas Knight; 
Frances Worrell, b. July 26, 1776, d. young; 
Stephen Worrell, b. June 6, 1778; m. May 26, 1808, Jane Allen. 

John Hawley Worrell, seventh child of Isaiah and Elizabeth (Harper) 
Worrell, born August 12, 1762, died in Frankford, 1835, and was buried in the 
Presbyterian graveyard at the corner of Main and Church streets, Frankford. 
He married Mary Neff, who was buried in the same graveyard, in 1842, at the 
age of eighty-two years. They had issue: 

William Worrell, b. Nov. 24, 1783, d. July 7, i854; m. Margaret Sullivan; 
John R. Worrell, m. Rebecca Glenn, and had issue: 
Susanna Worrell m. William T. Lowber; 



PEPPER 1095 

Emma Worrell, m. Samuel F. Fisher; 

AdEuni; Woerei,!,, m. March 20, 1851, Frederick Seckel Pepper; of whom pres- 
ently; 

James C. Worrell. 

Isaiah Worrell, of Frankford, m. Sarah Buckius; 

Samuel Worrell, of Clearfield Co., Pa., m. Anna Sullivan; 

Rudolph Worrell; m. Mary Ege; 

Hawley Worrell, d. young; 

Hannah Worrell, b. May i, 1787, d. April, 1888, aged 100 yrs., Iimos. ; m. Mayberry Whit- 
man; 

Eliza Worrell, b. June 11, 1793, d. July 3, 1890, aged 97 years; ra. Stephen Belknap; 

Mary Worrell, b. Feb. i, 1798; m. Abraham Knapp, of Montgomery Square, Montgomery 
Co., Pa. 

Issue of Frederick Seckel and Adeline (Worrell) Pepper: 

John Worreli, Pepper, b. June 24, 1852; m. Emily Adele Buckley; of whom presently; 

Frederick Seckel Pepper, Jr., b. in Phila., Nov. i, 1853; 

Susan Worrel Pepper, m. Nov. 3, 1881, J. Howard Gibson, of Phila., and had issue: 

Adeline Pepper Gibson; 

Mary Clett Gibson; 

Henry Clay Gibson. 

John Worrell Pepper, son of Frederick Seckel and Adeline (Worrell) Pep- 
per, born in Philadelphia, June 24, 1852, was educated in Philadelphia, and began 
his business career in the counting house of his uncle, William T. Lowber, in 1868. 
After thirty-eight years of active business life he retired in 1906, and has since de- 
voted his time to the care of his estate and his duties as an official of the several 
corporations and charitable institutions with which he is connected. He is a di- 
rector of the Philadelphia Savings Fund, of the Insurance Company of North 
America, of the Trust Company of North America, of the Philadelphia Ware- 
house Company. He is a member of the Rittenhouse and Philadelphia Clubs, the 
Philadelphia Racquet Club, the Philadelphia Country Club, the Rabbit Club, and 
president of the Huntington Valley Country Club. 

John Worrell Pepper married, June 2, 1879, Emily Adele, daughter of Clement 
A. and Sarah (Penrose) Buckley, and widow of Edward Lowber, who died De- 
cember 10, 1866, son of William Twells Lowber, by his wife, Susan Worrell, be- 
fore mentioned. Clement Adam Buckley, the father of Mrs. John Worrell Pep- 
per, born June i, 1791, died April 13, 1868, was a son of Daniel Buckley, Esq., the 
prominent ironmaster of Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, by his wife, Sarah 
Brooke, and a descendant of Adam Buckley, one of the earliest settlers of New 
Castle county, who was associated with the Grubb family in the ownership of 
"Stockdale's Plantation" there in early Colonial times. Daniel Buckley was a 
member of the General Assembly from Lancaster county for several terms. Clem- 
ent Adam Buckley graduated from the University of Pennsylvania in 181 1, was 
admitted to the Philadelphia Bar in 1814, and continued to practice his profession 
in this city until his death. He married, September 11, 1833, Sarah Penrose, born 
in Philadelphia, July 28, 181 1, died there, January 21, 1891, daughter of Charles 
Penrose, one of the eminent men of Philadelphia in his time, by his wife, Ann 
Rowan, and of the family of eminent shipbuilders of Philadelphia, founded about 
1700, by Capt. Bartholomew Penrose. 

Capt. Bartholomew Penrose came of ancient English lineage, and just prior to 



1096 PEPPER 

his emigration to Philadelphia in 1700, resided in Bristol, England, where his 
brother, Thomas Penrose, was a prominent and wealthy shipbuilder. Soon after 
his settlement in Philadelphia, Capt. Bartholomew Penrose engaged in the ship- 
building business, and about 1706 built the "Diligence," having for a partner in 
her ownership and equipment William Penn, and also Col. William Trent, James 
Logan and others. The earlier voyages of the "Diligence" to foreign parts on 
commercial ventures were made under the direct command of Capt. Penrose, as 
shown by Penn's correspondence of that date. Capt. Penrose died in Philadelphia 
and was buried at Christ Church, November 17, 171 1. He married, in 1693, 
Esther, daughter of Toby and Esther (Ashmead) Leech, of Oxford, Philadelphia 
county, an account of whom and the distinguished services of Toby Leech, as a 
member of Provincial Assembly, etc., is given elsewhere in these volumes. After 
the death of Capt. Penrose, his widow married Nathaniel Poole, also a shipbuilder, 
and that business was conducted by descendants of Bartholomew Penrose for 
several generations, at Philadelphia. 

Thomas Penrose, youngest son of Capt. Bartholomew and Esther (Ashmead) 
Penrose, born in Philadelphia, on or about February 1709-10, became associated 
with his brothers and others in the shipbuilding business and as a shipping mer- 
chant in Philadelphia. He was the owner of the "Brittania," part owner in 1747 
of the "Greyhound," in 1750 of the "Ranger," and in 1753 of the "Neptune." He 
was an active member of Christ Church and one of the founders of St. Peter's 
Church, a signer of the petition to the Proprietaries for the use of the lot at 
Third and Pine streets on which to erect the latter church, though he died No- 
vember 17, 1757, before the church was erected thereon. Thomas Penrose mar- 
ried, October 21, 1731, Sarah, daughter of John Coats, a manufacturer of Phila- 
delphia, by his wife, Mary, daughter of Warwick Hale, and aunt to Mary, the 
wife of Thomas Plumstead. Mary (Hale) Penrose died July 7, 1777, at the age 
of sixty-three years, having married (second) Capt. Lester Falkner, and (third) 
Anthony Duche. 

Thomas Penrose, Jr., son of Thomas and Mary (Hale) Penrose, born in Phila- 
delphia, January 22, 1733-4, died there November 28, 181 5, was also a shipbuilder 
and merchant. In his early life he was in partnership with his brother, James 
Penrose. He was one of the prominent citizens in the early days of the Revolu- 
tionary struggle. During the war between England and Spain Thomas and James 
Penrose constructed the warship "Hero," which they sent out as a privateer to 
prey upon the Spanish under the command of Samuel Owen. Thomas Penrose 
was one of the earliest signers of the Non-Importation Agreement in 1765; was 
named as a Port Warden of Philadelphia in 1766; was selected by the convention, 
held June 18, 1774, as one of the first Philadelphia Committee of Observation; 
served in that body until it was superceded by the Council of Safety, and was 
again named as Port Warden in 1776. 

Thomas Penrose married July 7, 1757, Ann, daughter of Joseph Dowding, Esq., 
by his wife, Ann, daughter of Judge Richard Richardson, of Delaware. 

Charles Penrose, son of Thomas and Ann (Dowding) Penrose, born in Phila- 
delphia, September 14, 1776, died there of cholera, June 24, 1849. He was in 
early life interested in the family business of shipbuilding, but having inherited 
and accumulated considerable wealth retired from business before middle hfe. 
He was chosen Port Warden of Philadelphia in 1804, and in 1812 was named as 



PEPPER 1097 

superintendent of the Philadelphia Navy Yard at the solicitation of his personal 
friend, Hon. William Jones, then Secretary of the Navy, under President James 
Madison, and placed the navy-yard on a much higher plane of usefulness prior to 
his resignation. He supervised the construction of the man-of-war, "Franklin," 
for many years the finest and most efficient vessel in the United States Navy. 

Charles Penrose took a deep interest in philanthropic and charitable enterprises. 
He was for thirty-one years president of the Southern Dispensary, and many 
years Manager of the Humane Society. Like his father he was a regular attend- 
ant of Friends' Meeting, though not a member of the Society. He married, Janu- 
ary 16, 1800, Ann, daughter of John Rowan, of Salem county, New Jersey, by 
his wife, Sarah, daughter of Clement and Margaret (Morris) Hall, and a great- 
granddaughter of William Hall, Provincial Councillor of New Jersey. Charles 
Penrose and his family resided at the southeast corner of Penn and Shippen 
(now Bainbridge) streets, where their daughter, Sarah, mother of Mrs. John 
Worrell Pepper, was born. 



OWEN FAMILY. 

Robert Owen^ who came from Merionethshire, Wales, in 1690, and settled on 
a plantation in Merion township, Philadelphia county, on the present line of the 
Pennsylvania Railroad, west of Wynnewood station, one of the founders of 
Merion Friends' Meeting, and a member of Colonial Assembly, 1695-97, belonged 
to one of the oldest families in Wales, and like all the old families of that region 
was of royal descent and traced his ancestry back through a long line of princes 
of ancient Britain. On the direct male hne his descent is traced from Trahairn 
Goch, ap Madoc, of Llyn, in Caernarvonshire, Wales, who was descended from 
the princes of South Wales, and a grandson of Rhys Glofif, Lord of Cymtmaen. 
He died prior to the i8th year of Edward II. Trahairn Goch ap jNIadoc owned 
large tracts of land in Llyn, and thereby acquired the title of O'Llyn. He mar- 
ried Gwenervyl, daughter of Magog, ap Muerig, ap Madog, ap loreth, ap Cyndel, 
ap Elystan Glodrydd, Lord of Fferyllwg, and had issue ; 

David Goch, who married Maud, daughter of David Lloyd, ap Cynveloc, ap 
Llewellyn, and had issue : David Vaughan, of Bodreth and Pennllech ; levan 
Goch, of whom presently ; Mereydd ; and John Carreg-Bach. 

levan Goch had large possessions in Caernarvonshire, where he was born about 
1312. He married Eva, daughter of Einion, ap Celynin, of Llwydiarth, Mont- 
gomeryshire, ^^'ales, and had issue : Meredydd, who inherited his father's lands ; 
Madoc, of whom presently ; Morfydd, who married Merdedydd, Lord of Gest. 

jMadoc, ap levan Goch, born about 1355-60, settled in Denbighshire, \'\'ales, and 
had son Deikws Dhu. 

Deikws Dhu, ap Aladoc, of Ysputty-Ievan, Denbighshire, born about 1395, 
married Gwen, daughter of levan Dhu, ap Madog-Vychan, ap Madog, ap Maelog 
Crwn, Lord of Llechwedd, Isaaf and Crewddyn, promontory of Great and Little 
Orme's Head. 

Einion ap Deikws Dhu, born about 1430, died prior to 15 14, married Morvydd, 
daughter of Alatw, ap Llowarch, ap Gwynn, ap Llewelln, ap Aleredydd, ap Llew- 
ellyn, ap Llowarch, ap Urien, ap Tegwored, ap Rothpert, ap Asser, ap Meredydd 
Goch, of Llynn, son of Collwyn ap Tangno, Lod of Llynn, and had issue : Howel 
Goch, of whom presently; levan Goch, living 1514; and David Goch. 

Howell ap Einion, married Mary, daughter of Llewellyn Eurdochog, of laal, 
Flintshire, Wales, and had two sons, Griffith ap Howell, of whom presently, and 
David ap Howell. 

Griffith ap Howell, ap Einion, born 1480 to 1500, married Gwenllian, daughter 
of Einion ap levan Lloyd, ap Madoc, ap lerwth, ap Llewellyn Chivith, ap Cyn- 
wrig, ap Bleddyn Lloyd, of Havod Unnos, in the parish of Llangernin, descended 
from Hedd Nolwynos, founder of the Ninth Noble Tribe of Wales, and had issue : 
David, who married Elizabeth, daughter of Rhys, of Gerrig; Edward; Lewis, of 
whom presently; and Catharine, who married Sir Robert ap Rhys. 

Lewis ap Griffith, third son of Griffith ap Howell, born about 1525, resided at 
Ysputty-Ievan all his life, died prior to 1601 ; married Ellen, daughter of Edward 
ap Evan, Esq., of Llanwdllyn, Montgomeryshire, and a descendant of Edward I., 



OWEN 1099 

and had issue : David Lewis, who married Marsley, daughter of David ap Rhys, 
of Llan Wydd; William Lewis, died prior to 1601, married Margaret, daughter 
of Lewis David; Evan Lewis, married Gwen, daughter of William Chwar; Rob- 
ert Lewis, of whom presently ; and John Lewis, who died young. 

Robert Lewis, fourth son of Lewis ap Griffith, of parish of Ysputty-Ievan, 
Denbighshire, born about 1555, removed to Merionethshire, settled near Bala, 
the home of the Price family, and died there 1645. He married Gwenervyl, 
daughter of Llewllyn, ap David of Llan Rwst, Denbighshire, a descendant of 
David Goch, and had issue : Cadwalader, Thomas, John, Evan, of whom pres- 
ently, Hugh, Humphrey, Lowry, Margaret, Jane, Catharine, Ellen and Margaret. 

Evan Robert Lewis, fourth son of Robert Lewis, born in the parish of 
Ysputty-Ievan, about 1585, died at Fron Goch, parish of Llandderfel, Merioneth- 
shiie, about 1662, married Jane, descended from Rhirid Flaidd, Lord of Pennllyn, 
and had issue : 

John ap Evan, father of William John, who settled at Gwynedd, Pa., and Griffith John, 

who settled at Merion, Phila. Co.; 
Cadwalader ap Evan, who d. unm. ; 
Owen ap Evan, of whom presently; 
Griffith ap Evan; 
Evan ap Evan, ancestor of the Evans family who settled at Gwynedd. 

Owen ap Evan, of Fron Goch, near Bala, Merionethshire, Wales, third son of 
Robert Lewis, was born at Fron Goch, about 1636, and died there prior to imo. 
6, 1678. He married Gainor John, and had issue : 

Robert Owen, b. circa 1657, m. Rebecca Owen; of whom presently; 

Owen Owen, d. s. p. ; 

Evan Owen, who remained in Wales; 

Jane Owen, m. Hugh Roberts; 

Ellin Owen, m. Cadwalader Thomas ap Hugh. 

Robert Owen, eldest son of Owen ap Evan, born at Fron Goch, Merioneth- 
shire, Wales, about 1657, came to Pennsylvania in 1690 and settled on a plantation 
in Merion township, Philadelphia county, where he died seven years later. He 
was a member of the Society of Friends in Merionethshire, Wales, and was fre- 
quently fined for being absent from national worship. He married, imo. 11, 
1678-9, Rebecca Owen, daughter of Owen Humphrey, Esq., who held title to an 
estate called Llyn-Du, in the township of Llwyngwill, parish of Llanglynin, 
Merionethshire, that he had succeeded to about 1664, and was a descendant of 
Edward HL The marriage certificate of Robert and Rebecca Owen is still in 
possession of their descendants. On 6mo. 8, 1690, the Quarterly Meeting of 
Friends at Llyddyn y Garreg, Merionethshire, granted a certificate to Robert and 
Rebecca Owen, "and their deare and tender children," to Friends in Pennsyl- 
vania, which is recorded at Merion or Haverford Meeting. Robert Owen was 
one of the founders of Merion Particular Meeting, and was one of the signers of 
the protest against the heresies of George Keith in 1692. His wife, Rebecca, died 
8mo. 23, 1697, and he on lomo. 8, 1697. He became identified with the affairs of 
the province soon after his arrival, was elected to the Colonial Assembly in 1695, 
and served in that body until his death. He was also commissioned a Justice in 
1695. He was, from his arrival in the "Welsh Tract," active in local affairs and 



1 100 OWEN 

appears almost constantly as Executor. Administrator and Trustee, indicating 
that he was a man of ability and knowledge of public affairs. He built a com- 
modious house in 1695, which was the home of his descendants for many genera- 
tions. 

Issue of Robert and Rebecca (Owen) Owen: 

Gainor, b. 1681, m. Jonathan Jones; 

Evan, b. 1683, d. 1727; m. lomo. 11, 1711, Mary Hoskins; of whom presently; 

Jane, b. 1685; 

Elizabeth, b. 1687, m. David Evans; 

Owen, b. i2mo. 26, 1690; m. Anne Wood; of whom later; 

John, b. i2mo. 26, 1692, m. Hannah Maris; of whom later; 

Robert, b. 7mo. 27, 1695; m. Susanna Hudson; of whom later; 

Rebecca, b. imo. 14, 1697; bur. gmo. 21, 1697. 

Evan Owen, eldest son of Robert and Rebecca Owen, born in Merionethshire, 
Wales, 1683, died in Philadelphia in 1727. He inherited the Merion homestead 
but sold it to his brother-in-law, Jonathan Jones, and removed to Philadelphia. 
Was admitted to the freedom of the city April, 1717, with his brother, Robert. 
He was elected to the Common Council of the city in the same year and was ap- 
pointed Justice of the County Courts, February 18, 1723. Became Associate 
Justice of the City Court 1724; Alderman, October 6, 1724: was Treasurer of 
Philadelphia county from 1724 to his death ; Justice of the Orphans' Court, De- 
cember 5, 1725, and Master of Court of Equity; elected to Provincial Assembly, 

1725, and to Provincial Council, 1726; Justice of Court of Chancery, 1726. He 
was one of the Trustees named by Act of Assembly to close out the affairs of the 
Free Society of Traders at their dissolution in 1724. He married, lomo. 11, 
171 1, Mary, daughter of Dr. Richard Hoskins, at Philadelphia Meeting. 

Issue of Evan and Mary (Hoskins) Owen: 

Robert, d. inf., lomo. 9, 1712; 

Robert, b. 10, 12, 1712, d. s. p.; 

Martha, b. 4mo. 12, 1714; 

Esther, b. gmo. 18, 1716; m. 1743, William Davies; 

Aurelius, b. imo. I, 1718, d. 5mo. 2, 1721. 

Owen Owen, second son of Robert and Rebecca born in Merion township, 
Philadelphia county, Pennsylvania, i2mo. 26, 1690, died in Philadelphia, 8mo. 5, 
1741. He was commissioned High Sheriff of Philadelphia county, October 4, 

1726, and on retiring from that ofifice, 1729, was commissioned Coroner and 
served until his death in 1741. He married 3mo. 23, 17 14, Anne Wood, who died 
2mo. 4, 1743. 

Issue of Owen and Anne (Wood) Owen: 

Robert; 

Jane, m. 1769, Dr. Cadwalader Evans, d. s. p. 1773; 
Sarah, m. March 3, 1736, John Biddle, d. imo. i, 1773; 
Tacey, m. 1744, Daniel Morris, of Upper Dublin; 
Rebecca, d. unm., Dec. 10, 1755. 

John Owen, third son of Robert and Rebecca, born in Merion, Philadelphia 
county, i2mo. 26, 1692, died in Chester county, 1752. He removed from Phila- 



OWEN iioi 

delphia county to Chester county in 1718, and married there 8mo. 22, 1719, Han- 
nah, daughter of George Maris, a Provincial Councillor and Colonial Justice. 
John Owen was High Sherifif of Chester county from October 4, 1729, to Octo- 
ber, 1731 ; October 3, 1735, to October, 1837; October 4, 1743, to October, 1745; 
and October 7, 1749, to October, 1751. Was a member of Provincial Assembly, 
1733 and 1748; Collector of Excise for Chester county, 1733-7, and many years 
a Trustee of the Loan Office of Pennsylvania. 
Issue of John and Hannah (Maris) Ozven: 

Jane, m. Joseph West; 

George, d. s. p., Phila., 1764, m. Rebecca Haines; 

Elizabeth, m. James Rhoads; 

Rebecca, m. Aug. 22, 1754, Jesse Maris; 

Susanna, m. Josiah Hibberd. 

Robert Owen, fourth son of Robert and Rebecca, born in Merion, Philadel- 
phia county, 7mo. 27, 1695, died about 1730, married iimo. 10, 1716-17, Susanna, 
daughter of William Hudson, Mayor of Philadelphia, Justice, etc., and member 
of Provincial Assembly, by his first wife, Mary, daughter of Samuel Richardson, 
Provincial Councillor. Robert Owen settled in Philadelphia on his marriage, was 
admitted to the freedom of the city in April, 1717, and continued to reside there 
until his death. His widow married, 3mo. 2, 1734, John Burr, of Burlington 
county. New Jersey. 

Issue of Robert and Susanna (Hudson) Owen: 

Mary, b. 3nio. 3, 1719; m. Henry Burr; of whom presently; 

IJannah, b. 3mo. 16, 1720; m. (first) John Ogden; (second) Joseph Wharton; 

Rachel, b. 6mo. 19, 1724. 

Mary Owen, eldest child of Robert and Susanna (Hudson) Owen, born in 
Philadelphia, 3mo. 3, 1719, married January 10, 1736, Henry, son of John Burr, 
(who had married her mother), by a former marriage with Keziah Wright. 

Henry Burr, the ancestor of the Burr family of Burlington county, came from 
England, about 1682, then a young man and located near Mount Holly, Burling- 
ton county. He became the owner of several hundred acres of land, a portion of 
which he conveyed to his sons, Joseph and John, during his life. He died in 1743, 
his will being dated October 29, 1742, and proven June 11, 1743. He married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Robert and Mary (Thredder) Hudson, who settled in 
Burlington, 1682, and died there, in 1697 and 1698, respectively. 
Issue of Henry and Elisabeth (Hudson) Burr: 

John Burr, b. May 29, 1691; m. (first) 3mo. 29, 1712, Keziah Wright, and (second) 
Susanna Owen, nee Hudson; of whom presently; 

Joseph, b. 1694; m. 2mo. 27, 1726, Jane Abbott, and settled in Bucks co.. Pa.; 

Elizabeth, b. i6g6; m. Samuel Woolman, and was mother of John Woolman, the emi- 
nent preacher and pamphleteer; 

Mary, b. 1698; m. 1715, Jacob Lippincott; 

Sarah, b. 1701, m. 9mo. 26, 1719, Caleb Haines; 

Rebecca, b. 1703; m. 1734, Peter White; 

Martha, b. 1705; m. (first) 1723, Josiah Harris, (second) Timothy Matlack, and was 
mother of Timothy Matlack; 

William, b. 1710. not mentioned in father's will; 

Henry, b. 1713, not mentioned in father's will. 



1 102 OWEN 

John Burr, eldest son of Henry and Elizabeth (Hudson) Burr, of Burlington 
county, New Jersey, born May 29, 1691, married (first) 3010. 29, 1712, Keziah, 
daughter of Job and Rachel Wright, of Oyster Bay, Long Island. She died April 
12, 1731, and he married (second) Susanna, widow of Robert Owen, of Phila- 
delphia, and daughter of William Hudson. 
Issue of John and Keziah (Wright) Burr: 

Rachel, b. iimo. 22, 1713; 

Henry, b. 8mo. 26, 1715; m. Jan. 10, 1736, Mary, dau. of Robert and Susanna (Hudson) 

Owen, of Phila.; of whom later; 
John, b. imo. 25, 1718; 
Solomon, b. ilmo. 27, 1721; 
Keziah, b. 2mo. 17, 1724; 
Joseph, b. 2mo. 11, 1726. 

Issue of John and Susanna (Hudson-Owen) Burr: 

Susannah Burr, b. 8mo. 26, 1736, m. Uriah Woolman, 3mo. 2, 1769; 
Hudson Burr, b. smo. 22, 1745; m. Smo. 4, 1767, Phebe Lippincott. 

John Burr was appointed, May 8, 1728, Surveyor General of West Jersey. 
With Isaac Pearson and Mahlon Stacy, Jr., about the year 1730, purchased 311 
acres of land on Rancocas creek, in Mount Holly and built an iron furnace and 
forge in what is now Pine street. Mount Holly, which they operated for many 
years. The works passed into the hands of Thomas Mayberry prior to the Revo- 
lutionary War, and during the war a large amount of shot and shells was manu- 
factured there. for the Continental Army. The works were burned by the British 
and never rebuilt. John Burr was a very large landowner in New Jersey. • 

Henry Burr, Jr., son of John and Keziah (Wright) Burr, born October 26, 
1715, married as before stated, Mary, eldest daughter of Robert Owen of Phila- 
delphia, by his wife, Susanna, daughter of William and Mary (Richardson) Hud- 
son. 

Rachel Burr, daughter of Henry and Mary (Owen) Burr, born in Burlington 
county, New Jersey, married November 5, 1764, Josiah Foster, of Burlington 
county, New Jersey, a Justice of the Courts and very prominent in the affairs of 
the Province during the Revolution. 

Mary Foster, daughter of Judge Josiah Foster, by his wife Rachel Burr, mar- 
ried Samuel Clement, Jr., of Haddonfield, New Jersey, and their son, 

Robert Wharton Clement, of Haddonfield, New Jersey, married Sarah A. 
Mathis, of a prominent New Jersey family, and had among other children, 

Samuel M. Clement, of Philadelphia, who married Annie, daughter of Will- 
iam Browning of Philadelphia, and had issue: 

John Browning Clement, m. Dessa W. Crowell; of whom presently; 

George W. Clement, Phila., m. Margaret McCauley; 

Samuel M. Clement, Jr., Phila., m. Mabel V. Richardson; 

Eliza M. Clement, m. Samuel F. Irwin, of Phila.; 

Sarah A. Clement, second wife of Samuel F. Irwin; 

Anna May Clement, m. Robert F. Quinn, of Phila. ; 

Jennie D. Clement, m. Cassius Rarasdell. 

The Clement family of New Jersey claim descent from Gregory Clement, a 
cadet of a knightly family of Kent, England, who was a citizen and merchant of 



OWEN 



1 103 



London in the reign of Charles I., was chosen a member of Parliament about 
1646, sat at the trial of Charles I., January 8, 22, 23, and 29, 1648, and signed the 
death warrant of that monarch. Was arrested May 26, 1660, after the restora- 
tion of Charles II., tried, convicted and executed, and his estate confiscated. 

James Clement, supposed to be a son of Gregory, with wife, Jane, and a 
brother, Jacob, emigrated to Long Island, about 1670, and settled at Flushing. 
He was active in the affairs of the English Colony in Queens county, and his 
name appears frequently on the records of that time. He was Clerk of the 
Board of Supervisors of Queens county in 1699, and served as a Grand Juror in 
1702. He married (second) late in life, Sarah, daughter of Benjamin and Sarah 
Field. He and his second wife both died in 1724. 
Issue of James and Jane Clement: 

James, b. Nov. 21, 1670; m. Sarah Hinchman ; 

Sarah, b. Sept. 4, 1672; m. William Hall, of Salem cc, N. J.; 

Thomas, b. Sept. 26, 1674, removed to Gloucester co., N. J.; 

John, b. Sept. 21, 1676, removed to N. J.; 

Jacob, b. Dec. 20, 1678; m. Ann Harrison; of whom presently; 

Joseph, b. April 13, 1681; 

Mercy, b. April 27, 1683, m. Joseph Bates and settled in Gloucester co., N. J.; 

Samuel, b. June 28, 1685; 

Nathan, b. Nov. 29, 1687; 

Jane, m. Stephen Stephenson. 

Jacob Clement, married Ann, daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Hunt) Harri- 
son, of Gloucester, and settled in that county, of which he was Sheriff in 1709-10, 
and was one of the signers of the Petition to the King against the alleged illegal 
acts of Governor Robert Hunter in 1717. 

Issue of Jacob and Ann (Harrison) Clement: 

Samuel, m. Rebecca Collins; of whom presently; 

Thomas, m. Mary Tyley, May .30, 1737; 

Jacob Clement, a farmer near Haddonfield, N. J., m. Oct. 14, 1741, Elizabeth Tyley; 

Ann Clement, m. Sept. 21, 1749, Joseph Harrison; 

Sarah Clement; 

Mary Clement. 

Samuel Clement, eldest son of Jacob and Ann (Harrison) Clement, was a 
surveyor, and took an active part in the political affairs of his time. In 1765 he 
surveyed and adjusted the disputed lines between the counties of Gloucester, 
Burlington and Salem, which had long been the cause of contention. He married 
Rebecca, daughter of Joseph Collins, of Haddonfield, by his wife, Katharine 
Huddleston, and, in 1735, received a grant from his father-in-law of a large tract 
of land, adjoining "Mountwell," the seat of the Collins family at Haddonfield, 
subject to an annuity to Joseph and Katharine Collins for life. Joseph Collins 
was the son of Francis Collins, born in Oxfordshire, England, January 6, 1635, 
who came to West Jersey in 1680, and established "Mountwell" on 1000 acres of 
land surveyed to him in 1682. He was a member of Assembly in 1683, a member 
of Governor Samuel Jening's first Council, and held many other offices of trust 
and honor. He was a builder of local note and erected the first meetinghouse at 
Burlington in 1682, and the courthouse and market-house there in 1683. He was 



1 104 OWEN 

an early convert to Quakerism, and was married at the Bull and Mouth Meeting, 
London, in 1663, to Mary Mayham, and settled at Ratcliff Cross, parish of Step- 
ney, county Middlesex, then in the built-up portion of London, where he was a 
builder and a store-keeper. He purchased a share in the West Jersey lands of 
William Penn, Gawen Laurie and Edward Byllynge in 1677, but did not remove 
to the Province until some years later. At the organization of Gloucester county 
in 1686 he was made one of her first Justices and filled that office many years. 
As the owner of a 4/7 share in West Jersey, be became a very large landed pro- 
prietor. In 1696 he conveyed Mountwell with 500 acres and 500 acres to be sur- 
veyed elsewhere to his son, Joseph. His wife, IMary, died soon after his settle- 
ment in West Jersey and about 169 1 he married Mary, widow of John Goslin, 
and daughter of Thomas Budd, another of the West Jersey Proprietaries. He 
died in 1720, leaving children by both wives. Joseph Collins, the eldest son, died 
in 1741, leaving one son and three daughters, one of the latter being Rebecca, the 
wife of Samuel Clement. 



PETERS FAMILY. 

Ralph Peters, father of Rev. Richard Peters and WilHam Peters, both of 
whom came to Philadelphia, and were prominent in the affairs of the Province of 
Pennsylvania, was Town Clerk of Liverpool, and Sheriff of Lancaster county, 
England. He was born about 1660 to 1670, and came of ancient lineage. He 
married Esther Preeson, sister of Thomas Preeson, and of Joseph Preeson, of 
Accomac county, Virginia, whose widow, Anne, Andrew Hamilton married, 1706. 

Ralph Peters was a man of considerable prominence, and evidently possessed 
of considerable landed estate in England and Wales, which descended to his 
grandson, Ralph Peters, eldest son of William Peters, and through him to the 
elder male line .of the family in England for many generations. 
Issue of Ralph and Esther (Preeson) Peters: 

William Peters, b. 1702, d. Sept. 8, 1789; m. (first) Elizabeth Bailey; (second) Mary 
Brientnall, of Phiia., where he located after death of first wife, about 1739; see for- 
ward; 

Rev. Richard Peters, b. Liverpool, 1704, d. Phila., July 10, 1776; of whom presently. 

Rev. Richard Peters was placed by his father in Westminster School, and 
while, there, under the influence of drugs, was entrapped into a marriage with the 
daughter of the proprietor of his lodging house. She was a woman far beneath 
him in intellect and respectability, and denying the legality of the marriage, he 
refused to acknowledge her his wife and never lived with her or held any com- 
munication with her. He was entered at the college at Oxford, and by urgent 
wish of his father, later the Inner Temple, and devoted five years to the study of 
law, though he had always inclined to the ministry. His father finally consented 
to his taking orders, he was ordained Deacon by the Bishop of Winchester, 
1730, and a year later as Priest. He was given a curateship under the Earl of 
Derby, who made him tutor of two of his youthful relatives, whom he accom- 
panied to Leyden, Holland, 1733. On his return, being assured by his friends 
that the girl whom he had married at Westminster was dead, he began paying 
his addresses to a Miss Stanley, sister of his quondam pupils, and was married to 
her December 25, 1734. He became interested in political affairs, and while tak- 
ing part in some political demonstration the June following his marriage, a polit- 
ical opponent produced a woman of low degree, whom it was alleged was the 
wife he had married at Westminster. Overwhelmed by the result of his youthful 
folly, or misfortune, he parted from Miss Stanley, and sailing for America, 
found refuge in the home of Andrew Hamilton, in Philadelphia, whose wife was 
his relative by marriage. He later became a member of the household of Clement 
Plumstead, and through the influence of these prominent men and others who 
interested themselves in his behalf, and after an investigation of his career in 
England, he was appointed assistant to Rev. Archibald Cummings, Rector of 
Christ Church. A stickler for the stricter tenets of the established church, his 
ministry created dissensions in the congregation and he resigned, 1737. 

Dr. Peters, on resigning from Christ Church, was made Secretary of the Land 



iio6 PETERS 

Office, a position he filled twenty odd years, being succeeded by his brother, William 
Peters, in 1760. He was one of the two commissioners to run a provisional bound- 
ary line between Pennsylvania and Maryland, 1738, and on February 14, 1742-3, 
was appointed Clerk of Provincial Council, which position he held until his resigna- 
tion, June 2, 1762, to accept the rectorship of Christ Church and St. Peters. At 
the death of Mr. Cummings, 1741, he was persuaded to ask for a renewal of his 
orders and take the rectorship, but was not appointed. When Franklin and others 
were making preparations to organize the Academy and Charitable School, parent 
of the College of Philadelphia, now the University of Pennsylvania, Dr. Peters 
was asked to accept its superintendency, but dechned. He was an original mem- 
ber of the Board of Trustees, and President of the Board, 1756-62. At the death of 
James Logan, 1747, he was appointed Proprietary Secretary of the Province, held 
that position until 1762, was called to Provincial Council, 1749, and sat in that 
body the remainder of his Hfe. He was one of the incorporators of the Phila- 
delphia Library; the Pennsylvania Hospital; and a subscriber .to the Dancing 
Assembly, 1749. He began to officiate as Rector of the united churches of Christ 
and St. Peter's, June, 1762, during the absence abroad of Rector Duche, but was 
not regularly installed until December 6, 1768; degree of Doctor of Divinity was 
conferred upon him by the University of Oxford, 1770. 

Dr. Peters took an active part in the proceedings of the Provincial Council of 
Pennsylvania, and even after accepting the rectorship of Christ and St. Peter's 
churches went upon several important missions to the Indians, having several 
times previously served the Council in that capacity. He was one of the four 
Commissioners of the Province of Pennsylvania, in the conference with the Six 
Nations, at Albany, New York, 1754, when the Proprietaries acquired by pur- 
chase the whole southwestern part of the present state of Pennsylvania. He had 
engaged intermittently in trade, dealt largely in unimproved land on the frontiers, 
and at the time of his return to the ministry was quite a wealthy man. He served 
the two churches without salary until the debt contracted by the erection of St. 
Peter's church was entirely paid. Dr. Peters was a man of many accomplish- 
ments and extremely useful to the Proprietary government, who valued his serv- 
ices highly. He died July 10, 1776. His only issue, a daughter, Grace, by his 
marriage with Miss Stanley, died in infancy. 

William Peters, brother to Rev. Richard Peters, D. D., and oldest son of 
Ralph Peters, of Liverpool, was born in that city, 1702. He married (first) 
Elizabeth Bailey, by whom he had a son Ralph Peters, born 1729, who inherited 
the English estates of the family, and resided at the time of his death, July 12, 
1807, at Plattbridge, Parish of Wigan, Lancashire, England. His wife, Elizabeth 
died December 5, 1801, aged seventy years. 

The wife of William Peters dying, he came to Pennsylvania to visit his brother. 
Dr. Richard Peters, and, being pleased with the country, located in Chester coun- 
ty, where he was practising law as early as 1739. He married, 1741, Mary, 
daughter of David Breintnall, Jr., by his wife, Grace Parker, an account of whose 
ancestry is given below, in 1742 purchased a tract of 220 acres on the west bank 
of the Schuylkill, and erected thereon a stone house in which he resided until 
1745, when he erected the large mansion known as "Belmont," occupied by the 
family for a century thereafter, and the scene of many notable gatherings and 



PETERS 1 107 

events connected with the history of Pennsylvania, not only during the Revolu- 
tionary period but for a half century preceding it. 

William Peters was commissioned a Justice, May 3, 1749, was elected to the 
Provincial Assembly from Chester county, 1752, and regularly re-elected there- 
after until 1756, when he declined a re-election and was succeeded by John Mor- 
ton, the signer of the Declaration of Independence. 

William Peters became connected with the Pennsylvania Land Office, and, No- 
vember I, 1760, was appointed to succeed his brother, Dr. Richard Peters as sec- 
retary of that office, a position he held over eight years. He acquired extensive 
landed property in Lancaster county and in other parts of the Province, all of 
which, together with his splendid estate of "Belmont," he transferred to his son 
Richard Peters, just prior to the Revolutionary War, and returned with his wife 
to England. He made his residence with or near his son, Ralph Peters, at Knuts- 
ford, in Cheshire, not far from Wigan, Lancashire, where he and his wife lie 
buried in the churchyard of All Saints Church. William Peters kept up a con- 
stant correspondence with his sons in Pennsylvania, after his removal to England. 
Some of his letters written in 1784, in a good state of preservation, are still in 
possession of his descendants. He died September 8, 1789, aged eighty-seven 
years. His second wife, Mary Breintnall, died some years prior to that date. 

By his first wife, Elizabeth Bailey, William Peters had, besides the son, Ralph, 
before referred to, a son, James, and a daughter, Eleanor, both of whom died 
without issue. The son, Ralph, was some years Recorder of Liverpool, and was 
a celebrated north of England barrister. He married, January 14, 1761, Eliza- 
beth Entwisle, who died December 5, 1801. He died at Wigan, Lancashire, July 
12, 1807. They had issue, a son, Ralph Peters, issue of whom is still living in 
England. 

An account of the paternal and maternal ancestors of Mary (Breintnall) 
Peters, intimately associated with the affairs of Philadelphia, and adjoining parts 
of the Province of New Jersey, in early Colonial times, is deemed of sufficient 
interest to be inserted here ; especially for the reason that her descendants have 
confounded her with another Mary Breintnall, daughter of her uncle, John Breint- 
nall, and his wife, Susanna Shoemaker. 

David Breintnall, grandfather of Mary (Breintnall) Peters, came to Philadel- 
phia from London, England, bringing a certificate from Breach Monthly Meet- 
ing in Derbyshire, dated 8mo. (October) 10, 1681, addressed to "ffriends at 
London, or to whome it may Concerne," which was presented at Philadelphia 
Monthly Meeting, where he married, December 6, 1683, Jane Blanchard, who had 
produced at the same meeting a certificate from Ringwood Monthly Meeting in 
Hampshire, England, dated 11 mo. (January) 11, 1682-3, their marriage being 
the second one solemnized under the auspices of the meeting. David Breintnall 
is mentioned in different records as "haberdasher" and as "merchant," and was 
prominently associated with the affairs of Philadelphia Monthly Meeting. His 
will, dated October 2, 1732, was proven December 30, 1732. It devises to his son, 
David, all sums of money he owes and forty pounds in eight payments ; to his 
daughter Jane Harper, money due from her husband, John Harper, and gives 
legacies to her children, Mary and Hannah Harper; to his son, Joseph, the dwell- 
ing house "in which I live," and legacies to his children, Jane Hester, Sarah and 
Anna; son, John, and grandchildren, David, Mary, Rachel and Elizabeth Breint- 



iio8 PETERS 

nail; daughter, Hannah; daughter, Sarah Lancaster and her children, Thomas, 
John and Sarah Lancaster. A legacy is also given to Philadelphia Monthly 
Meeting. Jane (Blanchard) Breintnall died August 25, 1725. 

Of the children of David and Jane Breintnall, David, the elder, will be referred 
to later. Jane, eldest daughter, married (first), January 11, 1704-5, Nathan 
Faucitt, who died 1708; (second), Nijvember 28, 1710, John Harper. 

Joseph Breintnall, second son of David and Jane, was a prominent member of 
the small literary circle of Philadelphia, when Dr. Franklin returned from his 
visit to England. Franklin says of him, "Joseph Breintnall was a copyer of deeds 
for the scriveners, a good natured, friendly, middle-aged man; a great lover of 
poetry, reading all he could meet with and writing some that was tolerable ; very 
ingenious in many Httle knock-knackeries, and of sensible conversation." He 
was High Sheriff of Philadelphia county, 1755-6-7. He married, December 27, 
1723, Esther (born. New Jersey, 1698, died, Philadelphia, October 18, 1762), 
daughter of George and Esther (Andrews) Parker, and sister to Grace Parker, 
who married his elder brother, David. Joseph Breintnall died intestate, and 
letters of administration on his estate were granted to his widow, Esther, April 
12, 1746. He had besides the four daughters, mentioned in his father's will, a 
son, George, born 1733, died February 9, 1776; all these children and their mother, 
"Esther Breintnall, widow," are mentioned in the will of Mary Andrews, of 
Philadelphia, aunt to Esther, hereafter mentioned. John Breintnall, third son of 
David and Jane, married (first) May 23, 1717, Susanna, daughter of Jacob and 
Margaret Shoemaker, who died February 17, 1719-20, leaving two children, David 
and Mary, the latter of whom married, February 10, 1742-3, Thomas Kite, son 
of Abraham and Mary (Peters) Kite. John Breintnall married (second), Octo- 
ber 29, 1724, Hannah Sharp, daughter of Hugh and Rachel (French) Sharp, of 
Burlington county. New Jersey, by whom he had six daughters, an account of 
whom is given in our sketch of the Klapp family of Philadelphia, descended from 
the youngest of these six daughters, Anna Breintnall, who married William Mil- 
nor. Hannah Breintnall, daughter of David and Jane, died unmarried, August 
25, 1770, aged sixty-three years. Sarah Breintnall, the other daughter, married, 
July 22, 1714, John Lancaster, of Philadelphia. 

David Breintnall, father of Mary (Breintnall) Peters, is supposed to have been 
the eldest child of David and Jane (Blanchard) Breintnall. But little is known of 
him or his children, if indeed he had other than the one. He seems to have re- 
sided for some time during his youth in or near Chester, Pennsylvania. On 
i2mo. (February) 23, 1707-8, Chester Monthly Meeting granted a certificate to 
David Breintnall, Jr., unmarried, who "having formerly lived amongst us and 
now residing at Philadelphia," to Philadelphia Monthly Meeting, where it was 
received i2mo. 27, 1707-8. On February 23, 1710, he married Grace, daughter 
of George Parker, of Philadelphia, formerly of Northampton township, Burling- 
ton county. New Jersey, by his wife, Esther Andrews, whom he married at Bur- 
lington Meeting, November 5, 1692; he was living in Philadelphia at the death 
of his mother, Sarah Parker, widow, of Northampton township in 1722. 

Esther Andrews was a daughter of Samuel Andrews, one of the Proprietaries 
and earliest settlers of West Jersey, who as evidenced by will of his daughter, 
Mary Andrews, of Philadelphia, was a near relative of Sir Edmond Andros, or 
Andrews (1637-1714), Colonial Governor of New York, etc. 



PETERS 1 1 09 

Samuel Andrews died in Mansfield township, Burlington county, New Jersey, 
leaving will dated September 12, 1693, proven November 10, 1693, which devises 
his estate to his wife, Mary, and children, Edward, Mary, Mordecai, Peter and 
Esther, naming his wife and Edward Rockhill, executors, and John Woolston and 
Samuel Bunting, assistants. On June 13, 1696, the claim of George Parker as 
devisee under the will of Samuel Andrews, was submitted to arbitrators, and an 
award of forty acres of land was made to be laid out on north side of Rancocas 
Creek. On November 10, 1686, Sarah Parker, widow of George Parker, of East 
Jersey, bought of the attorney of Mary Stacy, deceased, 500 acres on the Ran- 
cocas, and November 10, 1688, she conveyed to her son, George Parker, 192 
acres of this tract. The will of Sarah Parker, of Northampton township, Bur- 
lington county, widow of George Parker of East Jersey, dated June 25, 1720, 
devises her estate to her children, George, William, Joseph, Sarah Schooley, and 
Elizabeth Brown, making her son, Joseph, sole executor. An inventory of her 
estate, dated May 31, 1722, includes a bond of George Parker, of Philadelphia, 
for twenty pounds. George Parker, "of East Jersey," husband of Sarah was 
doubtless George Parker, of Shrewsbury, landowner there in 1685. 
• The will of Mary Andrews, of Philadelphia (daughter of Samuel and Mary, of 
Buriington county. New Jersey), dated June 10, 1757, with codicil dated Decem- 
ber 22, 1758, was proven April 2, 1761. It devises to George Breintnall, son of 
her niece, Esther Breintnall, the house and lot on Water street, where she dwelt, 
for life, then to his sons; an adjoining lot to his sister, Jane Breintnall; gives 
legacies to her niece, Esther Breintnall, widow, and her other daughters, Sarah 
and Ann Breintnall ; to her three nephews, Mordecai Andrews, son of her brother, 
Mordecai, and Peter and Isaac Andrews, sons of her brother, Edward Andrews, 
1150 acres in Morris county. New Jersey; niece, Sarah Jewell, widow; children 
of niece, Rebecca Robinson, deceased; niece, Denny Oliver, widow; Mrs. Ann 
Pidgeon, of Trenton, widow, and her sister, Catharine Pearce; nephew, Isaac 
Andrews, is to pay Mary Andrews, wife of Mordecai, 30 pounds; Ann Jewell, 
daughter of niece, Sarah Jewell ; nephew, Nehemiah Andrews, living at Point-no- 
point ; Sarah Andrews, daughter of nephew, Isaac Andrews ; loving friend, Ann 
Rundle; Sarah Griscomb, spinster, of Philadelphia; Barbara Grant, of Philadel- 
phia, widow ; "my Clerk, Henry Tomlinson ; Mrs. Love Vineing, wife of Abra- 
ham Vining, of Phila. ; to William Peters, son of William Peters Esq. of Phila- 
delphia, by my niece Mary his wife a lot adjoining my house on Water St. ; to 
William Peters, the Elder and Mary his wife, a Silver tankard marked E. A. for- 
merly belonging to Edmund Andrews, heretofore Governor of New York, also 
my large tankard which has a silver half moon on it and four of my pictures ; to 
my grand niece Mary Peters, my pair of Bristol Stone necklace set in silver, with 
the cross belonging to it, and all my gold rings about twenty-six in number, also 
my gold buttons with my new set of tea table furniture, to wit, silver tea-pot, slop- 
bowl, sugar pot, cream pot, etc. some of them have my father's arms and my 
cypher engraved on them, also my brown stone girdle buckle ; to Richard Peters 
son of William and Mary, a bible ; to William Peters the elder, a tract of land in 
Kingsessing, formerly belonging to John Boode and John Olgiers, which I pur- 
chased of Ezekiel Shepherd and a lot in Kensington ; to Contributors to Pennsyl- 
vania Hospital, certain Ground Rents ; a legacy to Sarah, wife of my nephew 
Alexander Parker; to Mrs. Moore of Moore Hall, my two parrots, Jacob and 



1 110 PETERS 

Africa. Executors, William Peters, Esq. Benjamin Price, Attorney-at-Law, and 
Evan Morgan of Philadelphia." 

We have no record of the death of David and Grace (Parker) Breintnall, but 
the latter at least was probably deceased before the date of the will of her aunt 
Mary Andrews, as she, unlike her sister Esther (Parker) Breintnall, is not men- 
tioned in the will. 

Issue of William and Mary (Breintnall) Peters: 

Richard Peters, b. June 22, 1744, d. Aug. 22, 1828; m. Sarah Robinson; of whom pres- 
ently ; 

Mary Peters, b. Dec. 18, 1750, mentioned in will of Mary Andrews, m. a Mr. Smith; 

Thomas Peters, b. Aug. 5, 1752, d. 1781 ; m. Rebecca, dau. of Edward Johnson, M. D., 
of Baltimore; of whom below. 

Thomas Peters was a member of First City Troop, Philadelphia Cavalry, and 
was "one of three or four members of the Troop who went to General Washing- 
ton and offered bur services to him in anyway we could be of use, at the time of 
the landing of the British forces on Long Island, and remained with him until the 
whole Troop was ordered to join him at the second attack on Trenton," writes the 
said Thomas Peters, 1818. After giving some account of the service of the Troop 
at I'rinceton and Monmouth he concludes, "I got wet from leaping on a wet horse, 
fresh from the crossing of the Delaware, which superinduced inflammatory rheu- 
matism," which eventually disabled him and, "when the British were about to 
take possession of Philadelphia, I got up to Little York-Town where Congress was 
and when able was appointed Commissary General of Prisoners, under Congress 
for that District, and served in that capacity until a few days before the battle of 
Germantown in which I joined, got into Philadelphia and there remained, which 
ended my Military career for the time being." 

He removed to Baltimore, Maryland, at the close of Revolutionary War and 
died there, 1821. By his wife, Rebecca Johnson, he had ten children, four sons 
and six daughters, some of whom married and left issue. His son, Thomas, pur- 
chased a large estate near Baltimore, which he called "Woodlands," which bears 
the name to this day. He occupied many positions of honor in Baltimore, was 
elected Mayor, 1808, and several times re-elected; was a Presidential Elector, 
delegate to various state conventions and also served in State Legislature. 

Richard Peters, eldest son of William and Mary (Breintnall) Peters, born at 
Belmont, June 22, 1744, entered College of Philadelphia in 1758, and was vale- 
dictorian of the class of 1761, he was a fine classical scholar. He studied law, 
and his ability and indomitable industry enabled him to attain high rank in his 
profession. His uncle, Richard Peters, and his father were both well versed in 
the law and were able to advise and assist him, and as assistant to his father in 
the Land Office he became thoroughly famihar with the land laws and titles to 
large tracts of land, in the middle western portion of the Province, then being 
rapidly settled up, and the contention over the titles of which, constituted a large 
part of the litigation of that period. He took great pains to become familiar with 
the language of the Germans, who comprised a large proportion of his clientage. 
He was a man of fine address and a great fund of humor and was a great favorite 
in all assemblages, no gathering of his friends and associates being considered 
complete without him. He accompanied his uncle, Richard, to the conference 



PETERS nil 

with the Six Nations, at Fort Stanwix, New York, and the Indians were so 
pleased with his Hvely disposition, that they adopted him into their tribe, christen- 
ing him "Tegohtias" (paroquet), no doubt on account of his lively "chatter." 
He was Register of the Admiralty Court from 1771 until the Revolution. 

At the outbreak of the Revolution he at once took sides with the Colonies with 
the, utmost zeal, and volunteered for military service. He was chosen captain of 
a militia company but before rendering any active service, was called to a service 
more commensurate with his eminent ability, being selected by Congress for the 
important position of the head of the Board of War, June, 1776, and filling it 
with eminent ability until December 17, 1781, when, on his letter of resignation 
being presented to Congress, the following resolution was adopted : 

"Resolved, that Mr. Peters' letter be entered on the Journal and that Congress are sensi- 
ble of his merits and convinced of his attachment to the cause of his country and return him 
thanks for his long and faithful service in the War Department." 

During the whole of his arduous service he was closely associated with Robert 
Morris, "the financier of the Revolution," and like him, pledged his private means 
to enable the struggling Colonies to carry on the war. In constant communication 
with Gen. Washington, he did his utmost to secure for the use of the army the 
necessary munitions to carry on the war, though these had frequently to be se- 
cured without sufficient funds with which to pay for them. In 1779, on his way to 
a grand fete at the Spanish Ambassador's in Philadelphia, he received a letter 
from Gen. Washington stating that he was entirely out of lead, and that their 
small supply of powder was wet, so that, should they be approached by the enemy, 
they would be compelled to retreat for want of amunition. Knowing nothing of 
where he could secure the so sadly needed supplies, he was in no humor to enjoy 
the festive occasion, and his downcast mien, so unusual, attracted the attention 
of Robert Morris, to whom he communicated his trouble. 

Mr. Morris was fortunately able to give him some help, one of his privateers 
having lately arrived with ninety tons of lead taken on as ballast, one-half of 
which was the property of Mr. Morris and the other half belonged to his partners, 
Blair McClenachan, and a Mr. Holker, who were also at the fete. Mr. Morris 
and Mr. Peters sought out the partners. On their refusal to allow the use of their 
share of the lead without payment, Mr. Morris made himself personally respon- 
sible for it and assisted Mr. Peters in securing a gang of men to remove the lead 
and make it into cartridges, and by morning they were able to forward to Wash- 
ington a large supply of the much needed amunition. This is but a single instance 
of the association of the two heroic patriots in the trying cause of their country 
in her darkest days. Again in August, 1781, they were delegated by Congress to 
visit Washington in his headquarters on the Hudson, and confer with him in 
reference to his proposed attack on the British in New York, and through them the 
Commander-in-Chief was induced to abandon the apparently hopeless attempt, and 
move his army southward to form a junction with the French fleet then off Hamp- 
ton Roads. Without funds with which to furnish the needed supplies and munitions 
of war, the expedition could only be accomplished by the respective heads of the 
Finance and War Departments, promising that these would be furnished. Then 
followed the strenuous and successful efforts of these two ardent and unselfish 
patriots to secure these needed supplies, which enabled Washington and his army 
29 



1 1 12 PETERS 

to transfer their sphere of action to the Virginia coast, with the result that Corn- 
wallis was captured at Yorktown, and the American patriots saw there the be- 
ginning of the end of their heroic struggle for independence. 

Mr. Peters was always on the alert to secure supplies for the army, and fre- 
quently became disgusted with the want of patriotism on the part of some of the 
men with whom he was associated, in withholding their much needed support to 
the patriot cause. With a strong escort he was in Philadelphia, June i8, 1778, 
before the last of the evacuating British army was across the Delaware, on its 
way to New York, to secure clothing and military stores long secreted in that 
city, and to purchase everything available for the use of the American Army. 
Gen. Arnold then took command at Philadelphia, and Mr. Peters returned to 
York to confer with Congress then in session there. He was always distrustful 
of Gen. Arnold, and always insisted that the funds he had entrusted to him at 
that time with which to secure military stores for the army in the field, were used 
by Arnold for the furtherance of his personal ends. 

Turning over the portfolia of the War Department to his successor, Gen. Lin- 
coln, in November, 1781, Mr. Peters was elected to Congress in 1782, and partici- 
pated in the closing scenes of the War of Independence as a national legislator. 
On the expiration of his term he was elected to the Pennsylvania Assembly and 
.was Speaker of that body, 1789, when appointed to the office of Judge of the 
United States District Court for Pennsylvania, by President Washington, a posi- 
tion he filled during the remainder of his life, published, 1807, in two volumes his 
"Admiralty Decisions in the U. S. District Court of Pennsylvania." 

Judge Peters resided all his life at "Belmont," and, as before stated, it was the 
scene of many important conferences that had to do with the affairs of the nation, 
as well as of notable social functions. During the period that Philadelphia was 
the nation's capital, Washington was a frequent visitor there, as were members of 
his cabinet, of congress and the diplomatic corps, and many distinguished visitors 
from abroad were entertained there. The French traveller Chastellux says of 
"Belmont," " it is a tasty little box, in the most charming spot nature could em- 
bellish." Marquis Lafayette was entertained there on his visit to America in 
1824. 

This old historic mansion and the grounds surrounding it, where Washington 
was wont to walk in the beautiful gardens while cogitating questions of State, 
was included in Fairmount Park in 1867. 

Soon after the close of the war. Judge Peters travelled extensively in Europe. 
He was a member of the church of England and was very active in securing 
Bishops of the Church in America, and advancing the work of the Church on all 
lines. He took a deep interest in agriculture and horticulture and was president 
of first Agricultural society in America. In 1797, he conducted a series of experi- 
ments to determine the value of gypsum as a fertilizer and published a pamphlet 
giving the result of his experiments. He was active in the advocacy of public im- 
provements and was instrumental in having the bridge built over the Schuylkill 
in 1803, being president of the company at whose expense it was erected. He 
died at "Belmont," August 22, 1828, full of years and honor, universally lamented. 
Judge Peters married at Christ Church, August 22, 1776, Sarah, daughter of 
Col. Thomas Robinson of the Pennsylvania Line, who with his brother, Abraham 
Robinson, lived on Naaman's Creek, Delaware, seven miles below Philadelphia. 



PETERS 1 1 13 

Abraham Robinson and Gen. Anthony Wayne, married sisters, and the family 
was connected with the most prominent families of the Province. 
Issue of Richard and Sarah (Robinson) Peters: 

Ralph Peters, b. Nov. 28, 1777, d. Nov. 11, 1842; m. Catharine Conyngham; of whom 

presently; 
Richard Peters, b. Aug. 4, 1779, d. May 2, 1848; m. March i, 1804, Abigail, dau. of 
Thomas and Ann (McCall) Willing. Richard Peters, Jr., many years reporter of 
U. S. Superior Court, and published numerous condensed reports of the U. S. Superior 
and Circuit Courts, and the case of the "Cherokee Nation against the State of 
Georgia." He was also editor of "Chitty on Bills," and Washington's "Circuit Court 
Reports," 3d. Circuit. 
Issue of Richard and Abigail {Willing) Peters: 
Nancy Bingham Peters, d. Oct. 5, 1879, unm. ; 
Sarah Peters; 

Frank Peters, member of Phila. Bar, d. Paris, May 19, 1861; m. Maria Miller; 
Elizabeth Willing Peters, m. John W. Field, d. s. p. 1900, East Grimstead, Sussex. 
Maria Wilhelmina Peters, b. "Belmont," Aug. 26, 1781; m. Jan. 6, 1802, at Christ Church, 
William Shippen, son of Thomas and Ann (McCall) Willing, b. Feb. 6, 1779, d. Aug. 
9, 1821; 
Thomas Peters, b. Nov. 7, 1782, d. Sept. 22, 1784; 

Sarah Robinson Peters, b. Nov. 5, 1785, d. Sept. 24, 1850; many years mistress of "Bel- 
mont;" 
Thomas Peters, b. at "Belmont," Aug. 4, 1787, of whom we have no further record. 

Ralph Peters, eldest son of Judge Richard Peters, was born at York, Penn- 
sylvania, November 28, 1777, while the family were in temporary exile there with 
the Continental Congress, the British army being in possession of Philadelphia. 
He was educated for a merchant, and sailed for many years as a supercargo for 
Stephen Girard. He later started into business for himself by sending a vessel 
to China, in charge of a supercargo, for a cargo of tea. The Chinese merchants 
.succeeded in palming off on his agent a cargo of willow leaves, and Mr. Peters 
was financially ruined. His next venture was the renting of the "Bull Farm," 
now part of West Philadelphia, a fine tract of two hundred acres belonging to 
his father-in-law, David Hayfield Conyngham, for which he agreed to pay $1000 
rent, but was never able to pay a cent. His father then made him agent for 
hi.' large tracts of land in Bradford and Luzerne counties, and he removed his 
family to the Falls of Schuylkill, and spent sometime back in the woods, hunting 
and prospecting the wild lands in what is now the rich coal fields of Pennsylvania, 
rhe greater part of which, by the way, he and his brothers allowed to be sold for 
the payment of taxes, after the death of their father, just as they were about to 
become very valuable. 

Early in 1821, he removed his family to Wilkes-Barre, then but a village, trans- 
porting his family and household goods from Philadelphia by wagon, a trip con- 
suming three days. Here they resided in a house belonging to his brother-in-law, 
John Nesbitt Conyngham (then a young practicing attorney), known as "Suiton 
House," near the centre of the village. 

In 1823 he removed to Bradford county, settled on a tract of recently cleared 
land, and again made an unfortunate speculation, in the purchase of land for 
which he was unable to pay, instead of settling on a 1000 acre tract of his father's, 
ten miles distant. He lived on the Bradford plantation with his family until 
about 1837, and then removed to Towanda, where his wife died May 14, 1839, 
and he November 11, 1842. 

Ralph Peters married, October 2, 1806, at Christ Church, Catharine, born Phila- 
delphia, August 29, 1786, daughter of David Hayfield Conyngham, of the great 



1 1 14 PETERS 

mercantile firm of Conyngham and Nesbitt, by his wife, Mary West, and grand- 
daughter of Redmond Conyngham, of Letterkenny, Ireland, who came to Phila- 
delphia in 1749, and founded the firm, returning to Ireland, 1776. 
Issue of Ralph and Catharine (Conyngham) Peters: 

Mary Peters, b. Oct. 26, 1807, d. April 2, 1895, bur. at Woodlands; 

Richard Peters, b. Nov. 10, 1810, d. at Atlanta, Georgia, Feb. 6, 1889; m. Mary Jane 

Thompson; of whom presently; 
Henry Peters, b. Jan. 26, 1813, d. Aug. 11, 1817; 
Ralph Peters, b. May 3, 181 5, removed to St. Louis, Mo.; m. a Mrs. Carr, or Kerr; no 

issue; 
Sarah Helen Peters, b. Dec. 21, 1816, at "Belmont," d. Paris, June 13, 1893; m. 1842, 

Samuel Lovell Dana, of Wilkes-Barre, Judge of Luzerne County Court; Captain of 

First Pa. Volunteer Infantry, in Mexican War, 104O-8; Brigadier General 1805; 

died April 25, 1889. He was b. at Wilkes-Barre, Jan. 29, 1817; 
Anne M. Peters, b. 1819, d. Feb. 6, 1904, in Paris, unm.; 
John Peters, b. 1822, d. Aug., 1839; 
William Graham Peters, b. 1824, d. May 19, 1870; m. 1855, Eugenia E. Coryell, b. July 

3, 1832, near Lambertville, N. J., d. May 19, 1879; 
Eleanor McCall Peters, b. Nov. I, 1829, d. 1869; m. 1854, Dr. Edward Rodman Mayer, 

of Wilkes-Barre; no issue; 
Charles Edward Peters, b. Nov. 5, 1826, d. July 29, 1857, unm. 

Richard Peters, eldest son of Ralph and Catharine (Conyngham) Peters, was 
born at Germantown, November 10, 1810, removed with his parents to Wilkes- 
Barre, 1821, and to Bradford county three years later. He attended school in 
I-"'hiladelphia, and during the residence of the family at Wilkes-Barre also attend- 
ed school there; about 1826, his grandfather, Conyngham, being on a visit to the 
family in Bradford county, brought him back to Philadelphia, where he attended 
school for two years, living with his grandfather, and making frequent visits to 
■'Belmont," where his grandfather. Judge Peters, was still living. On his return 
to Bradford coimty, just prior to the death of Judge Peters, the latter executed 
a deed to his son, Ralph, for the use of Richard, his grandson and namesake, for 
1000 acres of land in Bradford county, but the deed was never recorded and the 
property was eventually sold for taxes. After a year spent in Bradford county, 
he decided to take up the study of engineering and surveying, and through the 
influence of his uncle, Richard Peters, a position was secured for him in the office 
of William Strickland, the celebrated engineer and architect at Philadelphia. He, 
at the suggestion of Mr. Strickland, attended lectures at Franklin Institute for 
eighteen months, and after six months more in the office, he spent six months 
with a corps of engineers at Delaware Breakwater. His uncle, Richard, then 
secured him a position with Major Wilson, who was about to survey the route 
for the Camden & Amboy Railroad. He was later employed on the Philadelphia 
& Lancaster Road, with headquarters at Downingtown. Returning to Phila- 
delphia in 1834, he remained there until February, 1835, when he secured a posi- 
tion under J. Edgar Thompson, with whom he had previously been associated 
under Major Wilson, and who had then been appointed chief engineer, in charge 
of the building of the railroad from Augusta, Georgia, to Athens. 

Before proceeding on his southern trip he made a visit to his parents in Brad- 
ford county, and saw his mother for the last time, alive. Soon after his arrival 
at Augusta, Richard Peters was promoted to the position of First Assistant Engi- 
neer, and on the completion of the road was appointed, October, 1837, superin- 
tendent of the road. He resided at Augusta until 1845, and prospering financially. 



PETERS 1 1 15 

purchased a steam saw mill and several large tracts of land. On the extension 
of the road to Marthasville, now Atlanta, he transferred his headquarters to that 
place, then an insignificant village, boarding with the family of Dr. Joseph Thomp- 
son, whose daughter, Mary Jane, he married February 18, 1848. 

At about this time, Mr. Peters purchased and operated a line of stages, from 
Madison, Georgia, to Montgomery, Alabama, which, owing to the Mexican war 
and the consequent migration to the newly acquired territory in the southwest, 
proved a profitable investment, and was continued until the Civil War. 

In 1847 he purchased a farm in Gordon county, where he later devoted his 
attention to breeding of fancy and improved breeds of cattle, sheep, swine and 
chickens. He, however, continued to live in Atlanta, where he had purchased 
considerable land on which he erected a home, and later also conducted a well 
equipped nursery of fruit and other trees. 

In 1856 Mr. Peters formed a company in which he was a large stockholder, and 
they erected the largest flour mill in the southern states. The milling business 
did not prove profitable, but the rapid increase in land values at Atlanta, and the 
sale of the mill and power plant to the Confederate government, for thfe manu- 
facture of military ordnance, at the outbreak of the Civil War, fully made up all 
their losses. 

Mr. Peters had by this time become prominent in that section ; he was instru- 
mental in having the first telegraph line built into Atlanta; established the first 
church there and introduced and fostered a number of other public institutions 
and improvements. He took a lively interest in his stock farm; his fine herd of 
Jersey cattle, of which he was the first importer in that section, became justly 
famous. At the first germination of the seeds of secession he did all in his power 
to prevent its fruition. He was intimately associated with Alexander H. Stephens, 
later Vice-president of the Confederacy, but one of the strongest opponents of 
secession, and a number of letters written by him on the subject to Richard Peters 
are still preserved by the latter's family. Mr. Peters continued to reside in At- 
lanta until it was captured by Gen. Sherman. 

After the close of the war he did much to rehabilitate the shattered industries 
of his section, and continued to operate his model farm, still conducted by his 
widowed daughter, Nellie Peters Black, who recently published a delightful his- 
tory of the Peters family, made up largely of the personal recollections of her 
father, supplemented by data from papers in the possession of the family and 
careful research at home and abroad, by members of the family. Richard Peters 
died February 6, 1889. As before stated, he married at Atlanta, February 18, 
1838, Mary Jane, daughter of Dr. Joseph Thompson, of Atlanta. She was born 
December 31, 1830, and was therefore twenty years her husband's junior. Dr. 
Thompson was a grandson, of Joseph Thompson, who came from Monaghan 
county, Ireland, 1740, and located in York county, Pennsylvania, at Dillsburg, 
named in honor of Mathew Dill, who accompanied him from Ireland. About 
1750 Joseph Thompson, accompanied by his two sons, Alexander and Joseph, and 
several other families from that locality, among whom were members of the 
Collins family, emigrated to what was later Spartansburg county. South Carolina. 

Alexander Thompson married Nancy Collins, and his brother, Joseph, married 
Jane Dill. Joseph Thompson died July i, 1802, and his wife, Jane, died April 7, 
1802. 



iii6 PETERS 

Dr. Joseph Thompson was fourth son of Joseph and Jane (Dill) Thompson, 
born September 29, 1797, and died August 21, 1885. He married, May i, 1827, 
Mary Ann (Tomlinson) Young, a daughter of George and Avaline (Reynolds) 
Tomlinson, natives of New Jersey, who had settled at Asheville, North Carolina, 
where their daughter, Mary Ann, was born July 6, 1801. She died at Atlanta, 
April 23, 1849, and Dr. Thompson married (second) January 19, 1851, a Mrs. 
Reeder, of Columbia. She died three years later and he married (third), June 
29, 1858, the widow of Dr. Thompson, of Macon, Georgia. 

In the early part of the Civil War, Richard Peters was engaged with a number 
of others in a scheme for running the blockade of the southern ports. He and 
his associates owned a number of steamers and for a time were quite successful 
in bringing into port a large amount of merchandise, in spite of the vigilance of 
the United States gunboats, and realized a handsome profit thereon. 
Issue of Richard and Mary Jane (Thompson) Peters: 

Richard Peters, b. at Atlanta, Georgia, Nov. 2, 1848; living in Phila.; m. June 30, 1874, 
Harriet Parker, b. Aug. 16, 1851, dau. of Samuel Morse Felton, of Mass., by his wife 
Maria Low Lippit, of R. I., and had issue : 

Edith Macausland Peters, b. Nov. 2, 1875; 

Ethel Conway Peters, b. Nov. 19, 1879; m. June 30, 1905, Smedly Darlington 
Butler, of the U. S. Marine Corps; issue: 
Ethel Butler, b. Nov. 2, 1906. 

Richard Peters, b. Dec. 25, 1880; 

Samuel Morse Felton Peters, b. March 18, 1883; 

Hope Conyngham Peters, b. March 31, 1890. 
Mary Ellen (Nellie) Peters, b. Feb. 9, 1851; m. April 17, 1877, George Robinson Black, 
b. Nov. 14, 183s, d. Nov. 3, 1886, son of Edward Junius Black, of Beaufort District, 
South Carolina, by his wife, Augusta George Anna Kirkland. Mrs. Nellie Peters 
Black is manager of the Richard Peters Stock Farm; president of Free Kindergarten 
Association of Atlanta; member of the Colonial Dames; Daughters of American 
Revolution; and Daughters of United Confederacy; 
Ralph Peters, b. Nov. ig, 1853, a prominent railroad official and civil engineer, residing 
a number of years at Columbus, Ohio, where he and his family occupied a prominent 
position in social circles, was Gen. Superintendent of Pa. Railroad lines, west of Pitts- 
burg; Superintendent of Cleveland and Marietta Railroad, and in April, 1902 became 
president of Long Island Railroad Co. He was for years a vestryman of Trinity 
Episcopal Church, Columbus, O., and a Son of American Revolution. He m., June 
7, 1882. Eleanor, b. May 17, 1863, dau. of William Augustus and Lucy Ann (Grandin) 
Goodman, of Cincinnati, O.; had issue: 

Eleanor Hartshorn Peters, b. May 8, 1884; 

Pauline Faxon Peters, b. March 14, 1886; 

Ralph Peters, b. May 5, 1887; 

Dorothy Peters, b. Oct. 24, 1891; 

Helaine Piatt Peters, b. Oct. 15, 1896; 

Jane Breintnall Peters, b. Nov. 2, 1900. 
Edward Conyngham Peters, b. Atlanta, Oct. 23, 1855; president of Peters Land Co.; 
member of City Council of Atlanta; president of Interstate Fair Association; presi- 
dent Atlanta Savings Bank; junior warden All Saints Protestant Episcopal Church, 
Atlanta; since his father's death, has had full charge and management of Peters 
estate; m. Nov. 19, 1878, Helen, dau. of Ezekiel and Mary Victoria (Holt) Wimberly, 
of Baker county, Georgia; issue: Wimberly B. Peters, b. Oct. 13, 1885, and Edna 
Peters, d. inf.; 

Catharine Conjmgham Peters, b. Feb. 11, 1853; unm.; 

Joseph Thompson Peters, b. June 24, 1861, d. Sept. 6, 1862; 

Stephen Elliot Peters, b. July 27, 1863, d. June 25, 1864; 

Charles Quintard Peters, b. July 16, 1866, d. unm., Aug. 2, 1894; 

Anna Mary Peters, b. Atlanta, March 16, 1868; m. April 5, 1888, Henry Morrell Atkin- 
son, b. Nov. 13, 1862, son of George and Elizabeth (Staigg) Atkinson, of Brookline, 
Mass.; a leading capitalist of Atlanta, Georgia, prominent in social and church affairs 
there. 




LEVICK ARMS. 



LEVICK FAMILY. 

The Pennsylvania family of Levick was of French origin, the name being 
originally written in France, Leveque or Levesque, but the Huguenot ancestor of 
the American family, having sought relief from religious persecution, settled in 
England, and the name became Anglicized, having been spelled Levick, the same 
as the French name of Leveque was pronounced. 

The Lord Mayor of London, at the time of the Spanish Armada, married Eliza- 
beth Leveque. There was a tradition in the Levick family, transmitted from 
father to son to the present date, that there was a Lord Mayor of London by the 
name of Levick living at that time, but recent investigations show that the Lord 
Mayor married a Levick, as above stated, a fact which was doubtless the founda- 
tion for the tradition. 

Richard Levick, the first of the name to emigrate to America, was supposed to 
have come from Derbyshire, from the fact that it is recorded in "Besse's Suffer- 
ings," that one Robert Levick and Brugh had property seized for military 

fines, which they had refused to pay from motives of conscience, and Richard 
Levick, being a Quaker, it was supposed he came of the same family. The Levick 
family, however, had been long settled in Sheffield, England, and a member of 
the family still residing there recently wrote as follows : 

"My branch of the family comes from Sheffield. My mother tells me it was 
our family that first introduced the manufacture of cutlery there, and down to 
my grandfather's time there was in every generation at least one Levick, a Master 
Cutler of Sheffield; my grandfather himself being Master Cutler three times." 

This same correspondent forwarded to a member of the American family a 
copy of the coat-of-arms of the Sheffield Levicks, of which he says : 

"I have been told that the cross-cutlet shows that it was originated in the time 
of the Crusaders. It is my knowledge that it has been in the family at least sev- 
eral generations and I beheve that it is only of late years that people have been 
allowed to adopt coats-of-arms. It seems to be probable that one of our ancestors 
was a Crusader." 

Richard Levick, the ancestor of the American branch of the Levick family, 
was a resident on the Delaware, in what is now Kent county, state of Delaware, 
in the year 1680, and probably earlier. The territory now comprising the state 
of Delaware was then under the jurisdiction of the Duke of York, and what be- 
came Kent county, November 25, 1682, after coming under the jurisdiction of 
William Penn, was known as the county of St. Jones, and Sussex county was 
known as Deal ; the three counties of New Castle, Kent and Sussex, then became 
"Territories of the Province of Pennsylvania," and so remained until 1776, at 
first sending representatives to a general assembly of the province, but later main- 
taining a separate assembly. 

Richard Levick purchased of an Indian, named Christian Heteloke, six hundred 
acres of land in Kent county, and settled thereon with Mary, his wife, probably 
prior to the date of the quaint old deed from the Indian, recorded at Dover, in 
liber B, vol. i, page 139, which is as follows: 



iii8 LEVICK 

February the twenty-fourth one thousand Six hundred eighty. 

Know all me by these present I, Christian Heteloke have received full Satisfaction for 
the Indian purchase of Six Hundred Acres of Land of Richard Levetts and doe warrant 
and Defend itt from any person or persons whatsoever unto Richard Levett him his heirs 
and assigns as 

Witness my hand this Day and yeare above Written. 
Testes, George Martin, Witnesseth my hand. 

Will: Rodney. Cheristo Wess ye Indian. 

This was probably the same tract of land surveyed to Richard Levick by 
Ephraitn Herman, Surveyor, November 30, 1680, "By vertue of a Warrant from 
St. Jones Cort," and called "Shoulder of Mutton," for wfhich the grant from Ed- 
mond Andross, Captain, General, etc., for the Duke of York, bore date prior to 
the Indian deed, above quoted. It was situated on "the West syde of Dellaware 
Bay and next adjoyning John Brinckloo's Land called 'Lisbon' beginning att a 
corner & marked re-oake of John Richardson's Land called Northampton stand- 
ing by the syde of a small Branch, etc.," the "small branch," later known as Little 
Creek, bounding one entire side of the tract. 

These dates being old style it would seem that the survey ante-dated the Indian 
grant, indicating that he was already settled thereon at the time of receiving the 
recorded grant from Heteloke. As a further confirmation of this theory, Richard 
Levick was one of the signers of a petition to Edmond Andross, bearing the same 
date as the Indian deed, for the establishment of a more convenient place of hold- 
ing court. 

Richard Levick also purchased, or had surveyed to him, by Thomas William, a 
tract called "Tidbury," "on the south side of Dover River," which he and his wife, 
Mary, in open court, in 1684, did "freely & vallentaryly give for the Countiyes 
use, all theire right and titell of one hundred ackers," upon which to erect a court- 
house and other public buildings. 

Richard Levick's career as a public-spirited pioneer of the new country in 
whose upbuilding and development he bid fair to become a prominent factor, was 
cut short by his death in or about the year 1686, leaving a widow, Mary Levick, 
and an infant son, Richard Levick, born May 20, 1680. 

Prior to 2mo. 7, 1687, Mary Levick had married John. Richardson, Senior, one 
of the earliest English settlers of Kent county, he having obtained a grant of land 
there from Edmond Andross in 1676. He was one of the most prominent men 
of that section and was a member of William Penn's Council in 1683, and a mem- 
ber of Provincial Assembly. On the date above noted, "John Richardson Senior 
orders to be recorded y* he nor his hey''^ Executors Adm''^ nor assigns will nor 
shall Ever Charge any Thing for victualls Cloathing Washing nor Lodgeing to 
y«^ ace' of Richard Levvitt his wife's son, — Dureing his meanority." (See Kent 
County Deeds, liber B, vol. i, page 28). 

On February 28, 1687-88, John Richardson, Senior, enters into articles of 
agreement for the lease of the plantation late of Richard Levick, deceased, to 
Francis Wett, for the term of five years. 

On June 14, 1698, he conveys to his "son-in-law Rich"^ Levite of y= s"* County 
of Kent," "all that tract called Cardiffe, being part of a tract called York contain- 
ing 600 acres situated on the north side of Little Creek, formerly in tenure of 
William Stephens & laid out for 200 acres," "for divers good causes & Considera- 
tions & more especially for y= love good will & affection w'^'' I y' s'^ John Richeson 
haue & always doe beare unto my s"^ son-in-law, Rich"^ Levitt." 



LEVICK 1 1 19 

John Richardson entered into a further agreement, dated January 30, 1691-92, 
duly recorded in Kent county deeds, by which he obligated himself, "his heirs 
Executors Administrators and Assigns to be att all the Charge Requisitt and 
necessary for dyetting, and Cloathing, Lodgeing and Scooleing of the said Rich- 
ard Levitt until hee shall bee at the age of Twenty one yeares and the said Rich- 
ard Levitt shall not at the age of Twenty one yeares or ever after for ant Charge 
before Specified be accountable to me my heirs etc." 

John Richardson, at his death, devised to his widow, Mary, a tract called Will- 
ing Brook, in Little Creek Hundred, a part of which, one hundred acres, Mary 
Richardson, on February 10, 1725-26, conveyed to her grandson, John Levick, son 
of Richard Levick (2), which descended to John's son, Clayton Levick. The re- 
mainder of the tract of Willing Brook Mary Richardson, by her will dated No- 
vember 6, 1739, devised to her son, Richard Levick, for life, and then to her three 
grandsons, Richard, William and Robert Levick, and it continued the home of 
the Levick family for several generations. 

Richard Levick (2), son of Richard and Mary Levick, was born in Kent 
county, 3mo. (May) 29, 1680, as shown by the following certificate of record in 
that county : 

John Richardson Sen^ Doth request mee by y' account of y= midwife and his mother 
now y^ wife of y« said John Richardson y^ pre deceased of Richard Levett y' y' son of 
Richard Levett deceased is now at y« age of seven years onely Lacking from this date untill 
ye 20'li day of this instant month. Witness William Berry, Clerk of Kent County, this S'*" 
day of ye 3d Mo*h 1687 : as Orst of y^ said John Richardson and y^ mother of ye said Child. 

Richard Levick, the second, married Mary , maiden name unknown. As 

previously shown he received by deed of gift from his stepfather, John Richard- 
son, June 14, 1698, the plantation of two hundred acres, called "Cardiffe," where 
he probably resided until 1720, when he conveyed it to Charles Maram. On Feb- 
ruary I, 1718, Richard Levick, of Kent county, yeoman, conveyed to Stephen 
Paradee a plantation situated in Dover Hundred on the north and south sides of 
a branch called by the name of Pipe Elm Branch, containing five hundred and 
fifty-seven acres, which was probably the greater part of the six hundred acres 
originally taken up by his father, Richard Levick, Sr., and represented by the 
Indian deed before recited. The later years of his life were probably spent on 
his mother's plantation of Willing Brook, in Little Creek Hundred, which by her 
will was devised to him for life. 

Richard Levick died intestate, and letters of administration were granted on 
his estate to his son, William Levick, and Jonathan Griffin, on April 6, 1735. His 
first wife, Mary, the mother of his children, having died, he married (second) 
Ellen Harrison, of Kent county, whom he seems also to have survived. 
Issue of Richard and Mary Levick: 

John Levick, m. Hannah , and settled on the 100 acres of the "Willingbrook" 

plantation, conveyed to him by his grandmother, Feb. 10, 1725-6, and d. there in 1730. his 
will being probated Dec. I, 1730. It devises his plantation to his wife, Hannah, for life, 
then to his sons, John and Clayton. Hannah d. about 1751, and in Oct., 1751, John 
Levick, the son, then a resident of Little Creek Hundred, enters into bond to convey 
the plantation, late his father's, to his brother, Clayton, who is then occupymg it. The 
deed in pursuance of this bond is dated Feb. 13, 1652. 

John Levick, the son, m. Hunn, and had several daughters and a son, Caleb 

Levick, who emigrated to near Sheppardstown, Va., and m. there, Rachel Bed- 
inger, of a prominent family of that section, "rhis Caleb Levick was a Captain 



1 1 20 LEVICK 

in the Revolutionary War, and received for his services at the close of the war a 
grant of large tracts of land further south, to which he removed, and vire have 
no further record of him or his descendants. 

Richard Levick (3), was living at the date of his mother's will, Nov. 30, 1730, but did 
not long survive her, letters of administration on his estate being granted Feb. 21, 
1733, to Honour and Richard Levick, probably his widow, and father; if he left any 
issue we have no knowledge thereof ; 

William Levick, of whom presently; 

Robert Levick, mentioned in his grandmother's will as joint legatee of the real estate 
devised to his father for life, with his brothers, Richard and William, and since Will- 
iam seems to have come into possession of the entire plantation, it is presumed Robert 
died without issue. 

Note. — The sons are given above in the order mentioned by their grandmother, but 
we have no knowledge of their proper order in respect to age, and Mary Levick was 
probably the eldest child; 

Mary Levick, probably d. unm. prior to the date of her grandmother's will, dated Nov. 
30, 1730, as she is not mentioned therein; on Jan. II, 1721, Mary Richardson, the 
grandmother, "for natural love and affection for her grandchildren, Mary Levitt, 
William Levitt, and John Levitt, sons and daughter of Richard Levitt and Mary, his 
wife," gives and grants unto Mary Levitt, "my Negro Girl called Hannah, aged four 
years; to grandson William Levitt, a Negro Girl called Phillis, aged 2 years; grand- 
child John Levitt, Negro Dirk, aged 17 years;" 

Sarah Levick, a legatee under the will of her grandmother, of whom we have no further 
record. 

William Levick, son of Richard and Mary Levick, and grandson of Richard 
and Mary Levick, of Kent county, Delaware, was the ancestor of the branch of 
the family with which this narrative is concerned. He married Sarah, daughter 
of John and Elizabeth Crippen, of Kent county; her father being a considerable 
landowner there. The marriage certificate of William and Sarah (Crippen) 
Levick, as well as those of each succeeding generations of his descendants, with 
one exception, in the direct line of descent to Lewis Jones Levick, of Philadelphia, 
are in possession of the Levick family. 

William Levick (second), son of William and Sarah (Crippen) Levick, was 
bom in Little Creek Hundred, Kent county, now Delaware, December 12, 1738, 
died on his plantation in that Hundred, October 23, 1803. He was an elder of 
Duck Creek Monthly Meeting of Friends, and a memorial of him is entered on 
the records of that meeting, a copy of which is in the collections of the Penn- 
sylvania Historical Society. He married, somewhat late in life, Susanna Man- 
love, born 3mo. (May) 26, 1752, died 2mo. (February) 9, 1802, daughter of 
Mark Manlove, of Kent county, by his wife, Anne Hall, daughter of John Hall, 
a Colonial Justice of Kent county, and a large landowner there. The Manlove 
family were very prominent in the affairs of the three lower counties, and were 
descended from Mark Manlove, an early settler on the eastern shore of Maryland, 
who died in 1660. His son, Mark Manlove, received a grant of land in Kent 
county, in 1680, and he and William Manlove were both commissioned Justices 
of that county, January 2, 1689-90, recommissioned a year later and several times 
subsequently; and William and George Manlove were members of the Colonial 
Assembly from Kent county, 1689-92-93. 

A memorial of Susanna (Manlove) Levick, written by her friend, Sarah Cow- 
gill, describes her as a woman "of great sweetness of disposition and marked 
Christian humility of Character." 

William and Susanna (Manlove) Levick had a large family of sons and daugh- 
ters ; but two of the former survived childhood, William Levick, 3d., and Eben- 
ezer, of whom presently. William Levick, 3d., married and left several children. 



LEVICK 1 121 

two of whom, Robert R. £ind Richard Levick, became prominent merchants of 
Philadelphia. The former was an influential and prominent member of the 
Society of Friends. He married and has left a number of descendants. 

Ebenezer Levick, son of William and Susanna (Manlove) Levick (named 
for his uncle, Ebenezer Manlove), was born in Little Creek Hundred, Kent 
county, Delaware, 7mo. (July) i6, 1791, and was reared and educated in the 
simple faith of the Society of Friends, of which during his whole life he remained 
a consistent member. Left doubly an orphan at the age of twelve years, the next 
four years were spent among relatives in Kent county, and at the age of sixteen 
he came to Philadelphia to prepare himself for a mercantile career, and took up 
his residence with a cousin, Sarah Fisher, also a native of Kent county, Delaware, 
where he continued to reside until his marriage in 1816. 

Ebenezer Levick became a prominent merchant and business man in other lines 
in Philadelphia. He was one of a company who erected large tanneries at Pocono 
mountains, in Monroe county, Pennsylvania, and frequently made trips to that 
section in his exercise of supervision of the work there. He was a man of much 
kindness of heart and great force of character, and was highly esteemed in busi- 
ness circles, as well as by those with whom he was associated in charitable and 
philanthropic work in which he took a deep interest. His many good qualities 
drew about him a host of friends, among whom he was known as a generous, 
genial, kindly-hearted man, and a useful and public-spirited citizen. He early 
manifested a deep interest in the public charities and philanthropic enterprises of 
his neighborhood. He was one of the earliest members of the Northern Dis- 
pensary of Philadelphia, and of the Northern Soup Society, of which he was for 
some years the treasurer. In his own family he was not only affectionate and 
tender, but very indulgent, both as husband and father. His widow says of him, 
"My children all remember their father, and what a bright cheerful disposition 
his was ; how fond he was of them, and how thoughtful for their best welfare ; 
how happy he strove to make all at his home, and how that home was indeed a 
happy one. Our married life of thirty- three and a half years was very happy, 
although we knew many vicissitudes and our cup was not an unmixed one. But, 
I repeat, the love and tender care of my husband never failed me, and He who 
permitted in best wisdom, trials to come upon us never left us without some pres- 
ent sense of his loving kindness and tender mercy toward us." 

Ebenezer Levick died suddenly of apoplexy, on October 11, 1849, in his fifty- 
ninth year, mourned by all who knew him. 

Ebenezer Levick married May i, 1816, Elizabeth Wetherill Jones, born in Phil- 
adelphia, June 5, 1789, daughter of Isaac Jones, of Philadelphia, born in Block- 
ley township, Philadelphia county, November 25, 1743, died at his residence at 
Second and Pine streets, Philadelphia, 1807. He married at Burlington Monthly 
Meeting of Friends, New Jersey, November 26, 1778, Mary Wetherill, born in 
Burlington, New Jersey, 1745-6, died at the residence of her son-in-law, Ebenezer 
Levick, in Philadelphia, December 11, 1829, daughter of Samuel Wetherill, of 
Philadelphia, and Burlington, New Jersey, by his wife Mary Noble, born May 31, 
1722, daughter of Joseph Noble, by his wife, Mary Smith, daughter of Samuel 
Smith, of Burlington, New Jersey, by his wife Elizabeth Lovett, and granddaugh- 
ter of Richard Smith, of Brahan, Yorkshire, the ancestor of the "Burlington 
Smiths," some account of whom is given in our sketch of the Logan family, in 



1 1 22 LEVICK 

these volumes. Joseph Xoble was a son of Abel Noble, of Bucks county, by his 
wife, Alary Garrett, daughter of William Garrett, who came from Leicestershire, 
England, in 1684, and settled in Chester county, an account of whom and some of 
his descendants is also given elsewhere in these volumes ; and a grandson of Will- 
iam Noble^ who came from Bristol, England. Samuel Wetherill, the grandfather 
of EHzabeth Wetherill (Jones) Levick, was a son of Thomas, grandson of Chris- 
topher, and great-grandson of John \\'etherill, who lived at Lancaster, England. 
Christopher settled in Burlington county, New Jersey. Both he and his son, 
Thomas, were Provincial Councillors of New Jersey. (See Wetherill Family). 
James Jones, the paternal grandfather of Elizabeth W. Levick, was born in 
Merionethshire, ^^'^ales, August 31, 1699, and when an infant accompanied his 
parents, David and Katharine Jones, to uMerion, Philadelphia county, where he 
married, at Haverford Meeting, October 8, 1727, Hannah Hayes, daughter of 
Richard and Elizabeth (Lewis) Hayes, and granddaughter of Richard and Izatt 
Hayes, who emigrated from Ilminton, Pembrokeshire, Wales, and settled in 
Haverford, about 1697. All the ancestors of Elizabeth Levick were members of 
the Society of Friends, before their settlement in America, and she was reared, 
lived and died in that faith. 

James Jones died at his residence in Blockley at the age of ninety-two years, 
and this instance of longevity was duplicated in the case of his grandson, Samuel 
\Vetherill Jones, the only brother of Elizabeth W'etherill (Jones) Levick, a well- 
known and highly respected citizen of Philadelphia, who died November 21, 1870, 
in the ninety-third year of his age. He and his wife, Mary (Coe) Jones, having 
celebrated the sixty-eighth anniversary of their marriage, on April 7, 1870. He 
was thirty-five years a director of the Philadelphia Bank, and thirty-seven years 
a director of North American Insurance Company. He was a lifelong resident 
of the city of Philadelphia ; an obituary notice in the Philadelphia Press, has this 
to say of him, "It is not our purpose unduly to eulogize the dead and yet it is but 
just to say that after a long business career, after a very long private life, there 
remains of our friend and fellow townsman, the grateful memory of a spotless 
reputation, and an integrity of character which knew no decay in a life extending 
over nearly a century." 

For one year after their marriage, Ebenezer and Elizabeth W. (Jones) Levick 
resided with her mother. After the death of her husband in 1849, she lived at 
their old home, near the old Northern District Friends Meeting House, with her 
children, \\'illiam M. and Hannah (Moore) Levick, for ten years. In 1859 she 
took up her home with her son. Dr. James J. Levick, and her daughter, Mary J. 
Levick, at the southwest corner of Twelfth and Arch streets, where she spent the 
remainder of her long Hfe, dying November 21, 1886, aged ninety-seven years, 
six months and sixteen days. She was a lifelong member of the Society of 
Friends ; for the first twenty-eight years of her life of the Monthly Meeting of the 
Southern District of Philadelphia, then for forty-two years of the Northern Dis- 
trict and the last twenty-seven years of her life of the Western District, on 
Twelfth street. 

In both intellect and character Elizabeth W. Levick occupied a high place, 
though not prominent in public or organized work she was beloved, respected and 
honored by a very large circle of friends. Conservative and throughly English in 
her ideas of the sphere of woman ; a Quaker by descent and conviction ; thorough- 



LEVICK 1122, 

ly American in her in-born patriotism, and love of and respect for the institutions 
of her native country; "her cathoHcity embraced all who came fairly within the 
circle of her acquaintance, and who were worthy of her regard and friendship. 
As a hostess, though dignified and graceful, she was nevertheless, genial, and 
pleasant, and her cordial welcome and polite attention made the most diffident 
feel at ease in her presence, while those who were much accustomed to society 
felt it an honor as well as a pleasure, to be her guests." 

When, in early manhood her eldest son took an active interest in anti-slavery, 
non-resistance and other reforms, and was in close touch with the leaders of these 
movements, it was his custom to bring them to his parents' home, during their 
visits to the city ; and while his mother did not share the ultra views of her son and 
bis friends, nevertheless leading Abolitionists and other reform leaders found a 
kindly welcome at her hands and cherished a lifelong respect and admiration of the 
queenly woman. Again when her youngest son, a physician, brought to his fire- 
side, men of science and letters from distant states and countries, they received a 
like welcome and impression. Men of other faiths and nationalities, became her 
fast friends and admirers. Among her English friends were men of high standing 
in their native country, and clergymen of different denominations sought and 
enjoyed her companionship. Among her favorites was General Taffini, com- 
mander of the Army of Southern Italy, who having married a Philadelphia lady, 
spent a winter in the city and was a frequent visitor at her house, and became 
greatly attached to her. This friendship led to a kind message being received by 
her from King Humbert of Italy. Having read in the papers of King Humbert's 
visit to his subjects in Naples when that city was suffering from the scourge of 
cholera, to look after their welfare, she said with emphasis, "That is the right 
kind of a king. I hope he may have long and prosperous reign, and that he may 
be blessed in every way." One of her family, writing to the wife of General 
Taffini, mentioned the expression of Mrs. Levick, and her husband, appreciating 
the earnestness of her appreciation of the king's act, from his knowledge of the 
woman, mentioned it to King Humbert, and he said to the General, in a very 
earnest manner. "Say to that lady that I thank her very much and although I 
did very little at Naples and deserve no credit whatever, the kindness and sincerity 
of her admiration and prayers, coming as they do, from such a noble woman, are 
most grateful to me." For a number of years she was totally blind, but at the 
age of eighty-four years an operation was performed under the direction of her 
son and her sight was entirely restored and until her death thirteen years later 
she was able to see perfectly. It is impossible in this brief sketch to do justice 
to the character of this noble woman, suffice it to say, that it is to such American 
mothers that we owe the perpetuation of the best of our American institutions. 
Issue of Ebenezer and Elizabeth W. (Jones) Levick: 

Joseph Wetherill, d. in infancy; 

Richard d. in infancy; 

Samuel J., b. Aug. 30, 1819, d. April 19, 1885; m. (first) Ellen Foulke; (second) Sus- 
anna Morris Mather; of whom presently; 

William M., b. 1821, d. June 10, 1874; was a member of the Phila. Bar; he confined him- 
self to that branch of the law, having to do with real estate and the administration of 
estates, and says a biographer, not of his faith or family, "wielded an influence, and 
was in control and had the direction of interests to an extent totally unknown nor 
dreamed of by the members who met with him as the quiet unobtrusive business man." 
He m. Oct. 5, 1845, Hannah Moore, daughter of Richard and Sarah Moore, of 



1 124 LEVICK 

Quakertown. Both were for many years active and consistent members of Green 
Street Friends Meeting. They were much given to hospitality, entertaining number- 
less country Friends. His widow and two daughters survived him; 
Dr. James J. Levick, b. July 28, 1824, d. June 25, 1893; was one of Phila.'s most promi- 
nent physicians; he was educated at Haverford Coll., and received his medical degree 
at the Univ. of Penna. in 1847, and built up and retained an extensive and lucrative 
practice; was resident physician of Penna. Hospital, 1849-1851; and a member of the 
medical staff of that institution from 1856 to l86g; elected Fellow of the College of 
Physicians, April 1851; forty-one years physician to Magdalen Asylum; physician to 
Will's Eye Hospitaf, 1853-1865; member of the Am. Med. Assn. from 1864 to his 
death; member of Academy of Natural Sciences, of Phila., from 1865; of Philadelphia 
Co. Med. Scvciety from 1853; of Hist. Society of Penna. from 1855, and was an 
authority on historical subjects, especially in reference to the early settlement of 
Penna.; prepared a paper on the early physicians of Phila., for the Association of the 
ex-Resident Physicians of the Pennsylvania Hospital, which was exhaustive, and 
instructive. He was early identified with the Welsh Society, and was the author of 
"The Early Welsh Quakers and Their Emigration to Pennsylvania," and a number 
of other historical works. He was also a frequent contributor to medical and other 
scientific journals, and a man of considerable literary and poetic talent. He was un- 
married. He was a member of Twelfth Meeting of Friends. 

Samuel J. Levick, in the autumn of 1840, made an extensive trip with his 
father through what was then our western states. Leaving Philadelphia in Au- 
gust by stage-coach to Quakertown, thence to Easton, they spent a few days at 
his father's Monroe county tanneries, and then took stage to Bound Brooke, New 
Jersey, from which point they proceeded in cars to Elizabeth Point, and from 
there by steamboat to New York, by the same conveyance up the Hudson to 
Kingston, where they stopped to visit extensive tanneries, then proceeded to 
Albany, thence via Utica, Syracuse, Rochester, Niagara Falls, to Buffalo, where 
they took a steamer to Cleveland, Ohio, and spent some weeks in visiting friends 
and relatives in different parts of Ohio, and returned by way of Richmond, Indi- 
ana, through Cincinnati, to Pittsburg. 

A journal of this trip was faithfully kept by him and records many novel ex- 
periences in the primitive mode of travel of that day. 

From Pittsburg, he drove home with his own horse and buggy, purchased in 
Ohio, reaching Philadelphia, October 22, 1840. 

Samuel J. Levick, began to address Week-day and First-day Aleetings, of 
Friends for worship, about the middle of the year 1840, and became a recorded 
minister of the Society in 1842. On his return from his W^estern trip in October, 
1840, he spent the greater part of the winter months in Philadelphia, and being 
about to marry, he and his father arranged for the purchase of a farm near 
Moorestown, New Jersey, but before the coming of spring, and his marriage to 
Ellen Foulke, at Richland Meeting, on March 4, 1841, the seller had declined to 
part with his farm, and his father, on March 31, 1841, purchased for him a farm 
of eighty-five acres in Richland township, near his father-in-law, Caleb Foulke, 
about one mile from Quakertown, Bucks county, where the newly married couple 
took up their residence on April 8, 1841. Here his daughter, Jane, was born, and 
the mother died on August 13, 1842. Taking his orphaned daughter to his parents 
in Philadelphia, he continued to conduct the farm with Keziah Foulke as a house- 
keeper, until his second marriage, on November 17, 1844, to Susanna Morris 
Mather, of "Wood Lawn," Penllym, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. He 
took his second wife to "Spring Lawn," as he had named his Richland farm, and 
resided there until 1848, when he returned to Philadelphia, and engaged in the 
mercantile business with his brother, William M. Levick. During the prevalence 



LEVICK 1 125 

of the cholera epidemic in Philadelphia, he removed his family to "Wood Lawn," 
the home of his wife's parents, for the summer of 1849 '< himself remaining in the 
city, except over "First Day." He again took up his residence in Philadelphia, in 
1850, and resided there until 1857, when he removed to Quakertown, Bucks 
county, returning to Philadelphia, October 20, 1874, where he continued to reside 
until his death at his home in West Philadelphia, April 19, 1885. The family, 
however, spent most of their summers in Quakertown. During his whole active 
life, after attaining manhood he continued actively in the ministry of the Society 
of Friends, and travelled extensively in that service. 

During the Civil War, Samuel J. Levick manifested an active interest in the 
struggle for the preservation of the Union. He loved his country and abhorred 
slavery, so he felt that the one should be preserved and the other destroyed, 
though as a Friend and advocate of peace he deplored the means employed. Near 
the beginning of the war, whilst visiting at the house of a friend in New York, he 
made the statement, that at the breaking out of the war he felt that it was the 
beginning of the end of slavery. This was a year before the promulgation of the 
Emancipation Proclamation. He was frequently in Washington and had personal 
interviews with every President from Lincoln to Arthur. For Lincoln he had the 
greatest admiration and esteem, and between them there was the utmost freedom 
of intercourse. He had several interviews with Lincoln and Secretary Stanton, 
in reference to the attitude of the Society of Friends toward the administration 
and their peculiar position in reference to the war and slavery. 

On his return to Philadelphia, in 1874, he was elected a member of the board 
of managers of the Pennsylvania Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Ani- 
mals, and in the following year was made its Secretary, a position he filled during 
the remainder of his life, giving much attention to the work of the society in his 
own city, and taking an active part in the work elsewhere. In 1877 he was one 
of the two delegates from Pennsylvania to the convention called by the Humane 
Society of Illinois, which resulted in the formation of the International Humane 
Society, of which he was made treasurer, and a member of the Advisory Com- 
mittee and the Committee on Legislation, and as such attended the next six annual 
meetings of the Society, held in the various States of the Union. He was a 
charter member of the Pennsylvania Society for the Protection of Cruelty to 
Children, incorporated March 10, 1877, and was a member of the Board of Man- 
agers for the remainder of his life. His voice was always raised for the pro- 
tection of all Hving creatures from cruelty and suffering. He took an active inter- 
est in the movement that led up to the celebration of the Bi-Centennial of the 
founding of Pennsylvania, in 1881, and was a member of the Executive Com- 
mittee of the Association having it in charge. He took a Hvely interest in the 
public schools, and in the proper rearing of youth. He was always sure of an 
appreciative audience at the Fourth-day Meetings at Race Street Meeting, when 
several hundred school children were present, and he had a happy faculty of being 
able to interest the children to whom on such occasions he invariably directed the 
greater part of his remarks. He died very suddenly at his home in West Phila- 
delphia, April 19, 1885, without having been confined to his bed, though he had 
been aihng slightly for about a week. He was buried at Merion Meeting grave- 
yard, where a number of his Welsh ancestors lay buried. 

Samuel J. Levick married, first, at Richland Meeting, Bucks county, Pennsyl- 



1126 LEVICK 

vania, March 4, 1841, Eleanor Foulke, born in Richland township, March 12, 
1816, daughter of Caleb Foulke, born in Richland, August 28, 1781, died there Feb- 
ruary 22, 1852; by his wife, Jane Green, born in Richland, February 8, 1785, died 
March 3, 1835; daughter of Benjamin and Jane (Roberts) Green, granddaughter 
of Joseph and Catharine (Thomas) Green, of Springfield township, Bucks county. 

Caleb Foulke, was the eldest son and third child of Everard Foulke, born in 
Richland, September 8, 1755, died there, September 5, 1827; many years a Justice 
of the Peace, and one of the Assessors of the House Tax, attacked by the insur- 
rectionists, in Upper Bucks county, under John Fries, during the "Fries Re- 
bellion" in 1798. Everard Foulke married Ann Dehaven, of Dutch ancestry, a 
descendant of Everhart In de Hofien, one of the early settlers of Germantown, 
and they were the parents of nine children. 

Everard Foulke was the eldest son of Thomas Foulke, of Richland, born March 
14, 1724-25, died March 31, 1786; by his wife, Jane Roberts, daughter of Ed- 
ward Roberts, of Richland, a native of Merionethshire, Wales, an esteemed min- 
ister of the Society of Friends, by his wife, Mary Bolton, born in Cheltenham 
township, Philadelphia county, November 4, 1687, daughter of Everard and 
Elizabeth Bolton, who came from Ross, Hertfordshire, England, in 1682, and 
settled in Cheltenham, where Everard Bolton was a very prominent man in Colo- 
nial times. 

Thomas Foulke was a son of Hugh Foulke of Richland, by his wife, Ann 
Wilhams, and grandson of Edward Foulke, of Gwynedd, who with his wife, 
Eleanor, and nine children, came from Wales, in the "Robert and Ehzabeth," in 
1698, and settled in Gwynedd, Philadelphia, now Montgomery county ; an account 
of whom and some of his descendants is given elsewhere in these volumes. 

Benjamin G. Foulke, a brother of Eleanor (Foulke) Levick, and a prominent 
residtnt of Richland, Bucks county, married Jane Mather, a sister to Susanna, the 
second wife of Samuel J. Levick, and was therefore, doubly a brother-in-law of 
Samuel J. Levick. Job Roberts Foulke, of Philadelphia, for many years Trust 
Officer of the Provident Life and Trust Company, of Philadelphia, is a son of 
Benjamin G. and Jane (Mather) Foulke. 

Eleanor (Foulke) Levick, survived her marriage less than a year and a half, 
dying at "Spring Lawn," the Richland home of Samuel J. Levick, August 13, 
1842. Her only child, Jane Foulke Levick, born in Richland, March 10, 1841, 
married Edwin A. Jackson, of New York City, where they thereafter resided ; and 
are the parents of two children, Jane J. Jackson, and Edwin L. Jackson. 

Samuel J. Levick married, second, on November 17, 1844, Susanna Morris 
Mather, born August 2, 1819, at "Wood Lawn Farm," the home of her maternal 
ancestors for many generations, in Whitpain township, Montgomery county. She 
was the daughter of Charles Mather, by his wife, Jane Roberts, daughter of Job 
and Mary (Naylor) Roberts, granddaughter of Isaac and Mary (Morris) 
Mather, of Cheltenham; great-granddaughter of Richard and Sarah (Penrose) 
Mather, and great-great-granddaughter of Joseph Mather, the American progen- 
itor of the family, by his wife, Elizabeth Russell. 

John Russell, the father of Elizabeth (Russell) Mather, purchased of William 
Penn, in 1683, a large tract of land in Cheltenham, Philadelphia, now Mont- 
gomery county, and it descended to his only daughter, Elizabeth, the wife of 
Joseph Mather, who about 1727, conveyed the land inherited from her father to 



LEVICK 1 1 27 

her son, Richard Mather, who married Sarah Penrose, daughter of Captain Bar- 
tholomew Penrose, of Philadelphia, shipwright and mariner, by his wife, Esther 
Leech, born 1682, died 17 13; daughter of Toby Leech, who came from Chelten- 
ham, county of Gloucester, England, in 1682, with his wife Esther Ashmead, and 
settled in what was named Cheltenham township (Philadelphia county), after his 
old home in England. Toby Leech became a large landed proprietor in Chelten- 
ham and elsewhere and was one of the most prominent men of his time, serving 
as a member of the Provincial Assembly, 1713-1720, and filling many other posi- 
tions of honor and trust. Richard Mather, in 1746, joined with his sister-in-law, 
Dorothy (Penrose) Shoemaker, in the erection of the old Shoemaker mill, in 
Cheltenham, still in active operation at Ogontz. Richard and Sarah (Penrose) 
Mather, had several sons, among whom the Cheltenham plantation was divided, 
and a portion of it, set apart to Isaac Mather, lying along the hne of Abington 
township, at Chelten Hills, is still owned and occupied by his grandson, Isaac 
Mather, now in his one hundredth year. 

Mary Morris, the wife of Isaac Mather, of Chelten Hills, was the daughter of 
Joshua Morris, and granddaughter of Morris Morris, one of the earliest land- 
owners in Richland township, who had come from Wales with his father Evan 
Morris, born in Grikhoth, Caernarvonshire, Wales, in 1654, died in Abington 
township, Philadelphia county, Pennsylvania. Morris Morris and Joshua Mori is 
were members of the Assembly. 

An account of the convincement of Evan Morris, of the faith of Friends, while 
a resident of Wales, written by his son, Morris Morris, is, in the original hand- 
writing, in possession of his descendant, Eleanor Foulke, of Quakertown, daugh- 
ter of Benjamin G. Foulke, before mentioned. 

Morris Morris married Susanna Heath, daughter of Richard Heath, of Phila- 
delphia, one of the earliest Quaker emigrants to Pennsylvania. She was for forty 
years an eminent minister of the Society of Friends and travelled extensively in 
that service, both in America and Europe, having visited Great Britain three times 
after she was forty years of age ; and before her first trip abroad, having travelled 
through the Carolinas, Virginia and Maryland ; and later in New England, New 
Jersey, and other parts of the Colonies. On her first trip to Great Britain she was 
absent nearly three years, ministering to Meetings in England and Ireland. Her 
second visit, in her sixty-second year, occupied nearly two years and her last 
visit at the age of seventy years, occupied a year and a half. During the early part 
of their married Hfe, Morris and Susanna (Heath) Morris, resided on a farm in 
Abington township, Philadelphia, now Montgomery county, from whence they 
removed to Richland, where he had purchased one thousand acres of land, cover- 
ing a large portion of the present borough of Quakertown, about 1723; Richland 
Meeting House was erected on land donated by him. Morris Morris died at 
Richland, June 2, 1764, in his eighty-seventh year, and his wife Susanna, on April 
28, 1755, in her seventy-third year. 

Charles Mather, the son of Isaac and Mary (Morris) Mather, of Cheltenham 
was the father of Susanna Morris (Mather) Levick, who was named for her 
distinguished ancestress Susanna (Heath) Morris. Charles Mather married in 
1807, Jane Roberts, daughter and only surviving child of Job Roberts, widely 
known as "The Pennsylvania Farmer," from the title of a valuable book publish- 

30 



1 128 LEVICK 

ed by him in 1804. He was born on his "Wood Lawn Farm," in Whitpain town- 
ship, Philadelphia, now Montgomery county, in 1756, in the house in which he died 
August 20, 1851, erected by his grandfather, John Roberts, in 1715. He was a son 
of John Roberts and his wife, Jane Hank, whose grandfather, Cadwalader Evans, 
of Gwynedd, traced his ancestors back to the grantees of their "j\lagna Charter." 
and grandson of John Roberts, by his wife, Elizabeth Edward; great-grandson of 
Robert Cadwalader, who came from Wales, in 1697, and settled at Gwynedd. 

Job Roberts was probably the most progressive and successful farmer of his 
time, originating many imjxirtant improvements in agriculture of a practical 
nature. Early in life he displayed unusual mechanical and agricultural enterprise. 
In 1780 he drove to Gwynedd Meeting in a carriage of his own manufacture, said 
to have been the only carriage, then or for twenty-five years thereafter, seen at 
that Meeting. "Altogether, his learning, his enterprise and his fine character, 
made him a notable figure of his time," says Howard M. Jenkins in his "Historical 
Collections of Gwynedd." He did much to improve the methods of farming; 
was with Judge Peters, a pioneer in the use of gypsum, or land plaster, as a ferti- 
lizer ; introduced the feeding of green fodder to cattle, instead of grazing, and was 
one of the first to introduce and breed Merino sheep in Pennsylvania. In 1804, 
he published "The Pennsylvania Farmer," in which he explains the improved 
methods by which he was able to raise three hundred and sixty bushels of wheat 
on a lot of six acres, practically double what his neighbors were able to produce. 

On the marriage of Jane Roberts to Charles Mather, her father erected for 
them a fine and spacious stone house, on his "Wood Lawn Farm," which has since 
been known as "Wood Lawn," in which Samuel J. Levick was married in 1844, to 
Susanna Morris Mather, and which has been at intervals the summer home of 
their children and grandchildren, making the eighth generation to reside at the 
old homestead. Charles Mather died in 1830, and his widow, Jane, survived him 
seventeen years, but was for many years a helpless invalid from rheumatism ; the 
wedding of her daughter being permitted to be held in her house, by Gwynedd 
Meeting, instead of at the Meeting House, because she was not able to go to the 
Meeting House. Charles and Jane (Roberts) ^Mather were the parents of six 
daughters, and two sons. Job Roberts Mather, who occupied the old home; Jane 
(Mather) Foulke, of Quakertown and Susanna Mather Levick, of Philadelphia, 
were the last of the eight to survive. 

Susanna Morris (Mather) Levick survived her husband nineteen years. She 
died suddenly on April 4, 1904, at the age of eighty-five years. She retained all 
her faculties to the last and was remarkably active for one of her years, and took 
a lively interest in the events of the day. While residing with her son, Charles J. 
Levick, in Denver, Colorado, she felt it her duty to exercise the right of suffrage 
afforded to her sex by the laws of that state. She crossed the continent twice 
after she was seventy-eight years of age, and enjoyed travelling exceedingly, 
being a keen observer of both people and places. She was possessed of a sweet 
disposition, combined with a strong character inherited from a long line of Welsh 
ancestors. She was a lifelong member of the Society of Friends as had been all 
her forbears for many generations, and for many years filled the position of elder 
in the Society. She was a firm believer in the principles advocated by that relig- 
ious society, and was possessed of an unbounded Christian faith. 



LEllCK 1 1 29 

Issue of Samuel J. and Susanna M. (Mather) Levick: 

Lewis Jones Levick, of Phila., b. Richland, Bucks co., Pa., Oct. 15, 1845; now an active 

business man of Phila.; m. Sept. 6, 1876, Mary D'Invilliers; 
Charles M. Levick, b. Richland, Bucks co., Pa., Sept. 23, 1847, now residing in Denver, 

Col.; m. Henrietta (Wilson) Levick, widow of his brother, William E. Levick; 
Samuel J. Levick, Jr., b. Feb. 17, 1849, d. at Quakertown, Bucks co.. Pa., in 1880; m. 
June 13, 1872, Annie E. Bullock; they had issue: 
Anna Lucile Levick ; 
Florence M. Levick; 
Elizabeth W. Levick. 
William E. Levick, b. in Phila., Jan. 30, 1853, d. there 1890; m. Henrietta Wilson; 
James Morris Levick, b. Quakertown, Bucks co., Pa., Aug. 28, 1858, d. there Aug. 16, 
1864. 



ASHTON FAMILY. 

The Ashton family of Philadelphia descends from the Assheton family of Ash- 
ton-under-Lyne, founded by Ormeus Fitz Ailward, to whom Albertus de Greslet, 
third Baron of Manchester, gave one carucate of land in Eston, besides a knight's 
fee in Walton, Parbold and ^Vrightington, as marriage portion with his daughter, 
Emma, who became the wife of the said Ormeus. Through her the Asshetons 
trace their ancestry back to the first barons of the city of Manchester, and were, 
by the same connection, undoubtedly of Norman extraction. 

Roger Fitz Orme de Assheton, in accordance with the feudal custom of the day, 
received from his uncle, Albertus de Greslet, Jr., a confirmation of the grant of 
land made to his father, and also a grant in fee of all Eston (Assheton), and thus 
became the first Lord of Assheton-under-Lyne. 

Sir Thomas de Assheton, the son of Roger Fitz-Orme de Assheton, is regarded 
as the first Knight of the line. 

Sir John de Assheton, his son, was summoned to Parliament in the seventeenth 
year of the reign of Edward II, and August 27, 1335, was awarded a charter to 
have a "free warren" in his demesne of Assheton. 

Sir Robert de Assheton was returned to Parliament in 1324; May 15, 1359, he 
was appointed to the governorship of Guynes, near Calais, and in 1363 was made 
Lord Treasurer of England. In 1368 he obtained a grant of the castle of Land- 
gate, near Calais, and in 1369 was made Admiral of the Narrow Seas. In 1373 
he was Treasurer of the Exchequer, and the year following Vice-Chamberlain to 
the King. In 1381 he was appointed Constable of Dover Castle and Warden of 
the Cinque Ports for life. 

In 1346, while the King was absent in France, the Scots made an inroad into 
England, and Thomas de Assheton, fighting under the Queen in defense of Eng- 
land, distinguished himself by capturing the royal standard of Scotland and was 
knighted for his heroism on the occasion. 

Sir John de Assheton was Knight of the Shire for the county of Lancaster in 
the sixth, twelfth and thirteenth years of the reign of Richard II. 

Sir John de Assheton, grandson of the above named Sir John, was summoned 
by Henry, Duke of Lancaster, to receivethehonor of Knighthood of the Bath on the 
eve of his Coronation as Henry IV., October 13, 1399. He was returned to Parlia- 
ment in 141 3, and was one of the influential nobles of his time, succeeding in ren- 
dering the subordination of the Asshetons to their superior lord merely nominal. 
In 1413 he was chosen Knight of the Shire, and in 1417 was appointed Senseschal 
of Bayeux. In 1419 he was appointed Governor of Hadupais, and the same year 
became Constable of Constance. He caused a detailed and accurate survey of his 
possessions to be made, resulting in a "Custom Roll and Rental," which has be- 
come one of the most valuable documents in the north of England, as it illustrates 
the customs of those days, and shows the relation which existed at that time be- 
tween the lord of the manor and his serfs. 

Sir John de Assheton left several sons, among whom were Thomas, who suc- 
ceeded to his estates ; and Ralph, who married the daughter and heiress of Rich- 




ASHTON ARMS. 



ASHTON 1 131 

ard Barton, of Middleton, and thus became the progenitor of the Asshetons of 
Middleton. Ralph Assheton was knighted, and on account of his alleged tyranny, 
has been generally accepted as the "Black Knight," and thus giving rise to the 
custom known as "riding the Black Knight," which as recently as 1884 was 
popular in the borough of Ashton-under-Lyne. The demonstration took place 
annually on Easter Sunday, and the town was visited by crowds of people from 
the surrounding towns and villages. 

Sir Thomas Assheton, son of Sir John, above mentioned, left issue : Sir John, 
eldest son and successor ; Edmund, who became seated at Chadderton, in Oldham, 
through his marriage with Johanna, daughter of Richard Radclifif, and thus be- 
came the progenitor of the Asshetons of Chadderton ; Geoffrey, who married the 
daughter and heiress of Thomas. Manners, of Shepley, and became the progenitor 
of the Asshetons of Shepley; Nicholas, Sergeant at Law 1443, Justice of the 
King's Bench 1445, married Mary, daughter of Lord Brook. 

Sir John Assheton, eldest son of Sir Thomas, fought by the side of his sovereign 
in the battle of Northampton, July 10, 1460, where, previous to the engagement, 
he received the honor of knighthood. 

Sir Thomas Assheton, son and heir of Sir John, last mentioned, was knighted at 
Ripon in 1401. He died in 1516, and was the last survivor of the elder male line 
of the senior branch of the family of Assheton ; the Une being continued by the 
Asshetons of Middleton, Chadderton and Shepley, above mentioned. 

Margaret, daughter of Sir Thomas Assheton, married Sir William Booth, and 
thus became the ancestress of the Earls of Stamford and Warrington, by whom 
the manor and chief part of the hereditaments of the Assheton family of Ashton- 
under-Lyne were inherited. 

It is through Geoffrey, son of Sir Thomas Assheton, who married the daughter 
and heiress of Thomas Manners, of Shepley, that the Ashtons of Philadelphia 
descend from the Asshetons of Ashton-under-Lyne. 

Jonathan Assheton, a scion of this family, came to Philadelphia about 1683. 
He was born in county Lancaster, England, and was a relative of Robert Assheton, 
who came to Philadelphia in 1699, father of Ralph Assheton, the prominent Pro- 
vincial Councillor, etc., said to have been a cOusin of William Penn. 

Jonathan Assheton was admitted a freeman of the city of Philadelphia, July 
13, 1795, as shown by the "Minutes of the Common Council of Philadelphia," in 
the writing of Robert Assheton, as clerk of the Council. Jonathan Assheton was 
one of the early members of Christ Church, and the book containing the earliest 
records of that church has on its title page this inscription, "Jonathan Assheton, 
his Book," and these early records are in his handwriting. His official designation 
was "Clerk of the Church of England in America." His signature appears among 
others, to a letter to the Bishop of London, of March 31, 1715, testifying to the 
character of Rev. Francis Phillips, then rector of Christ Church. He was buried 
at Christ Church, January 23, 1727-8. His wife, Hannah, died August 22, 1726, 
and is also buried at Christ Church. 

Isaac Ashton, son of Jonathan and Hannah Assheton, born in Philadelphia, 
April 19, 1709, was baptized at Christ Church, by the name of "Ashton," in which 
form the name has since been spelled by the family. He died in Philadelphia, 
November 15, 1751. He married Sarah Fordham, who died January 29, 1735-6. 

William Ashton, son of Isaac and Sarah (Fordham) Ashton, was baptized at 



1 132 



ASHTON 



Christ Church, Philadelphia, December 21, 1736. He was a soldier in the Revo- 
lutionary War, died in Philadelphia, September 24, 1800, and was buried at Christ 
Church. He married at Christ Church, November 4, 1758, Marion Catharine 
Easterly, born June 13, 1736, died December 17, 1800, also buried at Christ 
Church. 

George Ashtox, son of WilHam and Marion Catharine (Easterly) x\shton, 
born in Philadelphia, December 14, 1774, was engaged in shipbuilding in his native 
city during the active years of his life, being many years senior member of the 
firm of Ashton & Rambo. On September i, 1794, he was commissioned by Gov- 
ernor Thomas Mifflin, Second Lieutenant of the Ninth Company of Artillery, in 
the Artillery Regiment of the City of Philadelphia, his name being spelled in the 
commission, "Asheton." He married Elizabeth Hughes, who died March 2, 1844. 
George Ashton died April 18, 1838, and was buried beside his paternal ancestors 
in Christ churchyard. 

George and EUzabctli (Hughes) Ashton had issue: 

William Easterly Ashton, of whom presently; 
Daniel Rambo Ashton, of whom later. 

Rev. William Easterly Ashton, son of George and Elizabeth (Hughes) 
Ashton, was born in Philadelphia, May 18, 1793, and was baptized at Christ 
Church, of which his ancestors had been members for several generations. He, 
however, was converted to the Baptist faith by Rev. William White, pastor of 
the Second Baptist Church of Philadelphia, and was licensed to preach March 23, 
1814; in the following year was ordained pastor of the Baptist Church at Hope- 
well, New Jersey, where he served one year, and then resigned to accept the 
pastorate of the Baptist Church in Blockley, Philadelphia, where, during the next 
eight years, he established a reputation as an eloquent and forceful preacher. 
During this period he founded and became the head of a seminary for girls, in 
which he lectured on the natural sciences. On March 7, 1833, he accepted a call 
to the Third Baptist Church of Philadelphia, to which he continued to minister 
until February 23, 1835, when he resigned, owing to ill health. He was a member 
of the Theological Institution of the Baptist General Convention of Philadelphia, 
which became Columbian College, Washington, D. C, in 1821, later Columbian 
University. He was the first president of the Baptist General Association of 
Pennsylvania, and chairman of its executive committee. He was elected the first 
head of Haddington College, but declined, accepting, however, the professorship 
of natural science in that institution. The degree of M. A. was conferred upon 
him by the College of New Jersey, now Princeton University. 

Rev. William Easterly Ashton married (first) Harriet, daughter of Hudson 
and Hannah (Woolston) Burr, of New Jersey, granddaughter of Joseph and 
Mary Burr, and great-granddaughter of John Burr, and his wife, Susanna, widow 
of Robert Owen, of Merion, Philadelphia, and daughter of William Hudson, of 
Philadelphia, an account of whose ancestry and descendants is given elsewhere 
in these volumes. Rev. William Easterly Ashton married (second) Sarah Keen, 
born in Philadelphia, October i, 1797, died June 17, 1875, daughter of Samuel 
and Sarah (Knowles) Keen, of Philadelphia, and seventh in descent from Joran 
Kyn, one of the chief Swedish proprietors at Upland, now Chester, Pennsylvania, 



ASHTON 1 133 

long before the grant of the Province to Wilham Penn, and who is referred to in 
these volumes as an ancestor of the Yeates, Brinton, McCall, Swift and other 
prominent Colonial families of Philadelphia and vicinity. 

Joran Kyn (the Swedish form of the name, later anglicized into Keen), came to 
America with Governor John Printz, in the ship "Fama," which sailed from 
Stockholm, August 16, 1642, and arrived at Fort Christina, New Sweden, on the 
Delaware, February 15, 1643. In a "Rulla" issued by Printz at "Kirrstina," June 
20, 1644, and still preserved in the royal archives at Stockholm, he is mentioned 
as a soldier in the Governor's Life Guard, and in a "List of Persons living in 
New Sweden, March i, 1648," he is similarly described. He acquired an un- 
usually large tract of land in New Sweden, extending along a great part of the 
eastern bank of Upland Kill, now Chester Creek^ for a mile and a half above its 
mouth, at the northwestern portion, upon which Crozer Theological Seminary is 
now located; it was three-quarters of a mile in width, and reached to the east 
along the river as far as Ridley Creek. 

Hans (John) Keen, son of Joran Kyn, is supposed to have been born on the 
Delaware soon after the arrival of his parents ; he at least became the possessor 
of two hundred acres of the land granted to his father as early as 1678. He died 
prior to 1693, and his widow, Willemka, several years later married Casper Fisck, 
of Gloucester county, New Jersey, and survived him many years ; her maiden 
name and parentage are unknown. 

Matthias, eldest son of Hans and Willemka Keen, born at Upland, removed 
in his youth farther up the Delaware and became a considerable landowner in 
Oxford township and vicinity, in Philadelphia county. He took a deep interest in 
religious matters, and was one of the largest contributors to the support and ad- 
vancement of the Swedish churches in and around Philadelphia, particularly to 
the fund for building Gloria Dei Church in 1700. He was chairman of the build- 
ing committee, having in charge its erection, and was a trustee and vestryman 
there until his death in Oxford township, July 13, 1714. He was returned as 
a member of the Provincial Assembly, October 8, 1713, qualified as such and par- 
ticipated in the proceedings of the session of 1713-14, but died before the time 
for his re-election. 

Matthias Keen married Henricka Clausen, or Johnson, daughter of Jan Claus- 
sen, an early settler on the Neshaminy, in Bristol township, Bucks county, where 
he had obtained a grant of a large tract of land from Edmond Andross, under 
the jurisdiction of the Duke of York, later confirmed by patent from William Penn. 
All the children of Jan Claussen, according to Dutch custom, took the name of 
Johnson. Matthias Keen and his wife participated with the other heirs of Jan 
Claussen in the distribution of the real estate in Bristol township, Bucks county, 
part of which descended to their children. Matthias Keen married (second) 

Sarah , who survived him. He had six children, at least five of whom 

were by his first wife. 

John, son of Matthias and Henrietta (Claussen) Keen, was born in Oxford 
township, Philadelphia county, in 1695, and inherited from his father four hundred 
acres of land there and in Lower Dublin township, as well as an interest in his 
mother's real estate in Bucks county. He took an active part in public affairs, 
and was one of the petitioners to the Assembly for the passage of an act confirm- 
ing the title of the early Swedish settlers to the land taken up by them, and which 



1 134 ASHTON 

had descended to the present holders, thus ending the controversy between his 
compatriots and the Proprietary Land Office ; through his efforts a bill was intro- 
duced but failed of passage. He was a member and warden of Gloria Dei Church, 
and one of the largest contributors towards rebuilding the parsonage of that 
church, destroyed by fire in 1717. He died February 22, 1758. 

John Keen married, November, 1713, Susanna, eldest daughter and second 
child of James Steelman, of Great Egg Harbor, Gloucester county, New Jersey, 
by his wife Susanna, daughter of Christian Stoy, an early Swedish settler on the 
Delaware, mentioned as a member of Wiccacoe congregation in 1693. Susanna 
(Steelman) Keen died November 9, 1753. John and Susannah Keen were the 
parents of seven sons and four daughters ; Mary, eldest daughter, married Toby 
Leech; Matthias, second son, married (first) Mary Swift, 1743, sister of John 
and Joseph Swift, the progenitors of the Swift family of Philadelphia, an account 
of which is given in these volumes. 

James, eldest son of John and Susannah (Steelman) Keen, born in Oxford, 
Philadelphia county, married there Mercy Ashton, daughter of Joseph Ashton, 
of Lower Dublin township, and granddaugh#r of Joseph and Jane Ashton. James 
Keen died intestate at an early age, and letters of administration were granted on 
his estate to his widow, Mercy, Decemberj^4, 1742. On March 29, 1745, she 
married Isaac Williard, whom she also survived, and died in 1760. 

John, son of James and Mercy (Ashton) Keen, born in Oxford township, 
March 4, 1738-9, inherited land in Oxford township, but sold out there in 1762 
and removed to Lower Dublin township, and later to Northern Liberties, Phila- 
delphia. In 1782 he purchased a portion of the old Keen homestead devised by 
his grandfather to Jacob Keen, in Lower Dublin township, and settled thereon. 
He was one of the original trustees of Lower Dublin Academy at its incorpora- 
tion in 1794, and served until his death in 1808. He was also a vestryman of 
Trinity Church, Oxford, but both he and his two wives are buried at Pennepack 
Church. 

John Keen married (first) May 6, 1762, Sarah Swift, born November 28, 1743, 
died September 6, 1782, daughter of Dr. Samuel Swift, for thirty years a vestry- 
man and warden of Trinity Church, Oxford, by his wife, Elizabeth, daughter of 
Joseph Duffield, of "Benfield," in the Manor of Moreland. Dr. Samuel Swift 
was a grandson of John Swift, many years a Colonial Justice and member of 
Assembly from Bucks county. John Keen married (second) in 1785, Mary, 
daughter of Joseph and Mary (Fisher) Hall. She was born September 29, 1742, 
and died February 14, 1816, having survived three husbands — Jacob Laughlin, 
Simeon Cornell and John Keen, respectively. John Keen died May 17, 1808. 
His will, c ited January 28, 1802, proved May 23, 1808, devised his estate to his 
wife, Mar} ; sons, John and Jacob; children of his son, Samuel, and daughter, 
Sarah ; to to his daughter, Esther Kenteen. In Poulson's Daily Advertiser, of 
May 30, 1808, appears the following obituary notice of John Keen: 

"Died at his farm in the County of Philadelphia, the 17th instant, deeply lamented by his 
relatives and friends, Mr. John Keen, in the 70th year of his age. He was an affectionate 
father and husband, and a kind and social neighbor. During his long and painful illness, a 
Christian fortitude and pious resignation were strongly evinced. A long train of friends 
and acquaintances who followed his remains to the grave manifested the esteem in which he 
was held." 



ASHTON 1 135 

Samuel, son of John and Sarah (Swift) Keen, married Sarah, daughter of 
John Knowles, of Oxford township, and they were the parents of Sarah Keen, 
wife of William Easterly Ashton. 

As before stated, many of the descendants of Joran Kyn intermarried with 
promment Colonial families of Philadelphia. His granddaughter, Catharine 
Sandelands, born January 26, 1671, married Jasper Yeates, and was the ancestress 
of that distinguished family. Anne Yeates, daughter of Jasper and Catharine, 
became the wife of George McCall, the progenitor of that family in Philadelphia. 

Mary, daughter of Jonas and Sarah (Dahlbo) Keen, and a great-granddaughter 
of Joran Kyn, born September 29, 1728, married Jonathan Crathorne, and their 
daughter, Mary, born August 4, 1765, married John Montgomery, of Philadelphia, 
son of James Montgomery, of Eglinton, Monmouth county. New Jersey, and 
great-grandson of William Montgomery, of Brigend, Ayreshire, Scotland. 

Dorothy, another daughter of Jonathan and Mary (Keen) Crathorne, born 
April 24, 1767, married September 15, 1791, Richard Dale, the distinguished 
American Naval Officer. 

Margaret, daughter of Joseph and Mary (Keen) Stout, born 1764, married 
General William MacPherson. 

Margaret McCall, born April 6, 1721, married February 3, 1759, Joseph Swift, 
a brother of Alary Swift, the first wife of Matthias Keen, before mentioned. 

Anne, daughter of Samuel and Anne (Searle) McCall, born March 30, 1745, 
married June 8, 1763, Thomas Willing, son of Charles and Anne (Shippen) 
Willing. 

Samuel Keen Ashton, son of Rev. William Easterly and Sarah (Keen) Ash- 
ton, born April 6, 1822, died February 11, 1895; received his early education at 
Germantown Academy, and from there entered the University of Pennsylvania 
in 1837, and received his degree of A. B. in 1841, and later the degree of A. M. 
Entering the Medical Department of the same University he received his degree 
of M. D. in 1843, ^nd engaged in active practice of his profession^ which con- 
tinued during a long and active career. He was a member of the Philadelphia 
County Medical Society, and of the Medical Society of the State of Pennsylvania. 
Ht was the author of a "Memoir of the Rev. William Easterly Ashton, A. M.," 
his father, published in annals of the American Baptist Pulpit i860. 

Dr. Ashton married November 7, 1844, Caroline Melinda, daughter of Thomas 
Tucker Smiley, M. D., by his wife, Sarah, daughter of Thomas and Esther 
(Hawkins) Loud, of a family long associated with the affairs of New Castle 
comity and the eastern shore of Maryland. 

Dr. Samuel Keen Ashton was buried in the churchyard of St. James the Less, 
the funeral services being held in Christ Church, with which parish his ancestors 
had been prominently identified for six generations. 

Dr. Samuel Keen and Caroline M. (Smiley) Ashton had issue: 

Caroline M. Ashton, b. Oct. 6, 1845, d. Dec. 14, 1846; 

Sarah E. Ashton, b. Dec. 6, 1846, d. Nov. 15, 1851 ; 

Kate Ashton, b. May 20, 1849; m. Newcomb B. Thompson, and had issue: 

Edith Thompson, m. James Alan Montgomery; 

Ellen B. Thompson, m. Walter Pyle; 

Katharine Ashton. 
WilUam Easterly Ashton, b. Oct. 12, 1851, d. Oct. 28, 1851 ; 



1 136 ASHTON 

Harriet AI. Ashton, b. March 28, 1853; 

Emma L. Ashton, b. Aug. 21, 1855, d. Dec. 16, 1895; m. Dalton, son of Rev. Benjamin 
Dalton Dorr, rector of Christ Church, Phila., by his wife, Esther Odin, and had issue : 
Odin Dorr, Ashton Dorr, Emma Ashton Dorr; 

William Easterly Ashton, b. June 5, 1859, received early education at private schools of 
Phila.; entered the Univ. of Pa. 1875, class of 1879; later entered Medical Dept. of 
same institution and received degree of M. D. 1881; received same degree at Jefferson 
Medical College 1884; received degree of LL. D. from Ursinus College 1904; was 
Demonstrator of Clinical Obstetrics and Chief of Clinic Diseases of Women at Jeffer- 
son Medical College; is Professor of Gynecology to the Medico Chirurgical College, 
and Gynecologist to the Medico Chirurgical Hospital, Phila., having previously filled 
same position at Phila. Hospital. He is member of Philadelphia County Medical 
Society, the Obstetrical Society of Phila., the Medical Jurisprudence Society of Phila., 
the American Medical Association; fellow of the American Gynecological Association, 
one of founders of Congress Internationale de Gynecologic et D'Obstetrique, and con- 
nected with number of other medical and scientific organizations; he is author of 
"Compendium on Essentials of Obstetrics," which has been translated into Chinese, of 
work on gynecology (1905), as well as of frequent contributions to journals on sub- 
jects appertaining to surgery. He is vestryman of Christ Church and secretary of 
vestry; a member of Society of Colonial Wars, of Pennsylvania Society Sons of the 
Revolution, and member of University and Racquet Clubs of Phila.; m. Oct. 5, 1891, 
Alice Elizabeth, dau. of ]\Iitchell G. Rosengarten, and they had issue : 
Dorothy Ashton, b. July 27, 1892, d. April 2, 1893. 

Esther Ashton, b. Oct. 10, i860; 

Sarah Keen Ashton, b. May 2, 1862; m. Dec. 29, 1898, Charles Edouard Quebil; 

Samuel Keen Ashton, b. June 4, 1863, d. June, 1898; 

Thomas George Ashton, M. D., b. April 6, 1866; m. Mary Lincoln Henszey; of whom 
presently; 

Sophie M. Ashton, b. May 18, 1868; m. Henry, son of John and Elizabeth (Evans) 
Tucker, and had issue : 

William Ashton Tucker, b, Oct. 2, 1900; 
Elizabeth Russell Tucker, b. Aug. 14 1902. 

Thomas George Ashton, son of Samuel Keen and Caroline 'M. (Smiley) 
Ashton, born April 6, 1866, received his early education in the Germantown Acad- 
emy and the Episcopal Academy of Philadelphia, and was graduated a Doctor of 
Medicine by the Jefferson Aledical College of Philadelphia in 1888. After serv- 
ing a term as interne in the Philadelphia General Hospital, he became actively 
attached to the teaching corps of his alma mater in the branch of Clinical Medi- 
cine, having been appointed Demonstrator on that subject and Assistant Visiting 
Physician to the Jefferson Aledical College Hospital. In 1903 he was elected 
.\ssistant Professor of Clinical Medicine by the Trustees of Jefferson Medical 
College. In 1904 he was elected by the Board of Trustees of the University of 
Pennsylvania, Adjunct Professor of Medicine at that institution. He has held 
the position of Visiting Physician to St. Mary's Hospital, and the Philadelphia 
Polyclinic Hospital. He is a member of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania: 
a Fellow of the Philadelphia College of Physicians, and a member of various 
other medical societies. Is visiting physician to the Philadelphia General Hos- 
pital, and the author of various articles appertaining to the subject of internal 
medicine. He is a member of the Markham Club, the Racquet Club, and of the 
Society of Colonial Wars. 

Dr. Thomas George Ashton married November 7, 1900, Mary Lincoln, daugh- 
ter of William P. Henszey, Sc. D. (Univ. of Penna.) and a member of the firm 
of the Baldwin Locomotive Works, by his wife Anne B. Hitchcock. 

Mary Lincoln (Henszey) Ashton is ninth in descent from John Howland, a 
passenger on the "Mayflower," landing at Plymouth, Mass., in 1620, through his 
daughter Hope; fifth in descent from Benjamin Lincoln of Hingham, Massachu- 



ASHTON 1137 

setts, a member of Provincial Council of Massachusetts, from 1753-70; and 
fourth in descent from Benjamin Lincoln, his son, born in Hingham, Massachu- 
setts, January 24, 1733. He was chosen in 1762, Justice of the Peace for the 
county, and one year later Justice for the Province. In 1770, he represented 
Hingham in the Provincial Legislature, and in 1774 was made the representative 
of the town of Hingham, in the General Court, ordered by Governor Gage to 
convene at Salem in the following month. Governor Gage postponing the Court, 
it resolved itself into a Provincial Congress, with John Hancock as president, 
and Benjamin Lincoln as secretary. He was elected to the second Provincial 
Congress, which met at Cambridge in February, 1775, and was a member of the 
Third Provincial Congress from May to July, 1775, and during the last week of 
its session, acted as its President, in the absence of James Warren. In 1771, 
Benjamin Lincoln was appointed Major of the Third Regiment of Suflfolk, then 
commanded by Josiah Quincy, and one year later was made its Lieutenant Colo- 
nel. In February, 1776, he was commissioned by the Council, Brigadier General, 
and the following May promoted to the rank of Major General, with general 
direction over the military afifairs in Massachusetts. He was severely wounded, 
October, 1777, during the operations of General Gates against Burgoyne before 
Saratoga. He was commissioned by Congress February 19, 1777, a Major- 
General of the Continental Line, and in September, 1778, was appointed to com- 
mand of the American Army in the Southern Department. At the surrender at 
Yorktown, he conducted the vanquished army of Lord Cornwallis to the field 
where they were to lay down their arms. On October 30, 1781, General Lincoln 
was appointed Secretary of War by Congress, and he retained that position until 
the close of the Revolutionary War. In January, 1787, he was placed in command 
of the State Troops of Massachusetts to put down the Shay Rebellion, and in 
1788 was elected Lieutenant-Governor of Massachusetts. In 1789 he was 
appointed Collector of the Port of Boston by President Washington, and during 
the autumn of the same year was appointed with Cyrus Griffin and David Hum- 
phreys, a commissioner to treat with the Creek Indians on the borders of the 
Southern States, and in April, 1793, a commissioner to treat with the Indians 
north of the Ohio, his colleagues in the latter commission being Beverly Ran- 
dolph, of Virginia, and Timothy Pickering. He was one of the founders of the 
Society of the Cincinnati, and was its president until his death on May 9, 1810, 
at the age of seventy-seven years. In 1780 Harvard University conferred upon 
General Lincoln the honorary degree of Master of Arts. 

Mary Lincoln (Henszey) Ashton is also sixth in descent from Captain Eben- 
ezer Hitchcock, born August 24, 1694, a soldier in the French and Indian wars, 
who received his commission as Lieutenant from Governor Shirley, at Louisburg, 
June 28, 1745 ; seventh in descent from Joseph Sheldon, of Sheffield, a represen- 
tative from that town in the General Court of Massachusetts in 1708, and a direct 
descendant of Gilbert Sheldon, Archbishop of Canterbury ; tenth in descent from 
George Wyllys, second Governor of Connecticut, born in Fenny Compton, county 
Warwick, England, 1570, died Hartford, Connecticut, March 9, 1645, who ardently 
espoused the cause of the Puritans, and in 1636 sent his steward, William Gib- 
bons, with twenty men, "to purchase and prepare for him an estate suitable to his 
rank" in Hartford Connecticut, on which Gibbons was to erect a house and pre- 
pare for the reception of his master and his family. Governor Wyllys arrived in 



1 138 ASHTON 

1638, and at once became an important member of the Connecticut Colony. He 
was one of the framers of the Constitution in 1639, and was chosen one of the 
six magistrates of the colony at the first election, holding that office until his 
death. He was chosen Deputy Governor in 1641, and Governor in 1642. 

Mrs. Ashton is ninth in descent from John Pynchon, Governor of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, born in England in 162 1, who accompanied his father William 
Pynchon, named by Charles I, in March, 1629, as one of the original patentees 
in the Charter of the Colony of Massachusetts, who came over with Governor 
Winthrop in 1630, and was selected one of his eighteen assistants, but returned 
to England in 1652, and died at Wraysburg, Buckinghamshire, October 29, 1662. 

John Pynchon, the son, was Colonel of the First Regiment of Hampshire 
county and was in active service during King Philip's War, and the first French 
war. He was appointed one of the commissioners to receive the surrender of 
New York by the Dutch in 1664; was a deputy to the General Court of Massa- 
chusetts, 1659-65; assistant magistrate under the first Charter, 1665-86; coun- 
cillor under the presidency of Dudley, 1686, under Sir Edmond Andros, 1688-9, 
and under the new charter from 1693 to his death on January 7, 1703. He mar- 
ried October 30, 1644, Amy, daughter of Governor George Wyllys, above men- 
tioned, and their daughter Mary, married August 6, 1670, Captain Joseph Whit- 
ing, Treasurer of Connecticut for thirty-nine years, having succeeded his father 
who had held the same office for thirty-seven years ; Mrs. Ashton being eighth 
and ninth in descent, respectively, from these two worthy officials. 

She is also ninth in descent from William Ames, D. D., "of famous memory;" 
Fellow of Christ College, Cambridge, and driven from England for non-conform- 
ity; sent by the States General of Holland to the Synod of Dort to "aid the Presi- 
dent of the Synod by his suggestions ;" and author of the "Medulla Theologiae" 
and other works, whose portrait, painted in 1633, hangs in Memorial Hall, Cam- 
bridge. Eighth in descent from Urian Oakes, fourth president of Harvard Col- 
lege, of whom Cotton Mather says, "as a theologian deservedly famous, a truly 
charming orator, a learned and orthodox pastor of a church at Cambridge, a most 
sagacious president of Harvard College, a recipient of the highest commenda- 
tions for piety, learning and eloquence." 

She is fifth in descent from Rev. Gad Hitchcock, D. D., born February 12, 
1719, at Springfield, Massachusetts; graduated at Harvard, 1743; who in May, 
1774, was called upon to deliver the election sermon in the Old South Church, 
Boston, before the Legislature and the Governor, being the occasion of the elec- 
tion "of His Majesty's Council for the said Province." Governor Gage was 
filled with wrath, on account of the boldness of the views expressed in the sermon, 
and negatived the election of thirteen of the councillors, elected in accordance 
with the views expressed, and adjourned the legislature to meet at Salem, June 
17, as a punishment, and at Salem again adjourned them, but they locked the 
doors, refused admission to the Governor's messenger, and transacted their busi- 
ness in spite of him. Dr. Hitchcock received the degree of D. D. from Harvard 
in 1787. His son Dr. Gad Hitchcock, from whom Mrs. Ashton is fourth in 
descent, born November 2, 1749, was surgeon in Col. Simeon Gary's regiment 
in the \\'ar of the Revolution and afterwards appointed surgeon of Gen. Fellows' 
Brigade Hospital, in the Jerseys. 



ASHTON 1 139. 

Mrs. Ashton is also fifth in descent from Col. John Bailey of the Second Mass- 
achusetts Regiment in the War of the Revolution. 

Issue of Thomas George and Mary L. (Henszey) Ashton: — 

Thomas Ashton, b. Aug. 24, 1901, d. the same day; 
Anne H. Ashton, b. Sept. 22, 1902; 
William H. Ashton, b. Dec. 24, 1904; 
Caroline Ashton, b. Jan. 22, 1908. 

D.-iNiEL Rambo Ashton, another son of George and Elizabeth (Hughes) 
Asiiton, and younger brother of Rev. William Easterly Ashton, above mentioned^ 
was born in Philadelphia in 1803, and died there May, 1881. He married Eliza- 
beth Josiah, daughter of Joseph Marsh, and his wife Hannah, daughter of Capt. 
Adam Hubley, of the Pennsylvania Line in the Revolution ; granddaughter of 
Colonel Joseph Marsh, of the Artillery Battalion of Philadelphia in 1780. 
Issue of Daniel Rambo and Elizabeth Josiah (Marsh) Ashton: 

Joseph Hubi,ey Ashton, b. March 11, 1836, d. March 7, 1907; of whom presently; 

Virginia Ashton, b. Sept, 9, 1839; 

James William Ashton, b. Jan. 18, 1843; m. Cornelia Elizabeth Jones; of whom later. 

Joseph Hubley Ashton, son of Daniel R. and Elizabeth J. (Marsh) Ashton, 
born March 11, 1836, died March 7, 1907, was graduated from the Department 
of Arts, University of Pennsylvania, in 1854, and at once entered upon the study 
of law. At an early age he removed from Philadelphia, (where he had first 
filled the position of Assistant United States Attorney for the Eastern District 
of Pennsylvania) to Washington, D. C, and when still under the age of thirty 
years was appointed Assistant Attorney-General of the United States. His 
exclusive duty in that office was to represent the government in all cases involv- 
ing the award of prizes for the capture of ships, engaged in running the block- 
ade, and all sea-going craft, employed in carrying contraband goods during the 
Civil War. In several years service of this kind Mr. Ashton devoted himself 
with intense professional zeal to the mastery of international law, becoming well 
equipped for the important positions he was later called upon to fill. In 1869, soon 
after Hon. Hamilton Fish became Secretary of State in the Cabinet of President 
Grant, there had sprung up between Secretary Fish and Mr. Ashton, a close 
personal, professional and official intimacy, which continued during the whole of 
Secretary Fish's incumbency of the State Department, and personally until his 
death. When the Mexican Claims Commission was organized in 1869, Mr. 
Ashton was named by Secretary Fish as counsel for the United States to appear 
before this commission. In the importance of the questions raised before this 
tribunal and in the magnitude of the money involved, aggregating $350,000,000,, 
this commission was then without precedent, nor has any subsequent tribunal 
equalled it in respect to the amount of money involved. The Commission was in 
session for ten years, and two thousand claims were submitted to it and adju- 
dicated. One claim entered by the Mexican Government against the United 
States, on account of Indian depredations, amounted to $50,000,000. Mexico was 
represented by the eminent jurist Caleb Gushing, who advised them that the claim 
was a good one and would be allowed. By patient and painstaking work on the 



II40 ASHTON 

part of J. Hubley Ashton, documents were discovered disproving the validity of 
the claim and it was disallowed, thus saving the United States $50,000,000. 

The great argument upon the subject of contract claims, involving the jurisdic- 
tion of international commissions over contracts, practically established the atti- 
tude of that commission and all subsequent ones, including that of the more 
recent Venezuelan Commission, before which Mr. Ashton again represented the 
United States. Mr. Ashton's masterly distinction between citizenship and 
nationality, set forth in one of his arguments before an international tribunal, has 
at last been practically accepted by civilized nations as a fundamental principle, 
always to be recognized. He demonstrated that nationality is a question of inter- 
national law, and established the definition of citizenship as involving purely a 
question of municipal law. These two now well established principles were 
finally and adequately set forth in arguments made while representing the United 
States as counsel. Mr. Ashton was also distinguished before the Supreme Court 
and among the great lawyers for his marvelously accurate historic memory. He 
never erred in a statement of historic fact. He needed to give no reference when 
alluding to these facts. His statements were invariably accepted by the Court. 
He had no remarkable elocutionary or rhetorical powers, as these terms are com- 
monly understood, but he possessed to a remarkable degree the talent for abso- 
lutely lucid statements of fact and law, and their application to the case in hand. 
He was one of those lawyers, who, when pleading before the United States 
Supreme Court at Washington, was sure to command the never wandering atten- 
tion of every justice of that bench. The degree of LL. D. was conferred upon 
him by Georgetown College, Washington, D. C, in 1872. 

Joseph Hubley Ashton died March 7, 1907. He married Hannah, daughter of 
William and Harriet Wakeman, who was born December 2, 1843, and died 
August 17, 1906. They had one daughter, Elizabeth. 

James Willi.'\m Ashton, the other son of Daniel R. and Elizabeth J. (Marsh) 
Ashton, born in Philadelphia, January 18, 1843, graduated from the University 
of Pennsylvania with the degree of A. M. Class of 1863. He entered the Univer- 
sity in 1859, and was awarded the Freshman and Sophomore declamation prizes 
and also the Junior English prize, and was president of the Zelosophic Society. 
He received leave of absence of the trustees in 1862, and entered the military 
service as Second Lieutenant and Adjutant of the 157th Pennsylvania Regiment, 
United States Volunteers, and was connected with the Army of the Potomac. 
He was wounded before Petersburg, Virginia, June, 1864, and was honorably 
discharged by reason thereof, September, 1864. He studied for two. years at the 
Divinity School of the Protestant Episcopal Church, Philadelphia, and later at the 
Theological Seminary at Newton, Massachusetts. He was for some years a Bap- 
tist clergyman and pastor of churches of that denomination at Watertown, New 
York, and Norwich, Connecticut. He was awarded the honorary degree of D. D. 
by Hobart College, Geneva, New York in 1890, and since 1892 has been a Prot- 
estant Episcopal Clergyman, being ordained by the Right Reverend William 
Bacon Stevens, Bishop of Pennsylvania, June, 1892. He was rector of the Church 
of Annunciation and Grace Church of Philadelphia for some years and is now 
rector of St. Stephen's Church, at Olean, Cattaragus County. New York. He 
married Cornelia Elizabeth, daughter of Frederick Jones, and a lineal descendant 
of Theophilus Eaton, first Governor of New Haven, 1638. 



--'^^T^'J?^ ""-I 




BRINGHURST AlUIS. 



BRINGHURST FAMILY. 

The family of Bringhurst in the United States is descended from an ancient 
family of that name, long seated in Leicester, England, who bore for arms, az. 
two bars erm. in chief three escallops or, and crest, an arm embowed, habitted 
in mail, or holding in the hand ppr. a spiked club, sa. spikes or. 

The town and parish of Bringhurst, from which the family surname is derived, 
antedates the Norman Conquest. It is situated in the southeast corner of Leices- 
tershire, in an angle between Northamptonshire and the little county of Rutland, 
and skirts the river Welland. 

According to Leland, the town of Bringhurst, with those of Easton, Drayton, 
Prestgrove, Blatheston and Langton, the first four of which were later held by 
the Bringhurst family, were given by one Ranulfe, a kinsman of Edward the 
Confessor, the Anglo Saxon King of 1042-66, to the abbey of Peterborough, in 
Northamptonshire. The statement as made by Leland is as follows: "Ranul- 
phus Comes propinquis. Regis Edwardi Confessoris, dedit Monasterion de Peter- 
burgh, Bringhurst, Easton, Drayton, Prestgrove, Blathestun and Langdon, in 
Comitatu Lecestr." 

J. Granville Leach, LL. B., the eminent genealogist and historian of Philadel- 
phia, in his "History of the Bringhurst Family," pubhshed in 1901, for Capt. 
Robert Ralston Bringhurst, of Philadelphia, from which the information con- 
tained in this sketch is largely gathered, states that the earliest mention of the 
surname of Bringhurst found by him was Robert de Bringhurst, who prior to 
1260 was Lord of Broughton and Bringhurst, and had holdings in Drayton, 
Holt and Prestgrove, and Nichol's "History of Leicestershire," accords to him 
the arms described at the head of this article. In 1320 a John Bringhurst was 
summoned to Parliament from Leicestershire, and in 1567 another of the same 
name was rector of St. Mary Magdalen, Waltham, Leicestershire. In 1627 Charles 
Bringhurst "Chirurgeon" had a son James baptized at the Church of St. John fhe 
Baptist, Peterborough, and June 25, 1630, William Bringhurst, son of John 
Bringhurst, of Brabrooke, Northamptonshire, matriculated at Pembroke College, 
Oxford, and four years later received the degree of Bachelor of Arts. On March 
9, 1639, Henry Bringhurst, Esq., and Sir Thomas Rotherham were elected mem- 
bers of Parliament of Ireland, from King's county. The Rev. Dr. Isaac Bring- 
hurst, graduated at Queen's College, Cambridge, 1660, and became rector of Tod- 
dington, county of Bedford, and was buried there October 16, 1697: a memorial 
tablet being erected to his memory in his parish church. One John Bringhurst 
was a graduate of Queen's College, 1698, and another of the same name in 1739. 

The earliest record we find of the name in America is that of Thomas Bring- 
hurst, who appears as an inhabitant of St. Michael's parish. Island of Barbadoes. 
1680; he is credited on Hotten's Lists as having five hired servants, several ap- 
prentices and five slaves; on March 21, 1682, the Council of Barbadoes appointed 
him "Caretaker of Powder." 

Thomas Bringhurst, earliest lineal ancestor of the Bringhurst family of 
Philadelphia, was a "chirurgeon" of London, and as shown by a manuscript 



1 142 BRINGHURST 

record made by his grandson, John Bringhurst, of Philadelphia, was married, 
August 27, 1647, to Elizabeth Hughes. He was doubtless of the Leicester family 
of Bringhurst, as there are records showing that members of the Leicester family 
had located in London, more than a generation earlier. On October 30, 1614, a 
license was issued there for the marriage of Thomas Cooper, St. Clement's Danes, 
Middlesex, yeoman, bachelor, to "Elizabeth Bringhurst, of St. Andrews, Holbom 
(London) Spinster, daughter of Thomas Bringhurst, late of Easton, Leicester, 
yeoman, deceased." On April 17, 1607, Katharine, wife of Thomas Bringhurst, 
was buried at St. James, Clerkenwell, London; these two items of record may 
have referred to the same Thomas Bringhurst, and as the name of Thomas was 
not a common one, it is probable that he was a connection and possibly an an- 
cestor of Dr. Thomas Bringhurst, above referred to, as married in 1647. 

Dr. Thomas Bringhurst was Uving in London, November 15, 1660, when he 
executed a general power of attorney to his wife Elizabeth to transact business 
for him, the original of which is in possession of the Philadelphia family. 

John Bringhurst, son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Hughes) Bringhurst, was 
born in London, England, November i, 1655, and died there about the year 1699, 
or 1700. In his youth he was apprenticed to Andrew Toaler, a stationer of Lon- 
don, and was made a freeman of the city, September 3, 1681. Prior to the latter 
date he began the business of a publisher and stationer, at least two of his works 
being pubHshed in 1681. One of these, possibly his first publication, was "An 
Epistle of Caution to Friends to take heed of that Spirit of Licentiousness, &c.," 
written by Christopher Taylor, "With a Short Testimony prepared by John 
Bringhurst," and bears this inscription: "Printed in London for John Bring- 
hurst, at the Sign of the Book, in Gracechurch Street, near Cornhill, 1681." John 
Bringhurst was a member of the Society of Friends, and is known to have been 
the publisher of a number of books mentioned in the "Catalogue of Friends' 
Library." In 1683 he published a book entitled "George Fox's Primer," and it 
being asserted that it contained "a passage liable to miscontruction" he was ar- 
rested for printing it, and on trial was convicted and sentenced, September 20, 
1684, to pay a fine of one shilling, and to stand two hours in the pillory. In 1683 
he makes the following announcement at the end of one of his publications : "This 
is to give notice that John Bringhurst, Printer and Publisher, who formerly lived 
at the Sign of the Book, in Grace Church Street, is now removed to the Sign of 
the Book and Three Black Birds, in Leaden-Hall-Mutton Market, between the 
Black Bull and Colchester Arms, where any person may be supplied with Print- 
ing, Books, and paper, as formerly." 

Tradition relates that he suflPered many persecutions for printing of books ex- 
pounding the doctrine and faith of the Society of Friends, and that to escape 
these persecutions removed for a time to Amsterdam, Holland. This statement 
seems to be borne out by the fact that the record of the dates of the birth of his 
children who later accompanied their mother to America, on the records of Phila- 
delphia Monthly Meeting, states that they were "all born at Amsterdam, Hol- 
land." He seems, however, to have returned to London and died there. 

John Bringhurst married in London, June 2, 1682, Rosina (Prachen) Matern, 
widow of John Matern and daughter of Hilarius Prachen or Prache, a Lutheran 
Minister of Germany, who became a convert to Quakerism in 1671, and soon 
after with his wife Barbara, two married daughters, and son-in-law, John Matern, 



BRINGHURST 1143 

migrated to England. A "Testimony" of John Matern, written August 24, 1680, 
but seven days before his death, gives the following information : "The Lord 
raised a desire in my father-in-law, who was a Priest, * * * to go to the People 
of the Lord which he had raised, gathered and chosen for Himself in England, 
* * * and as soon as he made it known to us, his wife and children, we found 
the same willingness and freedom also in us to go out from our father's house 
and kindred, not consulting flesh and blood, what would become of us, — and after 
we had made known our Desires and Intent to some of our Dearest Friends, — we 
left all for Love and Truth and went away. In all our Journey to London, the 
Lord was with us and brought us safe and well with joy and gladness of our 
Souls to his Beloved People here in England." 

Hilarius Prachen died in 1693, and shortly after his death his widow Barbara, 
with her widowed daughter, Maria Van Buylaert, and her granddaughter, Abi- 
gail Matern, emigrated to Philadelphia, bringing a certificate from the Two Weeks 
Meeting, which is as follows : 

"To ye ffrds & Brethren of ye Mo. Meeting at Philadelphia or elsewhere : — 

"WHEREAS, Barbara Prachen, relict of Hilarius Prachen & Maria Van Buylaert, Re- 
lict of John Van Buylaert and Abigail Matern, ye daughter of John George Matern, School 
Master, deceased, have an intention of transporting themselves unto your Country and desire 
a certificate from us touching their conversation &c. 

"These therefore may certify all ffrds concerned, yt upon enquiry made concerning the 
said Barbara Prachen, Maria Van Buylaert and Abigail Matern (mother, daughter and grand- 
daughter), we do not find but that they are free and clear from any engagements in relation 
to marriage with any here, and have been of sober conversation amongst ifriends, so wth ye 
salutation of dear Love in ye Holy and pretious Truth, wee remaine in ye fellowship thereof, 
youre friends & Brethren. 

"ffor ye flfrds. and Brethren at ye 2 Weeks Meeting in London, ye Sth of 12/M0. 1693-4." 

The "Memorandoms" of John Bringhurst, of Philadelphia, state that after his 
grandmother, Barbara Prachen, his aunt. Van Buylaert, and his half sister, Abi- 
gail Matern, settled in Philadelphia, that they frequently wrote to John Bring- 
hurst and his wife in London, to "come over," but that "he could not be persuaded 
to cross the ocean to a new Country." The "Memorandoms" further continues, 
"My father being dead, my mother concluded to transport herself & family of 
small children to Pennsylvania, and accordingly took passage at London, in the 
Brigantine, 'Messenger,' James Guy, Master, for herself and four children, being 
Elizabeth, John, Barbara & George & landed at Philadelphia." No date of their 
sailing or arrival is given, but it was prior to October 16, 1701, on which date 
Mrs. Bringhurst subscribed as witness to the will of Samuel Siddon, in Philadel- 
phia. She died in Philadelphia, March 9, 1711-12. She was born in Germany, 
and married there as shown by the testimony of her husband, prior to 1671, John 
Matern, a "School Master," with whom, and her parents, she removed to London, 
England, where her first husband died August 31, 1680. She published, after his 
death, "a few lines" in commemoration of his works and piety. She had by him at 
least one daughter, Abigail Matern, who as heretofore shown accompanied her 
grandmother and aunt to Philadelphia, 1694. 

Issue of John and Rosina (Prachen) Bringhurst: 

(All born either in London or Amsterdam). 

Rosina Elizabeth, b. Aug. 24, 1688; came with her mother to Phila.; m. there, Sept. 10, 
1713, Emanuel Dungworth, son of Richard Dungworth, of Phila.; 

John, b. Feb. 25, 1690-91, d. Sept. 20, 1750, in Barbadoes; m. Mary Claypoole; of whom 
presently; 

31 



1 144 BRIXGHURST 

Barbara, b. March 29, 1693; m. June 6, 1715, William Morrison; 

GeoRGEj b. May 15. 1697, d- at Germantown. Phila., Feb. 18, 1852; m. Anna Ashmead; of 
whom later. 

JoHX Brixghurst, eldest son of John and Rosina (Prachen) Bringhurst, and 
the author of the "Memorandoms" so freely quoted from in this narrative, was 
born in London, or Amsterdam, February 25, 1690-1, and accompanied his widow- 
ed mother to Philadelphia in his tenth year. Almost immediately on their arrival 
he was apprenticed to George Guest, to learn the trade of a cooper, and followed 
that vocation in Philadelphia until the death of his mother, when, having a taste 
for life at sea, he shipped as cooper on the brig, "Elizabeth," Thomas Reed, 
Master, and made his first voyage to Surinam (Dutch Guiana j, South America. 
Evidently pleased with his sea experiences, on his return he studied navigation 
with William Robins, and later made several trips to different points, and gives 
an interesting account of his experiences on these voyages in his "^Memorandoms," 
which show that he was a man of more than ordinary business ability and force 
of character. After his marriage in the autumn of 1718, he abandoned the sea 
and engaged in the cooperage business on his own account in Philadelphia, and in 
connection therewith invested in small "ventures" in the sailing vessels leaving 
Philadelphia for southern and West Indian ports. In 1727 he engaged in the 
mercantile trade, but continued his cooperage business also, meeting with such 
financial success that in 1729 he had accumulated sufficient capital to enable him 
with two others to have built at Philadelphia the brigantine, "Joseph," and freight 
it for a voyage to foreign ports, and thereafter until his death, 1750, engaged more 
or less extensively in the shipping trade. He was a prominent and useful man in 
the community, filling a number of official positions, and executing innumerable 
private trusts. He was chosen constable of his district of the city in 1721; was 
made tax-collector of Dock Ward, 1725 ; one of the Overseers of the Poor in 
1728, and in 1731 was made one of the Overseers of the Public School chartered 
by Williarn Penn, and still known as the "William Penn Charter School," and 
continued to fill that position with interest and zeal until his death. On March i, 
1749, he joined with James Logan, Israel Pemberton, Anthony ^Morris and the 
other Overseers in the conveyance of land belonging to this school. He was a 
prominent member of the Society of Friends, "an Elder, active and serviceable 
in the church, and demonstrated a sincere regard for the prosperity thereof ; 
exemplary in attending religious meetings, and in the careful education of his 
children." says a Memorial of him adopted by the Philadelphia Monthly Meeting. 
Being afflicted with ill health he made a visit to the Barbadoes in the hope of 
regaining his health, but died there September 20. 1750, at the house of the Widow 
Oxley, whose husband, John Oxley, had previously died at John Bringhurst's 
house in Philadelphia, while there on a visit. His will dated June 16, 1750, names 
his wife, Mary; Sons, Joseph, James and John; daughter, Mary, wife of Judah 
Foulke; daughter. Elizabeth Bringhurst. and "sister" Elizabeth Claj'poole. 

John Bringhurst married. October 30, 1718, Mary, daughter of John Claypoole, 
the first of that distinguished family to come to Philadelphia, sailing in the 
"Amity" from the Downs, xA-pril 23, 1682, as an assistant and clerk to Capt. 
Thomas Holme, Commissioner and Surveyor General of the Province of Penn- 
sylvania. He superintended the erection of the "Claypoole House" in Phila- 
delphia prior to the arrival of his father, James Claypoole, Treasurer of the Free 



BRING HURST 1145 

Society of Traders, Register General and Justice of the Supreme Court. John 
Claypoole was Clerk of the Pennsylvania Assembly, 1686-90, and High Sheriff 
of Philadelphia, 1687 to 1690, and 1693 to his death, September 8, 1700. Mary 
(Claypoole) Bringhurst survived her husband nearly eleven years, dying in Phila- 
delphia, July 2, 1 76 1. 

Issue of John and Mary (Claypoole) Bringhurst: 

Mary, b. Jan. 18, 1720-1, d. Jan. 22, 1799; m. Judah Foulke, a prominent and active citi- 
zen of Phila. ; he was a Collector of Excise 1745-50; High Sheriff 1770-73; Marshal 
of Admiralty Court 1770-74; Clerk of Market and Sealer of Weights and Measures 
1775; and was appointed by Continental Congress, March 25, 1775, to sign Conti- 
nental bills; 

John, b. Nov. g, 1722, d. Dec. 15, 1789, unm. ; was a prominent iron merchant of Phila.; 
an early contributor to the Pennsylvania Hospital, and prominently identified with 
many of the Colonial institutions of Phila.; was a signer of the Non-importation 
Resolutions of 1765; 

Elizabeth, b. Feb. 4, 1723-4, d. Dec. 25, 1790, unm.; 

James, b. Dec. 7, 1730, d. at Portsmouth, R. I., B'eb. 27, 1810; m, (first) Anne Pole, 
(second) Hannah Peters, (third) Ruth Barker; of whom presently; 

Thomas, b. Jan. 17, 1731, d. Jan. 19, 1731; 

Joseph, b. March 20, 1732-3, d. in Wilmington, Del., 181 1; was apprenticed when a youth 
to his father's trade of a cooper, but later became a prominent and successful mer- 
chant; he kept a journal, covering the period from his father's death to his final 
removal to Wilmington, Oct. 7, 1808, after which the only entry is the memoranda of 
the death of his brother, James, at Portsmouth, R. I., Feb. 27, 1810; as this journal 
notes the happenings in an active business life of more than half a' century, it contains 
an immense fund of valuable information, of historical interest; the writer was never 
married, and the family notes have largely to do with his brother, James, and his 
family; he was member of American Philosophical Society, and a man of culture and 
substance, highly esteemed in the community; 

Deborah, b. Dec. 21, 1734, d. Jan. 16, 173S; 

Deborah (second of the name), b. Sept. 15, 1736, d. .'\pril 16. 1737. 

George Brixghurst, younger son of John Bringhurst, of London, by his wife, 
Rosina (Matern) Prachen, accompanied his mother to Philadelphia at about the 
age of three years, and in due time was apprenticed to .Arendt I<CIincken, a weaver 
of Germantown, but on arriving at manhood engaged in the saddlery business 
there, and prospering in that business accumulated a comfortable estate, and be- 
came a considerable landholder in and about Germantown, where he died Febru- 
ary 18, 1752. He married, September I, 1723, Anna, born in Cheltenham town- 
ship, Philadelphia county, February 9, 1707-8, died at Germantown, August, 
1760, daughter of John Ashmead, born in Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, England, 
July 12, 1679, died at Germantown, October 7, 1732, by his wife, Sarah, daughter 
of Samuel and .Vnna (Gibbons) Sellers. John Ashmead, the elder, grandfather 
of Mrs. Bringhurst, was born in Cheltenham, England, October 14. 1648, and in 
16S2 or 1683 emigrated to Pennsylvania with his widowed mother, Mary Ash- 
mead, his wife and two children, and his brother-in-law, Toby Leach, who had 
married Esther Ashmead. In conjunction with his brother-in-law, Toby Leech, 
Richard Wall and Everard Bolton, he purchased 1000 acres of land in Chelten- 
ham township, named by him in honor of the place of his nativity, and settling on 
his share thereof, died there December 21, 1688. 

George and Anna (Ashmead) Bringhurst were the parents of ten children, six 
of whom lived to maturity : Sarah, married George Palmer ; John ; George : 
Esther, died without issue ; Samuel and William. Many of their descendants have 
had a prominent part in the affairs of Philadelphia, where some of them still 



1 146 BRINGHURST 

reside. John, eldest son, was a noted coachmaker of Germantown, and was the 
first to build the carriages, familiarly known, down to the generation just past, as 
"Germantown wagons." He built a coach for President Washington in 1790. 
He became a wealthy and influential citizen of Germantown, and was a member 
of the Committee of Correspondence for Philadelphia county, 1775. 

James Bringhurst, second son of John and Mary (Claypoole) Bringhurst, 
born in Philadelphia, December 7, 1730, was in the earlier years of his life a 
master carpenter and builder, but later became a prominent merchant and acquired 
a large estate for that period. He seems to have had business or material interests 
in Rhode Island, early in life, as his brother, Joseph, records in his journal several 
trips made by James to that Colony, the first, May 6, 1752, and the last, his final 
removal there, July 17, 1807. It would seem from an entry in the diary of Han- 
nah Callender, under date of August 26, 1761, that James Bringhurst had some 
knowledge of carriage building, though the reference may have been intended for 
his cousin, John Bringhurst, the coachmaker of Germantown ; the entry is as fol- 
lows: "August 26, 1761, Parents consenting, Anna Pole, Betsy Bringhurst, Han- 
nah Callender, James Bringhurst, and Samuel Sansom, set out for Bethlehem, and 
the country adjacent, intending a tour of a week or ten days, in a complete light 
wagon, made by James Bringhurst." The trip seems to have been a success in 
one sense of the term, as November 19 of the same year he married Anna Pole, 
one of his companions on this pleasure trip through the romantic highlands along 
the Lehigh. She was born in Philadelphia, 1733, daughter of John Pole, born in 
England, December 31, 1705, and evidently came to America just prior to his 
marriage at Burlington Meeting, New Jersey, January 22, 1733, to Rachel, daugh- 
ter of Dr. Richard Smith, of the "Burlington Smiths," by his wife, Ann Marshall, 
as he is named in the marriage certificate as "late of Bustlehay, Wivelscombe, 
Somersetshire." He settled in Philadelphia and became a prominent merchant, 
possessed of large estate; died there January 5, 1755. He was possessed of a 
handsome country seat on Gray's Ferry road, at what is now Thirtieth and Thirty- 
first streets, the mansion house being surrounded by a large tract of land. This seat 
was purchased by John Bringhurst soon after his marriage, and was his home for 
many years, and a portion of the tract remained in the tenure of his descendants 
until i860. 

James Bringhurst was a member of Carpenter's Company, its Warden in 1769, 
and one of the Board of Managers, 1772-75. He was also one of the Trustees, 
to whom was conveyed the land whereon the famous Carpenter's Hall was built. 
He was a contributor to the Pennsylvania Hospital in 1761, and in 1768 was made 
a member of the American Philosophical Society, being a member of the building 
committee who had charge of the erection of the Hall of that Society on Inde- 
pendence Square. He retired from active business pursuits some years prior to 
his decease, and July 17, 1807, removed to Portsmouth, Rhode Island, where he 
died February 27, 1810, and was buried in the Friends' Burial Ground at Tiver- 
ton. Rhode Island. 

Anna (Pole) Bringhurst, first wife of James Bringhurst, and mother of his 
children, died March 5, 1777; he married (second) 1778, Hannah Peters, who 
was buried September 19, 1781, aged thirty-one years. He married (third) Ruth, 
daughter of Abraham Barker, of Tiverton, Rhode Island, by his wife, Susanna 
Anthony. She was born January 15, 1746, died December 6, 1815. 



BRINGHURST 1147 

Issue of James and Anne (Pole) Bringhurst: 

John, b. April 25, 1764, d. June 16, 1800; m. April 30, 1789, Mary Lawton, a noted Revo- 
lutionary belle of great beauty and grace of manner, daughter of Robert Lawton, a 
wealthy and prominent citizen of Newport, R. I. ; her married life, though brief, was 
a very bright and brilliant one socially, and there are many interesting reminiscences 
of her visits to the Presidential mansion and her part in the social functions elsewhere 
in Phila., while it was the National Capital; she d. at Phila., Feb. II, 1793, and her 
husband survived her but seven years ; they had one son, John, who d. at the home of 
his Grandfather Lawton, in Newport, Jan. 23, 1803; 

James, b. Phila., March 4, 1766, d. there May 27, 1818; was an iron merchant for many 
years, and later a clerk in the U. S. Bank; m. (first) Aug. 12, 1789, Rachel Settle, 
who d. Aug. 25, 1795, (second) Ann Carroll, who survived him and d. 1829; three 
children by each wife; 

Joseph, b. Oct. 6, 1767, d. July 26, 1834; m. Deborah Ferris; of whom presently; 
Jonathan, b. May 8 1769, d. Nov. 9, 1818, unm. ; 
Edward, b. Dec. 16, 1770, d. Sept. 26, 1794, unm,; 
Rachel, b. Feb. 15, 1775, d. Feb. 16, 1777. 

Dr. Joseph Bringhurst, third son of James and Anne (Pole) Bringhurst, 
born in Philadelphia, October 6, 1767, received a liberal education, and studied 
medicine. On receiving his medical diploma in 1793, he located in Wilmington, 
Delaware, and began the practice of his profession, and soon after that date 
established a drug store at his residence, now 317 Market street, where the same 
business has since been continuously conducted by his descendants, a period of 
considerable over a century. 

Dr. Bringhurst took an active interest in public afifairs. He was Clerk of the 
Borough of Wilmington, 1799, and in 1802 was appointed Postmaster by Presi- 
dent Thomas Jefferson and reappointed by Madison and Monroe, but in 1820, on 
Monroe's election to the second term, he appointed Nicholas Gilpin Williamson 
to succeed Dr. Bringhurst. 

Dr. Bringhurst "was gifted with an intellect of no common order; he had culti- 
vated and improved it by extensive reading, and nature had supplied him with an 
easy elocution, which enabled him to communicate with clearness and facility, 
and rendered his conversation, a source of instruction and pleasure." He was an 
easy and graceful writer, and courted the Muse to a considerable extent, his 
manuscript writings including many volumes. 

Under date of March 4, 1796, Dr. Joseph Bringhurst wrote a letter to William 
Cowper, the English poet, which in 1800 was printed under the title of "Copy 
of a Letter from a Young Man, a Quaker in Pennsylvania, to the late William 
Cowper, Poet." The letter was later printed in the British Friend. 

Dr. Joseph Bringhurst was intimate with the Hon. John Dickinson, one of the 
most prominent Revolutionary Patriots of Delaware, author of the "Farmer's 
Letters," member of Continental Congress, etc., and was at his bedside when he 
died. He was also intimately associated with Robert Fulton, of steamboat fame, 
and took a deep interest in the introduction of steam navigation. He was always 
interested in all that pertained to the advancement and development of the ma- 
terial interests of Wilmington and vicinity ; was one of the promoters and partici- 
pated in the establishment of the first cotton factory, erected in the state of Dela- 
ware, and was connected with other industrial institutions. 

Dr. Joseph Bringhurst married at Wilmington, July 11, 1799, Deborah, born in 
Wilmington, March 2, 1773, died there August 20, 1844, daughter of Ziba Ferris, 
born at New Milford, Connecticut, October 24, 1743, died at Wilmington, April 



1 148 BRINGHURST 

24, 1794, by his wife, Edith, born in East Cain township, Chester county, Pennsyl- 
vania, December 30, 1742, died at Wilmington, Delaware, February 8, 1815, 
daughter of Benjamin Sharpless, son of Joseph and Lydia (Lewis) Sharpless 
(the former a native of Hatherton, Cheshire, England, and the latter of Glamor- 
ganshire, Wales), by his first wife, Edith, daughter of James Broome and Mary 
Alexander, his wife, who came to Chester county from Marshfield, Gloucester- 
shire, England, 1717. 

Samuel Ferris, great-grandfather of Ziba Ferris, above mentioned, came from 
Reading, Berkshire, England, and settled at Groton, near Boston, Massachusetts, 
removing later to Charlestown, where his son Zacharias was born in 1676. The 
latter married Sarah Reed, whose father had come from the town of Awley, 
Dorsetshire, England, and settled in Fairfield, Connecticut, where Sarah was 
born. Zachariah and Sarah (Reed) Ferris settled at Xew Milford, Connecticut, 
being one of the first twelve families to settle that town. They were Presby- 
terians, but most of their children united with the Society of Friends; David, 
second son, born at Stratford, Connecticut, May 10, 1707, came to Philadelphia 
in 1733, became a Friend, married at Philadelphia, Mary Massey, and in 1737 
settled in Wilmington, where he died in 1779, having been a prominent minister 
of the Society of Friends for near a quarter of a century. Another brother, 
Zachariah, also removed to Wilmington, and united with Friends there and be- 
came a minister, dying January 6, 1803, at the age of eighty-five years, one month 
and twenty-four days, after over sixty years spent in the ministry. 

John Ferris, fourth son and seventh child of Zachariah and Sarah (Reed) 
Ferris, born at Xew Milford, Connecticut, 1710, married there. May 15, 1738, 
Abigail Tryon, of New Fairfield, and they had seven children of whom Ziba, 
father of Deborah (Ferris) Bringhurst, was the fifth. His parents removed with 
their children to \Mlmington, 1748, from Oblong, Dutchess county, Xew York, 
bringing a certificate from the Friends' Meeting there. 

Edith (Sharpless) Ferris, mother of Mrs. Bringhurst, was for eighteen years 
an Elder of Friends' Meeting, and at her death Wilmington Meeting adopted a 
lengthy Memorial, commending her many Christian virtues. 

Dr. Joseph Bringhurst died at Wilmington, July 26, 1834, in his sixty-seventh 
year. His widow Deborah survived until August 20, 1844. in her seventy-first 
year. 

Issue of Dr. Joseph and Deborah (Ferris) Bringhurst : 

William, b. Sept. 25, 1800, d. June 14. 1818; 

Mary Dickinson, b. July 4, 1806, d. Jan. 12, 1886; m. at Cincinnati, O., June 28, 1842, 

George Vernon Moody, b. in Portland, Me., Feb. 12, 1816; their two children, both b. 

at Port Gibson, Miss., d. inf.; 

Joseph, b. Sept. 26, 1807, d. in Wilmington, March 14, 1880 ; succeeded his father in the 
drug business, from which he retired in 1851; was the founder of Wilmington Savings 
Fund 1832, was president last eight years of his life; became a director of the Bank 
of Delaware 1843; director of Philadelphia, Wilmington & Baltimore Railroad i860, 
and one of its most active and trusted officers; became director of Delaware Railroad 
1864; later a director of the Chester Creek and of the Delaware & Dorchester rail- 
roads ; of Mutual Fire Insurance Company of Delaware, Wilmington Coal & Gas 
Company, and other corporations; m. Oct. 6, 1842, Anna, b. Wilmington, Aug. 11, 
1816, d. there May 28, 1889, dau. of John and Margaret (Paxson) Richardson; had 
issue : 

Two daughters, Margaret and Anna, never married ; 

John Richardson Bringhurst, b. Jan. 8, 1745; m. (first) Feb. i, 1870, Elizabeth, 
dau. of Joseph and Sarah (Richardson) Tatnall, of Wilmington, and lived for 
some years in Delaware co., Pa., removing later to Marshalton, Del.; his first 



BRINGHURST 1149 

wife d. Jan. 19, 1874; m. (second) June 16, 1881, Annie S. Stokes, b. L,ouisville, 
Ky., Marcli i, 1861, d. Marshalton, Del., April 23, 1882; m. (third) Esther 
Harlan Wilson; had two sons, Joseph and Frederick, by first marriage; daugh- 
ter, Margaret, by second marriage, and son, John, by third marriage. 

Edward, b. May 22, 1809, d. Feb. 8, 1884; m. Sarah Shipley; of whom presently; 

Ziba Ferris, b. Sept. 19, 1812, d. at Wilmington, March 6, 1836; m. 1832, Amy, dau. of 
Isaac and Margaret (Roberts) Dixon, who d. Nov. 3, 1846; had issue; 
Margaret, d. unm., at age of 23 years; 

Dr. William Bringhurst, son, b. April 20, 1833, d. Phila., Jan. 27, 1898; studied 
drug business, and later medicine, graduating at Jeiiferson Medical College, 
Phila., 1876, and practiced in Phila., 1505 North Thirteenth street; during Civil 
War he was in hospital service; he was a man of broad humanitarian views 
and was highly esteemed; m. Jan. 16, i86g, Amanda Melvina (Veale) James, b. 
Phila., Dec. 6, 1829, d. there Feb. 21, 1888, widow of Thomas M. James, of 
Phila., and dau. of George Veale, from Sunderland, co. Durham, England, by 
his wife, Margaret Frowert, from near Claymont, Del.; their only child, Will- 
iam Joseph Bringhurst, was b. Phila., Feb. 17, 1870. 

Edward Bringhurst, fourth child of Dr. Joseph and Deborah (Ferris) Bring- 
hurst, was born in Wihnington, Delaware, May 22, 1809, died there February 8, 
1884. He was identified with many of the more prominent institutions of his 
native city ; director of National Bank of Delaware, New Castle County Insurance 
Company, and the Wilmington Savings Fund. He was one of the managers of 
Children's Home and Fountain Society, and president of the latter at his death. 
He was connected with a number of other philanthropic associations, and held 
many positions of private trust. He married, May 8, 1832, Sarah, born in Wil- 
mington, May 28, 1812, died there October 13, 1896, daughter of Samuel Shipley, 
of Wilmington, by his wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Capt. James Jefferis, grand- 
daughter of Joseph and Mary (Levis) Shipley, great-granddaughter of Thomas 
and Mary (Marriott) Shipley, and great-great-granddaughter of William Shipley, 
who came to America from Leicestershire, England, 1725, and was the virtual 
founder of Wilmington, Delaware, by his first wife, Mary Tatnall. 
Issue of Edward and Sarah (Shipley) Bringhurst: 

Samuel, b. May 27, 1833, d. Oct. 26, 1834; 

Edward, b. Oct. 10, 1835; m. Anna J. Webb; of whom presently; 

Ferris, b. Oct. 10, 1837, d. March 16, 1871 ; m. Dec. 5, 1861, Mary W., dau. of Mahlon 
and Mary (Seal) Betts, of Wilmington; no issue. 

Edwaiud Bringhurst, Jr., eldest surviving son of Edward and Sarah (Shipley) 
Bringhurst, born in Wilmington, October 10, 1835, was trained in the drug busi- 
ness at the old established stand in Wilmington imder his father, and succeeded 
him in its management, but retired from active business in 1876. He has been for 
twenty-five years director of National Bank of Delaware; was vice-president of 
New Castle County Insurance Company ; president of Wilmington & Great Valley 
Turnpike Company, and an official of the Huntingdon & Broad-Top Railroad 
Company, the Front & Union Streets Passenger Railway Company, of Wilming- 
ton, and a number of other corporations. He is a member of the Historical 
Society of Delaware, and keenly interested in all that pertains to the development 
of the material interests of his native state. He has resided for a number of 
years at "Rockwood," near Wilmington, one of the finest country seats in Dela- 
ware, formerly the estate of his mother's uncle, Joseph Shipley, the eminent 
London financier, of the firm of Brown, Shipley & Company, of London, Eng- 
land, consisting of nearly three hundred acres of land. 



1 1 50 BRINGHURST 

Edward Bringhurst, Jr., married, April 12, 1862, Anna J., born April 13, 1843, 
daughter of Thomas D. Webb, of Wilmington, by his wife, Mary H. James. 
Issue of Edward Jr. and Anna J. (Webb) Bringhurst: 

Elizabeth Shipley, b. Oct. 8, 1863; m. June i, 1886, John Gait Smith, of New York City, 
son of Samuel Smith, of Kilwaughter Castle, Ireland, by his wife, Marianne Bryan; 
he d. April 25, 1899; 
Mary T., b. June 24, 1865; 

Edith Ferris, b. March 30, 1874; m. June 2, 1897, Alexander Sellers, son of William 
Sellers, of firm of William Siellers Company of Phila., by his second wife, Amelia 
Haasz; issue: 

Anne Bringhurst Sellers, b. March 9, 1898; 
William Sellers, b. Sept. 19, 1899; 
Alexander Sellers, Jr., b. Feb. 22, 1901. 
Edward Bringhurst, 5th, b. July 4, 1884. 



MOORE FAMILY, of "Moore Hall." 

The earliest ancestor of Honorable William Moore, of Moore Flail, for over 
thirty years President Judge of the Courts of Chester county, Pennsylvania, a 
prominent member of Provincial Assembly and Colonel of the Provincial forces 
in the Indian Wars, of whom we have definite record was : 

Sir John Moore, whose family seat was Farley, Berkshire, England. He was 
knighted by Charles L, May 21, 1627, and the motto on his Coat of Arms was 
■"Nihil Utile, quod non honestum." He was succeeded by his eldest son: ■ 

Sir Francis Moore, whose sons John and James Moore came to the Carolinas 
about the year 1680. James Moore being governor of South Carolina, 1700-3. 

Colonel John Moore, son of Sir Francis Moore, of Farley, Berkshire, was 
born at Farley in the year 1658, and came to South Carolina about the year 1680. 
He was Secretary of that Province, June 21, 1683; and, September 3, 1683, was 
made Escheator General and Receiver General of the Province. On June 3, 1684, 
he was commissioned a Deputy to the Provincial Council of State, by Sir Peter 
Collaton, Baronet, Lord Proprietor. 

In 1692, Colonel John Moore followed his distinguished relative Colonel Robert 
Quarry, sometime Governor of South Carolina, to Philadelphia, and on January 
I, 1693, was commissioned Register General of Pennsylvania. 

Quarry was appointed "Judge of His Majesty's Court of Admiralty for ye 
Provinces of Pennsylvania and West Jersey" in 1695, and John Moore was named 
as an Advocate of the same tribunal, and as such appears before the Governor's 
Council, May 14, 1700, to press the charge against David Lloyd, then a member of 
the Council, for contempt of the authority of the Admiralty Court. 

John Moore was commissioned Attorney General of the Province of Pennsyl- 
vania, May 19, 1698, by authority of the Crown and re-commissioned by William 
Penn, Proprietor and Governor^ in 1701. He was also Deputy Judge of the 
Admiralty Court 1700-03; relinquishing that office and that of Register General 
to accept the appointment of Collector of His Majesty's Customs at the port of 
Philadelphia to which position he was appointed July 24, 1703, and filled it until 
his death, November 30, 1732. 

John Moore married in South Carolina, prior to 1685, Rebecca, daughter of 
Daniel Axtell, a Landgrave or Proprietor of the Province of South Carolina, who 
came over about 1680 and died in 1 690-1. 

Landgrave Daniel Axtell was probably a son and certainly a descendant of Col- 
onel David Axtell, a member of English Parliament at the time of the civil war, 
and was executed for espousing the cause of Cromwell, and the Parliament, 
against Charles I. The will of Landgrave Daniel Axtell, father of Rebec-ca (Ax- 
tell) Moore, was executed at London, August 3, 1678, probably just prior to his 
coming out to South Carolina as a Landgrave, and was proven in South Carolina, 
prior to December 17, 1691, the date of the will of his son, Holland Axtell. By 
his wife, Rebecca, Daniel Axtell had, besides the son, Holland, who succeeded 
him as Landgrave, three daughters, Ann, Elizabeth, and Mary. Ann Axtell mar- 
ried (first) John Alexander, and (second) Joseph Boone, of Virginia, and was 



II52 MOORE 

ancestress of the Bishops Boone, father and son, who went to China as Bishops 
of the Episcopal Church. Her will dated 1749, proved October 25, 1751, men- 
tions her sister, "Mrs. Rebeka Moore, of Philadelphia." Elizabeth Axtell mar- 
ried (first) Francis Turgis, artd (second) Governor and Landgrave Joseph Blake, 
and died 1736, leaving two daughters by Turgis and a son, Joseph Blake. 

Mary Axtell, the other daughter, married a Cuthbert, probably the Thomas 
Cuthbert, who later came to Philadelphia, and was grandfather of Captain An- 
thony Cuthbert of the Revolution. She is mentioned in the will of her brother, 
Holland Axtell in 1749, but nothing further is known of her. "Lady Rebekah 
Axtell" is mentioned in the will of Governor Joseph Blake, of South Carolina, as 
the mother of his wife, Elizabeth, and of Ann Boone, wife of Joseph Boone, of 
Virginia. 

Rebecca Axtell Moore survived her husband. Col. John Moore, and died at 
Moore Hall, the home of her son, Hon. William Moore, in 1749. She was buried 
at St. Peter's Church, Great Valley, Chester county, where William Moore was 
then a vestryman. Her husband Col. John Moore was buried at Christ Church, 
Philadelphia, of which he had been an active and prominent vestryman. Col. Moore 
lived on Second street, at the corner of Garden Alley, later known as Coomb's 
Alley. He owned beside the tract of land in Chester county, which he conveyed 
to his son, William, in 1729, a plantation in Moyamensing township. William 
Moore had erected "Moore Hall" and lived there some years prior to the convey- 
ance of the land in 1729. 

Issue of John and Rebecca (Axtell) Moore: 

John, b. in Carolinas, 1686, was sent to England to be educated, and on return, located 
in New York City, where he became prominent merchant; was Alderman, of city; 
member of Colonial Assembly; Colonel of New York Regiment, during Indian 
troubles; member of Provincial Council, etc.; d. 1749, aged 63 years; m. Francis Lam- 
bert and had eighteen children. His youngest son, Stephen, was owner of site of 
West Point Military Academy and sold it to the U. S. Government in 1790. Another 
son, Lambert Moore, m. Elizabeth Channing, and was father of Richard Channing 
Moore, Bishop of Va. ; 

Thomas, b. in Carolinas, 1689; sent to England to be educated, and graduated at Oxford, 
took holy orders, and was chaplain to the Bishop of Ro.fchester, Dr. Atterbury; d. at 
Little Britain, London; 

Rebecca, m. Oct. 28, 1708, John Evans, Lieutenant Governor of Pa. 1704-08; they re- 
turned to England soon after marriage, and were residing in London in 1711-16; in 
1736, when they joined in a conveyance of real estate in Pa., they were residents of 
Denbigh, co. Denbigh, Wales; 

Mary, bur. at Christ Church, Nov. 6, 1733; m. 171 5, Peter Evans, who in his will styles 
himself "of the Inner Temple, London." He was Deputy Register General for Phila. 
1705-13. and Register General 1713-15; Sheriff of Phila. co. 1707-14; and succeeded 
father-in-law, John Moore, as Deputy Collector of the Port of Phila. in 1732, and 
served until his death; was vestryman of Christ Church 1719-37; d. at residence of 
son-in-law, David Franks, June 14, 174S; issue: 

Rebecca, bapt. at Christ Church, June 13, 1716 (aged i mo.); m. (first) Dec. 8, 
1741, Peter Robertson, (second) Feb. 8, 1759, Alexander Barclay, who succeeded 
Peter Evans as Deputy Collector of the Port. He was son of David Barclay, 
and grandson of Robert Barclay, of Ury, Scotland, the "Apologist," sometime 
Governor of East Jersey; 
John Evans, went on a privateering cruise in 1747; 
Mary Evans, bur. at Christ Church, Jan. 29, 1719-20; 

Margaret Evans, b. Aug. 2, 1720, d. Sept. 28, 1780; m. Dec. 17, 1743, David Franks, 
and had issue : 

Abigail Franks, b. Jan. 6, I744-S; m. Andrew Hamilton, of "Woodlands;" 
Jacob Franks, b. Jan. 7, i746-7> living in England 1781; 
Mary Franks, b. Jan. 25, 1747-8, d. i774; 



MOORE 1 153 

Rebecca Franks, b. 1760; m. Lieut. Henry Johnson, in command at Stony 
Point, when surprised by Gen. Wayne; went to England at close of war; 
inherited Baronetcy of father and attained rank of General in English 
Army. 

Frances Moore; 

Daniel Moore, sent to England to be educated, graduated at Oxford and became dis- 
tinguished advocate, and member of Parliament; daughter, Frances, m. Hon. Thomas 
Erskine, Lord Chancellor of England; 

William Moore, of Moore Hall, b. Phila., May 6, 1699; of whom presently; 

Charles Moore, bur. at Christ Church, Phila., Aug. 17, 1712; 

Somerset Moore, bur. at Christ Church, Phila., Oct. 4, 1712; 

Richard Moore. 

William Moore, son of John and Rebecca Moore, known as "William Moore 
of Moore Hall," was born in the city of Philadelphia, May 6, 1699, and at the 
age of fourteen years was sent to England to be educated. He graduated at the 
University of Oxford in 17 19, and returned to Philadelphia, where he married in 
1722, Williamina, daughter of David, fourth Earl of Wemyss, who with her 
brother, James, later fifth Earl of Wemyss, had been driven from Scotland in 
1716 on account of her father having espoused the cause of the Pretender. 

According to Burke, the Earls of Wemyss trace their origin to John, the 
baronial Lord of Weems, whence the surname is probably derived, who was a 
younger son of the celebrated MacDufif, Thane of Fife, vanquisher of the tyrant 
Macbeth, immortalized by Shakespeare. According to Fordun, Sir Michael 
Wemyss, with Sir Michael Scot, was, in 1290, sent by the Lords Regent of Scot- 
land to Norway to conduct the young Queen Margaret to her new dominions, but 
she died on the journey at the Orkneys. 

This Sir Michael Wemyss swore fealty to Edward L, of England, in 1206, with 
most of the other powerful barons of Scotland. He witnessed the settlement of 
the Crown of Scotland on Robert the Bruce, and his heirs as Robert L at Ayr, 
April 25, 1315. From Sir Michael descended, 

Sir John Wemyss, of Wemyss, who married (first) in 1574, Margaret eldest 
daughter of William, Earl of Morton, by whom he had no issue ; and (second) in 
1581, sister of James, Earl of Moray, by whom he had among others. 

Sir John Wemyss, of Wemyss, created Baronet, May 29, 1625; elevated to the 
Peerage of Scotland, April i, 1628, as Baron Wemyss of Elcho, and advanced to 
the dignity of Earl of Wemyss, in the county of Fife, and Lord Elcho and Methel 
June 25, 1633. Though indebted for these high honors to Charles L, he took sides 
with the Parliament Party. He married in 1610, Jane, daughter of Patrick, sec- 
ond Lord Gray, by whom he had six children and was succeeded in 1649 by his 
son, 

David, second Earl of Wemyss, who married (first) in 1628, Jane, daughter of 
Robert Balfour, Lord Burleigh, by whom he had only one surviving child, Jane, 
first the wife of Archibald, Earl of Angus, and second of George, Earl of Suther- 
land. David married (second) Lady Eleanor Fleming, daughter of John Flem- 
ing, second Earl of Wigton, but she had no issue. He married (thirdly) Mar- 
garet, daughter of John, sixth Earl of Rothes, who had been widow successively 
of James, Lord Balgony, and of Francis, Earl of Buccleigh, by whom he had one 
daughter, Margaret, in whose favor he resigned his peerage to the Crown, and she, 
August 3, 1672, obtained a new patent, confirming the honors of the family upon 
her ladyship, with the original precedence. David, the old Earl, died in 1680. 



1 1 54 MOORE 

Lady Margaret Wemyss, as Countess of Wemyss, married Sir James Wemyss, 
of Caslysyerry, who was created Lord Burntisland, April 15, 1672. They had 
issue, besides David their successor, Anne, who married David, Earl of Levin and 
Melville, and Margaret, who married David, Earl of Northesk. The Countess 
married (second) George, first Earl of Cromarty, but had no issue by him. She 
died in 1705, and was succeeded by her only son, 

David, fourth Earl of Wemyss, who was appointed by Queen Anne, Lord High 
Admiral of Scotland. He married (first) in 1697, Lady Anne Douglass, daughter 
of William, first Duke of Queensbury, sister to James, Duke of Queensbury and 
Dover, and to William, Earl of March. He married a second time, but had no 
issue by that marriage. He died March 15, 1720, leaving issue: 

James, his successor, as the fifth Earl of Wemyss, and, 

Williamina, who married William Moore of "Moore Hall." 

Tradition relates that the mother of Williamina, who died in childbirth, had re- 
quested that her child if a male should be christened William after her brother, 
the Earl of March, and it being a girl was christened Williamina out of respect 
for her wish, hence the peculiar spelling of the name. 

William Moore, on his marriage settled on his father's tract of two hundred 
acres of land on Pickering creek, west of the Schuylkill, in Charlestown township, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, and erected "Moore Hall" on an elevation, over- 
looking the Schuylkill and miles of surrounding country, about twenty-five miles 
from Philadelphia, and lived there the remainder of his life. He was a member 
of Provincial Assembly 1733-40, and in 1741 was commissioned a Justice and pre- 
sided as President Judge of the Common Pleas, Quarter Sessions and Orphans' 
Court of Chester county, from April 4, 1741, until the Revolution. He was also 
Colonel of a Chester county Regiment, during the Colonial wars in 1747 and 1755. 
He lived at Moore Hall in considerable style, maintaining a retinue of slaves and 
servants, and entertaining lavishly in Colonial times. In 1758 he was arrested 
for publishing an address severely criticising the Provincial Assembly, and with 
his son-in-law. Dr. William Smith, Provost of the College of Philadelphia, was 
brought before the Assembly, where both refused to make any defense, he merely 
admitting the authorship of the paper. Dr. Smith carried his appeal to the Privy 
Council in England and was sustained by that body on February 13, 1760. An 
aristocratic gentleman of the old school, he had no faith in the "rabble," as he 
termed a large mass of the enthusiastic patriots of 1775-6, and remained to the 
last a staunch Tory. While the Continental Army were at Valley Forge, Col. 
Clement Biddle was quartered at "Moore Hall," and the Committee of Corre- 
spondence held a session there in 1778. 

William Moore died at "Moore Hall," May 30, 1783, aged eighty-four years. 
His will devised his whole estate to his wife, of whom he says, she was "never 
frighted by the rude rabble or dismayed by the insolent threats of the ruling 
powers ; — happy woman, a pattern of her sex and worthy of the relationship she 
bears to the Right Honorable and Noble family from which she sprang." She 
did not long survive him, dying December 6, 1784, in her eightieth year. Judge 
Moore was an enthusiastic churchman, and was a vestryman of St. James Prot- 
estant Episcopal Church of Perkiomen, and of St. David's, Radnor, where he and 
his wife are buried and where a tablet erected to their memory bears the following 
inscription : 



MOORE 1155 

TO THE MEMORY 

OF 

WILLIAM MOORE, ESQUIRE, 

Of Moore Hall, in the County of Chester 

and 

WILLIAMINA, His wife. 

He departed this life, on the 30th day of May 1783 

Aged 84 years. 

She died on the 6th day of December 1784, in the 8oth year of her age. 

This venerable pair lived together in perfect love, 
and unremitted Harmony and Confidence, for the long 
period of 63 years: dispensing the best of Life, with 
an ardent and uninterrupted zeal, revered by their 
Children, Beloved by their Friends, respected by the 
Community, in which they passed their lenthened days, — 
Benevolence & urbanity beamed on all who entered their 
Hospitable Mansion : they administered comfort to the Poor, 
& to the Afflicted, encouraging, a modest merit and protecting 

humble honesty, though covered with rags. 
He presided in the Common Pleas, Quarter Sessions & 
Orphans' Courts in this County for a great length of time, 
As a Judge, & as a Magistrate he was indefatigable in 
Exececuting the solemn charge of these important stations 
acquitting himself with intelligence, impartiahty & dignity. 
He was a tender father, — a true Friend, — an indulgent 

Master. 
She was one of "the brightest patterns of excellent nature" 
Possessing a- highly cultured understanding, she was 
mild, considerate, kind & good. She was eminently 
distinguished by her amiable disposition & unassuming 
manners ; with calmness, but with resolution, she bore 
the heaviest afflictions, — the severest trials of the uncertain 
World: and evinced her firm reliance upon a state of 
happiness, far beyond the grave. 
"That state celestial where no storm assails. 

No ills approach, — where bliss alone prevails." 

Issue of William and Williamina (Wemyss) Moore: 

Rebecca, b. at Moore Hall, Feb. 21, 1724-5, d. Jan. 9, 1728; 

William, b. Oct. s, 1726; 

Williamina, b. Feb. 21, 1728; m. Aug. 4, 1748, Dr. Phineas Bond, of Phila. ; 

John, b. Oct. I, 1729, d. Feb. 2, 1730; 

John, b. Jan. 21, 1731 ; m. Dec. 3, 1758, Anne O'Niel; 

Rebecca, b. in Phila., Feb. 21, 1732-3, d. Oct, 20, 1793; m. William Smith, D. D.; 

Thomas William, b. at "Moore Hall," June 12, 1735; merchant in New York City; d- 
in England; m. Anne, widow of Dr. Richard Ascough, Surgeon in British Army, July 
6, 1 761; 

Margaret, b. March 26, 1738, d. July 17, 1745; 

Mary, b. July 8, 1741 ; 

Anne, b. at "Moore Hall," Oct. 14, 1742, d. Dec. 20, 1810; m. June 2, 1774, Dr. Charles 
Ridgely, b. Salem, N. J., Jan. 26, 1738, d. Dover, Del., Nov. 25, 1785; member of As- 
sembly and of convention that framed the constitution of 1776; 

Frances, b. March 10, 1744-5; 

James Wemyss Moore, b. July 22, 1747; went to S. C. during Revolutionary War, served 
as Surgeon in Continental Army, under Gen. Gates ; m. Susanna Jones, and d. when 
comparatively young, leaving son who studied medicine in Phila., but d. young, and 
daughter, Willamina, who m. Maj. John Berrien, son of Judge John Berrien, a warm 
personal friend of Gen. George Washington. 



SMITH FAMILY. 

Rev. William Smith, D. D., first Provost of the College of Philadelphia, later 
the University of Pennsylvania, was born at Aberdeen, Scotland, September 7, 
1727, and came of a noble English family. His ancestry as entered of record at 
the University of .Aberdeen, his alma mater, was as follows : 

John Smyth (later spelled Smith), a descendant of Roger de Clarendon, son 
of Edward the Black Prince, born in the year 1500, was sheriff of counties of 
Essex and Hertsford, 1539. He married Agnes Charnolts, of an ancient Lan- 
caster family, and was succeeded by his son, 

Sir William Smith, who died in 165 1, leaving an only son, 

William Smith, born 1620, who was the father of, 

Thomas Smith, born at Aberdeen, in 1692, married Elizabeth Duncan in 1724. 
She was a daughter of Alexander Duncan, Esq., of Lundie county, belonging to 
a Dundee family of remote antiquity, who married a daughter of Sir Peter Mur- 
ray, Bart, of Auchtentyre, and had beside Elizabeth, a son Adam Duncan, born 
1725, who adopted the naval profession and became celebrated as "the hero of 
Camperdown." He entered the naval service in 1746, under Robert Haldane, and 
became Rear Admiral of the Blue in 1789, passing through all the intermediate 
grades. On October 11, 1797, he achieved a splendid victory over the Dutch fleet, 
under Admiral de Winter, off Camperdown, and was elevated to the peerage 
October 30, 1797, as Baron Duncan of Lundie, and Viscount Duncan of Camper- 
down. He married Henrietta, second daughter of Right Honorable Robert Dun- 
das, of Arniston, Lord President of the Court of Session, and niece of Henry 
Dundas, Lord Dunira, first Viscount Melville. 

He came to Philadelphia later, and resided for a time at the corner of Front 
and Arch Streets. 

Thomas and Elizabeth (Duncan) Smith had issue: 

William Smith, D. D., b. Sept. 7, 1727, bapt. at Aberdeen Kirk, Oct. 19, 1727; of whom 
presently; 

Isabella, b. 1728, d. unm. at Falls of Schuylkill, Phila., Pa., 1802, 

Thomas Smith married (second) Margaret Campbell, and had issue: 

Charles, who came to America, but later returned to London, and d. there; 
Thomas, came to Pa. and became Judge of the Supreme Court, Jan. 31, 1794, d. i8ti; 
James, sailed for America, but was lost at sea. 

Dr. William Smith entered the LTniversity of Aberdeen in 1741, and received 
his degree there, after the prescribed term of six years, in 1747. The next three 
years were spent in teaching, preparation for the ministry and careful study of 
the best methods of teaching useful knowledge. The year 1750 was .spent in Lon- 
don, where his first articles on educational topics were published. March 3, 1751, 
he embarked for New York, and landed there on May i. He became acquainted 
with the family of Thomas Martin, of Long Island, and was selected by Martin 
as tutor for his children and remained there until August, 1753. 

During the last year of his tutorship, he published a pamphlet entitled "A Gen- 



SMITH 1 1 57 

eral Idea of the College of Mirania," written for the purpose of demonstrating 
his views of the requirements of an institution of learning in a new country. It 
attracted considerable attention, and came to the notice of Dr. Benjamin Franklin 
and a number of other Philadelphians, who were then about establishing the 
"Charitable School and College of Philadelphia," which ultimately became the 
University of Pennsylvania; and, May 25, 1853, he was tendered the position of 
teacher of natural philosophy, logic, etc., in the new institution. The offer was 
a flattering one to the enthusiastic young teacher but before accepting, he decided 
to return to England and take holy orders. He therefore sailed for England on 
October 13, 1753, and arriving in London December i, was ordained as Deacon 
on December 21 by the Bishop of London, and as Priest by the Bishop of Carlisle, 
two days later. On December 26 he started for a farewell visit to the home of 
his father in Aberdeen, and, December 31, preached his first sermon in the old 
Kirk in which he was baptized. After a few months spent in his native place, he 
again embarked for America and arriving in Philadelphia, May 22, 1754, was 
two days later inducted into the office of Provost of the College and Academy of 
Philadelphia, and Professor of Natural Philosophy in that institution, and took 
up his duties on May 25. 

Dr. Smith, at once threw his whole energy into the task of building up a model 
institution of learning in the city of his adoption. He was foremost in collecting 
money for the college at home and abroad and in securing for it in the following 
year a liberal charter. To his earnest and untiring efforts in its behalf and the 
enthusiasm which these inspired in other friends of learning, the College was 
largely indebted for its rapid rise to a place of prominence among the institutions 
of this country. He became at once thoroughly American and took a deep inter- 
est in the policies and institutions of his adopted country. He edited a magazine, 
the best which up to that time had appeared in America, superintended the publi- 
cation of several books of poems and "The History of Bouquet's Expedition 
against the Indians," and several other publications. Becoming secretary of the 
American Philosophical Society, he took a lively interest in the general promul- 
gation of useful knowledge. No one exercised a more beneficial influence in the 
development of a taste for literary pursuits in the city of Philadelphia. His plan 
for the education of the Germans in Pennsylvania proved futile, because of the 
racial characteristics of this peculiar element in the settlement and civilization of 
the new world. In politics he was an adherent of the Proprietary party, and 
wrote extensively in defense of Penn's Charter in 1764, when Franklin and others 
wished to surrender it to the Crown. During the French and Indian Wars, he 
preached at least six military sermons. 

In 1758 he returned to England, principally to prosecute his appeal to the Privy 
Council, from the judgment of the Pennsylvania Assembly, on his political con- 
duct and that of his father-in-law, William Moore, of "Moore Hall," and was 
successful in his suit. While abroad he visited his alma mater, the L^niversity 
of Aberdeen, and received from it the degree of D. D. ; the University of Oxford 
also conferring upon him the same honor. In 1762 he again visited his native 
land, this time in behalf of his College, and in conjunction with Sir James Jay, 
collected in, 873 for its benefit. On this trip the University of Dublin conferred 
upon him the degree of D. D. 

In 1770, he went to South Carolina to collect money for the College. He was 



1 1 58 SMITH 

from the outset in entire accord with the opposition to the oppressive measures 
of Great Britain, that preceded the Revolutionary struggle, and gave the cause of 
the Colonies the support of his voice and pen. A number of the Trustees, patrons 
and faculty of the College, were, however, pronounced Tories, and the war 
brought serious disaster to the institution ; much of its property being confiscated 
and its usefulness for a time was entirely suspended. During this interval, Dr. Smith 
removed (in 1780) to Chestertown, Maryland, and took charge of the parish and 
school of Kent county ; the latter two years later growing into Washington College 
under his fostership. He was made Bishop of Maryland in 1783, and did much 
to build up the Protestant Episcopal Church in that state, as well as in the State 
of Pennsylvania. 

In 1789 he returned to Philadelphia and succeeded in having the charter of the 
college restored as well as the estate belonging to it that had been confiscatd. He 
died in Philadelphia, May 14, 1803, leaving behind him a record of half a century 
of loyal work in behalf of education in all that that word implies, which, in view 
of the difficulties encountered and surmounted, has seldom if ever been surpassed. 

Dr. Smith married July 3, 1758, Rebecca, daughter of William Moore, Esq., of 
"Moore Hall," Chester county, Pennsylvania, by his wife, Williamina, daughter of 
David, fourth Earl of Wemyss, an account of whom and their ancestry is given 
above. Mrs. Smith was a lady of rare accomplishments and a fitting helpmeet to 
the distinguished scholar and divine. She died at Philadelphia, Sepftember 20, 

1793- 

Issue of Dr. William and Rebecca (Moore) Smith: 

William Moore Smith, b. June i, 1759, d. March 12, 1821 ; m. June 3, 1786, Ann Ru- 
dolph; of whom presently; 

Thomas Duncan Smith, b. Phila., Nov. 18, 1760, d. July 9, 1789, at Huntingdon, Pa.; 
educated at the College of Phila., studied medicine and located at Huntingdon; was 
commissioned Justice of Huntingdon co. Nov. 23, 1787, two months after its organiza- 
tion into a county; 

Williamina Elizabeth, b. July 4, 1762, d. Dec. 19, 1790; 

Charles Smith, LL. D., b. March 4, 1765, d. April 18, 1836; m. March 3, 1791, Mary 
Yeates; of whom later; 

Phineas Smith, b. Jan. 31, 1767, d. Aug. 16, 1770; 

Richard Smith, b. Jan. 25, 1769, d. s. p. Oct. i, 1823; studied law in Phila., admitted to 

Bar Feb. 27, 1792, settled at Huntingdon, Pa.; m. Letitia Nixon, dau. of John and 

Letitia (Nixon) Coakley, of Lancaster, Pa.; 
Rebecca, b. April 11, 1772, d. March 9, 1837; m. Samuel Blodgett, May 10, 1792; 
Eliza, b. May 16, 1776, d. Sept. 25, 1778. 

William Moore Smith, eldest son of Rev. William Smith, D. D., by his wife, 
Rebecca Moore, born in Philadelphia, June i, 1759, graduated at the College of 
Philadelphia in 1775. He studied law and on his admission to the Bar, located at 
Easton, Pennsylvania, where he practiced for a number of years. He was for 
several years the agent for the settlement of British claims in America, under the 
Jay treaty. He was a man of fine literary taste and was the author of several 
political pamphlets, essays, etc., and published a volume of poems in 1786, which 
waS re-published in London the same year. He died March 12, 1821. He mar- 
ried June 3, 1786, Ann Rudolph. 

Issue of William Moore and Ann (Rudolph) Smith: 

William Rudolph, b. Aug. 31, 1787, at La Trappe, Montgomery co., Pa., d. in Wis., Aug. 
22, 1868; m. (first) Eliza Anthony, and (second) Mary H. Vandyke; of whom pres- 
ently; 



SMITH 1159 

Samuel Wemyss Smith, b. Sept. I, 1796, d. Jan. 6, 1819; 

Richard Penn Smith, b. March 13, 1799, d. Aug. 15, 1854; educated in Phila. and Hunt- 
ingdon, Pa.; studied law under William Rawle, Esq., at Phila., and was admitted to 
Bar, in 1820; inheriting from father and grandfather a taste for literary pursuits, he 
published series of essays in the Union, under title of "Plagiary," which possessed 
considerable literary merit. About 1822 he purchased the "Aurora" of Mr. Duane, 
and was editor for five years, after which he returned to practice of his profession, 
but made frequent contributions to periodicals of the day. Among his published works 
are, "The Forsaken," a novel, 1831; "Actress of Padua and Other Tales," 1836; "Life 
of David Crockett," 1836; and a number of short tales. He wrote the "Tragedy of 
Caius Marius" for Edwin Forrest, and a number of comedies and tragedies, among 
them the "Venitian," in five acts. He m. (first) May, 1823, his cousin, Elinor Matilda 
(Blodgett) Lincoln, dau. of Samuel Blodgett, by his wife, Rebecca Smith, dau. of 
Rev. William Smith, D. D., who had previously m. Abel Lincoln, of Mass. She d. 
June 5, 1822. Richard P. Smith m. (second) 1836, Isabella Stratton, dau. of Christo- 
pher and Elizabeth Kinsall, b. Nov. 27, 1812, d. May 17, 1880. 

William Rudolph Smith, eldest son of William Moore and Ann (Rudolph) 
Smith, born at La Trappe, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, August 31, 1787, 
was educated under the care of his father and at the College of Philadelphia, and 
later travelled with him in Europe, acting as his secretary when one of the Com- 
missioners of Jay's treaty. He studied law under Thomas Kearsly of the Middle 
Temple, London, and returning to Philadelphia was admitted to the bar in 1808, 
and a year later located in Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, and began the practice of 
his profession. He was District Attorney of Cambria county. He had served as 
a member of the Third Troop of Philadelphia Light Plorse while a resident of 
that city, and on the outbreak of the second war with Great Britain, became Colo- 
nel of the Sixty-second Regiment of Pennsylvania Militia, and served in the ex- 
pedition against Canada, participating in the battle of Lundy's Lane. 

In 1827, he removed to Bedford county and in 1837 was appointed commis- 
sioner to treat with the Chippewa Indians for the purchase of their lands on the 
Mississippi River. Strongly impressed with the possibilities of the newly acquired 
territory, he removed in 1838, to Wisconsin territory of which he was appointed 
Adjutant General. He was active in the Convention that adopted the first con- 
stitution of the State in 1848, was Clerk of the State Senate, 1849-50, and Attor- 
ney General, 1856-8. He published, 1854, a history of Wisconsin. He died Au- 
gust 22, 1868. 

WiUiam Rudolph Smith married March 16, 1809, Eliza, daughter of Joseph 
and Henrietta (Hillegas) Anthony, of Philadelphia. She was born in Philadel- 
phia, August 12, 1789, and died January 10, 1821. Her father, Joseph Anthony, 
was born in Philadelphia, January 15, 1762, and died August 4, 1814. He was 
married by Bishop William White, December 29, 1785, to Henrietta Hillegas, born 
in Philadelphia, September 23, 1766, died October 3, 1812, daughter of Michael 
and Henrietta (Boude) Hillegas, and granddaughter of Michael Hillegas, who 
with wife, Margaret, emigrated from Germany and located in Philadelphia in 
1747. Michael Hillegas, Jr., born in Germany, April 22, 1729, came to Philadel- 
phia with his parents, when a youth, and became prominently identified with the 
institutions of that city, representing the city in the Provincial Assembly 1765-76; 
was one of the committee appointed to audit the accounts of the General Loan 
Office, and in 1771 was one of the Commissioners appointed to improve the navi- 
gation in the Delaware. He was a member of the Committee of Observation for 
Philadelphia in 1774; on June 31, 1776, was made Treasurer of the Pennsylvania 
Committee of Safety, and on May 31, 1776, was named, jointly with George 
32 



ii6o SMITH 

Clymer, Treasurer of the United Colonies, and from August 6, 1776, to Septem- 
ber II, 1789, was sole Treasurer of the United States. He was elected a member 
of the American Philosophical Society, April 8, 1768, and was one of the most 
active of its members as evidenced by his correspondence with Dr. Franklin on 
various scientific subjects. He died in Philadelphia, September 29, 1804. He 
married at Christ Church, May 10, 1753, Henrietta Boude, born January 17, 
1731-2, died January 25, 1792, daughter of Samuel Boude, who had married 
Deborah, daughter of Peter Coxe; and granddaughter of Grimstone Boude, of a 
distinguished and noble English family. 

Issue of William Rudolph and Elisa (Anthony) Smith: 

William Anthony Smith, M. D., b. Nov. 13, 1809, d. Oct. 20, 1887; graduated Univ. of 
Pa. 1832; Surgeon of U. S. Vols. 1862-66; for a time prisoner in Libby Prison; mem- 
ber of Historical Society of Pa.; m. May 23, 1842, Rebecca C. Bellas; 

Thomas Duncan Smith, b. Feb. 7, 1812, d. Oct. 11, 1880; of whom presently; 

Henrietta Williamina Smith, b. May 2, 1814, d. Nov. 7, 1873; m- July, 1855, Robert Enoch 
Hobart, of Pottstown, Pa.; 

Anne Amelia Smith, b. March 13, 1816, d. July 28, 1890; m. April 5. 1838, John Potts 
Hobart, of Pottstown Bar, Schuylkill co. ; 

Algernon Sydney Smith, b. Feb. 3, 1817, d. Oct. lo, 1818; 

Eliza Anthony Smith, b. Oct. 27, 1820, d. June 9, 1825. 

Hon. William Rudolph Smith married (second) October 25, 1823, Mary Ham- 
ilton Vandycke, born at Marysville, Tennessee, April 17, 1805, fourth daughter of 
Dr. Thomas James Vandycke, of the United States Army, by his wife, Penelope 
Smith Campbell. 

Issue of Hon. William Randolph and Mary H. (Vandycke) Smith: 

Rudolph Vandycke Smith, b. Sept. 5, 1825, d. June 17, 1857; 

Richard Moore Smith, b. Oct. i, 1828; 

Penelope Campbell Smith, b. Aug. 2, 1830, d. Dec. 17, 1852; 

Letitia Nixon Smith, b. Jan. 5, 1833, d. Feb. 24, 1833; 

John Montgomery Smith, b. Oct. 26, 1834; 

Maria Letitia Smith, b. Sept. 10, 1836, d. Dec. 26, 1852; 

Samuel Wemyss Smith, b. April 10, 1840; 

Mary Eliza Smith, b. Jan. 24, 1845; 

Henry Hobart Smith, b. May 21, 1848, d. April 18, 1850. 

Thomas Duncan Smith, second son of William Rudolph and Eliza (Anthony) 
Smith, born at Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, February 7, 1812, studied law under 
his uncle Richard Penn Smith, and was admitted to the Bar of Philadelphia coun- 
ty, and practiced law there until his death, October 11, 1880. He married Febru- 
ary 3, 1847, Sarah Wurts, daughter of Robert and Mary (Campbell) Barns, who 
was born September 25. 1820. 

Issue of Thomas Duncan and Sarah Wurts (Barns) Smith: 

Mary Barns Smith, b. Nov. 21, 1847; 

Thomas Duncan Smith, Jr., b. Nov. 27, 1849, d. Dec. 31, i860; 

William Rudolph Smith, b. Oct. 13, 1851 ; of whom presently; 

Catharine Wurts Smith, b. Sept. 25, 1853, d. Aug. 25, 1855; 

Sarah Wurts Smith, b. May 6, 185S; 

.■\nne Hobart Smith, b. Dec. 20, i860; 

Henry Austia Smith, of Phila. Bar, b. Feb. 3. 1864. 



SMITH 1161 

William Rudolph Smith, second son of Thomas Duncan Smith, Esq., by his 
wife, Sarah Wurts Barns, born in Philadelphia, October 13, 185 1 ; married, Octo- 
ber 7, 1875, Elizabeth Rhoads, daughter of Dr. George and Anna Bailey, born 
October 23, 1852, died February 15, 1889. He married (second) Sarah Whelen 
Bruen, a great-granddaughter of Judge Charles Smith. 

Issue of William Rudolph and Elisabeth Rhoads (Bailey) Smith: 

Laura Bailey Smith, b. Jan. 11, 1878; m. Jan. 21, 1905, Charles Hudson, and had issue, 

Elizabeth Hudson, b. Jan. 21, 1906; 
Thomas Duncan Smith, b. Dec. i, 1880 ; 
George Valentine Smith, b. June 24, 1883. 

Charles Smith, LL. D., third son of William Smith, D. D., by his wife Re- 
becca Moore, daughter of William Moore, of "Moore Hall," born in Philadelphia, 
March 4, 1765, was educated under the care of his father, then Provost of the 
College of Philadelphia, and at Washington College, Chestertown, Maryland, 
founded by his father; graduating at the latter institution, May 14, 1783, being the 
Valedictorian of his class. He studied law with his elder brother, William Moore 
Smith, at Easton, Pennsylvania, and was admitted to the Philadelphia Bar in 1786. 
He soon after located at Sunbury, Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, and 
practiced law there for a number of years, acquiring considerable eminence in 
his profession. He was a delegate from Northumberland to the Pennsylvania 
Constitutional Convention of 1790, and represented his district in the Pennsyl- 
vania Assembly in 1803, 07, and 09, and in the State Senate in 1816. 

When the "Laws of Pennsylvania," were published in 1810-12, under the au- 
thority of the Legislature, Mr. Smith furnished valuable notes for the work. He 
was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 1805, and was one 
of its active members for many years. In 1819 the University of Pennsylvania 
conferred upon him the honorary degree of LL. D. and on March 27 of that year 
he was appointed President Judge of the Ninth Judicial District, comprising the 
counties of Cumberland, Franklin and Adams. On April 28, 1820, he was ap- 
pointed Judge of the Circuit Court for the District of the city and county of 
Lancaster. On assuming the latter position he erected a handsome residence, near 
Lancaster, which he named "Hardwicke," and resided there for a number of 
years. He later removed to Baltimore, Maryland, and after a residence there of 
a few years removed to Philadelphia, and died at his residence, No. 12 Clinton 
Square, in that city, March 18, 1836, and is buried at the Church of the Epiphany. 

Judge Smith married at Lancaster, March 3, 1791, Mary, eldest daughter of 
Judge Jasper Yeates, of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, by his wife, Sarah, 
daughter of Col. James Burd, a distinguished officer in the Colonial wars as well 
as in the Revolution. Mary Yeates Smith was born at Lancaster, Pennsylvania, 
March 13, 1770, and died in Philadelphia, August 27, 1836. 
Issue of Judge Charles and Mary (Yeates) Smith: 

Jasper V'eates Smith, b. March 15, 1792, d. Nov. 19, 1822, unm.; 

William Wemyss Smith, b. March 20, 1795, d. at Huntingdon, Pa., March 27, 1828; 

Willamina Elizabeth Smith, b. Oct. 3, 1797, d. at Lancaster, Jan. 9, 1848; m. Feb. 22. 

1822, Thomas McElwee, of Lancaster co. Bar; 
Sarah Smith, b. March 24, 1802, d. at Baltimore, Md., 1846; m. Jan. 20, 1S23, Leonard 

Kimball, of Baltimore Bar; 



ii62 SMITH 

Charles Edward Smith, b. March 6, 1804, d. January 2, 1829; m. Rebecca Owen Grogan, 
of Baltimore; 

Mary Margaret Smith, b. Oct. 16, 1808, d. Jan. 11, 1869; m. George Brinton, of Phila., 
b. March 7, 1804, d. June 30, 1858, son of John Hill and Sarah (Steinmitz) Brinton, 
of that city, and descendant of William Brinton, who came from Stafifordshire, Eng- 
land, in 1684, and settled in Chester, now Delaware co. 
Issue of George and Mary Margaret {Smith) Brinton : 
John Hill Brinton, b. May 21, 1832, distinguished physician, surgeon, professor of 
surgery, etc., at Jefferson Medical College and Univ. of Pa.; Surgeon U. S. 
Vols. Aug. 3, 1861, to March 9, 1865; 
Mary Yeates Brinton; 

Sarah Frederica Brinton, m. Dr. J. M. da Costa, of Jefferson Medical College; 
Margaret Yeates Brinton, ra. Nathaniel Chapman Mitchell, of Phila. Bar. 
Theodore Horatio Smith, b. Jan. 20, 1809, d. March 27, 1837; 
Catharine Yeates Smith, b. Dec. 31, 1810, d. July 3, 1817. 



BROCK FAMILY. 

John Brock, ancestor of the Brock family of Philadelphia and Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, came from near Stockport, in the county of Chester, England. He 
had purchased i,ooo acres of land of William Penn, to be laid out in the new 
Province of Pennsylvania, and preceded Penn to that Province, arriving in the 
river Delaware, 7 mo. (September) 28, 1682, in the "Friends Adventure," Capt. 
Thomas Wall. He brought with him three servants, William Morton, Job Houle 
and Ellis Eaton. 

Of the 1,000 acres purchased by John Brock of William Penn by deeds of 
lease and release, bearing date, the second and third days of March, 1681, six 
hundred acres were laid out to him in Makefield township, Bucks county, just 
below the present borough of Yardley, on which he settled and lived until his 
death in 1700. The remaining four hundred acres of his purchase remained un- 
located at his death and was included in the inventory of his estate filed by his 
administratrix, and bearing date to mo. (December) 28, 1700, as "ye four hun- 
dred acers of Land, unpatented." 

John Brock became at once a prominent man in the affairs of the little Quaker 
colony on the Delaware, and was the close associate of his neighbors, William 
Yardley, Richard Hough, William Biles and Thomas Janney, all of whom were 
members of the Provincial Council of Pennsylvania, as well as prominent officials 
of the county. John Brock was commissioned Sheriff of Bucks county in 1683, 
and filled that position for three years. He was commissioned as a Justice of 
the Peace and of the Courts of Bucks county, January 2, 1689; was recommis- 
sioned July 13, 1693, and continued to fill that position until his death, late in 
1700. 

He was a member of the Society of Friends, and was unmarried on his arrival 
m Pennsylvania, but married soon after Elizabeth, daughter of Elizabeth Rowden, 
the second wife of Dr. Thomas. Wynne, by a former marriage. On the records 
of Middletown Monthly Meeting of Friends appears the record of the birth of 
four children of John and Elizabeth Brock, but the minutes of that meeting give 
no mention of his marriage there or of a certificate being granted to him to marry 
elsewhere. He should properly, considering the location of his plantation, have 
been a member of Falls Meeting, but at that early date the bounds of the two 
first Meetings of the county were not very clearly defined. 

Letters of Administration were granted at Philadelphia, October 17, 1704, on 
the estate of John Brock, late of Bucks county, to his widow, Elizabeth Brock, 
and she gave bond in the sum of five hundred pounds with William Biles and 
Richard Hough as sureties. The inventory of his estate made 10 mo. (Decem- 
ber) 28, 1700, by Richard Hough, Peter Worrall and Jacob Janney, was filed at 
the same time. It is made up principally of household goods, farming implements 
and stock; the plantation of six hundred acres is valued at four hundred pounds, 
and the four hundred acres, "unpatented," at thirty pounds. No settlement seems 
to have been filed by the Administratrix, who several years after his death mar- 



ii64 BROCK 

ried Richard Eyres, of Burlington county, New Jersey, and took up her residence 
there with her husband. 

The Makefield plantation probably came unto the possession of the eldest son, 
John Brock, the second, who was almost sixteen years of age at the death of his 
father, and was probably of age at the marriage of his mother to Richard Eyres. 
"John Brock, the 2d," also died intestate, and evidently unmarried, at least with- 
out issue, and letters of administration were granted on his estate at Philadelphia, 
October 2, 1712, to Mary Brown, probably his sister, and wife of Joseph Brown, 
of Makefield, son of George and Mercy, the pioneer ancestors of the Brown fam- 
ily of Lower Bucks. He is called "John Brock, the 2d, of Makefield, Bucks 
County," in the grant of letters, and Abel Janney was the surety of the Adminis- 
tratrix. The inventory is made by Thomas Yardley, Thomas Ashton and Abel 
Janney. 

On November 3, 1713, "Richard Eyre, of the County of Burlington, Province 
of West Jersey, and Elizabeth his wife (relict of John Brock, late of the County 
of Bucks, in the Province of Pennsylvania, deceased)," convey to Ralph Brock, 
of the said county of Bucks, millwright (son of the said Elizabeth, by John Brock, 
aforesaid), all the right title and interest of the said Richard and Elizabeth in the 
600 acres of land in Makefield and the 400 acres of unlocated land of which said 
John Brock died seized. 

On December 10, 1713, Ralph Brock, of Makefield, Bucks county, millwright, 
conveys to John Lambert, of Nottingham, New Jersey, 223 acres of the 600 acres 
laid out to his father, as "son and heir of said John Brock." In a deed dated 
June 12, 1729, Ralph Brock, "late of Makefield," conveys to John Cawley forty- 
five acres as part of the 1,000 acres purchased by his father of William Penn, 
reciting that "since the death of his said father said Ralph Brock having obtained 
releases from under the hands and seals of all his brothers and sisters, of, in, and 
to, all their right title and interest in the said one thousand acres." 

In another deed dated April 28, 1732, from Ralph Brock, of Bucks county, 
carpenter, to Thomas Yardley, it is recited that "by the death of John Brock, 
late of Bucks County, father of the said Ralph, the 600 acres of which the tract 
hereby conveyed is a part, legally descended to John Brock, eldest son of the said 
John Brock, deceased; and by the death of said John Brock, the son, descended 
to and became the right in law of the said Ralph Brock, his eldest brother," 
Ralph Brock eventually removed to Philadelphia, and died there intestate and 
insolvent, and letters of administration were granted to William Ball, of that city, 
"principal creditor." He was evidently unmarried, no wife joining in any of the 
deeds above quoted. 

The record of the births of the children of John and Elizabeth Brock on the 
Middletown, Bucks County, Monthly Meeting records, is as follows : — 

"John Brock, b. imo. 7, 1684, died imo. 15, 1684; John Brock, b. 8mo. 14, 
1685; Ralph Brock, b. imo. 30, 1688; John Brock, b. 8mo. 30, 1690." 

The last item is very evidently an error, as the records above quoted show that 
John Brock was the "eldest son" and died in 1712. That there were a number 
of other children of John and Elizabeth Brock is also very evident from the fact 
that Ralph refers to releases from "all his brothers and sisters," using the plural 
in both instances, though his brother John was then deceased. "Mary Brown," 



BROCK 1 165 

the administratrix of John Brock, the second, was doubtless one of the sisters, 
and Richard Brock, we know, was one of the other brothers. 

Thomas Brock, Sheriff of Bucks county, 1693-5, was probably brother of John 
Brock Sr. He was a considerable land owner in Bucks county at different periods 
prior to 1700, was later a resident of Burlington county, New Jersey, and died in 
Philadelphia, apparently without issue. 

The younger children of John and Elizabeth Brock probably accompanied 
their mother and stepfather to New Jersey, where there was a number of the 
name in the next generation. One of these without doubt a grandson of John and 
Elizabeth, and probably a son of Stephen Brock, of Buckingham, on tax lists of 
1722-6, applied for membership in Kingwood, or Quakertown, Monthly Meeting, 
in Kingwood township, Hunterdon county, New Jersey, 10 mo. (October) 9, 
1755, and at the next meeting declared intentions of marriage with Jane Sim- 
cock, and on the records of that Meeting appears the births of six children, Mary, 
Daniel, Jacob, Jane, Alice and Stephen, the first in 1756 and the last 1766, and 
another was born later, and on 2 mo. 7, 1770, John Brock requests a certificate 
for himself, his wife Jane and seven children to Hopewell Monthly Meeting in 
Virginia, and it is granted. 

Richard Brock, one of the younger sons of John and Elizabeth Brock, was 
born in Makefield, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, about 1695, and in 1718, married 
Susanna Scarborough, born 5 mo. (July) 19, 1697, died prior to 1727, daughter 
of John Scarborough, of Solebury township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, born 
in London, England, in 1667, died in Solebury i mo. (March) 27, 1727; who 
came to Bucks county with his father, John Scarborough, of the parish of St. 
Sepulchre, London, in 1682, and settled in Solebury in 1698. He was a promi- 
nent man in the community and one of the founders of Buckingham Meeting of 
Friends, and is mentioned on the records of the Quarterly Meeting at Philadel- 
phia, among the "Friends eminent for their piety and virtue since their first settle- 
ment in America." 

Richard Brock continued to reside in the vicinity of the place of his birth, in 
lower Bucks county, for some years after his marriage, as he appears as a wit- 
ness to the will of Isaac Atkinson, who resided in Bristol township, just west of 
the Manor of Pennsbury, in 1721. He died, however, in Solebury township, 
shortly prior to 1753. 

The children of Richard and Susanna (Scarborough), as shown by the will 
of John Scarborough, were : John, Elizabeth, Mary and Susannah. 

John Brock, only son of Richard and Susanna (Scarborough) Brock, was 
born in Bucks county, about the year 1720, and left an orphan at an early age, 
was probably reared in the family of some of his mother's relatives in Solebury, 
where the Scarborough family were large land owners. He was evidently a 
birthright member of Buckingham Monthly Meeting, that Meeting having been 
erected into a Monthly Meeting out of Falls Monthly Meeting at about the time 
of his birth. On 3 mo. 26, 1753, he declared intentions of marriage at Abington 
Monthly Meeting, Philadelphia county, with Sarah Jenkins, and was directed to 
produce a certificate at the next meeting. On 4 mo. 30, 1753, he produced a cer- 
tificate from Buckingham Meeting, and they were given permission to marry. 
The marriage took place at Abington, 5 mo. (May) 4, 1753, and the certificate 



ii68 BROCK 

a large landholder and prominent citizen of Bucks county, and has left numerous 
descendants who held a like high place in the affairs of the county, colony and 
state. 

Joseph Fell, the maternal great-grandfather of Sarah (Kirk) Brock, was 
born at Longlands, the seat of his family for many generations, in the parish of 
Rockdale, county of Cumberland, England, October 19, 1668, and married there, 
in 1698, Bridget Wilson. In 1704, with his wife and two sons, Joseph and Ben- 
jamin, he emigrated to America, and located for a short time in lower Bucks 
county, but in 1706 removed to Buckingham township, where he took up large 
tracts of land and became one of the most prominent men of that locality. His 
wife Bridget dying, after the birth of several other children, he married (second) 
Elizabeth, daughter of Edward and Rebecca (Dungan) Doyle, and lived to rear 
a large family of children who have left numerous descendants. 

Benjamin Fell, second son of Joseph and Bridget (Wilson) Fell, was born at 
Longlands, Cumberland county, England, November i, 1703, and was therefore 
an infant when his parents came to Bucks county. On his marriage to Hannah 
Scarborough, August 27, 1728, before recited, his father conveyed to him a tract 
of land in Buckingham on which he resided until his death, September 12, 1758, 
having been thrice married and was the father of eleven children. 

Isaac Kirk, the grandfather of Sarah (Kirk) Brock, was an early purchaser 
of large tracts of land in the then unsettled portions of Bucks county, among 
which was a large tract of land in Springfield township, upon which his son, 
Stephen, the father of Mrs. Brock, settled in early life, and where he resided the 
greater part of his Hfe, inheriting the lands there, as well as a portion of the 
Buckingham homestead at his father's death. 

On the marriage of John Brock, in 1789, to Sarah Kirk, he located at Spring- 
town, a little hamlet in Springfield township, near the upper line of Bucks county, 
and engaged in the mercantile business there until 1823, when he removed to the 
vicinity of Doylestown, and after about five years residence on a small farm there 
removed to Philadelphia, where he died January 20, 1844. During his residence 
in Upper Bucks he owned, at different {Periods, in addition to his store stand in 
Springtown, a small farm in Springfield, and also a tract of land in Durham 
township. 

Sarah (Kirk) Brock died at Springtown, October 6, 1802, as shown by the 
records of Richland Monthly Meeting of Friends, where the family held member- 
ship. About a year after the death of his first wife John Brock married (second) 
Massey, daughter of Arnold Warner, by his wife, Margery Hall, born March 
23, 1734-5, daughter of Mathew Hall, who came from Birmingham, England, 
about 1725, and married, in 1731, Sarah (Scarborough), widow of George Ha- 
worth, of Solebury, Bucks county, and daughter of John and Sarah Scarborough, 
and sister to Hannah Scarborough, the wife of Benjamin Fell, above mentioned. 
Arnold Warner, the father of Massey (Warner) Brock, was son of Isaac War- 
ner, of Blockley, Philadelphia, by his wife, Veronica Cassell; grandson of John 
and Ann (Campden) Warner, and great-grandson of WilHam Warner, the 
pioneer settler of Blockley. 

Issue of John and Sarah (Kirk) Brock: — 

Stephen Brock, b. at Springtown, Bucks co., Pa., June 29, 1790, d. at Doylestown, 
Bucks CO., Aug. II, i860; sheriff of Bucks co., 1821-3: and 1827-8, inclusive, tvio 



BROCK 1 169 

terms of three years each ; prominent landowner and bushiess man of upper and 
central Bucks; m. Mary, dau. of John and Elizabeth (Preston) Jones, of Buck- 
ingham, Bucks CO., and was father of eight children, several of whom became 
prominent in business affairs of Phila., where descendants of the name still 
reside; 

John Brock, b. Jan. 24. 1792; m. Catharine Egert, of whom presently; 

Phebc Brock, b. 1794, m. Charles Watson, b. Oct. 18, 1790, son of John and Mary 
(Jackson) Watson, of Buckingham; and removed to Phila., where their six 
children continued to reside; 

Charles Brock, m. Eliza Zeigler; resided in Bucks co., until 1820, then removed to 
Phila., where he was prominent flour merchant; d. prior to 1846; had six children, 
Charles, William, Sarah, Samuel, Louisa, wife of William Fry, and Christiana, 
wife of Jacob Jenkins; 

Issue of John and Massey (Warner) Brock: 

Mary Warner Brock, m. Oct. 11, 1827, Mark L. Wilson, of Milford township, Bucks 
CO., b. Oct. 27, 1802, son of Moses and Jane (Lester) Wilson; and with his 
parents and their three children, Stephen B., Shipley and Elizabeth, removed to 
Milford, Ind., in 1834; 

EHzabeth Brock, m. Joseph Meredith, of Buckingham, Bucks co., and both lived 
all their lives there ; left four children, only one of whom married — Sarah, wife of 
George Watson, of Phila. 

John Brock, son of John and Sarah (Kirk) Brock, born at Springtown, Bucks 
county, January 24, 1792, removed to Doylestown, the county seat of Bucks 
county, on arriving at manhood, and engaged in the mercantile business there 
until 1818, when he removed to Philadelphia and entered the employ of James 
Whitehead. He was a Lieutenant in the State Troop during the War of 1812-14. 
On removing to Philadelphia, he engaged in the grocery business with Thomas M. 
Rush, under the firm name of Brock & Rush, on North Second street, later with 
Peter Herzog and Jacob Gulp Co., and in 1842, John Brock, Sons & Co., and was 
one of the largest wholesale grocery firms in the city, doing a large and profitable 
business. John Brock was one of the early purchasers of coal lands, in Schuylkill 
county, and founded the town of Ashland, in that county, and one of the pro- 
moters of the North Pennsylvania Railroad Company. His sons, George E., Will- 
iam Penn and Charles, were for some years associated in business with him in 
Philadelphia. 

John Brock married,- in 181 5, Catharine Egert, born May 4, 1799, died Decem- 
ber 23, 1845. daughter of George Egert, of Philadelphia, by his wife, Mary 
Kunckel. 

During the later years of their life John and Catharine Brock resided at their 
country residence near Ogontz, on the York Road, in Cheltenham township, 
Montgomery county, where he died January 24, 1864. 
Issue of John and Catharine (Egert) Brock : 

George Egert Brock, b. in Doylestown. Bucks co.. Pa., May 20, 1816, d. in village 
of Cornwells, Bensalem township, Bucks co., Sept. 25, 1894; was reared and 
educated in Phila., and entered father's wholesale grocery as clerk at early age, 
was taken in as partner on coming of age and succeeded his father in the busi- 
ness, carrying it on until 1857, when he retired and, purchasing a farm of 200 
acres in Warwick township, Bucks county, resided thereon for some years and 
then purchased country seat near Maud, Bensalem township, where he lived 
retired until his death; never married; 

William Penn Brock, b. in Phila., July 4, 1819; educated by private tutors; entered 
father's store and later became partner with his father and brother George E., 
and continued in business until 1857, when he retired from active business; 
travelled extensively in Europe, residing for thirty years in Vienna, Austria; 



II70 BROCK 

member of the First Troop Philadelphia City Cavalry, and of Washington 
Grays; member of Union League, Art Club, and other organizations; unm.; d. 
Nov. 22, 1909; 
Mary A. Brock, b. in Phila., 1821; m. Col. Gustav Schindler, of Imperial Royal 

Engineers, of Austria, and resided many years in Vienna; now living in Phila.; 
John Penn Brock, b. in Phila., Dec. 27, 1823, d. Lebanon, Pa., July 3, 1881; m. 

Julia Watts Hall, of whom presently; 
Charles Carroll Brock, b. in Phila., July 4, 1826, d. there Oct. 26, 1866; entered 
Univ. of Pa., Jan. 4, 1841, and received degree of A. M. at that institution, 1844; 
member of Zelosophic Society; became member of firm of John Brock & Sons 
Co., wholesale grocers, in 1841, and was one of prominent business men of 
Phila.; m. Margaret, daughter of John K. Smith, and had issue: 

Catharine Brock, d. young; 

Paul Brock, d. in Cal.; 

Richard Brock, living in Phila.; 

Mary Schindler Brock, m. John D. James, of Doylestown, and has three 
daughters ; 
Richard Stockton Brock, b. in Phila., Dec. 21, 1830; entered Univ. of Pa. Sopho- 
more class, 184s, was member of Zelosophic Society there; graduated with degree 
of A. B. 1848, receiving degree of A. M. at same institution in 1851 ; studied law 
at Phila., but never practiced; after several years of travel abroad returned to 
Phila. in 1874, and became member of well known firm of W. H. Newbold's Sons 
& Co., bankers and brokers, with which he was actively associated until 1897, 
when he retired; m. Oct. 24, 1872, Emma, dau. of William H. and Calebina 
(Emlen) Newbold; they have no children. 

John Penn Brock, third son of John and Catharine (Egert) Brock, born in 
Philadelphia, December 27, 1823, received his primary education in private 
schools of his native city, and entered the University of Pennsylvania, in 1839; 
was a member of the Zelosophic Society there, and received his d^ree of A. M. 
in 1843. He studied law in the office of Horace Binney, and was admitted to the 
Philadelphia Bar. 

John Penn Brock enlisted in the United States Army during the War with 
Mexico, and on June 21, 1848, was commissioned Second Lieutenant in the 
Eleventh Regiment United States Infantry, and served until mustered out with 
his regiment, August 15, 1848, at the close of the war. 

John Penn Brock married, May 20, 1846, Julia Watts, daughter of Robert 
Coleman Hall, of Muncy Farms, Lycoming county, by his wife, Sarah, daughter 
of David Watts, of Carlisle, Cumberland county, a distinguished member of the 
bar in both Cumberland and Northumberland counties,' who died at Carlisle, 
September, 1818, by his wife, JuHana, daughter of Lieutenant Colonel Henry 
Miller, Second Pennsylvania Continental Line, member of the Cincinnati. He 
was father of Frederick Watts, President Judge of Cumberland county, 1848-51, 
and descendant of Col. Frederick Watts of "Flying Camp" during the Revolution. 

Charles Hall, the paternal grandfather of Julia Watts (Hall) Brock, born 1767, 
was of a prominent Maryland family. He read law with Thomas Hartley, at 
York, Pennsylvania, and was admitted to the bar of Northumberland county at 
the May Sessions of 1791. He became one of the prominent practitioners at that 
bar, making his home in Sunbury, where he erected a handsome brick residence 
at the northeast corner of Market and Front streets, one of the most imposing 
private residences of that day in Sunbury. 

Charles Hall married Elizabeth, daughter of Robert Coleman, the prominent 
and wealthy iron founder of Cornwall, Lebanon county (some account of whom 
will be given later in this narrative), who gave to his daughter, Elizabeth Hall, 
valuable lands at Muncy. Lycoming county, known as "Hall's Farms," later as 



BROCK 1 171 

"Muncy Farms," which became the seat of her son, Robert Coleman Hall, before 
mentioned. Charles Hall died in Philadelphia, January, 1821, at the age of fifty- 
three years. 

John Penn Brock died at Lebanon, Pennsylvania, July 3, 1881. 
Issue of John Penn and Julia Watts (Hall) Brock : 

Ella Brock, b. Aug., 1849, in Phila., m. Feb. 10, 1872, Dr. Wharton Sinkler, of 1606 

Walnut street, Phila., son of Charles Sinkler, of Eutaw, S. C, later of Phila., by 

his wife Emily Wharton, of eminent Phila. family; 
Arthur Brock, b. Nov. 8, 1850, d. Dec. 23, 1909; m. Sarah Coleman; of whom 

further ; 
Charles Hall Brock, b. May 12, 1852; of whom later; 

Horace Brock, b. April 15, 1854; m. Deborah Norris Coleman; of whom later; 
John William Brock, b. Nov. 23, 1855; m. Mary Louisa Tyler; of whom later; 
Julia Watts Hall Brock, b. May 20, 1858; m. Dr. Robert W. Johnson; of whom 

later; 
Colonel Robert Coleman Hall Brock, b. July 26, 1861, d. Aug. 9, 1906; m. AHce 

Gibson; of whom later; 
Hubert Brock, b. March 28, 1863, d. Nov., i8g6, unm.; of whom later. 

Dr. Wharton Sinkler was graduated from the Medical Department of the Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania, March 13, 1868, and was elected resident physician at the 
Episcopal Hospital on April i, of the same year. He subsequently held the posi- 
tion of attending physician at this hospital, and has been for many years a mem- 
ber of the Board of Managers. He is also attending physician to the Orthopaedic 
Hospital and Infirmary for Nervous Diseases; a trustee of the University of 
Pennsylvania; president of the Board of Managers of the Pennsylvania Epileptic 
Hospital and Colony Farm; a member of the Association of American Physicians, 
American Medical Association, American Neurological Association, American 
Philosophical Society, the College of Physicians of Philadelphia, and several other 
medical societies and associations. Dr. Wharton Sinkler is a director of the Phila- 
delphia Contributionship, the oldest fire insurance association in Philadelphia. He 
belongs to the Phi Kappa Sigma Fraternity, and the Alpha Mu Pi Omega (med- 
ical) Fraternity, and of the following clubs and social organizations; the Aztec 
Club of Mexico, the Rittenhouse Club, the University Oub, the Huntington 
Valley Country Club, and the Southern Club of Philadelphia. He is also a mem- 
ber of the vestry of St. James Protestant Episcopal Church of Philadelphia. 

Dr. Wharton and Ella (Brock) Sinkler have issue: 

Julia Ursula, b. November S, 1872; 

Charles Sinkler, b. Feb. 6, 1874; grad. at Univ. of Pa., with degree of A. B. in 1^3, 
and received the degree of LL. B. at same institution in 1896; admitted to Phila. 
Bar, and became member of law firm of Williams & Sinkler ; is member of Law 
Association of Phila.; of Univ. Club, of which he is treasurer; of Phila. Club; 
Southern Club; Democratic Club; and Univ. Barge Club; is author of "Expert 
Testimony," in Baudry's Diseases of the Eye; 

John Penn Brock Sinkler, b. Sept. 10, 1875; grad. from Univ. of Pa., Department of 
Architecture, 1898; member of American Institute of Architects; of T. Square 
Club, Philadelphia, University, and University Barge Clubs; 

Francis Wharton Sinkler, b. July 14, 1877; graduated at the Univ. of Pa., with 
degree of A. B. in 1897; and received degree of M. D. from Medical Department 
of same institution in 1900; is practicing physician in Phila.; Fellow of College 
of Physicians of Phila.; member of Phila. County Medical Association, Ameri- 
can Medical Association and Pathological Society of Phila.; Sec. of Phila. Dis- 
pensary; Assistant Physician of Orthopaedic Hospital and Infirmary for Nervous 
Diseases; one of visiting physicians to Episcopal Hospital Dispensary; member 
of University and University Barge Clubs; 



1 172 BROCK 

Seaman Deas Sinkler, b. May i8, 1879; student at Univ. of Pa., class of '99, Scien- 
tific Department; member of firm of Rhodes, Sinkler & Co., bankers and brokers, 
Phila.; member of Phila., Merion Cricket, and University Barge Clubs; m. April, 
1902, Emelie Beauveau, dau. of James Mauran Rhodes, Esq., of Phila.: they have 
issue: 

Wharton Sinkler, ,sd., b. Jan. 7, 1903; 
James Mauran Rhodes Sinkler, b. March 21, 1905: 
Emelie Beauveau Sinkler, b. May 23, 1908. 
Emily Sinkler, b. Dec. 24, 1881, d. Jan. 16, 1884; 

Wharton Sinkler, Jr., b. July 2, 1885 ; grad. at Univ. of Pa., degree of A. B., class of 
igo6: member of Varsity foot-ball teams in 1903 and '04; member of University 
and Philadelphia Barge Clubs; holds position with Brown Bros., bankers; 
Ella Brock Sinkler, b. June 29, 1887. 

Arthur Brock, eldest son of John Penn and Julia Watts (Hall) Brock, born 
in Philadelphia, November 8, 1850, was educated at the private schools of Dr. 
Lyons, and Dr. Faires in Philadelphia and at the Philadelphia Polytechnic 
School. On May 29, 1879, he married Sarah, second daughter of Hon. George 
Dawson Coleman, by his wife Deborah Norris Brown; and in connection with his 
younger brother, Horace Brock, who had married Deborah Norris, another daugh- 
ter of George Dawson Coleman, succeeded his father-in-law in the management 
of the North Lebanon Furnaces, erected by Mr. Coleman in 1846-7. The Brock 
brothers relinquished the management of the furnaces at the death of the widow 
Coleman in 1894, but Mr. Brock continued to hold large interests in iron and steel 
industries. He was chairman of the Board of Managers of the American Iron 
and Steel Manfg. Co. and connected with many financial and industrial enter- 
prises ; trustee of the Penn Mutual Life Insurance Co., director of the Fidelity 
Trust Company of Philadelphia ; director of the First National Bank of Lebanon, 
etc. He was a member of the Corinthian Yacht Club, and a member of other 
social and political organizations. He died December 23, 1909. 

Robert Coleman, the great-grandfather of Sarah (Coleman) Brock, was born 
near Castlefin, county Donegal, Ireland, November 4, 1748, and came to Philadel- 
phia in 1764, with letters of recommendation to Blair McClenachan, and members 
of the Biddle family, and was by them recommended to James Read, Esq., then 
Prothonotary of Berks county, in whose employ he remained for two years. He 
then became clerk and bookkeeper for Peter Grubb, at Hopewell Furnace, and 
six months later accepted a like position with James Old, the proprietor of Quito- 
pahilla Forge, near Lebanon. When Mr. Old became successively proprietor of 
the Speedwell Forge and the Reading Furnace, Robert Coleman accompanied 
him. While at the latter place he married, October 4, 1773, Anna Old, daughter 
of his employer, born May 21, 1756! .\fter his marriage Robert Coleman rented 
the Salford Forge, near Norristown, which he operated for three years. In 1776 
he removed to the Elizabeth Furnace, which he rented and later purcliased grad- 
ually of its owners, Stegel, Stedman and Benezet, and became one of the most 
successful iron-masters in the Lancaster and Lebanon iron districts. He was 
elected to the General Assembly of Pennsylvania in 1788, and was many years an 
Associate Justice of the Courts of Lancaster county. He purchased an interest in 
the famous Cornwall ore-beds of the Grubb family, still held by his descendants. 
He retired from business in 1809 and spent the last years of his life in Lancaster. 
He built the Colebrook Furnace on the Conewago, six miles southwest of Corn- 
wall, Lebanon county, in the ownership and operation of which he was succeeded 



BROCK 1 1 73 

by his son, Thomas Burd Coleman, and the latter in turn by his son, William Cole- 
man, in 1848, and he in 1861, by his son Robert H., and daughter, Annie C, wife 
of Archibald Rogers. 

Elizabeth Coleman, daughter of Robert and Anna (Old) Coleman, married 
Charles Hall, before mentioned, and was the grandmother of Julia Watts Hall, 
the wife of John Penn Brock. 

James Coleman, another son of Robert and Anna (Old) Coleman, married 
Harriet Dawson, of Philadelphia, and during his whole life was interested in the 
iron business in Lancaster and Lebanon counties. 

George Dawson Coleman, son of James and Harriet (Dawson) Coleman, was 
born in Philadelphia, January 13, 1825, and died at Lebanon, September 9, 1878. 
He received his primary education under private tutors in Philadelphia and enter- 
ed the College of New Jersey, at Princeton, and later the College Departmnt of 
the University of Pennsylvania, where he received the degree of .\. M. in 1843; 
and was a member of the Philomathean Society there. 

In 1846, in connection with his brother, Robert, he began the erection of the 
Lebanon Furnaces, one mile northwest of Lebanon, and they were the first to use 
successfully anthracite coal in connection with hot blast in the manufacture of 
iron, their first blast being made in February, 1847. 

In 1857 Robert Coleman withdrew, and the business was continued by George 
Dawson Coleman until his death, in 1878, when as before shown he was succeeded 
in its management by his sons-in-law, Arthur and Horace Bi"ock, and they in turn, 
after the death of the widow in 1894, by B. Dawson and Edward R. Coleman, who 
operated it until 1901, when it was purchased by the Pennsylvania Steel Company. 
George Dawson Coleman was one of the most successful and progressive iron- 
masters of Pennsylvania. He was well and favorably known throughout the state 
as a public-spirited and enterprising citizen and patriot. During the Civil War he 
raised and equipped at his own expense the Ninety-third Pennsylvania Regiment, 
United States Volunteers, and followed their career in the field with peculiar 
interest, and assisted the widows and orphans of those who fell in the defense of 
the Union. He also devoted large sums to general charity. He was an active 
member of the Sanitary Commission, and frequently superintended personally the 
delivery of stores on the battle field. He was a member of the General Assembly 
of Pennsylvania, 1863-4, and of the State Senate, 1867-9. 

He was a member of the State Board of Public Charities, from its organization 
in 1869 to his death ; and many years president of the First National Bank of 
Lebanon. 

George Dawson Coleman took a deep interest in the religious welfare of those 
in his employ, building and supporting churches at both Elizabeth and Lebanon 
Furnaces. Several years prior to his death he presented to St. Peter's Church of 
Philadelphia, his grandfather's house at the corner of Front and Pine streets, and 
added a large contribution for arranging it for mission work. His whole life was 
an example of generosity and kindness of heart rarely equalled, — no man in the 
community was more universally loved and respected. 

George Dawson Coleman married, January 13, 1852, Deborah Brown, born 
August 15, 1832, daughter of William Brown, of Philadelphia, by his wife, Deb- 
orah NorriS, born October 2, 1800, died February 4, 1864, daughter of Joseph 
Parker Norris, born May 5, 1763, died June 22, 1841, by his wife, Elizabeth Plill, 



1 174 BROCK 

daughter of Hon. Joseph Fox, Speaker of the Pennsylvania Assembly, by his wife, 
Elizabeth Mickle. Deborah Brown Coleman died August 19, 1894. 

George Dawson and Deborah (Brown) Coleman had issue, thirteen children, 
six of whom died in their minority ; those who survived were : Deborah Norris, 
who became the wife of Horace Brock, hereafter mentioned; Sarah, the wife of 
Arthur Brock; Fanny; Harriet Dawson; B. Dawson, and Edward R. Coleman, 
later proprietors of the Lebanon Furnaces ; and Anne Caroline. 
Issue of Arthur and Sarah (Coleman) Brock: 

Julia Watts Hall Brock, b. March 9, 1880; 

Fanny Brock, b. Sept. 14, 1881; 

Sarah Coleman Brock, b. Apr. 27, 1883; 

Ella Brock, b. Dec. 9, 1894; 

Elizabeth Norris Brock, b. July 4, 1898. 

Charles Hall Brock, third child of John Penn and Julia Watts (Hall) Brock, 
born in Philadelphia, May 12, 1852, entered the University of Pennsylvania as a 
partial student in 1869, but left by reason of his health in his Sophomore year. He 
was also a student at Faires' School and St. Paul's School in New Hampshire. He 
later entered the Medical Department of the University of Pennsylvania, but his 
health breaking down he left before graduation. He was a member of the Zeta 
Psi Fraternity, and was one of the founders of the Corinthian Yacht Club, and a 
very enthusiastic yachtsman. He is a also a member of the Rittenhouse Club. He 
is unmarried. • 

Horace Brock, fourth child of John Penn and Julia Watts (Hall) Brock, bom 
in Philadelphia, April 15, 1854, was educated at Dr. Faires' and other schools of 
Philadelphia. He was for some time a civil engineer for the Philadelphia and 
Reading Railroad Company. He married, May 15, 1878, Deborah Norris, daugh- 
ter of Hon. George Dawson and Deborah (Brown) Coleman, of Lebanon, before 
mentioned, and in the same year, in connection with his brother, Arthur Brock, 
went into the iron business at the Lebanon Furnaces, and later became interested 
in a number of business and financial enterprises. He was for many years presi- 
dent of the First National Bank of Lebanon, Pennsylvania, where he resided with 
his family for a number of years. The family now reside in Philadelphia. 
Issue of Hora<:e and Deborah Norris (Coleman) Brock: 

John Penn Brock, b. Sept. 23, 1879; grad. at Yale Univ., class of 1900; is engaged 
in iron business at Lebanon; is Vice-President of the American Iron & Steel 
Mfg. Co.; m. Pauline Biddle, of Phila., and they have issue: 
Anna Biddle Brock, b. Aug. 21, 1906; 

Deborah Norris Brock, b. Nov. 8, 1884. m. Jan. 4, 1910, Quincy Bent. 

John William Brock, fifth child of John Penn and Julia Watts (Hall) Brock, 
born in Philadelphia, November 23, 1855, was a student at Dr. Faires' Select 
School, where he prepared for college, and entered the University of Pennsylvania 
in 1869, and graduated from that institution with the degree of A. B. in 1873, and 
received the degree of A. M. at the .same institution in 1876. He was a member 
of the Philomathean Society, and of the Zeta Psi Fraternity there. After some 
time spent in foreign travel, he entered himself as a student at law in the office of 
Richard C. McMurtrie, Esq., and was admitted to the Philadelphia Bar in 1878. 
He was in active practice of his profession until 1881, when he became interested 






Lewis Historical Pub. Co 



BROCK 1175 

in railroad enterprises and construction. He was connected for a few years with 
the Norfolk & Western Railroad ; and in 1886 constructed the Poughkeepsie Rail- 
road bridge, and portions of the railroads connected therewith ; was president of 
the Central New England Railway, which was afterwards acquired by the New 
York, New Haven and Hartford Railroad Company. 

In 1903 he became interested in railroad construction and mining operations in 
the State of Nevada. He is President of the Tonapah Mining Company and the 
Tonopah & Goldfield Railroad Company in that State. He is also interested in the 
manufacture of iron in Pennsylvania, in which other members of the family hold 
large interests. 

John William Brock married, November 12, 1879, Mary Louisa, daughter of 
George Frederick and Louisa Richmond (Blake) Tyler, of Philadelphia, and they 
reside at 1417 Spruce street, Philadelphia. Mr. Brock is a member of the Penn- 
sylvania Society^ Sons of the Revolution; of the Rittenhouse Club, and was one 
of the founders of the Corinthian Yacht Club of Philadelphia ; and is also a mem- 
ber of a number of other social organizations. He is a life member of the Frank- 
lin Institute; a director of the Land Title and Trust, Company of Philadelphia ; 
has been for twenty years treasurer of Philadelphia Orthopaedic Hospital and 
Infirmary for Nervous Diseases. 

Issue of John William and Mary Louisa (Tyler) Brock: 

George Tyler Brock, b. Oct. i, 1880, d. inf.; 

John William Brock, Jr., b. Feb. 14, 1883, grad. at Harvard Univ., class of 1905; 

Sidney Frederick Tyler Brock, b. May 5, 1885; grad. from Harvard Univ., class of 

1906, with degree of B. S., and is mining engineer; m. Nov. 17, 1909, Marjorie 

Elliot; 
Arthur Brock, Jr., b. Jan. 12, 1887; graduate of Harvard Univ., class of 1908; 
Norman Hall Brock, b. Apr! 23, 1890; student at Harvard Univ.; 
Louisa Blake Brock, b. Sept. 27, 1894. 

Julia Watts Hall Brock, sixth child of John Penn and Julia Watts (Hall) 
Brock, born in Philadelphia, May 20, 1858, married, October i, 1879, Dr. Robert 
W. Johnson, of Baltimore, Maryland. He was born at Rockland, Maryland, Sep- 
tember 8, 1854; A. B. Princeton, '76; M. D. University of Pennsylvania, 1879; 
president of Clinical Society of Maryland; president of Medical and Chirurgical 
Faculty of Maryland; Prof essor of Surgery of Maryland Medical College ; member 
of Southern Surgical and Gynecology Society ; fellow of American Surgical Asso- 
ciation; etc. 

Issue of Robert W . and Julia Watts Hall (Brock) Johnson: 

Anna Julia Johnson, b. July 15, 1880 ; m. Lieut. Gordon Johnston, of Ala., Lieut, in 

U. S. Army, May 25, 1904; 
Ella Brock Johnson, b. July 26, 1882; m. 1905, James Mauran Rhodes, Jr., of Phila.; 
William Fell Johnson, b. Aug. 18, 1884; grad. at Princeton Univ., class of 1905 ; 

law student; 
Katharine Barker Johnson, b. Oct. 7, 1885: m. May i, 1907, Robert Garrett, of 

Baltimore; 
Robert W. Johnson, Jr., b. June 3, 1891 ; 
John Penn Brock Johnson, b. Sept. 3, 1894; d. Sept, 29, 1896. 

Colonel Robert Coleman Hall Brock, son of John Penn and Julia Watts 
(Hall) Brock, was born in Philadelphia, July 26, 1861. His early education was 



1176 BROCK 

acquired at Dr. Faires' School in Philadelphia, and he later took a course at St. 
Paul's School, Concord, New Hampshire, under Dr. Henry A. Coit, and subse- 
quently entered Worcester College, Oxford University, England, whence he was 
called home before receiving his final degree by reason of the fatal illness of his 
father, who died soon after he arrived. 

He entered the law offices of Hon. George M. Dallas, as a student-at-law and 
was admitted to the Philadelphia Bar. As a lawyer he took no active part in the 
courts, turning his attention more particularly to matters pertaining to estates 
and corporations, and the large financial interests and projects in which he and 
his brothers were interested. In 1888 he became a member of the firm of W. H. 
Newbold, Son & Company, Bankers, and remained in that firm until 1894, when 
he retired and travelled in Europe for some months to retrieve his impaired health. 
Inheriting from his father an ample estate, he was permitted to gratify his tastes 
for literary and scientific pursuits, and on his return from his European tour, he 
became one of the most active and enthusiastic workers in the field of Science. 
He had been a member of the Franklin Institute since 1889, and his well trained 
mind, and active almost restless energy, contributed greatly to the efficiency and 
usefulness of that institution. He was elected a member of the Board of Man- 
agers in 1901, and filled that position at the time of his decease. He was a mem- 
ber of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania from 1883 ; a member of the Philo- 
technic Society, and its president from 1886-9; a member of the American Philo- 
sophical Society, since 1898 ; of the Archaeological Society of Pennsylvania, from 
1901, President 1903-5, and Vice-President at the time of his decease; made a 
member of the Philobiblion Society, 1903 ; became a stockholder of the Academ)' 
of Fine Arts, September i, 1901, and a director in 1904; became a member of the 
Numismatic Society, February 2, 1882 ; was a director of the Epileptic Hospital 
at Oakbourne, Philadelphia ; he rarely missed the meetings of the managing boards 
of the institutions with which he was connected, and was exceedingly useful in 
these organizations, and was always ready by counsel, personal effort, and liberal 
pecuniary contributions to alleviate want and suffering. He became a member of 
the Rittenhouse Club in 1890; the University Club in 1897; the Philadelphia Club 
in 1898; the Union League, October 18, 1905; and was a member of the Corin- 
thian Yacht Club of Philadelphia, and the New York Yacht Club, and was master 
of the details of managing craft of all kinds. He was also an enthusiastic automo- 
bilist, making many extensive and interesting tours. He became a member of the 
Pennsylvania Society, Sons of the Revolution. May 4, 1901. He was also a mem- 
ber of the Art Club of New York several years prior to his death. 

In 1904 Robert Coleman Hall Brock was elected Colonel of the Second Regi- 
ment, National Guard of Pennsylvania, and held that position until his death. Col. 
Brock died at Wynnewood, August 9, 1906, of a somewhat lingering illness, he 
having been unable to accompany his regiment to the annual encampment at 
Gettysburg for that year. 

At the meeting of the board of managers of the Franklin Institute, held Sep- 
tember 19, 1906, a committee was appointed to draft a suitable memorial of their 
deceased colleague. Col. R. C. H. Brock, and their report was entered in the 
Journal of the Institute for December. 1906. After giving a sketch of the useful 



BROCK 1 177 

and active life of Col. Brock, the memorial concludes with the following well- 
merited tribute to his worth : — 

"His courtesy and gentleness of manner were as remarkable as his extreme 
modesty and kindness of heart. He embodied the best type of a useful citizen,— 
one whose brains and hands were always at the service of his fellows for worthy 
objects, — and of the American gentleman, exemplifying in his own conduct how 
a large fortune could be worthily enjoyed and at the same time used for noble 
purposes." 

Col. Brock married, April 23, 1884, Alice, daughter of Henry C. and Mary 
(Klett) Gibson, who survives him. 

Issue of Robert Coleman Hal! and Alice (Gibson) Brock: 

Alice Gibson, b. June 23, 1885; 

Henry Gibson, b. Nov. 23, 1886: 

Robert Coleman Hall Jr., b. June z^, 1890, d. Nov. 22, 1900. 

Hubert Brock, eighth and youngest child of John Penn and Julia Watts 
(Hall) Brock, born March 28, 1863, died unmarried, November, 1896. He was 
a student at St. Paul's School, Concord, New Hampshire, and entered the Towne 
Scientific School of the University of Pennsylvania, in 1880; was later trans- 
ferred to the Wharton School of the same institution, as a special student, but 
left during his Sophomore year. He was a member of the Zeta Psi Fraternity. 
He travelled extensively in foreign countries, making a complete trip around the 
world. 



THOMAS FAMILY. 

The Thomas family, of Merion, Philadelphia county, trace their ancestry, like 
most of the other Welsh settlers of Merion, through a long line of Welsh princes,^ 
back to the fourteenth century. The earliest ancestor of whom we have any 
distinct record, was : 

Jenkin ap Adam, Lord of Kevendyglwj'dd, living in the time of Edward III. 
and Richard II., of England. He is said to have borne the surname of Herbert, 
and to have been a descendant of a Norman family of that name, famous prior to 
the conquest of England by William I. He had a son : 

GwiLiM (William) \v Jenkin, Lord of Kevendyglwydd, who married Wenl- 
lian (died 12)77)' daughter of Howell Vychan, descended from Ynir, "King," or 
Lord, of Gwent, and their fourth son was : 

Thomas ap Gwilim, of Perthir, who died in 1438. He married Maud, daugh- 
ter and heiress of Sir John Morley, and their fifth son was : 

Sir William ap Thomas, knighted in 1426, died in 1446. He acquired the 
castle and demesne lands of Raglan, from his maternal ancestors the Morley fam- 
ily, and married for his second wife, Gwladys, daughter of Sir David Gam, and 
widow of Sir Roger Vaughan, of Tre'twer. Her father David Gam, son of 
Llewlyn, was knighted on the field of Agincourt, in 141 5, as he was dying from 
wounds received in that sanguinary conflict. He was of a fierce and warlike dis- 
position, it being said of him, that "he lived like a wolf and died like a lion." He 
was a strong partisan of the English under Henry IV. and Henry V., and for the 
former, undertook to assassinate, in 1402, his own brother-in-law, the famous 
Welsh patriot Owen Glendower. Sir William ap Thomas was also at Agincourt. 
He was sometimes called William Thomas Herbert. He had by his second wife 
several sons, of these was WilHam Herbert, Earl of Pembroke, and: 

Sir Richard Herbert, of Coldbrook House, about a mile from the town of 
Abergavenny, in Monmouthshire. He was slain at Banbury in 1469. Of him 
his great-grandson. Lord Herbert, of Cherbury, wrote: "That incomparable 
hero who twice passed through a great army of northern men, alone, with pole- 
axe in his hand, and returned without mortal hurt, which is more than is famed 
of Amardus de Galle, or Knight of the Sun." 

This Sir Richard Herbert married Margaret, daughter of Thomas ap Griffith 
Nicholas, of Dynevor, and sister of Sir Rhys ap Thomas, who slew Richard III. 
on Bosworth Field. They had issue : 

Sir William Herbert, from whom descended Hugh Gwyn, of Peniarth; the 
Powells, of Llanwddyn ; the Humphreys, of Llwyndu ; the Owen family, of Mer- 
ion, Pennsylvania, and through them the Cadwaladers, and others, thus being the 
lineal ancestor of many of the early families of Philadelphia. The Thomas 
family, however, descend from the second son: 

Sir Richard Herbert, of Montgomery Castle, called also of "Cwm Ystwith 
and Pencelly," who was gentleman usher to King Henry VIII., and resided in 
great luxury at Blackball, where he entertained on the most lavish scale. He 



THOMAS 1 1 79 

married as his second wife, Jane, daughter of Gwilim ap Rees Philip, of Llyn- 
howell, in Carmarthenshire. Their fourth child was : 

Jane Herbert, who married (first) Thomas Lloyd, and (second) William 
Awbrey, Esquire, of Aberkynfrig, who died June 27, 1547. He was a son of 
Hopkin Awbrey, by his wife, a daughter of John Griffith, of Gwyn; and grandson 
of Jenkin Awbrey, Esquire, by his wife, Gwenlliam, daughter of Owain ap Grif- 
fith, of Taly Llyn. 

The Awbreys trace their descent from Stiant Awbrey (brother of Lord 
Awbrey, Earl of Bullen, and Earl Marchall, of France, who came to England 
with William the Conqueror in 1066), whose son, Sir Rinallt Awbrey, married a 
daughter of the Earl of Clare and Priany, and had a son, William Awbrey, of 
Aberkynfrig, married to Julia, daughter of Sir William Gunter, and their son 
Thomas Awbrey, married Ann, daughter of John Cayraw, Baron of Cayrowe, 
and had a son Thomas Awbrey, of Aberkynfrig, Constable and Ranger of the 
Forest of Brecon, who married Johann, daughter of Trahaerne ap Einion, Lord 
of Comond, and had by her a son, Thomas Awbrey Goch (red-haired), who mar- 
ried Nest, daughter of Owain Gethyn, of Glyn Taway, and had by her Richard 
Awbrey, who married Creslie, daughter of Phe ap Eledr, and had Gawlter Aw- 
brey, who married Juhan, daughter and heiress of Rees Morgan ap Einion, of 
Carmarthenshire, and had Morgan Awbrey, of Aberkynfrig, who married Alice, 
daughter of Watkin Thomas David Lloyd, and was the father of Jenkin Awbrey, 
Esquire, of Aberkynfrig, above mentioned, the grandshire of William Awbrey, 
who married Jane Herbert. 

Richard Awbrey, of Aberkynfrig, eldest son of William Awbrey, by his wife, 
Jane Herbert, sold the estate of Aberkynfrig to his cousin, Dr. William Awbrey. 
He died in 1580, leaving issue by his wife, Margaret, daughter of Thomas Gunter, 
of Gileston : 

Richard Awbrey, of Llanelyw, "who departed this life Anno. 1646," and was 
buried under the floor of the chancel of the church of Llanelyw. His grave is 
covered by a flat tombstone which forms part of the pavement of the chancel, 
bearing this inscription : "Here lyeth the body of Richard Awbrey of Llanelyw, 
Gent, who married Anne Vaughan, daughter of William Vaughan of Uanelyw, 
and had issue : William, Richard, Thomas, John Theophilus, and Elizabeth. 
Died the 23 day of September, 1646." The armes of the Awbrey and Vaughan 
family are engraved upon this tomb. Of these six children of Richard and Anne 
(Vaughan) Aubrey, the first and third are both ancestors of the Thomas family 
of Merion, since 

William Aubrey, the eldest son, who had heired his father's estates, being 
a Puritan and Parlimentarian, and having no son, on his father's death in 1646. 
married his daughter Elizabeth to William Aubrey, the eldest son of his brother, 
Thomas, in order to keep the estate in the Puritan stock, his next younger brother, 
Richard, Vicar of Boughrod, in Radnorshire, and an adherent of the King. The 
latter instituted proceedings to recover the property after the death of his elder 
brother, but the matter was finally settled by arbitration. 

William Aubrey, son of Thomas, is said to have been a member of the Soci- 
ety of Friends, but if so, it would seem that he returned to the Anglican church, 
judging from the place of his burial. His sons, Richard and William, and his 
daughter, Martha, were certainly "Friends." 



ii8o THOMAS 

William Aubrey's tombstone at Llanelyw Church bears this inscription : "Here 
lyeth the body of ^^'illiam Awbrey, of Lllanelyw, son of Thomas Awbrey, Gent. 
Married Elizabeth, daughter of William Awbrey. Had issue Ten: Rishard, 
William, 2, Thomas Theophilus, Anne, Alary 2, Martha, & Elizabeth. Departed 
this life in Hope of a Joyful Resurrection, the 16 of December 1716, aged 90." 

Of the children of William and Elizabeth Aubrey, of Llanelyw, William mar- 
ried Letitia, daughter of William Penn, the Founder of Pennsylvania. 

AIartha Aubrey, the ninth child of William and Elizabeth Aubrey, of 
Llanelyw, born about 1662, became a member of the Society of Friends, and is 
said to have accompanied her relatives, John and Barbara (Aubrey) Bevan, to 
Pennsylvania in 1683. Whether she came thus early to America, or according to 
another authority, accompanied her affianced husband, Rees Thomas, several 
years later, has not been clearly established. True it is that she married Rees 
Thomas at Haverford Meeting, in the Welsh Tract of Pennsylvania, April 18, 
1692. He was a descendant of the Thomas family of Wencoe, Wales, and 
nephew of John Bevan, as shown by a letter written to his father-in-law, William 
Aubrey, April 29, 1695, from which it is to be inferred that his father was Rees. 
son of Hopkin Thomas, who married a daughter of Evan ap John, of Treverigg, 
and sister to John Bevan. He was also cousin to Barbara (Aubrey) Bevan, her 
mother, the wife of William Aubrey, of Pencoyd, being a sister to his father. 

Rees Thomas purchased 30D acres in the Welsh Tract, Alerion township, of 
Sarah, widow of John Eckley, the deed being dated August 15, 1692. He subse- 
quently purchased other land adjoining of Edward Pritchard. The plantation 
owned and occupied by him was located near the present Rosemont Station, on 
the Pennsylvania Railroad, ten miles west of Philadelphia. A greater part of it 
remained in the ownership of his descendants for four generations. 

Rees Thomas was a prominent man in the community, serving several terms 
in the Colonial Assembly, the first in 1702, and the last in 1720. He was also com- 
missioned a Justice of Philadelphia county, June 14, 1722. His will proved Feb- 
ruary 12, 1742-3, was dated September 10, 1742. His wife, Martha, died March 
7, 1726-7. She was a very estimable woman, and much beloved and respected 
in the community in which she lived she was for many years an Elder of the 
Society of Friends, and prominent in benevolent and charitable works. 

A quaint little volume of poems extolling the virtues of Martha (Aubrey), 
wife of Rees Thomas, was printed in 1727, by Samuel Keimer, of Philadelphia, 
no copy of which is now known to be in existence. 

It was reprinted in 1837, by her descendant, Mary (Thomas), wife of Jona- 
than Jones, of Wynnewood. The title page is as follows : — 

A 

Collection of Elegiac Poems 

Devoted to the memory of the late Virtuous and excellent 

Matron and worthy Elder in the Church of Christ, 

(Of the Society of Friends) 

MARTHA THOMAS 

Late wife of 

REES THOMAS, 

of Merion, in the County of Philadelphia, in the Province 

of Pennsylvania; 

and daughter of 

WILLIAM AWBREY, 



THOMAS 1181 

Of Llan Elew, in the County of Brecknock, in Great Britain. 

Who departed this life 

On the 7th of the Twelfth Month, 1726-27. 

"A Woman that feareth the Lord, she shall be praised. 

"Give her the Fruit of Her Hands, and let her Works praise her in 
the Gates." Prov. xxxi, 30, 31. 



PHILADELPHIA; 

Printed by Samuel Keimer, in Second Street, 

MDCCXXVII. 

Issue of Rees and Martha (Aubrey) Thomas: — 

Rees, b. Apr. 22, 1693; m. Elizabeth Jones, dau. of Dr. Edward Jones, by wife Mary 
Wynee. They had two daughters, Letitia, m. David Evans, and Anne m. Samuel 
Williams; 

Aubrey, b. Jan. 30, 1694-5, i"- Gulielma, dau. of William Penn Jr. and grand- 
daughter of William Penn, the Founder. They resided in Eng. ; 

Herbert, b. Nov. 3, i6g6, m. Mary Havard, dau. of John; d. without issue; 

Elizabeth, b. Oct. 10, 1698, m. Samuel Harry, of Chester Co., and left issue ; 

William, b. July 2, 1701, of whom presently; 

Richard, b. July 23, 1703, d. a young man, unm. 

William Thomas, fourth son of Rees and Martha (Aubrey) Thomas, in- 
herited a portion of the homestead, on which he erected a substantial stone house, 
and greatly improved the plantation. According to the testimony of his great- 
granddaughter, Mary Jones, "he was a mild tempered man, very constant in the 
attendance of Religious Meetings." He lived all his life on the old homestead, 
dying there June 13, 1776. He married, May 12, 1724, Elizabeth, daughter of 
David Harry, of Chester county, a colonial justice, and member of assembly 
from that county, 17 16-7. 

Issue of William and Elisabeth (Harry) Thomas: — 

Rees, of whom presently; 

Martha, m. Dr. John Llewlyn, "a surgeon of Consequence and respectability" in 

Merion township; 
Mary, m. Peter Evans; lived to advanced age but had no children; 
Hannah, m. Jonathan Powell, but left no issue; 

Elizabeth, m. Abraham Evans, of Gwynedd township, and had several children; 
Jonathan, resided many years in Chester Co., d. there at advanced age; was twice 

m. ; by first wife had children Rees, Rebecca, Elizabeth, and Richard; by second 

wife, Ann Haley, had William, Samuel and Ononah; 
David, d. on his farm in Merion township; m. Rhodes and had children, 

Martha, Lydia, Aubrey, William and Eleanor; 
Richard, m. Ann and had daughters Elizabeth, Martha, and Ann. 

Rees Thomas, son of William and Elizabeth (Harry) Thomas, married 
November 3, 1758, Priscilla, only daughter and heiress of John and Mary Jermon, 
who lived near the Friends' Meeting House in Radnor township, Chester county, 
and were people of substance and respectability. Rees and Priscilla Thomas 
resided on a portion of the old Thomas homestead, which they greatly improved, 
erecting the "Mansion House," occupied by his son, William, as late as 1829, and 
also other substantial buildings. Neither, however, lived beyond their prime, 
Priscilla dying July 6, 1769, and her husband only surviving her a few years, 
died in his forty-fifth year. Their seven children were all minors at the death 
of their parents, and their paternal grandfather dying at about the same time as 



1 182 THOMAS 

their father, they were left to care for themselves in the troublous times of the 
first years of the War of Independence and failed to receive the educational ad- 
vantages that should have been theirs under happier circumstances. 
Iss%(e of Recs and Priscilla (Jennon) Thomas: 

William, b. July 8, 176—, m. April 5, 1786, Naomi Walker, b. Feb. 17, 1765, d. May 

4, 1817, of whom presently; 
Mary, m. Anthony, eldest son of Abraham and Hannah Tunis, of Lower Merion, 

and had eight children, viz. : Charles, William, .'\braham, Rees, Priscilla, Jane, 

Aubrey and Richard; 
John, d. s. p. to 1829; 

Hannah, was living with brother William on old homestead, unm. in 1829; 
Rees, went to Ky., about beginning of century; 
Jonathan, also removed to Ky. : 
Priscilla, d. prior to 1829, unm. 

William Thomas, son of Reese and Priscilla (Jermon) Thomas, inherited 
the old Thomas homestead, and the "Mansion House," erected by his father, in 
which he lived all his life. He married, April 5, 1786, Naomi, daughter of Joseph 
Walker, of Great Valley, Chester county, and a descendant of Lewris Walker, 
who emigrated from Merionethshire, Wales, in 1686, and settled in the Welsh 
Tract of Alerion and Haverford, marrying, in 1693, Mary Morris, a fellow 
passenger on the ship that brought him to Pennsylvania, though said to have been 
of English parentage. They reared a family of eight children in the simple faith 
of the Society of Friends, one of whom was father of Joseph Walker, who was 
likewise a consistent and earnest member of the Society. He was a farmer 
and resided on his farm near Valley Forge, in Treddyfrin township, during the 
war of the Revolution. His granddaughter, Mary (Thomas) Jones, before re- 
ferred to in these pages, writes of him in 1829, as follows: "They," referring to 
Joseph W^alker and his wife, "were exemplary and pious people and I believe 
respected by all who knew them. I have heard many testify in an uncommon 
manner of the affection and grateful remembrance they had of the noble and gen- 
erous acts of kindness and hospitality extended by my dear grandfather to them- 
selves and others during the Revolutionary W'ar and since. They being members 
of the Society of Friends, whose principles would not permit my grandparents 
to take an active part, either offensive or defensive, in the struggle at that time. 
They therefore, united their efforts to do all that was in their power to relieve 
those that were in trouble or distress, without respect to persons or party, and 
many were the opportunities that presented for exercise of that law of kindness, 
and acts of charity to the poor half clad and shivering soldiers, as well as private 
individuals. General Wayne having chosen their house as his headquarters for 
six months during the winter that General Washington had his army in winter- 
quarters at the \'alley Forge, which was a few miles from my grandfather's 
dwelling. They were of course surrounded by the American Army and conse- 
quently witnessed a great portion of the distress and suffering of that eventful 
period." 

Naomi (\\'alker) Thomas, was born February 17, 1765, and died May, 1817, 
her husband surviving her many years. 

Issue of William and Naomi (Walker) Thomas: — 

Mary, eldest child, m. (first) Charles McCIenachan, and (second) Jonathan, son of 
Owen and Susannah (Evans) Jones of Merion, and great-grandson of Dr. 



THOMAS 1 183 

Edward Jones, pioneer of the Welsh Tract. Mary Jones was publisher of second 
volume of the volume of poems, mentioned in early part of this narrative, and 
also prepared narrative of her family from time of arrival in Pa. to 1829, from 
which we have freely quoted. 

Reese, b. March 24, 1789, d. March 27, 1835; m. Rebecca Brooke; of whom 

presently; 
Sarah, m. Dr. James Anderson; 
Joseph, d. unm.; 
Emily, m. Isaac W. Roberts; 
Pricilla, m. George T. Stuckert; 
Louisa, m. John C. Evans; 
William, m. Tacy Roberts; 
Jane W., m. John Cleaver. 

Reese Thomas, eldest son of William and Naomi (Walker) Tliomas, born in 
Merion, March 24, 1789, married, March 29, 1810, Rebecca, daughter of Capt. 
Benjamin Brooke, of Gulph Mills, Upper Merion township, Montgomery county, 
a distinguished officer and patriot in the Revolutionary War, by his wife, Anna 
Davis. Reese Thomas, after his marriage, became the proprietor of the famous 
Gulph Mills, which he operated until succeeded by his son, William Brooke 
Thomas, in 1832. He died at Gulph Mills, March 27, 1835. He was a man of 
high standing in the community, and one of the original anti-slavery men of 
Montgomery county. 

Issue of Reese and Rebecca (Brooke) Thomas: — 

William Brooke, b. May 25, 1811, d. Dec. 12, 1887; m. Emily Wilson Holstein, of 

whom presently; 
Benjamin Brooke, m. Ann Condon; 

Louisa, m. Amos Corson; . 

Priscilla, m. (first) Isaac Barber, (second) Ogden Cuthbert; 
Naomi, never m.; 
Mary Ann, never m.; 
Emily, m. Jonathan Trego; 
Rebecca, m. Milton Allen: 
Reese, d. in childhood. 

William Brooke Thomas, eldest son of Reese Thomas and his wife Rebecca 
Brooke, was born May 25, 181 1, in Haverford, Upper Merion township, Mont- 
gomery county, on the property which the Friends afterward bought from his 
parents for the erection of Haverford College. The family removed to Gulph 
Mills, which had been inherited by his mother from her father Benjamin Brooke. 
Here Mr. Thomas was instructed by his father in the manufacture of flour, and 
on his father's death succeeded to the proprietorship of the mills on coming of 
age in 1832. He operated the mills until 1842, and after a year, in which he en- 
gaged in the mercantile business at Lyonsville, removed to Philadelphia, where 
he began the manufacture of flour on a small scale, at Thirteenth and Willow 
streets, using at first but a twenty horse power engine. His business increasing, 
he secured another mill at Thirteenth and Buttonwood streets and installed an 
additional eighty horse power plant. Still unable to supply the demand for his 
products, he erected a larger mill and added a three hundred horse power plant, 
making in all four hundred horse power; operating twenty-four pairs of buhrs, 
turning out 1,200 barrels of flour, and using over 5,000 bushels of wheat per day. 
This was far in excess of the capacity of any other mill in Philadelphia or its 



ii84 THOMAS 

vicinity, and an exceedingly unusual one prior to the introduction of the roller 
process and the establishment of the vast milling plants of the northwest, several 
years later. Mr. Thomas was, at this period, by far the largest purchaser of grain 
for domestic purposes, in Philadelphia. 

He was one of the earliest advocates of an association of grain and feed ship- 
pers ; was one of the organizers of the Corn Exchange Association, and its first 
president in 1853. He was re-elected in 1854 and thereafter declined the position, 
but continued to be one of its prominent members for many years, being recog- 
nized on the floor of the Exchange as one of the leading business men of the city. 
He was possessed in a high degree of the qualities that go to make the successful 
merchant and business man ; intelligent, energetic, industrious, selfreliant, quick 
in dicision, upright, and honorable in all his dealings. "Of him," says A. G. 
Cattell, President of the Exchange, in a memorial delivered before that body at its 
annual meeting, January 31, 1888, "it may be truthfully said, his word was as 
good as his bond * * * for thirty years our firm had large business trans- 
actions with him reaching in the aggregate, millions of dollars, nearly all of which 
was done without so much as the scratch of a pen between us, and I can bear 
testimony that, so far as I can remember, there was never even the shadow of a 
dispute in regard to a single transaction." 

Mr. Thomas was also one of the prominent members of the Board of Trade, 
of Philadelphia, and for many years a director of the ^Manufacturers' Insurance 
Company. He was also president of the Corn Exchange Bank. 

He was early interested in the Anti Slavery cause and was the first vice-presi- 
dent of the Montgomery County Anti-Slavery Society organized in 1837, and 
served on important committees of that organization. His name appears on the 
memorials adopted by the Anti-Slavery Association of Philadelphia, of which the 
Montgomery Society was a component part. His four sisters were also active 
members of the local society and all active in the cause, contributing work of their 
own hands to be sold at the fairs held annually to raise funds to be used to con- 
tinue the crusade against human slavery. He was an active partisan of the Free 
Soil party and voted for John P. Hale for President in 1852. It was natural, 
therefore, that ]Mr. Thomas, though formerly a Democrat, should have been one 
of active participants in the formation of the Republican party. He assisted in 
the preliminary arrangements for the campaign of 1856, and took a very active 
part in that determined struggle, both in Philadelphia and the country at large. 
He was elected to the Common Council of the city, by a combination of Peoples' 
and Republican parties. He was a member of the National Convention that 
nominated Lincoln at Chicago, in i860, and on his return, entered heart and soul 
into the contest for his election, with the battle cry of "No further extension of 
human slavery." When Lincoln's election was accomplished and the storm clouds 
of rebellion began to lower, he was one of those who went to the national capital 
to stand by his chosen leader and see that he was vested with the high office to 
which he had been elected. Enrolling himself as a member of Hon. C. M. Clay's 
company of volunteers, and with musket on shoulder, with them he paced the city, 
"keeping watch and ward over the centre of the nation's hopes and fears," during 
the Baltimore riots of April, 1861. 

He was appointed by President Lincoln, Collector of the Port of Philadelphia, 
in the early days of his administration, and brought to the performance of the 



THOMAS 1 185 

duties of that responsible position a strong will and well balanced mind; — 
familiar, far beyond the average, with the commercial laws and usages, — he man- 
aged the office with an ability and honesty of purpose which when he retired from 
the position brought him the universal plaudit, of "Well done thou good and 
faithful servant." 

In August, 1862, Mr. Thomas formed the employees of the Custom House 
into a military company, known as the "Revenue Guards" and after they were 
sufficiently drilled in military tactics, and equipping them at his own expense, 
was commissioned their captain on September 14, 1862 ; having written to the 
Treasury Department asking for leave of absence from his office of Collector of 
the Port, that he might go with them to the front. Secretary Chase tried to con- 
vince him that he could render more efficient service to his country by retaining 
the office, but Mr. Thomas, with characteristic decision of character, had decided 
for himself as to his sphere of action, and immediately wrote to the Department 
that unless they chose to grant him the desired leave of absence, they should 
consider his letter a resignation of the position of Collector of the Port. He at 
once answered Governor Curtin's call for troops by organizing a second company 
of "Revenue Guards" and marching the two companies to Harrisburg, where he 
was made Colonel of the 20th Regiment of Pennsylvania Volunteers, and was 
with them, at Hagerstown, Maryland, on the Saturday following the battle of 
Antietam, to assist in repelling the threatened invasion of Maryland and Pennsyl- 
vania, where he remained until the danger was over. 

In June, 1863, when Lee again invaded Maryland, Col. Thomas, at once 
marched his regiment, then 1200 strong, to Harrisburg, where he was ordered to 
guard the Northern Central Railroad, a matter of vital importance to the Army 
of the Potomac. His regiment was afterwards engaged with the enemy at 
Wrightsville and York, Pennsylvania, where Colonel Thomas, in command of the 
forces, prevented the enemy from crossing the river. He then joined Gen. Meade 
and aided in the pursuit of Lee, in full retreat southward. 

In July 1864, the term of enlistment of his old regiment having expired, Col. 
Thomas organized the I92d Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, with seven com- 
panies from Philadelphia and three from Reading, the former largely equipped 
at his own expense, and placed himself and his command at his counti"y's service. 
He was ordered to garrison Fort M'Henry, at Baltimore, then to Johnson's 
Island, and next to guard the large military stores at GallipoHs, Ohio, then 
threatened by the rebels, and remained at that post until November, 1864; thus 
in his three years of service he had participated in four campaigns, in each of 
which he displayed many of the highest qualities of a soldier. 

On his return to Philadelphia, Col. Thomas was elected Brigadier General of 
the Fourth Brigade, First Pennsylvania State Guard, which rank he held at the 
time of his death. 

An article in Harper's Weekly, of June 9, 1866, giving a brief sketch of Gen. 
Thomas, accompanied by his portrait, concludes as follows : "His mihtary record 
would be honorable to any soldier ; it is doubly so as that of a man holding respon- 
sible civil position under the National Government. His duties as Collector of 
the Port would have excused Colonel Thomas from any active part in the war, 
but he refused to throw off one responsibility by pleading another. His adminis- 
tration of the Custom House has given entire satisfaction to business men, as well 



ii86 THOMAS 

as to the Government, and there is no citizen of Philadelphia in whom a deeper 
trust is more worthily reposed by the community." 

Gen. Thomas was a good citizen, a steadfast friend, and a wise counsellor. 
He was conspicuous in philanthropic enterprises, a great benefactor of the poor, 
and deeply interested in most of the charitable and benevolent institutions and 
projects of Philadelphia from the time of his settlement there. Religiously, he 
was in later life an attendant at Dr. Furness's Church. He died in Philadelphia, 
December 12, 18S7, in his 77th year, honored and lamented by all who knew him. 

Gen. Thomas married, September 26, 1836, Emily Wilson, daughter of Colonel 
George Washington Holstein, of Upper Merion, by his wife, Elizabeth Wayne 
Hayman, and they celebrated their golden wedding at Philadelphia, on September 
26, 1886. 

Matthias Holstein, the great -great-grand father of Mrs. Thomas, was born 
July I, 1681. He married, October 10, 1705, Brita Rambo, a descendant of one 
of the earliest Swedish settlers on the Delaware. Matthias Holstein was a mem- 
ber of Assembly, 1718-22-24-25. His son, Matthias Holstein, Jr., who was born 
February 2, 1717, died December 12, 1768. Matthias Holstein Jr. was Lieutenant 
of the Philadelphia Associators in 1747. Andrew Holstein was one of the trus- 
tees of Christ (Swedes) Church of Merion, to whom Peter Rambo conveyed the 
land in 1757, upon which the church, and its predecessor, the stone school house, 
which did service a,s a place of learning and worship, were erected. The wife 
of Matthias Holstein Jr. was Magdalene Ruling, born in 1717, died December 4, 
1799. 

Samuel Holstein, son of Matthias and Magdalene (Huling) Holstein, was the 
paternal grandfather of Mrs. Thomas, and was born March 11, 1745, and died 
December 22, 1802. He married, November 12, 1771, Rachel Moore, born Octo- 
ber 8, 1746, and their son, George Washington Holstein, born April 10, 1778, 
died March 10, 1841, married, November 5, 1801, Elizabeth Wayne Hayman, 
born April 5, 1780, daughter of Capt. William Hayman, of the United States 
Navy, Commander of the ship "Hope" in 1781. Capt. Hayman was a son of 
William Hayman, Surveyor General of Exeter, England, and was born in Exeter, 
February 22, 1740, and died in Delaware county, Pennsylvania, September 23, 
1826. He married, October 15, 1772, Ann, daughter of Isaac and Elizabeth 
(Iddings) Wayne, sister to Gen. Anthony Wayne of the Revolution. 

The Wayne Family, to which Capt. Anthony Wayne, the first .American 
ancestor in Pennsylvania belonged, is mentioned in the early records of the coun- 
ties of York and Derby, England, where for many centuries and down to the 
present time, they have held a most respectable position among the gentry; some 
of the name still being found in the parishes where their ancestors held lands in 
Derby centuries ago. The names of Francis, Gabriel and Anthony Wayne, appear 
on the list of soldiers of the civil wars of England, and the arms cut on the seal 
ring which Anthony Wayne brought with him to Pennsylvania, correspond with 
those cut upon the tombstones of the Waynes in the ancient burying-ground of 
the family in Derby, viz: "Gules, a chevron ermine, between three inside gaunt- 
lets, or," but the Crest, "a stag's head erased, or," differs from the crest now used 
by the Derbyshire family. 

Captain Anthony Wayne was bom in Derbyshire, near the border line of 
Yorkshire, in 1666, and at an early age adopted the profession of arms, for which 



THOMAS 1 187 

he seems to have inherited a decided preference. While a lad he served under 
John Churchill, in Holland, and later under the great Duke of Marlborough, with 
his lifelong friend John Hunter. Whether he accompanied the Army of William 
of Orange to England, or joined it later in Ireland, does not appear. At any rate 
he was in command of a troop of horse at the battle of Boyne, in 1690, where he 
was still associated with his friend Hunter, and at the conclusion of peace, both 
settled as graziers in the county of Wicklow, Ireland, on land confiscated by 
William and conferred upon them as his loyal supporters. At about this date, 
Capt Wayne married, at Rathdrum, county Wicklow, Ireland, Hannah Faulkner, 
of Holland descent. 

In 1723 Captain Anthony Wayne emigrated with his family to America, land- 
ing at Boston Massachusetts, from whence he made his way to Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, where his old companion in arms, John Hunter, had settled in 
1722. By deed dated May 11, 1724, he purchased of Thomas Edwards 386 acres 
of land in Easttown township, being named in the deed, as "Anthony Wayne, 
Gentleman." On May 31, 1729, he conveyed forty acres of this land to his son 
Francis Wayne, and having added about the same quantity by purchase in 1735, 
on February 20, 1738-9, conveyed the balance of tlie whole plantation to his son, 
Isaac, conditioned on the payment of an annuity to the parents during life. 

Capt. Anthony Wayne died in Easttown township, December 2, 1739, and was 
buried at St. David's Church, in Radnor township, of which he had been a vestry- 
man and pew-holder from the time of his arrival in Chester county. 

Issue of Captain Anthony and Hannah (Faulkner) Wayne: — 

Francis, b. in Ireland, about 1690, d. in Chester Co., Pa., Jan. 31, 1763; m. Elizabeth 

Jackson, and had issue; 
Gabriel, b. in Ireland about 1694; 

Isaac, b. 1699, d. 1774, m. Elizabeth Iddings, of whom presently; 
Humphrey, b. 1701, m. Priscilla Iddings; 

Jacob, m. Elizabeth , 

William, b. 1708, d. Apr. 22, 1726; 

John, executor of his father's will in 1739; 

Sarah, m. James Norton; 

Ann, m. Samuel McCue; 

Mary. 

Is.«iAC Wayne, third son of Capt. Anthony Wayne, born in Ireland in, 1699, 
acquired the home plantation from his father just prior to the latters death, and 
spent his life thereon, naming the estate "Waynesborough." He was a man of 
great force of character and became prominently identified with provincial affairs. 
He was a captain in the provincial forces during the Indian troubles of 1755, 
raising a company for the defense of the frontier after Braddock's defeat, with 
which he was stationed at De Puy's, now Monroe county, until January, 1756, 
when he was ordered to Nazareth, Northampton county, where he was at the 
time Benjamin Franklin took charge of fortifying our northeastern frontier. He 
recruited another company when the trouble was renewed in 1757-8, and served 
with it on the frontier. He was elected to the Colonial Assembly in 1757, and 
annually re-elected thereafter until 1764. He was, like his father, a prominent 
member of the vestry of St. David's Church, where he was associated with his 
lifelong political opponent, William Moore, of Moore Hall. Capt. Wayne accu- 
mulated a handsome estate, and greatly enlarged and improved the mansion at 



ii88 THOMAS 

W'aynesborough, which descended, at his death in 1774, to his eldest surviving 
son, Gen. Anthony W^ayne. 

Capt. \\'ayne married, in 1738, EHzabeth, daughter of Richard and Margaret 
(Phillips) Iddings, of Chester county. She survived him many years, dying in 
May, 1793, at the age of eighty- four years. 

Issue of Captain Isaac and Elizabeth (Iddings) Wayne: — 

William Wayne, d. inf.; 

Gen. Anthony Wayne, b. Jan. i, 1745, d. Dec. 15, 1796, ra. Mary Penrose; 
Hannah Wayne, m. Samuel Van Lear: 

Ann Wayne, b. 1751, d. June 9, 1807, m. Oct. 15, 1772. Capt. William Hayman, of 
U. S. Navy, before mentioned. 

Issue of Gen. William B. and Emily W. (Holstein) Thomas: — 

Anna Elizabeth Thomas, m. Feb. 3, 1858, Nathan Brooke, of Media, son of Hon. 
Hugh Jones Brooke and wife Elizabeth Longmire, and had issue : 
William Thomas Brooke, m. May 11, 1881, Rebecca Chapman; 
Ida Longmire Brooke, m. Dec. 14, 1881, J. Howard Lewis, Jr.; 
Hugh Jones Brooke, m. Apr. 25, 1893, Harriet Boyer Weand; 
Hunter Brooke; 

Emily Thomas Brooke, m. May 12, 1903, John Brander Austin, Jr. 
Benjamin Brooke, d. inf.; 

Rebecca Brooke, m. Nov. 20, 1867, George Hamilton Colket, son of Coffin and 
Mary Pennypacker (Walker) Colket, Pres. of Germantown, Norristown and 
Chestnut Hill R. R. Co., and the City Passenger Railway Co., up to time of 
death. They had issue : 

Emily Thomas Colket, m. Oct. 30, 1889, Harrison Koons Caner; 
Mary Walker Colket; 

Tristram Coffin Colket, m. Nov. 15. 1900, Eleanor Lippincott; 
George Hamilton Colket. 
Mary Amies Brooke, m. Feb. 25, 1874, Hunter Brooke, son of Hon. Hugh Jones 
Brooke and wife Elizabeth Longmire, of Media. They had issue : 

Helen Brooke, m. Jan. 21, 1905, George Callendine, son of Col. Jonathan 

McGee and Mattie (Callendine) Heck, of Raleigh, N. C; 
-Marie Thomas Brooke, m. April 14. 1909, George \V.. son of William P. and 
Emeline Hill Clyde, of Xew York. 

JoH.N Brooke, the ancestor of Hunter Brooke, above mentioned, came from 
Yorkshire with sons, James and Matthew, in the latter part of the seventeenth 
century; having purchased of William Penn, seven hundred and fifty acres of 
land to be laid out in Pennsylvania. He died, however, at the house of William 
Cooper, of Pine Point, Gloucester county, New Jersey, leaving a will dated Octo- 
ber 25, 1699, and proven March i, 1699-1700, which leaves legacies to the children 
of his three children in England, viz : Son, Jonathan and daughters, Abigail, wife 
of Robert Todd, and Elizabeth, wife of Joshua Sickes. His sons, James and 
Matthew, evidently accompanied him to America and later settled in Limerick 
township, Philadelphia, now Alontgomery county, Pennsylvania. 

J.\MES Brooke, son of John, died in Limerick township, in the year 1720. 

JoN.\THAN Brooke, son of James, died m 1751, his will being proven on Octo- 
ber II, of that year. By his wife, Elizabeth Reece, of Welsh descent, he had one 
son, James Brooke, born in 1723, died June, 1787, who married Mary Evans, also 
of Welsh descent. 

C^PT.MX Benj.amin Brooke, son of James and Mary (Evans) Brooke, born 
in Limerick township, September 24, 1753, was a distinguished patriot in the 
Revolutionary War. He was a man of considerable energy and force of char- 



THOMAS 1 189 

_acter, and at the outbreak of the Revolution, he ardently espoused the cause of 
the colonies, and although he had but recently married and established himself in 
a good business, he at once volunteered for military service in the field and was 
commissioned Lieutenant of a Company of Foot, in the Third Battalion of Asso- 
ciators of Philadelphia county, and leaving his bride of a few months, marched 
with his command to Amboy, New Jersey. From that time until the close of the 
war, he was actively engaged in the patriotic struggle. Fie was commissioned 
Captain of his company, then in the Sixth Battalion, May 12, 1777. 

Capt. Benjamin Brooke, married, April 25, 1776, Anna Davis, of Welsh ances- 
try, born November 29, 1754, died September 7, 1823. He died at his residence, 
Gulph Mills, Upper Merion township, July 22, 1834. They were the parents of 
Rebecca Brooke, who married Reese Thomas, before referred to, and among 
others, of Nathan Brooke, born February 8, 1778, who was a farmer and promi- 
nent business man of Lower Merion, and died there, February 5, 1815. He mar- 
ried, October 11, 1804, Mary, daughter of Hugh Jones, of Marble township, 
Chester county, born in Merion, May 12, 1746, died in Marble, December 29, 
1796, by his wife, Mary, daughter of James and Hannah (Morgan) Hunter, of 
Radnor, born November 12, 1757, died August 20, 1820. Hugh Jones Sr., the 
grandfather of Mary (Jones) Brooke, was born in Merion in 1705, died there, 
August 8, 1790. He was the original owner of "Brooldield," north of Bryn 
Mawr, later owned by Hon. Wayne MacVeagh, having purchased first a part of 
the Lloyd plantation, taken up by Robert Lloyd, and later added largely thereto 

Honorable Hugh Jones Brooke, of Radnor, son of Nathan and Mary 
(Jones) Brooke, born December 27, 1805, died December 19, 1876, was for over 
half a century prominently identified with the affairs of Delaware county and the 
city of Philadelphia. He was many years a member of the State Senate of Penn- 
sylvania and filled various other public positions of trust and honor. Trie was 
largely instrumental in securing the construction of the Philadelphia, Media and 
Westchester Railroad, and was identified with a number of other public improve- 
ments, amongst them the Pennsylvania School for Feeble-minded Children, 
■erected near Media, and Brooke Hall Female Semmary, erected by him in Media. 
He was for many years President of the Farmers' Market Company, of Phila- 
delphia. He married, April 16, 1829, Jemima Elizabeth Longmire, a native of 
Nottingham, England, and they had issue : — 

Anna Elizabeth Brooke, d. in childhood; 

Nathan Brooke, d. May 13, 1885; m. Anna Elizabeth Thomas; 

Mary Brooke, d. inf.; 

Francis Mark Brooke, d. Dec. 29, 1898; m. July 19, 1862, Adelaide Hunter Vogdes; 

Hannah Maria Brooke, m. John L. Evans; 

Colonel Benjamin Brooke, b. Dec. 13, 1840; d. March 12, 1902, unm. At the out- 
break of War of Rebellion, he enlisted in 124th Pa. Infantry, under Col. Joseph 
Hawley, and as Sergeant of Company D of that Regiment, fought in battles of 
Antietam and Chancellorsville. When term of enlistment expired, he recruited 
Company B of 203rd Infantry, with which he was at storming of Fort Fisher, 
where he was severely wounded. He was again wounded in front of Wilmington, 
N. C, in one of last battles of war. He was then promoted to Lieut.-Col. of 
203rd, and came home with that rank. At close of war, he was offered commis- 
sion in regular army, but declined; 

Hunter Brooke, m. Mary Amies Thomas; 

Jemima E. Brooke, d. inf.; 

Sarah Ann Brooke, m. George M. Lewis. 



HOP KIN SON FAMILY. 

Thomas Hopkinson, founder of the Philadelphia family of that name, was 
son of Thomas and Mary Hopkinson, and was bom in London, England, April 6, 
1709, where his father was a prosperous merchant. He attended Oxford Uni- 
versity, but did not graduate there. He studied law at London, and soon after 
attaining his majority, emigrated to America. He and his family seem to have 
had influential friends in Philadelphia, where the young barrister was appointed 
deputy to Charles Read, then Clerk of the Orphans' Court of Philadelphia county, 
and on the death of Read was commissioned his successor, January 20, 1736-7, 
and filled that position until his death on November 5, 1751. On the same date 
he was commissioned Master of Rolls for Philadelphia, and served until 1741. He 
was also Deputy Prothonotary under James Hamilton, was commissioned Pro- 
thonotary November 24, 1748, and served until his death. He was commissioned 
a Justice June 30, 1749, and a Judge of Vice Admiralty of the Province January 
17, 1744-5, and became a member of Provincial Council May 13, 1747. He was 
also a member of Common Council of Philadelphia from October 6, 1741, to his 
death. He was a man of high scholastic attainments and deeply interested in 
scientific and literary subjects. Dr. Franklin, in one of his dissertations on elec- 
tricity, says, "The power of points to throw off electrical fire was first communi- 
cated to me by my ingenious friend, Thomas Hopkinson, since deceased, whose 
virtue and integrity in every station of life, public and private, will ever make his 
memory dear to those who knew him and knew how to value him." He was an 
originator of the Philadelphia Library, an original trustee of the College of Phila- 
delphia (later University of Pennsylvania), first president and one of the most 
prominent members of the American Philosophical Society. He was from his 
arrival in Philadelphia until his death prominent in the political and social life of 
Philadelphia. He was one of the early subscribers to the Dancing Assembly, one 
of the exclusive social institutions of Colonial Philadelphia. 

Thomas Hopkinson married at Christ Church, September 9, 1735, Mary John- 
son, born in Appoquinimink Hundred, New Castle county, August 4, 1718, died 
in Philadelphia, November 9, 1804. Her grandfather, George Johnson, was a son 
of William Johnson, of Laycock, county Wilts, England, and Elizabeth, his wife, 
and was born at Laycock, Wiltshire, about 1620. He was admitted to the Middle 
Temple, May 2, 1645 • admitted to the bar, November 24, 1654, and was a 
Sergeant-at-law in reign of Charles H., who granted him the reversion of the 
office of Master of Rolls, August 15, 1677, but he did not live to realize the grant, 
dying May, 1683, before the office became vacant, his wife, Mary, surviving him. 
A grandson, first cousin of Mrs. Hopkinson, was James Johnson, Lord, Bishop of 
Worcester. Baldwin Johnson, father of Mrs. Hopkinson, born at Laycock, Wilt- 
shire, baptized October 25, 1672, removed to the Island of Antigua, and thence to 
the Lower Counties on the Delaware, where he married Jane, widow of William 
Dyer, of Kent county (son of Mary Dyer, the Boston Quaker martyr), who had 
settled in Delaware about 1669. 



HOPKINSON 1 191 

Issue of Thomas and Mary (Johnson) Hopkinson: 

Francis, b. Sept. 21, 1737; m. Anne Borden; of whom presently; 

Elizabeth, b. Sept. 15, 1738; m. Rev. Jacob Duche, first pastor of St. Peter's Church, 
Phila., and first chaplain of Continental Congress; later became "disaffected" to the 
cause of American independence, went to England and d. there; 

Mary, b. July s, 1741, d. Aug. 9, 1741; 

Mary, b. Oct. 9, 1742, d. s. p., Jan. 2, 1785; m. Sept. 4, 1765, John Morgan, A. B., M. D., 
graduated at Univ. of Pa., (A. B.) 1757; studied medicine under Dr. John Redman, 
and was director general and physician in chief of General Hospital, Continental 
Army, 1775-7; member of Society of Belles Letters, Rome; Academy of Surgery, 
Paris; College of Physicians, London; College of Physicians, Edinburgh, and College 
of Physicians, Phila.; d. at Phila., Oct. 15, 1789; 

Jane, b. Oct. 3, 1744, d. unm., Baltimore, Aug. 6, 1811; 

Anne, b. Nov. 23, 1745, d. Baltimore, Md., April 26, 1817; m. April 26, 1775, Dr. Samuel 
Stringer Coale, who studied medicine under Dr. John Morgan, and practiced in Balti- 
more; 

Thomas, b. Sept. 7, 1747, d. May 26, 1784, graduated at College of Phila., 1766, studied 
divinity, went to England and France, 1773, returned to Phila., 1774, with a view of 
taking charge of a mission in Bucks co., but became pastor of St. Thomas' Parish, 
Baltimore co., Md., Dec. 10, 1775; later had a charge at Shrewsbury, Kent co., and 
subsequently in Mathews CO., Va. ; 

Margaret, b. July 21, 1749, d. Sept. 9, 1751. 

Francis Hopkinson, son of Thomas and Mary (Johnson) Hopkinson, born in 
Philadelphia, September 21, 1737, was one of the first pupils of the College and 
Academy of Philadelphia, now University of Pennsylvania, and graduated there 
1757. He studied law under Benjamin Chew, Esq., then Provincial Councillor 
and Attorney General of the Province, and was admitted to the Bar of Philadel- 
phia county 1 761. The same year he officiated as Secretary at a treaty with the 
Indians, and commemorated that event in his first poetical effusion, entitled "The 
Treaty." He became secretary of the Philadelphia Library Company 1759, and 
was librarian 1764-5. He was also secretary of the vestry of Christ Church and 
assisted in organizing the library of that church. In May, 1766, he went to 
Europe with his friend, Redmond Conyngham, who was returning to his estates 
at Letterkinny, Ireland; arriving at Londonderry June 27, 1766, he spent several 
weeks in Ireland, and then proceeded to London, where he remained for about one 
year, with occasional visits to Hartlebury Castle, the home of his mother's first 
cousin, the Bishop of Worcester. He was hospitably received and entertained by 
persons of distinction in London, and associated with Hon. John Penn, Lord 
North, Benjamin West, and others of like distinction. He made an eflfort to 
obtain the appointment as one of the Commissioners of Customs in North Amer- 
ica, but did not succeed. He returned to Philadelphia and took up the practice of 
law, and also devoted some attention to mercantile pursuits, having his store, 
dwelling and law ofHce on Race street, above Third. He became a member of the 
American Philosophical Society 1768, and was warden of Christ Church 1770-1. 
In March, 1772, he was made Collector of His Majesty's Customs at New Castle, 
the last to serve under the Crown, performing the duties, however, by deputy. 
He married September 11, 1768, Amie Borden, of Bordentown, New Jersey, made 
his principal residence for some years in that town, and became a member of 
Provincial Council of New Jersey (1774-6), was chosen by the Provincial Con- 
vention, June, 1776, one of its delegates to the Continental Congress, and was one 
of the committee of that body to draft the Articles of Confederation. He voted 



1 192 HOPKINSON 

in favor of declaring the Colonies independent, and was one of the signers of the 
Declaration of Independence. 

Francis Hopkinson was delegated by Congress to the important positions of 
head of Xavy Department, and Treasurer of Continental Loan Office, and he 
espoused the cause of the struggling Colonies with the utmost zeal and patriotism ; 
in addition to bringing to official position an executive ability amounting to genius, 
his ready pen was of incalculable benefit to the cause of independence, his poems, 
political songs and essays, with their humorous satire, received the widest circula- 
tion, and did very much to arouse and foster the spirit of national independence 
and cheer the flagging spirits of its defenders. He had acquired quite a reputation 
as an author prior to the Revolution, and his "Pretty Story,'' published 1774, in 
pamphlet form, met with great success, as did his "Prophecy,'" 1776, the cutting 
satire of his "Political Catechism,'' and other essays, poems and popular airs, did 
much to expose the weakness of the philosophy of the nation's enemies, and it is 
impossible to overestimate "the irresistible influence of the ridicule which he 
poured from time to time upon the enemies of those great political events." Plis 
"Battle of the Kegs,'' written 1778, his best known ballad, described an attempt on 
the British fleet at Philadelphia by floating torpedoes down the river, and brought 
out the ridiculous side of the terror it caused among the British officers in the 
greatest possible manner. On July 16, 1779, he was appointed by the Supreme 
Executive Council of Pennsylvania, to succeed George Ross as Judge of the 
Admiralty, and held that position until 1790, when the office was abolished by the 
adoption of the new constitution. He was then appointed by President Washing- 
ton, Judge of the newly established District Court of the United States, for the 
District of Pennsylvania, and died while filling that position. May 9, 1791, from a 
stroke of apoplexy, which he survived but two hours. In 1789 he published a 
volume of his decisions as Judge of the Admiralty Court. His best known writ- 
ings were "The Pretty Story," 1774; "The Prophecy," 1776; "The Political 
Catechism," 1777; "The Treaty," 1762; "The Battle of the Kegs," 1778; "History 
of a New Roof," descriptive of the adoption of the Federal Constitution, 1790; 
"Typographical Method of Conducting a Quarrel," "Essay on White Washing," 
and "Modern Learning." An edition of his "Miscellaneous Essays and Occa- 
sional Writings" was published in three volumes, Philadelphia, 1792. 

We are indebted to the work of O. G. Sonneck, entitled "Two Studies in Early 
.American Music," published in 1905, for a minute account of the attainments of 
Francis Hopkinson in music. It shows that he stood in the centre of musical life 
in Philadelphia, and that he was pre-eminent as a psalmodist, teacher, organist, 
harpsicordist, essayist, composer and improver of the harpsicord; that he was 
selected, 1764, by the consistory of the Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of the 
City of New York, to versify the Psalms of David in English; that he was the 
first native poet-composer of the United States, and probably the first native to 
produce a musical composition, which latter distinction Francis Hopkinson him- 
self claimed in the dedication of his "Seven Songs" to George Washington, "How- 
ever small the Reputation may be that I shall derive from this Work, I cannot, I 
beheve, be refused the credit of being the first Native of the United States who 
has produced a Musical Composition." 

Francis Hopkinson married at Bordentown, New Jersey, September 11, 1768, 
Anne, daughter of Joseph Borden, by his wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Samuel 



HOPKINSON 1 193 

and Mary Rogers. The great-great-grandparents of Mrs. Hopkinson, Richard 
and Joan Borden, settled at Portsmouth, Rhode Island, prior to 1638, and their 
son, Benjamin, born at Portsmouth, May 16, 1649, married at Hartford, Con- 
necticut, September 22, 1681, Abigail, daughter of Henry Glover, and removed 
to Shrewsbury, New Jersey, where their seventh child, Joseph Borden, grand- 
father of Mrs. Hopkinson, was born, March 12, 1687. He was the founder of 
Bordentown ; married Ann Conover, and died September 22, 1765, leaving one 
son, Joseph, father of Mrs. Hopkinson, and a daughter, Mary, wife of Chief 
Justice Thomas McKean. Mrs. Hopkinson died at Bordentown, August 31, 1827. 
Issue of Francis and Anne (Borden) Hopkinson: 

James, b. Oct. 30, 1769, d. Aug. 12, 1775; 

Joseph, b. Nov. 12, 1770, d. Jan. 15, 1842; m. Emily Mifflin; of whom presently; 

Elizabeth, b. July 26, 1772, d. 1839; m, Jonathan William Condy, A. B., of Phila. Bar; 

Mary, b. Nov. 28, 1773, d. Oct. 17, 1806; m. Nov. 4, 1794, Isaac Smith, M. D., of Balti- 
more, Md., later of Northampton co., Va. ; their second son, Francis Hopkinson 
Smith, b. March 14, 1797, m. Sept. 5, 1820, Susanna Brown Upshur, dau. of John 
Teackle, of Craddock, Accomac co., Va., and was father of Francis Hopkinson Smith, 
the well-known author, artist and lecturer, b. 1838; 

Thomas, b. Dec. 31, 1775, d. Jan. i, 1776; 

Anne, b. Oct. 19, 1777, d. Sept. 19, 1868; m. Nov. 10, 1802, Ebenezer Stout; 

Thomas, b. Sept. 23, 1779, d. Nov. 5, 1779; 

Francis, b. May 13, 1781; m. Hewitt, of Baltimore, Md.; 

Sarah Johnson, b. May 26, 1784, d. Aug. 19, 1785. 

JOSEPH Hopkinson, eldest surviving .son of Francis and Anne (Borden) Hop- 
kinson, author of "Hail Columbia," was born in Philadelphia, November 12, 1770, 
and baptized at Christ Church, January 5, 1773. He graduated at University of 
Pennsylvania, and studied law with Judge Wilson and William Rawle. He com- 
menced practice at Easton, Pennsylvania, but soon after returned to Philadelphia, 
and became one of the leading lights of the bar of that county and city, acting as 
counsel in many celebrated cases, among them the libel case of Dr. Rush vs. Cob- 
bett, and the impeachment proceedings against Justice Chase, in which Mr. Hop- 
kinson especially distinguished himself. He was a member of the National House 
of Representatives, 181 5-19, and voted against the rechartering of the United 
.States Bank. He held an exceedingly high position as a public speaker ; Sander- 
son, in his "Life of the Signers,'' referring to the inpeachment proceedings against 
Judge Samuel Chase before the United States Senate, 1805, says: "The speech 
of Mr. Hopkinson, then a very young man, has not been exceeded as a specimen 
of powerful and brilliant eloquence, in the forensic oratory of the country." At 
the conclusion of his term in Congress he resided three years in Bordentown. In 
182S he was appointed by President Adams, Judge of the United States District 
Court, an office held by his father at the time of his death, and he too filled it until 
his death, January 15, 1842. He was vice-president of the American Philosoph- 
ical Society, and president of the Philadelphia Academy of Fine Arts, the latter of 
which institutions owed its existence to a large extent to his exertions. He was a 
warm friend of education, and gave hearty support to the various educational 
institutions of his native city. He was a Federalist in politics. He was a member 
of the Constitutional Convention of 1837, and as a member of the Committee on 
Judiciary, contended successfully for life tenure for Judges of the higher courts. 
He was author of various addresses and published articles on legal and ethical 



1 194 HOPKINSON 

subjects. His authorship of the national song, "Hail Columbia," came about in 
rather a singular manner. In 1798, when war with France was thought to be 
immment and inevitable. Congress was in session in Philadelphia, and political 
excitement on this subject ran very high. A friend of Mr. Hopkinson connected 
with a theatre in Philadelphia, was given a benefit, and realizing that the only way 
he could secure a full house was to introduce something of a political nature, the 
public mind being so much engrossed with political questions, appealed to his 
friend and old schoolmate, Joseph Hopkinson, for advice and assistance in secur- 
ing a patriotic song to be sung at his benefit. Mr. Hopkinson told him to call the 
next afternoon and he would furnish him with a song. It was an immense suc- 
cess, and was encored and repeated night after night for weeks, the audience 
joining in the chorus, and it was sung in the streets in large assemblies and pro- 
cessions and in an incredibly short space of time was being sung and applauded in 
ail parts of the United States. 

Joseph Hopkinson married February 27, 1794, Emily, daughter of Gen. Thomas 
Mifflin. 

Issue of Joseph and Emily (Mifflin) Hopkinson: 

Thomas Mifflin, b. Dec. 18, 1794, d. s. p., May 9, 1871 ; m. Mary Pearson ; 

Francis, of Bordentown, N. J., b. July 20, 1796, d. June 2, 1870; m. Jan. 13, 1829, Ann 

Biddle, dau. of Charles Biddle; 
James, b. Aug. 25, 1797, d. Oct. 10, 1800 ; 
Joseph, b. Jan. 8, 1799, d. Sept. 9, 1799; 
Elizabeth Borden, b. Jan. 6, 1800, d. Sept. 20, 1891 ; m. (first) May 19, 1824, John J. 

Keating, of Phila. ; (second) WilHam Shepard Biddle; 

John Penington Hopkinson, M. D., b. Dec. 26, 1801, d. s. p., March 6, 1836, while demon- 
strator of anatomy at Univ. of Pa.; 
Joseph, b. March 20, 1803, d. young; 

Alexander Hamilton, b. Aug. 4, 1804, Lieutenant in U. S. N., d. on the "Lexington," off 
Malta, Aug. 11, 1827; 

Emily, b. Nov. 30, 1805, d. April 9, 1806; 

George, b. Oct. 4, 1807, d. young; 

James, b. May 18, 1810, d. Jan. 28, 1875; m. June 12, 1844, Carolina Lafayette Seabrook, 
of South Carolina; 

OtlvER, b. July 24, 1812, d. March 10, 1905; m. Eliza Swaim; of whom presently; 

Edward Coale, b. Feb. 14, 1814, d. s. p., while in service of U. S. N. as midshipman; 

Joseph, b. March 30, 1816, graduated at Univ. of Pa., 1833, with degree of M. D.; surgeon 

U. S. N.; m. (first) Joanna McCrea, (second) Sarah Wistar; d. Phila., July 11, 1865, 

while in charge of the Mower Hospital. 

Oliver Hopkinson, son of Hon. Joseph and Emily (Mifflin) Hopkinson, was 
born in Philadelphia, July 24, 18 12, and went to a school at a very early age at 
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, of which Rev. Dr. Brownlie was principal. He sub- 
sequently attended the Academy of Dr. Wiltbank, in Philadelphia, then the Rock- 
hill Academy, conducted by Mr. Sams, at Ellicott's Mills, Maryland, where he 
remained two years. While at Rockhill Academy he spent his Saturdays and 
Sundays at the manor of Charles Carroll, of Carrollton, with whose family the 
Hopkinsons had long been intimate, and of whom Oliver Hopkinson preserved a 
recollection as a venerable and dignified gentleman. 

He entered the freshman class (class of '32), University of Pennsylvania, De- 
partment of Arts, 1828. At his death he was the oldest living graduate. While 
at the university he was a member of the Zelosophic Society and took an active 




^. 



y'V^i^ 



^i^/^c>it^^f-^<^ 



HOPKINSON 1 195 

part in its exercises. He obtained his degree of Bachelor of Arts 1832, and of 
Master of Arts 1835. 

After graduation he began the study of law in the office of Hon. John Sergeant, 
but discontinued, entering the corps of civil engineers of Moncure Robinson, and 
under him was engaged for two years in surveys in Pennsylvania and Virginia, 
one of them being the experimental survey for the Philadelphia & Reading Rail- 
way, between Philadelphia and Reading. Having resumed the study of law in the 
office of William M. Meredith, Mr. Hopkinson was admitted to the Philadelphia 
liar 1837, and as assistant to Mr. Meredith, then United States District Attorney, 
conducted, before Justice Baldwin, the memorable trial of Alexander W. Holmes, 
who was one of the crew of the ship, "William Brown," and was on trial for man- 
slaughter on the high seas ; Holmes had hurled a passenger overboard from an 
overloaded life-boat, containing the survivors of the wreck of the ship. 

Mr. Hopkinson was a member of the Volunteer Corps, National Grays, Captain 
Fritz, and subsequently a Lieutenant in the Cadwalader Grays, Captain Scott, 
with which company he took part in the suppression of the riot in Queen street, 
1844, when an attempt to burn a Catholic Church was apprehended. The next 
night he had command of the detachment detailed for the protection of St. John's 
Church, and of the arsenal opposite the church. He served in the War of the 
Rebellion, as Lieutenant Colonel of First Regiment, Delaware Volunteers, and 
was wounded at the battle of Antietam. "To him/' as stated in a history of the 
regiment, "more than to anyone, the regiment owed its acknowledged skill and 
efficiency as skirmishers, he having drilled them with special pains and remarkable 
success." While the regiment was encamped at Old Point Comfort he witnessed 
the famous combat between the "Monitor" and the "Merrimac." He resigned his 
commission on surgeon's certificate of physical disability, but in 1863, when Lee 
invaded Pennsylvania, he was tendered command of the Fifty-first Pennsylvania 
(Second Coal Regiment), which he accepted and held during that regiment's term 
of service. 

Mr. Hopkinson inherited his grandfather's fondness for music and was well 
known in Philadelphia as an amateur violinist. His home at 1424 Spruce street 
was for many years the place for reunion of artists and lovers of music. Among 
his earliest recollections was that of Joseph Bonaparte, who resided at Borden- 
town. New Jersey, and who was a frequent visitor at his father's house. He 
remembered going with his parents on many occasions to dine with the "Count" 
at "Point Breeze," titles which Bonaparte had adopted for himself and his resi- 
dence. 

Oliver Hopkinson married, 1845, Eliza, daughter of William Swaim, a Captain 
in the War of 1812, of Huguenot descent, whose ancestors settled in Connecticut 
early in tlje seventeenth century. One of Mrs. Hopkinson's ancestors was a mem- 
ber of the first General Court ( the name for the Legislature in the New England 
Colonies) of that Colony, held at Hartford, April 26, 1636. 

Mr. Hopkinson preserved his faculties in a remarkable degree, even after he 
was ninety years old, and for only a very few of his last years chd failing sight 
prevent his active participation in rendering classical music at the gatherings at 
his home. He died March 10, 1905, at his residence, 1424 Spruce street, Phila- 
delphia. 



1 196 HOPKINSON 

Of JNIr. Hopkinson's six sons, four were graduates of University of Pennsyl- 
vania: Joseph, '69, Coll.; Edward, '72, Coll.; Oliver, Jr., '80, Coll., and '83 Medi- 
cal Department; and James Swaim^ '82, Coll. 

Issue of Oliver and Eliza (Swaini) Hopkinson: 

William Francis, b. May 8, 1846, graduated from Polytechnic College, Phila. ; assistant 
civil engineer Pa. Railroad; m. Oct 14, 1880, Jeannette Hileman, of Altoona, Pa.; they 
reside (1907) at Williamsport, Pa., and have issue : 
Walter Waring, b. June 29, 1881, at Altoona, Pa.; 
Gabriella Biddle, b. Sept. 8, 1883, at Elmira, N. Y. 
Joseph, b. Feb. 25, 1848, graduated from Univ. of Pa., A. B., 1869; A. M., 1872; received 
freshman and sophomore declamation prizes; member Delta Psi fraternity; admitted 
to Phila. Bar; m. in Phila., April 7, 1879, Catharine Frances, dau. of William M. 
Baird, of Phila.; residence, 1302 Spruce street, Phila.; they have issue: 
Frances, b. March 22, 1880; 
Marguerite Baird, b. Oct. 26, 1883. 
Edward, b. Nov. 11, 1850, graduated at Univ. of Pa., A. B., 1872; A. M., 1875; member 
Philomathean Society, Univ. of Pa.; admitted to Phila. Bar, Dec. 1876; m. in Phila., 
Nov. II, 1884, Abbie Woodruffe, dau. of Richard Colegate Dale, of Phila.; they have 
issue : 

Edward, b. Phila., Sept. 29, 1885; student at Univ. of Pa.; 
Richard Dale, b. in Phila., July 11, 1887; student at Univ. of Pa. 
Elizabeth Borden, b. Paris, France, March 7, 1852; member of Pa. Society of Colonial 
Dames of America, and Daughters of American Revolution; m. in Phila., June 4, 
1878, Richard Loper Baird. Mr. Baird graduated from Polytechnic College, Phila., 
1870, and from Law Dept. of Univ. of Pa., (LL. B.) 1874, and was admitted to Phila. 
Bar, 1875. He was State Clerk under Phila. City Treasurer, W. Redwood Wright; 
Chief of Law Division of Phila. Custom House under Collector John Cadwalader; 
and United States Appraiser of Port of Phila. during President Cleveland's second 
administration. He is a member of the Law Association of Phila., Univ. Barge Club, 
Phi Kappa Sigma fraternity, and Young America Cricket Club. 
Issue of R. Loper and Elizabeth Borden (^Hopkinson) Baird : 

Oliver Hopkinson Baird, b. March 22, 1879; member of Pa. Society, Sons of 

Revolution, and Germantown Cricket Club; 
Elizabeth Biddle Baird, b. Feb. 4, 1881 ; m. June i, 1905, Charles Edwin ShuU, and 
has issue : 

Elizabeth Borden Hopkinson ShuU, b. March 20, 1906. 
Richard Loper Baird, Jr., b. Sept. 13, 1882. 
Isabella Mease, b. March 8, 1854, d. Sept. 26, 1855; 

Emily Olivia, b. July 15, 1855; member of Pa. Society, Colonial Dames of America; m. 
Oct. 31, 1882, Hood Gilpin, b. Phila., Oct. 19, 1853, son of Charles and Sarah Hamilton 
(Hood) Gilpin. Mr. Gilpin entered Univ. of Pa., 1868, was president of Zelosophic 
Society there, and graduated with degree of A. B., 1872, and A. M., 1875; was admitted 
to Phila. Bar, Dec. i, 1874; Assistant United States District Attorney, Eastern District 
of Pa., Nov., 1875, to Jan., 1885; School Director, Eighth Ward, Phila., from Dec. 31, 
1889, to the present time; president of Board from April 6, 1896, to Feb. 7, 1906. 
Issue of Hood and Emily Olivia (Hopkinson) Gilpin : 

Francis Hopkinson Gilpin, b. Aug. 3, 1883; graduated from Univ. of Pa., class of 
1904, in Mechanical Engineering Dept. ; member Sigma Chi fraternity and Engi- 
neer's Club of Phila.; 
Gabriella Gilpin, b. March 14, 1885; 

Hood Gilpin, Jr., b. Aug. 3, 1891; student at William Penn Charter School, Phila. 
Oliver, Jr., b. Phila., Dec. 7, 1857; graduated from Univ. of Pa., A. B., 1880, and M. D., 
1883; distinguished merit for graduation thesis in medicine; resident physician, Epis- 
copal Hospital, Phila., 1884-85; District Physician, Twenty-sixth Ward, Phila.; mem- 
ber Medical Association, Phila. County Medical Society, Obstetrical Society, Phila.; 
Historical Society of Pa., and Pa. Society, Sons of Revolution; m. Nov. 2, 1887, Julia 
Frances, dau. of Alfred Thompson, of Bordentown, N. J.; resided 1606 S. Broad 
street until death of father, when he removed to 1424 Spruce; issue: 
Emily Gilpin Hopkinson, b. March 28, 1890. 
Julius, b. July 2, 1859, d. June I, 1906; m. Sept. I, 1885, Lillie Bartels, and has issue : 
Oliver William Hopkinson, b. May 31, 1886. 



HOPKINSON 1 197 

James Swaim, b. Phila., Oct, 2, 1861 ; received early education in classical institute of 
Dr. John W. Faires, Phila., and entered freshman class, scientific course, Univ. of Pa., 
1878, receiving degree of Bachelor of Science, 1882; he then entered the service of Pa. 
Railroad Company, and became supervisor of Susquehannah Division, stationed at 
Lock Haven, Pa.; m. Oct. 11, 1894, Irene, dau. of Simon S. Bowman, of Millersburg, 
Pa.; was member of Pa. Society, Sons of Revolution; d. Phila., Jan. 5, 1906; 

Gabriella Butler, b. Oct. 29, 1863, d. Sept. 9, 1882, unm., bur. at Laurel Hill Cemetery; 

Laura, b. Sept. 17, 1865, d. Aug. 6, 1866. 



UPDEGRAVE FAMILY. 

The earliest ancestor of the Updegrave family of Pennsylvania, of whom we 
have any record, was Herman Op de Graeff, born in village of Aldekerk, or Alde- 
kerry, on Lower Rhine, November 26, 1585. On August 16, 1605, he married 
Grietje Pletjes, and removed to Crefeld, borders of Holland. He was a delegate 
from the Crefeld district to the Council of Dordrecht in 1632, when was formu- 
lated the first Mennonite confession of faith. He died at Crefeld, December 27, 
1642. 

Isaac Op De Graeff, only son of Herman and Grietje (Pletjes) Op de Graefl, 
of whom we have any record, was born at Crefeld, Germany, February 28, 1616. 
The name of his wife, nor the date of his marriage, have not been ascertained, 
but he is said to have been the father of eighteen children, of whom four, Her- 
man, Dirck, Abraham and Margaret, were among the first colony of Germans and 
Palatines to found a home in Pennsylvania. With ten other families they left 
Crefeld in 1683, and sailing for Philadelphia, arrived there October 6, 1683, and 
October 14 took up their residence at Germantown, on land previously purchased 
by them collectively, under the title of "The Frankfort Company." Little time 
intervened between their arrival and the beginning of the winter season, and many 
of the families, including the Op de Graefifs, made their homes, until the following 
springs in caves on the banks of the Delaware. 

The original of the following curious paper is still in existence : 

"We whose names are to these presents subscribed, do hereby certify unto all whom it 
may concern. That soon after our arrival in the Province of Pennsylvania, in October, 1683, 
to our certain knowledge, Herman op de Graeff, Dirk op de Graeff, and Abraham op de 
Graeff, as well as ourselves, in the cave of Francis Daniel Pastorious, att Philadelphia, did 
cast lots for the respective lots which they and we then began to settle in Germantown; and 
the said Graeffs (three brothers) have sold their several lots, each by himself, no less than 
if a division in writing had been made by them. 

"Witness our hands, this 29th. Novr., A. D., 1709. 

LENERT ARETS 
JAN LENSEN 
THONES KUNDER 
WILLIAM STREYPERS 
ABRAHAM TUNES 
REINER TYSEN 
JAN LUCKEN." 

The three Op de Graeff brothers were linen weavers, Abraham, youngest of 
the trio, being especially expert in the art of weaving. 

Though followers of Menno Simon, the Op de Graeffs for a time affiliated with 
the Friends, to which faith a number of the Germans in the Colony had been 
converted prior to their removal from their native country, and Dirck Isaacs Op 
de Graeff (as he was usually known, though the only one of the brothers to 
retain his father's given name as a stJrname, according to the Dutch custom), re- 
mained a member of the Society until his death in 1697. He was a representative 
of Germantown Meeting in the Monthly Meeting at Abington, and was sent by 
that Monthly Meeting to the Quarterly Meeting at Philadelphia, 6mo. 27, 1697. 

Both Dirck and Abraham Op de Graeff were signers of the famous protest against 
human slavery, presented to the Monthly Meeting at Lower Dublin, 2mo. 30, 



UPDEGRAVE 1199 

1688; which remarkable document coming from and written by Germans less than 
five years in this country, we deem of sufficient interest to be reproduced here in 
full. It is as follows : 

"This to the Monthly Meeting, held at Richard Worrel's : — 

"These are the reasons why we Are against the traffic of men's body, as foUoweth : — Is 
there any that will be done or handled at this manner? Viz, to be sold or made a slave for 
all the time of his life? How fearful and faint hearted are many at sea, when they see a 
strange vessel, being afraid it should be a Turk, and that they should be taken and sold for 
Slaves in Turkey. Now what is this better done, than Turks do? Yea, rather it is worse 
for them, which say they are Christians; for we hear that the most part such Negers are 
brought hither against their will and consent and that many of them are stolen, now though 
they are black we cannot conceive there is more liberty to have them slaves as it is to have 
other white ones. There is a saying that we shall do to all men like as we will be done our- 
selves, making no difference of what generation, descent or color they are. And thise who 
steal or rob men, and those who purchase them, are they all not alike? Here is liberty of 
conscience, which is right and reasonable; here likewise ought liberty of the body except of 
evil doers, which is another case. But to bring men hither, or to rob, steal and sell them, 
against their will, we will stand against. 

"In Europe there are many oppressed for Conscience sake; and here there are those 
oppressed which are of black color. And we who know that men must not commit adultery, 
— some do commit adultery in others, separating wives from their husbands, and giving 
them to others; and some sell the children of these poor creatures to other men. Ah! do 
consider well this thing, you who do it, if you would be done in this manner, and if it is 
done according to Christianity. You surpass Holland and Germany in this thing. This 
makes ill report in all those countries of Europe where they hear of it, that the Quakers do 
here handel men as they handel there the Cattel, and for that reason some have no mind or 
inclination to come hither. And whom shall maintain this your cause or plead it? Truly we 
cannot do so, except you shall better inform us thereof, viz, that Christians have liberty to 
practice these things. 

"Pray, what thing in the world can be done worse towards us, than if men should rob 
us away, and sell us for slaves to strange countries; separating husbands from wives and 
children? Being now this is not done in the manner we would be done at; therefore we 
contradict, and are against this traffick of men's Bodys, and we who profess that it is not 
lawfuU to steal must likewise avoid to purchase such things as are stolen, but rather help to 
stop this robbing, and stealing if possible. 

"And such men ought to be delivered out of the hands of the robbers, and set free in 
Europe, then in Pennsylvania to have a good report, instead it hath now a bad one, for this 
sake in other countries. Especially whereas the Europeans are desirous to know in what 
manner the Quakers do rule in their Province, and most of them do look upon us with an 
envious eye. But if this is done well, what is done evil? If once these slaves, (which they 
say are so wicked and stubborn men) should join themselves fight to for their freedom and 
handel their masters and mistresses take the sword at hand and war against these poor slaves 
like, as we are able to beheve some will not refuse to do? Or have these poor negroes not 
as much right to fight for their freedom as you have to keep them slaves? 

"Now consider well this thing, if it is good or bad. And in case you find it to be good, 
to handel these blacks in that way, we desire and request you, hereby lovingly, that you may 
inform us herein which at this time never was done, viz, that Christians have such liberty 
to do so. To this end we shall be satisfyed on this point, and satisfy likewise our good 
friends and acquaintances in their native countries, to whom it is a terror or fearful! thing 
that men should bee handled so in Pennsylvania. 

"This is from our Meeting at German Town, held ye i8th of ye 2d. Month, 1688; to be 
delivered to the Monthly Meeting at Richard Worrell's. 

"[Signed! GERRET HENDRICKS, 

DERICK OP DE GRAEFF, 



FRANCIS DANIEL PASTORIUS, 
ABRAHAM OP DE GRAEFF." 



It bears the following endorsements : 



"At our Monthly Meeting at Dublin, ye 30th. of ye 2d. Month, 1688 : — We having in- 
spected ye matter above mentioned and considered of it, we find it so weighty that we think 
it not expedient for us to meddle with it here, but do rather commit it to ye consideration 
of ye Quarterly Meeting; ye tenor of it being related to ye Truth, 

"Signed on behalfe of ye Monthly Meeting, 

"JO. HART." 

"This above mentioned was read in our Quarterly Meeting, att Philadelphia, the 4th of 
the 4th Month, '88, and was from thence recommended to ye Yearly Meeting, and the above 



I200 UPDEGRAVE 

said Derick, and the other two mentioned therein, to present the same to ye above said 
Meeting, it being of too great a weight for this meeting to determine. 

''Signed by Order of ye Meeting, 

"ANTHONY MORRIS." 

When George Keith issued his famous schism against the Friends in 1692, 
Herman and Abraham Op de Graeff signed his "Protest," while Dirck apposed 
him and signed the "Testimony" against him in 1693. 

When William Penn issued the charter incorporating Germantown, August 12, 
1688, all three of the Op de Graeff brothers were named as Burgesses, and Dirck 
was a Bailiff of the town, 1693-94. He died without issue, 1697, and his widow, 
Nelcken, died in 1719. 

Herman Op de Graeff, eldest of the brothers, removed to Kent county, now 
Delaware, 1701, died there in 1704. He left one daughter, Margaret, who mar- 
ried Peter Shoemaker, Jr., son of Peter, who had come from Kreigsheim, Ger- 
many, and they have left numerous descendants in Bucks and Montgomery coun- 
ties. Herman is not known to have had male issue. 

Abraham Op de Graeff was therefore the ancestor of all who bore the name 
in Pennsylvania. He was one of the first Burgesses and Bailiffs of Germantown, 
and was a member of the Provincial Assembly of Pennsylvania in 1689-90-92. 
In 1709 he purchased a large tract of land in "Van Bebber's Township," a name 
applied generally to the early settled part of the Perkiomen region of Philadelphia 
county, from the fact that six thousand six hundred and sixteen acres were taken 
up there by Matthias Van Bebber, in 1704, and later partitioned among a number 
of the Germantown families and later German immigrants. The Op de Graeff 
purchase was located in what became Perkiomen and Skippack township in 1725. 
Abraham Op de Graeff removed to that section, as several deeds of record of the 
date 1710 give his residence as "Perkiomy." He died there and was buried in the 
old Mennonite burying-ground at Skippackville. The one thousand acres of land 
purchased by the three Op de Graeff brothers of Jacob Telner, agent for the 
Frankfort Company, by deed dated at Amsterdam, June 11, 1683, was never 
partitioned between them, though each had conveyed certain portions thereof. 
The remainder as shown by later deeds descended to Abraham, by right of sur- 
vivorship, and was conveyed partly by him and partly by his sons and daughters 
in 1715, after his death Catharine, wife of Abraham, evidently died prior to 1710,. 
as she does not join in deeds of that date. 

Issue of Abraham and Catharine Op de Graeff: 

Jacob, b. Germantown, d. Skippack, 1750; m. Anneken In de Hoffen; of whom presently r 
Isaac, m. Mary Basilher, removed to Chester co. 1732, and is supposed to be the ancestor 

of the Updegraves, later prominent in York co. ; his son, Jacob, who m. Sarah Butler, 

was father of Sarah Optigrove, who m. Joseph Whittaker, iron master, and ancestor 

of Gov. Samuel Whitaker Pennypacker; 
Margaret, m. Thomas Howe, tailor, of Germantown, later of "Parqueomen;" 
Anneken, m, Feb. 6, 1710-11, Herman in de Hoffen, brother of Annecken, wife of her 

brother, Jacob; settled with him at Skippack, with his brother, Eberhardt in de Hoffen, 

and both are bur. in the old Skippack burying-ground; 
Elizabeth, m. Peter Von; but d. prior to 1711; probably without issue. 

Jacob Op de Gr^veff, as his name appears to deeds, though his children seem to 
liave been the first to spell the name in its present form "Updegrave," was possibly 
the eldest son of Abraham and Cathrina or Tryntje Op de Graeff. As shown by 



UPDEGRAVE 1201 

the record of his marriage he was born at Germantown ; though according to Gov. 
Pennypacker's "Settlement of Germantown" he appears of record there as early 
as 1701, in which year he was fined for "taking a horse out of Custody." On the 
records of the Dutch Reformed Church of Bensalem appears the following record 
of his marriage : 

"April 29, 1712 : Jacob Op de Graeff, Jong Mahn, Geboren in Germantown, an noew 
voonende op Schepack, met Annechen ten houven, Jong Dochter geboren ten Muhlheim- 
aender-Roer." 

Of the same date we find the record of the marriage of "Peter ten heuven jong 
mahn, geboren et Muhlheim-on-der-Roer to Sydonia an Leuvenigh jong dochter, 
geboren at Germantown," and residing in Rocks township. Also the marriage, on 
February 6, 1710-11, of "Harmenken ten Heuven" to "Annechen Op de Graef ;" 
and on April i, 171 1, of Peter Von, widower of "Elizabeth Op de Graef," to Ger- 
ritje Jansen. Who this Elizabeth Op de Graef was does not appear, but she was 
possibly another daughter of Abraham and Tryntje, who having died before her 
father, and without issue, her name does not appear in the partition of his lands. 
Evert or Eberhardt in de Hoffen as his name appears on a tombstone in Skippack 
burying-ground, came from Muhlheim-on-the-Rohr, and was a resident of Ger- 
mantown, 1699, and possibly much earlier, though probably not as early as the 
Op de Graeff family, since his children seem to have been born at Muhlheim. 
Besides Peter, Herman and Annechen, above mentioned, he had a son, Eberhardt, 
born 1682, died 1746, who with a son of the same name, born 1708, and a wife, 
Anna Maria, is buried at Skippack. The name became anglicized into De Haven, 
and is now quite common in various parts of Pennsylvania and elsewhere. 

Jacob Op de Graeff as shown by the record of his marriage was a resident of 
"Schepack," Philadelphia county, 1712. On June 2, 1713, he was one of the 
petitioners, among other "People of Skeepack and Adjacent Plantations," for a 
road from that section to Farmer's Mill, and was also a petitioner for the formation 
of the township of Skippack and Perkiomen, 1725. In 1721 he purchased land there 
of Matthias Van Bebber and Hermione, his wife, which in 1740 he conveyed to his 
son, Abraham. He also owned considerable other land there which he conveyed to his 
son, Edward. The name of his wife as given in these deeds was Susanna ; whether, 
since she signed by mark, this was a mistake of the scrivener, or whether he had 
married a second time prior to 1740, is problematical ; it seems hardly probable 
that the Dutch name of Annecken could have been corrupted into Susanna. There 
is little doubt that his sons, Abraham and Edward, were at least sons of Annecken, 
as Edward, younger of the two, probably was named for his maternal grandfather, 
Eberhardt (otherwise Edward) in de Hoffen. 

The will of "Jacob Op de Graf, of Perqueomin, in county of Philadelphia," 
dated September 21, 1750, and proven at Philadelphia, October i, 1750, mentions 
sons, Abraham and Edward, daughters, Elizabeth, Cathrina, Margaret and Ene- 
ken, and son-in-law, Richard Gable. 

Abraham Updegrave, eldest son of Jacob and Annecken (in de Hoffen) Op de 
Graeff, was born at Skippack, about 1714, died there in the winter of 1787-8. In 
1740 his father conveyed to him a farm of one hundred acres in Perkiomen and 
Skippack township, on which he resided and of which he died seized, intestate, 
letters of administration being granted on his estate, January 5, 1788, to his eldest 



I202 UPDEGRAVE 

son, Henry Updegrave, his widow, Christine, renouncing. Since the Mennonite 
denomination to which he belonged kept no record of marriages, the date of his 
marriage and the maiden name of his wife have not been ascertained. 
Issue of Abraham and Christine Updegrave: 

Henry, who purchased the homestead of the other heirs in 1791 ; 

Edward, b. about 1740, of whom presently; 

Beredina, m. John Smith; 

Hannah, m. Joseph Tyson; 

Susanna, m. John Tyson; 

Elizabeth, unm. in 1791; 

Mary, m. Nicholas Johnston. 

Edward Updegr^we, second son of Abraham and Christine Updegrave, born in 
Perkiomen and Skippack township, Philadelphia, now Montgomery county, about 
1740, removed to Plumstead township, Bucks county, about the time of attaining 
his majority, and was the owner, at different periods, of several tracts of land in 
that township, at one time owning and operating a distillery there. In 1776 he 
was arrested by order of the Bucks County Committee of Safety, on the charge 
that he had uttered expressions "disrespectful to Congress and the Associators," 
l>ut when summoned before a committee appointed to investigate the charge, they 
found that "his remarks had been nothing more than a reflection upon the char- 
acter of some of the Plumstead Associators," and on taking the oath and making 
the declaration that he meant no disrespect to Congress, he was discharged. The 
date of his death has not been ascertained, but he lived to a ripe old age, and was 
well remembered by his grandson, Joseph Updegrave, of Doylestown, who died 
about 1894, aged about eighty years. He is described as a typical "Dutchman" in 
personal appearance, rather short of stature, but heavily built, with short neck, 
peculiar to those of Holland descent. He was an expert performer on the violin, 
and frequently officiated at local gatherings as a musician. He was living in 181 5 
when he was administrator of the estate of his son-in-law, John Closson. 

Edward Updegrave married (first) about 1767, Sarah, daughter of William and 
Elizabeth (Harmer) Mitchell, of Buckingham, and (second) (prior to the convey- 
ance of his father's lands to his brother, Henry, in 1791) Elizabeth, supposed to 
have been the sister to his first wife. 

William Mitchell, whose daughter, if not daughters, Edward Updegrave mar- 
ried, became a landowner in Upper Buckingham, Bucks county, about 1740, and in 
August, 1742, at his request was admitted as a member of Buckingham Friends' 
Meeting, and taking a certificate from that Meeting to Abington Meeting was mar- 
ried there in November of the same year to Elizabeth, daughter of George and 
Anne (Williams) Harmer, and granddaughter of William and Ruth Palmer, of 
Upper Dublin township, Philadelphia county. 

William Harmer, her grandfather, was a son of George Harmer, of Mounden, 
Parish of Redboren-Chiney, county of Wilts, England, and with his brother, 
George, came to Philadelphia, 1682, and became a large landowner in the city and 
county of Philadelphia ; his son, William, married Eleanor, daughter of Joseph and 
Elizabeth (Bevan) Richardson, and granddaughter of Samuel Richardson, Pro- 
vincial Councillor, and of John Bevan, an account of whom and some of their de- 
scendants is given in our account of the Bevan and Richardson families in this 
work 



UPDEGRAVE i20j 

William Harmer was also the ancestor of Gen. Josiah Harmer, first commander- 
in-chief of the United States Army, after Washington. He was a member of the 
Society of Friends and brought a certificate from the Monthly Meeting at Purton, 
Wiltshire, dated 4th mo. (June) 5, 1682, which was deposited at Philadelphia 

Monthly Meeting. He married Ruth , who survived him and married John 

Inglis, 1737, he having died in Upper Dublin about 1733, leaving a will dated Jan- 
uary 21, 1731-2. William and Ruth were the parents of eight children: Jane, 
married 1712, John Bradfield, of Buckingham, Bucks county; Elizabeth, married 
Joseph Townsend, of Byberry, same year; William, before mentioned, married 
Eleanor Richardson, 1717; George, father of Elizabeth (Harmer) Mitchell; Ruth,, 
married John Thompson, of Warwick, Bucks county ; John ; Joshua, married Jane 
Jones, 1726, settled in Springfield township, Philadelphia, now Montgomery, 
county ; daughter, married Philip Williams, mentioned in his will. 

George Harmer, son of William and Ruth, took a certificate from Abington 
Meeting to Gwynedd Meeting to marry, and on the records of the latter Meeting 
we find the following, under date of March 26, 1724, "George Harmer, son of 
William, of Upper Dublin township. Yeoman, married to Anne Williams, daughter 
of Evan Williams, deceased, of same county, at the house of John Jacobs at Per- 
queomen ; among the witnesses are John, Joshua and William Harmer ; Joseph and 
Elizabeth Townsend; John Thompson, and David and Elizabeth Williams." 
George Harmer was a carpenter, and purchased one hundred and four acres of 
land at Abington in 1724. The date of his death has not been ascertained. 

Evan Williams, father of Anne, wife of George Harmer, was a son of David 
Williams, of Llansphen, Parish of Llandilwawr, Caernarvonshire, Wales, who 
brought a certificate for himself, wife and family to Radnor Meeting, where it 
was recorded May 26, 1693. Evan Williams, "Batchelor," and Margaret Richards, 
"Spinster," both of Haverford, Welsh Tract, were married at the Public Meeting 
House at Haverford, July 7, 1697. Margaret Richards was a daughter of John and 
Susan Richards, who brought a certificate from Dolgelly Meeting in Merioneth- 
shire, Wales, August 8, 1690. Evan Williams settled on the Skippack, Philadel- 
phia, now Montgomery county, where he died, leaving a will dated August 26, 
and proven March 3, 1715-16, in which are mentioned his sons, Lewis and David, 
and daughters, Anne and EHzabeth. The latter married Matthias Rittenhouse and 
was the mother of David Rittenhouse, eminent astronomer, and treasurer of Penn- 
sylvania during the Revolution. Lewis Evans married Jane, daughter of Thomas 
Lloyd, of Merion, 1723, died at White Marsh 1727. His brother, David, died in 
Norriton, 1731, unmarried, leaving his estate to his sisters, Elizabeth Rittenhouse 
and Anne Harmer. 

William Mitchell, father of Sarah (Mitchell) Updegrave, died in Buckingham 
township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, leaving a will dated October 24, 1760, 
proven December 9, 1760, by which he devised his real estate to his wife, Elizabeth, 
for life, then to his children. The widow, Elizabeth Mitchell, nee Harmer, who 
had married (second) Asa Fell, died prior to January 14, 1780, on which date the 
children made conveyance of the real estate. 

The children of William and Elizabeth (Harmer) Mitchell, as shown by the deed 
above recited and other records, were : 



1204 UPDEGRAVE 

Elizabeth Mitchell, single in 1780, but became the second wife of Edward Updegrave 
prior to 1791, when she joined him in the conveyance of his father's real estate; 

Sarah, m. Edward Updegrave, about 1767, and was living in 1780, but deceased prior to 
1 791; 

George, m. Aug. 21. 1776, Susanna Belts, at Wrightstown Friends' Meeting; 

William, m. Nov. 14, 1776, Mary Brown, of Buckingham: 

Ann, m. John Poole, of Warwick, now Doylestown township, and with him removed to 
Baltimore co., Md. 

The children of Edward Updegrave, all probably by first wife, Sarah ^litchell, 
were : 

Elizabeth, b. May i, 1769; m. 1788, John Closson, of Plumstead township, Bucks co.; 

Sarah, m. Samuel Heiser, and resided near Evansburg, Montgomery co.. Pa.; bur. at 
the Trappe; 

Joseph, b. 1778, d. at Doylestown, Bucks co., Aug. 31, 1863; m. Feb. 29, 1814, Elizabeth 
Gasho, of Upper Providence, Montgomery co. ; 

Henry, of Plumstead township. Bucks co., who has descendants of the name still resid- 
ing in that vicinity; 

Susanna, an invalid. 



CLOSSON FAMILY. 

The name Closson, like that of Clawson, Clauson, Classon, Claessen, had its 
origin in the Dutch custom of attaching "sen" to the father's given name to form 
the surname of the child, thus the sons of "Claus," the Dutch form of Nicholas, 
were named "Claussen," or more commonly Classen or Claessen, and when the 
family had been resident in America for a few generations and became closely 
associated with the English they adopted the customs of their neighbors, and re- 
tained a permanent surname, instead of changing with each generation. Two or 
three branches of the Classon-Clauson family became residents of Pennsylvania 
(luring Colonial times, all probably descended from early Dutch emigrants to New- 
Netherlands. Jan Classen was one of the earliest Dutch settlers on the Delaware, 
residing on or near Burlington Island in 1676, and the following year obtained a 
grant of land on the Neshaminy, in Bucks county, in the present limits of Bristol 
township, and obtained permission from the Court at Upland to settle thereon. 
This land amounting to five hundred and thirty acres was confirmed by William 
Penn, in 1684, to Jan or John Clauson, and descended to his children, all of whom, 
however, took the name of Johnson, according to the Dutch custom. 

Christian Classon, of "Tiacominck" (Tacony), purchased, in 1685, "a parcel of 
Meadow Ground, being in the swamp adjoining the land belonging to the township 
of Tiacominck, joining to the River Delaware." This Christian Classon died 
about 1700, and his widow, Margaret, married Thomas Jones. 
The children of Christian and Margaret Classon zvere: 

Claus Classon, b. 1684; m. at the First Presbyterian Church, Phila., Sept. 27, 1714. .\nnc 
Lynde; 

Cathrina, b. 1688, d. s. p. ; 

Christina, b. 1690; 

John, b. 1692; m. Ann , who d. 1753; had one daughter, Mary, married George 

Heap, at Christ Church, Sept. 2, 1738; 

Cornelius, sometimes confoimded with Cornelius Clawson, of N. J., of whom see for- 
ward; 

Elizabeth, b. 1695, d. unm. ; 

James, b. 1696, d. 1718, unm. ; 

Christian, b. Sept., 1697, d. inf. ; 

Gustavus, administrator of James in 1718; 

Gertrude, d. unm.; 

Margaret, m. Skidmore. 

Another branch of the Closson family, whose descendants became residents of 
Philadelphia and vicinity, was founded in this country by Captain Gerrebrandt 
Claessen, of New Amsterdam, who obtained a grant of land in Bergen county, 
New Jersey, of Philip Carteret, and died there in 1708, leaving a widow, Mary, 
who died in 1714, and children: Cornelius; WilHam ; Nicholas; Herbert; Neiltje, 
wife of John Jurian; Meyfie, wife of Dirck Van Lout; Mary, wife of Geret \'on 
Wagoner; and Peter. 

William Clawson, supposed to be a son of Gerrebrandt, settled at Piscataway, 
Middlesex county. New Jersey, where he purchased land as early as 1683. He 
died there in 1724, leaving a widow, Mary, and children as follows: 



i206 CLOSSON 

Cornelius, eldest son, who d. in Piscataway, 1758, leaving sons : Cornelius, William and 
Zachariah, the first and last of whom removed to Pa. ; and several daughters. The son, 
Cornelius, m. Anna Burcham, at Chesterfield Meeting, 1728, and brought certificate to 
Falls Meeting Bucks co., 1733. Their son, Cornelius, m. Jennet Cowgill, and settled 
in Solebury, Bucks co., and their daughter, Mary, m. Aaron Philips, of Solebury, 1756; 

Benjamin, of whom we have no further record; 

Josias, d. intestate in Somerset co., N. J., 1733; 

William, of whom we have no further record; 

John of whom we have no definite record; 

Gerrabrant, of whom we have no further record; 

Joseph, of whom we have no further record; 

Thomas, d. in Piscataway, 1761; had children: Brant, William, Richard, d. in Bucking- 
ham, Bucks CO., Pa., 1754, leaving a widow, Alice; John, Josias, Brant, Mary, Eliza- 
beth, Hannah, Sarah; 

Mary, m. — Drake; 

Haimah, unm. in 1723. 

This narrative has to do with the descendants of one John Closson, who at his 
death, December 6, 1756, was a tenant on land belonging to Thomas Watson, of 
Buckingham, lying just over the line of Buckingham township, Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, in the township of Warwick. Letters of administration were 
granted on his estate to his widow, Sarah, January 14, 1757, with John Wilkinson 
and Joseph Sackett, of Wrightstown, as sureties. In her account of the estate, 
filed March 15, 1758, she is allowed a credit, "for victualling, cloathing and school- 
ing two children, from December 6, 1756, to the date of her settlement; and for 
payment of a bond and interest to 'Richard Furman,' amounting to thirty-seven 
pounds, nineteen shillings, one pence." This Richard Furman was father of 
Sarah Closson, the widow and accountant, and resided from 1710 to his death in 
1757, in "'the township of Trenton," New Jersey. He was a great-grandson of 

John Furman, who is said to have come from Wales to Massachusetts, where 
he was a freeholder as early as 1631. He was one of the fifty-five original pur- 
chasers of ]\Iiddlebury (later Newtown), Long Island, from the Indians in 1656, 
and died there about 1665, leaving two sons and three daughters. His son, John 
Furman, born 1 631, died 1677, was a freeholder of Newtown, Long Island, in 
1666. He left one son, Jonathan, who left no posterity so far as known. 

Josias Furman, probably eldest son of John Furman, pioneer, appears of 
record at Middlebury, Long Island, as early as July 6, 1657, and became a free- 
holder there in 1665. He was Commissioner of Highways in 1700, and died at 
Newtown, Long Island, 1709, leaving sons: John, Josias, Joseph, David, Samuel, 
Jonathan, and daughters: Martha and Rebecca. Of these, at least three, Josias, 
Samuel and Jonathan, located near Hopewell, New Jersey, and left issue there. 

Josias Furman, second son of Josias Furman, of Newtown, Long Island, born 
there, or in New England, 1645, died at Hopewell, New Jersey, August 8, 1742, 
aged ninety-seven years, having either accompanied or followed his son, Richard, 
to New Jersey, in 1710. He married Sarah Strickland, also of New England 
ancestry, whose father was likewise an early settler on Long Island, and had issue : 
Tosiah, married Sarah W^ood, and was the father of James C. Furman, D. D., and 
several other children; Richard, above mentioned; Sarah, married Ralph Hunt; 
Mercy, married Thomas Burroughs ; Martha, married Edward Hunt. 

Richard Furman, father of Sarah Closson, was born at Newtown, Long 
Island, and December 18, 1710, purchased of Jasper Smith, of Maidenhead, New 
Jersey, one hundred acres of land, lying in the townships of Hopewell and Maiden- 



CLOSSON 1207 

liead, near Trenton, New Jersey, and removed thither, later purchasing consider- 
able other land in that locality. His will, in which he is named as "Richard Fur- 
man, of the township of Trenton," bears date February 13, 1751-2, was proven 
November 8, 1757. He married Sarah Way, who survived him, and they were the 
parents of six children : Josiah, Jonathan, Francis ; Sarah, married John Closson ; 
Mary, married a Clark; Elizabeth, married Thomas Kitchin. 

From the fact that Richard Furman, whose daughter John Closson married, 
resided in the immediate neighborhood of Thomas Closson, whose other son, 
Richard, located in Bucks county, near John, of Warwick, it is assumed that John 
Closson, of Warwick, Bucks county, was son of Thomas Closson, and mentioned 
in his will in 1756. 

John Closson, June 27, 1746, "aged thirty-two," joined Captain Trent's com- 
pany for the campaign against Canada, and with that company went into winter 
quarters at Albany, New York, winter of 1746-7, and was discharged October 31, 
1747, "the intended expedition against Canada having been abandoned." He was 
already a resident of Pennsylvania at the date of his enlistment, and his occupa- 
tion is given as "cordwainer," the known occupation of John Closson, of War- 
wick. The theory that Thomas Closson was the father of John, of Warwick, is 
further corroborated by the fact that both the latter's sons named a son, Thomas, 
by no means a common name in the Closson family, here or elsewhere. The only 
two children of John and Sarah (Furman) Closson, of whom we have any record, 
were: 

William Closson, of Wrightstown, Bucks co., witness to a marriage at Wrightstown 
Meeting, 1756; was a "cordwainer" in that township, and d. there in 1784; m. at Dutch 
Reformed Church of Northampton and Southampton, Bucks co., Oct. 23, 1766, Rachel 
Stout; issue: 

Isaac Closson, a carpenter in Wrightstown until 1815, when he removed to War- 
wick, and in 1820 removed to Brownsville, Jefferson co., N. Y.; m. Oct. 25, 1806, 
Ruth Tomlinson; 
Thomas Closson, of Wrightstown, had son, Abel, who d. in childhood, May 28, 
1814, and possibly other children. 
John Closson, b. about 1738, d. in Plumstead township, Bucks co. ; of whom presently. 

John Closson, son of John and Sarah (Furman) Closson, of Warwick, Bucks, 
county, was born about 1738. The first record we have of him is in 1759, when 
his name appears on the tax list of Warwick township. Soon after this date he 
married and settled on fifty acres of land in Plumstead township, Bucks county, 
where he continued to reside the remainder of his life, living to a good old age ; 
was buried at Red Hill Church, in Tinicum township. The name of his wife has 
not been ascertained, but he had the following children : 

Elizabeth, b. 1762, d. May 15, 1847; was admitted a member of Wrightstown Friends' 
Meeting, as "daughter of John Closson of Plumstead," Dec. 2, 1783, and m. there 
April 14, 1784, Isaiah Warner, of the prominent Warner family of Wrightstown, de- 
scendant of William Warner, of Blockley, Phila.; 

John, b. Dec. 6, 1764; m. 1789, Elizabeth Updegrave; d. 1815; of whom presently; 

Rebecca, d. unm.; 

Barbara, m. Benjamin Clark; 

Martha, m. (first) Jonathan Marker, (second) Jonathan Keller; 

Sarah, m. (first) Samuel Shaw, (second) John Stover; 

Mary, m. Andrew Price; 

Amelia, m. Jacob Housel; 

35 



i2o8 CLOSSOX 

Thomas, m. Sept. 8, 1796, before John Reading, Esq., of Amwell, N. J., EKzabeth Naylor, 

dau. of David, of Amwell; 
William, m. at Nesharainy Church, Nov. 19, 1794, Sarah, dau. of George Wall, Esq., a 

distinguished officer in the Revolution, member of Supreme Executive Council of Pa., 

Sheriff of Bucks co., etc. William Closson was a merchant in Solebury township, 

Bucks CO., 1797-1805; had nine children, among them George Wall Closson, Treasurer 

of Bucks CO. 1842-4, who has sons living in Bucks co. ; 
Prudence, ra. Jan. 25, 1799, before John Reading, Esq., George Wall, fourth, one of the 

sons of Col. George Wall, above mentioned, and has numerous descendants in Bucks 

CO.; 
Isaac, m. Anna Maria Niece, and had eight children, the youngest being Isaac, of 

Carversville, Bucks co., b. 1816; 
James, m. Mary Tomlinson; d. March 30, 1815. leaving three children: Joseph, Isaiah 

and Elizabeth. 

JoHX Closson, eldest son of John Closson, of Plumstead, and grandson of 
John and Sarah (Furman) Closson, of Warwick, was born December 6, 1764, and 
was reared on his father's farm in Plumstead township, Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania. He married, about 1789, Elizabeth, daughter of Edward and Sarah 
( Mitchell ) Updegrave, of Plumstead, whose ancestry back through the founders 
of Germantown, to Herman Op de GraeflF, one of the formulators of the Men- 
nonite creed at Dordrecht, Germany, in 1632, is given in this volume, under the 
heading of Updegrave family John Closson was a farmer in Plumstead and Tini- 
cum townships, and died in January, 1815. His widow, Elizabeth (Updegrave) 
Closson, survived him many years, dying at the home of her daughter, Sydonia 
Emerick, in Solebury township, Bucks county, 1837, and is said to have been 
buried at Buckingham Friends' burying-ground. She was born May i, 1769. 
Issue of John and Elisabeth (Updegrave) Closson: 

Amos, b. Nov. 29, 1790, d. Oct. 26, 1865, at Carversville, Bucks co. ; m. l8ll, Mary 
Davison, of Plumstead, and had nine children, most of whom removed to 111.; two of 
his grandsons were prominent business men of Chicago. A son, John, recently d. in 
New Britain, Bucks co., aged 81 years, and his youngest son, Isaiah, is still living at 
Carversville; 

Sarah, m. Thomas Pickering; 

Lavinia, m. Washington Van Dusen; 

Sydonia, ra. (first) Samuel Emerick, of Solebury, (second) Joseph Anderson, of Buck- 
ingham, Bucks CO.; 

Mary, m. Robert Roberts, and removed to 111. ; 

Julia Ann, m. Peter Case, of near Doylestown, and has descendants of the name still 
residing there; 

Susanna, m. May 4, 1833, Phineas Hellyer, of Buckingham, and d. the following year; 

Elizabeth, m. Hoover; 

Levi, m. Mary Cox, and lived for some years near Doylestown, removing later to 
Chicago, where he and his sons were prominent business men; 

John, b. 1797, d. 1842; m. Mary Loucks. 

John Closson, fourth of the name in succession, and of the seventh generation 
from Captain Gerrebrandt Claessen, of New Amsterdam, was born in Plumstead 
township, Bucks county, 1797; married Mary, daughter of John and Barbara 
(Libhardt) Loucks, and granddaughter of Henry and Barbara (Heaney) Loucks, 
of Rockhill, Bucks county, later of Windsor township, York county, Pennsylvania. 

Heinrich Loucks, grandfather of Mary (Loucks) Closson, came from Ciermany 
in the ship, "Minerva," which arrived at Philadelphia from Rotterdam, November 
9. 1767. He settled in Rockhill township, Bucks county, and in 1775 married 
Barbara, daughter of John and Catharine (Worman) Heaney; in 1777 he pur- 



CLOSSON 1209 

chased a farm of sixty acres in fiaycock township, on which he resided with his 
family until 1795, when they removed to Windsor township, York county, Penn- 
sylvania, where Henry Loucks died April, 1806, his wife, Barbara, having died 
about 1800. 

John Heaney, father of Barbara (Heaneyj Loucks, was son of John Heaney, 
or Hoenig, one of the earliest German settlers on the Tohickon, in Rockhill town- 
ship, where he owned and operated a mill, to which his son, John, succeeded. The 
latter was later a merchant in Bedminster township, and one of the most promi- 
nent men of that locality. He was many years a Justice and was a member of 
Provincial Assembly 1774-75. He died in 1787, leaving a large family of chil- 
dren. His wife was Catharine, daughter of John Worman, who came from Ger- 
many in the ship, "Mary," June 28, 1735, and settled in Rockhill township, where 
he was one of the trustees of Tohickon Lutheran Church in 1753. He later re- 
moved to Bedminster township, and was a prominent man and large landholder 
there, and in Tinicum township ; dying in the latter township, near the present 
site of Wormansville, in 1768. 

Henry and Barbara (Heaney) Loucks were the parents of at least five children, 
as follows : 

John Loucks, b. Aug. 22, 1776, in Bucks co., d. near Marietta, Lancaster co. ; m. Barbara 

Libhardt : 
Henry Loucks, b. April 23, 1778, removed to York co., later to Hempfield township, 

Lancaster co., near Marietta; 
Daniel Loucks, b. Jan., 1780, d. Windsor township, York co., 1829; 

Catharine Loucks, b. Haycock, Bucks co.. May 4, 1783; m. Abraham Moser, of York co. ; 
Jacob Loucks, b. Haycock, Bucks co., Dec, 1784, d. Marietta, Lancaster co., Pa.; m. 

Catharine, dau. of John Alter, of Hempfield township, Lancaster co. ; with his brother, 

Henry Loucks, was an extensive wagon manufacturer at Marietta. 

Henry Libhardt, grandfather of Barbara (Libhardt) Loucks, and great-grand- 
father of Mary (Loucks) Closson, was a native of Germany, and an early settler 
in Hellam township, York county, and died there at an advanced age in 1773. He 
owned and operated a mill in Hellam township for several years. 

His eldest son, Henry Libhardt, married Barbara, daughter of Henry Smith, 
who in 1736 took up a tract of land on the west side of Susquehanna river, then 
in Lancaster county, later Hellam township, York county, and lived there until 
his death in 1771. Henry Libhardt, Jr., lived in Windsor township, York county, 
until 1773, when he purchased the Smith homestead in Hellam township, and re- 
sided thereon until his death in 1796. He was a Justice of the Peace for some 
years after the Revolutionary War. His daughter, Barbara Libhart, who be- 
came the wife of John Loucks, was nineteen years of age at the death of her 
father in 1796, and married John Loucks soon after that date. 

Mary Loucks, daughter of John and Barbara (Libhart) Loucks, born in 1799, 
married John Closson, about year 1819, and they settled in the city of Philadel- 
phia, where John Closson died in 1842, and his widow, Mary Loucks, in 1879. 
Roth are buried at Laurel Hill Cemetery. 

Issue of John and Mary (Loucks) Closson: 

John, d. young; 

Josiah, m. Elizabeth Smith and resided in Phila. ; issue: 
Ethelinda, wife of John Morton, of Phila.; 



I2I0 CLOSSON 

John Closson, dec; 

Thomas Sloan Closson, of Phila. 
Barbara, m. Joseph Cook; 
Mary, living in Phila., unm.; 
Eliza, m. Charles W. Roberts; 

James Harwood Closson, b. Phila., Sept. 23, 1826, d. at City Point, Va., Nov. 23, 1864; 
m. Josephine Banes, b. at Matanzas, Cuba, June 24, 1828, d. Phila., July 31, 1862. 

James Harwood Closson was commissioned Xovember 19, 1861, First Lieu- 
tenant of Company G, Ninety-first Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, then 
being recruited at Philadelphia, for three years service in the Civil War, and with 
that regiment went into service, December 4, 1861. After a few months service 
at Alexandria, the regiment participated in the Peninsular campaign and from 
that time was in the forefront until the close of the war, occupying advanced 
positions at the battle of Fredericksburg, where the Major of the regiment was 
killed; at Chancellorsville ; in the Mary land campaign; and by a forced march reach- 
ed Gettysburg in time to take an active part in that memorable battle, charging up 
Little Round Top as the Confederates charged up the opposite side, and during 
the whole battle being exposed to the hottest of the enemy's fire. During the fall 
of 1863 it was engaged in the valley of Virginia, and in the advance on Richmond 
was "Constantly in the front, and actively employed." It passed through the fear- 
ful carnage at Cold Harbor and was again in the front at Petersburg. On March 
I, 1864, Lieutenant Closson was promoted to Captain of Company H, same regi- 
ment. In the advance to Hatcher's Run, October 28, 1864, he was mortally 
wounded, and died at City Point, Virginia, November 23, 1864, from secondary 
liemorrhage following the amputation of his limb. 

Issue of Captain James H. and Josephine (Banes) Closson: 

Edward M., d. unm.; 
Franklin Banes, d. unm.; 
Edward Foster, d. unm.; 
Robert Dickinson, d. unm. ; 
Alice Josephine; 

Dr. James Harwood Closson, b. Nov. 27, 1861; m. Mary Elizabeth Bell, of Phila.; of 
whom presently. 

Josephine Banes, who became wife of James H. Closson, was a daughter of 
Joseph Banes, by his wife, Hannah Foster, and through her mother was a descend- 
ant of several early Colonial families of Philadelphia, among them that of Buzby, 
the first American progenitor, of which John Buzby brought a certificate to Phila- 
delphia Friends' Meeting, dated 2mo. 4, 1682. 

On the paternal side Josephine (Banes) Closson descended from one of the 
oldest families of Lancashire, England, representatives of which had found homes 
in Pennsylvania at different periods and were among the first purchasers of land 
of William Penn, in his Province of Pennsylvania. Her lineal ancestor, Matthew 
Baines, of \^'yersdale, Lancashire, married at Lancaster Monthly Meeting, lomo. 
22, 1672, Margaret, daughter of William Hatton, of Bradley, Lancashire, and 
several children were born to them in Lancashire. In the autumn of 1686 William 
and Margaret Baines, and at least two of their children, Eleanor, born October 
22, 1677, and William, born July 14, 1681, embarked for America, but both par- 
ents died on the voyage, and the children on their arrival at Chester were taken 



CLOSSON 121 1 

in charge by Friends, of Chester county. Matthew Baines, as appears from a 
letter, written by Phineas Pemberton, to John Walker, in England, dated "Penn- 
silvania from ye ffalls of Dellaware in ye County of Buckes, the 13th day of ye ist 
Mo. 1688," carried a letter from Henry Coward, of Lancashire, to James Harri- 
son, father-in-law of Phineas Pemberton, and one of William Penn's confidential 
friends and advisers in Pennsylvania; and that when about to die he made the 
request that James Harrison should have the care and tuition of his children. 
That part of Pemberton's letter pertaining to the Baines children is as follows : 
''My very deare love to Hen: Coward & his wife. I Rd. his letter to father Con- 
cerneing Mat : Banes but have not time now to write. He died att sea & desired 
father in Law might have the tuition of his Children, but father was dead before 
his children came in; however I went to see after them; they Enclined to stay in 
Chester County where they landed to wch I was willing, P'vided flriends would 
see after them Els if they would not I told ffriends I would. Ye Boy is put out 
to one Joseph Stidman who is said to be a very honest man. Ye girle is with John 
Simpcocke & hath 40 or 50 s. wages per annum. The boy is to be w'th sd Stid- 
man untill he comes to ye age of 20 yeares, wch is ye customary way of putting 
forth orphans in these P'ts. My deare love to friends at Lancaster, remember 
mee if thou hast opportunity to Judith Hunter and to old Tho. Rawlinson if 
living." The Baines orphans appear to have had some small estate as "at an 
Orphans' Court held att Chester ye 6th day of ye ist. Moneth, 1687.'' It is 
"Ordered that ffrancis Little give in Security to this Court to pay vnto John Sim- 
cocke and Thomas Brassie, as Trustees to William- and Elin Baines for ye sum of 
twenty Eight Shillings." Francis Little was several times cited by the court to 
pay over the funds in his hands belonging to William and Eleanor Baines, and the 
matter was not concluded until October, 1689, "att what time he made his appear- 
ance and produced a receipt in full satisfaction." 

Eleanor Baines married Thomas Duer, of Bucks county, at Falls Meeting, Sep- 
tember 26, 1694, and they were the ancestors of a numerous and prominent family 
of that county. In an old Bible of the Duer family is found the record of the 
birth of the first three children of William Baines, the brother of Eleanor, who 
after the completion of his apprenticeship with Joseph Stedman and the death of 
the latter, married and settled in Southampton township, Bucks county, near the 
Ime of Warminster, where he died in 1729. The maiden name of his wife, Eliza- 
beth, has not been ascertained. They were the parents of nine children : Joseph, 
Mathew, Thomas, William, James, Elizabeth, Timothy, Jacob and Ehnor, all of 
whom married except Elinor, and they have left numerous descendants in Bucks 
county and elsewhere; several of them later becoming prominently identified with 
the business and professional Hfe of Philadelphia. Four of the sons, Mathew, 
William, Timothy and Jacob, settled in Buckingham and Solebury townships, 
Bucks county, and most of their descendants spelled the name Beans. Timothy 
removed late in life to Fairfax, Virginia, while Joseph, Thomas and James re- 
mained in the township of their nativity and adjoining parts of Philadelphia 
county. 

Joseph Banes, eldest son of William and Elizabeth Baines, of Southampton, 
born September 24, 1708, was the ancestor of Mrs. Josephine Closson. He mar- 
ried May 17, 1733, at First Presbyterian Church of Philadelphia, Esther Evans, 
of Welsh ancestry, who was baptized at Pennypack Baptist Church, Philadelphia 



I2I2 CLOSSON 

county, at the age of twelve years. Joseph Hkewise became a member of that 
church by baptism, August 2, 1740, and they were later members of Southampton 
Baptist Church. He was a farmer and owned one hundred and sixty acres of 
land in Southampton, which descended to his sons and grandsons. 

Joseph and Esther (Evans) Banes, of Southampton, had issue, as follows: 
John, of Southampton, married Elizabeth (Shaw) Randall, and had children: 
John, James and Esther. Mathew, of whom presently. James, died in Southamp- 
ton in 1815, had three sons: Dr. Artilerius Valerius, a physician of Philadelphia 
county, later of Licking county, Ohio : Leman, a prominent Bucks county official ; 
and Dr. Josiah D. Banes, a prominent physician of Byberry, Philadelphia county. 
Seth, married his cousin, Elizabeth, daughter of James and Elizabeth (Sands) 
Banes, and lived and died in Southampton. 

Mathew Banes, son of Joseph and Esther (Evans) Banes, was born in 
Southampton, 1735, died there, December i, 1788. He was a member of Captain 
Folwell's company of Southampton Associators, 1775-6. His wife, Sarah, born 
in 1738, survived him many years, dying September 27, 1823, and both are buried 
at Southampton Baptist Church. They had three sons and two daughters, viz. : 
Joseph Banes, "Preceptor" of Lower Dublin township, Philadelphia, one of the 
executors of his father's will; Evan Banes, M. D., co-executor with Joseph of 
their father's will in 1788, but "removed out of the State" about 1790; Euphemia, 
married Joseph Leedom ; Letitia, married George Foster ; Ervin, of whom pres- 
ently. 

Ervin Banes, grandfather of Mrs. Josephine Closson, was a minor at the death 
of his father in 1788. He married Hannah, daughter of Thomas Dickinson, of an 
old Colonial family of Pennsylvania, and had the following children : Evan 
Banes, married Martha Woodington, and died in Bensalem township, Bucks 
county, 1845 ; ^nn Banes ; Euphemia Banes ; Charles Banes, of Bristol, Pennsyl- 
vania, who married Ann Phillips ; Susan, married Hazel Woodington ; Joseph 
Banes, father of Mrs. Josephine Closson, who married Hannah Foster. 

Hannah Foster, wife of Joseph Banes, and mother of Josephine (Banes) 
Closson, was a daughter of Miles Foster, born in Lower Dublin township, Phila- 
delphia county, by his wife, Hannah Buzby, and granddaughter of William Foster, 
of Lower Dublin, by his wife, Mary, a descendant of Miles Strickland, a Colonial 
merchant of Philadelphia, who died there in 175 1. He and his son, Thomas, had 
produced certificates at Abington Meeting, 1718, from Dublin, Ireland. 

From the records of Burlington (New Jersey) Monthly Meeting of Friends 
and other sources we learn that William and Josiah Foster, brothers, and sons of 
Josiah Foster, of Rhode Island, came to New Jersey and settled in Mansfield 
township, Burlington county, 1684. They were members of Burlington Monthly 
Meeting, and the children of William and Mary Foster, as recorded on the records 
of that meeting, were : 

Hannah Foster, b. 6nio. 31, 1684; 

Mary Foster, b. 6mo. 10, 1687; m. 1709, George Matlack; 

William Foster, b. lomo. 26, 1689; m. 1712, Experience Whilden; 

George Foster, b. i2mo. 10, 1691 ; 

Josiah Foster, b. iimo. 21, 1693; 

Joseph Foster, b. 6mo. 27, 1696; 



C LOSS ON 1213 

Charity Foster, b. 4mo. 6, 1700; 

Thomas Foster, b. gmo. 15, 1793; m. Lucy DeLaval; 

Rebecca Foster, b. lomo. 20, 1796; m. 1726, Thomas Haines. 

Thomas Foster, youngest son of William and Mary Foster, of Mansfield, mar- 
ried Lucy DeLaval, and had issue : 

William Foster, m. Mary Strickland; 
Mary Foster, m. Daniel Street; 

Thomas Foster, m. Mary ; 

Jehu Foster, m. Elizabeth Vansant. 

William and Mary (Strickland) Foster were members of Byberry Friends' 
Meeting, settling for a while in Oxford township, Philadelphia county, and later 
located in the township of Lower Dublin, same county, a quarter of a mile south 
of the Lower Dublin Academy, where their children were born. Mary (Strick- 
land) Foster died in 1825, at the age of eighty-eight years. 
Issiic of William and Mary (Strickland) Foster: 

Strickland Foster, m. (first) Letitia Banes, (second) Mary Johnson; 
William Foster, m. Anna Haines; 
Josiah Foster, bur. at Byberry; 

Thomas Foster, m. Mary ; 

Miles Foster, m. June 6, 1799, Hannah Buzby, and settled on the old homestead, where 

their daughter, Hannah (Foster) Baines was born; 
Joseph Foster, lived with his brother. Miles, on the homestead; 
Mary Foster, m. Joseph Knight; 
George Foster, m. Mary Subusa. lived near Middletown Meeting. 

The family of Strickland, or Stirkland, as it was anciently written, is probably 
of Saxon origin, being settled at or before the Norman conquest at Strickland or 
Stirkland, parish of Moreland, Westmoreland, where it continued for several 
generations. 

William de Stirkland, of this family, having married Ehzabeth, daughter of 
Sir Ralph D'Aincourt, of Sizergh, in Cumberland, Knight, who eventually became 
the heiress of her brother, Ralph, who died without issue, they removed to Sizergh, 
where their descendants have continued to reside to the present time, as appears 
from authentic documents in Burns' "History of Westmoreland and Cumberland."- 

The first of the name of Strickland, or Stirkland, on record was Walter de 
Stirkland, living in the reign of King John, whose son and heir, Adam, in the 
seventh year of that reign was one of the hostages for the future good conduct 
of Roger Fitz-Reinfred, who had sided with the rebellious barons. The family 
must have been of great consequence in ancient times, as we find no less than five 
places of the same name in Westmoreland, Strickland Hall, Strickland-Kettle, 
Strickland magna, Strickland parva, and Strickland-Rogers. Gough in his edition 
of "Camden's Brittania," says, "Strickland gave name to a family of Ancient 
renown;" and Fuller, in his "Worthies," calls it "a right worshipful family." 

William Strickland, who was consecrated Bishop of Carlisle in 1400, at his own 
expense, cut a canal from the town of Penrith to the river Petterell for the navi- 
gation of boats to the Irish sea. He died in 1419. 

A branch of the Sizergh or of the Westmoreland family settled at Boynton, 
Yorkshire, where they resided as early as the reign of Edward IV. In the 



1 2 14 CLOSSON 

Sizergh papers it is stated that Sir William Strickland, of Boynton, on the Wolds, 
married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir ^^'alter Strickland, of Sizergh, Knight, by his 
wife, Catharine, daughter of Sir Ralph Neville, of Thornton Briggs, Knight ; and 
the parish records of Boynton show that William Strickland died in 1592, and his 
widow, Elizabeth, in 1597. 

This WilHam Strickland, or Strykeland, was probably son of W^illiam Strick- 
land, the first of this branch of whom we have any record. He was one of those 
who were actuated by the chivalric spirit of discovery, in the reigns of Henry 
VH. and Henry VUL, and became the companion of Sebastian Cabot in his 
voyages to the coast of America. King Edward VI., in the fourth year of his 
reign (1550), granted a pension to Sebastian Cabot, then far advanced in years, 
and April 20, 1550, granted to Cabot's associate, "WilHam Strykeland of Bynton 
on the W^olds," as shown by the records of the Heralds Office and by the original 
grant now in possession of the family, a coat-of-arms and crest. In this grant 
William Strykeland assumed, as a record of his adventures, the turkey cock for 
his crest ; a bird at about that period first introduced to the knowledge of Europe. 
It is not known whom \Villiam Strykeland married or when he died, the early 
records of the family having been almost entirely lost during the Civil War in the 
reign of Charles I. A portrait, however, of this distinguished gentleman, in naval 
uniform of the time, with the sea and a vessel in the background, is still extant at 
the family seat at Boynton. He was succeeded by Sir William Strickland, before 
mentioned, who married Elizabeth, daughter of his probable kinsman. Sir Walter 
Strickland, of Sizergh, Cumberland, by his wife, Catharine, daughter of Sir Ralph 
Neville, of Thornton Briggs, Yorkshire, Knight. Sir William and EHzabeth had 
a son, Walter, and a daughter, Elizabeth, who married, December 23, 1596, 
George Dakns, of Ives, Buckingham, Esq. Sir William Strickland was returned 
a member for Scarborough, 1558-62-71, and died 1592. His wife died 1597, and 
both are buried with many others of the family at about this time in the Church 
of Wintringham, near Matton. 

Walter Strickland, son of Sir William and Elizabeth, married Frances, daugh- 
ter of Peter Wentworth, of Lilingston-Dayrell, Bucks, Esq., by whom he had issue : 

William Strickland, who succeeded him; 

Walter Strickland, b. 1600; studied law and was called to the Bar at Gray's Inn; was a 
person of great influence during the Protectorate of Oliver Cromwell, and later of 
Richard Cromwell; on Oliver being declared Protector, Dec. 16, 1653, was made one 
of fourteen members of Privy Council; was one of those who attended the installa- 
tion of Oliver, June 11, 1657; named as one of the visitors to university founded at 
Durham, as "our right trusty and right well beloved Walter Strickland, member of 
council, etc.:" was named, Jan. 20, 1656, as one of the "House of Peers," and there- 
after known as "Lord Walter Strickland;" sent, in Sept., 1642, as Ambassador to the 
States General of the United Provinces at The Hague, and again in 1651; after the 
restoration received full pardon and retired to Flamborough, Yorkshire, where he d. 
and was bur. in 1671 ; m. Anna, dau. and sole heiress of the famous Col. Sir Charles 
Morgan, Governor of Bergh-op-Zoom, in Brabant, but is said to have left no issue; 

Anne Strickland, b. and d. 1591 ; 

Keziah Strickland, m. Sept. 30, 1628, Robert Dompton, of Driffield; 

Ursula, m. Oct. 26, 1630, Robert Berwick, of York; 

Milcha, m. June 15, 1631, Thomas Middleton, of Belsay, Northumberland, Esquire. 

Walter Strickland, father, died at Boynton and was buried at Wintringham, 
February 29, 1636; Frances, his wife, buried there April 27, 1636. 

William Strickland. Esq., elder son of Walter and Frances, had the honor of 



CLOSSON 121 5 

knighthood, and was created a Baronet, July 30, 1641 ; married (first) 1622, 
Margaret, daughter of Sir Richard Cholmondeley, Bart., of Whitley. She died 
1624. Married (second) Lady Frances Finch, eldest daughter of Thomas, Earl 
•of Winchelsea; he was prominent under the Protectorate; appointed, May, 1657, 
a visitor to University at Durham ; June 26, same year, attended in the procession 
the inauguration of Cromwell, as one of his Privy Council, when he was repre- 
sentative in Parliament of East Riding of Yorkshire, so elected in first Parliament. 
Summoned as Lord Strickland to House of Peers, January, 1659 ; died September 
12, 1673, and his wife. Lady Frances, December 17, 1663, both buried at Boynton, 
where monuments to their memory were erected by their eldest son, Sir Thomas 
Strickland. 

Sir Thomas Strickland married, 1659, Elizabeth, daughter and co-heiress of 
Sir Francis Pile, of Compton-Beauchamp, Berkshire, Bart., and had issue: Sir 
William, his successor, born March 23, 1664-5, married August 23, 1684, Eliza- 
beth, second daughter of William Palmes, of Old Malton, Esq. ; Walter, born 
October 25, 1667, married a daughter of Pierson, of Newthorpe, and had issue ; 
Thomas, born May i, 1669, living in 1738; Frances, born June 19, 1670; Charles, 
born October 27, 1672, an officer in the navy, commanded "the Southampton" at 
taking of Vigo, 1703, died an Admiral, 1724; Nathaniel, died in infancy. Sir 
Thomas was member of Parliament for Heden and Beverly, representing latter 
in last Parliament, begun 1658, dissolved April 22, 1659. He died November 20, 
1684, and Lady Strickland, June 13, 1674, both buried at Church at Boynton. 

Sir William Strickland, fourth Baronet, had William, his successor, bom 1686; 
Thomas, born August 28, 1687; Walter, born May 31, 1690; Charles, an officer in 
the army, member of Parliament, etc., killed in a duel at York, 1706. Sir William 
died 1724, and his widow in 1740, at Boynton. 

John Buzby, weaver of Milton, parish of Shipton, "being about to transport 
himself across the seas," obtained a certificate from the Friends' Meeting at Mil- 
ton, which was deposited at Philadelphia Meeting. He and his wife, Marie, evi- 
dently resided in or near Oxford township, Philadelphia county, and were mem- 
bers of Oxford Meeting, held for a time at the house of John Hart, Byberry, as 
two of his daughters were married "at a Meeting held at the house of John Hart." 
Issue of John and Marie Busby: 

John Buzby, m. Mary Taylor, 1690; d. 1699, Phila.; will dated 8mo. 3, 1699, proved Oct. 

12, 1699, mentions his father and mother, John and Mary Buzby, and brothers and 

sisters named below; 
William Buzby, m. Sarah Seary, at a Meeting held at John Hart's, smo. 28, 1685; d. 1716; 
Edward Buzby, m. Susanna Adams, 1695; d. 1726; 
Richard Buzby, m. Hannah, dau. of Thomas and Jane (Atkins) French, of Phila.; 

Marie Buzby, m. Hunt, mentioned in brother John's will, 1699; 

Elizabeth Buzby, m. 7mo., 1683, James Morris, at John Hart's; m. (second) prior to 

1699, Davis; 

Nicholas Buzby, m. Mary French; of whom presently; 

Sarah Buzby, m. 5mo. 27, 1696, Richard Tomlinson, at Abington Meeting. 

Nicholas Buzby, son of William and Marie Buzby, of Philadelphia county, 
married at Burlington Monthly Meeting, New Jersey, Smo. 30, 1695, Mary, bap- 
tized at Whitton, Northamptonshire, England, August 8, 1675, daughter of 
Thomas French and his wife, Jane Atkins, whom he married at Whitton, June 



i2i6 CLOSSON 

12, 1660, and came to Burlington, New Jersey, in 1680, an entry in his family 
Bible is as follows: "I and my wife and 9 children through the great mercy of 
God, came into this country and landed at Burlington, the 23d of 7mo. 1680." 
His wife, Jane, died 8mo. 5, 1692, and he married (second) at Philadelphia 
Monthly Meeting, 8mo., 1696, Elizabeth Stanton. The will of Thomas French, 
proved at Burlington, May 3, 1699, states that he is about to sail for England, and 
devises to his wife, Elizabeth, four hundred and twenty acres of land in New 
Jersey, and two hundred to his son, Charles ; mentions land at Neather Heyford, 
England, and gives legacies to daughters, Rachel Allen, Hannah Buzby, Sarah 
Wood, Mary Buzby, Jane Hall, Lydia and Rebecca, and sons, Thomas and Rich- 
ard French. 

Nicholas Buzby died in Wellingborough township, Burlington county. New 
Jersey, leaving a will, dated August 22, 1727, which was proved October i, same 
year. It metions his wife, Mary; sons, Thomas, John, Isaac, William, Benjamin, 
and daughters, Lydia, wife of James Mason, and Mary, Jane, Elizabeth and 
Sarah Buzby. He had purchased of his brother-in-law, Charles French, a farm 
in Wellingborough, May 24, 1714. 

Thom.\s Buzby, son of Nicholas and Mary (French) Buzby, married under 
the care of Burlington Meeting, at the house of her father, Thomas Haines, No- 
vember, 1727, Margaret, daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth (Austin) Haines, of 
Northampton township, Burlington county, and granddaughter of Richard Haines, 
of "Aynoe on ye Hill," England, who with wife, Margaret, and children embarked 
for America in 1682. He died on the voyage, and his widow subsequently mar- 
ried Henry Burcham (in 1685), "late of Neshaminy Creek in Bucks county." 
Thomas Buzby died in Wellingborough, 1773, devising his plantation where he 
dwelt to his son, Thomas. 

Thomas Buzby, son of Thomas and Margaret (Haines) Buzby, born April 4, 
1739, married in October, 1765, at Evesham Meeting, Tabitha Hugg, born March 
18, 1745. He married (second) November 18, 1788, Hannah, widow of Ephraim 
Haines, who died 1815^ and he in 1816. 

Issue of Thomas and Tabitha (Hugg) Busby: 

John Buzby, b. Oct. 24, 1766; 
Thomas Buzby, b. Dec. 25, 1768; 
William Buzby, b. Nov. 25, 1773; 
Isaac Buzby, b. April 24, 1775; 

Hannah Buzby, b. April lo, 1781; m. June 6, 1799, Miles Foster, and was disowned by 
Burlington Meeting, April 7, 1800, for marriage to one not in membership. 

Hannah Foster, daughter of Miles and Hannah (Buzby) Foster, married 
Joseph Banes, and Josephine Banes, daughter of Joseph and Hannah (Foster) 
Banes, married James H. Closson. 

James Harwood Closson, M. D., youngest son of Captain James Harwood 
Closson, by his wife, Josephine Banes, was born in Philadelphia, November 27, 
1861. He was educated at the Philadelphia public schools, and at private schools 
of that city, supplemented by a special c'ourse at Lafayette College, Easton, Penn- 
sylvania. Taking up the study of medicine he entered Hahnemann Medical Col- 
lege, and graduated from that institution in 1886; locating in Germantown he 
began the practice of his profession, in which he has been since actively engaged, 
having a very extensive practice and standing high in his profession. 





^i?'^^- 




0&nue^. /h&^ 



CLOSSON 12 17 

Dr. Closson is a member of Historical Society of Pennsylvania ; Genealogical 
Society of Pennsylvania; New England Society; Colonial Society; Pennsylvania 
Society, Sons of the Revolution; Netherland Society; Pennsylvania German 
Society ; Sons of Delaware ; American Psychological Society ; American Institute 
of HomcEopathy ; Homoeopathic Medical Society of the State of Pennsylvania ; 
Homoeopathic Medical Society of the County of Philadelphia ; Germantown 
Medical Club; has been president of the last two organizations, and has also 
served as secretary of Homoeopathic Medical Society of Pennsylvania. He is an 
associate member of George G. Meade Post, No. i. Grand Army of the Republic, 
and a member of the Loyal Legion. He is a member of the Pennsylvania For- 
estry Association ; Lafayette College Alumni Association ; Zeta Psi fraternity ; is 
associated with Union Lodge, No. 121, Free and Accepted Masons, and German- 
town Chapter, No. 208, Royal Arch Masons ; Germantown Commandery, Knights 
Templar, No. 82, and a member of the following social organizations : Bellfield 
Country Club ; Germantown Cricket Club ; Union League, and the United Service 
Club. He is also a member of the Site and Relic Society of Pennsylvania ; Repub- 
lican Club of New York City, and the Friendly Sons of Saint Patrick. 

Dr. Closson married October 22, 1891, Mary Elizabeth, daughter of Samuel 
Wilson, former president of the Farmers' and Mechanics' National Bank of 
Philadelphia, and Mary (Bancroft) Bell, of Philadelphia, and a descendant of 
early Colonial settlers in New England and New Jersey. They reside at 53 West 
Chelten avenue, Germantown, Philadelphia. 

Issue of Dr. James H. and Mary Elisabeth (Bell) Closson: 

Josephine Banes Closson, b. Sept. 12, 1893; 
James Harwood Closson, Jr., b. June 18, i8g6; 
Mary Bancroft Closson, b. Dec. 29, 1898. 

Mary Elizabeth (Bell) Closson, wife of Dr. James Harwood Closson, is a 
daughter of the late Samuel Wilson Bell, for some years president of Farmers 
and Mechanics National Bank of Philadelphia, by his wife, Mary Elizabeth Ban- 
croft. Through her mother, Mrs. Closson is descended from numerous Colonial 
families of New England and New Jersey. 

Through her maternal grandmother, Olivia (Bradbury) Bancroft, she is a 
descendant in the ninth generation from 

Thomas Bradbury, who, early in 1634, appeared at Agementicus, now York, 
Maine, as the agent of Sir Francis Gorgas, Proprietor of the Province of Maine. 
Thomas Bradbury was one of the original proprietors of the town of Salisbury, 
Massachusetts ; a Judge of the Court, and Captain of the military company there. 
He died March 16, 1695. He married, 1636, Mary, daughter of John and Judith 
Perkins, of Ipswich, Massachusetts, who was tried and convicted at Salem, as a 
witch, but escaped punishment, and died December 20, 1700. 

William Bradbury, youngest of the seven children of Thomas and Mary (Per- 
kins) Bradbury, born September 15, 1649, died December 4, 1678; married March 
12, 1672, Rebecca (Wheelwright) Maverick, widow of Samuel Maverick, Jr. (son 
of the King's Commissioner), who died in Boston, December 20, 1664, and 
daughter of Rev. John Wheelwright, founder of Exeter, by his wife, Mary, 
daughter of Edward Hutchinson, and granddaughter of John Hutchinson, Lord 



i2i8 CLOSSON 

Mayor of London, England. She died December 20, 1678. William and Rebecca 
(Wheelwright-Maverick) Bradbury had three children, all of whom were men- 
tioned in the will of their grandfather, Thomas Bradbury, viz. : William, Thomas 
and Jacob. 

Jacob Bradbury, third son of William and Rebecca (Wheelwright) Bradbury, 
born September i, 1677, died May 4, 1718; married, July 26, 1698, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Rev. John Stockman, by his wife, Sarah, daughter of Major Robert 
and Sarah (Sanders) Pike, and they had five children: Dorothy, Elizabeth, 
Anna, Ann and Thomas. 

Thomas Bradbury, only son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Stockton) Bfadbury, born 
August 16, 1699, married, April 16, 1724, Sarah Merrill, of Salisbury, Massachu- 
setts, and in 1744 moved to Biddeford, Maine. He was Captain in command of 
the Block House there in 1748, and rendered considerable service in the Indian 
wars. He died in 1775, leaving twelve children surviving him. 

Moses Bradbury, fourth child of Thomas and Sarah (Merrill) Bradbury, bom 
at Salisbury, Massachusetts, February 14, 1731, married Mary Page, and lived at 
Biddeford, Maine, where their seven children were born. 

Nehemiah Bradbury, third child of* Moses and Mary (Page) Bradbury, of 
Biddeford, Maine, married (first) Elizabeth Cole, of Biddeford, and had six chil- 
dren: Thomas, Eliza, Sarah, Cyrus, Olivia and Nehemiah. After the death of 
his wife, Elizabeth, he married a second time. 

Olivia Bradbury, daughter of Nehemiah and Elizabeth (Cole) Bradbury, born 
at Saco, Maine, 1805, while on a visit to Philadelphia, married there, Captain 
Daniel Eldredge Bancroft, of the Merchant Marine, and a member of the New 
Jersey families of Eldredge and Bancroft. She died at the residence of her son- 
in-law, Samuel Wilson Bell, in Germantown, June i, 1895. 

Mary Elizabeth Bancroft, daughter of Captain Daniel Eldredge and Olivia 
(Bradbury) Bancroft, born in Philadelphia, July 12, 1833, married there, Samuel 
Wilson Bell, later president of the Farmers' and Mechanics' National Bank of 
Philadelphia ; great-grandson of Samuel Bell, a native of Coleraine, Ireland, who 
came to Philadelphia in the ship, "West Point," in 1798 with sons John, James 
and Samuel. 

Samuel Bell, grandfather of Samuel Wilson Bell, born in Coleraine, Ireland, 
1777, came to America in 1798, and became a prominent commission merchant 
there. He died December i, 1848, at the age of seventy-one years, and was buried 
at Woodlands Cemetery. His will, dated October 20, 1848, and proved December 
30, 1848, mentions his wife, Ann; sons, Alexander and James Bell; daughters, 
Ann, wife of Hugh Catherwood ; Sarah, wife of Samuel Reed ; Elizabeth, wife of 
Samuel F. Reed. Samuel Bell, as well as his three sons-in-law, was a member of 
the Friendly Sons of St. Patrick. Hugh Catherwood, who was named as executor 
of his father-in-law's will, died November 13, 1863, and his widow, Ann (Bell) 
Catherwood, died January 22, 1886. 

Samuel Bell married Ann Wilson, and they were the parents of the five children 
mentioned in the will, above quoted. 

Alexander Bell, son of Samuel and Ann (Wilson) Bell, is buried at the old 
Pine Street Presbyterian Church. He married Eliza Maclllheny, and they had 
three children : 




o-d^y?;?'^?-*^'^^ (C-^Wiig-e^^-e- c^^cJ-ex-^'^O'tiy^^^ 



CLOSSON 1219 

Samuel Wilson Bell, before mentioned, m. Mary Elizabeth Bancroft; 
James Eldredge Bell, m. Ella Hand; 
John Petts Bell, m. Kate Elizabeth Jarden. 

Samuel Wilson and Mary Elisabeth (Bancroft) Bell had issue: 

Frank W. Bell, b. 1858, d. 1861; 

Henry Darling Bell, ra. Gertrude Prescott, and had Prescott Bell; 

Charles Bancroft Bell, m. Jane Berlin, dau. of Marcellus and Jane (Berlin) McDowell,, 
and had Charles Edward Bell; 

Samuel Ashton Bell, m. , and had issue : Dorothy, Edgar and Samuel 

Wilson Bell; 
Mary Elizabeth Bell, b. Nov. 15, 1861, in Phila.; m. in Second Presbyterian Church, 
Germantown, Oct. 22, i8go, by Rev. C. H. P. Nason, to James Harwood Closson,. 
M. D., and they have issue: 

Josephine Banes Closson, b. Sept. 12, 1893; 
James Harwood Closson, Jr., b. June 18, 1896; 
Mary Bancroft Closson, b. Dec. 29, 1898 



SELLERS FAMILY. 

The Sellers family, which for two and a quarter centuries has been identified 
prominently with the affairs of Philadelphia and vicinity, is descended from Sam- 
uel Sellers, who came to Pennsylvania from Belper, Derbyshire, England, 1682, 
with his brother, George, and settled at Darby. 

He was of an old and well connected family of Derbyshire, where his ancestors 
had held a respectable position for several generations. Though he seems to have 
Tseen convinced of "the Truth," as held by the Society of Friends, before coming to 
Pennsylvania, he was born prior to the association of his parents with that Society, 
and his baptism appears on the records of the parish church of Duffield, near the 
place of his nativity, with that of the other children of Thomas and Elizabeth 
Sellers, the record of these children being as follows : 

John, bapt. Aug. 20, 1648, bur. April 28, 1664; 

Elizabeth, bapt. Jan. 13, 1649; 

Mary, bapt. Sept. 7, 1651 ; 

George, bapt. Feb. 13, 1652; 

Samuel, bapt. Feb. 3, 1655; 

Sarah, bapt. June 20, 1663. 

George Sellers, eldest surviving son of Thomas and Elizabeth Sellers, of Bel- 
per, county Derby, whose baptism is recorded as occurring on February 13, 1652, 
came with or followed his brother, Samuel, to Pennsylvania, though his name does 
not appear in the Township Book of the early settlers of Darby, as does that of 
Samuel, nor upon the records of Darby Meeting. He was, however, settled in 
Darby prior to 1686, in which year he died, and his estate, including fifty acres of 
land, live stock, and other personal estate, passed to his younger brother, Samuel. 

A tradition in the family relates that he and his brother, Samuel, built a house 
there, which constituted the kitchen part of the old homestead, known later as 
"Sellers Hall," but contemplating marriage, he began the erection of a house, on what 
was known as "Walnut Hill," closeby the site of "Sellers Hall," which uncompleted 
at his death was never finished or occupied. In confirmation of this tradition, the site 
alluded to was marked until well on in the nineteenth century by the remains of the 
foundation of this contemplated residence ; the stone was removed by a namesake, 
George Sellers, and used in the erection of the present terrace wall in front of 
""Sellers Hall," between garden and meadow. 

As the first patent to Samuel Sellers for the site of "Sellers Hall" was issued in 
1690, though it is known that both he and his brother, George, were residents there 
several years previously, it is probable that the land was taken up by them jointly, 
and on the death of George, without issue, the patent issued to Samuel. 

Samuel Sellers, youngest son of Thomas and Elizabeth Sellers, baptized at 
Duffield church, Derbyshire, England, February 3, 1655, was, as evidenced by au- 
thentic records, one of the earliest settlers of Darby township, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, just on the outskirts of Philadelphia county. He was one of those 
Friends who, in 1682, established Darby Meeting of Friends, and was one of its 
most respected and prominent members. He was also prominent in the aflfairs of 



SELLERS 1221 

the ancient township of Darby; serving as constable in 1688, supervisor of high- 
ways in 1692, and fence viewer for several terms from 1693 to 1716. He acquired 
by patent in 1690, one hundred acres of land, lying along the western side of 
Cobb's creek, then known as Mill creek, and south of the present West Chester 
road. In 1691 he added seventy-five acres adjoining. He was a weaver by trade 
and probably utilized the water-power of Cobb's creek (where his grandson, John 
Sellers, later erected a saw mill, grist mill, and worsted mill) for the operation of 
his primitive looms. He died in Upper Darby, November 22, 1732. 

Samuel Sellers married at Darby Meeting, August 13, 1684, Anna, daughter of 
Henry and Eleanor Gibbons, who had come with her father from Parwich, Derby- 
shire, 1682, being mentioned in the certificate he produced at Darby Meting from 
Friends at Parwich. The declaration of intentions of marriage of Samuel Sellers 
and Anna Gibbons was the first entry on the minutes of Darby Meeting, under 
date of "5010. 2d. 1684." Anna survived her husband over ten years, dying Janu- 
ary 19, 1742-3. 

Issue of Samuel and Anna (Gibbons) Sellers: 

Sarah, b. July 13, 1685; d. April 3, 1766; m. Oct. 12, 1703, John Ashmead, b. at Chelten- 
ham, England, July 12, 1679, d. at Germantown, Phila., Oct. 7, 1742. He came to Pa. 
with his father, John Ashmead, 1682, who settled in and gave the name to Cheltenham 
township, Phila., now Montgomery co. Capt. John Ashmead, of the U. S. N., during 
the Revolution, commander of the ship, "Mars," the brig, "Eagle," and other vessels 
of the Pennsylvania Navy, and later years. Senior Warden of the Port of Phila., was 
a grandson of John and Sarah (Sellers) Ashmead. John Wayne Ashmead, grandson 
of Capt. John Ashmead, by his wife, Mary Mifflin, a niece of Gov. Thomas Mifflin, b. 
in Phila., May 16, 1806, was a distinguished member of the Phila. Bar; Deputy Attor- 
ney General for Phila.; member of Legislature; District Attorney for the Eastern 
District of Pa. ; and in the latter position conducted a number of very important cases 
for the United States. He was the author of "Ashmead's Reports of Decisions of 
Court of Common Pleas of Philadelphia." He was the father of Henry Graham 
Ashmead, the well-known journalist, historian and author of Delaware co., Pa.; 

Mary, b. Dec. 13, 1687; m. (first) May, 1711, William Marshall, son of John and Sarah 
(Smith) Marshall, from Elton, Derbyshire, and they settled near the forks of the 
Brandywine, in Chester co., where William was drowned in 1727. She married (sec- 
ond) 1730, Isaac Vernon, son of Robert and Elinor (Minshall) Vernon, of Bradford. 
Chester co. ; being his second wife; 

Samuel, Jr., b. May 12, 1690, d. June 3, 1773; m. Sarah Smith; of whom presently: 

Anna, b. April I, 1693; rri. Pritchard; mentioned in her father's will, with a son, 

Samuel Pritchard; 

George, b. Oct., 1695, d. Sept. 6, 1711; 

Elizabeth, b. Jan. 22, 1699-1700, d. Sept. 8, 1711. 

Samuel Sellers Jr., eldest son of Samuel and Anna (Gibbons) Sellers, born 
in Darby township. May 12, 1690, like his father followed the trade of weaving 
and succeeded the latter in the conduct of the business. In 1714 his father con- 
veyed to him the homestead farm of one hundred and seventy-five acres of land, 
subject to a life interest to his father and mother, and he spent his entire life 
thereon. He was Supervisor of Highways for Darby township, 1725-30, and after 
the division of the township was Constable of Upper Darby in 1748, and Super- 
visor in 1752. He was an ingenious and enterprising man and greatly improved 
the weaving establishment started by his father by the introduction of inventions 
of his own, one of them a machine for twisting of worsteds. He died June 3, 
1773, and an obituary notice of him, which appeared in the Pennsylvania Gazette 
of June 9, says that he was "a kind husband, a tender parent, a good neighbor, and 
above all an honest man." It also states that he "left sixty-four children, grand- 
children and great-grandchildren." 



1222 SELLERS 

Samuel Sellers, Jr., married at Darby Meeting, October 28, 1712, Sarah, born at 
Darby, May 30, 1689, daughter of John Smith, from Croxton, Leicestershire, Eng- 
land, by his wife, Eleanor Dolby, whom he married at Harborough, Leicestershire, 
May 4, 1669, and came with her to Darby in 1684, where both were esteemed min- 
isters of the Society of Friends. Eleanor died at Darby, September 10, 1708, and 
John, January 12, 1714-15. Their daughter, Sarah (Smith) Sellers, died at 
Upper Darby, May 24, 1778. 

Issue of Samuel and Sarah (Smith) Sellers: 

Samuel, b. July, 1715, d. Jan., 1786; m. Sept. 28, 1737, Jane, dau. of George and Hannah 
Wood, of Darby, and soon after that date settled in West Bradford township, Chester 
CO., near the forks of the Brandywine, where he lived the remainder of his life; they 
had six children, two sons and four daughters; the latter marrying into the prominent 
families of Peirce, Wickersham, Trimble and Taylor; 

Hannah, b. Feb. 10, 1717-18, d. April 12, 1810; m. (first) Richard Lloyd, son of Robert 
and Lowry (Jones) Lloyd, who d. Aug. 9, 17SS; (second) Nov. 29, I7S7, Lewis 
Davids; an account of her descendants and those of her two sons, Hugh and Isaac 
Lloyd, is given in this work, under the heading of "Lloyd Family;" 

Elizabeth, b. Sept. 15, 1719, d. Oct. 30, 1794; m. Nov. 22, 1738, John Hunt, of Kingsessing, 
Phila. CO., b. June 6, 1716, d. Jan. 6, 1791, son of James and Rebecca (Faucet) Hunt; 
had children : Sarah, Rebecca, James, Hannah, John and Ann ; 

John, b. Nov. 11, 1721, d. June 22, 1727; 

Mary, b. Dec. 6, 1723, d. May 16, 1777; m. Feb. 27, 1744, David Gibson, of Kingsessing, 
Phila. CO., b. Nov. 30, 1721, son of Nathan Gibson, a native of Westmoreland, England, 
who came to Pa. in 1719, by his wife, Ann, dau. of James Hunt, of Kingsessing, by 
his second wife, Elizabeth Bonsall; David and Mary (Sellers) Gibson had issue: 
Sarah, Jonathan, Nathan, David, Jr., Anna and Samuel; 

Joseph, b. June 15, 1726, d. Dec. 12, 1790; m. March 13, 1751-2, Hannah, eldest dau. of 
William Paschall, by his wife, Hannah (Lloyd) Roberts, dau. of Robert and Lowry 
(Jones) Lloyd, before mentioned, and widow of John Roberts; Hannah (Paschall) 
Sellers was therefore a niece of Richard Lloyd, who married her husband's eldest 
sister, Hannah Sellers; Joseph and Hannah Sellers had two children: Joseph, Jr., and 
Sarah; 

John, b. Nov. 19, 1728, d. Feb. 2, 1804; m. Ann Gibson; of whom presently. 

John Sellers, youngest son of Samuel Sellers, Jr., of Upper Darby, by his wife, 
Sarah Smith, was born at "Sellers Hall," the old family homestead. Upper Darby, 
November 19, 1728. In 1752 his father conveyed to him the homestead and one 
hundred and thirty-four acres, and he subsequently purchased other property ad- 
joining it. He erected on Mill creek a saw mill, grist mill, and also introduced 
machinery for weaving wire, the first, so far as known, ever set up in America. 
He also owned a tannery on the West Chester road, at a place known as "Way- 
side." 

John Sellers in addition to being a pioneer manufacturer on certain lines and 
the promoter of important industries in his neighborhood, took a deep interest in 
scientific research. He was one of the original members of the American Philo- 
sophical Society, and one of the committee of that organization in 1769, with David 
Rittenhouse and others to observe the transit of Venus and report their observa- 
tions for the benefit of science. He was a skilled surveyor and engineer, and was 
one of the commissioners appointed to build the Court House and prison for Ches- 
ter county in 1780; in 1783 was one of the commission to consider the opening of 
canal communication between the Schuylkill and Suequehanna rivers ; in 1786 one 
of the committee to consider the erection of the first Market street bridge over the 
Schuylkill; in 1789 a commissioner to run and mark the line between Chester 
county and the new county of Delaware. 



SELLERS 1223 

Public-spirited and capable, he was called upon to take an active part in county 
and state affairs throughout his life. He was elected to the Colonial Assembly as 
a representative of Chester county in 1767, and was regularly re-elected to each 
session to and including that of 1771. In 1770 he was commissioner to lay out the 
road from the "Middle Ferry" to Strasburg. 

From the very inception of the struggle for Independence he was one of the most 
active Patriots of his section. He was appointed one of the Boston Port Bill com- 
mittee, and was a deputy to the first Provincial Conference of representatives of 
the Colonies at Philadelphia, July 15, 1774. His activity in the matter of prepar- 
ing to defend the rights of the Colonies by force of arms led to his disownment by 
the Society of Friends, in which his ancestors had held membership for a century. 
One of the items charged against him by the Meeting, being the signing of paper 
money designed for carrying on the war, and another that he had "sawed stuff for 
military purposes," at his saw mill. Being thoroughly in earnest and patriotic in 
his efforts, he appears to have resented the interference of the Meeting, and ex- 
pressing himself forcibly and to the point, was promptly disowned. He gave loyal 
support to the patriot cause during the whole struggle and at its close was elected 
to the General Assembly, but declined to serve. He represented Delaware county 
in the State Constitutional Convention of 1790, and was elected to the State Senate, 
the first to serve, under the constitution then adopted, for Delaware county, and 
served one term. He died at Sellers Hall, Upper Darby, Delaware county, Febru- 
ary 2, 1804. 

John Sellers married at Darby Meeting, April 26, 1749, Ann, born January 22, 
1729-30, daughter of Nathan Gibson, a native of Westmoreland, England, who 
brought a certificate from Kendall Monthly Meeting of Friends there, 171 3, and 
married at Gloucester, New Jersey, December 7, 1719, Ann (Hunt) Blunston, 
widow of John Blunston, Jr., and daughter of James Hunt, of Kingsessing, Phila- 
delphia county, who had come from Kent county, England, 1684, by his second 
wife, Elizabeth (Wood) Bonsall, of Darby. Ann (Gibson) Sellers survived her 
husband and died April 6, 1805. Both are buried at Darby Meeting. 
Issue of John and Ann (Gibson) Sellers: 

Elizabeth Sellers, b. Jan. 4, 1750, d. March 23, 1774; m. June 9, 1768, Nathan Garrett, 
of Darby, b. May 18, 1745, d. April 9, 1827, son of Nathan and Ann (Knowles) 
Garrett, of Darbv, erandson of Samuel and Jane (Pennell) Garrett, of Darby, and 
great-grandson of William and Ann (Kirk) Garrett, who came from Harby, Leices- 
tershire, 1684, and settled in Darby; Elizabeth (Sellers) Garrett left issue: Ann, 
Sarah and Samuel; her husband, Nathan Garrett, m. (second) July 6, 1780, Hannah 
Rhoads, (third) June 26, 1799, Elizabeth (Davis) Dunn; 

Nathan Sellers, b. at Sellers Hall, Nov. 15, 1751, d. at "Milbank," his country residence 
in Upper Darby; he received a common school education, and in his boyhood was ap- 
prenticed to Henry Hale Graham, Esq., of Chester, "Scrivener," to learn convey- 
ancing, and was intended ultimately for the profession of the law, but during his 
leisure he devoted his attention to the industries established by his father, and eventu- 
allv abandoned his intention of studying law and devoted his attention exclusively to 
mechanical pursuits and surveying; in 1775 he was active in the formation of the local 
militia companies and was disowned by the Friends; he became Ensign of a company 
in Col. Jonathan Paschall s regiment of Associators, but was called from active mili- 
tary service to undertake the manufacture of paper moulds for the government by a 
special resolution of Continental Congress, Aug., 1776; in this work he was assisted 
by his brother, Samuel, until the latter's death, Dec. 10, 1776; the supplies for the 
manufacture of these moulds having been previously imported he was forced to devise 
the appliances for their manufacture as well as the moulds themselves; he continued 
to be employed in this work until the close of the war, and established a reputation 
in that line of work that was the foundation of his future success and fortune; in 

36 



1224 SELLERS 

1777 he was appointed by the Council of Safety to make a survey of the river Dela- 
ware for use in erection of fortifications and obstructions for the defense of Phila., 
and was one of those commissioned to sign the paper currency emitted by Congress 
to carry on the war; he was also suggested for the appointment to the position of 
Prothonotary and Clerk of the Courts of Phila., but continued to devote his attention 
to the manufacture of paper moulds ; after the close of the war, he formed a partner- 
ship with his brother, David, under the firm name of Nathan & David Sellers, in the 
manufacture of paper-making machinery, much of which was of their own invention, 
and later added the manufacture of carding machinery; he served on many important 
commissions under the state and city, in the installment of impoitant improvements 
for transportation, etc., and was for several terms a member of Common Council of 
the city, being nominated and elected by both political parties; he resided up to 1817 
in the city, and then removed to "Milbank," where he died; m. at Phila., May 4, 1779, 
Elizabeth, b. in Phila., Oct. 2, 1756, dau. of Joseph and Mary (Johnson) Coleman, and 
granddaughter of Dr. Joseph and Mary (Thomas) Coleman, and great-granddaughter 
of Thomas Coleman, of Scituate, Mass., where her ancestors had settled; issue: 

Coleman Sellers, b. at Darby, Nov. 27, 1781, became early associated with the 
business of the firm of Nathan & David Sellers, and was the inventor of a 
number of their improved manufacturing devices; on the dissolution of the 
firm he formed the new firm of Coleman Sellers & Sons, and in 1828 erected a 
manufacturing plant on Cobbs' creek, and they later undertook the manufacture 
of railroad locomotives of new and improved design; he d. at his residence, No. 
10 North Sixth street, Phila., May 7, 1834; he was one of the commissioners for 
the erection of the Eastern Penitentiary in 1821. Three of his sons were promi- 
nent engineers and manufacturers, and established rolling mills, iron works, etc., 
in Ohio, and elsewhere in the west, and took an active part in the building of 
the great transcontinental lines of railway; 
Samuel Sellers, b. Dec. 30, 1753, d. Dec. 10, 1776; was associated with his elder brother, 
Nathan, in the manufacture of paper moulds for the government at the time of his 
decease ; 
David Sellers, b. April i, 1757, d. in Phila., Dec. 2, 1813; was the junior partner in the 
firm of Nathan & David Sellers, of which his sons, Samuel and James, later became 
members; m. Dec. 23, 1779, Rachel Coleman, sister to his brother Nathan's wife, and 
had ten children; 
Sarah, b. Dec. 10, 1759, d. April 3, 1766; • 

John Sellers, b. Dec i, 1762, d. at his country residence "Hoodland," in Upper Darby; 

m. Mary Coleman; of whom presently; 
James, b. Sept. 21, 1765, d. Nov. 12, 1770; 

George Sellers, b. Feb. 12, 1768, at Sellers Hall, which he inherited and spent his whole 
life there; d. April 3, 1853; he was a man of poetic tastes and the author of a number 
of poetical pieces; m. Sept. 8, 1808, Ann Evans, dau. of Joshua and Abigail (Evans) 
Ash, of Phila., d. Nov. 4, 1856; 
Joshua, b. March 13, 1770, d. March 14, 1770 ; 
Ann, b. Dec. 31, 1774, d. Oct. 24, 1775. 

John Sellers, sixth child and fourth son of John and Ann (Gibson) Sellers, 
was born at the old homestead of "Sellers Hall," Upper Darby, December i, 1762. 
He learned the trade of a tanner at a tannery then owned by his father on the 
West Chester road, near the old homestead, at a place known as "Wayside," and at 
the age of seventeen years began to tan skins on his own account. After following 
the business for some years at "Wayside," he removed to Philadelphia and erected 
a tannery on Dock street, where he carried on business until 1795, when he formed 
a partnership with Joseph Keen, a currier, under the firm name of Keen & Sellers, 
and they carried on the tanning business on Chestnut street, below Fourth, opposite 
Carpenter's Hall, until 1808, when Mr. Sellers retired from the firm and removed 
to a farm he had purchased near the old homestead in Upper Darby, to which he 
removed, later known as "Hoodland." He thereafter chiefly devoted himself to 
the care and improvement of his farm, which he later extended by purchase; 
though he operated to some extent the adjoining tannery at "Wayside," where he 
had learned his trade, and which with that portion of the homestead on which his 
father had erected the grist and merchant mills, he inherited from his father's 



. SELLERS 1225 

estate, manufacturing card leathers for the firm of Nathan & David Sellers, com- 
posed of his two elder brothers. In 1821 he began the erection of a handsome resi- 
dence on his farm which he called "Hoodland," and removed into it with his family 
in 1824. 

John Sellers married at Philadelphia, April 2y, 1786, Mary, born in Philadelphia, 
September 9, 1761, daughter of Joseph and Mary (Johnson) Coleman, and a sister 
to the wives of his two eldest brothers, Nathan and David. She was a descendant 
of one of the early Quaker families of New England, who suffered persecution 
from the intolerant Puritans, her ancestors having settled in Massachusetts in 1638. 
Her grandfather. Dr. Joseph Coleman, of Prince George's county, Maryland, who 
married Mary Thomas, was a son of Thomas Coleman, of Scituate, Massachusetts. 
Issue of John and Mary (Coleman) Sellers: 

Charles, b. Aug. 14, 1787, d. Oct. 10, 1787; 

John, b. Oct. 7, 1788, d. Oct. 19, 1788; 

John, b. Sept. 29, 1789, d. July 20, 1878; m. Elizabeth Poole; of whom presently; 

Elizabeth, b. Aug. 26, 1791; m. at Darby Meeting, May 3, 1810, Abraham L. Pennock; 

Ann, b. Sept. 27, 1793, d. June 11, 1815, unm. 

John Sellers, only surviving son of John and Mary (Coleman) Sellers, was 
born in Philadelphia, September 29, 1789. His mother died when he was about 
five years of age, and he was reared at the home of his grandparents, John and 
Ann (Gibson) Sellers, Upper Darby, and received his education in the common 
schools of that neighborhood. He learned the milling trade under Thomas Steel, 
who then operated the mill owned by his grandfather and later by his father, and 
in 1814 assisted in building the new mills, known as the Millbourne Mills, and now 
for many years operated by the Millbourne Mills Company, whose well-known 
brands of flour have been a staple in the Philadelphia and other markets for 
nearly a century, the foundation for the extensive business conducted by these mills 
being laid by John Sellers, on the site of the present mills. He resided from the time 
of his marriage until 1858 in the old Millbourne house adjoining the mills, and in 
that year removed to a residence he had erected on higher ground to the west of the 
mill, where he died July 20, 1878. He was a much respected member of Darby 
Meeting of Friends and a regular attendant of their Meetings during his whole life. 
He was an earnest though conservative Abolitionist during slavery days, and on the 
organization of the Free Soil party, took an active interest in its campaigns, being 
a delegate to the National convention of that party at Buffalo, 1848. He was an 
earnest advocate of popular education and was one of those who founded and 
assisted in maintaining the Union School, on the Marshall road in Upper Darby, 
and was a director of the Upper Darby School District, and treasurer of the board, 
from the establishment of the Common Schools there until he retired by reason of 
his old age. He was also treasurer of the West Chester Turnpike Company, and 
held a number of other positions of trust. 

John Sellers married at Friends' Meeting, Wilmington, Delaware, April 10, 
1817, Elizabeth, born April 28, 1792, died at the Millbourne place. Upper Darby, 
January 3, 1859, daughter of William and Sarah (Sharpless) Poole, and a de- 
scendant of two old families of Pennsylvania. 

Joseph Poole, great-grandfather of Elizabeth (Poole) Sellers, was a son of 
William Poole, of Parish of Bromfield, county Cumberland, England, by his wife, 



1226 SELLERS 

Jeanette Twentyman, and was born in Cumberland, 1704. He came to Pennsyl- 
vania when a young man and settled in Bucks county where he married Rebecca, 
bom September 9, 1702, daughter of Abel Janney, born in Mobberly, Cheshire, 
England, December 29, 1671, by his wife, Elizabeth, born at Dorehouse, Yorkshire, 
October 17, 1673, daughter of Mahlon and Rebecca (Ely) Stacy, who came to 
New Jersey, 1679, and were the first settlers on the site of Trenton, New Jersey. 
Thomas Janney, father of Abel, baptized at Stiall, Cheshire, England, January 11, 
1634, became a minister among Friends, and married, November 24, 1660, Mar- 
gery Heath, of Horton, Yorkshire, came to Pennsylvania, in ship, "Endeavor," 
arriving in Delaware river, September 20, 1683, with their four sons: Jacob, 
Thomas, Abel and Joseph, and settled in Bucks county. He was a member of 
Provincial Council, 1683-86 ; many years a Justice of Bucks County Courts, and a 
member of Assembly. He died while on a religious visit to the place of his nativ- 
ity, at the house of his sister, Mary Burgess (where he was born), February 12, 
1696-7. Abel Janney was a Justice of Bucks county, 1708-10, and a member of 
Provincial Assembly, 1710-21. Joseph Poole died at Newtown, Bucks county, 
1766. His widow, Rebecca, survived him many years and died at the residence of 
her son, William, at Wilmington, Delaware. They had eight children of whom 
William, eldest, born January 26, 1728-9, settled in Wilmington, Delaware. He 
married( first) June 27, 1754, Martha Boberts, and (second) December 3, 1761, 
Elizabeth (Shipley) Canby, widow of Oliver Canby, of Wilmington, and daughter 
of William and Mary (Tatnall) Shipley, of Wilmington, an account of whom and 
their respective ancestry is given elsewhere in this publication. 

William Poole, Jr., son of William Poole, of Wilmington, by his second wife, 
Elizabeth ( Shipley) Canby, born at Wilmington, August 4, 1764, was apprenticed as 
boy to a silversmith, but on his marriage engaged in the milling business on the 
Brandywine, near Wilmington, where he resided until his death. May 25, 1829. 
He married, at Middletown Meeting, Chester county, Pennsylvania, May 5, 1791. 
Sarah, bom September 25, 1769, died at Wilmington, September 13, 1823, daughter 
of Benjamin Sharpless, born January 26, 1709, died March 16, 1785 ; by his second 
wife, Martha, bom February 8, 1724, died October 20, 1812, daughter of Benjamin 
Mendenhall, a minister among Friends in Chester county, born May 5, 1691, died 
while on a religious visit to North Carolina, July 13, 1743, by his wife, Lydia Rob- 
erts, a native of Wales. He was a son of Benjamin Mendenhall, who came from 
Wiltshire, England, and married, in 1689, Ann Pennell, of Chester county. Ben- 
jamin Sharpless was a son of Joseph Sharpless, born in Hatherton, Cheshire, Eng- 
land, September 28, 1678, died in Chester county, 1757, by his wife, Lydia, daugh- 
ter of Ralph and Mary Lewis, who came from Glamorganshire, Wales, with John 
Bevan, 1683, and settled in the Welsh Tract of Haverford and Merion townships. 
John Sharpless, father of Joseph, and the ancestor of the prominent Chester 
county family of the name, was a son of Geoffrey Sharpless, of Wybunbury, Ches- 
ter county, England, who had married Margaret Ashley, June 27, 161 1. John 
Sharpless, born at Wybunbury, baptized October 15, 1624, became early convinced 
of Friends' principles. He married, June 27, 1662, Jane Moore, at Hatherton, 
Cheshire, and emigrated to Pennsylvania with his family, landing at Chester, Oc- 
tober 14, 1682, died in 1685, his widow surviving until 1721. 

William and Sarah (Sharpless) Poole had ten children, of whom Elizabeth, 
wife of John Sellers, was the eldest. 



SELLERS 1227 

Issue of John and Elisabeth (Poole) Sellers: 

Mary, b. June 2, 1818, d. Dec. 15, 1894; m. Edward Bancroft, son of John and Elizabeth 
Bancroft, who came from England 1824; Edward and Mary (Sellers) Bancroft re- 
sided in Providence, R. I., where he was a member of the firm of Fairbanks, Bancroft 
& Co., machinists, until 1849, and then removed to Phila. and entered into partnership 
with his brother-in-law, William Sellers, d. there 1855; they have three children, viz.: 
John Sellers Bancroft, a machinist with William Sellers & Co.; m. (first) Eliza- 
beth H. Richardson, (second) Anne E. Richardson; 

Anna P. Bancroft, m. Elwood W. Coggswell, merchant of New York City; 
Elizabeth Bancroft, wife of Stephen Parrish, of Phila. 

Sarah Poole Sellers, b. Feb. 18, 1820, d. inf.; 

William Poole Sellers, b. April 13, 1822, d. inf.; 

John Sellers, b. Sept. s, 1823, d. inf.; 

William Sellers, b. Sept. 19, 1824, served an apprenticeship as a machinist in the works 
of his uncle, J. Morton Poole, at Wilmington, and in 1745 took charge of the machine 
shops of Fairbanks, Bancroft & Co., at Providence, R. I.; returned to Phila. two years 
later and began manufacturing on his own account; formed a partnership with his 
former employer and brother-in-law, Edward Bancroft, under firm name of Bancroft 
& Sellers, in 1848, and at death of Mr. Bancroft, in 185s, established firm of William 
Sellers & Co., at Sixteenth street and Pennsylvania avenue; among the leading ma- 
chine and tool manufacturers in this country; he was president of Franklin Institute 
since 1864; was one of the original members of the Union League; trustee of the 
Univ. of Pa. since 1866; several years a director in Phila. & Reading R. R. Co.; Phila., 
Wilmington & Baltimore R. R. Co. ; member of National Academy of Sciences, at 
Washington, D. C. ; president of Edge Moor Iron Co., who established an extensive 
plant near Wilmington, 1868; and president of Midvale Steel Co., 1873-87, and one of 
its largest stockholders; member of American Society of Civil Engineers, American 
Society of Mechanical Engineers, Institution of Mechanical and Civil Engineers of 
Great Britain, and Societe d'Encouragement pour L' Industrie National, of Paris; 

John Sellers, Jr., b. July 27, 1826; of whom presently; 

Georse H. Sellers, b. Aug. 21, 1828, d. in Wilmington, Del., June 7, 1897; m. Annie 
Wilson ; 

Sarah Ann Sellers, b. Aug. 21, 1828 (twin to George H.) ; m. June 4, 1856, Clement B. 
Smyth, a prominent iron manufacturer of Wilmington, Del.; vice-president and treas- 
urer for many years of Diamond State Iron Co.; 

Martha Sellers, b. Oct. 2, 1830, d. Dec. 11, 1899, unm.; 

Frances Sellers, b. Sept 23, 1833; m. April 26, 1855, Eli Garrett, of Wilmington, treas- 
urer of Edge Moor Iron Co. at his death. May 25, 1886; 

Nathan Sellers, b. July 18, 1836; m. June 30, 1863, Mary H. Keen, and had three chil- 
dren, all of whom d. minors. 

John Sellers, Jr., second surviving son of John and Elizabeth (Poole) Sellers, 
was bom at Millbourne, Upper Darby, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, July 27, 
1826. He received a good practical education, and early in life assisted his father 
in the management of the Millbourne Mills, erected by his great-grandfather in 
1757, and retained an interest therein until 1848. In that year he went to Cincin- 
nati, Ohio, travelling by stage coach and river steamboat, and entered the employ 
of a prominent mill operator there, and later accepted a clerkship in the Lafayette 
Bank, of Cincinnati. After travelling through some of the then unsettled portions 
of the country farther west, he returned to Philadelphia in 1849, ^"d established an 
iron foundry there, which he successfully conducted until 1853, when he became a 
member of the firm of Bancroft & Sellers, founded by his brother, William Sellers, 
and his brother-in-law, Edward Bancroft, and aided in building up an extensive 
business in the manufacture of tools, and continued a